• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

[expert][tip] Using a RAMdisk to speed up your HDD - and/or reduce SSD trashing

Joined
May 19, 2007
Messages
7,662 (1.99/day)
Likes
536
Location
c:\programs\kitteh.exe
Processor C2Q6600 @ 1.6 GHz
Motherboard Anus PQ5
Cooling ACFPro
Memory GEiL2 x 1 GB PC2 6400
Video Card(s) MSi 4830 (RIP)
Storage Seagate Barracuda 7200.10 320 GB Perpendicular Recording
Display(s) Dell 17'
Case El Cheepo
Audio Device(s) 7.1 Onboard
Power Supply Corsair TX750
Software MCE2K5

Solaris17

Creator Solaris Utility DVD
Joined
Aug 16, 2005
Messages
19,261 (4.28/day)
Likes
6,070
Location
Florida
System Name Not named yet
Processor I5 7640x 5Ghz 24/7
Motherboard MSI x299 Tomahawk Arctic
Cooling Corsair H55
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR4 3000mhz
Video Card(s) Gigabyte 1080TI
Storage 2x Seagate 3TB Drives (RAID 0) 1x Seagate 256GB SSD 1x Adata 120GB SSD
Display(s) 3x AOC Q2577PWQ
Case Inwin 303 White (Thermaltake Ring 120mm Purple accent)
Audio Device(s) Onboard on Audio-Technica ATH-AG1
Power Supply Seasonic 1050W Snow
Mouse Roccat Tyon White
Keyboard Ducky Shine 6
Software Windows 10 x64 Pro
was doing some system mantinence today and gave this a go made a 1gb ramdisk and made it my pagefile

 
Joined
Jan 21, 2009
Messages
734 (0.23/day)
Likes
121
Location
Golden, Colorado
System Name KAREN / EVA / GHOST
Processor Intel Core i7-950 / AMD Phenom II X4 940 BE / Core i5 3570k
Motherboard ASUS TUF Sabertooth X58 / DFI LP DK 790FXB-M2RSH / Asrock z77e-itx
Cooling Thermaltake Frio / Corsair Cooling™ Hydro Series H50 / Corsair Hydro Series H60
Memory Corsair Dominator 6GB DDR3 1600 / Corsair Dominator Quad2X4096-8500C5DF / G.SKILL Ripjaws Serie 1600
Video Card(s) XFX HD6950 CF unlocked /XFX HD5770 CF/ MSI R4890 Cyclone
Storage OCZ Vertex 2 60 WD Raptor X WD1500AHFD / Seagate Barracuda /Western Digital 80gb, Toshiba 1TB
Display(s) 2 Acer P215H 21.5 Widescreen / Acer S211HL 21.5 / HP 2009F 20inch
Case SILVERSTONE RAVEN RV02-BW / NZXT Phantom /Bitfenix Prodigy
Audio Device(s) On board / Philips MMS 321 - PC multimedia speakers
Power Supply Ultra X3 ULT40311 1000W / Cosair CMPSU-750TX 750W/ CORSAIR Gaming Series GS700 700W
Software Windows 7 64 bit / Windows 7 64 bit / Windows 7 64 bit


I finally gave this a try I am pleased with the results :D
 
Last edited:

Ainvar

New Member
Joined
Feb 1, 2010
Messages
7 (0.00/day)
Likes
1
System Name Alienware M17x R2
Processor 1.6GHz (2.8 GHz Turbo Mode, 6MB Cache)
Motherboard Dell/Alienware
Cooling 3 fan and laptop cooler
Memory 8gb ddr3 1333mhz
Video Card(s) Dual 1GB ATI Radeon Mobility HD 4870
Storage 1.2TB Raid 0 (2x 640GB 7,200RPM)
Display(s) 17-inch WideUXGA 1920 x 1200 RGB LED (1200p)
Case Laptop
Software Windows 7 64bit
Benchmark Scores Benmarks will be released on the 9th tuseday.
I do love the Ramdisk. Yes I cam from the Old dos days. Where you put the whole game on to the ram and play them.

