• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

DirectX 12 Mixed Multi-GPU: It Works, For Now

Joined
Mar 6, 2011
Messages
83 (0.03/day)
who cares it works for now if Nvidia doesnt block it this is a great way to get AMD and Nvidia game effects working. Gameworks title no problem you have an Nvidia gpu... DX12 with asynch no problem you got an AMD card lol. What saddens me is they didnt show pure SLI and Xfire for the comparison. Still 7970 + 680 was interesting with the 680 as primary performance was worse than single card. Put the AMD card as primary performance scales wonderfully. Now I am sure Nvidia will block this somehow and it will somewhat depressing when they do but for the time being its quite interesting. Lets see if SLI / Xfire works better than DX12 mixed multi gpu
Even if NVIDIA don't block it at a driver or firmware level, I'd eat my hat if they didn't block it with the GW middleware in games that use it. The reason they blocked it years ago was that many people wanted to buy a high end AMD card and then have a slave $50 NV card for Phys-X.
 
Joined
Mar 6, 2011
Messages
83 (0.03/day)
Yes but is a lot of this not to do with the XDMA implementation by AMD? The crossfire situation of older cards (Tahiti and beyond) is not so great. So you mean the XDMA pathway Fury uses (as being from Hawaii and upwards) means it communicates better with the API or better with the Nvidia card? I suppose that makes sense if the Nvidia card isn't normally communicating with another card via pci....
On mature drivers, Tahiti did much better. It did however have appalling frame times compared with NV, which were brought to par and then leapt ahead. Obviously there were quite a few cards between Tahiti and Fiji, too.

I dunno what it is. Probably a mixture of a lot of things. Perhaps part of it's due to the fact that GCN is designed from the ground up to work in parallel and none of NVIDIA's are.
 
Joined
Apr 29, 2014
Messages
3,812 (2.06/day)
Location
Texas
System Name SnowFire / The Reinforcer / Portable?
Processor i7 8700K 5.0ghz (24/7) / 2x Intel Xeon X5670 / Intel i7 7700HQ
Motherboard Asus Z370 Prime-A / Dell Dual Socket (R710) / HP Omen Stock
Cooling RX 360mm + 140mm Custom Loop in Push Pull Config. / Dell Stock / HP Stock
Memory Corsair Vengeance RGB 16gb DDR4 3000 CL 16 / 1333mhz DDR3 96gb 12 x 8gb / 12gb DDR4 3 x 4gb
Video Card(s) GTX Titan XP (2025mhz) / Asus GTX 950 (No Power Connector) / RX 580
Storage Samsung 512gb SSD RAID 0 and 2tb HDD x4 RAID 5 / 300gb x8 RAID 5 / NVME 240gb SSD and 1tb HDD
Display(s) Acer XG270HU 1440p 144hz Freesync, Acer B286HK 4K UHD Monitor / 1080p 60hz Freesync display
Case Corsair Obsidian 800D / Dell Poweredge R710 Rack Mount Case / HP Omen 17
Audio Device(s) Realtec ALC1150 (On board)
Power Supply Rosewill Lightning 1300Watt
Mouse Logitech G5
Keyboard Logitech G19S
Software Windows 10 Pro / Windows Server 2008 R2 / Windows 10 Home
You know, its cool but I would really have to see this in person. Plus I feel they will not allow this forever... But that is just my opinion.
 
Joined
Dec 14, 2009
Messages
7,281 (2.11/day)
Location
Glasgow - home of formal profanity
System Name New Ho'Ryzen
Processor Ryzen 1700X @ 3.82Ghz
Motherboard Asus Crosshair VI Hero
Cooling TR Le Grand Macho & custom GPU loop
Memory 16Gb G.Skill 3200 RGB
Video Card(s) RTX 2080ti MSI Duke @2Ghz ish
Storage Samsumg 960 Pro m2. 512Gb
Display(s) LG 32" 165Hz 1440p GSYNC
Case Lian Li PC-V33WX
Audio Device(s) On Board
Power Supply Seasonic Prime TItanium 850
Software W10
Benchmark Scores Look, it's a Ryzen on air........ What's the point?
The reason they blocked it years ago was that many people wanted to buy a high end AMD card and then have a slave $50 NV card for Phys-X.
A minor difference in semantics but an important one nonetheless - It would (in Nvidia's mind) make people hesitate to buy an AMD card if they wanted to run Physx. They didn't do it because of 'many people wanted to buy a high end AMD card'.
The irony is, 'Physx' was over hyped and under utilised. Pretty effects that got boring real quick.

