1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Asus P5Q Pro and 4G G.Skill PC2-8000C5 Problems

Discussion in 'Motherboards & Memory' started by Big Kev, Oct 21, 2008.

  1. Big Kev New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2008
    Messages:
    3 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    England!!!
    I have spent just over a week trying to get this pair running smoothly.

    I have the E6750 at 3.6Ghz (8 x 450Mhz), with the ram 8 hours Prime95 stable, but only running at 900Mhz.

    The only options available to me at 333Mhz are 901Mhz, 1081Mhz+ and the ram doesn't want to know at 1081Mhz.

    I have found out, as you probably all knew anyway, but the G.Skill as a rule, doesn't overclock, so my only options seems to be to run the ram at 900Mhz, lower the cpu overclock until I can get 1000Mhz, or just return the ram for some PC2-8500, which should run at the 1081Mhz and if that's the case, I'll have to return the ram, as I don't want to lose the 3.6Ghz.

    Will the modded bios help, or is the return the only option and if so, what ram do people recommend, to get me to the 1081Mhz+.

    Cheers
     
  2. niko084

    niko084

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2006
    Messages:
    7,637 (2.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    729
    I wouldn't even bother, you will see no real performance increase from the added bandwidth.

    There is an option to lock my memory speeds separately from my fsb on my p5k-e, there is no option alike on the p5q?
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  3. JC316

    JC316 Knows what makes you tick

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2006
    Messages:
    9,365 (2.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    913
    No, there isn't. I wouldn't bother either, you really aren't going to see a difference in the performance of the system with the added ram speed.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  4. unclewebb

    unclewebb RealTemp Author

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2008
    Messages:
    1,068 (0.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    580
    Ram bandwidth makes for some nice screen shots but in most applications it doesn't translate into any significant or even noticeable extra performance. Keep your OC and run your ram at DDR2-900 and be happy. :)
     
  5. Big Kev New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2008
    Messages:
    3 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    England!!!
    That's another thing that I was wondering about, would I be better off sticking with cpu at 3.6Ghz and the ram, stable at 900Mhz, running fast and idling at about 31c, 58c load.

    If there will be little difference between the 900Mhz and 1066Mhz, then I might as well stick with it, as I've had enough problems over the last five weeks, with two defective mobo's and a defective set of Ballistix.

    Cheers mate.:)

    Quick edit, two replies whilst I way typing, looks like I'll stick with it then and you never know, Asus may alter their bios in the future, giving me an option to run it at 1000Mhz, then again, maybe not.
     
  6. niko084

    niko084

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2006
    Messages:
    7,637 (2.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    729
    Ya your good, I notice nothing from 800 - 1200 so...
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  7. Big Kev New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2008
    Messages:
    3 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    England!!!
    Cheers for the quick replies and I can now look forward to a stable set up, with no more hassle, hopefully, for a year or so, unless I get an itchy overclocking finger again.;)

    This place is superb, keep up the good work lads, from an Overclocker over the pond in England.:D
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)