• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

AMD Ryzen Discussion Thread.

Chicken Patty

WCG Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Nov 27, 2007
Messages
28,599 (7.71/day)
Likes
12,629
Location
Miami, Florida
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 1700
Motherboard ASUS ROG CROSSHAIR VI HERO (WI-FI AC)
Cooling EK Water blocks P280 Water Cooling Kit
Memory G.SKILL TridentZ RGB Series 16GB (2 x 8GB) 288-Pin DDR4 3600MHz
Video Card(s) Nvidia GeForce GTX 1080
Storage Samsung 850 EVO 500GB SSD (OS)// OCZ Vertex 4 128GB // WD Black 2TB
Display(s) Samsung 40" LED 4K TV
Case Corsair Obsidian 900D
Audio Device(s) Onboard Sound
Power Supply EVGA SuperNOVA 1000 G2 120-G2
Software Windows 10 64 Bit Home Edition
Benchmark Scores Real man crunch for TPU! :)
Frankly, AMD doing the temp offset thing for a "consistent fan profile" always struck me as really really strange. Yeah, it's confusing as if they were trying.
Yeah, I'm not a fan of it at all to be honest. :( This platform also has a lot of voltage reporting errors from what I'm seeing too, which adds to the confusion.
 
Joined
Apr 16, 2010
Messages
2,958 (1.04/day)
Likes
938
Location
Portugal
System Name _JP_'s Daily Driver
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 1700
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming Plus
Cooling Noctua NH-C12P SE14 + NM-AM4 + NF-P14r
Memory 2x 8GB G.Skill Trident Z (F4-3200C16D-16GTZB)(Hynix)
Video Card(s) MSI AMD Radeon R9 280X Gaming
Storage HyperX Savage 240GB + KC300 240GB + 750EVO 500GB
Display(s) LG Flatron W2361V 23'' FHD
Case NOX Blaze
Audio Device(s) ASUS Xonar DX
Power Supply Corsair TX650M
Mouse Microsoft Comfort Mouse 4500
Keyboard Logitech Media Keyboard (PS/2)
Software Windows 10 x86-64 (1703)
So back to hard modding sensors to the board? :D
 

Chicken Patty

WCG Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Nov 27, 2007
Messages
28,599 (7.71/day)
Likes
12,629
Location
Miami, Florida
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 1700
Motherboard ASUS ROG CROSSHAIR VI HERO (WI-FI AC)
Cooling EK Water blocks P280 Water Cooling Kit
Memory G.SKILL TridentZ RGB Series 16GB (2 x 8GB) 288-Pin DDR4 3600MHz
Video Card(s) Nvidia GeForce GTX 1080
Storage Samsung 850 EVO 500GB SSD (OS)// OCZ Vertex 4 128GB // WD Black 2TB
Display(s) Samsung 40" LED 4K TV
Case Corsair Obsidian 900D
Audio Device(s) Onboard Sound
Power Supply EVGA SuperNOVA 1000 G2 120-G2
Software Windows 10 64 Bit Home Edition
Benchmark Scores Real man crunch for TPU! :)
Joined
May 22, 2013
Messages
1,133 (0.66/day)
Likes
572
System Name Gamer/ HTPC
Processor AMD Ryzen 1600X
Motherboard MSI X370 Xpower Titanium
Cooling Alphacool Eisbaer 420 AIO
Memory G.Skill TridentZ RGB 2x8GB 3200 CL14
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1070Ti Titanium
Storage Corsair Neutron 480 GB
Display(s) Samsung 42" 1080p
Case Phanteks Enthoo Luxe Tempered Glass
Power Supply Corsair 750
Software Win10 Pro
Benchmark Scores http://hwbot.org/user/johan45/
Try disabling the sense MI skew for non X will give more realistic readings
 