With this set up, I don't think a driver level hack will help Nv's cause. I imagine the DX12 API might require certain basic driver features to run the hardware as 'bare' as possible. It might hurt Nvidia's performance if they intentionally hobble certain DX12 feature abilities.
 

FordGT90Concept

"I go fast!1!11!1!"
Joined
Oct 13, 2008
Messages
24,734 (6.38/day)
Location
IA, USA
System Name BY-2015
Processor Intel Core i7-6700K (4 x 4.00 GHz) w/ HT and Turbo on
Motherboard MSI Z170A GAMING M7
Cooling Scythe Kotetsu
Memory 2 x Kingston HyperX DDR4-2133 8 GiB
Video Card(s) Sapphire NITRO+ RX 590 Special Edition 8 GiB DVI + HDMI
Storage Crucial MX300 275 GB, Seagate Exos X12 TB 7200 RPM
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster T240 24" LCD (1920x1200 HDMI) + Samsung SyncMaster 906BW 19" LCD (1440x900 DVI)
Case Coolermaster HAF 932 w/ USB 3.0 5.25" bay
Audio Device(s) Realtek Onboard, Micca OriGen+
Power Supply Enermax Platimax 850w
Mouse SteelSeries Sensei RAW
Keyboard Tesoro Excalibur
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
Benchmark Scores Faster than the tortoise; slower than the hare.
I think the fact Lucid got bought and dissappeared is the problem they dropped off the face of the earth basically well as far as anyone is concerned. Even then how did Microsoft get the tech? Did they license it? Did they create their own?
I wouldn't be surprised, at all, if this is possible because of Mantle. The closer-to-the-metal programming Mantle/D3D12 allows developers to simulate SLI/Crossfire in the API.

did you fail to read? FURY X + FURY AMd has no problems allowing the same gpu but different tiers operate in Xfire its been this way for years example 7950 + 7970 . Nvidia does no allow that regardless. DX12 Fury X + 980Ti is faster than 2x AMD gpus in proper X-fire.
They didn't test Fury X + Fury X nor GTX 980 Ti + GTX 980 Ti. The big jump for Fury X might be because of DX12 more so than pairing two cards.
 
Last edited:

btarunr

Editor & Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 9, 2007
Messages
36,830 (8.67/day)
Location
Hyderabad, India
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 2700X
Motherboard MSI B450 Gaming Pro Carbon AC
Cooling AMD Wraith Prism
Memory 2x 16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX DDR4-3000
Video Card(s) Colorful iGame GTX 1070 Ti Vulcan X
Storage Western Digital Black NVMe 512GB
Display(s) Samsung U28D590 28-inch 4K UHD
Case Corsair Carbide 100R
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster Recon3D PCIe
Power Supply Antec EarthWatts Pro Gold 750W
Mouse Razer Abyssus
Keyboard Microsoft Sidewinder X4
Software Windows 10 Pro
did you fail to read? FURY X + FURY AMd has no problems allowing the same gpu but different tiers operate in Xfire its been this way for years example 7950 + 7970 . Nvidia does no allow that regardless. DX12 Fury X + 980Ti is faster than 2x AMD gpus in proper X-fire.

Fury X + Fury shows 66% gain over Fury X by itself

Fury X + 980Ti shows 75% gain.

This is proprietary tech vs a DX12 feature aka agnostic and the agnostic option is kicking the crap out of said proprietary solution.
We don't know if FuryX+Fury was running CrossFire, or if Anand disabled it in CCC to let DX12 native multiGPU work.
 

crazyeyesreaper

Chief Broken Rig
Staff member
Joined
Mar 25, 2009
Messages
9,271 (2.50/day)
Location
04578
Still the Fury X + 980 Ti has a performance scaling over the stock Fury X in league with the average scaling of Crossfire on its own.

