• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

can someone explain to me why this exists when smart tv's are your only option for 4k anyway? so confused...

Status
Not open for further replies.
Joined
Oct 17, 2014
Messages
6,566 (2.73/day)
Location
USA
System Name Paladius Tacet
Processor Ryzen 5600x - Auto OC w/ Ryzen Master
Motherboard MSI X570 Tomahawk + SAM Enabled
Cooling EVGA 280mm AIO
Memory G.Skill 2x16 3800 cas16 Dual Rank
Video Card(s) Navi 6800 + Auto OC (gpu core option)
Storage 2TB SSD
Display(s) Acer Nitro XF243Y 23.8" IPS 12-Bit 165hz 1080p
Case Corsair 110Q Silent + NZXT Aer-P exhaust fan
Audio Device(s) SennHD58X, Custom Tube AMP, Modi 3 DAC
Power Supply EVGA 700w Gold
Mouse Razer Naga X (2021 Edition)
Keyboard Kingston Hyperx Cherry Mx Blue
Software Linux Ubuntu, Libreoffice, Steam
Joined
Aug 20, 2007
Messages
14,925 (2.97/day)
System Name Pioneer
Processor Intel i9 9900k
Motherboard ASRock Z390 Taichi
Cooling Noctua NH-D15 + A whole lotta Sunon and Corsair Maglev blower fans...
Memory G.SKILL Ripjaws V Series 64GB (4 x 16GB) DDR4-3200
Video Card(s) EVGA GeForce RTX 3070 FTW3
Storage 2x Mushkin Pilot-E 2TB NVMe SSDs in bootable RAID0 by HIGHPOINT - SSD7202
Display(s) 55" LG 55" B9 OLED 4K Display
Case Thermaltake Core X31
Audio Device(s) VGA HDMI->Panasonic SC-HTB20/Schiit Modi MB/Asgard 2 DAC/Amp to AKG Pro K7712 Headphones
Power Supply Seasonic Prime Titanium 750W
Mouse Razer Deathadder v2
Keyboard WASD CODE 104-Key w/ Cherry MX Green Keyswitches, Doubleshot Vortex PBT White Transluscent Keycaps
Software Windows 10 Enterprise (Product of work, yes it's legit)
Benchmark Scores www.3dmark.com/fs/23478641 www.3dmark.com/spy/13863605 www.3dmark.com/pr/306218
Because smart TVs are ad-laden sponsored content monstrosities in a lot of brands, if not all.

An external box breaks you free of that.

Nevermind the time I made the mistake of connecting my Chroma 4:4:4 capable Vizio 4k TV to the internet and it autoupdated without my consent to firmware that took that feature away...

My current LG OLED is allowed online but only for firmware updates I research & start, otherwise it's connection is cut.
 
Joined
Jun 27, 2015
Messages
662 (0.31/day)
System Name Laptop with deskstop heart
Processor Ryzen R9 3900X stock 3.8GHz (eco mode 65w)
Motherboard Aftershock Forge 15R B450 LAPTOP MOTHERBOARD
Cooling Laptop dual fan copper heatsink
Memory Corsair Vengeance 64GB TOTAL ( 2x32GB sodimm 2666mhz C18 )
Video Card(s) RTX 2070 Max-P Laptop
Storage Sabrent Rocket 2TB PCIE 3x4 SSD
Display(s) 15.6 inch 1080p 144hz panel
Case laptop Aftershock Forge 15R
Audio Device(s) Onboard & soundblaster g3 usb
Power Supply Chicony 230W power brick
Mouse Elecom wireless mouse
Keyboard Logitech Mk240 Nano Wireless Keyboard
Software Windows 10 HOME
Benchmark Scores Don't know any benchmark. It runs good enough for me.
I miss dumb tvs. I utterly hate how just going into the menu I got ads. Its seriosly ridiculous even on high end tv. Not recommended to connect smart tv to wifi unless you have a firewall router to block those ads.
 