Chicken Patty

WCG Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Nov 27, 2007
Messages
28,599 (7.71/day)
Likes
12,629
Location
Miami, Florida
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 1700
Motherboard ASUS ROG CROSSHAIR VI HERO (WI-FI AC)
Cooling EK Water blocks P280 Water Cooling Kit
Memory G.SKILL TridentZ RGB Series 16GB (2 x 8GB) 288-Pin DDR4 3600MHz
Video Card(s) Nvidia GeForce GTX 1080
Storage Samsung 850 EVO 500GB SSD (OS)// OCZ Vertex 4 128GB // WD Black 2TB
Display(s) Samsung 40" LED 4K TV
Case Corsair Obsidian 900D
Audio Device(s) Onboard Sound
Power Supply EVGA SuperNOVA 1000 G2 120-G2
Software Windows 10 64 Bit Home Edition
Benchmark Scores Real man crunch for TPU! :)
Try disabling the sense MI skew for non X will give more realistic readings
That did the trick for me, it's how I've been running it since day one. Temps are much closer to what should be accurate.
 
Joined
May 22, 2013
Messages
1,133 (0.66/day)
Likes
572
System Name Gamer/ HTPC
Processor AMD Ryzen 1600X
Motherboard MSI X370 Xpower Titanium
Cooling Alphacool Eisbaer 420 AIO
Memory G.Skill TridentZ RGB 2x8GB 3200 CL14
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1070Ti Titanium
Storage Corsair Neutron 480 GB
Display(s) Samsung 42" 1080p
Case Phanteks Enthoo Luxe Tempered Glass
Power Supply Corsair 750
Software Win10 Pro
Benchmark Scores http://hwbot.org/user/johan45/
NIce,disabling on the "X" removes the 20° offset as well
 
Joined
Feb 2, 2011
Messages
537 (0.21/day)
Likes
257
System Name Salamander
Processor Ryzen 7 1700 @ 3.9ghz 1.418v
Motherboard Asrock X370 Taichi
Cooling EK Supremacy Evo | Black Ice Nemesis 360GTS XFlow | 120 GTS | P/P Cougar Vortex - Noiseblockers
Memory Team T-Force Xtreem 2x8GB DDR4 3733 @ 3400mhz 14-14-14-30-52 1T
Video Card(s) Zotac GTX 1080 Mini 8GB GDDR5X @ stock
Storage Galax Gamer L 240GB SSD | Crucial M4 128GB SSD | WD Blue 1TB HDD
Display(s) LG 27MP68VQ 27" 1920x1080 75hz IPS Freesync monitor
Case Fractal Design Define C
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply Seasonic Prime Gold 650w
Mouse Steelseries Kana White
Keyboard Steelseries 6GV2 Cherry MX Black
Software Windows 10 Pro N
where do you usually find that sense mi feature in the bios? or is it exclusive for asus chVI hero only?
 

Chicken Patty

WCG Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Nov 27, 2007
Messages
28,599 (7.71/day)
Likes
12,629
Location
Miami, Florida
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 1700
Motherboard ASUS ROG CROSSHAIR VI HERO (WI-FI AC)
Cooling EK Water blocks P280 Water Cooling Kit
Memory G.SKILL TridentZ RGB Series 16GB (2 x 8GB) 288-Pin DDR4 3600MHz
Video Card(s) Nvidia GeForce GTX 1080
Storage Samsung 850 EVO 500GB SSD (OS)// OCZ Vertex 4 128GB // WD Black 2TB
Display(s) Samsung 40" LED 4K TV
Case Corsair Obsidian 900D
Audio Device(s) Onboard Sound
Power Supply EVGA SuperNOVA 1000 G2 120-G2
Software Windows 10 64 Bit Home Edition
Benchmark Scores Real man crunch for TPU! :)
where do you usually find that sense mi feature in the bios? or is it exclusive for asus chVI hero only?
I never had the Taichi running long enough that I messed with it and found it. Unfortunately I have no clue if it has that setting :(
 
Joined
Jun 8, 2017
Messages
84 (0.37/day)
Likes
54
Location
Germany
Processor AMD Ryzen 5 1600
Motherboard ASRock AB350 Pro4
Cooling Cryorig H7 via Noctua NF-F12
Memory Crucial Ballistix Sport LT white 2x8GB, DDR4-2400
Video Card(s) Gigabyte R9 390 G1 Gaming via Arctic Accelero Xtreme III
Storage Samsung 840 250GB (OS), Crucial MX300 750GB
Display(s) Samsung 40" LED 1080p TV
Case Fractal Design Define S - Front: 3x Noctua NF-P14s redux-1500, Back: Noctua NF-P14s redux-1500
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply Corsair Vengeance 650M
Software Windows 10 Home
where do you usually find that sense mi feature in the bios? or is it exclusive for asus chVI hero only?
As far as I know, it is only related to the Crosshair VI Hero since it is a bug within the bios 0902.