I found a program that had a 2 week trail. I made a ramdisk of 4.5ghz and installed lotro flashboost. Then sent the files to the ramdisk. What I notice with my setup. The game ran smoother. I would like to be able to tweak flashboost not to install the Texture files but the Map files and speed up going from Point a to point b. Like this Youtube
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CJzXm_4j8E4
Lord of the rings ramdisk. Point a to Point B Normaly would gake 5 to 15 seconds unless the game is not defraged and it would take longer.
 

hat

Enthusiast
Joined
Nov 20, 2006
Messages
18,523 (4.59/day)
Likes
3,156
Location
Ohio
System Name Starlifter :: Dragonfly
Processor i5 2400 :: Athlon II x4 630
Motherboard MSI H67-G43-B3 :: GIgabyte GA-770T-USB3
Cooling Corsair H70 :: Thermaltake Big Typhoon
Memory 4x2GB DDR3 1333 :: 2x1GB DDR3 1333
Video Card(s) 2x PNY GTX1070 :: GT720
Storage Plextor M5s 128GB, WDC Black 500GB :: Mushkin Enhanced 60GB SSD, WD RE3 1TB
Display(s) Acer P216HL HDMI :: None
Case Antec SOHO 1030B :: Old White Full Tower
Audio Device(s) X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro - iLive IT153B Soundbar (optical) :: None
Power Supply Corsair CX600w :: Unknown
Software Windows 10 Pro - Plex Server on Dragonfly
Benchmark Scores >9000
Would it be worth it to buy a 2GB set of memory so I could make a 2GB ramdisk to use as my pagefile?
 

Ainvar

New Member
Joined
Feb 1, 2010
Messages
7 (0.00/day)
Likes
1
System Name Alienware M17x R2
Processor 1.6GHz (2.8 GHz Turbo Mode, 6MB Cache)
Motherboard Dell/Alienware
Cooling 3 fan and laptop cooler
Memory 8gb ddr3 1333mhz
Video Card(s) Dual 1GB ATI Radeon Mobility HD 4870
Storage 1.2TB Raid 0 (2x 640GB 7,200RPM)
Display(s) 17-inch WideUXGA 1920 x 1200 RGB LED (1200p)
Case Laptop
Software Windows 7 64bit
Benchmark Scores Benmarks will be released on the 9th tuseday.
I ask about that on scottmuller forums http://forum.scottmueller.com/viewtopic.php?f=3&t=1359

My Post

Ok I dont know why they have not found a way to do this on a 64bit OS with 8gb or more ram.

Software and Games (Mostly games) tend to have a limited use of 1 to 3gb of ram while running the software due to 32 bit OS limit. Now we been slowly entering the 64 bit age with systems with 6 to 8gb of ram. But software tend to stay in the 32 OS and 3gb limit. I been reading some people have tried disabling page file and Virtual ram Just so they use more ram for software. When I read this It sound right but if you keep reading the same thread and you find they have more issues. So people with large amout of ram dont disable pagefiles or Virtual ram.

Now I understand the games tend to use Pagefiles and Virtual ram as well as up to 3gb of ram. Like Lord of the Rings use it alot 13gb of sofware and best useing on a SSD drive. Now if system has large amout of ram why can we not have a option to use part of our Ram for pagefile and Virtual ram on the ram it self? Would it act faster then a SSD drive.

8gb of ram split into 4gb of ram and 4gb Pagefile and Virtual ram.

Could this be done?


Scott post

Unfortunately most of these questions are predicated on a misunderstanding of how Windows allocates and uses memory. In addition to reading my book Upgrading and Repairing Windows, I recommend you read the following articles, which will help explain how both physical and virtual memory is allocated and used under Windows:

http://blogs.technet.com/b/markrussinovich/archive/2008/07/21/3092070.aspx
http://blogs.technet.com/b/markrussinovich/archive/2008/11/17/3155406.aspx

Bottom line: In nearly all cases, I recommend making *no* manual adjustments in Windows memory use. Windows manages memory properly all by itself, most of the manual changes a user can make will only cause trouble. The only change I do recommend is in XP, where the default virtual memory paging file (pagefile.sys) is fixed at 1.5 times the amount of RAM on the system during *installation*. If you add or remove memory later on, the pagefile size will not automatically change accordingly. On the systems that I install and maintain, I set the Virtual Memory paging file (pagefile.sys) to "System managed size", which allows Windows to change the size dynamically as necessary. Note that is now the default setting in Windows 7/Vista. Scott.
 

