• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

*** F@H Tech Assistance Thread ***

Joined
Jul 2, 2008
Messages
8,003 (1.50/day)
Location
Hillsboro, OR
System Name Main/DC
Processor i7-3770K/i7-2600K
Motherboard MSI Z77A-GD55/GA-P67A-UD4-B3
Cooling Phanteks PH-TC14CS/H80
Memory Crucial Ballistix Sport 16GB (2 x 8GB) LP /4GB Kingston DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) Asus GTX 660 Ti/MSI HD7770
Storage Crucial MX100 256GB/120GB Samsung 830 & Seagate 2TB(died)
Display(s) Asus 24' LED/Samsung SyncMaster B1940
Case P100/Antec P280 It's huge!
Audio Device(s) on board
Power Supply SeaSonic SS-660XP2/Seasonic SS-760XP2
Software Win 7 Home Premiun 64 Bit
Joined
Oct 24, 2020
Messages
344 (0.41/day)
Location
Belgium
System Name Asus Skylake
Processor i7-6700k
Motherboard Asus prime Z270-P
Cooling Bequiet Pure Rock
Memory 16GB Kingston HyperX 2133 C14 Fury Black
Video Card(s) ASUS ROG STRIX GTX 1080 Ti GAMING OC
Storage Samsung 960 Evo NVMe
Display(s) Medion 23'
Case Antec Three Hundred v.2
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply BeQuiet 600W
Mouse Logitech Trackman T-BB18
Software Windows 7 , FSX
You could, but they're not very efficient.

OK, so folding doesn't take advantage from the massive DP numbers of the Kepler Titan it seems ...
This spreadsheet only has 1 sample, and no Core22 performance numbers.
But yeah, efficiency won't be that great anymore, meaning more heat output.
Maybe I'll just have to try it out this coming winter :)

I found this in a Q&A dating from 2013:
"The folding cores in current use do single precision calculations. Some older cores tried out double precision calculations, but the additional overhead was found not to be needed. "

Now this article from 2015 really gets me interested: The NVIDIA GeForce GTX Titan X Review
The GPU's can compute with implicit and explicit single precision.
In implicit single precision mode, the performance increase for the Kepler Titan is roughly x7. It is measured in nanoseconds per day (as found in the F@h log).
It goes from 48,7 to 344,4 ns/day. Now this is definitely worth a try.

I did a run on the Kepler Titan, got assigned a 13429 WorkUnit with only 2100 base credit.
Finalized in about 1h23m, and performed at 167 ns/day. The GPU was not fully utilized, on average only 160W powerdraw
It netted 7922 points.

2nd run on a somewhat faster CPU:
13429 workunit with 2100 base credit completed in 52 minutes, performance of 244 ns/day.
70% GPU load and 155W powerdraw.
Net result 12876 points.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Oct 24, 2020
Messages
344 (0.41/day)
Location
Belgium
System Name Asus Skylake
Processor i7-6700k
Motherboard Asus prime Z270-P
Cooling Bequiet Pure Rock
Memory 16GB Kingston HyperX 2133 C14 Fury Black
Video Card(s) ASUS ROG STRIX GTX 1080 Ti GAMING OC
Storage Samsung 960 Evo NVMe
Display(s) Medion 23'
Case Antec Three Hundred v.2
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply BeQuiet 600W
Mouse Logitech Trackman T-BB18
Software Windows 7 , FSX
PPD performance is in line with a GTX 1070m (which oddly is slighly faster than a regular GTX 1070).
I would like to see these GTX Titans working on some big work units to get an apples to apples comparison.
 
Joined
Oct 24, 2020
Messages
344 (0.41/day)
Location
Belgium
System Name Asus Skylake
Processor i7-6700k
Motherboard Asus prime Z270-P
Cooling Bequiet Pure Rock
Memory 16GB Kingston HyperX 2133 C14 Fury Black
Video Card(s) ASUS ROG STRIX GTX 1080 Ti GAMING OC
Storage Samsung 960 Evo NVMe
Display(s) Medion 23'
Case Antec Three Hundred v.2
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply BeQuiet 600W
Mouse Logitech Trackman T-BB18
Software Windows 7 , FSX
Today I had 1 GPU stopped with error in device manager:
Device PCI\VEN_10DE&DEV_1B00&SUBSYS_119A10DE&REV_A1\4&3623647d&0&0008 was not migrated due to partial or ambiguous match.
Something about adding nvlddmkm service by device driver manager.

