• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

CPU temp sensor defective, RMA???

KBD

New Member
Joined
Feb 23, 2007
Messages
2,477 (0.63/day)
Likes
275
Location
The Rotten Big Apple
Processor Intel e8600 @ 4.9 Ghz
Motherboard DFI Lanparty DK X48-T2RSB Plus
Cooling Water
Memory 2GB (2 x 1GB) of Buffalo Firestix DDR2-1066
Video Card(s) MSI Radeon HD 4870 1GB OC (820/950) & tweaking
Storage 2x 74GB Velociraptors in RAID 0; 320 GB Barracuda 7200.10
Display(s) 22" Mitsubishi Diamond Pro 2070SB
Case Silverstone TJ09-BW
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Profesional
Power Supply Ultra X3 800W
Software Windows XP Pro w/ SP3
#1
I had the Intel e8600 for several months now and every program i used to measure the temps for both cores always reads constant 39C, whether its idle or load, overvolted or undrvolted.The general CPU temp does change when i use Everest to monitor temps but the cores never. So i think that the temp sensor is no good. Is this reason enough for an RMA, will Intel accept it?
 
Joined
Jul 28, 2007
Messages
8,013 (2.11/day)
Likes
854
Location
Dorset, UK
System Name Gaming Rig | Uni Laptop
Processor Intel Q6600 G0 (2007) @ 3.6Ghz @ 1.45625v (LLC) / 4 GHz Bench @ 1.63v | AMD Turion 64 X2 TL-62 2 GHz
Motherboard ASUS P5Q Deluxe (Intel P45) | HP 6715b
Cooling Xigmatek Dark Knight w/AC MX2 ~ Case Fans: 2 x 180mm + 1 x 120mm Silverstone Fans
Memory 4GB OCZ Platinum PC2-8000 @ 1000Mhz 5-5-5-15 2.1v | 2 x 1GB DDR2 667 MHz
Video Card(s) XFX GTX 285 1GB, Modded FTW BIOS @ 725/1512/1350 w/Accelero Xtreme GTX 280 + Scythe sinks| ATI X1250
Storage 2x WD6400AAKS 1 TB Raid 0, 140GB Raid 1 & 80GB Maxtor Basics External HDD (storage) | 160GB 2.5"
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster SM2433BW @ 1920 x 1200 via DVI-D | 15.4" WSXGA+ (1680 x 1050 resolution)
Case Silverstone Fortress FT01B-W ~ Logitech G15 R1 / Microsoft Laser Mouse 6000
Audio Device(s) Soundmax AD2000BX Onboard Sound, via Logitech X-230 2.1 | ADI SoundMAX HD Audio
Power Supply Corsair TX650W | HP 90W
Software Windows 7 Ultimate Build 7100 x64 | Windows 7 Ultimate Build 7100 x64
Benchmark Scores 3DM06: 19519, Vantage: P16170 ~ Win7: -CPU 7.5 -MEM 7.5 -AERO 7.9 -GFX 6.0 -HDD 6.0
#2
Doesnt sound good, you tried the sensor test in Realtemp?
 
Joined
Jan 19, 2007
Messages
3,376 (0.85/day)
Likes
161
Location
Athens , GREECE
System Name SECONDARY RIG / PRIMARY RIG / THIRD RIG
Processor i920@3.6GHz / i920@4GHz / AMD Phenom II 955
Motherboard Gigabyte EX58-UD4P / Gigabyte EX58-UD7 / ASRock 890GX3
Cooling CoolIT Domino ALC / Thermalright Silver Arrow / Thermalright VenomousX
Memory 12GB DDR3 @ 1800MHZ / 6GB DDR3 @ 2250MHZ / 4GB DDR3 @ 1600MHZ
Video Card(s) XFX ATI RADEON 5970 / GAINWARD NVIDIA GTX 580 / 2xGEFORCE GTX295
Storage 1550GB / 6TB SAS - SSD / 160GB SSD
Display(s) NEC 26WUXi2 / NEC 3090WQXi / SONY 55A2000 (1080P 55inch)
Case COOLER MASTER HAF 932 / COOLER MASTER ATCS 840 / ANTEC DARKFLEET DF85
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster X-Fi Xtreme Music / SoundBlaster X-Fi Fatal1ty Pro / Realtek Onboard
Power Supply CWT 1200W / Enermax Revolution 85+ 1250W / Ikonik Vulcan 1200W
Software Windows 7 x64 / Windows 7 x64 / Windows 7 x64
#3
I doubt you can get a replacement for that, let me ask that for ya.
 

