• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

For those with Sapphire HD4890 Vapor-X issues...

Addicted

New Member
Joined
Jul 24, 2009
Messages
3 (0.00/day)
Location
Tauranga, New Zealand
It is a nice card when it works properly. :p
 
Joined
Aug 5, 2007
Messages
2,262 (0.44/day)
Location
Australia
System Name All Ryze
Processor Ryzen 7 1700
Motherboard MSI X370 Pro Carbon
Cooling Air
Memory G-skill Flare x 16GB 2400MHz
Video Card(s) MSI 1080
Storage Intel 600p NVMe 512GB for OS , 1TB WD Black and a 4TB Toshiba
Display(s) BENQ PD3200U
Case Phanteks
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair 750W
Mouse Logitech G403 wired
Keyboard G19
Software Win 10 Pro
Have not benchmarked or anything but drivers installed fist go no problems. I have not instaled my XFi yet though
 

dyermaker

New Member
Joined
Jul 27, 2009
Messages
10 (0.00/day)
mine is working fine without the soundcard, but always has problems cold booting.. and also sometimes when i reboot, i have to power cycle by the psu switch, this has completely shorted the system twice and i couldnt start until i left id completely left it alone for a while. got my rma started anyway so im not gonna mess around with it any more. i would refer to this url > http://forums.amd.com/game/messageview.cfm?catid=260&threadid=116405

Heya,..

OK, for users experiencing the cold boot issue ( or similar type problems ) with the following card -

HD4890 Vapor-X with the following SKU/PN numbers (SKU#11150-05 // P/N:288-1E115-020SA)

please contact your retailer and get it RMA'd ..


If you have a different SKU/PN card of the same model and have similar issues, contact Sapphire's tech team and ask for further advice.

If you have said model & SKU/PN above, please add to this post ( maybe add date of purchase and retailer ) so I can give them a rough idea as to how many cards have been affected and their localisation.

Thanks for your input and sorry for the inconvenience caused by the issue.
 
W

warlock

Guest
Since my last post I used drive sweeper and cleaned out any Creative files, card works fine, but this sucks because I lost any EAX support for my games!!!:cry:
 

jaydeejohn

New Member
Joined
Sep 26, 2006
Messages
126 (0.02/day)
Anyone tried running Process explorer and checking for Hardware Interrupts?
 

Tigger

I'm the only one
Supporter
Joined
Mar 20, 2006
Messages
12,835 (2.25/day)
System Name Nothing new
Processor Ryzen 5 2600x
Motherboard Asus TUF B450 Pro s
Cooling Custom loop,
Memory 2x8gb 2400
Video Card(s) MSI GTX980TI Gaming 6gb, water cooled
Storage WD blue 256gb M2, WD blue 4tb HDD
Display(s) MSI 32" Optix AG32CV 1080p 165hz
Case Thermaltake V21
Audio Device(s) onboard/Logitech Z4
Power Supply Corsair TX750M
Mouse Razer Viper
Keyboard Corsair k65
Software Win 11 Home x64
Benchmark Scores do they matter
Lol contact sapphires support team.Just dont go on the sapphire forum,or the wanker GG will have you.
 
W

warlock

Guest
Sh*t! Guess it wasn't a driver conflict, I just powered up cold and blank screen with maxed fan! vista loaded though, I could hear it. Waited about a minute, restarted and everything is normal. :(
 
Joined
Aug 5, 2007
Messages
2,262 (0.44/day)
Location
Australia
System Name All Ryze
Processor Ryzen 7 1700
Motherboard MSI X370 Pro Carbon
Cooling Air
Memory G-skill Flare x 16GB 2400MHz
Video Card(s) MSI 1080
Storage Intel 600p NVMe 512GB for OS , 1TB WD Black and a 4TB Toshiba
Display(s) BENQ PD3200U
Case Phanteks
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair 750W
Mouse Logitech G403 wired
Keyboard G19
Software Win 10 Pro
Mine is good no problems here
 

dyermaker

New Member
Joined
Jul 27, 2009
Messages
10 (0.00/day)
i ran furmark in the background with process explorer on.. no interrupts / dpc spikes whatsoever.
 