Joined
Jul 25, 2006
Messages
8,555 (1.58/day)
Location
Nebraska, USA
System Name Brightworks Systems BWS-6 E-IV
Processor Intel Core i5-6600 @ 3.9GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-Z170-HD3 Rev 1.0
Cooling Quality case, 2 x Fractal Design 140mm fans, stock CPU HSF
Memory 16GB (2 x 8GB) DDR4 3000 Corsair Vengeance
Video Card(s) EVGA GEForce GTX 1050Ti 4Gb GDDR5
Storage Samsung 850 Pro 256GB SSD, Samsung 860 Evo 500GB SSD
Display(s) Samsung S24E650BW LED x 2
Case Fractal Design Define R4
Power Supply EVGA Supernova 550W G2 Gold
Mouse Microsoft Wireless 5000
Keyboard Microsoft Wireless Comfort 5050
Software W10 Pro 64-bit
when smart tv's are your only option for 4k anyway?
Huh? What do you mean?

Being "smart" has nothing to do with it. "Smart" just implies the TV has integrated network connectivity.

Have you not heard of 4K monitors? There are dozens of 4K monitors on the market and they are not "smart".

There are 4K Blu-ray players for your home theater system too - so they can be used to play 4K Blu-ray movies. Though I suspect all are "smart", they don't have to be to view those disks.

4K Roku simply means the devices supports the required bandwidth for streaming 4K signals. But then of course, you would need to subscribe to some 4K streaming service, like Netflix 4K Premium, and select 4K content on that service.
 
Joined
Jun 1, 2011
Messages
2,772 (0.76/day)
Location
US of A
System Name gaming
Processor Intel i7-9700k @ 4.9ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte Z370 AORUS Gaming 3
Cooling Noctua U12A
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX 3000mhz
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX 1660 Ti OC 6G
Storage Crucial MX500, Western Digital 550N NVMe, Crucial P1 NVMe, SanDisk Ultra 3D, WD Blue 3D
Display(s) LG 27GL83A-B & Dell - SE2717HR 27"
Case Phanteks P400A w/ Noctua fans
Audio Device(s) Klipsch pro-media 2.1 speakers
Power Supply Seasonioc Focus Plus 650w
Mouse Logitech G502
Keyboard Logitech G15 original
Software Win 10
Benchmark Scores i can finally play crysis
can someone explain to me why this exists when smart tv's are your only option for 4k anyway?

For the same reason you have a Ryzen 5600x based PC and even though you can go to the town dump and get a Phenom II x6 based PC for free
 

INSTG8R

Vanguard Beta Tester
Joined
Nov 26, 2004
Messages
6,985 (1.16/day)
Location
Canuck in Norway
System Name Hellbox 4.0(same case new guts)
Processor Ryzen 5 5600X
Motherboard Gigabyte Aorus X570 Pro
Cooling TT Kandalf L.C.S.(Water/Air)EK Velocity CPU Block/Noctua
Memory 2x8GB Corsair Vengeance RGB Pro 3800CL18
Video Card(s) Sapphire 5700XT Nitro+
Storage 970 Evo Plus 500GB WD Caviar Black SATA 3 1TB x2 RAID1 2xSamsung 850 Evo 500GB RAID 0 1TB WD Blue
Display(s) Samsung CGH70 27” 1440 144hz Freesync 2 HDR
Case TT Kandalf L.C.S.
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster ZX/Logitech Z906 5.1
Power Supply Seasonic X-1050W 80+ Gold
Mouse G502 Proteus Spectrum
Keyboard G19s
Software Win 10 Pro x64
Because smart TVs are ad-laden sponsored content monstrosities in a lot of brands, if not all.

An external box breaks you free of that.

Nevermind the time I made the mistake of connecting my Chroma 4:4:4 capable Vizio 4k TV to the internet and it autoupdated without my consent to firmware that took that feature away...

