• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Far Cry 3 - Island Survival Guide

Joined
Aug 7, 2009
Messages
605 (0.20/day)
Likes
139
Processor Intel i7-940 @ 3.5Ghz
Motherboard Asus P6X58D-E
Cooling Corsair H70
Memory 12GB OCZ Platinum XTC DDR3 1600mhz CL7
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 780ti
Storage Revodrive X2 240GB, 5TB HDD storage
Display(s) Asus PB278Q 27''
Case Antec Lanboy Air
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar D2X
Power Supply Corsair HX850W
Software Windows 7 x64
If your Recon'ing a Camp for a take over, Look for the Animal Cage that Basically All Camp's have, Take a Sniper Rifle, and Shoot the Front Door of the Cage. (Careful NOT to Shoot the animal). If you use silenced(or Not) , the Pirates, Get a NICE surprise, and you Get an easy take over. Work's Great for Me.
Doesn't work as good when you get to the second island where the Heavies are more prominent. If stealth fails, either explosives or an LMG will be needed to take the bastards out.

I found that the flamethrower excels at taking them down but I am struggling a bit against the Heavy Flamers. My current tactic when spotted is to run into some thick foilage and use a molotov cocktail when they follow me.

You can lay some C4 next to a landmark before you start on taking an outpost, if it goes haywire you can detonate it when they follow. Go back and pick it up if successful (also makes a nice diversion should you need one, i.e. infiltrating the outpost from the other side to go in and smash the alarms)

Edit: I ran into an outpost once that was guarded by no less than 5 heavies. Took down two of them but was too hasty and got spotted, and of course I hadn't made my way to shut off the alarms yet. The alarm pulled in not two but three full cars of baddies, in addition to the 3 Heavies pounding away with machine guns. Eventually I won but about $900 in ammunition was needed.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Nov 9, 2010
Messages
5,160 (1.99/day)
Likes
1,710
Processor Intel i7 950 @ 3.2GHz
Motherboard ASUS P6X58D-E
Cooling Corsair H50 push/pull
Memory Kingston HyperX 1600 8GB
Video Card(s) Sapphire HD 7970 OC
Storage Plextor M5P 128GB/WD Black 2x1TB,1x6TB/Seagate 1TB
Display(s) Panasonic TC-L32U3
Case Antec DF-85
Audio Device(s) Yamaha RX-V371 AVR
Power Supply XFX 850w Black Edition
Mouse Logitech G402
Keyboard Logitech K120
Software W10 Pro 64 bit
Tigers can wipe out a camp full of regular troops, but if there's a sniper or heavy there, the tiger is going to die.

Just had the boss fight against
the giant. His minions are going to be tough on the hardest difficulty level unless I crank up the brightness a bit.
There's one thing I find odd about the graphics in low light conditions. Although reducing color to black and white is realistic, it tends to look too shimmery. Hard to describe, kinda like a negative of a photo where the details of the objects become shimmering white for faint light reflections, with black outlines. This is most noticeable in dark areas of caves that have sculptured stone.

I had trouble deploying
the parachute when using the wing suit, I actually had to land in the water close enough to the objective to avoid failing mission.
I chalk it up to the game's buggy key mapping. Early on in the game I had trouble not being able to get out of the vehicle that Dennis drives you in. I had to rebind Interact to E. I have yet to solve this one though. It's bound to L Shift btw.
 
Joined
Oct 17, 2012
Messages
6,858 (3.63/day)
Likes
9,008
Location
Massachusetts
Processor i7 4790
Motherboard Asrock Z97 Extreme 4
Cooling Corsair H-110i GTX
Memory 16 Gb kingston Hyper X
Video Card(s) Nvidia Reference GTX 970 x2
Storage C:\Samsung 850EVO 500Gb & Samsung 850 evo 250Gb
Display(s) Dell Ultra Sharp Widescreen 24" 1200P
Case Phanteks Enthoo Pro M Acrylic
Audio Device(s) Realtech Edition X1789,Ver2.78
Power Supply EVGA 220-G2-0650-Y1
Mouse Logitech G502 spectrum
Keyboard AZIO MRGB Kaith Blue
Software Win 10 Professional 64 bit
Benchmark Scores Congrats USA!! on the Travel Ban.....
Doesn't work as good when you get to the second island where the Heavies are more prominent. If stealth fails, either explosives or an LMG will be needed to take the bastards out.
Yeah , that's True. I got Pretty Grumpy with FC3 today When I Realized that Killing 3 Civilians Concurrently Get's you Killed by the Damn Game.:mad:

Also you Get More $$ and loot if you let them Trigger the alarm, So I just Let them, and reap the reward. Plus I like Killing juggernauts.As for the Heavies, One shot to the Chest With the Special Sniper Rifle in the Store, (the Red one) , and they're DEAD.

