• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

*** F@H Tech Assistance Thread ***

Joined
Mar 10, 2010
Messages
11,023 (2.34/day)
Location
Manchester uk
System Name RyzenGtEvo/ Asus strix scar II/Trig
Processor Amd R5 5600G/ Intel 8750H/3800X
Motherboard Crosshair hero8 impact/Asus/crosshair hero 7
Cooling 360EK extreme rad+ 360$EK slim all push, cpu ek suprim Gpu full cover all EK
Memory Corsair Vengeance Rgb pro 3600cas14 16Gb in four sticks./16Gb/16GB
Video Card(s) Sapphire refference Rx vega 64 EK waterblocked/Rtx 2060/GTX 1060
Storage Silicon power 1TB nvme/8Tb external/1Tb samsung Evo nvme 2Tb sata ssd/1Tb nvme
Display(s) Samsung UAE28"850R 4k freesync.dellshiter
Case Lianli p0-11 dynamic/strix scar2/aero cool shiter
Audio Device(s) Xfi creative 7.1 on board ,Yamaha dts av setup, corsair void pro headset
Power Supply corsair 1200Hxi/Asus stock /850 watt ?
Mouse Roccat Kova/ Logitech G wireless
Keyboard Roccat Aimo 120
VR HMD Oculus rift
Software Win 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores 8726 vega 3dmark timespy/ laptop Timespy 6506

I think the system is just overwhelmed to a degree it's now at 2.4exaflops potential beating all top 500 supercomputers combined!, Quite the feat , someone on their end said they're recieving 6TB of results a day and they're having to clear space for WU delivery.

Been a while since I messed with flags anyone know a guide for that advanced flag.
 
Joined
Oct 21, 2007
Messages
1,486 (0.27/day)
Location
Ozark, Alabama
System Name Mine, spare gamer, comp,
Processor 5800x, 5800x. 3600,
Motherboard Gigabyte X570 Elite wifi, Gigabyte B550m wifi, Asus x570 Gaming wifi
Cooling Ventoo V5, Coolermaster 240 mm AIO, Ventoo V5
Memory 32 GB 3600 ddr4, 32 GB 3600 ddr4, 16 GB 3200 ddr4
Video Card(s) 6800 XT reference, XFX 5700XT Thicc III, EVGA RTX 2080,
Storage Samsung 500 GB 980, Intel M.2 500 GB, Intel M.2 500 gb
Display(s) TCL 43 inch 4k, 27 inch 1440 Shimian, 27 Inch Dell 1920x1080,
Case 2-Antec 280, Matrexx 50
Audio Device(s) Bluetooth output to Sony STR-DH190 into Sony SS-CS5 speakers, same, onboard, same
Power Supply Thermaltake 1350 , Seasonic 650 Watt Platinum, Deepcool 750 Watt Gold
Mouse Corsair, Sentinel Advance, Zio Levetron, CMStorm, Transformer
Keyboard G15, , CMStorm, G15
Software Win 10, POP OS
Go to configure on the advanced control window of F@H and click on expert tab. Click the add button lower left bottom. In the window that pops up put Client-Type in the first slot the put in advanced in the bottom slot. The same is for beta just switch advanced for beta. Click save on the bottom and you are done.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Mar 10, 2010
Messages
11,023 (2.34/day)
Location
Manchester uk
System Name RyzenGtEvo/ Asus strix scar II/Trig
Processor Amd R5 5600G/ Intel 8750H/3800X
Motherboard Crosshair hero8 impact/Asus/crosshair hero 7
Cooling 360EK extreme rad+ 360$EK slim all push, cpu ek suprim Gpu full cover all EK
Memory Corsair Vengeance Rgb pro 3600cas14 16Gb in four sticks./16Gb/16GB
Video Card(s) Sapphire refference Rx vega 64 EK waterblocked/Rtx 2060/GTX 1060
Storage Silicon power 1TB nvme/8Tb external/1Tb samsung Evo nvme 2Tb sata ssd/1Tb nvme
Display(s) Samsung UAE28"850R 4k freesync.dellshiter
Case Lianli p0-11 dynamic/strix scar2/aero cool shiter
Audio Device(s) Xfi creative 7.1 on board ,Yamaha dts av setup, corsair void pro headset
Power Supply corsair 1200Hxi/Asus stock /850 watt ?
Mouse Roccat Kova/ Logitech G wireless
Keyboard Roccat Aimo 120
VR HMD Oculus rift
Software Win 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores 8726 vega 3dmark timespy/ laptop Timespy 6506
Go to configure on the advanced control window of F@H and click on expert tab. Click the add button lower left bottom. In the window that pops up put Client-Type in the first slot the put in advanced in the bottom slot. The same is for beta just switch advanced for beta. Click save on the bottom and you are done.
Thanks for that, same as it was then, secondary question, to everyone not just you.
Has anyone got and used two network connections.
I have mobile broadband based 4G home network using a gdamn Huawei home hub, a necessary evil due to where I live, with this communication channel I get no jobs, it's on three (3) as a network provider.
If I use my mobile as a hotspot I get jobs straight away and continuously, or definitely more so.
I have reset the house router but no joy, no ports or anything opened or changes besides admin password was changed.
Anyone have a clue why or similar, been like this for a month in total I have been trying stuff but I'm out of ideas.

