• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Can PCI version affects nvme speed?

Joined
Jan 22, 2020
Messages
865 (0.58/day)
Location
Turkey
System Name MSI-MEG
Processor AMD Ryzen 9 3900X
Motherboard MSI MEG X570S ACE MAX
Cooling AMD Wraith Prism + Thermal Grizzly
Memory 32 GB
Video Card(s) MSI Suprim X RTX 3080
Storage 500 GB MSI Spatium nvme + 500 GB WD nvme + 2 TB Seagate HDD + 2 TB Seagate HDD
Display(s) 27" LG 144HZ 2K ULTRAGEAR
Case MSI MPG Velox Airflow 100P
Audio Device(s) Altec Lansing
Power Supply Seasonic 750W 80+ Gold
Mouse HP OMEN REACTOR
Keyboard Corsair K68
Software Windows10 LTSC 64 bit
In order to see the speed difference between the two standards, I have changed the pci version to 4 to 1 and tested with Crystal mark at the very same conditions. But according to the results, there is neglible change (in favour for ver 4).. So here is my question, shouldn't the pciex-1 version supposed to has lower speed in comparision to version 4? Here is my screenshots:
 

Attachments

  • pci1.png
    pci1.png
    24.3 KB · Views: 37
  • pci4.png
    pci4.png
    24.5 KB · Views: 37
Last edited:

Solaris17

Super Dainty Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Aug 16, 2005
Messages
25,709 (3.79/day)
Location
Alabama
System Name Rocinante
Processor I9 13900ks
Motherboard EVGA z690 Dark KINGPIN
Cooling EK-AIO Elite 360 D-RGB
Memory 64GB Gskill Trident Z5 DDR5 6000 @6400
Video Card(s) MSI SUPRIM Liquid X 4090
Storage 1x 500GB 980 Pro | 1x 1TB 980 Pro | 1x 8TB Corsair MP400
Display(s) Odyssey OLED G9 G95SC
Case Lian Li o11 Evo Dynamic White
Audio Device(s) Moondrop S8's on Schiit Hel 2e
Power Supply Bequiet! Power Pro 12 1500w
Mouse Lamzu Atlantis (White)
Keyboard Monsgeek M3 Lavender, Akko Crystal Blues
VR HMD Quest 3
Software Windows 11
Benchmark Scores I dont have time for that.
Thats so close to within errata margins I dont even consider that a difference.
 
Joined
Feb 20, 2008
Messages
4,627 (0.79/day)
Location
where everyone wants to be
System Name Everchanging
Processor AMD Ryzen 9 5900X
Motherboard ASUS ROG Crosshair Dark Hero
Cooling Arctic Cooling Liquid Freezer 2 420mm
Memory 2x16GB Corsair DDR4 3600 CL16
Video Card(s) eVGA RTX 3090 Ti FTW3
Storage Samsung 980 Pro 256GB, Samsung 980 Pro 2TB
Display(s) 2xSamsung 28" 4k HDR 144Hz
Case Fractal Meshify 2 XL
Audio Device(s) fiio K9 to Hifiman Sundara's via 4.4mm balanced cable
Power Supply Seasonic Prime TX 850w
Mouse Corsair Harpoon Wireless RGB
Keyboard Corsair K70 RGB PRO
Software Windows 11 x64
Either you didn't save the setting in BIOS, or you may have changed the PCIE slot speed, not the M2.
 
Joined
Jan 22, 2020
Messages
865 (0.58/day)
Location
Turkey
System Name MSI-MEG
Processor AMD Ryzen 9 3900X
Motherboard MSI MEG X570S ACE MAX
Cooling AMD Wraith Prism + Thermal Grizzly
Memory 32 GB
Video Card(s) MSI Suprim X RTX 3080
Storage 500 GB MSI Spatium nvme + 500 GB WD nvme + 2 TB Seagate HDD + 2 TB Seagate HDD
Display(s) 27" LG 144HZ 2K ULTRAGEAR
Case MSI MPG Velox Airflow 100P
Audio Device(s) Altec Lansing
Power Supply Seasonic 750W 80+ Gold
Mouse HP OMEN REACTOR
Keyboard Corsair K68
Software Windows10 LTSC 64 bit
That is the settings I was changing

not the M2.
Good point. I haven't seen any M2 settings in bios. Maybe that was my fault or that setting even not exists
 

Attachments

  • IMG_20221007_002942.jpg
    IMG_20221007_002942.jpg
    4.1 MB · Views: 55

ir_cow

Staff member
Joined
Sep 4, 2008
Messages
3,602 (0.64/day)
Location
USA
Its rare to find the option to change the M.2 Gen. Even on PCIe, often its just changing from Gen4 to Gen3, etc and not the actual bus. Often when you can change the bus link, its because that PCIe slot is shared with another.
 
Top