1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

BEST CPU u can buy to oc

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by Silverstone, Oct 30, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Silverstone New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2005
    Messages:
    137 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    upstate NY
  2. Dippyskoodlez

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2005
    Messages:
    5,174 (1.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    276
    Location:
    Kansas City, KS
    well yea... they are all qualified for server use, so it should generally be safe to assume its going to overclock well compared to the average A64.

    However, it may be "good" for overclocking, but you are stuck with registered ram, and limited motherboard choice. Unlike socket 939, where you have the DFI mobo :D

    But I do like the dual CPU capabilitys of it. I dont think the extra price of the opteron is worth, compared to the average san diego or venice cpu.

    My friend got his venice up to 2900mhz easily and it was an old CPU.. (3200+).
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  3. Silverstone New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2005
    Messages:
    137 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    upstate NY
    S939 opteron runs on reg non ECC unbuffered ram. Did you even read the threads?

    S940 opteron needs ECC ram and cannot clock nearly as well.

    S939 opteron 144 can be had for $152 US if u know where to look. It DESTROYS any Venice, lol. Venice only has 512 Kb of L2 & can't match Opty's 50% oc'ability.

    S939 opteron can utilize ANY S939 motherboard.

    I don't know where you get your MISINFORMATION from, lol. Everything you posted is complete BS.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  4. djbbenn

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2005
    Messages:
    2,734 (0.64/day)
    Thanks Received:
    44
    Location:
    Canada
    I do not agree with you saying he is misinformed. I didn't know about s939 Opterons untill very recently either. You're also not garanteed a 50% overclock if you get one of these Opterons.

    -Dan
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  5. Solaris17

    Solaris17 Creator Solaris Utility DVD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Messages:
    18,584 (4.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,061
    Location:
    Florida
    yes as respected as we all are let us not go around saying someone is bs'ing we do not vote on posts but we do have stars as everyone else does and they represent a standiing some what...we all spam ocasionally but u said it your self
    ...maybe that is the little artical he had read or thought u were initially talking about or was all he could remember...soo easy freind we are not here to be mean ;)
     
    10 Year Member at TPU More than 25k PPD
  6. Silverstone New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2005
    Messages:
    137 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    upstate NY
    I did not mean to be rude but THIS IS THE INITIAL POST, no mention of Socket 940 in here whatsoever.

    So, if someone did bother to comment without checking the links I provided, the LEAST they could do is read whats written before commenting on something they know nothing about.

    Don't villify me because I'm informed, villify a person that comments on things they know nothing about.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  7. Dippyskoodlez

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2005
    Messages:
    5,174 (1.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    276
    Location:
    Kansas City, KS
    The screenshots say socket 940.. and that is what I was basing my rgument on. the begining of the thread lacks a lot of detail, being cooling, voltages and what specs they are running.

    However, I dont see how a $150 opteron doing 3ghz is stomping a venice.. seeing as I got an 0515 3200+ to 2.9ghz within 15 minutes of work. :wtf: Using a simple XP-120,. and that being my first time ever even using an Athlon 64 computer, letalone overclocking one.

    Also note, newegg does NOT sstock socket 939 opterons as of this time of posting, so I wouldnt consider them.. "available"..? Where exactlyu are these being obtained from?
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  8. DanTheBanjoman Señor Moderator

    Joined:
    May 20, 2004
    Messages:
    10,546 (2.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,384
    Optepr0n is only good as pr0n server.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  9. intel igent

    intel igent New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2005
    Messages:
    4,641 (1.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    428
    Location:
    Toronto, Canada
    can we make it an 8 way?:roll: :roll: :laugh: :laugh: :roll: :roll: :shadedshu
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  10. Solaris17

    Solaris17 Creator Solaris Utility DVD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Messages:
    18,584 (4.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,061
    Location:
    Florida
    With HTT :D
     
    10 Year Member at TPU More than 25k PPD
  11. DanTheBanjoman Señor Moderator

    Joined:
    May 20, 2004
    Messages:
    10,546 (2.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,384
    8-way costs way too much, get a sempr0n cluster instead.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  12. wazzledoozle

    wazzledoozle New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2004
    Messages:
    5,412 (1.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    161
    Location:
    Seattle
    I cant find anywhere to buy them though :(
    The 144 is supposed to be $111 USD now :rockout:
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  13. Silverstone New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2005
    Messages:
    137 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    upstate NY
    Try Monarch Computers in the USA (but they usually sell out stock in one day for S939).

