• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

DirectX 12 Mixed Multi-GPU: It Works, For Now

FordGT90Concept

"I go fast!1!11!1!"
Joined
Oct 13, 2008
Messages
25,418 (6.32/day)
Location
IA, USA
System Name BY-2015
Processor Intel Core i7-6700K (4 x 4.00 GHz) w/ HT and Turbo on
Motherboard MSI Z170A GAMING M7
Cooling Scythe Kotetsu
Memory 2 x Kingston HyperX DDR4-2133 8 GiB
Video Card(s) Sapphire NITRO+ RX 590 Special Edition 8 GiB DVI + HDMI
Storage Crucial MX300 275 GB, Seagate Exos X12 TB 7200 RPM
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster T240 24" LCD (1920x1200 HDMI) + Samsung SyncMaster 906BW 19" LCD (1440x900 DVI)
Case Coolermaster HAF 932 w/ USB 3.0 5.25" bay
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC1150, Micca OriGen+
Power Supply Enermax Platimax 850w
Mouse SteelSeries Sensei RAW
Keyboard Tesoro Excalibur
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
Benchmark Scores Faster than the tortoise; slower than the hare.
I think PhsyX hardware acceleration is disabled in the presence of an AMD card. I suspect NVIDIA did the same to HairWorks. FreeSync would require the AMD to be primary. It might work because the primary card has to always transmit the completed frames to the monitor in a language it understands.
 
Joined
Apr 16, 2015
Messages
304 (0.18/day)
System Name 2016
Processor intel i7-6700K
Motherboard ASUS Maximus VIII Impact
Cooling Noctua NH-D14
Memory G.Skill Ripjaws V DDR4 2x16GB 3200MHz
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX 1070 mini (3rd from RMA; 2 burned)
Storage Samsung EVO 850 + 24TB NAS
Display(s) AOC 31.5" ips freesync; Oculus Rift CV1
Case Raijintek Metis Classic Black
Power Supply Silverstone SX500-LG (with Scythe fan!!)
Mouse Aula Killing The Soul
Keyboard Logitech K290
Software Windows 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores upgrade: www.3dmark.com/compare/fs/9798108/fs/5598299 www.3dmark.com/compare/spy/285676/spy/64550
I think PhsyX hardware acceleration is disabled in the presence of an AMD card. I suspect NVIDIA did the same to HairWorks. FreeSync would require the AMD to be primary. It might work because the primary card has to always transmit the completed frames to the monitor in a language it understands.
One would assume that PhysX is enabled in the presence of NVIDIA card, not disabled when AMD is also detected... same thing with hairworks.
 

hariszhr

New Member
Joined
Dec 14, 2015
Messages
2 (0.00/day)
This is the best games news since DX9 now you can put your old cards to use, excellent Microsoft and now that windows 10 is free no one can complain that DX12 is only for windows 10 only.
Depends on how old your GPUs are. If they dont support DX12, they are still pretty much useless.
 
Joined
Jun 26, 2008
Messages
2,384 (0.58/day)
Location
EDM, AB, CAN
Processor AMD Ryzen 5 2600
Motherboard MSI B450 Gaming Plus
Memory GSkill 8GB Dual Channel DDR4-2800
Video Card(s) MSI GamingX RX580 4GB
Storage Kingston V300 240GB SSD + WD Green 2TB
Display(s) ACER K212HL 27" + Haier 55" + Lenovo Explorer Mixed Reality Headset
Case Enermax Ostrog (Red)
Power Supply EVGA SuperNOVA B2 750W
Software Win10 64bit
So a bridge is no longer needed?
 

hariszhr

New Member
Joined
Dec 14, 2015
Messages
2 (0.00/day)
So a bridge is no longer needed?
if u use the bridge u will be using amd drivers for dual Gpu performance. If u dont use bridge then u would be using dx12 to use dual gpu. I would say, stick with the bridge for now. I dunno how many games benefit from dx12 multi gpu feature.
 
Joined
Apr 30, 2012
Messages
3,405 (1.25/day)
So a bridge is no longer needed?
if u use the bridge u will be using amd drivers for dual Gpu performance. If u dont use bridge then u would be using dx12 to use dual gpu. I would say, stick with the bridge for now. I dunno how many games benefit from dx12 multi gpu feature.
I believe he is referring to Nvidia cards. When paired with a AMD GPU since most AMD cards don't have bridge fingers now.

DX12 dual-GPU is software based through App/Game that's why your able to pair a Nvidia which needs a bridge to a AMD which doesn't use bridges together.
 
Top