The flags have possibly helped, man got work to do yay, , I'll just continue monitoring the situation for a bit
 
Last edited:
Joined
Oct 21, 2007
Messages
1,486 (0.27/day)
Location
Ozark, Alabama
System Name Mine, spare gamer, comp,
Processor 5800x, 5800x. 3600,
Motherboard Gigabyte X570 Elite wifi, Gigabyte B550m wifi, Asus x570 Gaming wifi
Cooling Ventoo V5, Coolermaster 240 mm AIO, Ventoo V5
Memory 32 GB 3600 ddr4, 32 GB 3600 ddr4, 16 GB 3200 ddr4
Video Card(s) 6800 XT reference, XFX 5700XT Thicc III, EVGA RTX 2080,
Storage Samsung 500 GB 980, Intel M.2 500 GB, Intel M.2 500 gb
Display(s) TCL 43 inch 4k, 27 inch 1440 Shimian, 27 Inch Dell 1920x1080,
Case 2-Antec 280, Matrexx 50
Audio Device(s) Bluetooth output to Sony STR-DH190 into Sony SS-CS5 speakers, same, onboard, same
Power Supply Thermaltake 1350 , Seasonic 650 Watt Platinum, Deepcool 750 Watt Gold
Mouse Corsair, Sentinel Advance, Zio Levetron, CMStorm, Transformer
Keyboard G15, , CMStorm, G15
Software Win 10, POP OS
Update. Both machines sent completed WU in but can get no more work. I changed flags and deleted flags, No change. Oh well was fun while it lasted.
 
Joined
Mar 10, 2010
Messages
11,023 (2.34/day)
Location
Manchester uk
System Name RyzenGtEvo/ Asus strix scar II/Trig
Processor Amd R5 5600G/ Intel 8750H/3800X
Motherboard Crosshair hero8 impact/Asus/crosshair hero 7
Cooling 360EK extreme rad+ 360$EK slim all push, cpu ek suprim Gpu full cover all EK
Memory Corsair Vengeance Rgb pro 3600cas14 16Gb in four sticks./16Gb/16GB
Video Card(s) Sapphire refference Rx vega 64 EK waterblocked/Rtx 2060/GTX 1060
Storage Silicon power 1TB nvme/8Tb external/1Tb samsung Evo nvme 2Tb sata ssd/1Tb nvme
Display(s) Samsung UAE28"850R 4k freesync.dellshiter
Case Lianli p0-11 dynamic/strix scar2/aero cool shiter
Audio Device(s) Xfi creative 7.1 on board ,Yamaha dts av setup, corsair void pro headset
Power Supply corsair 1200Hxi/Asus stock /850 watt ?
Mouse Roccat Kova/ Logitech G wireless
Keyboard Roccat Aimo 120
VR HMD Oculus rift
Software Win 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores 8726 vega 3dmark timespy/ laptop Timespy 6506
I have been thinking about the difficulty getting work unit's.
Is it possible that the now vast network of PC sat with no work are forming a denial of service attack unintended of course, by retrying connection every couple of minutes, 2.4exaflops worth of computers sounds like enough?.
 