If we look at W1zzards review the average scaling is around 65%. granted this is Nano + Nano at 64% and Nano + Fury X at 66%

Looking at the agnostic tech its scaling without Crossfire is about the same as AMD's xfire scaling at 4k across the board = impressive. Add to that Fury X + 980Ti gives a 75% increase of Fury X = a performance increase in multi GPU thats technically higher than the Crossfire average. Not to say that Crossfire doesn't scale better after all its dependent upon title but this would point to the fact that its possible for the DX12 multiGPU option of being just as efficient as the proprietary technologies. And its baked into DX12. Meaning if developers implemented it Multi-GPU users wouldnt have to wait on AMD or Nvidia for profiles. Profiles would basically only be necessary for legacy apps.

Games to tend to scale between 40-90% with the dominant average being 65-75%. If an agnostic API can without drivers offer 65-75% thats pretty good. Even better if frame time variance improves because relying on AMD's drivers for that is very hit of miss lol. On top of that being able to mix and match does offer some leeway for the various game tech that both companies push. Its all a pipe dream really but a Fury X + 980Ti seems to offer better performance scaling than 2x AMD cards with better frame time variance. But without a conclusive SLI and Xfire comparison its a bit moot i suppose.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Nov 2, 2013
Messages
307 (0.15/day)
System Name Auriga
Processor Intel i9 7960X @ 4.5GHz w/ EK nickel-plexi Supremacy EVO
Motherboard ASRock Fatal1ty X299 Professional i9 XE
Cooling D5 PWM pump. 2x Black Ice Nemesis 360GTS rads.
Memory 4x 8GB G.SKILL TridentZ 3800MHz 16-16-16-36 RGB
Video Card(s) Gigabyte RTX 2080 Ti Windforce OC w/ Bykski nickel-plexi waterblock
Storage Samsung 1TB 960 EVO + 40TB NAS
Display(s) Alienware AW3418DW (3440x1440 @ 120Hz) and LG OLED65C8PUA (4k @120Hz)
Case Fractal Define R6 (it's not the size, it's how you use it!)
Power Supply Corsair AX1600i
Mouse Logitech G903 (play) + MX Master 2S (work)
Keyboard Corsair STRAFE RGB
Software W10 X64 Pro
Benchmark Scores Time Spy: 15,208 GPU score https://www.3dmark.com/spy/5738256
pardon me while i shit my pants in excitement.
 
Joined
Sep 7, 2011
Messages
595 (0.21/day)
Location
Pacific Rim
Processor 2600K
Motherboard Gigabyte Z77X-D3H
Cooling Scythe Ashura
Memory Corsair 1600C9 8GB x2
Video Card(s) MSI 390
Storage Seagate 2TB + WD Green 640GB
Display(s) Samsung 40JU6600 @ 200% scaling
Case Coolermaster CM 690 II
Audio Device(s) Xonar DG
Power Supply Corsair HX650
Mouse Deathadder Black, CMStorm Recon, Mionix Naos 3200, and Destructor
Keyboard Corsair K70, Razer Tarantula
What happens when you mix between high end GPU and low end GPU?
 

FordGT90Concept

"I go fast!1!11!1!"
Joined
Oct 13, 2008
Messages
24,734 (6.38/day)
Location
IA, USA
System Name BY-2015
Processor Intel Core i7-6700K (4 x 4.00 GHz) w/ HT and Turbo on
Motherboard MSI Z170A GAMING M7
Cooling Scythe Kotetsu
Memory 2 x Kingston HyperX DDR4-2133 8 GiB
Video Card(s) Sapphire NITRO+ RX 590 Special Edition 8 GiB DVI + HDMI
Storage Crucial MX300 275 GB, Seagate Exos X12 TB 7200 RPM
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster T240 24" LCD (1920x1200 HDMI) + Samsung SyncMaster 906BW 19" LCD (1440x900 DVI)
Case Coolermaster HAF 932 w/ USB 3.0 5.25" bay
Audio Device(s) Realtek Onboard, Micca OriGen+
Power Supply Enermax Platimax 850w
Mouse SteelSeries Sensei RAW
Keyboard Tesoro Excalibur
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
Benchmark Scores Faster than the tortoise; slower than the hare.
I suspect a pretty serious loss in framerate. The faster GPU will have to wait for the slower GPU to finish the alternate frame. If it doesn't result in framerate loss, then they're doing some magical wizardry.
 