I figured since I beat the Damn Game , I could do what I wanted. Oh-Well.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Aug 7, 2009
Messages
605 (0.20/day)
Likes
139
Processor Intel i7-940 @ 3.5Ghz
Motherboard Asus P6X58D-E
Cooling Corsair H70
Memory 12GB OCZ Platinum XTC DDR3 1600mhz CL7
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 780ti
Storage Revodrive X2 240GB, 5TB HDD storage
Display(s) Asus PB278Q 27''
Case Antec Lanboy Air
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar D2X
Power Supply Corsair HX850W
Software Windows 7 x64
Hahaha I was just about to start ninja-clearing an outpost when I suddenly heard a ton of shouting and gunfire. Some rebels had decided to take for a drive in a technical. They just parked a few 30 metres or so from the location and completely obliterated EVERYTHING that moved, even the two tigers in the cage. Because it wasn't *me*; nobody activated the alarm :laugh:

+1500XP for hiding in a bush.

After everything was dead they just drove off, didn't say a word. Then another car showed up to occupy the place complimenting me on a job well done but worrying about a counterattack. If anyone in this unorganized rabble would have shown a single speck of leadership or coordination they could easily win the conflict outright.
 
Joined
Nov 9, 2010
Messages
5,160 (1.99/day)
Likes
1,710
Processor Intel i7 950 @ 3.2GHz
Motherboard ASUS P6X58D-E
Cooling Corsair H50 push/pull
Memory Kingston HyperX 1600 8GB
Video Card(s) Sapphire HD 7970 OC
Storage Plextor M5P 128GB/WD Black 2x1TB,1x6TB/Seagate 1TB
Display(s) Panasonic TC-L32U3
Case Antec DF-85
Audio Device(s) Yamaha RX-V371 AVR
Power Supply XFX 850w Black Edition
Mouse Logitech G402
Keyboard Logitech K120
Software W10 Pro 64 bit
Yeah , that's True. I got Pretty Grumpy with FC3 today When I Realized that Killing 3 Civilians Concurrently Get's you Killed by the Damn Game.:mad:
Just be glad the AI don't have a hive mind. For instance there's a part later on in the game where you obtain a disguise of a certain non native troop type. I ran into one of them by mistake driving up to one of the towers as I was unlocking the last of them.

The few that were there all opened fire on me and after I killed them a few more came. I was worried I'd blown my cover and rep with them, but the ones that came investigating were just looking for who did it and after I killed them and encountered more such troops elsewhere, they were none the wiser.

AI wise, a pretty good game, it's the weird story and characters I have issues with.
 
Joined
Mar 6, 2009
Messages
5,880 (1.83/day)
Likes
3,175
Location
Cybertron aka Canada
Processor Intel Core i5-3570K
Motherboard Asus P8Z77-V Pro
Cooling Noctua NH-D14
Memory 8GB Mushkin Blackline DDR3-1600
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX 670
Storage Intel 520 60GB, Seagate Barracuda XT 2TB
Display(s) BenQ 24" XL2420T
Case Corsair 550D
Audio Device(s) Sennheiser HD600, Audeze LCD-3F, Mytek Stereo 192 DSD, La Figaro 339, Burson HA-160, Geek Pulse X
Power Supply Corsair AX650
Mouse steelseries Sensei MLG edition
Keyboard Cooler Master QuickFire Pro
Software Windows 7 64-bit Home Premium
when you get the uniform they don't bug you at all. one of the towers has like 3 soldiers literally in front of the ladder. they don't care.
 