Joined
Dec 16, 2017
Messages
2,614 (1.39/day)
Location
Buenos Aires, Argentina
System Name System V
Processor AMD Ryzen 5 3600
Motherboard Asus Prime X570-P
Cooling AMD Wraith Stealth // a bunch of 120 mm Xigmatek 1500 RPM fans (2 ins, 3 outs)
Memory 2x8GB Ballistix Sport LT 3200 MHz (BLS8G4D32AESCK.M8FE) (CL16-18-18-36)
Video Card(s) Gigabyte AORUS Radeon RX 580 8 GB
Storage SHFS37A240G / DT01ACA200 / WD20EZRX / MKNSSDTR256GB-3DL / LG BH16NS40 / ST10000VN0008
Display(s) LG 22MP55 IPS Display
Case NZXT Source 210
Audio Device(s) Logitech G430 Headset
Power Supply Corsair CX650M
Mouse Microsoft Trackball Optical 1.0
Keyboard HP Vectra VE keyboard (Part # D4950-63004)
Software Whatever build of Windows 11 is being served in Dev channel at the time.
Benchmark Scores Corona 1.3: 3120620 r/s Cinebench R20: 3355 FireStrike: 12490 TimeSpy: 4624
I have been thinking about the difficulty getting work unit's.
Is it possible that the now vast network of PC sat with no work are forming a denial of service attack unintended of course, by retrying connection every couple of minutes, 2.4exaflops worth of computers sounds like enough?.

As far as I know, default behaviour is that the client tries to get WU, fails, tries again a minute later, fails, tries again 2 or 3 minutes later and so on, so at some point the client waits for 4 or 8 hours before trying again.
So a unintended DDoS shouldn't happen, unless you're constantly hitting pause and start.
 
Joined
Mar 10, 2010
Messages
11,023 (2.34/day)
Location
Manchester uk
System Name RyzenGtEvo/ Asus strix scar II/Trig
Processor Amd R5 5600G/ Intel 8750H/3800X
Motherboard Crosshair hero8 impact/Asus/crosshair hero 7
Cooling 360EK extreme rad+ 360$EK slim all push, cpu ek suprim Gpu full cover all EK
Memory Corsair Vengeance Rgb pro 3600cas14 16Gb in four sticks./16Gb/16GB
Video Card(s) Sapphire refference Rx vega 64 EK waterblocked/Rtx 2060/GTX 1060
Storage Silicon power 1TB nvme/8Tb external/1Tb samsung Evo nvme 2Tb sata ssd/1Tb nvme
Display(s) Samsung UAE28"850R 4k freesync.dellshiter
Case Lianli p0-11 dynamic/strix scar2/aero cool shiter
Audio Device(s) Xfi creative 7.1 on board ,Yamaha dts av setup, corsair void pro headset
Power Supply corsair 1200Hxi/Asus stock /850 watt ?
Mouse Roccat Kova/ Logitech G wireless
Keyboard Roccat Aimo 120
VR HMD Oculus rift
Software Win 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores 8726 vega 3dmark timespy/ laptop Timespy 6506
As far as I know, default behaviour is that the client tries to get WU, fails, tries again a minute later, fails, tries again 2 or 3 minutes later and so on, so at some point the client waits for 4 or 8 hours before trying again.
So a unintended DDoS shouldn't happen, unless you're constantly hitting pause and start.
Correct I hadn't noticed the uptick in time ,Ty.
 

phill

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jun 8, 2011
Messages
13,941 (3.27/day)
Location
Somerset, UK
System Name Not so complete or overkill - There are others!! Just no room to put! :D
Processor Ryzen Threadripper 3970X
Motherboard Asus Zenith 2 Extreme Alpha
Cooling Lots!! Dual GTX 560 rads with D5 pumps for each rad. One rad for each component
Memory Viper Steel 4 x 16GB DDR4 3600MHz not sure on the timings... Probably still at 2667!! :(
Video Card(s) Asus Strix 3090 with front and rear active full cover water blocks
Storage I'm bound to forget something here - 250GB OS, 2 x 1TB NVME, 2 x 1TB SSD, 4TB SSD, 2 x 8TB HD etc...
Display(s) 3 x Dell 27" S2721DGFA @ 7680 x 1440P @ 144Hz or 165Hz - working on it!!
Case The big Thermaltake that looks like a Case Mods
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply EVGA 1600W T2
Mouse Corsair thingy
Keyboard Razer something or other....
VR HMD No headset yet
Software Windows 11 OS... Not a fan!!
Benchmark Scores I've actually never benched it!! Too busy with WCG and FAH and not gaming! :( :( Not OC'd it!! :(
The last few days I've had the program open and waiting for work units to download, I've been waiting all day and I've been lucky to get one maybe two.. At least I can understand why tho!! :)
 