  • Like
Reactions: 64K
Joined
Mar 13, 2014
Messages
3,677 (1.94/day)
Processor i7 7700k
Motherboard MSI Z270 SLI Plus
Cooling CM Hyper 212 EVO
Memory 2 x 8 GB Corsair Vengeance
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 980 Ti GAMING
Storage Samsung 850 EVO 250 GB and WD Black 4TB
Display(s) ASUS 27 inch 1440p PLS PB278Q
Case Corsair Obsidian 750D Airflow Edition
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply EVGA SuperNova 850 W Gold
Mouse Logitech G502
Keyboard Logitech G105
Software Windows 10
I suspect a pretty serious loss in framerate. The faster GPU will have to wait for the slower GPU to finish the alternate frame. If it doesn't result in framerate loss, then they're doing some magical wizardry.
That's what I think too. Even if one of the things that MS talked about with DX12 implementing Split Frame Rendering the faster card would complete it's half of the frame and have to wait on the slower card to complete it's half of the frame unless DX12 had some way to know how much slower the slower card was and assign it a smaller portion of the frame. Say 3/4 of the frame for the faster card and 1/4 for the slower card.
 

FordGT90Concept

"I go fast!1!11!1!"
Joined
Oct 13, 2008
Messages
24,734 (6.38/day)
Location
IA, USA
System Name BY-2015
Processor Intel Core i7-6700K (4 x 4.00 GHz) w/ HT and Turbo on
Motherboard MSI Z170A GAMING M7
Cooling Scythe Kotetsu
Memory 2 x Kingston HyperX DDR4-2133 8 GiB
Video Card(s) Sapphire NITRO+ RX 590 Special Edition 8 GiB DVI + HDMI
Storage Crucial MX300 275 GB, Seagate Exos X12 TB 7200 RPM
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster T240 24" LCD (1920x1200 HDMI) + Samsung SyncMaster 906BW 19" LCD (1440x900 DVI)
Case Coolermaster HAF 932 w/ USB 3.0 5.25" bay
Audio Device(s) Realtek Onboard, Micca OriGen+
Power Supply Enermax Platimax 850w
Mouse SteelSeries Sensei RAW
Keyboard Tesoro Excalibur
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
Benchmark Scores Faster than the tortoise; slower than the hare.
That would fall under the category of "magical wizardry" though. :laugh:
 
Joined
Sep 7, 2011
Messages
595 (0.21/day)
Location
Pacific Rim
Processor 2600K
Motherboard Gigabyte Z77X-D3H
Cooling Scythe Ashura
Memory Corsair 1600C9 8GB x2
Video Card(s) MSI 390
Storage Seagate 2TB + WD Green 640GB
Display(s) Samsung 40JU6600 @ 200% scaling
Case Coolermaster CM 690 II
Audio Device(s) Xonar DG
Power Supply Corsair HX650
Mouse Deathadder Black, CMStorm Recon, Mionix Naos 3200, and Destructor
Keyboard Corsair K70, Razer Tarantula
I suspect a pretty serious loss in framerate. The faster GPU will have to wait for the slower GPU to finish the alternate frame. If it doesn't result in framerate loss, then they're doing some magical wizardry.
That's better. I thought it's gonna be tearing.
 