My current LG OLED is allowed online but only for firmware updates I research & start, otherwise it's connection is cut.
My LG 4K IPS has no ads?? I use all my streaming services(4K) and my media from my PC as I expect from the “smart”
 
Joined
Oct 17, 2012
Messages
9,752 (3.11/day)
Location
Massachusetts
System Name Americas cure is the death of Social Justice & Political Correctness
Processor i7-11700K
Motherboard Asrock Z590 Extreme wifi 6E
Cooling Noctua NH-U12A
Memory 32GB Corsair RGB fancy boi 5000
Video Card(s) RTX 3090 Reference
Storage Samsung 970 Evo 1Tb + Samsung 970 Evo 500Gb
Display(s) Dell - 27" LED QHD G-SYNC x2
Case Fractal Design Meshify-C
Audio Device(s) on board
Power Supply Seasonic Focus+ Gold 1000 Watt
Mouse Logitech G502 spectrum
Keyboard AZIO MGK-1 RGB (Kaith Blue)
Software Win 10 Professional 64 bit
Benchmark Scores the MLGeesiest
i bought one of those rokus for my kids TV, as well as the wifes TV.
theyre a great easy way to add functionality to tv's that dont have it.

as far as 4k smart tv being your only option, id say that roku is targeting a larger broader market, that isnt limited to just what may be available in your area.
 
Joined
Feb 6, 2021
Messages
353 (3.53/day)
Location
Germany
Processor Intel Core i9 10900KF 5.1 Ghz /4.9 GHz Cache (and a LOT of other CPUs)
Motherboard ASUS Z490 PRIME-A
Cooling Noctua NH-D15 Chromax. Black
Memory G.Skill Trident Z Neo 3600 Mhz CL16 (2x16GB)
Video Card(s) RTX 3090 Gaming X Trio, 6900XT Merc and Nitro + & almost all Ampere, Turing, Pascal, Maxwell Cards
Storage Corsair MP600 1TB, Samsung 970 Evo Plus 500GB, 2x Samsung 870 QVO 4TB
Display(s) Samsung Odyssey G7 32"
Case Fractal Design Meshify S2 White TG / Noctua NF-A14 iPPC-3000RPM Fans
Audio Device(s) Bose Companion Series 2 III, Sennheiser GSP600 running through a SoundblasterX G6
Power Supply bequiet! Dark Power Pro 12 1200w Titanium
Mouse Glorious PC Gaming Race Model O, G903 Hero, G502 Hero SE, Deathadder V2, EC2-A
Keyboard ASUS ROG Strix Scope TKL DLX, Corsair K95, Logitech G815
I miss dumb tvs. I utterly hate how just going into the menu I got ads. Its seriosly ridiculous even on high end tv. Not recommended to connect smart tv to wifi unless you have a firewall router to block those ads.
it's not just Ads.
my Samsung TVs Storage is 95% filled with forced bloatware.
and the best thing is it can NOT update its firmware since at least 1 year because the storage is completely full and i am not allowed to uninstall all the crap the pre installed.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Oct 17, 2014
Messages
6,566 (2.73/day)
Location
USA
System Name Paladius Tacet
Processor Ryzen 5600x - Auto OC w/ Ryzen Master
Motherboard MSI X570 Tomahawk + SAM Enabled
Cooling EVGA 280mm AIO
Memory G.Skill 2x16 3800 cas16 Dual Rank
Video Card(s) Navi 6800 + Auto OC (gpu core option)
Storage 2TB SSD
Display(s) Acer Nitro XF243Y 23.8" IPS 12-Bit 165hz 1080p
Case Corsair 110Q Silent + NZXT Aer-P exhaust fan
Audio Device(s) SennHD58X, Custom Tube AMP, Modi 3 DAC
Power Supply EVGA 700w Gold
Mouse Razer Naga X (2021 Edition)
Keyboard Kingston Hyperx Cherry Mx Blue
Software Linux Ubuntu, Libreoffice, Steam
my dad's tv has roku built in. i really like it. and it has no ads. i may consider getting this just so i can stick with that roku UI, it seems to flow really nicely to me. not bloated.
 
