• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Disable GeForce GTX 580 Power Throttling using GPU-Z

qubit

Overclocked quantum bit
Joined
Dec 6, 2007
Messages
14,546 (3.98/day)
Likes
8,052
Location
Quantum Well UK
System Name Quantumville™
Processor Intel Core i7-2700K at stock (hits 5 gees+ easily)
Motherboard Asus P8Z68-V PRO/GEN3
Cooling Noctua NH-D14
Memory 16GB (4 x 4GB Corsair Vengeance DDR3 PC3-12800 C9 1600MHz)
Video Card(s) Zotac GTX 1080 AMP! Extreme Edition
Storage Samsung 850 Pro 256GB | WD Green 4TB
Display(s) BenQ XL2720Z | Asus VG278HE (both 27", 144Hz, 3D Vision 2, 1080p)
Case Cooler Master HAF 922
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Fatal1ty PCIe
Power Supply Corsair HX 850W v1
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
^ you're correct on the wattages.


putting what i said in simpler terms:

drawing more than 75W from the slot wont magically turn the slot off, or anything else like that... if the card has no internal mechanism to deal with the power draw, the wiring feeding the slot will just start to overheat, and bad things can happen.
You know, it's really beginning to look like we need an uprated power spec for ATX & PCI-E power delivery. I'm sure we're hitting the same brick wall that CPUs did a few years ago, which is why these latest gen cards are getting held back in the performance they deliver and are not really massively faster than the ones that they replace. I'll bet the new Cayman GPU will have a lot of the same power and heat issues as nvidia's Fermi GPU.

I'm sure that if a 600W power budget (with appropriate cooling) was available, some excellent performance gains could be achieved, like double or more performance and extra rendering features.
 

W1zzard

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
May 14, 2004
Messages
17,026 (3.43/day)
Likes
17,894
Processor Core i7-4790K
Memory 16 GB
Video Card(s) GTX 1080
Display(s) 30" 2560x1600 + 19" 1280x1024
Software Windows 7
on most decent motherboards you can draw well over 100 w from the slot alone without bad things happening - because motherboard designers specifically design for that.

if you buy a $30 motherboard then the boss of those guys told them to save 5 cents to meet their price target -> possible damage when drawing too much current for a long time
 

Wile E

Power User
Joined
Oct 1, 2006
Messages
24,318 (5.95/day)
Likes
3,682
System Name The ClusterF**k
Processor 980X @ 4Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-EX58-UD5 BIOS F12
Cooling MCR-320, DDC-1 pump w/Bitspower res top (1/2" fittings), Koolance CPU-360
Memory 3x2GB Mushkin Redlines 1600Mhz 6-8-6-24 1T
Video Card(s) Evga GTX 580
Storage Corsair Neutron GTX 240GB, 2xSeagate 320GB RAID0; 2xSeagate 3TB; 2xSamsung 2TB; Samsung 1.5TB
Display(s) HP LP2475w 24" 1920x1200 IPS
Case Technofront Bench Station
Audio Device(s) Auzentech X-Fi Forte into Onkyo SR606 and Polk TSi200's + RM6750
Power Supply ENERMAX Galaxy EVO EGX1250EWT 1250W
Software Win7 Ultimate N x64, OSX 10.8.4
on most decent motherboards you can draw well over 100 w from the slot alone without bad things happening - because motherboard designers specifically design for that.

if you buy a $30 motherboard then the boss of those guys told them to save 5 cents to meet their price target -> possible damage when drawing too much current for a long time
My old crappy ECS KA3-MVP allowed me to manually set the wattage limit to over 100w, let alone a quality board.

So, basically, you are saying the limiter is basically to prevent crappy boards from burning out, not for the benefit of the card itself? (Which is pretty much what I suspected from the beginning)
 
Joined
Oct 9, 2009
Messages
675 (0.23/day)
Likes
656
Location
Finland
System Name :P~
Processor Intel Core i7-5930K (ES)
Motherboard Asus Rampage V Extreme/3.1
Cooling Phanteks PH-TC14PE
Memory 32GB Corsair Vengeance LPX 2400 MHz
Video Card(s) Asus GTX 1080 Strix
Storage 400GB Intel 750 PCI-E SSD, 512GB Crucial MX100 SSD, 3TB WD RED HDD
Display(s) QNIX QX2710LED OC @ 96 Hz 27"
Case Corsair Obsidian 750D
Audio Device(s) Audioquest Dragon Red + Sennheiser HD 650
Power Supply Corsair HX1000i + Cablemod sleeved cables kit
Mouse Logitech G500s
Keyboard Logitech Ultra X Flat Premium
Software Windows 10 64-bit
Nothing new with cards detecting furmark and throttling. ATi has done it ever since 2008. I can't believe how big a fuss out of nothing this has become.
 

