• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Far Cry 3 - Island Survival Guide

Joined
Dec 26, 2007
Messages
3,318 (0.91/day)
Likes
407
Location
Idaho
System Name War Machine
Processor Phenom II x 6 1090T @ 3.6
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-880GM-UD2H AM3
Cooling Thermaltake Frio
Memory G.SKILL Ripjaws DDR3 8GB 1600
Video Card(s) Asus Strix RX 470 8 GB
Storage Corsair F180 SSD 180GB-WD 1 TB Caviar Black
Display(s) 3 / 24" Dell or 1080p Projector
Case Coolermaster Elite 430
Audio Device(s) Realtek HD: 5.1 Technics DD / Plantronic Gamecom 7.1 headset
Power Supply Ultra LSP750 750-Watt
Mouse Utech Smart
Keyboard Steel Series
Software Windows 10 64-bit
LOL, I was eating Cheerios before they even came out with the Honey Nut ones
I was drinking beer legally the year they came out with Honey Nut Cherrios :roll::roll::roll:
I have been unlocking radio towers. Going to the Medusa !
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jul 19, 2008
Messages
1,157 (0.34/day)
Likes
236
Location
Australia
Processor Intel i7 4790K
Motherboard Asus Z97 Deluxe
Cooling Thermalright Ultra Extreme 120
Memory Corsair Dominator 1866Mhz 4X4GB
Video Card(s) Asus R290X
Storage Samsung 850 Pro SSD 256GB/Samsung 840 Evo SSD 1TB
Display(s) Samsung S23A950D
Case Corsair 850D
Audio Device(s) Onboard Realtek
Power Supply Corsair AX850
Mouse Logitech G502
Keyboard Logitech G710+
Software Windows 10 x64
give me some fun things to do, as a new far cry 3 player
Depends whats fun to you but just play the game, the side shooting missions are pretty fun, not the target shooting but where you have to kill as many guys in 60 seconds or something. There are some cool places to find and wild animals.

You gotta try to unlock stuff as fast as you can so you get good guns, more health and unlock more gun slots so you can carry more weapons etc and dont forget to use your skill points. Liberate as many towers as you can early so you get to see the map properly.
 
Joined
Dec 26, 2007
Messages
3,318 (0.91/day)
Likes
407
Location
Idaho
System Name War Machine
Processor Phenom II x 6 1090T @ 3.6
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-880GM-UD2H AM3
Cooling Thermaltake Frio
Memory G.SKILL Ripjaws DDR3 8GB 1600
Video Card(s) Asus Strix RX 470 8 GB
Storage Corsair F180 SSD 180GB-WD 1 TB Caviar Black
Display(s) 3 / 24" Dell or 1080p Projector
Case Coolermaster Elite 430
Audio Device(s) Realtek HD: 5.1 Technics DD / Plantronic Gamecom 7.1 headset
Power Supply Ultra LSP750 750-Watt
Mouse Utech Smart
Keyboard Steel Series
Software Windows 10 64-bit
Depends whats fun to you but just play the game, the side shooting missions are pretty fun, not the target shooting but where you have to kill as many guys in 60 seconds or something. There are some cool places to find and wild animals.

You gotta try to unlock stuff as fast as you can so you get good guns, more health and unlock more gun slots so you can carry more weapons etc and dont forget to use your skill points. Liberate as many towers as you can early so you get to see the map properly.
Yeah what he said : ) I'm unlocking towers and picking up a few side missions along the way and securing bases. I don't do much sneaking I just go in balls out. I did blow the lock off a Tiger cage and let him do the work and then killed him and skinned him. I am now currently gonna to do the Medusa Mission, but I'm coming in from the backside. Most Vid's I've seen come from the other direction. I'll see how it pans out tonight. There is defintely a lot to do just by roaming the map. Shit comes at you everywhere you go. :laugh:
 