Joined
Dec 26, 2007
Messages
3,318 (0.91/day)
Likes
407
Location
Idaho
System Name War Machine
Processor Phenom II x 6 1090T @ 3.6
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-880GM-UD2H AM3
Cooling Thermaltake Frio
Memory G.SKILL Ripjaws DDR3 8GB 1600
Video Card(s) Asus Strix RX 470 8 GB
Storage Corsair F180 SSD 180GB-WD 1 TB Caviar Black
Display(s) 3 / 24" Dell or 1080p Projector
Case Coolermaster Elite 430
Audio Device(s) Realtek HD: 5.1 Technics DD / Plantronic Gamecom 7.1 headset
Power Supply Ultra LSP750 750-Watt
Mouse Utech Smart
Keyboard Steel Series
Software Windows 10 64-bit
I like the game so far and it plays really good on my laptop too. Toned it down to medium graphics , but it still looks great. I do see it'll have a bit of a learning curve, but so did FC2. Multiplayer is better then I expected, but I just bought Warfighter a month ago and was totally disappointed. It is a bit CODish , but I can live with that. If I want BF3ish , Aftermath just got released.
 
Joined
Mar 24, 2010
Messages
4,574 (1.62/day)
Likes
918
Location
Independent in Imperialistic
System Name Oh the name!
Processor i7 7700K
Motherboard MSI Z270 Xpower
Cooling EK 360 Extreme
Memory 16Gb G.Skill TridentZ 3866
Video Card(s) nVidia 1080 Ti Flanders Edition
Storage 1 Intel PCIE SSD750, 2 Sam 840Evo 1TB SSD, WD Black 2TB, Toshiba 3TB
Display(s) Acer Predator X1 (32")
Case Rajintek Paean
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply Corsair AX860
Mouse Mad Catz Pro X
Keyboard Corsair K70
Software W10Pro
SETTINGS:

Is there anyway to hack and give the far distance landscape more definition? It is quite a contrast to the higly detailed closer distance, sometimes it looks cartoonish.

thx
 
Joined
Nov 9, 2010
Messages
5,160 (1.99/day)
Likes
1,710
Processor Intel i7 950 @ 3.2GHz
Motherboard ASUS P6X58D-E
Cooling Corsair H50 push/pull
Memory Kingston HyperX 1600 8GB
Video Card(s) Sapphire HD 7970 OC
Storage Plextor M5P 128GB/WD Black 2x1TB,1x6TB/Seagate 1TB
Display(s) Panasonic TC-L32U3
Case Antec DF-85
Audio Device(s) Yamaha RX-V371 AVR
Power Supply XFX 850w Black Edition
Mouse Logitech G402
Keyboard Logitech K120
Software W10 Pro 64 bit
SETTINGS:

Is there anyway to hack and give the far distance landscape more definition? It is quite a contrast to the higly detailed closer distance, sometimes it looks cartoonish.

thx
Have you tried forcing AF to 16x in your GPU control panel?
 
Joined
Jul 19, 2008
Messages
1,160 (0.34/day)
Likes
236
Location
Australia
Processor Intel i7 4790K
Motherboard Asus Z97 Deluxe
Cooling Thermalright Ultra Extreme 120
Memory Corsair Dominator 1866Mhz 4X4GB
Video Card(s) Asus R290X
Storage Samsung 850 Pro SSD 256GB/Samsung 840 Evo SSD 1TB
Display(s) Samsung S23A950D
Case Corsair 850D
Audio Device(s) Onboard Realtek
Power Supply Corsair AX850
Mouse Logitech G502
Keyboard Logitech G710+
Software Windows 10 x64
I've almost finished the game, its pretty good but its annoying when my wallet fills up all the time when I'm collecting loot.

I have unlocked the bigger wallets so I can carry 10 grand, but it still fills up all the time. The other problem is I have bought every single gun, every single attachment like scopes and magazines etc for every gun. The only way left to spend money is on paintjobs, so I have to buy 6 paintjobs for every gun just to get rid of cash.

Anyone found another way to spend money? Oh I just thought of something I could play poker but with my luck I would win and my wallets full again lol. Either I'm missing something or its a flaw in the game. I'm the kind of guy that collects all the loot and hidden items so its a bit annoying.
 