Joined
Dec 16, 2017
Messages
2,614 (1.39/day)
Location
Buenos Aires, Argentina
System Name System V
Processor AMD Ryzen 5 3600
Motherboard Asus Prime X570-P
Cooling AMD Wraith Stealth // a bunch of 120 mm Xigmatek 1500 RPM fans (2 ins, 3 outs)
Memory 2x8GB Ballistix Sport LT 3200 MHz (BLS8G4D32AESCK.M8FE) (CL16-18-18-36)
Video Card(s) Gigabyte AORUS Radeon RX 580 8 GB
Storage SHFS37A240G / DT01ACA200 / WD20EZRX / MKNSSDTR256GB-3DL / LG BH16NS40 / ST10000VN0008
Display(s) LG 22MP55 IPS Display
Case NZXT Source 210
Audio Device(s) Logitech G430 Headset
Power Supply Corsair CX650M
Mouse Microsoft Trackball Optical 1.0
Keyboard HP Vectra VE keyboard (Part # D4950-63004)
Software Whatever build of Windows 11 is being served in Dev channel at the time.
Benchmark Scores Corona 1.3: 3120620 r/s Cinebench R20: 3355 FireStrike: 12490 TimeSpy: 4624
*avast antivirus voice* "The F@H Client has been updated" :laugh:

Update went without a hitch.

Its possible this new client may be better at trying another server for a WU if the current one wont respond.

That's likely more of a server-side issue. Previous version didn't have a problem jumping from one server to another when the first one didn't respond as expected.
 
Joined
Apr 15, 2009
Messages
970 (0.19/day)
Processor Ryzen 9 5900X
Motherboard Gigabyte X570 Aorus Master
Cooling ARCTIC Liquid Freezer II 360
Memory 32 GB Ballistix Elite DDR4-3600 CL16
Video Card(s) XFX 6800 XT Speedster Merc 319 Black
Storage Sabrent Rocket NVMe 4.0 1TB
Display(s) LG 27GL850B x 2 / ASUS MG278Q
Case be quiet! Silent Base 802
Audio Device(s) Sound Blaster AE-7 / Sennheiser HD 660S
Power Supply Seasonic Prime 750W Titanium
Software Windows 10 Pro 64
Is there a way to start the client in Advanced Control instead of the web interface?
 

phill

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jun 8, 2011
Messages
13,941 (3.27/day)
Location
Somerset, UK
System Name Not so complete or overkill - There are others!! Just no room to put! :D
Processor Ryzen Threadripper 3970X
Motherboard Asus Zenith 2 Extreme Alpha
Cooling Lots!! Dual GTX 560 rads with D5 pumps for each rad. One rad for each component
Memory Viper Steel 4 x 16GB DDR4 3600MHz not sure on the timings... Probably still at 2667!! :(
Video Card(s) Asus Strix 3090 with front and rear active full cover water blocks
Storage I'm bound to forget something here - 250GB OS, 2 x 1TB NVME, 2 x 1TB SSD, 4TB SSD, 2 x 8TB HD etc...
Display(s) 3 x Dell 27" S2721DGFA @ 7680 x 1440P @ 144Hz or 165Hz - working on it!!
Case The big Thermaltake that looks like a Case Mods
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply EVGA 1600W T2
Mouse Corsair thingy
Keyboard Razer something or other....
VR HMD No headset yet
Software Windows 11 OS... Not a fan!!
Benchmark Scores I've actually never benched it!! Too busy with WCG and FAH and not gaming! :( :( Not OC'd it!! :(
On the icon by the clock (bottom right) right click, advance options or something advanced I can't quite remember, it'll eventually load up for you to see :)
 
Joined
Apr 20, 2020
Messages
2 (0.00/day)
Processor Ryzen 2600X
Motherboard MSI B450 Tomahawk
Cooling Air, SilentiumPC
Memory 32 GB 3000 Mhz
Video Card(s) MSI RTX 2070 Armor
Display(s) 32 inch 1440p 75 Hz
I'd like to remind everyone who struggles to receive work units from F@H that many other similar computing projects exist that would welcome your contribution. For example, rosetta@home is also folding COVID-19 (SARS-CoV-2) related proteins (different goals and methodology). Their results can in fact theoretically direct the F@H guys to better prepare new workloads. It uses a really well made BOINC client which allows you to effortlessly contribute to a number of projects throughout disciplines (if you also want to do something different than COVID-19 research).
 