Joined
Sep 27, 2019
Messages
455 (0.76/day)
Location
Canada
System Name New compy
Processor AMD Ryzen 3600x
Motherboard MSI MEG x570 ACE
Cooling Noctua NH-D15S w. FHP141 + Xigmatek AOS
Memory 32gb G.Skill F4-4000C18D-32GVK
Video Card(s) EVGA GeForce RTX 2080 FTW3 Ultra Gaming
Storage 9.5tb
Display(s) Alienware AW2518H 24" 240hz, LG 43" 4k HDR TV 43UM6910PUA
Case Thermaltake Core v71
Audio Device(s) iFi Nano Idsd Le, Creative T20 + T50, Sennheiser HD6Mix
Power Supply EVGA Supernova G2 1000w
Mouse Logitech G502 Hero custom w. G900 scroll wheel mod, G602, M705, G305
Keyboard Corsair K68 RGB + K70 RGB + K57 RGB Wireless
Software Win 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores https://valid.x86.fr/83f50d
My smart tv isn't connected to any internet, if I have content to watch I have my ps4 and pc connected to it and use it for 4k gaming and as my main pc monitor. I hate ads with a passion, I can't watch regular tv unless it's recorded so I can skip the damn commercials. Hover your mouse over my fat duck.
 
Joined
Aug 21, 2015
Messages
336 (0.16/day)
Location
North Dakota
System Name Oswald
Processor i7-9700K
Motherboard MSI Z370-A PRO
Cooling be quiet! Pure Rock 2
Memory 16GB Patriot DDR4-3200
Video Card(s) Sapphire RX 470 8GB
Storage Samsung SM961 256GB, Toshiba DT01ACA200
Display(s) Sharp 46" TV
Case Antec Sonata SOLO
Power Supply Seasonic SSR-450RM
Mouse Logitech M185
Keyboard Some wireless Microsoft thing with a trackpad
Software Windows 10 Home
Benchmark Scores Cinebench R15: 1398
Nevermind the time I made the mistake of connecting my Chroma 4:4:4 capable Vizio 4k TV to the internet and it autoupdated without my consent to firmware that took that feature away...

That's some grade-A prime bullshit right there. Why would they even do that? :mad:
 
Joined
Aug 20, 2007
Messages
14,925 (2.97/day)
System Name Pioneer
Processor Intel i9 9900k
Motherboard ASRock Z390 Taichi
Cooling Noctua NH-D15 + A whole lotta Sunon and Corsair Maglev blower fans...
Memory G.SKILL Ripjaws V Series 64GB (4 x 16GB) DDR4-3200
Video Card(s) EVGA GeForce RTX 3070 FTW3
Storage 2x Mushkin Pilot-E 2TB NVMe SSDs in bootable RAID0 by HIGHPOINT - SSD7202
Display(s) 55" LG 55" B9 OLED 4K Display
Case Thermaltake Core X31
Audio Device(s) VGA HDMI->Panasonic SC-HTB20/Schiit Modi MB/Asgard 2 DAC/Amp to AKG Pro K7712 Headphones
Power Supply Seasonic Prime Titanium 750W
Mouse Razer Deathadder v2
Keyboard WASD CODE 104-Key w/ Cherry MX Green Keyswitches, Doubleshot Vortex PBT White Transluscent Keycaps
Software Windows 10 Enterprise (Product of work, yes it's legit)
Benchmark Scores www.3dmark.com/fs/23478641 www.3dmark.com/spy/13863605 www.3dmark.com/pr/306218
My LG 4K IPS has no ads?? I use all my streaming services(4K) and my media from my PC as I expect from the “smart”
Probably an earlier model. Here is my homescreen on a modern LG B9.