droplet

New Member
Joined
Jul 29, 2009
Messages
30 (0.01/day)
Processor Intel QX9650 3Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte X48T-DQ6 (BIOS F4)
Memory 2 x OCZ3P13334GK
Video Card(s) 2 x Sapphire HD 4870x2
Storage 2 x WD 1TB 1001FALS - 1xWD Velociraptor 150GB, 10000RPM
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster 245B
Case Coolermaster Cosmos S
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi Fatal1ty Pro series
Power Supply Corsair HX1000
Software Vista x64 SP 2
I have the same card and I suspect a conflict with my X-Fi extreme gamer. I installed an old pci video card so I could access my system, for some reason this seemed to interfere with my sound card. Although this fixed my new 4890. When I tried to reinstall my sound card, the 4890 stopped working and the fan on the video card maxed out. I removed the sound card again and everything went back to normal.
P.S. I purchased it from Newegg on 7/15 Item #: N82E16814102841


View attachment 27352

Hi warlock, I also have the same sound card and I have been dealing with a lot of issues with my 4870x2 from Sapphire. I remember I read somewhere (can't remember the forum now but I'll try to find it out again) that PCI cards from Creative seem to have trouble with IRQs. Apparently they conflict with the video card's IRQ. As far as I remember there is a patch/hotfix for that. You might wanna check it out just in case. Hope it works
 
Joined
Mar 15, 2006
Messages
141 (0.02/day)
Location
norway
Processor intel 2500k 4.3ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte ga ds3
Memory 1600mhz
Video Card(s) Gainward 1060 6gb GS
Case same mod for 7 years
Power Supply gamextream 600w
Software win 10 64 ultimate
know this.. the ati cards at this day compute more power then the nvidia card.. 4000series is a nice and bild on this pcb to the 5000series is a good thing...
 

dyermaker

New Member
Joined
Jul 27, 2009
Messages
10 (0.00/day)
droplet: how does that affect pci vs pci express?
my audigy (pci) worked fine eventually but i still had the other problems mentioned. im changing my card but i like to know whats goin on anyway ;)

anyway at this stage i believe its just a faulty batch of cards, no troubleshooting is gonna fix some faulty hardware.. shit happens
 
Joined
Oct 26, 2008
Messages
2,176 (0.46/day)
System Name Budget AMD System
Processor Threadripper 1900X @ 4.025Ghz (100x40.25 @ 1.325V)
Motherboard Gigabyte X399 Aorus Gaming 7
Cooling EKWB X399 Monoblock
Memory 4x8GB GSkill TridentZ RGB 14-14-14-32 CR1 @ 3200
Video Card(s) XFX Radeon RX Vega₆⁴ Liquid @ 1,800Mhz Core, 1100 HBM2
Storage 1x ADATA SX8200 NVMe, 1x Segate 2.5" FireCuda 2TB SATA, 1x 500GB HGST SATA
Display(s) Vizio 22" 1080p 60hz TV (Samsung Panel)
Case Corsair 570X
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Seasonic X Series 850W KM3
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
That GG mod is a tool.

Dont disagree with him on that forum or he'll ban ya.

lol, yep... its why Sapphire canned his ass. Sapphire is getting mad at him too. ;-)
Also, he sent me some rather harassing e-mails... here is GG's e-mail...
mike650cc@hotmail.com
(Under US Law, I am allowed to post this e-mail address as long as he initiated the conversation, which he did)
 

Tigger

I'm the only one
Supporter
Joined
Mar 20, 2006
Messages
12,835 (2.25/day)
System Name Nothing new
Processor Ryzen 5 2600x
Motherboard Asus TUF B450 Pro s
Cooling Custom loop,
Memory 2x8gb 2400
Video Card(s) MSI GTX980TI Gaming 6gb, water cooled
Storage WD blue 256gb M2, WD blue 4tb HDD
Display(s) MSI 32" Optix AG32CV 1080p 165hz
Case Thermaltake V21
Audio Device(s) onboard/Logitech Z4
Power Supply Corsair TX750M
Mouse Razer Viper
Keyboard Corsair k65
Software Win 11 Home x64
Benchmark Scores do they matter
Has he gone from there? i just looked and it dont look like it.I swear i would kick his arse if i met him,hes a prick.
 