W1zzard

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
May 14, 2004
Messages
17,026 (3.43/day)
Likes
17,894
Processor Core i7-4790K
Memory 16 GB
Video Card(s) GTX 1080
Display(s) 30" 2560x1600 + 19" 1280x1024
Software Windows 7
the limiter is basically to prevent crappy boards from burning out, not for the benefit of the card itself?
it's for both

ATi has done it ever since 2008
any idea where the system is described? i dont see any evidence of it when doing my power consumption testing. maybe you mean vrm overheat protection which reduces clocks on overheat?
 
Joined
Oct 9, 2009
Messages
675 (0.23/day)
Likes
656
Location
Finland
System Name :P~
Processor Intel Core i7-5930K (ES)
Motherboard Asus Rampage V Extreme/3.1
Cooling Phanteks PH-TC14PE
Memory 32GB Corsair Vengeance LPX 2400 MHz
Video Card(s) Asus GTX 1080 Strix
Storage 400GB Intel 750 PCI-E SSD, 512GB Crucial MX100 SSD, 3TB WD RED HDD
Display(s) QNIX QX2710LED OC @ 96 Hz 27"
Case Corsair Obsidian 750D
Audio Device(s) Audioquest Dragon Red + Sennheiser HD 650
Power Supply Corsair HX1000i + Cablemod sleeved cables kit
Mouse Logitech G500s
Keyboard Logitech Ultra X Flat Premium
Software Windows 10 64-bit
any idea where the system is described? i dont see any evidence of it when doing my power consumption testing. maybe you mean vrm overheat protection which reduces clocks on overheat?
Yes they changed the method, HD4 detected exe and HD5 have hardware protections. End result is same.

http://www.anandtech.com/show/2841/11

T
 

OneMoar

There is Always Moar
Joined
Apr 9, 2010
Messages
7,338 (2.62/day)
Likes
3,950
Location
Rochester area
System Name Kreij Lives On
Processor Intel Core i5 4670K @ 4.4Ghz 1.32V
Motherboard ASUS Maximus VI Gene Z87
Cooling Reeven Okeanos Single 140MM Fan +2 SP120 White's
Memory 16GB kingston hyper x @ 2133 @ 11 11 11 32
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 1060 ACX Copper Single fan
Storage 240gb Cruical MX200SSD/WD Blue 1TB
Display(s) Samsung S24D300/HP2071D
Case Custom Full Aluminum By ST.o.CH <3
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply HX 750i
Mouse Roccat KONE
Keyboard Rocatt ISKU with ISKUFX keycaps
Software Windows 10 +startisback
!firehazard :shadedshu
350 watts @ 12v = 30 amps - the 75-100 that the pcie-buss can supply so you are right on the edge of what the wires from you're psu can handle ..
most wires are only rated for about 8-10 AMPS > then.melt
I put forth this question when does performance out weight the extra power usage and risk
 

Wile E

Power User
Joined
Oct 1, 2006
Messages
24,318 (5.95/day)
Likes
3,682
System Name The ClusterF**k
Processor 980X @ 4Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-EX58-UD5 BIOS F12
Cooling MCR-320, DDC-1 pump w/Bitspower res top (1/2" fittings), Koolance CPU-360
Memory 3x2GB Mushkin Redlines 1600Mhz 6-8-6-24 1T
Video Card(s) Evga GTX 580
Storage Corsair Neutron GTX 240GB, 2xSeagate 320GB RAID0; 2xSeagate 3TB; 2xSamsung 2TB; Samsung 1.5TB
Display(s) HP LP2475w 24" 1920x1200 IPS
Case Technofront Bench Station
Audio Device(s) Auzentech X-Fi Forte into Onkyo SR606 and Polk TSi200's + RM6750
Power Supply ENERMAX Galaxy EVO EGX1250EWT 1250W
Software Win7 Ultimate N x64, OSX 10.8.4
!firehazard :shadedshu
300 watts @ 12v = 30 amps
wires are only rated for about 20 > then.melt
I put forth this question when does performance out weight the extra power usage and ris
Not all wires melt at 20A. Higher gauge/thicker wire = more amps, and not only that, but that load is spread across multiple wires.

A quality board and quality psu has no problems handling these kinds of loads.
 

OneMoar

There is Always Moar
Joined
Apr 9, 2010
Messages
7,338 (2.62/day)
Likes
3,950
Location
Rochester area
System Name Kreij Lives On
Processor Intel Core i5 4670K @ 4.4Ghz 1.32V
Motherboard ASUS Maximus VI Gene Z87
Cooling Reeven Okeanos Single 140MM Fan +2 SP120 White's
Memory 16GB kingston hyper x @ 2133 @ 11 11 11 32
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 1060 ACX Copper Single fan
Storage 240gb Cruical MX200SSD/WD Blue 1TB
Display(s) Samsung S24D300/HP2071D
Case Custom Full Aluminum By ST.o.CH <3
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply HX 750i
Mouse Roccat KONE
Keyboard Rocatt ISKU with ISKUFX keycaps
Software Windows 10 +startisback
Not all wires melt at 20A. Higher gauge/thicker wire = more amps, and not only that, but that load is spread across multiple wires.