Joined
Nov 7, 2009
Messages
4,400 (0.91/day)
Location
Denmark
System Name The work PC /2700x/5950x
Processor 3900X stock/ 2700x stock/ 5950x 4200 MHz fixed @ 1,056-1,08V
Motherboard Gigabyte AORUS Master X570/2xMSI X470 M7 AC
Cooling Custom WC XSPC RX480, Laing DDC, XSPC Laing DDC Top V3 and EK Velocity/NH15/NH-U12S SE
Memory 32 GB Viper 3600/14 /16 GB Trident Z F4-4000C18D-16GTZSW 3600 /32 GB G XSkill Flare CL14 3400
Video Card(s) 2070 Super X MSI/GTX 970 MSI/ GTX 970 MSI
Storage 1 TB SSD / 500 GB SSD/ 500 GB SSD
Display(s) Dell UltraSharp U2518D/2408WFP
Case Corsair 800D / Lian test bench/NZXT 500
Power Supply AX 850 Titanium/AX 860i/AX 760
Software Dual boot/Win 7 & 10 / Linux / Win 10
I'd like to remind everyone who struggles to receive work units from F@H that many other similar computing projects exist that would welcome your contribution. For example, rosetta@home is also folding COVID-19 (SARS-CoV-2) related proteins (different goals and methodology). Their results can in fact theoretically direct the F@H guys to better prepare new workloads. It uses a really well made BOINC client which allows you to effortlessly contribute to a number of projects throughout disciplines (if you also want to do something different than COVID-19 research).
Noble plea but Roseta dosn't use GPUs and my understanding is that it is the GPUs jobs that are the biggest problem. I did start Rosetta a few days ago so I'm not a hater ;)
 
Joined
Dec 16, 2017
Messages
2,614 (1.39/day)
Location
Buenos Aires, Argentina
System Name System V
Processor AMD Ryzen 5 3600
Motherboard Asus Prime X570-P
Cooling AMD Wraith Stealth // a bunch of 120 mm Xigmatek 1500 RPM fans (2 ins, 3 outs)
Memory 2x8GB Ballistix Sport LT 3200 MHz (BLS8G4D32AESCK.M8FE) (CL16-18-18-36)
Video Card(s) Gigabyte AORUS Radeon RX 580 8 GB
Storage SHFS37A240G / DT01ACA200 / WD20EZRX / MKNSSDTR256GB-3DL / LG BH16NS40 / ST10000VN0008
Display(s) LG 22MP55 IPS Display
Case NZXT Source 210
Audio Device(s) Logitech G430 Headset
Power Supply Corsair CX650M
Mouse Microsoft Trackball Optical 1.0
Keyboard HP Vectra VE keyboard (Part # D4950-63004)
Software Whatever build of Windows 11 is being served in Dev channel at the time.
Benchmark Scores Corona 1.3: 3120620 r/s Cinebench R20: 3355 FireStrike: 12490 TimeSpy: 4624
Is there a way to start the client in Advanced Control instead of the web interface?

Not sure about the Advanced Control, but the web interface can be disabled by taking out the parameter for it in the shortcut properties...
2020-04-20 12 04 15.png


Typing "FAHClient.exe --help" in the command line did produce a big list of parameters you can use (including the one for the web interface), but there doesn't seem to be one for opening the Advanced Control. But you could simply make a .bat file with what you need...
 