fullinfusion

Vanguard Beta Tester
Joined
Jan 11, 2008
Messages
9,605 (2.65/day)
Likes
3,363
Processor I7-7700K
Motherboard Asus Z270 Maximus IX Code
Cooling Custom water plus another cooler
Memory Corsair Vengeance LED Red 4x8GB 32GB 3200MHz kit
Video Card(s) 2 x MSI RX Vega 56 and a single MSI RX Vega 64 in test rig
Storage 960 EVO/960 Pro M.2 nvme 250/1TB, Samsumg 850 evo 256/ WD 1TB blue
Display(s) Nexius 32" freesync 2 HDR
Case Corsair Obsidion 650D/ cardboard box
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply EVGA Supernova G2 1300W
Mouse Mionix Naos 7000
Keyboard G15
Software Windows 10 Home
#4
i had that problem some time ago on my AMD rig..... all i did was pop out the battery and clear the CMOS.... after that i never had the problem since
 
Joined
Jan 19, 2007
Messages
3,376 (0.85/day)
Likes
161
Location
Athens , GREECE
System Name SECONDARY RIG / PRIMARY RIG / THIRD RIG
Processor i920@3.6GHz / i920@4GHz / AMD Phenom II 955
Motherboard Gigabyte EX58-UD4P / Gigabyte EX58-UD7 / ASRock 890GX3
Cooling CoolIT Domino ALC / Thermalright Silver Arrow / Thermalright VenomousX
Memory 12GB DDR3 @ 1800MHZ / 6GB DDR3 @ 2250MHZ / 4GB DDR3 @ 1600MHZ
Video Card(s) XFX ATI RADEON 5970 / GAINWARD NVIDIA GTX 580 / 2xGEFORCE GTX295
Storage 1550GB / 6TB SAS - SSD / 160GB SSD
Display(s) NEC 26WUXi2 / NEC 3090WQXi / SONY 55A2000 (1080P 55inch)
Case COOLER MASTER HAF 932 / COOLER MASTER ATCS 840 / ANTEC DARKFLEET DF85
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster X-Fi Xtreme Music / SoundBlaster X-Fi Fatal1ty Pro / Realtek Onboard
Power Supply CWT 1200W / Enermax Revolution 85+ 1250W / Ikonik Vulcan 1200W
Software Windows 7 x64 / Windows 7 x64 / Windows 7 x64
#6
Well although INTEL says it is extremely hard for a sensor to be defective ( usually a mainboard issue ) this is the rest of the answer.

If that thermal diode is really defective then this is a reason for RMA. Your friend should go to the place where he bought this PC (or he bought the CPU).
 

KBD

New Member
Joined
Feb 23, 2007
Messages
2,477 (0.63/day)
Likes
275
Location
The Rotten Big Apple
Processor Intel e8600 @ 4.9 Ghz
Motherboard DFI Lanparty DK X48-T2RSB Plus
Cooling Water
Memory 2GB (2 x 1GB) of Buffalo Firestix DDR2-1066
Video Card(s) MSI Radeon HD 4870 1GB OC (820/950) & tweaking
Storage 2x 74GB Velociraptors in RAID 0; 320 GB Barracuda 7200.10
Display(s) 22" Mitsubishi Diamond Pro 2070SB
Case Silverstone TJ09-BW
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Profesional
Power Supply Ultra X3 800W
Software Windows XP Pro w/ SP3
#7
Doesnt sound good, you tried the sensor test in Realtemp?
No, i havent but i will try it now, good suggestion :toast:


i had that problem some time ago on my AMD rig..... all i did was pop out the battery and clear the CMOS.... after that i never had the problem since
thnx, will try that next.


Well although INTEL says it is extremely hard for a sensor to be defective ( usually a mainboard issue ) this is the rest of the answer.
good to see you back, Hellas, i see they let you back on :toast:


If all else fails i will attempt to RMA, though it could be the mainboard like Intel said but it performs flawlessly so i doubt. Though Intel telling people to return to the store is wrong as no store will accept anything after 30 days, at least in the US. Newegg actually has a 7 day retutn policy for CPUs.
 
