1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Anyone still running a Radeon HD 3870 X2 besides me?

Discussion in 'AMD / ATI' started by chevy350, Aug 22, 2010.

  1. Melvis

    Melvis

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2008
    Messages:
    4,032 (1.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    769
    Location:
    Australia
    Im not sure on most of those games if they have an inbuilt benchmarker, i think there is one for STALKER but the rest yea i dont know =/

    All good lets just go with FC2 for the moment then.
     
  2. chevy350

    chevy350

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2009
    Messages:
    202 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    40
    I can't remember if STALKER does either.....I think there is a bench for it on another site if I remember correctly though.....found and getting it now ;)
     
  3. Melvis

    Melvis

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2008
    Messages:
    4,032 (1.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    769
    Location:
    Australia
    ^ Sweet, i might do the same, its on TPU isnt it?
     
  4. chevy350

    chevy350

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2009
    Messages:
    202 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    40
    found it on guru3d about halfway down
    Code:
    http://downloads.guru3d.com/Benchmarks-&-Demo%27s_c6.html
     
    Melvis says thanks.
  5. chevy350

    chevy350

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2009
    Messages:
    202 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    40
    got the STALKER bench app and here's the results :cool:

    Extreme, Enhanced Full Lighting DX10
     

    Attached Files:

    • 1.jpg
      1.jpg
      File size:
      63.6 KB
      Views:
      146
  6. Melvis

    Melvis

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2008
    Messages:
    4,032 (1.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    769
    Location:
    Australia
    Thats pretty good for that card, im impressed. But arnt you running XP? DX10 wont work?

    Here is my results but this is at 1600*1200 Res, same settings as yours.
     

    Attached Files:

    chevy350 says thanks.
  7. chevy350

    chevy350

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2009
    Messages:
    202 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    40
    very nice on ur end too.....naw haven't ran xp in almost a year now, Win7 X64 ;)
    considering looking for a 4870 X2 before long since most games aren't using DX11 don't really see a point in getting a 5XXX series card just yet, but my fiancee is running a pair of MSI 5770's in crossfire and it stomps the crap outta my 3870 X2 lol
     
    Last edited: Sep 23, 2010
    Melvis says thanks.
  8. Melvis

    Melvis

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2008
    Messages:
    4,032 (1.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    769
    Location:
    Australia
    Cheers,. O ok sorry about that, it must of been someone else on this thread that did, my bad, got confused there for a sec.

    Yea even ive been loking into a second one lol but its a Gainward GS GLH edition and then selling off this one to a m8, but i dont know yet need a new HDD first. Yea i can imagine two 5770 would do that, even eat my 4870X2 alive i would think?

    I think im going to do another run and this time set it all to MAX hehe
     
    chevy350 says thanks.
  9. chevy350

    chevy350

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2009
    Messages:
    202 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    40
    I haven't been able to run anything on her comp :( she said no because I mess with stuff too much lol.....MAX settings would probably kill mine lol
     
  10. Melvis

    Melvis

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2008
    Messages:
    4,032 (1.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    769
    Location:
    Australia
    Her comp? o so its not yours? lol o dear, yea it might, i forgot about doing that, i might do it right now see how it goes, or dies.
     
  11. Melvis

    Melvis

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2008
    Messages:
    4,032 (1.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    769
    Location:
    Australia
    Ok here is the results i got from running it at MAX, and i mean MAX everything possible, including in Advance settings etc.

    Card got to 70c
     

    Attached Files:

    chevy350 says thanks.
  12. chevy350

    chevy350

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2009
    Messages:
    202 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    40
    still pretty damn good :toast: yeah she got the new build last year, my turn this year :D I'm not allowed to play on her's since I like to mess with "settings" and usually get a couple BSOD's in the process lol
     
  13. Melvis

    Melvis

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2008
    Messages:
    4,032 (1.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    769
    Location:
    Australia
    :toast: Dude, ahh i see fair enough, this yr or next yr? Next yr we going to have some dam fine tech, id wait till then?. Sounds like my Mrs, if i play with hers she goes Grrrrrr lol

    I hope i dont get the erge to build next yea, i must stop buying comp stuff lol
     
  14. chevy350

    chevy350

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2009
    Messages:
    202 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    40
    here's what I got with just ultra since I don't use AA or filtering in games, yea 2011's my turn, not sure what I'm gonna do with all the new stuff coming out lol
     

    Attached Files:

  15. chevy350

    chevy350

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2009
    Messages:
    202 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    40
    Well just upped to a MSI HD5770 and putting the 3870 X2 in the kids comp later on today, gonna re-run some benches and see how it does ;)
     
  16. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    45,474 (10.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,755
    Location:
    Australalalalalaia.
    my guess is a bit slower for max FPS, but higher min and average.

    also, some reduction in CPU usage, removing potential bottleneck there.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  17. jpierce55

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2006
    Messages:
    1,335 (0.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    91
    much lower temps and voltage consumption is going to be reduced as well.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  18. chevy350

    chevy350

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2009
    Messages:
    202 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    40
    3870 X2 wouldn't work with the kids motherboard so it's on it's way to a buddy who can use it, and I'm actually getting gains in all fps...min, max, and avg :rockout:
     
  19. pantherx12

    pantherx12

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2009
    Messages:
    9,718 (3.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,701
    Location:
    Suffolk/Essex, England


    Not surprising, the 3870 had terrible, terrible scaling.


    You have more stream processors with your 5770, you have more memory ( unless you had a 2 gig 3870x2).

    640(320x2) ( doesn't get the benefit of the full 640 anyway I'd bet) vs 800 stream processors.
     
  20. GotNoRice

    GotNoRice

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2010
    Messages:
    127 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    57
    Location:
    Northern California
    Never run a 3870x2 but I did get both of my 4870x2 cards used for less than the cost of a single 5870 about a year ago. Never regretted that decision.
     
  21. Melvis

    Melvis

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2008
    Messages:
    4,032 (1.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    769
    Location:
    Australia
    How does the two 4870X2's perform like? Do you see a big increase in FPS in most games? or?

    Just wondering :D
     
  22. GotNoRice

    GotNoRice

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2010
    Messages:
    127 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    57
    Location:
    Northern California
    I get better FPS than my friend's 5970 in Bad Company 2, but not all games scale that well.
     
    Melvis says thanks.
  23. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    45,474 (10.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,755
    Location:
    Australalalalalaia.
    crossfire needs more CPU power than a single card, so in a game like bad company 2, crossfire can actually cause you to hit CPU bottlenecks and get lower performance than you should.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)