• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Changed CPU and now I can't boot up

ibhappy

New Member
Joined
Dec 31, 2010
Messages
103 (0.04/day)
Likes
2
Processor Intel Pentium E6300 Wolfdale
Motherboard EP45-UD3R v1.1
Memory CORSAIR XMS2 8GB
Video Card(s) HD Radeon 4850
Storage Western Digital Caviar Black WD5001AALS 500GB 7200 RPM SATA 3.0Gb/s 3.5" Internal Hard Drive
Case Antec Nine Hundred
Audio Device(s) xtremegamer
Power Supply 650W Antec
#1
I replaced an E6300 with a Q9650 on my Gigabyte EP45-UD3R board.

It wouldn't start with the new CPU, so I removed the battery on the mobo to reset the CMOS.

Still wouldn't start.

I replaced the CPU with the old CPU and it booted fine.

What do I do now to get the computer to start with the Q9650?

Thanks!
 

[Ion]

WCG Team Assistant
Joined
Sep 15, 2009
Messages
13,391 (4.39/day)
Likes
14,252
Location
Raleigh, North Carolina, United States
System Name Niedersachsen / Ribe / Minsk
Processor i3 3240 / i7-3520M / 4x Opteron 6376 @ 2.86GHz
Motherboard BIOSTAR H61M / HP Q77 / Supermicro H8QG7
Cooling Stock / Stock / 4x 1U G34
Memory 1x8GB / 2x4GB / 4x4GB
Video Card(s) GTX260 / Intel HD 4000 / nVidia GT310
Storage 80GB Intel SSD / 256GB Intel SSD / 2x 60GB SSD (RAID1)
Display(s) Dell 3007 + HP 2245w / 12.1" 1366x768 / None
Case Antec NSK3480 / HP / Supermicro 1U
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Enermax 500W / HP 130W / Supermicro Gold 1400W
Keyboard IBM Model M
Software Windows 7 (Niedersachsen/Ribe) / Linux Mint 17.2 (Minsk)
#2
Use the old CPU, flash the BIOS to the latest version, and install the new CPU. If that doesn't work, your new chip could be dead. But I'd say it's most likely that it just needs a newer BIOS ;)
 

ibhappy

New Member
Joined
Dec 31, 2010
Messages
103 (0.04/day)
Likes
2
Processor Intel Pentium E6300 Wolfdale
Motherboard EP45-UD3R v1.1
Memory CORSAIR XMS2 8GB
Video Card(s) HD Radeon 4850
Storage Western Digital Caviar Black WD5001AALS 500GB 7200 RPM SATA 3.0Gb/s 3.5" Internal Hard Drive
Case Antec Nine Hundred
Audio Device(s) xtremegamer
Power Supply 650W Antec
#3
Another thing: the computer keeps trying to restart, don't know if that information is useful.
 

[Ion]

WCG Team Assistant
Joined
Sep 15, 2009
Messages
13,391 (4.39/day)
Likes
14,252
Location
Raleigh, North Carolina, United States
System Name Niedersachsen / Ribe / Minsk
Processor i3 3240 / i7-3520M / 4x Opteron 6376 @ 2.86GHz
Motherboard BIOSTAR H61M / HP Q77 / Supermicro H8QG7
Cooling Stock / Stock / 4x 1U G34
Memory 1x8GB / 2x4GB / 4x4GB
Video Card(s) GTX260 / Intel HD 4000 / nVidia GT310
Storage 80GB Intel SSD / 256GB Intel SSD / 2x 60GB SSD (RAID1)
Display(s) Dell 3007 + HP 2245w / 12.1" 1366x768 / None
Case Antec NSK3480 / HP / Supermicro 1U
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Enermax 500W / HP 130W / Supermicro Gold 1400W
Keyboard IBM Model M
Software Windows 7 (Niedersachsen/Ribe) / Linux Mint 17.2 (Minsk)
#4
I'd try what I said, then post back ;)
 
