• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

AMD To Crank Up Phenom II Clock-Speeds Upto 3.50 GHz, Planning New Models

Joined
Nov 4, 2005
Messages
9,950 (2.25/day)
Likes
2,309
System Name MoFo 2
Processor AMD PhenomII 1100T @ 4.2Ghz
Motherboard Asus Crosshair IV
Cooling Swiftec 655 pump, Apogee GT,, MCR360mm Rad, 1/2 loop.
Memory 8GB DDR3-2133 @ 1900 8.9.9.24 1T
Video Card(s) HD7970 1250/1750
Storage Agility 3 SSD 6TB RAID 0 on RAID Card
Display(s) 46" 1080P Toshiba LCD
Case Rosewill R6A34-BK modded (thanks to MKmods)
Audio Device(s) ATI HDMI
Power Supply 750W PC Power & Cooling modded (thanks to MKmods)
Software A lot.
Benchmark Scores Its fast. Enough.

Wile E

Power User
Joined
Oct 1, 2006
Messages
24,318 (5.94/day)
Likes
3,682
System Name The ClusterF**k
Processor 980X @ 4Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-EX58-UD5 BIOS F12
Cooling MCR-320, DDC-1 pump w/Bitspower res top (1/2" fittings), Koolance CPU-360
Memory 3x2GB Mushkin Redlines 1600Mhz 6-8-6-24 1T
Video Card(s) Evga GTX 580
Storage Corsair Neutron GTX 240GB, 2xSeagate 320GB RAID0; 2xSeagate 3TB; 2xSamsung 2TB; Samsung 1.5TB
Display(s) HP LP2475w 24" 1920x1200 IPS
Case Technofront Bench Station
Audio Device(s) Auzentech X-Fi Forte into Onkyo SR606 and Polk TSi200's + RM6750
Power Supply ENERMAX Galaxy EVO EGX1250EWT 1250W
Software Win7 Ultimate N x64, OSX 10.8.4
didn't we already go through this trick i proved you wrong in 3dmark cpu scores, wprime and something else?

Q9550 and the PX4 overclocked perform the same now when AMD goes through with this 3.5ghz core clock thing there wont be a C2Q that can keep up@ stock. on top of that they will give core i7 a run for its money. if priced right they will be the better buy.
I'll go clock for clock with you on some benches. Been wondering how they stack up outside of a review environment. (You know, real users, real results). Just name the cpu/ram speeds, and the benches.

The P4 was a overpriced, high voltage, ran hotter, under performer....FACT's
A P4 at 3.73GHz could not even match a Athlon at 2.8GHz FACT
A P4 over clocked at 4.1GHz could not even match a Athlon at 2.8GHz FACT
My m8s P4 @ 3.2GHz couldn't even match my 2.2GHz Athlon in anything FACT
I will always be talking down the P4 because they are the SUCK FACT, so many people had P4's and they had no idea about Athlon's let alone AMD in general, so all they thought was higher clock speeds meant they was faster FACT, the end. Intel new this and always kept the price high even tho they was getting beat badly against the Athlon's in raw performance.
Even the K7 vs the P4 was doing very well FACT, matching them in performance but having lower clock speeds, thats were AMD's number scheme came into play in the first place FACT. Then the K8 come out and Intel had nothing at all to counter it, the P4 had lost completely FACT.