WAR10CK

New Member
Joined
Feb 11, 2010
Messages
192 (0.07/day)
Likes
3
Location
USA
System Name Fuck ICE
Processor Phenom II X4 B55 @4ghz 1.4250V
Motherboard MSI 785GM-E51
Cooling Xigmatek HDT RS1283 Red Scorpion 120mm CPU Cooler
Memory A-DATA Gaming Series 4GB (2 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1600 (PC3 12800
Video Card(s) Sapphire 100283L Radeon HD 5770 (Juniper XT) 1GB
Storage WESTERN DIGITAL WD1001FALS Caviar Black 1TB 7200 RPM 32MB cache SATA 3.0Gb
Display(s) Acer P215H 21.5
Case Cooler Master HAF 922 Mid tower
Audio Device(s) onboard one
Power Supply BFG Tech GS-550 550W ATX12V V2.2
Software Windows XP SP3,Windows Vista Ultimate 32 Bits,Windows 7 Ultimate 64
Benchmark Scores Who cares It runs like a Monster
thanks man this information was really helpful
 
Joined
Feb 6, 2007
Messages
2,576 (0.65/day)
Likes
510
Processor Mysterious Engineering Prototype
Motherboard Intel 865
Cooling Custom block made in workshop
Memory Corsair XMS 2GB
Video Card(s) FireGL X3-256
Display(s) 1600x1200 SyncMaster x 2 = 3200x1200
Software Windows 2003
IE, firefox, and other browsers let you change the location of their cache files... perfect for moving to a ramdrive. However, Chrome doesnt have an option to do this. But I have just found a command line hack! :pimp:

For people wanting to move their Chrome cache folder to a ramdrive, here are the instructions (borrowed from a thread at http://www.google.co.uk/support/forum/p/Chrome/thread?tid=098d42a41aacdc6d&hl=en).

Instructions:
1./ Right click on your chrome shortcut
2./ Properties
3./ Edit Target, as follows: "C:\Documents and Settings\...\Local Settings\Application Data\Google\Chrome\Application\chrome.exe" --disk-cache-dir=z:\

Change the last part, z:\, to your ramdrive if not on Z:
 
Joined
Apr 7, 2009
Messages
332 (0.10/day)
Likes
14
Processor Intel® Core™ i5-2500K (4.6GHz @ 1.28-1.33v)
Motherboard ASRock Z68 Pro3 Gen3
Cooling Prolimatech Megahalems Rev.C + Blue Vortex 140mm
Memory Kingston HyperX Fury White (2x8GB, DDR3-1866, 10-11-10-30, 1.5v)
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 970 Gaming
Storage Crucial C300 128GB, WD Green 2TB
Display(s) BenQ XL2420T
Case Antec Twelve Hundred
Audio Device(s) Onboard Realtek audio
Power Supply Corsair HX 650W
Software Win7 Ultimate (64-bit)
Is anyone using RAMDisk effectively and with what programs? (apart for browser cache)

I use Opera and I have Disk Cache turned off and Memory Cache on so this is probably the same as having RAMDisk on?

I want to try it but I don't see any practical use for it.
 