Joined
Oct 22, 2010
Messages
588 (0.22/day)
Likes
97
Location
Latvia
System Name Spyder
Processor Phenom 2 x4 940 @3.5GHz
Motherboard Asus M3A79-T Deluxe
Cooling CM Hyper 612S
Memory 2x2 GB Patriot Viper + 2x2 GB Kingston Value 800MHz [5-5-5-12] DDR2
Video Card(s) MSI R9 380 Gaming 4G
Storage Crucial M550 256GB+WD Black 1TB + WD Caviar RE 500GB + 2TB Seagate Ext backup
Display(s) Samsung C27HG70
Case Cooler Master Elite 430
Audio Device(s) X-Fi Platinum+custom made HP AMP+Sennheiser HD380
Power Supply Thermaltake Toughpower 850w Modular
Mouse Logitech G502
Keyboard ElE Game1
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
#5
Use the old CPU, flash the BIOS to the latest version, and install the new CPU.
+1 I did that with my PC. As it was new, I had to borrow old sempron from a friend, to perform a bios upgrade.
 
Joined
Sep 25, 2006
Messages
2,312 (0.56/day)
Likes
670
Location
Norn Iron
Processor Q9550 @3.8
Motherboard Asus Maximus Extreme
Cooling Custom water cooling
Memory 4GB Patriot Viper DDR3 1600MHz
Video Card(s) 2x HD4870 512MB
Storage 2x 500GB
Display(s) 3x LG L226WTQ 22" Widescreen LCD
Case Modded TJ07
Audio Device(s) On board
Power Supply PC P&C Silencer 750
Software Windows 7 Ultimate
#7

HammerON

The Watchful Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Mar 2, 2009
Messages
7,460 (2.30/day)
Likes
4,780
Location
Up North
System Name Cruncher / Cruncher 2
Processor i7 6900K / E5 2683 v3
Motherboard X99A Gaming Pro Carbon / ASRock X99 Extreme 4/3.1
Cooling EK Supremacy EVO Elite 2011-3 / EK Supremacy
Memory G.Skill Trident Z 32GB 3200 / G.SKILL Trident Z 16GB 3200
Video Card(s) EVGA 980 Ti Classified / ATI 3650
Storage Samsung 960 Pro 512 GB + Mushkin Reactor 1 TB / OCZ Vertex 4 256 GB
Display(s) Dell UltraSharp U3011 30"
Case Corsair Obsidian 800D / TT Core V51
Audio Device(s) On-board
Power Supply Corsair AX1200 / EVGA 500W
Software Win 10 Pro/ Win 10
Benchmark Scores Always changing~
#8
It was mentioned in another thread he started in regards to changing cpu:

Changing a CPU

Hopefully updating his bios fixes the issue...
 
Joined
Sep 25, 2006
Messages
2,312 (0.56/day)
Likes
670
Location
Norn Iron
Processor Q9550 @3.8
Motherboard Asus Maximus Extreme
Cooling Custom water cooling
Memory 4GB Patriot Viper DDR3 1600MHz
Video Card(s) 2x HD4870 512MB
Storage 2x 500GB
Display(s) 3x LG L226WTQ 22" Widescreen LCD
Case Modded TJ07
Audio Device(s) On board
Power Supply PC P&C Silencer 750
Software Windows 7 Ultimate
#9
Hopefully... but that CPU should have been supported from F3 bios, which seems to be the oldest bios version.

Maybe a later bios will help with any issues.
 
Joined
Aug 7, 2007
Messages
2,657 (0.70/day)
Likes
779
Processor Intel i5-2500k @ 3.8GHz
Motherboard ASRock Z68 Extreme4 Gen3
Cooling CM Hyper 212 EVO w/ AC MX-2
Memory 8GB DDR3 1866 Gskill Snipers 9-10-9-28
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1060 Gaming X
Storage 240GB Corsair Force GT
Display(s) 23' Dell AW2310
Case Corsair 550D
Audio Device(s) Creative SB X-Fi Fatality Professional
Power Supply Seasonic SS-760XP2 Platinum
Software Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
#10
Although I would'nt suspect that his problem would be related to the PSU, unless it is a cheap pos. However, he did upgrade from a dual-core E6300 to a quad-core Q9650. Hmmmmm.
Filling out your system specs would be helpful.
 

