1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Are PCI videocards supported on PCIe boards?

Discussion in 'Graphics Cards' started by DanTheBanjoman, Oct 19, 2006.

  1. DanTheBanjoman Señor Moderator

    Joined:
    May 20, 2004
    Messages:
    10,480 (2.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,382
    Since I haven't been able to find the answer on Google and I'm having a little problem here I was wondering, are PCI videocards supported on PCIe boards? The boards manual doesn't mention a "display first" BIOS option.
    If not, could anyone test what a PCIe board does with a PCI videocard card in it? (my problem is continuous long beeps, ie memory issue, mobo itself claims 38H shadow BIOS ROM, whatever that's supposed to mean)
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  2. Kasparz New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2006
    Messages:
    287 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    Yes, it does.
    I have PCI-E setup with Ati PCI 2MB dedicated videocard atm.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  3. DanTheBanjoman Señor Moderator

    Joined:
    May 20, 2004
    Messages:
    10,480 (2.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,382
    PCI alone? Or as secondary?
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  4. Kasparz New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2006
    Messages:
    287 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    Primary.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  5. DanTheBanjoman Señor Moderator

    Joined:
    May 20, 2004
    Messages:
    10,480 (2.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,382
    Bah, so unless it's a chipset limitation the RAM or board might be DOA :(
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  6. DaMulta

    DaMulta My stars went supernova

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Messages:
    16,159 (4.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,500
    Location:
    Oklahoma T-Town
    It wouldn't be primary if you have on-board video, it then becomes secondary.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  7. JC316

    JC316 Knows what makes you tick

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2006
    Messages:
    9,362 (2.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    950
    My ESC KN1 lite will use PCI. My old ASrock would too.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  8. strick94u

    strick94u New Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2006
    Messages:
    1,592 (0.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    71
    Location:
    Texas
    my server has pci video on a pci-x board :laugh:
    heres my 3dmark scores 4
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  9. DanTheBanjoman Señor Moderator

    Joined:
    May 20, 2004
    Messages:
    10,480 (2.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,382
    PCI-x is something totally different. However I guess I'll call Supermicro and ask if they have any suggestions. Otherwise It'll be a bitch to find out the problem since I have no hardware to test nor is there any near me.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  10. xman2007

    xman2007 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2006
    Messages:
    633 (0.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    could try and google any forums on your board and see if anyone else has had the same error


    edit: found this forum, dont know if it will be any good because i didnt look through it but it is for asus boards, might just have to scour through for somthing related or register and post your problem

    http://vip.asus.com/forum/topic.aspx?board_id=5&SLanguage=en-us
     
    10 Year Member at TPU

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)