Joined
Jan 19, 2007
Messages
3,376 (0.85/day)
Likes
161
Location
Athens , GREECE
System Name SECONDARY RIG / PRIMARY RIG / THIRD RIG
Processor i920@3.6GHz / i920@4GHz / AMD Phenom II 955
Motherboard Gigabyte EX58-UD4P / Gigabyte EX58-UD7 / ASRock 890GX3
Cooling CoolIT Domino ALC / Thermalright Silver Arrow / Thermalright VenomousX
Memory 12GB DDR3 @ 1800MHZ / 6GB DDR3 @ 2250MHZ / 4GB DDR3 @ 1600MHZ
Video Card(s) XFX ATI RADEON 5970 / GAINWARD NVIDIA GTX 580 / 2xGEFORCE GTX295
Storage 1550GB / 6TB SAS - SSD / 160GB SSD
Display(s) NEC 26WUXi2 / NEC 3090WQXi / SONY 55A2000 (1080P 55inch)
Case COOLER MASTER HAF 932 / COOLER MASTER ATCS 840 / ANTEC DARKFLEET DF85
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster X-Fi Xtreme Music / SoundBlaster X-Fi Fatal1ty Pro / Realtek Onboard
Power Supply CWT 1200W / Enermax Revolution 85+ 1250W / Ikonik Vulcan 1200W
Software Windows 7 x64 / Windows 7 x64 / Windows 7 x64
#8
From what my friend told me they will deal with the store directly.
 

KBD

New Member
Joined
Feb 23, 2007
Messages
2,477 (0.63/day)
Likes
275
Location
The Rotten Big Apple
Processor Intel e8600 @ 4.9 Ghz
Motherboard DFI Lanparty DK X48-T2RSB Plus
Cooling Water
Memory 2GB (2 x 1GB) of Buffalo Firestix DDR2-1066
Video Card(s) MSI Radeon HD 4870 1GB OC (820/950) & tweaking
Storage 2x 74GB Velociraptors in RAID 0; 320 GB Barracuda 7200.10
Display(s) 22" Mitsubishi Diamond Pro 2070SB
Case Silverstone TJ09-BW
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Profesional
Power Supply Ultra X3 800W
Software Windows XP Pro w/ SP3
#9
From what my friend told me they will deal with the store directly.
ah, i see.


I also ran the sensor test in Real Temp but i'm not sure if i understand the results. It kept putting different load levels on the CPU but the temp remained the same so i'm not sure if i passed or failed.
 
Joined
Sep 24, 2005
Messages
241 (0.05/day)
Likes
30
#10
ah, i see.


I also ran the sensor test in Real Temp but i'm not sure if i understand the results. It kept putting different load levels on the CPU but the temp remained the same so i'm not sure if i passed or failed.
Hey, I had the exact same situation in February last year. I got lucky and grabbed one of the first E8400's that were released last year. I installed it in a P35 motherboard that didn't "Officially" support the 45nm CPU at the time. It booted up fine and was noticably faster than the E6750 that it replaced. Speedfan showed 27C at all times for both cores. Core Temp showed temps around 27C at all times. Real Temp showed the same temp at all times also. I kept the E8400 for around a month. It was a good performer but I never felt comfortable with the CPU because I couldn't monitor the temps properly. I was afraid to even try to overclock it. I didn't really know if I had stuck temp sensors or if I needed a new motherboard bios or updated monitoring software! In retrospect I'm convinced I had stuck sensors. I sold mine. You should Sell or RMA that puppy and try a properly functioning CPU.
 

unclewebb

RealTemp Author
Joined
Jun 1, 2008
Messages
1,141 (0.33/day)
Likes
676
#11
KBD: Follow the directions in RealTemp when running the CPU Cool Down Test, sit back for 10 minutes and it will pretty much take care of itself. Post your results when you're done.

The test runs Prirme and loads your CPU at different load levels so normal sensors should report a different Distance to TJMax at each level of this test. If that doesn't happen then your sensors are sticking.

Most sensors that stick at lower temperatures start working at higher temperatures but you might need to get your core temperature up over 60C before they move. Intel designed these sensors to control thermal throttling and all of them seem capable of doing that.

Being able to use them to report core temperatures is more like a bonus feature. Intel doesn't approve of any software like Core Temp or RealTemp or whatever that reads these sensors. They're not obligated to replace your CPU since their sensors are doing what they are designed to do; control thermal throttling and that's it.

http://www.fileden.com/files/2008/3/3/1794507/RealTempBeta.zip
 
Joined
Sep 24, 2005
Messages
241 (0.05/day)
Likes
30
#12
Hey KBD, did you get those temp issues sorted yet? I may be in the market for an E8600 myself soon.
 