Joined
Mar 6, 2009
Messages
5,880 (1.83/day)
Likes
3,175
Location
Cybertron aka Canada
Processor Intel Core i5-3570K
Motherboard Asus P8Z77-V Pro
Cooling Noctua NH-D14
Memory 8GB Mushkin Blackline DDR3-1600
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX 670
Storage Intel 520 60GB, Seagate Barracuda XT 2TB
Display(s) BenQ 24" XL2420T
Case Corsair 550D
Audio Device(s) Sennheiser HD600, Audeze LCD-3F, Mytek Stereo 192 DSD, La Figaro 339, Burson HA-160, Geek Pulse X
Power Supply Corsair AX650
Mouse steelseries Sensei MLG edition
Keyboard Cooler Master QuickFire Pro
Software Windows 7 64-bit Home Premium
I've almost finished the game, its pretty good but its annoying when my wallet fills up all the time when I'm collecting loot.

I have unlocked the bigger wallets so I can carry 10 grand, but it still fills up all the time. The other problem is I have bought every single gun, every single attachment like scopes and magazines etc for every gun. The only way left to spend money is on paintjobs, so I have to buy 6 paintjobs for every gun just to get rid of cash.

Anyone found another way to spend money? Oh I just thought of something I could play poker but with my luck I would win and my wallets full again lol. Either I'm missing something or its a flaw in the game. I'm the kind of guy that collects all the loot and hidden items so its a bit annoying.
the game has some pacing issues.
 
Joined
Mar 24, 2010
Messages
4,574 (1.62/day)
Likes
918
Location
Independent in Imperialistic
System Name Oh the name!
Processor i7 7700K
Motherboard MSI Z270 Xpower
Cooling EK 360 Extreme
Memory 16Gb G.Skill TridentZ 3866
Video Card(s) nVidia 1080 Ti Flanders Edition
Storage 1 Intel PCIE SSD750, 2 Sam 840Evo 1TB SSD, WD Black 2TB, Toshiba 3TB
Display(s) Acer Predator X1 (32")
Case Rajintek Paean
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply Corsair AX860
Mouse Mad Catz Pro X
Keyboard Corsair K70
Software W10Pro
Being the game in a 3rd world area, the option to get rid of money by donating to a NGO is imperious! Or support the building of hospitals and schools in those villages! ;)
 
Joined
Nov 26, 2004
Messages
4,382 (0.92/day)
Likes
1,512
Location
Canuck in Norway
System Name Hellbox 3.0(same case new guts)
Processor i7 4790K
Motherboard Asus Z97 Sabertooth Mark 1
Cooling TT Kandalf L.C.S.(Water/Air)AC Cuplex Kryos CPU Block/Noctua
Memory 2x8GB Corsair Vengance Pro 2400
Video Card(s) Sapphire Tri-X Fury (Unlocked to Fury X)
Storage WD Caviar Black SATA 3 1TB x2 RAID 0 2xSamsung 850 Evo 500GB RAID 0 1TB WD Blue
Display(s) ASUS MG279Q 1440 IPS 144Hz FreeSync
Case TT Kandalf L.C.S.
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster ZX/Logitech Z906 5.1
Power Supply Seasonic X-1050W 80+ Gold
Mouse G502 Proteus Spectrum
Keyboard G19s
Software Win 10 Pro x64
I've almost finished the game, its pretty good but its annoying when my wallet fills up all the time when I'm collecting loot.

I have unlocked the bigger wallets so I can carry 10 grand, but it still fills up all the time. The other problem is I have bought every single gun, every single attachment like scopes and magazines etc for every gun. The only way left to spend money is on paintjobs, so I have to buy 6 paintjobs for every gun just to get rid of cash.

Anyone found another way to spend money? Oh I just thought of something I could play poker but with my luck I would win and my wallets full again lol. Either I'm missing something or its a flaw in the game. I'm the kind of guy that collects all the loot and hidden items so its a bit annoying.
Bought all the maps? They can get pretty pricey.

Well I think I have the spotty performance licked. Was a combination of FordGT90's LAA(The game is not Large Address Aware) and disabling the uPlay Overlay. With that it never dropped below 55 if ever. I re-enabled the Overlay as a first test and right way it was doing the weird dips again.
I will flip LAA off again just for confirmation but the Overlay is definitely causing problems.
 