Joined
Dec 23, 2012
Messages
1,413 (0.60/day)
Location
south korea
System Name budget gaming / MSI gs70 6qe silver
Processor i7 4770k 4.0 ghz / i7 6700hq
Motherboard Asus Z87m-plus / msi h97
Cooling Zigmatek Janus LP / stock
Memory G.Skill TridentX 16gb 2666 mhz CL11 / Samsung ddr4 2133
Video Card(s) Zotac GTX 1060 6gb AMP / gtx 970m
Storage 750gb Seagate (OS); 1x 1tb WD; 1x2tb Seagate
Display(s) 2x crossover 30x-p driver + crossover 3020mdp 1600p eyefinity / HP elitedisplay E231 1080p
Case BRAVOTEC DEFY R50
Audio Device(s) Onboard / onboard
Power Supply Silverstone 750W gold/ Powertex 500w
Mouse Logitech G100S
Keyboard Steelseries Mechanical keyboard
Software Windows 10
interesting. Now I can have igp to put in use :) (hopefully)
 
Joined
Feb 8, 2012
Messages
2,926 (1.10/day)
Location
Zagreb, Croatia
System Name Windows 7 64-bit Core i5 3570K
Processor Intel Core i5 3570K @ 4.2 GHz, 1.26 V
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-Z77MX-D3H
Cooling Scythe Katana 4
Memory 4 x 4 GB G-Skill Sniper DDR3 @ 1600 MHz
Video Card(s) Gainward NVIDIA GeForce GTX 970 Phantom
Storage Western Digital Caviar Blue 1 TB, Seagate Baracuda 1 TB
Display(s) Dell P2414H
Case CoolerMaster Silencio 550
Audio Device(s) VIA HD Audio
Power Supply Corsair TX v2 650W
Mouse Steelseries Sensei
Keyboard CM Storm Quickfire Pro, Cherry MX Reds
Software MS Windows 7 Enterprise 64-bit SP1
Funny how best results are achieved by combining fury and 980ti and it's even funnier how order seems to be important :laugh:
 
Joined
Sep 15, 2011
Messages
5,184 (1.84/day)
Processor Intel Core i7 3770k @ 4.3GHz
Motherboard Asus P8Z77-V LK
Memory 16GB(2x8) DDR3@2133MHz 1.5v Patriot
Video Card(s) MSI GeForce GTX 1080 GAMING X 8G
Storage 59.63GB Samsung SSD 830 + 465.76 GB Samsung SSD 840 EVO + 2TB Hitachi + 300GB Velociraptor HDD
Display(s) Acer Predator X34 3440x1440@100Hz G-Sync
Case NZXT PHANTOM410-BK
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi Titanium PCIe
Power Supply Corsair 850W
Mouse Anker
Software Win 10 Pro - 64bit
Benchmark Scores 30FPS in NFS:Rivals
This is all nice and good, however this game's graphics still looks like from the late 90's, seriously. C&C Generals had better graphics, and I could run it on a Voodoo 2 card. I really don't get why does it need all those resources....
 
Joined
May 29, 2012
Messages
474 (0.19/day)
System Name The Cube
Processor i7 - 4770K @ 4.2GHz
Motherboard ASUS Maximum VI Hero
Cooling Corsair H110 w/ 2x Cougar Vortex 140mm Fans
Memory 32GB G.Skill Z-series @ 2133Mhz
Video Card(s) 2 x EVGA GTX 1070 FTW
Storage 1 x 256GB Samsung 840 Pro, 1 x 512GB Samsung 850 EVO & 2 x 2TB WD BLACK RAID 0
Display(s) Alienware AW3418DW
Case Corsair Carbide Air 540
Power Supply Seasonic PRIME 1000W Titanium
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
If you mean AMD, I very much doubt they'll block it. If you mean NVIDIA, it would seem abundantly obvious that they will, given their long history of anti-competitive practice and the fact that the mixed setups make it even more clear that AMD scales much better in multi-gpu scenarios, whether AMD only or mixed.
They can't do shit to block it unless they decided not to support DirectX 12. The unliked EMA state is completely up to the developers as to how it's used and if they want to use it in the first place. So unless either AMD or nVidia decided they no longer wish to support DX12, they don't have a say in the matter.
 