Anyone else experienced something similar?

Sigh...

Windows update again, wanted to update the device driver which in turn halted the FahCore_22.exe proccess..
How can I stop windows from updating the GPU device drivers?
 
Joined
Dec 16, 2017
Messages
2,614 (1.39/day)
Location
Buenos Aires, Argentina
System Name System V
Processor AMD Ryzen 5 3600
Motherboard Asus Prime X570-P
Cooling AMD Wraith Stealth // a bunch of 120 mm Xigmatek 1500 RPM fans (2 ins, 3 outs)
Memory 2x8GB Ballistix Sport LT 3200 MHz (BLS8G4D32AESCK.M8FE) (CL16-18-18-36)
Video Card(s) Gigabyte AORUS Radeon RX 580 8 GB
Storage SHFS37A240G / DT01ACA200 / WD20EZRX / MKNSSDTR256GB-3DL / LG BH16NS40 / ST10000VN0008
Display(s) LG 22MP55 IPS Display
Case NZXT Source 210
Audio Device(s) Logitech G430 Headset
Power Supply Corsair CX650M
Mouse Microsoft Trackball Optical 1.0
Keyboard HP Vectra VE keyboard (Part # D4950-63004)
Software Whatever build of Windows 11 is being served in Dev channel at the time.
Benchmark Scores Corona 1.3: 3120620 r/s Cinebench R20: 3355 FireStrike: 12490 TimeSpy: 4624
How can I stop windows from updating the GPU device drivers?
I think you can do that from Local Group Policy (gpedit.msc), going into Computer Configuration, Administrative Templates, Windows Components, Windows Update. There should be an item about disabling hardware driver updates.
 
Joined
Oct 24, 2020
Messages
344 (0.41/day)
Location
Belgium
System Name Asus Skylake
Processor i7-6700k
Motherboard Asus prime Z270-P
Cooling Bequiet Pure Rock
Memory 16GB Kingston HyperX 2133 C14 Fury Black
Video Card(s) ASUS ROG STRIX GTX 1080 Ti GAMING OC
Storage Samsung 960 Evo NVMe
Display(s) Medion 23'
Case Antec Three Hundred v.2
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply BeQuiet 600W
Mouse Logitech Trackman T-BB18
Software Windows 7 , FSX
I think you can do that from Local Group Policy (gpedit.msc), going into Computer Configuration, Administrative Templates, Windows Components, Windows Update. There should be an item about disabling hardware driver updates.
Thanks.

This PC is running windows 10 pro, but I have other machines running windows 10 home edition.
Does it matter in windows 10 which version is running , this now works on windows10 home edition as well?
In windows 7 gpedit was available in the more advanced editions only I believe.
 
Joined
Dec 16, 2017
Messages
2,614 (1.39/day)
Location
Buenos Aires, Argentina
System Name System V
Processor AMD Ryzen 5 3600
Motherboard Asus Prime X570-P
Cooling AMD Wraith Stealth // a bunch of 120 mm Xigmatek 1500 RPM fans (2 ins, 3 outs)
Memory 2x8GB Ballistix Sport LT 3200 MHz (BLS8G4D32AESCK.M8FE) (CL16-18-18-36)
Video Card(s) Gigabyte AORUS Radeon RX 580 8 GB
Storage SHFS37A240G / DT01ACA200 / WD20EZRX / MKNSSDTR256GB-3DL / LG BH16NS40 / ST10000VN0008
Display(s) LG 22MP55 IPS Display
Case NZXT Source 210
Audio Device(s) Logitech G430 Headset
Power Supply Corsair CX650M
Mouse Microsoft Trackball Optical 1.0
Keyboard HP Vectra VE keyboard (Part # D4950-63004)
Software Whatever build of Windows 11 is being served in Dev channel at the time.
Benchmark Scores Corona 1.3: 3120620 r/s Cinebench R20: 3355 FireStrike: 12490 TimeSpy: 4624
Thanks.