Joined
Nov 7, 2009
Messages
4,400 (0.91/day)
Location
Denmark
System Name The work PC /2700x/5950x
Processor 3900X stock/ 2700x stock/ 5950x 4200 MHz fixed @ 1,056-1,08V
Motherboard Gigabyte AORUS Master X570/2xMSI X470 M7 AC
Cooling Custom WC XSPC RX480, Laing DDC, XSPC Laing DDC Top V3 and EK Velocity/NH15/NH-U12S SE
Memory 32 GB Viper 3600/14 /16 GB Trident Z F4-4000C18D-16GTZSW 3600 /32 GB G XSkill Flare CL14 3400
Video Card(s) 2070 Super X MSI/GTX 970 MSI/ GTX 970 MSI
Storage 1 TB SSD / 500 GB SSD/ 500 GB SSD
Display(s) Dell UltraSharp U2518D/2408WFP
Case Corsair 800D / Lian test bench/NZXT 500
Power Supply AX 850 Titanium/AX 860i/AX 760
Software Dual boot/Win 7 & 10 / Linux / Win 10
Not sure about the Advanced Control, but the web interface can be disabled by taking out the parameter for it in the shortcut properties...
View attachment 152146

Typing "FAHClient.exe --help" in the command line did produce a big list of parameters you can use (including the one for the web interface), but there doesn't seem to be one for opening the Advanced Control. But you could simply make a .bat file with what you need...
FAHControl.exe works for me
Udklip.JPG
 
Joined
Dec 16, 2017
Messages
2,614 (1.39/day)
Location
Buenos Aires, Argentina
System Name System V
Processor AMD Ryzen 5 3600
Motherboard Asus Prime X570-P
Cooling AMD Wraith Stealth // a bunch of 120 mm Xigmatek 1500 RPM fans (2 ins, 3 outs)
Memory 2x8GB Ballistix Sport LT 3200 MHz (BLS8G4D32AESCK.M8FE) (CL16-18-18-36)
Video Card(s) Gigabyte AORUS Radeon RX 580 8 GB
Storage SHFS37A240G / DT01ACA200 / WD20EZRX / MKNSSDTR256GB-3DL / LG BH16NS40 / ST10000VN0008
Display(s) LG 22MP55 IPS Display
Case NZXT Source 210
Audio Device(s) Logitech G430 Headset
Power Supply Corsair CX650M
Mouse Microsoft Trackball Optical 1.0
Keyboard HP Vectra VE keyboard (Part # D4950-63004)
Software Whatever build of Windows 11 is being served in Dev channel at the time.
Benchmark Scores Corona 1.3: 3120620 r/s Cinebench R20: 3355 FireStrike: 12490 TimeSpy: 4624
Joined
Apr 20, 2020
Messages
2 (0.00/day)
Processor Ryzen 2600X
Motherboard MSI B450 Tomahawk
Cooling Air, SilentiumPC
Memory 32 GB 3000 Mhz
Video Card(s) MSI RTX 2070 Armor
Display(s) 32 inch 1440p 75 Hz
Noble plea but Roseta dosn't use GPUs and my understanding is that it is the GPUs jobs that are the biggest problem. I did start Rosetta a few days ago so I'm not a hater ;)
You are right, Rosetta does not use GPUs, it was just an example. I am not aware if any other projects that study COVID-19 use GPUs, might be worth looking into. I use my CPU for Rosetta and GPU for GPUGRID (molecular dynamics).
If people can't get projects for COVID but still want to help other research, they can. I hope that the pandemic has at least helped spread awareness of shared computing and many people will continue to contribute to various projects long into the future. I don't personally work with these platforms (I do cancer genomics), but if I can use my otherwise idle gaming PC to help my colleagues, I'm more than happy to.
 