Joined
Nov 9, 2010
Messages
5,160 (1.99/day)
Likes
1,709
Processor Intel i7 950 @ 3.2GHz
Motherboard ASUS P6X58D-E
Cooling Corsair H50 push/pull
Memory Kingston HyperX 1600 8GB
Video Card(s) Sapphire HD 7970 OC
Storage Plextor M5P 128GB/WD Black 2x1TB,1x6TB/Seagate 1TB
Display(s) Panasonic TC-L32U3
Case Antec DF-85
Audio Device(s) Yamaha RX-V371 AVR
Power Supply XFX 850w Black Edition
Mouse Logitech G402
Keyboard Logitech K120
Software W10 Pro 64 bit
give me some fun things to do, as a new far cry 3 player
I find there's often more fun in what the game throws at you, vs what you look for. I was doing one of those kill the guy with a knife side missions and after I'd stealthily taken out all his crew from a distance with a silenced sniper rifle, I'm sneaking up on him to get a takedown and a tiger charges him and knocks him over giving him a facial while I rush up and barely knife him in time to get the kill. What's really odd though is I've once had the same happen with rebels interrupting and even though the target got shot by them vs knifed by me, it said mission success.

Just before ending my session tonight I was desperately trying to find a safe way to get to the Uplay bonus points downloadable mission Testing Unit before clearing outposts in that area. Then when I thought it was safe to enter the starting spot this bear that was spooked by some pirates driving by goes running frantically through the ruins by the entrance and we kinda startled each other.

I downed him with the shotgun and thought I could skin him and jump in the entrance before the pirates came to investigate, but wouldn't you know it that damn slow arse skinning animation got me. So I'm still looking for one more bear hide for one of my ammo bags, forgot which one.
 
Joined
Dec 26, 2007
Messages
3,318 (0.91/day)
Likes
407
Location
Idaho
System Name War Machine
Processor Phenom II x 6 1090T @ 3.6
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-880GM-UD2H AM3
Cooling Thermaltake Frio
Memory G.SKILL Ripjaws DDR3 8GB 1600
Video Card(s) Asus Strix RX 470 8 GB
Storage Corsair F180 SSD 180GB-WD 1 TB Caviar Black
Display(s) 3 / 24" Dell or 1080p Projector
Case Coolermaster Elite 430
Audio Device(s) Realtek HD: 5.1 Technics DD / Plantronic Gamecom 7.1 headset
Power Supply Ultra LSP750 750-Watt
Mouse Utech Smart
Keyboard Steel Series
Software Windows 10 64-bit
I downed him with the shotgun and thought I could skin him and jump in the entrance before the pirates came to investigate, but wouldn't you know it that damn slow arse skinning animation got me. So I'm still looking for one more bear hide for one of my ammo bags, forgot which one.
Same thing happened to me with a Tiger. It was the first one I had skinned and didn't realize they took longer so the timing of that got me gunned down.

Medusa and the Sawmill were pretty easy. I'm gonna do the prison
break and then on a radio tower quest and unlock 3 or 4.;)
 
Last edited:
Joined
Nov 9, 2010
Messages
5,160 (1.99/day)
Likes
1,709
Processor Intel i7 950 @ 3.2GHz
Motherboard ASUS P6X58D-E
Cooling Corsair H50 push/pull
Memory Kingston HyperX 1600 8GB
Video Card(s) Sapphire HD 7970 OC
Storage Plextor M5P 128GB/WD Black 2x1TB,1x6TB/Seagate 1TB
Display(s) Panasonic TC-L32U3
Case Antec DF-85
Audio Device(s) Yamaha RX-V371 AVR
Power Supply XFX 850w Black Edition
Mouse Logitech G402
Keyboard Logitech K120
Software W10 Pro 64 bit
Medusa and the Sawmill were pretty easy. I'm gonna do the prison break and then on a radio tower quest and unlock 3 or 4.;)
Easy, but fun. This time I used total stealth at the Sawmill via tossing rocks. First to lure the tiger toward the camp, then to take out the remaining enemies one by one by hiding in a bush and throwing rocks closer and closer to it until I can get a takedown and drag them out of sight.

The Prison Break mission is a bit harder to do with total stealth due to the entrance camp layout, AI placement and darkness of the cave, but it's certainly possible.