Joined
Jun 16, 2009
Messages
5,123 (1.65/day)
Likes
989
Location
North of Germany
System Name Heatbitch / The Dark Tower / Custom Acer
Processor AMD Phenom 2 X4 960T @ 4200mhz 1,44v,3130NB /Q9550 3.4ghz 1.20v/ X2 260 1.42v @3.6
Motherboard Asus M4A89GTD PRO / Asus Rampage Formula/Foxconn A7DA-S 3.0
Cooling Heatkiller 3.0 LT,Laing DDC+,Octakaideca-Rad /EK SP,Tt 400L, B.Ice XT2/Xiggy Black Knight
Memory 4x2gb Transcend 2400 CL10 1.65v: 1600 7-8-7-24-40 1.65 /Dominator 1066 2GB/Ripjaws 2000 CL9 4GB
Video Card(s) 6970, soon to be WCed/ 4870x2 HK Full Cover WC´d / 2xGeforce 8800GT HyperSLI
Storage 128gb Vertex 3, 32GB Ultradrive GX2, 320GB+500GB+2x1TB F1 /160gb Maxtor,500gb F1/ 160GB WD
Display(s) LG Flatron 23" W2353V /Benq 19" FP93E-S/TFT 17"
Case Thermaltake Shark /Superflower SF-860B/Acer m-ATX Tower
Audio Device(s) Realtek Onboard Sound, on all of them
Power Supply Corsair TX850/ OCZ Modxstream-Pro 600W/ MS-Tech 750w
Software XP 32bit Professional+ Win7 64Bit Ultimate
Benchmark Scores 3DMark Vantage: P21385 3DM11: P5920
Joined
Dec 18, 2008
Messages
1,833 (0.56/day)
Likes
523
System Name Computer
Processor 1700X
Motherboard CH6
Cooling Custom Loop
Memory G.Skill 32GB
Video Card(s) GTX 1070
Storage 500GB Samsung 850 Evo Msata
Display(s) LG 23" IPS
Power Supply Seasonic 760 Platinum
Software Windows 8.1 64-Bit
My computer seems much snappier after redirecting all my Temp files to this, Thanks ALOT!
 
Joined
Dec 2, 2009
Messages
3,257 (1.11/day)
Likes
315
System Name Mercury KM-81
Processor Phenom II x4 B50
Motherboard ASUS M4A89GTD PRO
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper TX3
Memory 6GB Ram (4GBx1 Corsair 2GBx1 Nanya)
Video Card(s) PowerColor AX6770 V2.0
Storage 2TB WD Black, 1TB Hitachi, 500 GB WD Blue
Display(s) Philips 247E-LPH 24" 1920x1080
Case Mercury
Audio Device(s) Integrated Realtek
Power Supply Corsair 750TX
Software Windows 7 64-bit
Benchmark Scores Maybe it is time to benchmark :D
Wow!
The results are simply great :)
 
Joined
Feb 19, 2006
Messages
5,605 (1.30/day)
Likes
1,283
Location
New York
System Name http://www.heatware.com/eval.php?id=73751
Processor i7-920 CO@4.2GHZ / ASUS GL553VW 15.6" Gaming Laptop NVIDIA GTX 960M 4GB Intel Core i56300HQ 8GB DDR4
Motherboard Asus P6T Deluxe Intel X58
Cooling Asetek Liquid CPU Cooling System
Memory CORSAIR DOMINATOR 6GB (3 x 2GB) DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) 2X ATI Radeon HD 4870 X2 2GB DDR5 PCI-Express
Storage (RAID-0) with 4 Identical Hard Drives (1.28TB (320GBx4)
Display(s) LG 50" 50PK550 1080p 600Hz Plasma/37 Inch WestingHouse @1920x1080
Case Thermaltake M9 (I hate it its like trying to live in a 1 inch box)
Power Supply ThermalTake ToughPower 1200 Watt
Software Windows 7 professional 64
Just a thoughtful question here: Would having fraps store to a Ram Drive relieve the dropping of frames and the lagg it creates with in the game its self...I have always thought that the in-game slow downs were from not being able to transfer the data fast enough...We all know how huge a file fraps creates with in just seconds.. Help me with the the calling for enlightenment on this.
 