Joined
Nov 7, 2009
Messages
4,400 (0.91/day)
Location
Denmark
System Name The work PC /2700x/5950x
Processor 3900X stock/ 2700x stock/ 5950x 4200 MHz fixed @ 1,056-1,08V
Motherboard Gigabyte AORUS Master X570/2xMSI X470 M7 AC
Cooling Custom WC XSPC RX480, Laing DDC, XSPC Laing DDC Top V3 and EK Velocity/NH15/NH-U12S SE
Memory 32 GB Viper 3600/14 /16 GB Trident Z F4-4000C18D-16GTZSW 3600 /32 GB G XSkill Flare CL14 3400
Video Card(s) 2070 Super X MSI/GTX 970 MSI/ GTX 970 MSI
Storage 1 TB SSD / 500 GB SSD/ 500 GB SSD
Display(s) Dell UltraSharp U2518D/2408WFP
Case Corsair 800D / Lian test bench/NZXT 500
Power Supply AX 850 Titanium/AX 860i/AX 760
Software Dual boot/Win 7 & 10 / Linux / Win 10
Ah, I thought he meant automatic startup of the Advanced Control along with the client executable.
Maybe he did. It has been more than 10 years since I set up this client.....I just start FAHClient if I want to see what is going on.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jul 2, 2008
Messages
8,003 (1.50/day)
Location
Hillsboro, OR
System Name Main/DC
Processor i7-3770K/i7-2600K
Motherboard MSI Z77A-GD55/GA-P67A-UD4-B3
Cooling Phanteks PH-TC14CS/H80
Memory Crucial Ballistix Sport 16GB (2 x 8GB) LP /4GB Kingston DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) Asus GTX 660 Ti/MSI HD7770
Storage Crucial MX100 256GB/120GB Samsung 830 & Seagate 2TB(died)
Display(s) Asus 24' LED/Samsung SyncMaster B1940
Case P100/Antec P280 It's huge!
Audio Device(s) on board
Power Supply SeaSonic SS-660XP2/Seasonic SS-760XP2
Software Win 7 Home Premiun 64 Bit
Normally, I just create a shortcut on the desktop....
 
Joined
Nov 7, 2009
Messages
4,400 (0.91/day)
Location
Denmark
System Name The work PC /2700x/5950x
Processor 3900X stock/ 2700x stock/ 5950x 4200 MHz fixed @ 1,056-1,08V
Motherboard Gigabyte AORUS Master X570/2xMSI X470 M7 AC
Cooling Custom WC XSPC RX480, Laing DDC, XSPC Laing DDC Top V3 and EK Velocity/NH15/NH-U12S SE
Memory 32 GB Viper 3600/14 /16 GB Trident Z F4-4000C18D-16GTZSW 3600 /32 GB G XSkill Flare CL14 3400
Video Card(s) 2070 Super X MSI/GTX 970 MSI/ GTX 970 MSI
Storage 1 TB SSD / 500 GB SSD/ 500 GB SSD
Display(s) Dell UltraSharp U2518D/2408WFP
Case Corsair 800D / Lian test bench/NZXT 500
Power Supply AX 850 Titanium/AX 860i/AX 760
Software Dual boot/Win 7 & 10 / Linux / Win 10
Joined
Jul 2, 2008
Messages
8,003 (1.50/day)
Location
Hillsboro, OR
System Name Main/DC
Processor i7-3770K/i7-2600K
Motherboard MSI Z77A-GD55/GA-P67A-UD4-B3
Cooling Phanteks PH-TC14CS/H80
Memory Crucial Ballistix Sport 16GB (2 x 8GB) LP /4GB Kingston DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) Asus GTX 660 Ti/MSI HD7770
Storage Crucial MX100 256GB/120GB Samsung 830 & Seagate 2TB(died)
Display(s) Asus 24' LED/Samsung SyncMaster B1940
Case P100/Antec P280 It's huge!
Audio Device(s) on board
Power Supply SeaSonic SS-660XP2/Seasonic SS-760XP2
Software Win 7 Home Premiun 64 Bit
F@H has had usability problems forever. I wonder if the influx of millions of Folders has prompted Stanford to address some of these issues?
 
Joined
Dec 16, 2017
Messages
2,614 (1.39/day)
Location
Buenos Aires, Argentina
System Name System V
Processor AMD Ryzen 5 3600
Motherboard Asus Prime X570-P
Cooling AMD Wraith Stealth // a bunch of 120 mm Xigmatek 1500 RPM fans (2 ins, 3 outs)
Memory 2x8GB Ballistix Sport LT 3200 MHz (BLS8G4D32AESCK.M8FE) (CL16-18-18-36)
Video Card(s) Gigabyte AORUS Radeon RX 580 8 GB
Storage SHFS37A240G / DT01ACA200 / WD20EZRX / MKNSSDTR256GB-3DL / LG BH16NS40 / ST10000VN0008
Display(s) LG 22MP55 IPS Display
Case NZXT Source 210
Audio Device(s) Logitech G430 Headset
Power Supply Corsair CX650M
Mouse Microsoft Trackball Optical 1.0
Keyboard HP Vectra VE keyboard (Part # D4950-63004)
Software Whatever build of Windows 11 is being served in Dev channel at the time.
Benchmark Scores Corona 1.3: 3120620 r/s Cinebench R20: 3355 FireStrike: 12490 TimeSpy: 4624
Well, one thing that I definitely noticed is that now Advanced Control opens the project's page when clicking its number. Previously that feature was broken... so that's something they fixed ;)
 