This PC is running windows 10 pro, but I have other machines running windows 10 home edition.
Does it matter in windows 10 which version is running , this now works on windows10 home edition as well?
In windows 7 gpedit was available in the more advanced editions only I believe.
Not sure if there even is gpedit on Home editions... I think you could try adding the entry in the Registry (which I attached) but it may not work, since apparently it has to be enforced through MMC due to it editing some other files.

On that topic, I think the 2004 update made driver updates optional. In my case, there is also a AMD driver update, which I don't know why it shows up, considering I always run the latest driver :confused:, but Windows doesn't install it unless I tell it to do so. And that's without using the GPO setting.
20201208-110244.png
 

Attachments

  • Windows Update No Driver update.txt
    330 bytes · Views: 59
Last edited:
Joined
Oct 24, 2020
Messages
344 (0.41/day)
Location
Belgium
System Name Asus Skylake
Processor i7-6700k
Motherboard Asus prime Z270-P
Cooling Bequiet Pure Rock
Memory 16GB Kingston HyperX 2133 C14 Fury Black
Video Card(s) ASUS ROG STRIX GTX 1080 Ti GAMING OC
Storage Samsung 960 Evo NVMe
Display(s) Medion 23'
Case Antec Three Hundred v.2
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply BeQuiet 600W
Mouse Logitech Trackman T-BB18
Software Windows 7 , FSX
Joined
Oct 24, 2020
Messages
344 (0.41/day)
Location
Belgium
System Name Asus Skylake
Processor i7-6700k
Motherboard Asus prime Z270-P
Cooling Bequiet Pure Rock
Memory 16GB Kingston HyperX 2133 C14 Fury Black
Video Card(s) ASUS ROG STRIX GTX 1080 Ti GAMING OC
Storage Samsung 960 Evo NVMe
Display(s) Medion 23'
Case Antec Three Hundred v.2
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply BeQuiet 600W
Mouse Logitech Trackman T-BB18
Software Windows 7 , FSX
Yet again two machines stopped folding because of windows automatic updates.
I found this next method online to stop these updates:

In Registry editor, goto

HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Policies\Microsoft\Windows

Create a new "WindowsUpdate" key

In this new key, create another new key, "AU"

In "AU", create a "AUOptions" value (DWORD 32-bit), and set to 2, which is for "Notify for download and notify for install".

Reboot for changes to take effect.

Ofcourse, do this at own risk.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Nov 7, 2009
Messages
4,400 (0.91/day)
Location
Denmark
System Name The work PC /2700x/5950x
Processor 3900X stock/ 2700x stock/ 5950x 4200 MHz fixed @ 1,056-1,08V
Motherboard Gigabyte AORUS Master X570/2xMSI X470 M7 AC
Cooling Custom WC XSPC RX480, Laing DDC, XSPC Laing DDC Top V3 and EK Velocity/NH15/NH-U12S SE
Memory 32 GB Viper 3600/14 /16 GB Trident Z F4-4000C18D-16GTZSW 3600 /32 GB G XSkill Flare CL14 3400
Video Card(s) 2070 Super X MSI/GTX 970 MSI/ GTX 970 MSI
Storage 1 TB SSD / 500 GB SSD/ 500 GB SSD
Display(s) Dell UltraSharp U2518D/2408WFP
Case Corsair 800D / Lian test bench/NZXT 500
Power Supply AX 850 Titanium/AX 860i/AX 760
Software Dual boot/Win 7 & 10 / Linux / Win 10
Yet again two machines stopped folding because of windows automatic updates.
I found this next method online to stop these updates:

In Registry editor, goto

HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Policies\Microsoft\Windows

Create a new "WindowsUpdate" key

In this new key, create another new key, "AU"

In "AU", create a "AUOptions" value (DWORD 32-bit), and set to 2, which is for "Notify for download and notify for install".