A quality board and quality psu has no problems handling these kinds of loads.
I know that but consider when you start adding the rest of the power hungry components
bad things will happen
unless you can find a psu with 15g wiring most are 20-18
 

Wile E

Power User
Joined
Oct 1, 2006
Messages
24,318 (5.95/day)
Likes
3,682
System Name The ClusterF**k
Processor 980X @ 4Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-EX58-UD5 BIOS F12
Cooling MCR-320, DDC-1 pump w/Bitspower res top (1/2" fittings), Koolance CPU-360
Memory 3x2GB Mushkin Redlines 1600Mhz 6-8-6-24 1T
Video Card(s) Evga GTX 580
Storage Corsair Neutron GTX 240GB, 2xSeagate 320GB RAID0; 2xSeagate 3TB; 2xSamsung 2TB; Samsung 1.5TB
Display(s) HP LP2475w 24" 1920x1200 IPS
Case Technofront Bench Station
Audio Device(s) Auzentech X-Fi Forte into Onkyo SR606 and Polk TSi200's + RM6750
Power Supply ENERMAX Galaxy EVO EGX1250EWT 1250W
Software Win7 Ultimate N x64, OSX 10.8.4
I know that but consider when you start adding the rest of the power hungry components
bad things will happen
unless you can find a psu with 15g wiring most are 20-18
It's still not a problem with a high qulaity psu. If you can afford a 580, you can afford the high quality psu to go with it. I'll put 30A from a video card thru my psu all day, and never have to worry about it.
 

bakalu

New Member
Joined
Oct 12, 2005
Messages
32 (0.01/day)
Likes
31
OK, if you don't care about the topic of this thread then please don't post in this thread. This isn't a sneer remark or anything but just a way to get this thing back on topic.

Thanks,
@ bakalu: Any chance you could rename the EXE Furmark to whatever you like and run it again with your 580? If @ anytime you see the temp rising too much, please interrupt the program but do post a screenie after.
My ASUS GeForce GTX 580 @ 880MHz/1050. This overclock was 100% stable on games and 3DMark Vantage

vCore=1.138V, stock fan, FAN set 85%, Room Temp=25oC. I rename Furmark to nemesis and run over 40'. Here is my result:


Maximum Temp 70oC

What more you can say :D
 

Attachments

W1zzard

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
May 14, 2004
Messages
17,026 (3.43/day)
Likes
17,894
Processor Core i7-4790K
Memory 16 GB
Video Card(s) GTX 1080
Display(s) 30" 2560x1600 + 19" 1280x1024
Software Windows 7
renaming furmark will not make any difference for nvidia's detection system
 

Splave

New Member
Joined
Oct 2, 2009
Messages
136 (0.05/day)
Likes
44
Location
New York
alot of crying in this thread? if you are a gamer/normal user this doesnt even apply to you. To a bencher innovation like this is invaluable. thanks w1zzard :D
 
Joined
May 12, 2006
Messages
11,069 (2.62/day)
Likes
1,142
System Name Ball Smacker
Processor Intel I7 3770K 4.3ghz 1.15v 24/7 (9) fans and totally silent ahhh!!!
Motherboard Asus Sabertooth P67 1155 TUF Motherboard with Armor Assist Fan
Cooling Pro Meg 79CF 120mm x2 fans, 200mm front intake fan, 200 mm top fan, 120mm rear fan, 140 mm PSU fan
Memory Adata DDR3 1600 case 9 1.5v Overclocked to DDR3 2400+ Case 11 1.65v
Video Card(s) PowerColors Radeon RX 470 Red Devil Core 1390 Memory 7000 (Overclocked Additon) 4gb
Storage Samsung SSD 750 EVO 500GB /2 x 64Gb Western Digital Black Drives 1TB each 10,000 rpm
Display(s) LG Ultra Wide 21.9 2560 x 1080 2k 29 inch Monitor similar to retina display
Case Corsair Obsidian Series 650D Black Brushed Aluminum and steel case
Audio Device(s) Sound Blaster Live 24 bit 7.1
Power Supply Corsair 600 watt
Mouse Logitech M315
Keyboard Microsoft Contour
Software Windows 10 Ultimate 64
thx wizzard great addition.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Aug 6, 2014
Messages
1 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
System Name encor3g4ming
Processor i5 3570K @4,5Ghz
Motherboard Asus P8Z68-V PRO
Cooling Antec Kûhler 620 /w Blade Master PWM PnP
Memory Corsair Vengeance 8Gb @ 1600Mhz
Video Card(s) MSI n580GTX Lightning @ 957|1914|2100
Storage OCZ Vertex 3 Max IOPS 128Gb | Samsung Evo 840 250GB | WD VelociRaptor 10k rpm 150Gb |
Display(s) LG Flatron W2261V
Case Fractal Design ARC Midi
Power Supply Corsair HX850W
How do I use the command lines in GPU-Z? Haven't really used the program more than just monetoring the GPU so I would really appreciate an explanation on how to disable the throttling on my 580GTX...
Thanks in advance!

//encor3