Temperature readings (fixed in 1001 and later)

Tctl readings can be off on 0902, to fix set Sense Mi Skew = Enabled and Sense MI offset = 272. Most reliable sensor is the CPU sensor reading from SIO (listed under Crosshair VI Hero in HWInfo64). New BIOSes should be OK with defaults SenseMi Skew setting of 272.
 
Joined
May 12, 2006
Messages
880 (0.21/day)
Likes
335
Location
gangsterville kingdom
System Name ROG By purecain
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 1800X
Motherboard ASUS Crosshair VI Hero
Cooling TT Water3.0 Riing edition
Memory 16Gb G.Skill Trident RGB R4000mhz
Video Card(s) TitanXpascal 12Gb
Storage 1TbSamsung EvoM.2/1TbSamsung SSD/2Tb+3TbSeagate/1TBseagate/60GbForceGT/750gbHitachi Deskstar/500gbWD
Display(s) 55"Sony Bravia X855 10bit 4K+HDR@60fps 2K+HDR@120fps IPS panel
Case Thermaltake CoreX71 Limited Edition Etched Tempered Glass Door
Audio Device(s) On board/NIcomplete audio 6
Power Supply 1200wThermaltake Toughpower
Mouse Logitech MX MASTER
Keyboard Corsair Strafe Keyboard
Software Windows10pro
my only issue with this chipset now is not being certain of the temps. my temp for the die jumps to 28 27 26 25 - 18c on the rog front base. HWMonitor has it @39c then jumps to 46c and counts back down to 39 and then sits there for a few seconds. after reading what others are doing. this is probably sensemi related. i'll try turning it off later.
 

Chicken Patty

WCG Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Nov 27, 2007
Messages
28,599 (7.71/day)
Likes
12,629
Location
Miami, Florida
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 1700
Motherboard ASUS ROG CROSSHAIR VI HERO (WI-FI AC)
Cooling EK Water blocks P280 Water Cooling Kit
Memory G.SKILL TridentZ RGB Series 16GB (2 x 8GB) 288-Pin DDR4 3600MHz
Video Card(s) Nvidia GeForce GTX 1080
Storage Samsung 850 EVO 500GB SSD (OS)// OCZ Vertex 4 128GB // WD Black 2TB
Display(s) Samsung 40" LED 4K TV
Case Corsair Obsidian 900D
Audio Device(s) Onboard Sound
Power Supply EVGA SuperNOVA 1000 G2 120-G2
Software Windows 10 64 Bit Home Edition
Benchmark Scores Real man crunch for TPU! :)
my only issue with this chipset now is not being certain of the temps. my temp for the die jumps to 28 27 26 25 - 18c on the rog front base. HWMonitor has it @39c then jumps to 46c and counts back down to 39 and then sits there for a few seconds. after reading what others are doing. this is probably sensemi related. i'll try turning it off later.
Mine were better with it off. But I am still skeptical about the temps to be honest.
 
Joined
Apr 16, 2010
Messages
2,958 (1.04/day)
Likes
938
Location
Portugal
System Name _JP_'s Daily Driver
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 1700
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming Plus
Cooling Noctua NH-C12P SE14 + NM-AM4 + NF-P14r
Memory 2x 8GB G.Skill Trident Z (F4-3200C16D-16GTZB)(Hynix)
Video Card(s) MSI AMD Radeon R9 280X Gaming
Storage HyperX Savage 240GB + KC300 240GB + 750EVO 500GB
Display(s) LG Flatron W2361V 23'' FHD
Case NOX Blaze
Audio Device(s) ASUS Xonar DX
Power Supply Corsair TX650M
Mouse Microsoft Comfort Mouse 4500
Keyboard Logitech Media Keyboard (PS/2)
Software Windows 10 x86-64 (1703)
Okay, I haven't built my system yet, but not being able to check temps reliably is starting to worry me....not that I was going to OC from the get-go anyway, but still