Joined
Nov 26, 2008
Messages
4,250 (1.28/day)
Likes
2,801
Location
S.Cali
System Name Freeman's Box (HL2 mod)
Processor Intel core i7 860 @ 3.6Ghz
Motherboard Asus Maximus III Formula P55
Cooling ApogeeXT/EK pump/ 140 rad x2
Memory Kingston HyperX 2166 8Gb
Video Card(s) Evga SSC GTX 970 4Gb
Storage SSD 840 250Gb, WD 640Gb
Display(s) 32" Samsung SyncMaster
Case NZXT Tempest Case
Audio Device(s) Creative SupremeFX
Power Supply Corsair TX 750W
Mouse Razer DeathAdder
Keyboard Razer Tarantula
Software Win.7 Home Prem. x64
Benchmark Scores Good enough ;)
Okay this is something that has been bothering me for the past week or so. There is like this invisible mirror-ish outline of my gun in some of the cut away scenes (even on the Radio Tower cutaways), but it doesn't happen all the time. Is this a glitch within the game or an issue with my card improperly performing with the video settings? See pics below:

Do you see my ak47?


How about now? :p

 
Joined
Nov 26, 2004
Messages
4,382 (0.92/day)
Likes
1,512
Location
Canuck in Norway
System Name Hellbox 3.0(same case new guts)
Processor i7 4790K
Motherboard Asus Z97 Sabertooth Mark 1
Cooling TT Kandalf L.C.S.(Water/Air)AC Cuplex Kryos CPU Block/Noctua
Memory 2x8GB Corsair Vengance Pro 2400
Video Card(s) Sapphire Tri-X Fury (Unlocked to Fury X)
Storage WD Caviar Black SATA 3 1TB x2 RAID 0 2xSamsung 850 Evo 500GB RAID 0 1TB WD Blue
Display(s) ASUS MG279Q 1440 IPS 144Hz FreeSync
Case TT Kandalf L.C.S.
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster ZX/Logitech Z906 5.1
Power Supply Seasonic X-1050W 80+ Gold
Mouse G502 Proteus Spectrum
Keyboard G19s
Software Win 10 Pro x64
Yeah and I was bit hasty with my solution. While it's a bit more consistent it's still doing those weird random dips...
 
Joined
Mar 24, 2010
Messages
4,574 (1.62/day)
Likes
918
Location
Independent in Imperialistic
System Name Oh the name!
Processor i7 7700K
Motherboard MSI Z270 Xpower
Cooling EK 360 Extreme
Memory 16Gb G.Skill TridentZ 3866
Video Card(s) nVidia 1080 Ti Flanders Edition
Storage 1 Intel PCIE SSD750, 2 Sam 840Evo 1TB SSD, WD Black 2TB, Toshiba 3TB
Display(s) Acer Predator X1 (32")
Case Rajintek Paean
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply Corsair AX860
Mouse Mad Catz Pro X
Keyboard Corsair K70
Software W10Pro
Have you tried forcing AF to 16x in your GPU control panel?
You mean Ansiotropic Filtering right?, 'cos AA 16X (over in-game max 8x) makes it looking yet nicer, but not better in the distances. :)

Ok tested AF and the distance is still washed out. Will look for a tweak ...

Found a list of tweaks and no, nothing makes this better.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Dec 26, 2007
Messages
3,318 (0.91/day)
Likes
407
Location
Idaho
System Name War Machine
Processor Phenom II x 6 1090T @ 3.6
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-880GM-UD2H AM3
Cooling Thermaltake Frio
Memory G.SKILL Ripjaws DDR3 8GB 1600
Video Card(s) Asus Strix RX 470 8 GB
Storage Corsair F180 SSD 180GB-WD 1 TB Caviar Black
Display(s) 3 / 24" Dell or 1080p Projector
Case Coolermaster Elite 430
Audio Device(s) Realtek HD: 5.1 Technics DD / Plantronic Gamecom 7.1 headset
Power Supply Ultra LSP750 750-Watt
Mouse Utech Smart
Keyboard Steel Series
Software Windows 10 64-bit
Anyone found another way to spend money? Oh I just thought of something I could play poker but with my luck I would win and my wallets full again lol. .
Crack and Hookers will drain it fast :roll:
 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
46,124 (9.57/day)
Likes
13,556
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Daddy Long Legs
Processor Ryzen R7 1700, 3.9GHz 1.375v
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming PRO carbon
Cooling Fractal Celsius S24 (Silent fans, meh pump)
Memory 16GB 2133 generic @ 2800
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS modded to Gaming Z - faster and solved black screen bugs!)
Storage 1TB Intel SSD Pro 6000p (60TB USB3 storage)
Display(s) Samsung 4K 40" HDTV (UA40KU6000WXXY) / 27" Qnix 2K 110Hz
Case Fractal Design R5. So much room, so quiet...
Audio Device(s) Pioneer VSX-519V + Yamaha YHT-270 / sennheiser HD595/518 + bob marley zion's
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G403 + KKmoon desk-sized mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB
anyone know a fix to the problem where far cry 3 eats your save games? (or more accurately, they're still there but the game doesnt see them to load them)
 