One thing I gotta try eventually is Death from Above using a glider. There ought to be a special achievement just for that. I've read some chat indicating some are saying DfA is not possible from hang glider or parachute though. Which could mean the only way to get the Never Saw it Coming trophy is via a zip line.
 
Joined
Feb 14, 2009
Messages
1,251 (0.39/day)
Likes
166
Location
Delhi,India
System Name Mr. 97
Processor Intel Core i7 4790k @4.6GHz
Motherboard MSI Gaming 5 Z97
Cooling Nepton 240M + 6 Case fans
Memory Kingston HyperX Fury @2200MHz 16GB (2x8GB)
Video Card(s) MSI GTX970 Gaming 4G @ 1552MHz
Storage WD Cavier Green 1TB 64 MB Cache @7200RPM
Display(s) LG 29UB67 21:9 2560x1080
Case Cooler Master cm690
Audio Device(s) on Board
Power Supply Corsair RM750 750W PSU
Mouse Logitech G400s
Keyboard TVS Gold from 1996
Software Windows 10.1 64BIT
Can anybody recommend me the settings to run this game, I am getting preety low fps ranging from 23 to 32fps.
my specs are given
 
Joined
Oct 29, 2010
Messages
2,944 (1.13/day)
Likes
1,379
System Name The Sheriff / The Deputy
Processor 2500K / G4560
Motherboard ASRock P67Extreme4 / Gigabyte GA-Z170-HD3 DDR3
Cooling CM Hyper TX3 / Intel stock
Memory 16 GB Kingston HyperX / 8 GB Kingston HyperX
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 960 SSC / Gigabyte GTX 1050 Ti LP
Storage SSD, some WD and lots of Samsungs
Display(s) BenQ GW2470 / Samsung SyncMaster T220
Case Cooler Master CM690 II Advanced / Thermaltake Core v31
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar D1/Denon PMA500AE/Wharfedale D 10.1/Senn HD518
Power Supply Corsair TX650 / Corsair TX650M
Mouse Steelseries Rival 100/ Mionix Avior 7000
Keyboard Sidewinder
Software Windows 10 / Windows 10 Pro
First get the latest NV drivers, 310.70 if you don't already have them installed. Use SSAO and 2xMSAA if you want higher FPS.
 
Joined
Feb 14, 2009
Messages
1,251 (0.39/day)
Likes
166
Location
Delhi,India
System Name Mr. 97
Processor Intel Core i7 4790k @4.6GHz
Motherboard MSI Gaming 5 Z97
Cooling Nepton 240M + 6 Case fans
Memory Kingston HyperX Fury @2200MHz 16GB (2x8GB)
Video Card(s) MSI GTX970 Gaming 4G @ 1552MHz
Storage WD Cavier Green 1TB 64 MB Cache @7200RPM
Display(s) LG 29UB67 21:9 2560x1080
Case Cooler Master cm690
Audio Device(s) on Board
Power Supply Corsair RM750 750W PSU
Mouse Logitech G400s
Keyboard TVS Gold from 1996
Software Windows 10.1 64BIT
First get the latest NV drivers, 310.70 if you don't already have them installed. Use SSAO and 2xMSAA if you want higher FPS.
got latest drivers , using SSAO but no MSAA because it usually decreases my fps in most of the games.
 
Joined
Dec 26, 2007
Messages
3,318 (0.91/day)
Likes
407
Location
Idaho
System Name War Machine
Processor Phenom II x 6 1090T @ 3.6
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-880GM-UD2H AM3
Cooling Thermaltake Frio
Memory G.SKILL Ripjaws DDR3 8GB 1600
Video Card(s) Asus Strix RX 470 8 GB
Storage Corsair F180 SSD 180GB-WD 1 TB Caviar Black
Display(s) 3 / 24" Dell or 1080p Projector
Case Coolermaster Elite 430
Audio Device(s) Realtek HD: 5.1 Technics DD / Plantronic Gamecom 7.1 headset
Power Supply Ultra LSP750 750-Watt
Mouse Utech Smart
Keyboard Steel Series
Software Windows 10 64-bit
The Prison Break mission is a bit harder to do with total stealth due to the entrance camp layout, AI placement and darkness of the cave, but it's certainly possible.
Exactly where I shut it down last night, because they are all running at me before I even stepped inside. Got to research and figure out my weapons key.
Need some nades and C-4 , but haven't used them yet so I need some practice.
 