Aside that, calling all MSI X370 GAMING PLUS/PRO (not carbon)/KRAIT/SLI PLUS owners!!!
I noticed two jumpers on my gaming plus that are not documented, JOV1 and JOV2...any idea what they might be?
Now...common-sense tells me, since one is near the socket and the other near the DIMMs, they must enable off-spec voltage settings, but I haven't assembled it yet, so I can't tell...but I'm curious :D
 
Joined
Nov 11, 2004
Messages
1,993 (0.41/day)
Likes
970
Location
Formosa
System Name Overlord Mk MVI
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 1700 @ 3.85GHz
Motherboard Asus Prime X370-Pro
Cooling Corsair H110i
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX 3200
Video Card(s) Galax GeForce GTX 1080 EXOC-SNPR
Storage 512GB Plextor M8PeG NVMe, 500GB Crucial MX200
Display(s) Asus PG27AQ
Case Corsair Carbide 400Q
Power Supply Corsair AX860i
Mouse Logitech G500s
Keyboard Roccat ISKU
Software Windows 10
Benchmark Scores https://valid.x86.fr/j1yypa
I got it up to 4 GHz without any problems, but cant get over 2133 MHz on the mem.
Think I will watch @phanbuey ´s ram OC video.......
Since no-one answered, I had an issue with my Asus board as well, same as you, being stuck at 2133MHz for the RAM. Turns out that after a UEFI update, you need to do a hard reset and then it works to set the memory frequency. Some weird Asus bug it seems. The best speed I get out of my RAM and 3000MHz though, no 3200 as yet.
 
Joined
May 12, 2006
Messages
880 (0.21/day)
Likes
335
Location
gangsterville kingdom
System Name ROG By purecain
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 1800X
Motherboard ASUS Crosshair VI Hero
Cooling TT Water3.0 Riing edition
Memory 16Gb G.Skill Trident RGB R4000mhz
Video Card(s) TitanXpascal 12Gb
Storage 1TbSamsung EvoM.2/1TbSamsung SSD/2Tb+3TbSeagate/1TBseagate/60GbForceGT/750gbHitachi Deskstar/500gbWD
Display(s) 55"Sony Bravia X855 10bit 4K+HDR@60fps 2K+HDR@120fps IPS panel
Case Thermaltake CoreX71 Limited Edition Etched Tempered Glass Door
Audio Device(s) On board/NIcomplete audio 6
Power Supply 1200wThermaltake Toughpower
Mouse Logitech MX MASTER
Keyboard Corsair Strafe Keyboard
Software Windows10pro
@jp there are 2 pin connectors for sensors. I have a couple so I thought I might try to get some readings. but where would I need to put the sensor and when you say hard modding sensors to the board, where and how.
I'm interested in trying...:toast:

ps have you seen the oculus rift price... ive dropped some cash on one... off topic I know so just a heads up.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Feb 18, 2011
Messages
913 (0.36/day)
Likes
533
Location
Romania
Processor Ryzen 1700x
Motherboard MSI B350 Gaming Pro Carbon
Cooling be quiet dark rock pro 3
Memory G.Skill Trident Z , 8x2 GB DDR4-3200 Mhz , CL14-14-14-35 1.35v.
Video Card(s) MSI GAMING RX 480
Storage Seagate Barracuda SATA-II 1TB , HyperX Savage 240GB SATA 3
Display(s) Samsung S24E370D AMD FreeSync
Case Be Quiet! Dark Base Pro 900
Audio Device(s) Creative audigy 2
Power Supply Corsair CX600
Mouse Natec Genesis G66 Silent Buttons
Keyboard Microsoft Wired Keyboard 600
Software Windows 10 Pro
I really like what this guy is saying about this motherboard. Especially when it comes to memory. Also it has a bad look, i also don't like the black and white. and it has no rgb light on it....even though it does have the option to add rgb strips and play around with the msi app.