Joined
Mar 10, 2010
Messages
11,023 (2.34/day)
Location
Manchester uk
System Name RyzenGtEvo/ Asus strix scar II/Trig
Processor Amd R5 5600G/ Intel 8750H/3800X
Motherboard Crosshair hero8 impact/Asus/crosshair hero 7
Cooling 360EK extreme rad+ 360$EK slim all push, cpu ek suprim Gpu full cover all EK
Memory Corsair Vengeance Rgb pro 3600cas14 16Gb in four sticks./16Gb/16GB
Video Card(s) Sapphire refference Rx vega 64 EK waterblocked/Rtx 2060/GTX 1060
Storage Silicon power 1TB nvme/8Tb external/1Tb samsung Evo nvme 2Tb sata ssd/1Tb nvme
Display(s) Samsung UAE28"850R 4k freesync.dellshiter
Case Lianli p0-11 dynamic/strix scar2/aero cool shiter
Audio Device(s) Xfi creative 7.1 on board ,Yamaha dts av setup, corsair void pro headset
Power Supply corsair 1200Hxi/Asus stock /850 watt ?
Mouse Roccat Kova/ Logitech G wireless
Keyboard Roccat Aimo 120
VR HMD Oculus rift
Software Win 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores 8726 vega 3dmark timespy/ laptop Timespy 6506
I am having issues with Fah, my main listed rig got a clean install , actually enabling uefi boot this last weekend.
Fah installed ok with Wcg too, and was working fine up to me using the pc today, it had tan all night without issues until I was watching the tube on it this morning.
Now I get a kernel power reboot whenever I run fah.

I'm working through some options, just about to clean install the GPU whql driver's to move away from the latest beta driver's.

But any ideas, is it just me?
 
Joined
Dec 16, 2017
Messages
2,614 (1.39/day)
Location
Buenos Aires, Argentina
System Name System V
Processor AMD Ryzen 5 3600
Motherboard Asus Prime X570-P
Cooling AMD Wraith Stealth // a bunch of 120 mm Xigmatek 1500 RPM fans (2 ins, 3 outs)
Memory 2x8GB Ballistix Sport LT 3200 MHz (BLS8G4D32AESCK.M8FE) (CL16-18-18-36)
Video Card(s) Gigabyte AORUS Radeon RX 580 8 GB
Storage SHFS37A240G / DT01ACA200 / WD20EZRX / MKNSSDTR256GB-3DL / LG BH16NS40 / ST10000VN0008
Display(s) LG 22MP55 IPS Display
Case NZXT Source 210
Audio Device(s) Logitech G430 Headset
Power Supply Corsair CX650M
Mouse Microsoft Trackball Optical 1.0
Keyboard HP Vectra VE keyboard (Part # D4950-63004)
Software Whatever build of Windows 11 is being served in Dev channel at the time.
Benchmark Scores Corona 1.3: 3120620 r/s Cinebench R20: 3355 FireStrike: 12490 TimeSpy: 4624
I am having issues with Fah, my main listed rig got a clean install , actually enabling uefi boot this last weekend.
Fah installed ok with Wcg too, and was working fine up to me using the pc today, it had tan all night without issues until I was watching the tube on it this morning.
Now I get a kernel power reboot whenever I run fah.

I'm working through some options, just about to clean install the GPU whql driver's to move away from the latest beta driver's.

But any ideas, is it just me?

There was a known issue in the Radeon Adrenaline drivers 20.4.1 that comes close to what you describe

Running Folding@Home while also running an application using hardware acceleration of video content can cause a system hang or black screen. A potential workaround is disabling hardware acceleration for the application that has it enabled.

But it was supposed to be fixed in 20.4.2. Also, it shouldn't happen unless you run into that specific scenario.
 
Top