Frick

Fishfaced Nincompoop
Joined
Feb 27, 2006
Messages
14,910 (3.43/day)
Likes
5,427
System Name A dancer in your disco of fire
Processor i3 4130 3.4Ghz
Motherboard MSI B85M-E45
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212 Evo
Memory 4 x 4GB Crucial Ballistix Sport 1400Mhz
Video Card(s) Asus GTX 760 DCU2OC 2GB
Storage Crucial BX100 120GB | WD Blue 1TB x 2
Display(s) BenQ GL2450HT
Case AeroCool DS Cube White
Power Supply Cooler Master G550M
Mouse Intellimouse Explorer 3.0
Keyboard Dell SK-3205
Software Windows 10 Pro
#11
Sounds strange that a P45 motherboard wouldn't accept that quad core to begin with.

Happita might be on to something, what PSU do you have?
 

HammerON

The Watchful Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Mar 2, 2009
Messages
7,460 (2.30/day)
Likes
4,780
Location
Up North
System Name Cruncher / Cruncher 2
Processor i7 6900K / E5 2683 v3
Motherboard X99A Gaming Pro Carbon / ASRock X99 Extreme 4/3.1
Cooling EK Supremacy EVO Elite 2011-3 / EK Supremacy
Memory G.Skill Trident Z 32GB 3200 / G.SKILL Trident Z 16GB 3200
Video Card(s) EVGA 980 Ti Classified / ATI 3650
Storage Samsung 960 Pro 512 GB + Mushkin Reactor 1 TB / OCZ Vertex 4 256 GB
Display(s) Dell UltraSharp U3011 30"
Case Corsair Obsidian 800D / TT Core V51
Audio Device(s) On-board
Power Supply Corsair AX1200 / EVGA 500W
Software Win 10 Pro/ Win 10
Benchmark Scores Always changing~
#12
Hopefully... but that CPU should have been supported from F3 bios, which seems to be the oldest bios version.

Maybe a later bios will help with any issues.
I agree that his current bios should support the new cpu. Maybe he placed the heatsink to tight on the cpu?

Full specs of the rig would really help...
 

ibhappy

New Member
Joined
Dec 31, 2010
Messages
103 (0.04/day)
Likes
2
Processor Intel Pentium E6300 Wolfdale
Motherboard EP45-UD3R v1.1
Memory CORSAIR XMS2 8GB
Video Card(s) HD Radeon 4850
Storage Western Digital Caviar Black WD5001AALS 500GB 7200 RPM SATA 3.0Gb/s 3.5" Internal Hard Drive
Case Antec Nine Hundred
Audio Device(s) xtremegamer
Power Supply 650W Antec
#13
So I updated the BIOS and it still just tries to boots then turns off.
Would the thermal paste be the problem?
 
Joined
Aug 7, 2007
Messages
2,657 (0.70/day)
Likes
779
Processor Intel i5-2500k @ 3.8GHz
Motherboard ASRock Z68 Extreme4 Gen3
Cooling CM Hyper 212 EVO w/ AC MX-2
Memory 8GB DDR3 1866 Gskill Snipers 9-10-9-28
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1060 Gaming X
Storage 240GB Corsair Force GT
Display(s) 23' Dell AW2310
Case Corsair 550D
Audio Device(s) Creative SB X-Fi Fatality Professional
Power Supply Seasonic SS-760XP2 Platinum
Software Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
#14
So I updated the BIOS and it still just tries to boots then turns off.
Would the thermal paste be the problem?
Go to the top of this page, and click the User CP link. When you get there, look to the left side and click Edit System Specs so you can let us know what kind of hardware you have running in your rig.
 

ibhappy

New Member
Joined
Dec 31, 2010
Messages
103 (0.04/day)
Likes
2
Processor Intel Pentium E6300 Wolfdale
Motherboard EP45-UD3R v1.1
Memory CORSAIR XMS2 8GB
Video Card(s) HD Radeon 4850
Storage Western Digital Caviar Black WD5001AALS 500GB 7200 RPM SATA 3.0Gb/s 3.5" Internal Hard Drive
Case Antec Nine Hundred
Audio Device(s) xtremegamer
Power Supply 650W Antec
#15
Okay i put the specs in
 