Reboot for changes to take effect.
WIN7 and Linux FTW ;)
 
Joined
Dec 16, 2017
Messages
2,614 (1.39/day)
Location
Buenos Aires, Argentina
System Name System V
Processor AMD Ryzen 5 3600
Motherboard Asus Prime X570-P
Cooling AMD Wraith Stealth // a bunch of 120 mm Xigmatek 1500 RPM fans (2 ins, 3 outs)
Memory 2x8GB Ballistix Sport LT 3200 MHz (BLS8G4D32AESCK.M8FE) (CL16-18-18-36)
Video Card(s) Gigabyte AORUS Radeon RX 580 8 GB
Storage SHFS37A240G / DT01ACA200 / WD20EZRX / MKNSSDTR256GB-3DL / LG BH16NS40 / ST10000VN0008
Display(s) LG 22MP55 IPS Display
Case NZXT Source 210
Audio Device(s) Logitech G430 Headset
Power Supply Corsair CX650M
Mouse Microsoft Trackball Optical 1.0
Keyboard HP Vectra VE keyboard (Part # D4950-63004)
Software Whatever build of Windows 11 is being served in Dev channel at the time.
Benchmark Scores Corona 1.3: 3120620 r/s Cinebench R20: 3355 FireStrike: 12490 TimeSpy: 4624
Yet again two machines stopped folding because of windows automatic updates.
I found this next method online to stop these updates:

In Registry editor, goto

HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Policies\Microsoft\Windows

Create a new "WindowsUpdate" key

In this new key, create another new key, "AU"

In "AU", create a "AUOptions" value (DWORD 32-bit), and set to 2, which is for "Notify for download and notify for install".

Reboot for changes to take effect.

Ofcourse, do this at own risk.
Couldn't you just disable them from the Control Panel? :confused:
 
Joined
Oct 24, 2020
Messages
344 (0.41/day)
Location
Belgium
System Name Asus Skylake
Processor i7-6700k
Motherboard Asus prime Z270-P
Cooling Bequiet Pure Rock
Memory 16GB Kingston HyperX 2133 C14 Fury Black
Video Card(s) ASUS ROG STRIX GTX 1080 Ti GAMING OC
Storage Samsung 960 Evo NVMe
Display(s) Medion 23'
Case Antec Three Hundred v.2
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply BeQuiet 600W
Mouse Logitech Trackman T-BB18
Software Windows 7 , FSX
Couldn't you just disable them from the Control Panel? :confused:
I have unchecked "Restart this device as soon as possible ..." in advanced options, but still it forced an automatic restart.
I think Microsoft is now actively pushing the 20H2 upgrade to home users.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Oct 24, 2020
Messages
344 (0.41/day)
Location
Belgium
System Name Asus Skylake
Processor i7-6700k
Motherboard Asus prime Z270-P
Cooling Bequiet Pure Rock
Memory 16GB Kingston HyperX 2133 C14 Fury Black
Video Card(s) ASUS ROG STRIX GTX 1080 Ti GAMING OC
Storage Samsung 960 Evo NVMe
Display(s) Medion 23'
Case Antec Three Hundred v.2
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply BeQuiet 600W
Mouse Logitech Trackman T-BB18
Software Windows 7 , FSX
Here is a link to Microsoft documentation on restart behaviour:

Manage device restarts after updates

So, to delay rebooting if a user is logged on, AUOptions should be 4, while NoAutoRebootWithLoggedOnUsers is set to 1.

Whatever happened to the Keep It Simple-rule?
 
Last edited:

phill

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jun 8, 2011
Messages
13,941 (3.27/day)
Location
Somerset, UK
System Name Not so complete or overkill - There are others!! Just no room to put! :D
Processor Ryzen Threadripper 3970X
Motherboard Asus Zenith 2 Extreme Alpha
Cooling Lots!! Dual GTX 560 rads with D5 pumps for each rad. One rad for each component
Memory Viper Steel 4 x 16GB DDR4 3600MHz not sure on the timings... Probably still at 2667!! :(
Video Card(s) Asus Strix 3090 with front and rear active full cover water blocks
Storage I'm bound to forget something here - 250GB OS, 2 x 1TB NVME, 2 x 1TB SSD, 4TB SSD, 2 x 8TB HD etc...
Display(s) 3 x Dell 27" S2721DGFA @ 7680 x 1440P @ 144Hz or 165Hz - working on it!!
Case The big Thermaltake that looks like a Case Mods
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply EVGA 1600W T2
Mouse Corsair thingy
Keyboard Razer something or other....
VR HMD No headset yet
Software Windows 11 OS... Not a fan!!
Benchmark Scores I've actually never benched it!! Too busy with WCG and FAH and not gaming! :( :( Not OC'd it!! :(
Here is a link to Microsoft documentation on restart behaviour:

Manage device restarts after updates

So, to delay rebooting if a user is logged on, AUOptions should be 4, while NoAutoRebootWithLoggedOnUsers is set to 1.