    Or else, have a friend from the UK ship you one.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  14. AMDCam New Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2005
    Messages:
    1,099 (0.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    Location:
    Colorado, United States
    WOAH, that is cool, just plain cool. So a 3200+ Venice AIR-COOLED can hit 2.9ghz? I wonder what a San Diego can do.... Plus an Opteron for $150 (that's less than my 3200+ XP, and I only bought it a couple of months ago) hits 3ghz, has a bigger cache and is multi-processor compatible?!?!?! I can't wait to get my new system. Now all I need is an R580 or some cheap 7X00 series that's an unbelievable overclocker.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  15. Silverstone New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2005
    Messages:
    137 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    upstate NY
    Dude, that new ATI/DFI mobo that just came out would GO GREAT with an S939 Opteron 144 or 146 (if u like the 10x multi)....

    all 4 dimms can run at 1T command AND DUAL CHANNEL, AND to top it off ACTUAL 1.5 cas latency, fully functioning. Anandtech put a review up maybe two weeks ago.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  16. Christer New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2005
    Messages:
    106 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    London
    The ability to OC is very dependent on lots of factors. My 4000 doesn't seem to like anything over 2.7gig at the moment, and my case is not exaclty bad for cooling.....I haven't spent so much time on it yet though so will get to that at some stage...:)
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  17. Dippyskoodlez

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2005
    Messages:
    5,174 (1.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    276
    Location:
    Kansas City, KS
    there is no cas 1.5. its been proven, and AMD does not support it. its in the tech docs.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  18. djbbenn

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2005
    Messages:
    2,734 (0.64/day)
    Thanks Received:
    44
    Location:
    Canada
    No cas 1.5? I have seen it before on a A64 system. A guy here has it for one example. Or do you mean it can do it, but it makes no difference? Link me those docs you are talking about please. :)

    -Dan
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  19. Christer New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2005
    Messages:
    106 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    London
    I can select cas 1.5 on mine but i also have half multipliers on the CPU and I KNOW that doesn't work....
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  20. Silverstone New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2005
    Messages:
    137 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    upstate NY
    http://www.anandtech.com/mb/showdoc.aspx?i=2572&p=12

    "It has taken a very long time for the first retail ATI Crossfire motherboard to arrive. However, ATI could not have done better than to have the first retail board come from DFI, the current leader in motherboards based on the nForce4 chipset. In every performance area important to overclockers and AMD hobbyists, the DFI is at least as good as the legendary DFI nForce4 motherboards. In some areas, the DFI RDX200 is even superior to their nForce4 boards."

    "DFI took many of the excellent overclocking features of the landmark ATI Crossfire Reference board and added their own unique mark in the final mix. This is the first time that we have seen 4 double-sided DIMMs able to operate at 1T, and it also works using either 1GB or 512mb DIMMs. We don't know how DFI achieved this impossible task, but we can tell you that it works, and the performance boost is very real. The DFI also has a working CAS 1.5 option in the RDX200 BIOS, which is also a first on the AMD Athlon 64 platform."

    You were saying. what?
    :nutkick:
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  21. AMDCam New Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2005
    Messages:
    1,099 (0.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    Location:
    Colorado, United States
    See you high star guys, don't be 100% sure of yourselves. You make it seem like it's a fact but these guys are showing you proof that you might not be right.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  22. Silverstone New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2005
    Messages:
    137 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    upstate NY
    Don't know how many stars I have, nor do I care.

    I rate & respect the guys that are a bit sharper....(1 star or 5, depends on content & context)

    So many quick to argue, so few seldom right....
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  23. AMDCam New Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2005
    Messages:
    1,099 (0.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    Location:
    Colorado, United States
    No man, I was talking about Dippy, he said it's not real. I've had that problem on this site a few times, mostly the high ranked guys tell you something IS or ISN'T like it's a fact, and you tend to believe them because of their rank. But truthfully, nothing's cast in stone, and even those guys don't know for sure. I just had a thread "barton unlock update" where I proved the guys that told me bartons weren't unlockable wrong. I'm really not angry at all, just saying, you guys don't have to make it sound like you're so sure, if you don't know for a fact (I mean 100% fact, like for example: Living people need to breathe to live), don't make it sound like it because people's hopes go down pretty quick, ESPECIALLY when you rank that high on the website, I mean with 8 stars here you guys are way more believable with your opinions.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  24. djbbenn

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2005
    Messages:
    2,734 (0.64/day)
    Thanks Received:
    44
    Location:
    Canada
    Silverstone > Yeah I knew that board has a 1.5cas option. I read the review too. But Dippy said that A64 systems don't support it? Yet I have seen numerous times. I just want to see these "documents" that Dippy read about this.

    Might I just point out too, the stars are earned by post count. You don't get ranked on how good your posts are, and then get a nice little star. You do however, get respect form people who frequent on these forums. Also, getting a lot of posts may mean you or try to help a lot. If you come in here and spam your ass off, your going to get a mod after you. But I can see how having more stars will make you more believable to new people here.

    -Dan
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  25. Solaris17

    Solaris17 Creator Solaris Utility DVD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Messages:
    18,584 (4.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,061
    Location:
    Florida
    i hope this doesnt turn into a fight i have helped my fair share of ppl and gotten thnx in pms and posts and i look up to the higher up guys though im always going to try etc before taking it as stone i do not whant to see this become like an argumentative thread and all the "big dogs" getting pissed that would well dissapoint me....just my 2 cents

    i think were better than that were all a bunch of techies w/ varing levels of expertise in varying areas and with the way things move on this market its impossible to know whats what all the time....EX: the info dippy posted could have been 100% true 2 weeks ago.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU More than 25k PPD

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.