Joined
Sep 7, 2010
Messages
483 (0.18/day)
Likes
29
Location
baghdad/iraq
Processor intel i5 2500k,atom280@1930mhz
Motherboard msi h61
Cooling i have cooler master V8 but now im on stock :P
Memory team group elite 2x2 1600 @1333 7 7 7 20
Video Card(s) sapphere 5850 toxic@900/1250
Storage WD 1TB green 5400 32mb ,WD 250gb 7200/8mb
Display(s) HP 22" 1680x1050 hdmi
Case asus vento
Audio Device(s) creative XFi fatality+creative gigaworksG500 5.1
Power Supply cooler master gx 750
Software win7,64bit
#16
well im running this cpu with almost the same board why isn't running just remove the battery for a minute and put it back also if the cpu is used check for dirt on the pins mabe some thermal paste slipped in
 

ibhappy

New Member
Joined
Dec 31, 2010
Messages
103 (0.04/day)
Likes
2
Processor Intel Pentium E6300 Wolfdale
Motherboard EP45-UD3R v1.1
Memory CORSAIR XMS2 8GB
Video Card(s) HD Radeon 4850
Storage Western Digital Caviar Black WD5001AALS 500GB 7200 RPM SATA 3.0Gb/s 3.5" Internal Hard Drive
Case Antec Nine Hundred
Audio Device(s) xtremegamer
Power Supply 650W Antec
#17
I took the battery out, waited for about 5 minutes, and put it back in.

Still won't start-up.

I've cycled the old and new CPUs in and out several times and the old CPU always works.
 
Joined
Aug 7, 2007
Messages
2,657 (0.70/day)
Likes
779
Processor Intel i5-2500k @ 3.8GHz
Motherboard ASRock Z68 Extreme4 Gen3
Cooling CM Hyper 212 EVO w/ AC MX-2
Memory 8GB DDR3 1866 Gskill Snipers 9-10-9-28
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1060 Gaming X
Storage 240GB Corsair Force GT
Display(s) 23' Dell AW2310
Case Corsair 550D
Audio Device(s) Creative SB X-Fi Fatality Professional
Power Supply Seasonic SS-760XP2 Platinum
Software Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
#18
If there's a way to test that Q9650 on a different computer (cousins, aunts, uncles, friends, etc.), I would do that because now I do suspect that it is a defective CPU. If you bought it as a refurbished or used CPU, then my suspicion becomes even greater that it might in fact be a problem with the CPU.
 
Joined
Sep 7, 2010
Messages
483 (0.18/day)
Likes
29
Location
baghdad/iraq
Processor intel i5 2500k,atom280@1930mhz
Motherboard msi h61
Cooling i have cooler master V8 but now im on stock :P
Memory team group elite 2x2 1600 @1333 7 7 7 20
Video Card(s) sapphere 5850 toxic@900/1250
Storage WD 1TB green 5400 32mb ,WD 250gb 7200/8mb
Display(s) HP 22" 1680x1050 hdmi
Case asus vento
Audio Device(s) creative XFi fatality+creative gigaworksG500 5.1
Power Supply cooler master gx 750
Software win7,64bit
#19
remove the ram put the other cpu power connector and see
 
Joined
Jun 13, 2009
Messages
1,528 (0.49/day)
Likes
324
Location
Canada/Québec/Montreal
System Name Main PC
Processor PII 925 @3.724GHz (266x14) 1.525v NB 2660 1.425v
Motherboard Gigabyte AM3 GA-890XA-UD3 (790x+SB850)
Cooling Scythe Mugen 2 rev.B
Memory Hyperx 8GB (2x4) 1600@1418 8-7-7-20-27-1t
Video Card(s) Sapphire 6850 Stock (Max Overclock 1030/1200)
Storage 1x1TB WD Green / 1x1TB Seagate
Display(s) LCD Samsung 24" 16:9
Case Cooler Master HAF 912
Audio Device(s) On-Board HD
Power Supply CM 750w GX |3.3v@25a|5v@25a|12v@60a
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit
Benchmark Scores later...
#20
If there's a way to test that Q9650 on a different computer (cousins, aunts, uncles, friends, etc.), I would do that because now I do suspect that it is a defective CPU. If you bought it as a refurbished or used CPU, then my suspicion becomes even greater that it might in fact be a problem with the CPU.
Yeah! it meant be a DOA CPU...?