Joined
Feb 26, 2008
Messages
4,870 (1.36/day)
Likes
681
Location
Joplin, Mo
System Name Ultrabeast GX2
Processor Intel Core 2 Duo E8500 @ 4.0GHZ 24/7
Motherboard Gigabit P35-DS3L
Cooling Rosewill RX24, Dual Slot Vid, Fan control
Memory 2x1gb 1066mhz@850MHZ DDR2
Video Card(s) 9800GX2 @ 690/1040
Storage 750/250/250/200 all WD 7200
Display(s) 24" DCLCD 2ms 1200p
Case Apevia
Audio Device(s) 7.1 Digital on-board, 5.1 digital hooked up
Power Supply 700W RAIDMAXXX SLI
Software winXP Pro
Benchmark Scores 17749 3DM06
#13
I am not sure that grounds for RMA.
Those are superior grounds for RMA, the product is defective. There is a reason a CPU sensor is put on there, and it is not to be neglected. RMA it. Then again on the other hand, maybe you have a very consistently cool processor?
 

KBD

New Member
Joined
Feb 23, 2007
Messages
2,477 (0.63/day)
Likes
275
Location
The Rotten Big Apple
Processor Intel e8600 @ 4.9 Ghz
Motherboard DFI Lanparty DK X48-T2RSB Plus
Cooling Water
Memory 2GB (2 x 1GB) of Buffalo Firestix DDR2-1066
Video Card(s) MSI Radeon HD 4870 1GB OC (820/950) & tweaking
Storage 2x 74GB Velociraptors in RAID 0; 320 GB Barracuda 7200.10
Display(s) 22" Mitsubishi Diamond Pro 2070SB
Case Silverstone TJ09-BW
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Profesional
Power Supply Ultra X3 800W
Software Windows XP Pro w/ SP3
#14
Hey KBD, did you get those temp issues sorted yet? I may be in the market for an E8600 myself soon.
Sorry guys for the late reply, i havent been around lately. Yes, i did resolve it. And im not even sure how. I belive that clearing CMOS might have done it. I also followed UncleWebb's instructions for the CPU Cool Down Test and the temps started changing when i ran Prime95 and the test for a second time. Now every temp monitoring program reads the core temps. Right now core load temps are 43-45C, CPU at 3.8 at the moment but i only ran Prime for the duration of the test. I will go back to overclocking and more testing so temps will prolly be highrer.
 
Joined
Sep 24, 2005
Messages
241 (0.05/day)
Likes
30
#15
Hey, that is great news! It would appear that stuck sensors can be un-stuck. It also appears that an E8XXX series CPU with stuck sensors is functioning properly and does not warrant an RMA. Thank you and unclewebb for the good work.:toast:
 

unclewebb

RealTemp Author
Joined
Jun 1, 2008
Messages
1,141 (0.33/day)
Likes
676
#16
Hey, that is great news! It would appear that stuck sensors can be un-stuck.
That's rarely true. The sticking point of most stuck sensors doesn't change for the life of the processor no matter what board or bios version you use.

What usually happens is summer comes along so your core temperatures go up a little and they get into a range where they start to work more or less properly. It would be a good idea to run a cool down test now and during the winter so you'll have a baseline to compare to.

Stuck sensors isn't a reason for an RMA. Intel only uses these sensors to control thermal throttling and for that purpose, 99.999% of them work fine. Intel never designed these sensors for accurate core temperature reporting. That's more like a bonus feature when it works.
 
Joined
Sep 24, 2005
Messages
241 (0.05/day)
Likes
30
#17
That is good to know. I just started overclocking last year. My current E8500 has sensors that don't stick at any temp. It can be monitored relatively accurately with all the current software. It is excellent for stock mainstream use and excellent for overclocking. I'd like the same (bonus features) in the next E8XXX that I buy. Thanks for the Intel:laugh:, and keep up the good work!
 

Flyordie

New Member
Joined
Oct 26, 2008
Messages
1,870 (0.56/day)
Likes
246
System Name Shay's Revenge
Processor Phenom II X2 550 @ 4,012Mhz 1.488V
Motherboard DFI LANParty 790GX-M2RS
Cooling ThermalTake V1 "Black Widow"
Memory 2x2GB OCZ Reapers 4-4-4-12-1T @ 1.8V
Video Card(s) BBA HD5770 Crossfire @ 900Mhz Core 5.6Gbps VRAM
Storage 3x SATA (320GB/ 160GB/160GB Seagates)
Display(s) Westinghouse L1916HW 1680x1050 VGA/DVI/HDCP
Case ThermalTake Element V
Audio Device(s) RealTek Onboard
Power Supply SeaSonic SS-550HT Active PFC F3 80PLUS Bronze
Software Windows Vista Home Premium x64 w/ SQL Hack
Benchmark Scores 3DMark06 13,200 http://valid.canardpc.com/show_oc.php?id=495939
#18
but what if the sensor is genuinely stuck and the cooler fails and the CPU burns up because that thermal diode failed?