Whatever happened to the Keep It Simple-rule?
It's Microsoft??

I dunno... I just make sure I have the ability to check on any of my crunchers etc. just in case this/any stupid problem/s should happen... If I see one has updates, I make sure it restarts and doesn't stop half way because it's bugging me to sign in to something...

I wish Linux would be easier with the folding... Wouldn't use Windows for any of the crunchers then...
 
Joined
Dec 16, 2017
Messages
2,614 (1.39/day)
Location
Buenos Aires, Argentina
System Name System V
Processor AMD Ryzen 5 3600
Motherboard Asus Prime X570-P
Cooling AMD Wraith Stealth // a bunch of 120 mm Xigmatek 1500 RPM fans (2 ins, 3 outs)
Memory 2x8GB Ballistix Sport LT 3200 MHz (BLS8G4D32AESCK.M8FE) (CL16-18-18-36)
Video Card(s) Gigabyte AORUS Radeon RX 580 8 GB
Storage SHFS37A240G / DT01ACA200 / WD20EZRX / MKNSSDTR256GB-3DL / LG BH16NS40 / ST10000VN0008
Display(s) LG 22MP55 IPS Display
Case NZXT Source 210
Audio Device(s) Logitech G430 Headset
Power Supply Corsair CX650M
Mouse Microsoft Trackball Optical 1.0
Keyboard HP Vectra VE keyboard (Part # D4950-63004)
Software Whatever build of Windows 11 is being served in Dev channel at the time.
Benchmark Scores Corona 1.3: 3120620 r/s Cinebench R20: 3355 FireStrike: 12490 TimeSpy: 4624
Whatever happened to the Keep It Simple-rule?
Long gone.

That aside, and until they fix this, maybe consider using the "pause updates" feature?
 
Joined
Oct 24, 2020
Messages
344 (0.41/day)
Location
Belgium
System Name Asus Skylake
Processor i7-6700k
Motherboard Asus prime Z270-P
Cooling Bequiet Pure Rock
Memory 16GB Kingston HyperX 2133 C14 Fury Black
Video Card(s) ASUS ROG STRIX GTX 1080 Ti GAMING OC
Storage Samsung 960 Evo NVMe
Display(s) Medion 23'
Case Antec Three Hundred v.2
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply BeQuiet 600W
Mouse Logitech Trackman T-BB18
Software Windows 7 , FSX
Long gone.

That aside, and until they fix this, maybe consider using the "pause updates" feature?
Yes, but one can only pause for a maximum of 35 days.
And then you are required to apply the updates, even if you don't want or need them.
I mean, I don't want "preview" updates, and I don't see the need for driver updates when my system is working well.
 
Joined
Aug 21, 2015
Messages
1,288 (0.47/day)
Location
North Dakota
System Name Office
Processor i7-11700K
Motherboard Gigabyte Z590 Aorus Ultra
Cooling be quiet! Shadow Rock 3
Memory 16GB Crucial DDR4-3200
Video Card(s) EVGA RTX 3050 XC Gaming
Storage Samsung SM961 256GB, Western Digital WD10EZEX
Display(s) Dell S2719DGF
Case Fractal Define 7 Compact
Power Supply Seasonic Focus 550
Mouse EVGA X15
Keyboard Logitech G410
Software Windows 10 Home
In attempting to get two GT 1030s running in an Optiplex 990 (which I couldn't, so any thoughts there are welcome), I noticed something else. The CPU is an i3 2120, and for a little while it was idle due to no assignments available for configuration. That's fine, it generates just north of bupkus anyway. BUT: the estimated PPD for the 1030 went up while the CPU was resting, higher than the total est.PPD when both are running together. So I removed the CPU slot and am only running the 1030. CPU usage is still around 60%, so my hypothesis is that there isn't enough juice in the i3 to do its own work and properly support the 1030's task. Does this sound right? If so, I may try to put both in the X58 rig I just brought down because FAHcore kept crashing. Of course, then I'll need to solve THAT problem.