If you didn't have to reset time & date in bios then the CMos clear didn't work , remove the CMos battery & wait for at least 10 minutes before put it back in
 

ibhappy

New Member
Joined
Dec 31, 2010
Messages
103 (0.04/day)
Likes
2
Processor Intel Pentium E6300 Wolfdale
Motherboard EP45-UD3R v1.1
Memory CORSAIR XMS2 8GB
Video Card(s) HD Radeon 4850
Storage Western Digital Caviar Black WD5001AALS 500GB 7200 RPM SATA 3.0Gb/s 3.5" Internal Hard Drive
Case Antec Nine Hundred
Audio Device(s) xtremegamer
Power Supply 650W Antec
#21
I put the old CPU in and the computer turns on but the fan on the heat sink doesn't spin up.

Ugh.

p.s. The chip wasn't set in the socket properly. The old chip is working now.
 
Last edited:

ibhappy

New Member
Joined
Dec 31, 2010
Messages
103 (0.04/day)
Likes
2
Processor Intel Pentium E6300 Wolfdale
Motherboard EP45-UD3R v1.1
Memory CORSAIR XMS2 8GB
Video Card(s) HD Radeon 4850
Storage Western Digital Caviar Black WD5001AALS 500GB 7200 RPM SATA 3.0Gb/s 3.5" Internal Hard Drive
Case Antec Nine Hundred
Audio Device(s) xtremegamer
Power Supply 650W Antec
#22
Yeah! it meant be a DOA CPU...?

If you didn't have to reset time & date in bios then the CMos clear didn't work , remove the CMos battery & wait for at least 10 minutes before put it back in
When I took the battery, out the clock changed, so I assume it reset.

It's starting to look like a bad chip.
 

Bo$$

Lab Extraordinaire
Joined
May 7, 2009
Messages
5,626 (1.77/day)
Likes
971
Location
London, UK
System Name Desktop | Server
Processor Intel i7 2700k @ 4.4GHZ | AMD 5350 @ 2500MHZ
Motherboard Asus P7Z77-V Pro | Asus AM1I-A
Cooling GeLID Tranquilo | Stock Air
Memory Crucial Ballistix 2x8GB CL8 1600MHZ | Corsair Vengence 2x4GB CL9 1600MHZ
Video Card(s) Gainward GTX 780 Phantom GLH | PNY GTX 750Ti
Storage Samsung 840 EVO 250GB + 4TB WD Red | 2x Seagate Barracuda 2TB
Display(s) Samsung S27D390H + Asus VE276Q | Headless
Case Fractal Design R5 | CM Elite 110
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar D1 w/Otone Stilo 5.1 and Creative Fatal1ty headset
Power Supply EVGA Supernova 850 G2| Corsair CX430M
Mouse Razer Imperator 2012
Keyboard Corsair K90
Software Windows 7 SP1 X64 | Ubuntu 16.04LTS
#23
false alarm or is it still not working?
 

ibhappy

New Member
Joined
Dec 31, 2010
Messages
103 (0.04/day)
Likes
2
Processor Intel Pentium E6300 Wolfdale
Motherboard EP45-UD3R v1.1
Memory CORSAIR XMS2 8GB
Video Card(s) HD Radeon 4850
Storage Western Digital Caviar Black WD5001AALS 500GB 7200 RPM SATA 3.0Gb/s 3.5" Internal Hard Drive
Case Antec Nine Hundred
Audio Device(s) xtremegamer
Power Supply 650W Antec
#24
If there's a way to test that Q9650 on a different computer (cousins, aunts, uncles, friends, etc.), I would do that because now I do suspect that it is a defective CPU. If you bought it as a refurbished or used CPU, then my suspicion becomes even greater that it might in fact be a problem with the CPU.
Yes, I got it used. I got a little thermal paste on the front side of the chip and I wiped it off with a paper towel wet with isopropanol. Could that have killed the chip?
 

ibhappy

New Member
Joined
Dec 31, 2010
Messages
103 (0.04/day)
Likes
2
Processor Intel Pentium E6300 Wolfdale
Motherboard EP45-UD3R v1.1
Memory CORSAIR XMS2 8GB
Video Card(s) HD Radeon 4850
Storage Western Digital Caviar Black WD5001AALS 500GB 7200 RPM SATA 3.0Gb/s 3.5" Internal Hard Drive
Case Antec Nine Hundred
Audio Device(s) xtremegamer
Power Supply 650W Antec
#25