IMG_20210413_124612554_HDR.jpg


Ignore the wonderful garish Xbox360 "pawn shop special" stand. (I don't pay more than 50 bucks for consoles, and I really need to get a proper TV stand, yes). Anyways, none of those apps on the bottom bar have ever been installed/used. They are purely ads. I think I accidentally toggled DIsney+ open once, hence the mark (it's near my PC input). Helpful when switching inputs, that's for sure...

That's some grade-A prime bullshit right there. Why would they even do that? :mad:
I don't know but they still haven't fixed it as of as recent as 10 months ago, according to reddit.

https://www.reddit.com/r/VIZIO_Official/comments/g8snvy/_/frb5d91
I returned it. The LG OLED has been great, but I haven't trusted it with free roaming wifi either.

my dad's tv has roku built in. i really like it. and it has no ads. i may consider getting this just so i can stick with that roku UI, it seems to flow really nicely to me. not bloated.
That's the idea behind Roku. No nonsense media player that isn't ad filled. If I were to buy another smartTV I'd consider it running Roku a plus.
 
Last edited:

INSTG8R

Vanguard Beta Tester
Joined
Nov 26, 2004
Messages
6,985 (1.16/day)
Location
Canuck in Norway
System Name Hellbox 4.0(same case new guts)
Processor Ryzen 5 5600X
Motherboard Gigabyte Aorus X570 Pro
Cooling TT Kandalf L.C.S.(Water/Air)EK Velocity CPU Block/Noctua
Memory 2x8GB Corsair Vengeance RGB Pro 3800CL18
Video Card(s) Sapphire 5700XT Nitro+
Storage 970 Evo Plus 500GB WD Caviar Black SATA 3 1TB x2 RAID1 2xSamsung 850 Evo 500GB RAID 0 1TB WD Blue
Display(s) Samsung CGH70 27” 1440 144hz Freesync 2 HDR
Case TT Kandalf L.C.S.
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster ZX/Logitech Z906 5.1
Power Supply Seasonic X-1050W 80+ Gold
Mouse G502 Proteus Spectrum
Keyboard G19s
Software Win 10 Pro x64
Probably an earlier model. Here is my homescreen on a modern LG B9.

View attachment 196591

Ignore the wonderful garish Xbox360 "pawn shop special" stand. (I don't pay more than 50 bucks for consoles, and I really need to get a proper TV stand, yes). Anyways, none of those apps on the bottom bar have ever been installed/used. They are purely ads. I think I accidentally toggled DIsney+ open once, hence the mark (it's near my PC input). Helpful when switching inputs, that's for sure...


I don't know but they still haven't fixed it as of as recent as 10 months ago, according to reddit.

https://www.reddit.com/r/VIZIO_Official/comments/g8snvy/_/frb5d91
I returned it. The LG OLED has been great, but I haven't trusted it with free roaming wifi either.


That's the idea behind Roku. No nonsense media player that isn't ad filled. If I were to buy another smartTV I'd consider it running Roku a plus.
I guess you’re not totally wrong but my Home Screen is 90% apps I already have installed.
4B25BB3B-657C-4A18-BC5E-DB14320F51EB.jpeg

But I just use Recent which is just the apps I actually use.
746A4A60-68C3-4799-80C5-BA9C142C3500.jpeg


Edit: Could also be a regional thing as well I have very little “content” offered to me in the Nordic region.
 
Last edited:

JeffF

New Member
Joined
Mar 23, 2021
Messages
25 (0.46/day)
Even though one may have a smart tv doesn't mean that particular smart tv will have certain apps, So Roku's/Android boxes and etc come in handy to get a large range of apps. I have Samsung smart tv's and LG and I can count on 1 hand how many times I have oped to use the TV's apps and etc. I keep the internet disabled. My Roku or Android Tv box's are my goto.
 