[edit: spelling]
 
Joined
Oct 24, 2020
Messages
344 (0.41/day)
Location
Belgium
System Name Asus Skylake
Processor i7-6700k
Motherboard Asus prime Z270-P
Cooling Bequiet Pure Rock
Memory 16GB Kingston HyperX 2133 C14 Fury Black
Video Card(s) ASUS ROG STRIX GTX 1080 Ti GAMING OC
Storage Samsung 960 Evo NVMe
Display(s) Medion 23'
Case Antec Three Hundred v.2
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply BeQuiet 600W
Mouse Logitech Trackman T-BB18
Software Windows 7 , FSX
You need 1 CPU core per 1 folding GPU.
On low end CPU's, performance of GPU can drop if it hasn't got enough CPU performance to support it.

I also noticed there is a new version of FAH available, v7.6.21
 
Last edited:
Joined
Oct 24, 2020
Messages
344 (0.41/day)
Location
Belgium
System Name Asus Skylake
Processor i7-6700k
Motherboard Asus prime Z270-P
Cooling Bequiet Pure Rock
Memory 16GB Kingston HyperX 2133 C14 Fury Black
Video Card(s) ASUS ROG STRIX GTX 1080 Ti GAMING OC
Storage Samsung 960 Evo NVMe
Display(s) Medion 23'
Case Antec Three Hundred v.2
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply BeQuiet 600W
Mouse Logitech Trackman T-BB18
Software Windows 7 , FSX
"Quality" ahum Update KB4598242 since January 12, 2021 failed to install 10 times already.
I stopped the machine to manually download and install, but it just will not install.
I took the opportunity to update FAH to v7.6.21 and the machine is now up and running again. So far, so good.
 
Joined
Aug 21, 2015
Messages
1,288 (0.47/day)
Location
North Dakota
System Name Office
Processor i7-11700K
Motherboard Gigabyte Z590 Aorus Ultra
Cooling be quiet! Shadow Rock 3
Memory 16GB Crucial DDR4-3200
Video Card(s) EVGA RTX 3050 XC Gaming
Storage Samsung SM961 256GB, Western Digital WD10EZEX
Display(s) Dell S2719DGF
Case Fractal Define 7 Compact
Power Supply Seasonic Focus 550
Mouse EVGA X15
Keyboard Logitech G410
Software Windows 10 Home
You need 1 CPU core per 1 folding GPU.
On low end CPU's, performance of GPU can drop if it hasn't got enough CPU performance to support it.

I also noticed there is a new version of FAH available, v7.6.21

One entire core, or one CPU thread? I've got a GT 1030 attached to an X5670, and was wondering how much to dedicate, since the remaining CPU resources are on WCG. Relatedly, does a faster GPU require a commensurately faster CPU to feed it?
 
Joined
Oct 24, 2020
Messages
344 (0.41/day)
Location
Belgium
System Name Asus Skylake
Processor i7-6700k
Motherboard Asus prime Z270-P
Cooling Bequiet Pure Rock
Memory 16GB Kingston HyperX 2133 C14 Fury Black
Video Card(s) ASUS ROG STRIX GTX 1080 Ti GAMING OC
Storage Samsung 960 Evo NVMe
Display(s) Medion 23'
Case Antec Three Hundred v.2
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply BeQuiet 600W
Mouse Logitech Trackman T-BB18
Software Windows 7 , FSX
On my 4c/8t system I see the fahcore_22 process using 15% of CPU.
With one thread being always fully utilized , this means another thread is partially utilized (20% of a thread). I would count that as one core needed.

Second part of the question, intuitively I would answer yes.
 