Joined
Oct 29, 2010
Messages
2,944 (1.13/day)
Likes
1,379
System Name The Sheriff / The Deputy
Processor 2500K / G4560
Motherboard ASRock P67Extreme4 / Gigabyte GA-Z170-HD3 DDR3
Cooling CM Hyper TX3 / Intel stock
Memory 16 GB Kingston HyperX / 8 GB Kingston HyperX
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 960 SSC / Gigabyte GTX 1050 Ti LP
Storage SSD, some WD and lots of Samsungs
Display(s) BenQ GW2470 / Samsung SyncMaster T220
Case Cooler Master CM690 II Advanced / Thermaltake Core v31
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar D1/Denon PMA500AE/Wharfedale D 10.1/Senn HD518
Power Supply Corsair TX650 / Corsair TX650M
Mouse Steelseries Rival 100/ Mionix Avior 7000
Keyboard Sidewinder
Software Windows 10 / Windows 10 Pro
got latest drivers , using SSAO but no MSAA because it usually decreases my fps in most of the games.
I have a GTX570 running at 800MHz, 4xMSAA and HDAO (most taxing AO), everything else on max, same monitor as you I get around 30FPS. You should have a few more with your 580. If you use the same settings and get less than 30FPS then something is wrong. Maybe running your CPU at stock has an effect, I'm at 4.2 with my Sandy Bridge. The game also is very inconsistent in keeping the framerates so you might want to check other forums for tweaks.
 
Joined
Nov 9, 2010
Messages
5,160 (1.99/day)
Likes
1,709
Processor Intel i7 950 @ 3.2GHz
Motherboard ASUS P6X58D-E
Cooling Corsair H50 push/pull
Memory Kingston HyperX 1600 8GB
Video Card(s) Sapphire HD 7970 OC
Storage Plextor M5P 128GB/WD Black 2x1TB,1x6TB/Seagate 1TB
Display(s) Panasonic TC-L32U3
Case Antec DF-85
Audio Device(s) Yamaha RX-V371 AVR
Power Supply XFX 850w Black Edition
Mouse Logitech G402
Keyboard Logitech K120
Software W10 Pro 64 bit
I'd like someone with an Nvidia card to run a bench on this game and tell us what the min and max frames are, because some are reporting consistent frames, others seem to indicate a range of frames, albeit not as broad a one as AMD cards seem to get.

Mine can range from 35-60 FPS on my 7970, but since that's with VSync on resulting in a 60Hz cap, the window is probably even wider than that. One here has said he gets a fair bit of texture pop-ins on his Nvidia card though, which I've not had a problem with on my 7970.

I can't imagine running this game at 30 FPS average. The lowest I've ever set my DxTory frame rate limiter to is 40. Then again, if the frame rate window is tight enough, some games can run well at 30 FPS. I've been resistant to it, but I may try a 30 FPS cap just for the hell of it.

I'll probably have to disable the Uplay overlay just to see if it stays at 30 FPS, because DxTory's frame counter doesn't work with it on. BTW, I didn't know Nvidia cards could do HDAO. Some have said it's only AMD cards that can.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Oct 29, 2010
Messages
2,944 (1.13/day)
Likes
1,379
System Name The Sheriff / The Deputy
Processor 2500K / G4560
Motherboard ASRock P67Extreme4 / Gigabyte GA-Z170-HD3 DDR3
Cooling CM Hyper TX3 / Intel stock
Memory 16 GB Kingston HyperX / 8 GB Kingston HyperX
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 960 SSC / Gigabyte GTX 1050 Ti LP
Storage SSD, some WD and lots of Samsungs
Display(s) BenQ GW2470 / Samsung SyncMaster T220
Case Cooler Master CM690 II Advanced / Thermaltake Core v31
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar D1/Denon PMA500AE/Wharfedale D 10.1/Senn HD518
Power Supply Corsair TX650 / Corsair TX650M
Mouse Steelseries Rival 100/ Mionix Avior 7000
Keyboard Sidewinder
Software Windows 10 / Windows 10 Pro
In fact (sadly) HDAO is the best looking, both SSAO and HBAO offer some not-so-pleasant dark halo/shadow on every person/object. I can understand because this game is supported by AMD.
HDAO works on NV but it hits hard on performance.
 