wolf

Performance Enthusiast
Joined
May 7, 2007
Messages
5,933 (1.16/day)
System Name MightyX
Processor Ryzen 7 3700X 1usmus
Motherboard Gigabyte X570 I Aorus Pro WiFi
Cooling Noctua NH-L12
Memory 32GB DDR4 3600 CL16
Video Card(s) Asus TUF RTX3080 OC/UV + duct
Storage Samsung 970 Evo m.2 NVME
Display(s) 21:9 3440x1440 144hz 1500R VA
Case Coolermaster NR200P
Power Supply Corsair SF600 Gold
Mouse Zowie EC1-A
Keyboard Razer Blackwidow X Chroma
Software case populated with Artic P12's
I have a Hisense smart TV but the smarts aren't great, Netflix takes a while to load, you can't just install any apps you want, the UI is a bit laggy and unintuitive.

Slap on an Nvidia Shield and it's great, apps/streams load blazing fast, can install heeeaaps of stuff on it, and I can game stream in 4k60 over ethernet with practically imperceptible latency. I'd have preferred the TV came dumb (A panel with inputs) rather than smart.
 
Joined
Oct 17, 2014
Messages
6,566 (2.73/day)
Location
USA
System Name Paladius Tacet
Processor Ryzen 5600x - Auto OC w/ Ryzen Master
Motherboard MSI X570 Tomahawk + SAM Enabled
Cooling EVGA 280mm AIO
Memory G.Skill 2x16 3800 cas16 Dual Rank
Video Card(s) Navi 6800 + Auto OC (gpu core option)
Storage 2TB SSD
Display(s) Acer Nitro XF243Y 23.8" IPS 12-Bit 165hz 1080p
Case Corsair 110Q Silent + NZXT Aer-P exhaust fan
Audio Device(s) SennHD58X, Custom Tube AMP, Modi 3 DAC
Power Supply EVGA 700w Gold
Mouse Razer Naga X (2021 Edition)
Keyboard Kingston Hyperx Cherry Mx Blue
Software Linux Ubuntu, Libreoffice, Steam
I have a Hisense smart TV but the smarts aren't great, Netflix takes a while to load, you can't just install any apps you want, the UI is a bit laggy and unintuitive.

Slap on an Nvidia Shield and it's great, apps/streams load blazing fast, can install heeeaaps of stuff on it, and I can game stream in 4k60 over ethernet with practically imperceptible latency. I'd have preferred the TV came dumb (A panel with inputs) rather than smart.

my dad' is a hisense roku built in and it works great, netflix loads fast and 4k hdr are auto turned on for movies that support it. i love it. are you sure your hisense has roku built in? some hisense don't.
 

wolf

Performance Enthusiast
Joined
May 7, 2007
Messages
5,933 (1.16/day)
System Name MightyX
Processor Ryzen 7 3700X 1usmus
Motherboard Gigabyte X570 I Aorus Pro WiFi
Cooling Noctua NH-L12
Memory 32GB DDR4 3600 CL16
Video Card(s) Asus TUF RTX3080 OC/UV + duct
Storage Samsung 970 Evo m.2 NVME
Display(s) 21:9 3440x1440 144hz 1500R VA
Case Coolermaster NR200P
Power Supply Corsair SF600 Gold
Mouse Zowie EC1-A
Keyboard Razer Blackwidow X Chroma
Software case populated with Artic P12's
you sure your hisense has roku built in? some hisense don't.
Mine is maybe a 2016 or 2017 model, so I'd imagine it predates roku inbuilt, or was too low a series, it certainly doesn't have it.

But it's a good point, if it's well enough done, sure use the smarts, but I tell you compared to the stock TV the Shield is legitimately amazing - especially game streaming for me personally.
 
Joined
Jul 23, 2019
Messages
53 (0.08/day)
Location
France
System Name Computer
Processor Intel Core i9-9900kf @ 5.0ghz
Motherboard MSI MPG Z390 Gaming Pro Carbon
Cooling NZXT Kraken X62
Memory 32GB G.Skill Trident Z DDR4-3600 CL16-19-19-39
Video Card(s) Gigabyte Geforce RTX 2070 Super Gaming OC 8g
Storage A Bunch of Sata SSD and some HD for storage
Display(s) Asus MG278q (main screen)
I have a 4k Philips smart TV with Android TV on it, it work fine and the only "ad" i get are suggestion of movies.