I also have my eye on the more expensive 80$+ https://www.msi.com/Motherboard/X370-GAMING-PRO-CARBON.html#productSpecification-section
This one has an Intel lan chipset ,rather than Realtek ,better look,build in under the motherboard rgb lights.
I think it all boils down to if you hate the black/white theme and if you wanna have Intel Lan.
What do you guys think ?
 
Joined
Mar 15, 2013
Messages
2,481 (1.40/day)
Likes
1,913
Location
GMT +2
System Name Red Radiance
Processor fx 8320
Motherboard GA-990FXA-UD5
Cooling CM Hyper 212 EVO
Memory 16gb G.skill TridentX 2400mhz (2x8 kit)
Video Card(s) GV-R929XOC-4GD
Storage OCZ vertex 460 480gb
Display(s) 32" Toshiba Full HD TV
Case CMstorm Trooper
Audio Device(s) sennheiser's pc323d usb soundcard
Power Supply corsair AX860i
Mouse roccat tyon
Keyboard roccat ryos mk fx
Software windows 7
I really like what this guy is saying about this motherboard. Especially when it comes to memory. Also it has a bad look, i also don't like the black and white. and it has no rgb light on it....even though it does have the option to add rgb strips and play around with the msi app.

I also have my eye on the more expensive 80$+ https://www.msi.com/Motherboard/X370-GAMING-PRO-CARBON.html#productSpecification-section
This one has an Intel lan chipset ,rather than Realtek ,better look,build in under the motherboard rgb lights.
I think it all boils down to if you hate the black/white theme and if you wanna have Intel Lan.
What do you guys think ?
http://www.asrock.com/mb/AMD/Fatal1ty X370 Gaming X/index.us.asp
http://www.asrock.com/mb/AMD/Fatal1ty X370 Gaming-ITXac/index.us.asp
http://www.asrock.com/mb/AMD/Fatal1ty X370 Gaming K4/index.us.asp
http://www.asrock.com/mb/AMD/X370 Killer SLI/index.us.asp
http://www.asrock.com/mb/AMD/X370 Killer SLIac/index.us.asp
 
Joined
Apr 16, 2010
Messages
2,958 (1.04/day)
Likes
938
Location
Portugal
System Name _JP_'s Daily Driver
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 1700
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming Plus
Cooling Noctua NH-C12P SE14 + NM-AM4 + NF-P14r
Memory 2x 8GB G.Skill Trident Z (F4-3200C16D-16GTZB)(Hynix)
Video Card(s) MSI AMD Radeon R9 280X Gaming
Storage HyperX Savage 240GB + KC300 240GB + 750EVO 500GB
Display(s) LG Flatron W2361V 23'' FHD
Case NOX Blaze
Audio Device(s) ASUS Xonar DX
Power Supply Corsair TX650M
Mouse Microsoft Comfort Mouse 4500
Keyboard Logitech Media Keyboard (PS/2)
Software Windows 10 x86-64 (1703)
Right, so...I'm undefeated but not very happy right now.
Spent part of this weekend assembling the rig, more time troubleshooting than the dissasembly/cleaning thoroughly/assembling process. :(

It doesn't POST.
EZ debug CPU LED stays on, then off, fans full blast and nothing more...
MSI says this means the CPU is not detected.

Tried the usual steps, reseating the CPU twice, ran all memory banks with both DIMMs individually...

My long-shot conclusion is, the board came with a very early BIOS build and its not playing along with the F4-3200C16D-16GTZB kit
I say this because, reading a bit about it, most MSIs that don't start from the get-go and signal that there is a problem with a CPU, it's actually the RAM that isn't getting pick-up. Run-of-the-mill QVL 2133MHz sticks seem to solve it until you can update the UEFI (which is somethign I don't have), however, it's a mess online when it comes to MSI boards not posting, every kind of situation and "snake-oil" solutions being found in forums.
I'm aiming at the DIMMs though. AMD has always been picky about this, my FM2 was no different.