http://techreport.com/articles.x/8482/14

http://www.simhq.com/_technology/technology_066c.html

As you can tell the P4 could not match a Athlon at all, even with a clock speed of over 4GHz a total of 1.3GHz higher clock speed they still couldn't match the Athlons FACT. So to reference to the Phenom i dont think you need to over clock the phenom 1.3GHz or more to match intels Q9XXX series? if im wrong please prove me wrong?
I think you need to get your FACT's straight before you say anything, my guess is that you owned a P4 and got burnt bad? and spent a F load on it and got beat by a CPU half its price?
That's not a 100% fact. The P4 would take it in encoding tasks. That's the other reason Intel was able to keep the prices high. P4's were in demand from professionals that needed them for rendering/encoding.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Mar 18, 2008
Messages
4,476 (1.26/day)
Likes
1,026
Location
Australia
System Name Night Rider | Mini LAN PC | Workhorse
Processor AMD FX 8350 | i7 2600 | i7 970
Motherboard GA-990FXA-UD3 AM3+ | GA-H77M-D3H | Gigabyte EX58-UD5
Cooling AMD Wraith cooler| Coolermaster Gemini with Noctua 3000RPM Fan | Big shairkan B
Memory 4x2GB DDR3 G.Skill 1600 6-8-6-24| 2x4GB Corsair 1600 | 6x2GB DDR3 1300 Corsair
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX 970 OC in Sli | Gainward GTX 650 TI GS | ASUS 7970 Matrix
Storage 250GB Plextor SSD Por 5 /1TB WD Black | 500GB WD ES/WD Black | WD 320/Seagate 320
Display(s) Samsung 2494hs 24" 1080P| Samsung 20" S20C300L/DELL 15" | 22" DELL/19"DELL
Case LIAN LI PC-18 | Mini ATX Case (custom) | Atrix C4 9001
Audio Device(s) Onboard | Onbaord | Onboard
Power Supply Silverstone 750 | Silverstone Mini 450W | Corsair CX-750
Mouse Gigabyte aivia krypton gaming mouse | Rapoo V900 | Gigabyte 6850X
Keyboard MAX Keyboard Nighthawk X8 | Creative Fatal1ty eluminx | Some POS Logitech
Software Windows 7 Pro 64 | Windows 7 Pro 64 | Windows 7 Pro 64/Windows 10 Home
That's not a 100% fact. The P4 would take it in encoding tasks. That's the other reason Intel was able to keep the prices high. P4's were in demand from professionals that needed them for rendering/encoding.
Yea you are probably right there, i should have said> in just about everything, 90% or something. Just to let ya know the CPU i was talking about was my old 3700+ sandy core, so it wouldn't of been not far off his 3.2GHz P4 id say? id have to look it up to confirm it. (encoding/rendering)

There are and always will be areas that intel (P4) do very well in, but overall i was getting at, that they was getting beat bad.

The K7 vs P4 was very close, even the AMD 3000/3200 K7 didn't realy match the 3.0/3.2GHz P4s but was very close tho, then the A64 came out and it was game over.

O and thanks to cdawall, Valdez, and wahdangun for the thanks on my last post :)
 
Last edited:

Wile E

Power User
Joined
Oct 1, 2006
Messages
24,318 (5.94/day)
Likes
3,682
System Name The ClusterF**k
Processor 980X @ 4Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-EX58-UD5 BIOS F12
Cooling MCR-320, DDC-1 pump w/Bitspower res top (1/2" fittings), Koolance CPU-360
Memory 3x2GB Mushkin Redlines 1600Mhz 6-8-6-24 1T
Video Card(s) Evga GTX 580
Storage Corsair Neutron GTX 240GB, 2xSeagate 320GB RAID0; 2xSeagate 3TB; 2xSamsung 2TB; Samsung 1.5TB
Display(s) HP LP2475w 24" 1920x1200 IPS
Case Technofront Bench Station
Audio Device(s) Auzentech X-Fi Forte into Onkyo SR606 and Polk TSi200's + RM6750
Power Supply ENERMAX Galaxy EVO EGX1250EWT 1250W
Software Win7 Ultimate N x64, OSX 10.8.4
Yea you are probably right there, i should have said> in just about everything, 90% or something. Just to let ya know the CPU i was talking about was my old 3700+ sandy core, so it wouldn't of been not far off his 3.2GHz P4 id say? id have to look it up to confirm it. (encoding/rendering)

There are and always will be areas that intel (P4) do very well in, but overall i was getting at, that they was getting beat bad.