Joined
May 29, 2012
Messages
474 (0.19/day)
System Name The Cube
Processor i7 - 4770K @ 4.2GHz
Motherboard ASUS Maximum VI Hero
Cooling Corsair H110 w/ 2x Cougar Vortex 140mm Fans
Memory 32GB G.Skill Z-series @ 2133Mhz
Video Card(s) 2 x EVGA GTX 1070 FTW
Storage 1 x 256GB Samsung 840 Pro, 1 x 512GB Samsung 850 EVO & 2 x 2TB WD BLACK RAID 0
Display(s) Alienware AW3418DW
Case Corsair Carbide Air 540
Power Supply Seasonic PRIME 1000W Titanium
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
We don't know if FuryX+Fury was running CrossFire, or if Anand disabled it in CCC to let DX12 native multiGPU work.
"native multiGPU" or implicit mode just does AFR with Crossfire or SLI. It does nothing that isn't already done by nVidia or AMD. The point is to still allow developers that don't want to get into the nitty gritty of developing their own EMA multi-GPU environment, to simply use what's already available. So yes, it was using Crossfire.

That's my understanding of it from the AT article anyways.
 
Joined
Oct 5, 2008
Messages
1,745 (0.45/day)
Location
ATL, GA
System Name My Rig
Processor Intel 7940x
Motherboard Asrock X299 Gaming i9
Cooling Corsair H150i
Memory G.Skill Trident DDR4
Video Card(s) Zotac AMP RTX 2080 Ti
Storage 4TB PciE NVMe Storage
Display(s) Asus P27UQ
Case Corsair HAF120
Audio Device(s) JBL 30X
Power Supply Seasonic Titanium 1000W
Mouse Razer Lancehead
Keyboard Razer Widow Maker Keyboard
Software Window's 10 Pro
I wonder, could I use a AMD GPU, with a Nvidia GPU, but leverage Gsync from the Nvidia in order to connect to the monitr, and still leverage DX12 mutli gpu to do this?
 

FordGT90Concept

"I go fast!1!11!1!"
Joined
Oct 13, 2008
Messages
24,734 (6.38/day)
Location
IA, USA
System Name BY-2015
Processor Intel Core i7-6700K (4 x 4.00 GHz) w/ HT and Turbo on
Motherboard MSI Z170A GAMING M7
Cooling Scythe Kotetsu
Memory 2 x Kingston HyperX DDR4-2133 8 GiB
Video Card(s) Sapphire NITRO+ RX 590 Special Edition 8 GiB DVI + HDMI
Storage Crucial MX300 275 GB, Seagate Exos X12 TB 7200 RPM
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster T240 24" LCD (1920x1200 HDMI) + Samsung SyncMaster 906BW 19" LCD (1440x900 DVI)
Case Coolermaster HAF 932 w/ USB 3.0 5.25" bay
Audio Device(s) Realtek Onboard, Micca OriGen+
Power Supply Enermax Platimax 850w
Mouse SteelSeries Sensei RAW
Keyboard Tesoro Excalibur
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
Benchmark Scores Faster than the tortoise; slower than the hare.
NVIDIA would have to be primary. I suspect it would work.

Bare in mind that it is pretty doubtful most games will even be coded to use multiple GPUs outside of Crossfire/SLI. I suspect the only reason why they did it was because of all the publicity the game got from the async compute discovery. Playing with Direct3D 12 has been a great way for them to promote the game.
 
Joined
Apr 29, 2014
Messages
3,812 (2.06/day)
Location
Texas
System Name SnowFire / The Reinforcer / Portable?
Processor i7 8700K 5.0ghz (24/7) / 2x Intel Xeon X5670 / Intel i7 7700HQ
Motherboard Asus Z370 Prime-A / Dell Dual Socket (R710) / HP Omen Stock
Cooling RX 360mm + 140mm Custom Loop in Push Pull Config. / Dell Stock / HP Stock
Memory Corsair Vengeance RGB 16gb DDR4 3000 CL 16 / 1333mhz DDR3 96gb 12 x 8gb / 12gb DDR4 3 x 4gb
Video Card(s) GTX Titan XP (2025mhz) / Asus GTX 950 (No Power Connector) / RX 580
Storage Samsung 512gb SSD RAID 0 and 2tb HDD x4 RAID 5 / 300gb x8 RAID 5 / NVME 240gb SSD and 1tb HDD
Display(s) Acer XG270HU 1440p 144hz Freesync, Acer B286HK 4K UHD Monitor / 1080p 60hz Freesync display
Case Corsair Obsidian 800D / Dell Poweredge R710 Rack Mount Case / HP Omen 17
Audio Device(s) Realtec ALC1150 (On board)
Power Supply Rosewill Lightning 1300Watt
Mouse Logitech G5
Keyboard Logitech G19S
Software Windows 10 Pro / Windows Server 2008 R2 / Windows 10 Home
I wonder, could I use a AMD GPU, with a Nvidia GPU, but leverage Gsync from the Nvidia in order to connect to the monitr, and still leverage DX12 mutli gpu to do this?
That would be some sort of magic that might make all our heads explode.
 