Joined
Nov 9, 2010
Messages
5,160 (1.99/day)
Likes
1,709
Processor Intel i7 950 @ 3.2GHz
Motherboard ASUS P6X58D-E
Cooling Corsair H50 push/pull
Memory Kingston HyperX 1600 8GB
Video Card(s) Sapphire HD 7970 OC
Storage Plextor M5P 128GB/WD Black 2x1TB,1x6TB/Seagate 1TB
Display(s) Panasonic TC-L32U3
Case Antec DF-85
Audio Device(s) Yamaha RX-V371 AVR
Power Supply XFX 850w Black Edition
Mouse Logitech G402
Keyboard Logitech K120
Software W10 Pro 64 bit
In fact (sadly) HDAO is the best looking, both SSAO and HBAO offer some not-so-pleasant dark halo/shadow on every person/object. I can understand because this game is supported by AMD.
HDAO works on NV but it hits hard on performance.
Correct me if I'm wrong, but from my understanding SSAO is a planar (2D) full screen AO, HBAO a 2D horizontally implemented full screen AO, and HDAO the only one that is true 3D, full screen, full space AO?

Like I said, didn't know Nvidia cards could even do HDAO, but if there's a big performance hit I imagine many prefer not to use it. What I don't get is why this game shows SSAO and HBAO with those dark silhouettes. I've never seen that with any other game, and it's yet another reason I feel this game is not very polished in graphics or performance.

I was hoping the dust clouds vehicles kick up would look a lot more realistic on HDAO, and I suppose they do some, but there's still this darkness mixed in with the dust and it just doesn't look real at all. Hell, even DiRT 2 has far more realistic vehicle dust clouds than this game, and it came out 3 yrs ago.
 
Joined
Feb 14, 2009
Messages
1,251 (0.39/day)
Likes
166
Location
Delhi,India
System Name Mr. 97
Processor Intel Core i7 4790k @4.6GHz
Motherboard MSI Gaming 5 Z97
Cooling Nepton 240M + 6 Case fans
Memory Kingston HyperX Fury @2200MHz 16GB (2x8GB)
Video Card(s) MSI GTX970 Gaming 4G @ 1552MHz
Storage WD Cavier Green 1TB 64 MB Cache @7200RPM
Display(s) LG 29UB67 21:9 2560x1080
Case Cooler Master cm690
Audio Device(s) on Board
Power Supply Corsair RM750 750W PSU
Mouse Logitech G400s
Keyboard TVS Gold from 1996
Software Windows 10.1 64BIT
I have a GTX570 running at 800MHz, 4xMSAA and HDAO (most taxing AO), everything else on max, same monitor as you I get around 30FPS. You should have a few more with your 580. If you use the same settings and get less than 30FPS then something is wrong. Maybe running your CPU at stock has an effect, I'm at 4.2 with my Sandy Bridge. The game also is very inconsistent in keeping the framerates so you might want to check other forums for tweaks.
Fidled with settings more , now i get around 36 to 50 fps with everything on veryhigh and no MSAA and using SSAO
 
Joined
Jul 19, 2008
Messages
1,157 (0.34/day)
Likes
236
Location
Australia
Processor Intel i7 4790K
Motherboard Asus Z97 Deluxe
Cooling Thermalright Ultra Extreme 120
Memory Corsair Dominator 1866Mhz 4X4GB
Video Card(s) Asus R290X
Storage Samsung 850 Pro SSD 256GB/Samsung 840 Evo SSD 1TB
Display(s) Samsung S23A950D
Case Corsair 850D
Audio Device(s) Onboard Realtek
Power Supply Corsair AX850
Mouse Logitech G502
Keyboard Logitech G710+
Software Windows 10 x64
I'd like someone with an Nvidia card to run a bench on this game and tell us what the min and max frames are, because some are reporting consistent frames, others seem to indicate a range of frames, albeit not as broad a one as AMD cards seem to get.