The K7 vs P4 was very close, even the AMD 3000/3200 K7 didn't realy match the 3.0/3.2GHz P4s but was very close tho, then the A64 came out and it was game over.
Oh yeah, I agree. The encoding performance wasn't worth taking the hit just about everywhere else for the average user. The A64 was overall a much better processor.
 

cdawall

where the hell are my stars
Joined
Jul 23, 2006
Messages
26,567 (6.38/day)
Likes
7,468
Location
Houston
System Name Team Blue
Processor 5960X@4.8 1.42v
Motherboard Asus X99M-WS
Cooling EK Supremecy EVO, MCR220-Stack+MCR220+MCR320, D5-PWM+EK X-RES 140
Memory 4x8GB G.Skill Trident Z 3200 CL16
Video Card(s) (2) EVGA SC BLACK 1080Ti's+ EVGA reference 1080Ti soon to be under water
Storage Samsung SM951 512GB, Samsung PM961 512GB
Display(s) Dell UP2414Q 3840X2160@60hz
Case Caselabs Mercury S5
Audio Device(s) Fischer HA-02->Fischer FA-002W High edition/FA-003/Jubilate/FA-011 depending on my mood
Power Supply Seasonic Prime 1200w
Mouse Thermaltake Theron
Keyboard Thermaltake Poseidon ZX
Software W10P
Benchmark Scores Zoom zoom mofo
I'll go clock for clock with you on some benches. Been wondering how they stack up outside of a review environment. (You know, real users, real results). Just name the cpu/ram speeds, and the benches.
i'll run a couple really quick. 3.9ghz is something almost every phenom II can do so it should be a fair speed you can name the DRAM speed mine can run all the way up to 1266 6-5-6-16

3D06, AQ3, vantage, wprime, spi 1/32m should be good to start with


my everyday setting is 236*16.5 puts the cpu@3.894ghz and ram@1260mhz 6-5-6-16


That's not a 100% fact. The P4 would take it in encoding tasks. That's the other reason Intel was able to keep the prices high. P4's were in demand from professionals that needed them for rendering/encoding.
i had a PD930 for this exact reason in encoding an AX2 could not match it in any means of the word. Even oc'd the PD could easily hold its own in this task.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Mar 29, 2007
Messages
4,829 (1.23/day)
Likes
635
System Name The Cube
Processor Ryzen 5 1600
Motherboard Asus Prime B350M-A/CSM AM4 mATX
Cooling Stock Wraith Spire
Memory 2x8gb Crucial Ballistix Sport LT DDR4-2400
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 760
Storage 256 GB Samsung Evo 850, 1TB WD Blue
Display(s) ASUS PB278Q 27" 1440p LED
Case Thermaltake Core V21
Power Supply EVGA Supernova 550W
Software Win 10 Education

cdawall

where the hell are my stars
Joined
Jul 23, 2006
Messages
26,567 (6.38/day)
Likes
7,468
Location
Houston
System Name Team Blue
Processor 5960X@4.8 1.42v
Motherboard Asus X99M-WS
Cooling EK Supremecy EVO, MCR220-Stack+MCR220+MCR320, D5-PWM+EK X-RES 140
Memory 4x8GB G.Skill Trident Z 3200 CL16
Video Card(s) (2) EVGA SC BLACK 1080Ti's+ EVGA reference 1080Ti soon to be under water
Storage Samsung SM951 512GB, Samsung PM961 512GB
Display(s) Dell UP2414Q 3840X2160@60hz
Case Caselabs Mercury S5
Audio Device(s) Fischer HA-02->Fischer FA-002W High edition/FA-003/Jubilate/FA-011 depending on my mood
Power Supply Seasonic Prime 1200w
Mouse Thermaltake Theron
Keyboard Thermaltake Poseidon ZX
Software W10P
Benchmark Scores Zoom zoom mofo

Tatty_One

Super Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jan 18, 2006
Messages
19,762 (4.54/day)
Likes
6,031
Location
Worcestershire, UK
Processor Skylake Core i7 6700k @ 4.6gig
Motherboard MSI Z170A Tomahawk
Cooling Cooler Master Seidon 240V AIO/Viper140's
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX 3000mhz CL14
Video Card(s) Sapphire 4gb R9 290X VaporX @1150mhz
Storage SkHynix SL308 120GB/CrucialM4/1TB WD Black
Display(s) LG 29inch 2560x1080 Curved Ultrawide IPS
Case Phanteks Enthoo Pro M Windowed - Gunmetal
Audio Device(s) Xifi Elite Pro 7.1/VideoLogic ZXR550's
Power Supply XFX Pro Black Edition 750W Gold modular
Keyboard CM Storm Octane Combo
Software Win 10 Home x64
i'll run a couple really quick. 3.9ghz is something almost every phenom II can do so it should be a fair speed you can name the DRAM speed mine can run all the way up to 1266 6-5-6-16