Joined
Jul 2, 2008
Messages
8,003 (1.50/day)
Location
Hillsboro, OR
System Name Main/DC
Processor i7-3770K/i7-2600K
Motherboard MSI Z77A-GD55/GA-P67A-UD4-B3
Cooling Phanteks PH-TC14CS/H80
Memory Crucial Ballistix Sport 16GB (2 x 8GB) LP /4GB Kingston DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) Asus GTX 660 Ti/MSI HD7770
Storage Crucial MX100 256GB/120GB Samsung 830 & Seagate 2TB(died)
Display(s) Asus 24' LED/Samsung SyncMaster B1940
Case P100/Antec P280 It's huge!
Audio Device(s) on board
Power Supply SeaSonic SS-660XP2/Seasonic SS-760XP2
Software Win 7 Home Premiun 64 Bit
yah, FAH been acting up on me last couple days. I should be getting 1.4 million per day. I gave up yesterday. but I will try again later today.

i click FAH, run, and the gpu just stalls, nothing, no folding of anything. really frustrating I can't figure it out. I tried reinstalling and everything. I figure w.e work assignment I got, just had an error and now I can't fold again until it resets... will try again soon, hopefully its reset by now... CPU is still folding fine, but those are like useless low amount of points.
Windows or Linux?
 
Joined
Nov 7, 2009
Messages
4,400 (0.91/day)
Location
Denmark
System Name The work PC /2700x/5950x
Processor 3900X stock/ 2700x stock/ 5950x 4200 MHz fixed @ 1,056-1,08V
Motherboard Gigabyte AORUS Master X570/2xMSI X470 M7 AC
Cooling Custom WC XSPC RX480, Laing DDC, XSPC Laing DDC Top V3 and EK Velocity/NH15/NH-U12S SE
Memory 32 GB Viper 3600/14 /16 GB Trident Z F4-4000C18D-16GTZSW 3600 /32 GB G XSkill Flare CL14 3400
Video Card(s) 2070 Super X MSI/GTX 970 MSI/ GTX 970 MSI
Storage 1 TB SSD / 500 GB SSD/ 500 GB SSD
Display(s) Dell UltraSharp U2518D/2408WFP
Case Corsair 800D / Lian test bench/NZXT 500
Power Supply AX 850 Titanium/AX 860i/AX 760
Software Dual boot/Win 7 & 10 / Linux / Win 10
Last edited:
Joined
May 8, 2021
Messages
120 (0.19/day)
Location
Scotland (Nursing Home)
System Name Scan 3XS System
Processor Intel Core i7 11700K
Motherboard ASUS TUF GAMING Z590-PLUS WIFI
Cooling Corsair Hydro H150i ELITE CAPELLIX RGB
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance RGB PRO
Video Card(s) 10GB EVGA GeForce RTX 3080 XC3 ULTRA GAMING
Storage 1TB Samsung SSD 970 EVO Plus 2TB Seagate ST2000DM008-2FR102 HDD, 2TB Seagate ST2000DM008-2FR102 HDD
Display(s) Samsung C32JG5x Curved, 1080p, 1920 x 1080 @120Hz
Case Corsair iCUE 4000X RGB
Audio Device(s) USB Speakers 2.1
Power Supply Corsair RM750x 80PLUS GOLD
Mouse PICTEK Programmable Mouse
Keyboard Microsoft Sidewinder X4 Keyboard
Software Microsoft Windows 10 Pro 64-Bit 19045.2546 22H2
I see from a lot of posts everyone using this >> FAHControl - Folding@home Client Advanced Control app, can you tell me where i can access/download this app for my own use.
I've tried searching the Folding Forum - Index Page but cannot find anything there (maybe have to look harder).
Any help would be most welcome & appreciated.
 
Joined
Nov 16, 2007
Messages
958 (0.17/day)
Location
Hampton Roads
Processor Xeon x5650
Motherboard SABERTOOTH X58
Cooling Fans
Memory 24 GB Kingston HyperX 1600
Video Card(s) GTX 1060 3GB
Storage small ssd
Display(s) Dell 2001F, BenQ short throw
Case Lian Li
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply X750
Software Mint 19.3, Win 10
Benchmark Scores not so fast...
Program files x86\fahclient\fahcontrol.exe
 
Top