But on my old Samsung HD TV that is now in the bedroom, the UI and apps where indeed a bit laggy, so i bought a 4k TV stick like the Roku one so i can have a snappier interface and watch anything including 4k content (that i got for the other TV) without issue.
 
Joined
Apr 26, 2019
Messages
281 (0.37/day)
Location
Italy
System Name The Worker/ Laptop
Processor Ryzen 5 3600/ i5 1035g1
Motherboard MSI b450 Tomahawk Max / Lenovo proprietary
Cooling Arctic Freezer 33 eSport One
Memory 16Gb DDR4 3200 Mhz Corsair vengeance LPX / 8gb ddr4 3200Mhz
Video Card(s) Gigabyte gtx 1660 Ti OC @2030Mhz core and 7400Mhz memory / Intel G1 UHD
Storage 1 970Evo plus 500gb, 250Gb Samsung 850 Evo, 3TB HDD / 250gb WD SN530
Display(s) Asus mx259h / 15.6 FHD TN
Case Corsair Spec Alpha
Audio Device(s) Onboard / Onboard
Power Supply CoolerMaster G750M
Mouse Razer Deathadder Chroma
Keyboard Gamdias Hermes e2
Software W10 64bit, Kubuntu
I miss dumb tvs. I utterly hate how just going into the menu I got ads. Its seriosly ridiculous even on high end tv. Not recommended to connect smart tv to wifi unless you have a firewall router to block those ads.
you're totally right. I tried a philips smart tv and man if it is slow even to load netflix. I bought a xioami mi tv stick and is far better once you unistall some things via adb.
I have only dumb tvs at home and in italy we will be forced to change them because of dvb t2 thing. I would rather buy a good 4k non smart tv and add my own stick for little money than being stuck with an unusable tv after only 1 or 2 years
 
Joined
Jul 16, 2014
Messages
4,969 (1.99/day)
Location
SE Michigan
System Name Dumbass
Processor AMD-9370BE @4.6
Motherboard ASUS SABERTOOTH 990FX R2.0 +SB950
Cooling CM Nepton 280L
Memory G.Skill Sniper 16gb DDR3 2400
Video Card(s) GreenTeam 1080 Gaming X 8GB
Storage C:\SSD (240GB), D:\Seagate (2TB), E:\Western Digital (1TB)
Display(s) 1x Nixeus NX_EDG27, 2x Dell S2440L (16:9)
Case Phanteks Enthoo Primo w/8 140mm SP Fans
Audio Device(s) onboard (realtek?) SPKRS:Logitech Z623 200w 2.1
Power Supply Corsair HX1000i
Mouse Logitech G700s
Keyboard Logitech G910 Orion Spark
Software windows 10
Benchmark Scores https://i.imgur.com/aoz3vWY.jpg?2
Probably an earlier model. Here is my homescreen on a modern LG B9.

View attachment 196591

Ignore the wonderful garish Xbox360 "pawn shop special" stand. (I don't pay more than 50 bucks for consoles, and I really need to get a proper TV stand, yes). Anyways, none of those apps on the bottom bar have ever been installed/used. They are purely ads. I think I accidentally toggled DIsney+ open once, hence the mark (it's near my PC input). Helpful when switching inputs, that's for sure...


I don't know but they still haven't fixed it as of as recent as 10 months ago, according to reddit.

https://www.reddit.com/r/VIZIO_Official/comments/g8snvy/_/frb5d91
I returned it. The LG OLED has been great, but I haven't trusted it with free roaming wifi either.


That's the idea behind Roku. No nonsense media player that isn't ad filled. If I were to buy another smartTV I'd consider it running Roku a plus.
did the maid take off for a month? Swiffer has a nice duster model thats easy to use.