Joined
Apr 12, 2010
Messages
207 (0.07/day)
Likes
46
Location
Houston,TX
System Name About_To_Be_Replaced
Processor AMD Deneb 955 OC to 3.82GHz
Motherboard ASUS M4A88TD-V EVO/USB3
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212+
Memory CORSAIR XMS3 8GB (2 x 4GB) DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) SAPPHIRE Vapor-X Radeon HD 5770 (Juniper XT) 1GB
Storage Crucial RealSSD C300 64GB SATA III (SSD)
Display(s) Samsung 2770HD
Case COOLER MASTER HAF 912 Mid Tower
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply CORSAIR Enthusiast Series CMPSU-650TX 650W
Software Win 7 64 Bit Home Edition SP1
Benchmark Scores Build 1: Listed Specs Build 2: Waiting for SteamRoller
Saw this solution on another site - hope this works

Go to your file where the game is saved, example Computer/C; program files (x86)/ Ubisoft/ Farcry3/ bin and find the file FC3Updater, right click it and go to properties>Compatibility tab and towards the bottom you will see a check box for run this program as administrator (Check the box and hit apply) do the same for the farcry3 exe(application) file as well and you should be good to go
 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
46,124 (9.57/day)
Likes
13,556
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Daddy Long Legs
Processor Ryzen R7 1700, 3.9GHz 1.375v
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming PRO carbon
Cooling Fractal Celsius S24 (Silent fans, meh pump)
Memory 16GB 2133 generic @ 2800
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS modded to Gaming Z - faster and solved black screen bugs!)
Storage 1TB Intel SSD Pro 6000p (60TB USB3 storage)
Display(s) Samsung 4K 40" HDTV (UA40KU6000WXXY) / 27" Qnix 2K 110Hz
Case Fractal Design R5. So much room, so quiet...
Audio Device(s) Pioneer VSX-519V + Yamaha YHT-270 / sennheiser HD595/518 + bob marley zion's
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G403 + KKmoon desk-sized mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB
nope, didnt work :(

anyone got a save game after all the tutorial crap, so i can skip wasting 30 minutes each time i try this?
 
Joined
Nov 26, 2004
Messages
4,382 (0.92/day)
Likes
1,512
Location
Canuck in Norway
System Name Hellbox 3.0(same case new guts)
Processor i7 4790K
Motherboard Asus Z97 Sabertooth Mark 1
Cooling TT Kandalf L.C.S.(Water/Air)AC Cuplex Kryos CPU Block/Noctua
Memory 2x8GB Corsair Vengance Pro 2400
Video Card(s) Sapphire Tri-X Fury (Unlocked to Fury X)
Storage WD Caviar Black SATA 3 1TB x2 RAID 0 2xSamsung 850 Evo 500GB RAID 0 1TB WD Blue
Display(s) ASUS MG279Q 1440 IPS 144Hz FreeSync
Case TT Kandalf L.C.S.
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster ZX/Logitech Z906 5.1
Power Supply Seasonic X-1050W 80+ Gold
Mouse G502 Proteus Spectrum
Keyboard G19s
Software Win 10 Pro x64
Well I played some Co-op today(Actually I played alot of it) It's a completely different story with different characters(There's an Intro Film you can watch to get the plot) It's really quite fun. But of course between the P2P hosting and the inconsistent performance it can get pretty frustrating too. It would be pretty much awesome if it wasn't "hiccuping" all the time.
 