.
Im running a 680 lightning, usually an amd guy but testing this 680 for the moment.

Settings on ultra, SSAO, 4x AA I get 45-65 fps, but sits fairly consistently at 50-60 fps
If I drop the settings a little I can keep it above 60. Feels smooth but I am running a 120Hz monitor too so it helps with the appearance of smoothness.

I notice theres another update today.
 
Joined
Aug 23, 2009
Messages
2,454 (0.81/day)
Likes
593
Location
Rockvale TN (Not Australia)
System Name Current gamer
Processor Intel 980X
Motherboard Evga Classified
Cooling Phanteks
Memory 12 GB
Video Card(s) VisionTek 7970
Storage Samsung 256GB ssd - WD 1TB
Display(s) ASUS 144Hz
Case NZXT Phantom Enthusiast
Power Supply Antec 1200
Software Win 7 64
Having great fun with this game. I'm left to wonder what would have happened if I sided with Citra...guess I'll have to play it again to find out lol. Right now I'm concentrating on putting my name an rocks haha!

 

de.das.dude

Pro Indian Modder
Joined
Jun 13, 2010
Messages
8,201 (2.99/day)
Likes
2,389
Location
Pune
System Name la de da... | Samsung NP355V5C-S05IN
Processor FX 8320 | AMD A8-4500
Motherboard ASRock 990FX Extreme 4 | Samsung something something
Cooling CM Hyper 212 EVO push:pull+ 1 panaflow 113CFM + 2 x 120mm NZXTs | Coolermaster Notepal
Memory 2x4GB DDR3 Corsair Vengeance 1600MHz CL9 | Samsunng 4GB + 2GB DDR3 1600MHz
Video Card(s) AMD 7790 GHZ edition! | 7670M + 7640G
Storage 1TB WD10EZEX | W.D 500GB Green AADS | Samsung 1TB
Display(s) dell S2240l 1080p IPS 21.5" | Samsung antiglare 15.6"
Case NZXT Guardian 921RB(@home) and Antec ASK4000B U3(Current)
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC892 with THX True Studio | Realtek something
Power Supply Corsair GS600 | 90W Brick, 6 cell 48000mAh battery
Mouse Logitech G400, GOD TIER MOUSE!! LOGitech F310 gamepad!
Keyboard Logitech K200
Software Windows 8.1 x64 | Windows 8.1 x64
Benchmark Scores real men do bench presses not bench marks.
this game is nice
 
Joined
Nov 9, 2010
Messages
5,160 (1.99/day)
Likes
1,709
Processor Intel i7 950 @ 3.2GHz
Motherboard ASUS P6X58D-E
Cooling Corsair H50 push/pull
Memory Kingston HyperX 1600 8GB
Video Card(s) Sapphire HD 7970 OC
Storage Plextor M5P 128GB/WD Black 2x1TB,1x6TB/Seagate 1TB
Display(s) Panasonic TC-L32U3
Case Antec DF-85
Audio Device(s) Yamaha RX-V371 AVR
Power Supply XFX 850w Black Edition
Mouse Logitech G402
Keyboard Logitech K120
Software W10 Pro 64 bit
I'm left to wonder what would have happened if I sided with Citra...


In reading too quickly about the game in a post the other day, I found out you
die
if you side with her.

I've been playing mostly Hitman Absolution lately, currently on Expert. It's weird how even after the disguise and difficulty tweaks in the latest patch, there are still parts that are way too easy, and others that are a bit harder than they should be.
 