3D06, AQ3, vantage, wprime, spi 1/32m should be good to start with


my everyday setting is 236*16.5 puts the cpu@3.894ghz and ram@1260mhz 6-5-6-16



i had a PD930 for this exact reason in encoding an AX2 could not match it in any means of the word. Even oc'd the PD could easily hold its own in this task.
Just my 2 penneth, it's you guys that are doing the testing, but I would sack AQ3, damn it's even more synthetic than a whore's PVC underwear :eek: however......

PC Mark vantage would be a good one if you both have Vista.............

http://www.futuremark.com/download/pcmarkvantage/

And if you dont........ PC Mark 2005

http://www.futuremark.com/download/pcmark05/

If your memory are going to be same speed and latencies then SM2 would be good also.

Sorry for butting in!
 

Wile E

Power User
Joined
Oct 1, 2006
Messages
24,318 (5.94/day)
Likes
3,682
System Name The ClusterF**k
Processor 980X @ 4Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-EX58-UD5 BIOS F12
Cooling MCR-320, DDC-1 pump w/Bitspower res top (1/2" fittings), Koolance CPU-360
Memory 3x2GB Mushkin Redlines 1600Mhz 6-8-6-24 1T
Video Card(s) Evga GTX 580
Storage Corsair Neutron GTX 240GB, 2xSeagate 320GB RAID0; 2xSeagate 3TB; 2xSamsung 2TB; Samsung 1.5TB
Display(s) HP LP2475w 24" 1920x1200 IPS
Case Technofront Bench Station
Audio Device(s) Auzentech X-Fi Forte into Onkyo SR606 and Polk TSi200's + RM6750
Power Supply ENERMAX Galaxy EVO EGX1250EWT 1250W
Software Win7 Ultimate N x64, OSX 10.8.4
Just my 2 penneth, it's you guys that are doing the testing, but I would sack AQ3, damn it's even more synthetic than a whore's PVC underwear :eek: however......

PC Mark vantage would be a good one if you both have Vista.............

http://www.futuremark.com/download/pcmarkvantage/

And if you dont........ PC Mark 2005

http://www.futuremark.com/download/pcmark05/

If your memory are going to be same speed and latencies then SM2 would be good also.

Sorry for butting in!
Anything that includes gfx in the test probably isn't a great Idea, unless the app breaks the scores down to individual segments. Not to mention I run a RAID0, so that will effect the PCMark scores as well.
 
Joined
Jun 3, 2007
Messages
22,400 (5.82/day)
Likes
8,922
Location
'Merica. The Great SOUTH!
System Name The Mailbox 4.5
Processor Intel i7 2600k @ 4.2GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte Z77X-UP5 TH Intel LGA 1155
Cooling Scythe Katana 4
Memory G.SKILL Sniper Series 16GB DDR3 1866: 9-9-9-24
Video Card(s) MSI 1080 "Duke" with 8Gb of RAM. Boost Clock 1847 MHz
Storage 256Gb M4 SSD, 500Gb WD (7200) 128Gb Agelity 4 SSD
Display(s) LG 29" Class 21:9 UltraWide® IPS LED Monitor 2560 x 1080
Case Cooler Master 922 HAF
Audio Device(s) SupremeFX X-Fi with Bose Companion 2 speakers.
Power Supply SeaSonic X Series X650 Gold
Mouse SteelSeries Sensei (RAW) and a Wacom Intuos 4 tablet.
Keyboard Razer BlackWidow
Software Windows 10 Pro (64-bit)
Benchmark Scores Benching is for bitches.
Damn Wile E I guess you can't sleep ether.
 