Joined
Nov 26, 2004
Messages
4,382 (0.92/day)
Likes
1,512
Location
Canuck in Norway
System Name Hellbox 3.0(same case new guts)
Processor i7 4790K
Motherboard Asus Z97 Sabertooth Mark 1
Cooling TT Kandalf L.C.S.(Water/Air)AC Cuplex Kryos CPU Block/Noctua
Memory 2x8GB Corsair Vengance Pro 2400
Video Card(s) Sapphire Tri-X Fury (Unlocked to Fury X)
Storage WD Caviar Black SATA 3 1TB x2 RAID 0 2xSamsung 850 Evo 500GB RAID 0 1TB WD Blue
Display(s) ASUS MG279Q 1440 IPS 144Hz FreeSync
Case TT Kandalf L.C.S.
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster ZX/Logitech Z906 5.1
Power Supply Seasonic X-1050W 80+ Gold
Mouse G502 Proteus Spectrum
Keyboard G19s
Software Win 10 Pro x64
anyone know a fix to the problem where far cry 3 eats your save games? (or more accurately, they're still there but the game doesnt see them to load them)
Sorry for the double post but I feel bad for Mussels. I found THIS over on the Steam forums and it does make sense seeing as uPlay uses Cloud Saves. Certainly worth a try anyway
 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
46,124 (9.57/day)
Likes
13,556
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Daddy Long Legs
Processor Ryzen R7 1700, 3.9GHz 1.375v
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming PRO carbon
Cooling Fractal Celsius S24 (Silent fans, meh pump)
Memory 16GB 2133 generic @ 2800
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS modded to Gaming Z - faster and solved black screen bugs!)
Storage 1TB Intel SSD Pro 6000p (60TB USB3 storage)
Display(s) Samsung 4K 40" HDTV (UA40KU6000WXXY) / 27" Qnix 2K 110Hz
Case Fractal Design R5. So much room, so quiet...
Audio Device(s) Pioneer VSX-519V + Yamaha YHT-270 / sennheiser HD595/518 + bob marley zion's
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G403 + KKmoon desk-sized mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB
still no luck :/


i've got the savegame files, but i cant make the game recognise them.
 
Joined
Nov 26, 2008
Messages
4,250 (1.28/day)
Likes
2,801
Location
S.Cali
System Name Freeman's Box (HL2 mod)
Processor Intel core i7 860 @ 3.6Ghz
Motherboard Asus Maximus III Formula P55
Cooling ApogeeXT/EK pump/ 140 rad x2
Memory Kingston HyperX 2166 8Gb
Video Card(s) Evga SSC GTX 970 4Gb
Storage SSD 840 250Gb, WD 640Gb
Display(s) 32" Samsung SyncMaster
Case NZXT Tempest Case
Audio Device(s) Creative SupremeFX
Power Supply Corsair TX 750W
Mouse Razer DeathAdder
Keyboard Razer Tarantula
Software Win.7 Home Prem. x64
Benchmark Scores Good enough ;)
I can't seem to get FRAPS to work with this game, any ideas? Or maybe use a different program? I decided to max all settings to see how my Asus DCII 570 would handle everything, so far feels very smooth but I am curious what my frame rates are.
 

1Kurgan1

The Knife in your Back
Joined
Dec 8, 2008
Messages
10,412 (3.16/day)
Likes
2,391
Location
Duluth, Minnesota
System Name My Comp | Fiancees Comp
Processor i7 5820k @ 4.6Ghz 1.285v| i5 2500k
Motherboard MSI x99 SLI Plus | AsRock Z77 Pro 3
Cooling Watercooled
Memory 16GB DDR4 2400 @ 2666 | 12GB DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) AMD R9 290x | MSI 5850 OC
Storage 128gb SSD + 2x 2TB | 2TB
Display(s) Asus 27" LCD | 25" Hanns G
Case CM Storm | CM Elite 430
Audio Device(s) Creative Recon 3D PCIe
Power Supply Enermax Galaxy 1250W | Rosewill 630w
Mouse Logitech G700s | Logitech G100s
Keyboard Logitech G901 | Logitech G105
Software Win 8.1 Ultimate x64 | Win 8.1 Ultimate x64
Benchmark Scores 3D Mark - Fire Strike Extreme - 4403
I can't seem to get FRAPS to work with this game, any ideas? Or maybe use a different program? I decided to max all settings to see how my Asus DCII 570 would handle everything, so far feels very smooth but I am curious what my frame rates are.
I use Dxtory and it works great. Shows FPS and all and barely impacts my game FPS, if you are curious on the results then link to my vids is in my signature. I also use the Lagarith Codec.