EDIT: Okay, didn't word it like that, but also reaching for you guys for ideas to get the bugger to post at least :D
 
Last edited:
Joined
Dec 14, 2009
Messages
6,654 (2.25/day)
Likes
5,903
Location
Glasgow - home of formal profanity
System Name New Ho'Ryzen
Processor Ryzen 1700X @ 3.82Ghz
Motherboard Asus Crosshair VI Hero
Cooling TR Le Grand Macho & custom GPU loop
Memory 16Gb G.Skill 3200 RGB
Video Card(s) GTX1080ti (Heatkiller WB) @ 2Ghz core/1.5(12)Ghz mem
Storage Samsumg 960 Pro m2. 512Gb
Display(s) Dell Ultrasharp 27" (2560x1440)
Case Lian Li PC-V33WX
Audio Device(s) On Board
Power Supply Seasonic Prime TItanium 850
Software W10
Benchmark Scores Look, it's a Ryzen on air........ What's the point?
Well, I came back my hols and my DOCP memory setting wouldn't post. Continually 3 beeps then nothing. Safe boot and reset, put timing manually to 3200 with latencies untouched 16's instead of the DOCP 14 value. Working fine.
Will upgrade BIOS when it's not a beta for the AGESA one.
 
Joined
Apr 16, 2010
Messages
2,958 (1.04/day)
Likes
938
Location
Portugal
System Name _JP_'s Daily Driver
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 1700
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming Plus
Cooling Noctua NH-C12P SE14 + NM-AM4 + NF-P14r
Memory 2x 8GB G.Skill Trident Z (F4-3200C16D-16GTZB)(Hynix)
Video Card(s) MSI AMD Radeon R9 280X Gaming
Storage HyperX Savage 240GB + KC300 240GB + 750EVO 500GB
Display(s) LG Flatron W2361V 23'' FHD
Case NOX Blaze
Audio Device(s) ASUS Xonar DX
Power Supply Corsair TX650M
Mouse Microsoft Comfort Mouse 4500
Keyboard Logitech Media Keyboard (PS/2)
Software Windows 10 x86-64 (1703)
Okay so, I feel dumb right now. The kit I bought is not on the QVL list. :banghead: :(
That might be the very reason it doesn't post, but I'm still wondering how the hell I made the mistake because I know I checked for compatibility :confused:
 
Joined
Apr 1, 2008
Messages
2,846 (0.79/day)
Likes
631
System Name HTC's System
Processor Ryzen 5 1600
Motherboard Asrock Taichi
Cooling NH-C14
Memory G.Skill Kit 16GB DDR4 F4 - 3200 C16D - 16 GTZB
Video Card(s) Sapphire Nitro+ Radeon RX 480 OC 4 GB
Storage 2 * Samsung 1 TB HD103UJ
Display(s) LG 27UD58
Case Corsair Obsidian 650D
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair TX750
Mouse Logitech Performance MX
Software Ubuntu 16.04 LTS
Okay so, I feel dumb right now. The kit I bought is not on the QVL list. :banghead: :(
That might be the very reason it doesn't post, but I'm still wondering how the hell I made the mistake because I know I checked for compatibility :confused:
Which kit exactly did you buy?

Also, a stupid question: have you tried to reset CMOS?
 