BTW have you tried to access the OS on that ?
 
Joined
Nov 20, 2013
Messages
4,817 (1.76/day)
Location
Kiev, Ukraine
System Name WS#1337
Processor Ryzen 7 3800X
Motherboard Gigabyte x470 AORUS Ultra Gamin
Cooling Stock HSF
Memory 2x8GB Team T-Force Vulkan DDR4-3000
Video Card(s) MSI RTX 2060 Super Armor OC
Storage Adata SX8200 Pro 1TB
Display(s) Samsung U24E590D (4K/UHD)
Case Chieftec AL-01B-OP
Audio Device(s) ALC1220
Power Supply SeaSonic SSR-550FX (80+ GOLD)
Mouse Logitech G603
Keyboard Zalman K500 modded (Gateron brown)
Software Windows 10, Ubuntu 20.04 LTS

can someone explain to me why this exists when smart tv's are your only option for 4k anyway​

1) 4K dumb TVs are still a thing. My initial choice of 4K TV was actually a cheap-ass non-smart Philips (at one point it was cheaper than my formally-cheapest-ever 4K monitor).
2) Some people prefer flexibility of Android. Tizen and other alternatives have underwhelming ecosystem riddled with not only ads and garbageware, but also bugs and lack of QA. I'm not even gonna talk about security.
3) Just because your box can do 4k doesn't mean that you are gonna use it (or have to use it) with a 4K TV. It works just fine with a 12y.o. 1080p LG in someone's mancave, or extends the lifetime of grandma's old 720p bravia. Some people simply need a box with snappy SoC that has decent H265 decoder and few modern features.
 
Last edited:

dorsetknob

"YOUR RMA REQUEST IS CON-REFUSED"
Joined
Mar 17, 2005
Messages
8,855 (1.50/day)
Location
Dorset where else eh? >>> Thats ENGLAND<<<

can someone explain to me why this exists when smart tv's are your only option for 4k anyway? so confused...​


Smart Tv's and 4k Monitors .........and someone said
"If we Build it someone will buy it".

Nuff said Someone thought there is a market for this
 

las

Joined
Nov 14, 2012
Messages
944 (0.30/day)
Processor i9-9900K @ 5.2 GHz
Motherboard AsRock Z390 Taichi
Cooling Custom Water
Memory 32GB G.Skill @ 4000/CL15
Video Card(s) MSI 3080 Ventus 3X @ 2+ GHz
Storage WD Black SN850 1TB + 32TB NAS
Display(s) Asus PG279Q 27" 1440p/165Hz/IPS/Gsync + LG C9 65" UHD/120Hz/OLED/HDR/Gsync
Case Fractal Design Meshify C
Audio Device(s) Asus Essence STX w/ Upgraded Op-Amps
Power Supply Corsair RM1000x
Mouse Logitech G Pro Wireless
Keyboard Corsair K60 Pro (MX Low Profile Speed)
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
Because smart TVs are ad-laden sponsored content monstrosities in a lot of brands, if not all.

An external box breaks you free of that.

Nevermind the time I made the mistake of connecting my Chroma 4:4:4 capable Vizio 4k TV to the internet and it autoupdated without my consent to firmware that took that feature away...

My current LG OLED is allowed online but only for firmware updates I research & start, otherwise it's connection is cut.

My LG C9 has zero ads and all apps runs flawlessly and fast.
I always disable auto-update for firmware updates tho, everyone should do that, always.

Last time I saw an ad on a TV, was on a Samsung.
I have seen ads on external boxes too. Android ones.

High-end TV SoCs are very fast these days. Most people buying high-end TV's simply do not need an external box anymore. Unless you are buying a top-unit like Apple TV, you are more prone to get issues using an external box (app bugs, app crashes etc). Dev's are focusing on built-in apps first and top-streaming units like Apple TV, Chromecast etc.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top