Solaris17

Creator Solaris Utility DVD
Joined
Aug 16, 2005
Messages
19,261 (4.28/day)
Likes
6,070
Location
Florida
System Name Not named yet
Processor I5 7640x 5Ghz 24/7
Motherboard MSI x299 Tomahawk Arctic
Cooling Corsair H55
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR4 3000mhz
Video Card(s) Gigabyte 1080TI
Storage 2x Seagate 3TB Drives (RAID 0) 1x Seagate 256GB SSD 1x Adata 120GB SSD
Display(s) 3x AOC Q2577PWQ
Case Inwin 303 White (Thermaltake Ring 120mm Purple accent)
Audio Device(s) Onboard on Audio-Technica ATH-AG1
Power Supply Seasonic 1050W Snow
Mouse Roccat Tyon White
Keyboard Ducky Shine 6
Software Windows 10 x64 Pro
any recognizable benefits? or does the system behaves much like before?:)
it is a little faster then before but the most recognizable thing is browsers or loading large programs like photoshop or 3dsmax. things that rely on the pagefile.
 
Joined
Jun 16, 2009
Messages
5,123 (1.65/day)
Likes
989
Location
North of Germany
System Name Heatbitch / The Dark Tower / Custom Acer
Processor AMD Phenom 2 X4 960T @ 4200mhz 1,44v,3130NB /Q9550 3.4ghz 1.20v/ X2 260 1.42v @3.6
Motherboard Asus M4A89GTD PRO / Asus Rampage Formula/Foxconn A7DA-S 3.0
Cooling Heatkiller 3.0 LT,Laing DDC+,Octakaideca-Rad /EK SP,Tt 400L, B.Ice XT2/Xiggy Black Knight
Memory 4x2gb Transcend 2400 CL10 1.65v: 1600 7-8-7-24-40 1.65 /Dominator 1066 2GB/Ripjaws 2000 CL9 4GB
Video Card(s) 6970, soon to be WCed/ 4870x2 HK Full Cover WC´d / 2xGeforce 8800GT HyperSLI
Storage 128gb Vertex 3, 32GB Ultradrive GX2, 320GB+500GB+2x1TB F1 /160gb Maxtor,500gb F1/ 160GB WD
Display(s) LG Flatron 23" W2353V /Benq 19" FP93E-S/TFT 17"
Case Thermaltake Shark /Superflower SF-860B/Acer m-ATX Tower
Audio Device(s) Realtek Onboard Sound, on all of them
Power Supply Corsair TX850/ OCZ Modxstream-Pro 600W/ MS-Tech 750w
Software XP 32bit Professional+ Win7 64Bit Ultimate
Benchmark Scores 3DMark Vantage: P21385 3DM11: P5920
it is a little faster then before but the most recognizable thing is browsers or loading large programs like photoshop or 3dsmax. things that rely on the pagefile.
sounds logical... what happens when you run out of pagefile?:)
 

OneMoar

There is Always Moar
Joined
Apr 9, 2010
Messages
7,338 (2.62/day)
Likes
3,950
Location
Rochester area
System Name Kreij Lives On
Processor Intel Core i5 4670K @ 4.4Ghz 1.32V
Motherboard ASUS Maximus VI Gene Z87
Cooling Reeven Okeanos Single 140MM Fan +2 SP120 White's
Memory 16GB kingston hyper x @ 2133 @ 11 11 11 32
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 1060 ACX Copper Single fan
Storage 240gb Cruical MX200SSD/WD Blue 1TB
Display(s) Samsung S24D300/HP2071D
Case Custom Full Aluminum By ST.o.CH <3
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply HX 750i
Mouse Roccat KONE
Keyboard Rocatt ISKU with ISKUFX keycaps
Software Windows 10 +startisback
deleted .. no idea why I said that ...
 