W

warlock

Guest
I've been running without any pci cards in my system and it still does it when I 1st boot up. Let it run until you hear vista load, wait a minute, power down completely and reboot and everything is fine! Now I'm going to reinstall my X-fi and see if I can boot up in this manner. I'll post again after I reinstall.
 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
51,288 (8.24/day)
Location
Oystralia
System Name Rainbow Sparkles
Processor Ryzen R7 5800X (PBO tweaked, 4.4-5.05GHz)
Motherboard Asus x570 Gaming-F
Cooling EK Quantum Velocity AM4 + EK Quantum ARGB 3090 w/ active backplate. Dual rad.
Memory 2x32GB DDR4 3600 Corsair Vengeance RGB @4000 C18 (1.4V, SoC 1.15V)
Video Card(s) Galax RTX 3090 SG 24GB: Often underclocked to 1500Mhz 0.737v
Storage 2TB WD SN850 NVME + 1TB Sasmsung 970 Pro NVME + 1TB Intel 6000P NVME USB 3.2
Display(s) Gigabyte G32QC (4k80Hz, 1440p 165Hz) + Phillips 328m6fjrmb (4K 60Hz, 1440p 144Hz)
Case Fractal Design R6
Audio Device(s) Logitech G560 |Razer Leviathan | Corsair Void pro RGB |Blue Yeti mic
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G Pro wireless + Steelseries Prisma XL
Keyboard Razer Huntsman TE (custom white and steel keycaps)
VR HMD Oculus Rift S
Software Windows 11 pro x64 (Yes, it's genuinely a good OS)
Benchmark Scores I don't quite know how i managed to get such a top tier PC, I am not rich.
I've been running without any pci cards in my system and it still does it when I 1st boot up. Let it run until you hear vista load, wait a minute, power down completely and reboot and everything is fine! Now I'm going to reinstall my X-fi and see if I can boot up in this manner. I'll post again after I reinstall.

the power up -> shut down -> power up again is very common on intel chipsets. Every intel board i've had since P965 has done this.
 

droplet

New Member
Joined
Jul 29, 2009
Messages
30 (0.01/day)
Processor Intel QX9650 3Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte X48T-DQ6 (BIOS F4)
Memory 2 x OCZ3P13334GK
Video Card(s) 2 x Sapphire HD 4870x2
Storage 2 x WD 1TB 1001FALS - 1xWD Velociraptor 150GB, 10000RPM
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster 245B
Case Coolermaster Cosmos S
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi Fatal1ty Pro series
Power Supply Corsair HX1000
Software Vista x64 SP 2
know this.. the ati cards at this day compute more power then the nvidia card.. 4000series is a nice and bild on this pcb to the 5000series is a good thing...

having the arguably best hardware is not all...you need to have more than that, like in this case it would better drivers and the later is what ATI lacks.

What is the point in having a ferrari if it comes without proper seats, wheels, doors, etc.?

I'm just saying that in my opinion NVidia makes much better cards overall even is their CPUs are beaten SOMETIMES
 

droplet

New Member
Joined
Jul 29, 2009
Messages
30 (0.01/day)
Processor Intel QX9650 3Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte X48T-DQ6 (BIOS F4)
Memory 2 x OCZ3P13334GK
Video Card(s) 2 x Sapphire HD 4870x2
Storage 2 x WD 1TB 1001FALS - 1xWD Velociraptor 150GB, 10000RPM
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster 245B
Case Coolermaster Cosmos S
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi Fatal1ty Pro series
Power Supply Corsair HX1000
Software Vista x64 SP 2
droplet: how does that affect pci vs pci express?
my audigy (pci) worked fine eventually but i still had the other problems mentioned. im changing my card but i like to know whats goin on anyway ;)

anyway at this stage i believe its just a faulty batch of cards, no troubleshooting is gonna fix some faulty hardware.. shit happens

I agree with you on the last sentence. To me many of the problems we are facing with these cards are a result of a faulty batch. Hope ATI and its partners know of the problem and can fix it soon
 