Norton

Moderator & WCG-TPU Captain
Staff member
Joined
Dec 21, 2011
Messages
12,819 (5.76/day)
Likes
36,733
Location
USA
System Name My Fortress/Trish (WCG)/Julia (WCG)/Ella (WCG)/Junior(WCG)/Cruncher 1 & 2/Kreij (WCG)
Processor Ryzen 1700X/i7-970/2600K/i7-980X/3930k/Opteron 6168x4/Ryzen 1600X/FX-8350
Motherboard X370 Taichi/ ASUS R3E/Asus P8P67 Pro/P9X79 Pro/EVGA X58 SLI 3/SuperMicro 4P
Cooling NH-D14/Phanteks/NH-U14S/H70/DeepCool/CM 212+ (x4)/NH-U14S/CM212
Memory 16GB GSkill TridentZ-3200 (1700X), 16GB GSkill FlareX-2400 (1600X),... various...., 4P- 16x1GB
Video Card(s) RX 580/HD 4670/HD 7770/HD 7770/HD 7770/onboard/HD 7770/onboard
Storage WD 500GB SSD/Seagate 2TB SSHD, everything else is Western Digital (mostly)
Display(s) Dell U2414H & 2409W / Dell 2208WFP (shared)
Case Silverstone FT01B/Source 530/Corsair 230T/Define XL R2/Silverstone FT05/Define R4/custom
Audio Device(s) on board (All)
Power Supply Corsair HX850/TX650/CS650M/X Gold 750/EVGA P2 850/X Gold 1050/HX650
Mouse Logitech G300s
Keyboard Thermaltake Challenger Prime (Great for $30!!!)
Software Win 7 Home 64 (Win 10 Pro 64)/Win Pro 64 or Ubuntu 12.04 LTS/14.04 LTS/17.04
Benchmark Scores Why sit on the Bench when you can get in the game and Crunch!!!
@_JP_ I'm using the same exact kit on my Ryzen setup and had no trouble with it. I'm using an Asrock board but the ram isn't on it's QVL either.

Note that I did have an initial issue with the ram not being fully seated in the slots (one stick wasn't showing up) but other than that it's doing fine.
 
Joined
Apr 16, 2010
Messages
2,958 (1.04/day)
Likes
938
Location
Portugal
System Name _JP_'s Daily Driver
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 1700
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming Plus
Cooling Noctua NH-C12P SE14 + NM-AM4 + NF-P14r
Memory 2x 8GB G.Skill Trident Z (F4-3200C16D-16GTZB)(Hynix)
Video Card(s) MSI AMD Radeon R9 280X Gaming
Storage HyperX Savage 240GB + KC300 240GB + 750EVO 500GB
Display(s) LG Flatron W2361V 23'' FHD
Case NOX Blaze
Audio Device(s) ASUS Xonar DX
Power Supply Corsair TX650M
Mouse Microsoft Comfort Mouse 4500
Keyboard Logitech Media Keyboard (PS/2)
Software Windows 10 x86-64 (1703)
Which kit exactly did you buy?

Also, a stupid question: have you tried to reset CMOS?
G.Skill Trident Z F4-3200C16D-16GTZB.
The C14Ds are on the QVL list. Mine having loose timings should help, I figure. They are SS B-dies, IIRC, so they should work (been thinking about it over lunch. That might have been my logic, tighter timings bring difficulties. I do remeber I picked this kit over another because it was the ones in stock.)

And yes, I've cleared the CMOS. Multiple times. :D
@_JP_ I'm using the same exact kit on my Ryzen setup and had no trouble with it. I'm using an Asrock board but the ram isn't on it's QVL either.

Note that I did have an initial issue with the ram not being fully seated in the slots (one stick wasn't showing up) but other than that it's doing fine.
I did find the slots a bit flimsy, but they seemed nicely seated and locked every time. I made each DIMM sit on every one, no only on DIMMA2, like MSI recommends.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Dec 14, 2009
Messages
6,654 (2.25/day)
Likes
5,903
Location
Glasgow - home of formal profanity
System Name New Ho'Ryzen
Processor Ryzen 1700X @ 3.82Ghz
Motherboard Asus Crosshair VI Hero
Cooling TR Le Grand Macho & custom GPU loop
Memory 16Gb G.Skill 3200 RGB
Video Card(s) GTX1080ti (Heatkiller WB) @ 2Ghz core/1.5(12)Ghz mem
Storage Samsumg 960 Pro m2. 512Gb
Display(s) Dell Ultrasharp 27" (2560x1440)
Case Lian Li PC-V33WX
Audio Device(s) On Board
Power Supply Seasonic Prime TItanium 850
Software W10
Benchmark Scores Look, it's a Ryzen on air........ What's the point?
G.Skill Trident Z F4-3200C16D-16GTZB.
The C14Ds are on the QVL list. Mine having loose timings should help, I figure. They are SS B-dies, IIRC, so they should work (been thinking about it over lunch. That might have been my logic. I do remeber I picked this kit over another because it was they stock they had.