MxPhenom 216

Corsair Fanboy
Joined
Aug 31, 2010
Messages
12,129 (4.56/day)
Likes
3,697
Location
Seattle, WA
System Name The Battlestation
Processor Intel Core i7 4770k @ 4.2GHZ 1.275v
Motherboard MSi Z97 Gaming 5
Cooling EK Supremacy w/ EK Coolstream PE360
Memory G. Skill Trident X 16Gb (4x4GB) 2400mhz @ 1.65v
Video Card(s) MSi GTX1070 Gaming X 8GB @ 2GHz
Storage Samsung 830 128GB SSD, Crucial MX200 500GB, Seagate Barracuda 2TB (2x 1TB Partitions)
Display(s) Qnix QX2710 27" 2560 x 1440 PLS @ 100hz
Case Phantek Enthoo Evolv ATX TG
Audio Device(s) MSi Gaming AudioBoost ALC1150 w/ Sennheiser Game Ones
Power Supply Seasonic Flagship Prime Platinum 850
Mouse Steelseries Rival 310 w/ QCK Mass mat
Keyboard Corsair K70 w/ MX Browns and Red Backlit
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-Bit
Benchmark Scores Firestrike: 15439
I just got this game, and it crashes randomly sometimes for me. Like itll lock, go black screen to my desktop and i can still see the icon down in the taskbar, and i can still hear sound coming from the game. Task Manager says its not responding. I don't get any driver error messages or anything. My system runs every other game just fine with overclocks where they are and such. I did read bumping some voltages for CPU and memory has fixed it for a lot of people. Just wondering if anyone from the good ol' TPU has had an issue like this.
 
Joined
Nov 9, 2010
Messages
5,160 (1.99/day)
Likes
1,709
Processor Intel i7 950 @ 3.2GHz
Motherboard ASUS P6X58D-E
Cooling Corsair H50 push/pull
Memory Kingston HyperX 1600 8GB
Video Card(s) Sapphire HD 7970 OC
Storage Plextor M5P 128GB/WD Black 2x1TB,1x6TB/Seagate 1TB
Display(s) Panasonic TC-L32U3
Case Antec DF-85
Audio Device(s) Yamaha RX-V371 AVR
Power Supply XFX 850w Black Edition
Mouse Logitech G402
Keyboard Logitech K120
Software W10 Pro 64 bit
Just wondering if anyone from the good ol' TPU has had an issue like this.
I did, and despite my trying to convey that the game is horribly optimized for CPU, RAM and GPU, some still insist it's an unstable OC causing it.

Some games are just rushed together anymore. They don't seem to care if they cause havoc with your system, as long as they get your money.
 

MxPhenom 216

Corsair Fanboy
Joined
Aug 31, 2010
Messages
12,129 (4.56/day)
Likes
3,697
Location
Seattle, WA
System Name The Battlestation
Processor Intel Core i7 4770k @ 4.2GHZ 1.275v
Motherboard MSi Z97 Gaming 5
Cooling EK Supremacy w/ EK Coolstream PE360
Memory G. Skill Trident X 16Gb (4x4GB) 2400mhz @ 1.65v
Video Card(s) MSi GTX1070 Gaming X 8GB @ 2GHz
Storage Samsung 830 128GB SSD, Crucial MX200 500GB, Seagate Barracuda 2TB (2x 1TB Partitions)
Display(s) Qnix QX2710 27" 2560 x 1440 PLS @ 100hz
Case Phantek Enthoo Evolv ATX TG
Audio Device(s) MSi Gaming AudioBoost ALC1150 w/ Sennheiser Game Ones
Power Supply Seasonic Flagship Prime Platinum 850
Mouse Steelseries Rival 310 w/ QCK Mass mat
Keyboard Corsair K70 w/ MX Browns and Red Backlit
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-Bit
Benchmark Scores Firestrike: 15439
I did, and despite my trying to convey that the game is horribly optimized for CPU, RAM and GPU, some still insist it's an unstable OC causing it.

Some games are just rushed together anymore. They don't seem to care if they cause havoc with your system, as long as they get your money.
So what did you do to reduce it or stop it completely?
 