Blacklash

New Member
Joined
Feb 22, 2007
Messages
186 (0.03/day)
System Name The Thrashing Dragon
Processor AMD Phenom II X6 1055T @ 4.0GHz (1.45v)
Motherboard ASUS Crosshair IV (AMD 890FX)
Cooling Xigmatek HDT-S1284EE
Memory GeIL Black Dragon DDR3 1600 (4x2Gb)
Video Card(s) Powercolor Radeon HD 5870 1Gb (x2)
Storage WD VelociRaptor 150Gb HD (x2)
Display(s) Acer GD235HZbid
Case SilverStone TJ10-B
Power Supply SILVERSTONE OP1000-E
Software Vista HP x64 SP2
As far as drivers go, there is always someone crying about that regardless of which side of the fence you are on-

http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=134868

Often video card drivers get blamed for odd system performance when it is actually left overs from an anti-virus uninstall causing the problem.

Creative drivers have a much longer history of causing system instability than nVidia or ATi.
 

ijskist

New Member
Joined
Aug 5, 2009
Messages
1 (0.00/day)
Same problems here.
couldnt get my two new Sapphire Vapor-x cards to work, just a black screen.
Inserted a cheap backup card and it boots without any problems.

Bought it from Pixmania, France
I think I ordered it the 17th of july.
Same SKU / PN number as reported by the others.
 

droplet

New Member
Joined
Jul 29, 2009
Messages
30 (0.01/day)
Processor Intel QX9650 3Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte X48T-DQ6 (BIOS F4)
Memory 2 x OCZ3P13334GK
Video Card(s) 2 x Sapphire HD 4870x2
Storage 2 x WD 1TB 1001FALS - 1xWD Velociraptor 150GB, 10000RPM
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster 245B
Case Coolermaster Cosmos S
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi Fatal1ty Pro series
Power Supply Corsair HX1000
Software Vista x64 SP 2
Same problems here.
couldnt get my two new Sapphire Vapor-x cards to work, just a black screen.
Inserted a cheap backup card and it boots without any problems.

Bought it from Pixmania, France
I think I ordered it the 17th of july.
Same SKU / PN number as reported by the others.

If I were you I would filled a RMA immediately, as suggested in ATI's forum.
 

Hanam

New Member
Joined
Jun 6, 2009
Messages
17 (0.00/day)
System Name Lightning
Processor Intel Core i7 2600K @ 4.3ghz
Motherboard ASUS P8P67 PRO (REV 3.0) P67
Cooling Corsair H70
Memory Corsair Dominator GT 8GB DDR3 2000
Video Card(s) x2 MSI 6970 2GB lightnings in Xfire
Storage Intel 520 Cherryville 240gb
Display(s) Main: Dell U2711. Secondary: Samsung 25.5" T260
Case Corsair Obsidian 800D
Audio Device(s) Auzentech Forte (Beyerdynamic MMX300 Headphones)
Power Supply Corsair HX1000 Watt
Software Windows 7 64 bit
Bought one on 7/31 and it had the bad PN/SKU and newegg is taking it back without questions. I also get a free shirt :toast:
 

janersa

New Member
Joined
Aug 8, 2009
Messages
1 (0.00/day)
Same problems here.
couldnt get my two new Sapphire Vapor-x cards to work, just a black screen.
Inserted a cheap backup card and it boots without any problems.

Bought it from Pixmania, France
I think I ordered it the 17th of july.
Same SKU / PN number as reported by the others.

Hello everybody. Have the same problem as you. Bought a Sapphire HD4890 Vapor-X 2GB from Pixmania. Installed it properly according to all rules (first removing old card and drivers using Driver Cleaner Pro and all that stuff etc etc, been through this hundreds of times), but at boot-up the fan spins 100% and screen is black. Windows XP loads as usual though (can hear my HD working). Old PCI-Express card (X1950 Pro) works like a charm. My rig meets all requirements (have checked carefully). Have played around in BIOS etc etc but to no avail.
BIOS gives one long and eight short beeps on boot-up which in my case means the video card has a problem, but what sort of problem? Will test my card tomorrow using a friends comp just to see if the problem persists.

My card is:
PN 288-4E118-000SA
SKU# 11150-09-20R

Have already prepared an RMA-ticket at Pixmania since there are a lot of posts on various forums dealing with this specific problem. Unfortunately a lot of people here in Sweden who bought defect stuff from Pixmania have had problems with that retailer's delaying or even ignoring the RMA-process.
 
Top