And yes, I've cleared the CMOS. Multiple times. :D

I did find the slots a bit flimsy, but they seemed nicely seated and locked every time. I made each DIMM sit on every one, no only on DIMMA2, like MSI recommends.
Question: Does the C14D refer to the latency of 14?

I ask because I have the C14D set and it works fine at 3200MHz. BUT - when i use the proper setting the mobo bugs out with the latency at 14. It has zero issues when runniung manually at 3200MHz and the latency at 16.

That's Ryzen for you....
 
Joined
Apr 1, 2008
Messages
2,846 (0.79/day)
Likes
631
System Name HTC's System
Processor Ryzen 5 1600
Motherboard Asrock Taichi
Cooling NH-C14
Memory G.Skill Kit 16GB DDR4 F4 - 3200 C16D - 16 GTZB
Video Card(s) Sapphire Nitro+ Radeon RX 480 OC 4 GB
Storage 2 * Samsung 1 TB HD103UJ
Display(s) LG 27UD58
Case Corsair Obsidian 650D
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair TX750
Mouse Logitech Performance MX
Software Ubuntu 16.04 LTS
G.Skill Trident Z F4-3200C16D-16GTZB.
The C14Ds are on the QVL list. Mine having loose timings should help, I figure. They are SS B-dies, IIRC, so they should work (been thinking about it over lunch. That might have been my logic. I do remeber I picked this kit over another because it was they stock they had.

And yes, I've cleared the CMOS. Multiple times. :D

I did find the slots a bit flimsy, but they seemed nicely seated and locked every time. I made each DIMM sit on every one, no only on DIMMA2, like MSI recommends.
That's the exact model i'm using but i'm still @ the detected speeds, which is 2133 or 2400 (not sure) because i'm a complete noob when it comes to Linux so i figure learn to work with Linux 1st and then tinker with the speeds (CPU as well as RAM).

Ofc the mobo i'm using is different, so there's that ...

Could there be a problem with the RAM modules? Do you have a friend that can test the RAM for you to rule that out?
 
Joined
Apr 16, 2010
Messages
2,958 (1.04/day)
Likes
938
Location
Portugal
System Name _JP_'s Daily Driver
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 1700
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming Plus
Cooling Noctua NH-C12P SE14 + NM-AM4 + NF-P14r
Memory 2x 8GB G.Skill Trident Z (F4-3200C16D-16GTZB)(Hynix)
Video Card(s) MSI AMD Radeon R9 280X Gaming
Storage HyperX Savage 240GB + KC300 240GB + 750EVO 500GB
Display(s) LG Flatron W2361V 23'' FHD
Case NOX Blaze
Audio Device(s) ASUS Xonar DX
Power Supply Corsair TX650M
Mouse Microsoft Comfort Mouse 4500
Keyboard Logitech Media Keyboard (PS/2)
Software Windows 10 x86-64 (1703)
Question: Does the C14D refer to the latency of 14?

I ask because I have the C14D set and it works fine at 3200MHz. BUT - when i use the proper setting the mobo bugs out with the latency at 14. It has zero issues when runniung manually at 3200MHz and the latency at 16.

That's Ryzen for you....
It does seem like it to me :ohwell:, C14 for 14-14-14-34 and C16 for 16-18-18-38.
That's the exact model i'm using but i'm still @ the detected speeds, which is 2133 or 2400 (not sure) because i'm a complete noob when it comes to Linux so i figure learn to work with Linux 1st and then tinker with the speeds (CPU as well as RAM).

Ofc the mobo i'm using is different, so there's that ...

Could there be a problem with the RAM modules? Do you have a friend that can test the RAM for you to rule that out?
Right, that's what I was expecting, for it to boot but at those speeds. Guess I wasn't that lucky. :laugh: I'm still convinced the board was shipped with an early UEFI version. I need it to post once so that I can update it.
Thing is I don't have extra DDR4...say, 2133MHz, but I'll try to source a stick this week.

I think the modules are fine, because I tested them both, individually and the result was always the same.