Wile E

Power User
Joined
Oct 1, 2006
Messages
24,318 (5.94/day)
Likes
3,682
System Name The ClusterF**k
Processor 980X @ 4Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-EX58-UD5 BIOS F12
Cooling MCR-320, DDC-1 pump w/Bitspower res top (1/2" fittings), Koolance CPU-360
Memory 3x2GB Mushkin Redlines 1600Mhz 6-8-6-24 1T
Video Card(s) Evga GTX 580
Storage Corsair Neutron GTX 240GB, 2xSeagate 320GB RAID0; 2xSeagate 3TB; 2xSamsung 2TB; Samsung 1.5TB
Display(s) HP LP2475w 24" 1920x1200 IPS
Case Technofront Bench Station
Audio Device(s) Auzentech X-Fi Forte into Onkyo SR606 and Polk TSi200's + RM6750
Power Supply ENERMAX Galaxy EVO EGX1250EWT 1250W
Software Win7 Ultimate N x64, OSX 10.8.4
i'll run a couple really quick. 3.9ghz is something almost every phenom II can do so it should be a fair speed you can name the DRAM speed mine can run all the way up to 1266 6-5-6-16

3D06, AQ3, vantage, wprime, spi 1/32m should be good to start with


my everyday setting is 236*16.5 puts the cpu@3.894ghz and ram@1260mhz 6-5-6-16



i had a PD930 for this exact reason in encoding an AX2 could not match it in any means of the word. Even oc'd the PD could easily hold its own in this task.
I have a few linux distros on the way down, so remind me in a day or 2. Can't reboot right now. As far as ram, I can run it all the way to 1360 CAS 5, so whatever you pick is fine with me. But I can offer some friendly advice, and tell you that running 1260Mhz at CAS6 is not better than running at 1050 CAS5.

Damn Wile E I guess you can't sleep ether.
Never really do. lol
 

cdawall

where the hell are my stars
Joined
Jul 23, 2006
Messages
26,567 (6.38/day)
Likes
7,468
Location
Houston
System Name Team Blue
Processor 5960X@4.8 1.42v
Motherboard Asus X99M-WS
Cooling EK Supremecy EVO, MCR220-Stack+MCR220+MCR320, D5-PWM+EK X-RES 140
Memory 4x8GB G.Skill Trident Z 3200 CL16
Video Card(s) (2) EVGA SC BLACK 1080Ti's+ EVGA reference 1080Ti soon to be under water
Storage Samsung SM951 512GB, Samsung PM961 512GB
Display(s) Dell UP2414Q 3840X2160@60hz
Case Caselabs Mercury S5
Audio Device(s) Fischer HA-02->Fischer FA-002W High edition/FA-003/Jubilate/FA-011 depending on my mood
Power Supply Seasonic Prime 1200w
Mouse Thermaltake Theron
Keyboard Thermaltake Poseidon ZX
Software W10P
Benchmark Scores Zoom zoom mofo
I have a few linux distros on the way down, so remind me in a day or 2. Can't reboot right now. As far as ram, I can run it all the way to 1360 CAS 5, so whatever you pick is fine with me. But I can offer some friendly advice, and tell you that running 1260Mhz at CAS6 is not better than running at 1050 CAS5.



Never really do. lol
it was for benchmarks that i ran cause i pushed the other bus speeds higher and this chip loves bandwidth out the ass

oh and ram does 1150 cas5 so its not that bad. will have 4GB of D9g** shortly so i can run those to
 
Joined
Sep 5, 2004
Messages
1,870 (0.39/day)
Likes
249
Location
The Kingdom of Norway
System Name Wiak's Gaming Rig 2017
Processor Ryzen 1700X
Motherboard ASUS PRIME X370-PRO
Cooling Noctua
Memory Corsair Vengenace LPX 3200 CL16 @ 2933
Video Card(s) MSI Radeon 480 8GB Gaming X
Storage Samsung 960 EVO 500GB / Samsung 850 EVO 1TB
Case Corsair 200R
Power Supply Corsair AX850
Mouse Corsair Sabre Laser
Keyboard Logitech Orion Brown (G610)