Last edited:

Solaris17

Creator Solaris Utility DVD
Joined
Aug 16, 2005
Messages
19,261 (4.28/day)
Likes
6,070
Location
Florida
System Name Not named yet
Processor I5 7640x 5Ghz 24/7
Motherboard MSI x299 Tomahawk Arctic
Cooling Corsair H55
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR4 3000mhz
Video Card(s) Gigabyte 1080TI
Storage 2x Seagate 3TB Drives (RAID 0) 1x Seagate 256GB SSD 1x Adata 120GB SSD
Display(s) 3x AOC Q2577PWQ
Case Inwin 303 White (Thermaltake Ring 120mm Purple accent)
Audio Device(s) Onboard on Audio-Technica ATH-AG1
Power Supply Seasonic 1050W Snow
Mouse Roccat Tyon White
Keyboard Ducky Shine 6
Software Windows 10 x64 Pro
Joined
May 4, 2009
Messages
1,940 (0.62/day)
Likes
409
Location
Singapore
System Name penguin
Processor i3-4160
Motherboard Asus H81 Mini-ITX
Cooling Stock
Memory 2x4GB Kingston 1600MHz
Video Card(s) Saphire Radeon 7850 2GB
Storage Plextor M5S 120GB+1TB Seagate
Display(s) 23' Dell
Case CM Elite 130
Audio Device(s) stock
Power Supply Corsair CX430m
Software W7/Lubuntu
Some people will say it's pointless to allocate RAM for use as page file, because after all it is supposed to be used only when you run out of ram, but there are some programs, which are specifically coded to use the page file prior to the ram running out (like autocad).
So in some limited cases, it does make sense to allocate some of the ram as page file.
 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
46,096 (9.57/day)
Likes
13,525
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Daddy Long Legs
Processor Ryzen R7 1700, 3.9GHz 1.375v
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming PRO carbon
Cooling Fractal Celsius S24 (Silent fans, meh pump)
Memory 16GB 2133 generic @ 2800
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS modded to Gaming Z - faster and solved black screen bugs!)
Storage 1TB Intel SSD Pro 6000p (60TB USB3 storage)
Display(s) Samsung 4K 40" HDTV (UA40KU6000WXXY) / 27" Qnix 2K 110Hz
Case Fractal Design R5. So much room, so quiet...
Audio Device(s) Pioneer VSX-519V + Yamaha YHT-270 / sennheiser HD595/518 + bob marley zion's
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G403 + KKmoon desk-sized mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB
would you care to explain your comment, in detail?

your answer is what will determine if you get an infraction or not.
 
Joined
Feb 6, 2007
Messages
2,576 (0.65/day)
Likes
510
Processor Mysterious Engineering Prototype
Motherboard Intel 865
Cooling Custom block made in workshop
Memory Corsair XMS 2GB
Video Card(s) FireGL X3-256
Display(s) 1600x1200 SyncMaster x 2 = 3200x1200
Software Windows 2003
Some people will say it's pointless to allocate RAM for use as page file, because after all it is supposed to be used only when you run out of ram, but there are some programs, which are specifically coded to use the page file prior to the ram running out (like autocad).
So in some limited cases, it does make sense to allocate some of the ram as page file.
Just to add to HAH's comment: moving a pagefile to RAM will also help save writes to your precious SSD. So IF your pagefile is being used, moving it to RAM will speed it up and save you writes. With modern workstations with 8GB and more memory, you might as well fix the pagefile to 1GB and stick it in a ramdrive.
Windows is supposed to have a good memory manager and you shouldnt need to play with it. However, may people DO fix their pagefile to a fixed size after a defrag to stop the pagefile from fragmenting. So YES there are reasons to "manage it yourself".
 

OneMoar

There is Always Moar
Joined
Apr 9, 2010
Messages
7,338 (2.62/day)
Likes
3,950
Location
Rochester area
System Name Kreij Lives On
Processor Intel Core i5 4670K @ 4.4Ghz 1.32V
Motherboard ASUS Maximus VI Gene Z87
Cooling Reeven Okeanos Single 140MM Fan +2 SP120 White's
Memory 16GB kingston hyper x @ 2133 @ 11 11 11 32
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 1060 ACX Copper Single fan
Storage 240gb Cruical MX200SSD/WD Blue 1TB
Display(s) Samsung S24D300/HP2071D
Case Custom Full Aluminum By ST.o.CH <3
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply HX 750i
Mouse Roccat KONE
Keyboard Rocatt ISKU with ISKUFX keycaps
Software Windows 10 +startisback
wow guss I was drunker then I thought I was
sorry about that ..
 