Joined
Jan 31, 2010
Messages
3,058 (0.90/day)
System Name Cumquat 2000
Processor AMD FX8320 @ 4.0GHz NB/HT @ 2.6GHz
Motherboard Asus Crosshair V Formula
Cooling ThermoLab Baram 2x 120mm Gentle Typhoons 1850rpm
Memory 8GB (2x4GB) Mushkin Blackline DDR3 2400MHz 11/13/13/34/1T 1.65V
Video Card(s) Sapphire Nitro+ RX580 8GB OC 1375/2000 (Core/Mem) BIOS Modded
Storage 1X Samsung 860 EVO 500GB SATA AHCI 1x Sandisk 128GB SSD, 1xWD 2TB red, 1xWD 1TB black, 1xWD 2TB nas
Display(s) ViewSonic VX2457 MHD 75Hz FreeSync 1920x1080p
Case SilverStone Raven RV02B-W + 3x SS AP181 + USB3.0 upgrade
Audio Device(s) Creative SB X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro PCIe + Pioneer VSX-531 amp Technics 100W Speaker set
Power Supply SilverStone ST75F-P Modular 750W 80+ Silver
Mouse Logitech G502 Proteus Core
Keyboard Logitech G105
Software Windows 10 X64 PRO (build 1809)
Benchmark Scores it sucks even less much now ;)
I would rather the OS control it fully rather than having to rely on whether a game will work with it or not
 
Joined
Apr 18, 2015
Messages
208 (0.14/day)
I don't see why would someone do such a mix of cards of approximately the same power for AFR alone, it will be for sure better to go with the same brand that is present already in the system.

I'm more interested to see asymmetric processing than alternative frame, and obviously it has to be cross vendor. In this way if you upgrade for let's say 30% more performance, you can still use the old card to process maybe 40% of the objects and the new one to process the rest of them and compose the final image.

This would be a much better alternative than just selling the old card for pennies.

And they showed this capability of DX12 as well, with an APU processing some objects and an add in card processing the rest of the image.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jul 9, 2015
Messages
1,656 (1.17/day)
System Name My all round PC
Processor i5 750
Motherboard ASUS P7P55D-E
Memory 8GB
Video Card(s) Sapphire 380 OC... sold, waiting for Navi
Storage 256GB Samsung SSD + 2Tb + 1.5Tb
Display(s) Samsung 40" A650 TV
Case Thermaltake Chaser mk-I Tower
Power Supply 425w Enermax MODU 82+
Software Windows 10
I wonder, could I use a AMD GPU, with a Nvidia GPU, but leverage Gsync from the Nvidia in order to connect to the monitr, and still leverage DX12 mutli gpu to do this?
If nVidia's GPU is the master, I don't see the problem.
 
Joined
Apr 16, 2015
Messages
304 (0.20/day)
System Name 2016
Processor intel i7-6700K
Motherboard ASUS Maximus VIII Impact
Cooling Noctua NH-D14
Memory G.Skill Ripjaws V DDR4 2x16GB 3200MHz
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX 1070 mini (3rd from RMA; 2 burned)
Storage Samsung EVO 850 + 24TB NAS
Display(s) AOC 31.5" ips freesync; Oculus Rift CV1
Case Raijintek Metis Classic Black
Power Supply Silverstone SX500-LG (with Scythe fan!!)
Mouse Aula Killing The Soul
Keyboard Logitech K290
Software Windows 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores upgrade: www.3dmark.com/compare/fs/9798108/fs/5598299 www.3dmark.com/compare/spy/285676/spy/64550
Now the question remains:
Can one use NVidia GPU accelerated hairworks + physx and AMD FreeSync in such a setup at the same time?
 
Top