Joined
Nov 9, 2010
Messages
5,160 (1.99/day)
Likes
1,709
Processor Intel i7 950 @ 3.2GHz
Motherboard ASUS P6X58D-E
Cooling Corsair H50 push/pull
Memory Kingston HyperX 1600 8GB
Video Card(s) Sapphire HD 7970 OC
Storage Plextor M5P 128GB/WD Black 2x1TB,1x6TB/Seagate 1TB
Display(s) Panasonic TC-L32U3
Case Antec DF-85
Audio Device(s) Yamaha RX-V371 AVR
Power Supply XFX 850w Black Edition
Mouse Logitech G402
Keyboard Logitech K120
Software W10 Pro 64 bit
So what did you do to reduce it or stop it completely?
Well I basically got sick and tired of jumping through hoops trying to find exact OC settings, including one with a 3.8 vs 4GHz clock using a lower (160) base clock and max (24) multiplier and all auto settings on everything else, which made my CPU peak at 80c load, since none of the typical OC methods were working, so I just bumped it back down to XMP Profile with a one step bump on the multi. Also set my 7970 back to the 2nd BIOS (OC) setting of 1000.

So with my CPU back to 3.2GHz and GPU back to 1000 core, my Hitman Absolution benchmark went from 63 down to 55 average frame rate. I even got a crash in Hitman, which doesn't ever happen. That seems to have been related to needing 4 important updates that were not notifying me for some reason. It was 4 security updates to C++.

Looking forward to getting a Sandy Bridge CPU. This Nehalem 950 is annoying the fuck out of me. Bad enough it only natively supports 1066 RAM speed, it doesn't OC worth a damn. Then again, I HAVE been able to get it to run pretty stable in OCCT with the Linpack bench, but these poorly made games unfortunately are the final test.

Going to probably build a complete new system when Maxwell comes out. I have to wonder if some of these problems are related to MS fucking up with W7 updates while focusing mostly on W8 lately, and/or a 12/21/12 bug, because a LOT of people are suddenly reporting these same kinds of crashes while gaming.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Aug 23, 2009
Messages
2,454 (0.81/day)
Likes
593
Location
Rockvale TN (Not Australia)
System Name Current gamer
Processor Intel 980X
Motherboard Evga Classified
Cooling Phanteks
Memory 12 GB
Video Card(s) VisionTek 7970
Storage Samsung 256GB ssd - WD 1TB
Display(s) ASUS 144Hz
Case NZXT Phantom Enthusiast
Power Supply Antec 1200
Software Win 7 64
I havent seen any crashes with this game yet. As far as overclocking goes, I've done my share and have never seen a benefit in my gaming. This game runs just as well for me with one stock 5850 as it does with two GTX 295's. I havent updated my Win 7 OS in six months lol, and it's coming up on a 18 month old install.
 

MxPhenom 216

Corsair Fanboy
Joined
Aug 31, 2010
Messages
12,129 (4.56/day)
Likes
3,697
Location
Seattle, WA
System Name The Battlestation
Processor Intel Core i7 4770k @ 4.2GHZ 1.275v
Motherboard MSi Z97 Gaming 5
Cooling EK Supremacy w/ EK Coolstream PE360
Memory G. Skill Trident X 16Gb (4x4GB) 2400mhz @ 1.65v
Video Card(s) MSi GTX1070 Gaming X 8GB @ 2GHz
Storage Samsung 830 128GB SSD, Crucial MX200 500GB, Seagate Barracuda 2TB (2x 1TB Partitions)
Display(s) Qnix QX2710 27" 2560 x 1440 PLS @ 100hz
Case Phantek Enthoo Evolv ATX TG
Audio Device(s) MSi Gaming AudioBoost ALC1150 w/ Sennheiser Game Ones
Power Supply Seasonic Flagship Prime Platinum 850
Mouse Steelseries Rival 310 w/ QCK Mass mat
Keyboard Corsair K70 w/ MX Browns and Red Backlit
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-Bit
Benchmark Scores Firestrike: 15439
I havent seen any crashes with this game yet. As far as overclocking goes, I've done my share and have never seen a benefit in my gaming. This game runs just as well for me with one stock 5850 as it does with two GTX 295's. I havent updated my Win 7 OS in six months lol, and it's coming up on a 18 month old install.
These days overclocking more modern hardware doesn't do much, its more something thats fun to do, and then running benchmarks to see how high of scores you get and compare with other users. I mainly do it because its fun to do and push the part to its max, and its free performance.

Oh and if you actually compare FPS, im sure the 2 GTX295s will have better frame rates then the 5850.