1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Fan Broken on HIS HD 4650 GDDR3

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by wahdangun, Nov 15, 2009.

  1. wahdangun

    wahdangun New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2008
    Messages:
    1,511 (0.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    114
    Location:
    indonesia ku tercinta
    guy's i have HIS HD 4650 GDDR3, the fan is broken(Damm HIS i can't RMA it), doyou know how to fix it? or can you give me some advice which GPU fan that will fit in my video card?


    and one more, do you know how to activate ACC in Biostar TA 760G?


    please i really need help right now
     
  2. crazyeyesreaper

    crazyeyesreaper Chief Broken Rig

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    Messages:
    8,680 (2.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,550
    Location:
    04578
    zip tie a 80mm fan or 3 to it and just keep on going lol
     
  3. wahdangun

    wahdangun New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2008
    Messages:
    1,511 (0.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    114
    Location:
    indonesia ku tercinta
    this is my card, if that can help
    [​IMG]
     
  4. [Ion]

    [Ion] WCG Team Assistant

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Messages:
    13,391 (4.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,258
    Location:
    Raleigh, North Carolina, United States
    Remove the fan (should be attached with 3 screws), and use whatever method suits you best (zip ties, glue, double-sided tape, etc) to attach any spare 80mm fan you happen to have. I've done this in the past on several video cards, and it's worked fine every time :toast:
     
    wahdangun and crazyeyesreaper say thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  5. crazyeyesreaper

    crazyeyesreaper Chief Broken Rig

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    Messages:
    8,680 (2.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,550
    Location:
    04578
    as i said ziptie an 80mm ;)

    2 ppl say attach an 80mm fan

    heres to you Ion :toast: simplest fix ever
     
    wahdangun says thanks.
  6. BUCK NASTY

    BUCK NASTY F@H Mod & 4P Enthusiust Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2007
    Messages:
    4,968 (1.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,639
    Location:
    Port St Lucie, FL. U.S.A.
    +1 for the 80mm fan suggestions:rockout:. Make sure to remove the stock fan to create adequate airflow. I use heavy rubber bands instead of zip ties to avoid flexing the PCB too much. Plus they always clear around the PCI-e slot.
     
  7. LittleLizard

    LittleLizard

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2008
    Messages:
    3,779 (1.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    575
    Location:
    Latin America, Uruguay
    the 4650 dont get much hot. i agree with the idea of all of tie zip an 80mm fan but first see if u can remove the fan WITHOUT the heatsink. this way will be easier and better to tie zip a fan
     
    wahdangun says thanks.
  8. wahdangun

    wahdangun New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2008
    Messages:
    1,511 (0.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    114
    Location:
    indonesia ku tercinta
    yeah, i will try this and can u guy's show some snap shot, how to do it (because the heatsink is really small and i afraid 80mm fan won't fit)

    here some pic of mine
    [​IMG]
     
  9. [Ion]

    [Ion] WCG Team Assistant

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Messages:
    13,391 (4.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,258
    Location:
    Raleigh, North Carolina, United States
    There are screws attaching the fan to the aluminum heatsink, there should be three total, I can half see two of them covered by the blades of the fan. Unscrew those three screws, and then the fan should just lift off. If an 80mm fan is too big (it is OK for it to extend past the edge of the heatsink), a 60mm fan would also work.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  10. wahdangun

    wahdangun New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2008
    Messages:
    1,511 (0.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    114
    Location:
    indonesia ku tercinta
    hmm, ok thank you, i will try it

    but do anyone know, if biostar TA 760G have ACC?
     
  11. t77snapshot

    t77snapshot

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2008
    Messages:
    4,251 (1.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,828
    Location:
    S.Cali
    If you have small zip or wire ties you should be able to mount the 80 fan through any of these holes.
    [​IMG]

    I threw together an example for you: :)
    [​IMG]
    this is just an example, I would use more then 2 ties.
     
    Last edited: Nov 15, 2009
    Crunching for Team TPU
  12. Velvet Wafer

    Velvet Wafer

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2009
    Messages:
    5,123 (1.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    990
    Location:
    North of Germany
  13. t77snapshot

    t77snapshot

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2008
    Messages:
    4,251 (1.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,828
    Location:
    S.Cali
    :roll:
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  14. d3fct

    d3fct

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2009
    Messages:
    1,087 (0.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    165
    Location:
    Upstate NewYork
    all hail the allmighty ziptie
    [​IMG]
     
    Velvet Wafer says thanks.
  15. LittleLizard

    LittleLizard

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2008
    Messages:
    3,779 (1.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    575
    Location:
    Latin America, Uruguay
    check the southbridge. if it has sb710/750 then yes. otherwise it doesnt.
     
  16. a_ump

    a_ump

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2007
    Messages:
    3,684 (1.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    402
    Location:
    Smithfield, WV
    zip ties eh? lol when i was oc'ing my 7800GTX i took a 80mm fan and just screwed it to the heatsink lol, but i guess i'm outnumbered with my screw on idea :p.
     
  17. wahdangun

    wahdangun New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2008
    Messages:
    1,511 (0.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    114
    Location:
    indonesia ku tercinta
    WTF, it's really crazy man, do you think it will work? and do you sure that fan will not fly away?
    it's the craziest thing i ever saw

    NB : yes it have SB 710 but i didn't see any option about ACC
     
  18. LittleLizard

    LittleLizard

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2008
    Messages:
    3,779 (1.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    575
    Location:
    Latin America, Uruguay
    some mobos have the required southbridge but dont have the option (ecs 785 for instance) sorry i cant help more :(
     
    wahdangun says thanks.
  19. wahdangun

    wahdangun New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2008
    Messages:
    1,511 (0.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    114
    Location:
    indonesia ku tercinta
    ok no problem bro,
     
  20. Polaris573

    Polaris573 Senior Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2005
    Messages:
    4,268 (0.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    718
    Location:
    Little Rock, USA
    Your thread title has been changed. "Please help me" is too vague and violates the forum guidelines.
     
    wahdangun says thanks.
    10 Year Member at TPU
  21. t77snapshot

    t77snapshot

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2008
    Messages:
    4,251 (1.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,828
    Location:
    S.Cali
    Like I said before, that pic was just an example. But yes it will work if you are looking for a quick fix. Hey if you do this you can post it in the "Ghetto Mods" thread.:laugh:
     
    Crunching for Team TPU

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)