Joined
Apr 21, 2008
Messages
5,230 (1.49/day)
Likes
661
Location
IRAQ-Baghdad
System Name MASTER
Processor Core i7 3930k run at 4.4ghz
Motherboard Asus Rampage IV extreme
Cooling Corsair H100i
Memory 4x4G kingston hyperx beast 2400mhz
Video Card(s) 2X EVGA GTX680
Storage 2X Crusial M4 256g raid0, 1TbWD g, 2x500 WD B
Display(s) Samsung 27' 1080P LED 3D monitior 2ms
Case CoolerMaster Chosmos II
Audio Device(s) Creative sound blaster X-FI Titanum champion,Creative speakers 7.1 T7900
Power Supply Corsair 1200i, Logitch G500 Mouse, headset Corsair vengeance 1500
Software Win7 64bit Ultimate
Benchmark Scores 3d mark 2011: testing
im really impressed with this thread, you got my grateful thanx and 5 star rating
 
Joined
Aug 9, 2006
Messages
1,003 (0.24/day)
Likes
156
System Name [Primary Workstation]
Processor Intel Core i7-920 Bloomfield @ 3.8GHz/4.55GHz [24-7/Bench]
Motherboard EVGA X58 E758-A1 [Tweaked right!]
Cooling Cooler Master V8 [stock fan + two 133CFM ULTRA KAZE fans]
Memory 12GB [Kingston HyperX]
Video Card(s) constantly upgrading/downgrading [prefer nVidia]
Storage constantly upgrading/downgrading [prefer Hitachi/Samsung]
Display(s) Triple LCD [40 inch primary + 32 & 28 inch auxiliary displays]
Case Cooler Master Cosmos 1000 [Mesh Mod, CFM Overload]
Audio Device(s) ASUS Xonar D1 + onboard Realtek ALC889A [Logitech Z-5300 Spk., Niko 650-HP 5.1 Hp., X-Bass Hp.]
Power Supply Corsair TX950W [aka Reactor]
Software This and that... [All software 100% legit and paid for, 0% pirated]
Benchmark Scores Ridiculously good scores!!!
Great thread. I got 24GB of RAM on the way. Going to make some "tweaks" to my primary workstation. I'm having some great results using Dataram's RAMdisk application. Throughput rates are simply ridiculous. I'm getting around 25 to 30 times faster overall performance compared to stuff you can find in retail, SSD-wise.

RAMdisk setups seem pretty rare. Anyone got info to share on best ways to utilize such setups aside from obvious ways? I plan to run a tweaked and modified version of Windows straight off of it. With some symlink trickery I should be able to utilize such a small amount to a farthest degree.

...
..
.
 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
46,096 (9.57/day)
Likes
13,525
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Daddy Long Legs
Processor Ryzen R7 1700, 3.9GHz 1.375v
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming PRO carbon
Cooling Fractal Celsius S24 (Silent fans, meh pump)
Memory 16GB 2133 generic @ 2800
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS modded to Gaming Z - faster and solved black screen bugs!)
Storage 1TB Intel SSD Pro 6000p (60TB USB3 storage)
Display(s) Samsung 4K 40" HDTV (UA40KU6000WXXY) / 27" Qnix 2K 110Hz
Case Fractal Design R5. So much room, so quiet...
Audio Device(s) Pioneer VSX-519V + Yamaha YHT-270 / sennheiser HD595/518 + bob marley zion's
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G403 + KKmoon desk-sized mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB
Great thread. I got 24GB of RAM on the way. Going to make some "tweaks" to my primary workstation. I'm having some great results using Dataram's RAMdisk application. Throughput rates are simply ridiculous. I'm getting around 25 to 30 times faster overall performance compared to stuff you can find in retail, SSD-wise.

RAMdisk setups seem pretty rare. Anyone got info to share on best ways to utilize such setups aside from obvious ways? I plan to run a tweaked and modified version of Windows straight off of it. With some symlink trickery I should be able to utilize such a small amount to a farthest degree.

...
..
.
i'd like to know how you go with the symbolic links and what trickery you have in mind