1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

FX 9590 enough with 500w PSU

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by ASOT, Jan 10, 2017 at 4:39 PM.

  1. ASOT

    ASOT

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2015
    Messages:
    460 (0.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    183
    Location:
    Romania
    Hello,is enough with curent system FX 9590 and PSU 500W/GA-990FX-UD3 R5

    I want to replace the FX 4320 with 9590 for long run on AM3+ :)
     
  2. peche

    peche Thermaltake fanboy

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2014
    Messages:
    5,139 (6.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,769
    Location:
    San Jose, Costa Rica
    what are you gonna use on that build? and tell moar about the full rig... video cards and all setup, also are you gonna overclock that build?

    all depends of the usage of that 220w processor... just the processor itself its way to power hungry....

    Regards,
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  3. ASOT

    ASOT

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2015
    Messages:
    460 (0.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    183
    Location:
    Romania
    @peche Hi,is the 2nd rig on My system specs,i want it for general use,some editing,games,browsing internet,music & movies
     
  4. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse ~Technological Technocrat~

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    16,336 (4.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,266
    Location:
    London,UK
    I would go for a higher powered PSU, like a good 650w. The FX9590 drinks a hell of a lot of power. You would need to upgrade your cooling aswell as your cooler can only handle 150w of heat dissipation.

    A quick google sees a lot of people recommending getting an FX-8350 instead and overclocking it to similar speeds so it drinks less power and runs cooler while hitting around the same speeds..... Less stress on your motherboard too i might add.
     
    ASOT says thanks.
  5. ASOT

    ASOT

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2015
    Messages:
    460 (0.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    183
    Location:
    Romania
    IF i get a 9590 i will use it stock IF i go with 8350 i must OC,from what i heard the 9xxx Fx has some new instructions,as tdp control

    Also is ok 990FX-UD3 R5 for 9590 on normal use or should i think on other cpu,as u @FreedomEclipse sayd 8350
     
  6. JATownes

    JATownes

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2008
    Messages:
    2,074 (0.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    795
    Location:
    Texas
    This. Same chip, less cost and will usually do the same clocks at less voltage, since the FX9370 and FX9590 are both cherry picked low leakage chips.
     
    ASOT says thanks.
  7. peche

    peche Thermaltake fanboy

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2014
    Messages:
    5,139 (6.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,769
    Location:
    San Jose, Costa Rica
    @ASOT Like this?

    im afraid, that the listed psu will be too weak, i rather to replace it for example with a reliable and cheap evga 600W 80+ or the 80+Bronze edition, those PSU's are pretty solid option and you can get them for cheap!

    i did a build like a year ago with that processor and a little CX 500 wasn't enough, so we replace it with a supernova G2 700W 80+gold, so take that in consideration,

    also as others said, replace or upgrade cooling on that unit sir, trust me!
    Hyper 212 Evo + 2ndary Fan can bring you a sweet experience with that little nuclear reactor you want to finish

    Regrds,
     
    theoneandonlymrk and ASOT say thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  8. ASOT

    ASOT

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2015
    Messages:
    460 (0.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    183
    Location:
    Romania
    The 9590 i get it cheaper then a FX 8350 second hand both,100E/9590 and 120E/8350

    Thx but i also know i can get a FX 8300 as is same platform same chips and binned lower with low tdp 95w and OC further but can not reach that freq.of 9590
     
  9. NdMk2o1o

    NdMk2o1o

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010
    Messages:
    4,228 (1.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,579
    Location:
    Redditch, Worcestershire, England
    Your psu is no good as pointed out, honestly I'd just get the 8300 unless you want to spend more on a psu as well. I'm sure you'll get close to your current 4.5ghz on your 4320 with those 4 extra cores
     
  10. ASOT

    ASOT

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2015
    Messages:
    460 (0.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    183
    Location:
    Romania
    So,what is the best option to pick with curent psu/build FX 9590 is excluded ? Or i go with 8350
     
  11. peche

    peche Thermaltake fanboy

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2014
    Messages:
    5,139 (6.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,769
    Location:
    San Jose, Costa Rica
    i would sell that entire FX 4320 build and get a skylake locked i5 .... for what ever you will use for...
     
    P4-630 says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  12. P4-630

    P4-630

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2006
    Messages:
    6,125 (1.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,180
    Location:
    Vinewood
    Just go with a nice intel build.... They outperform these power hungry amd chips...
     
    peche says thanks.
    10 Year Member at TPU
  13. ASOT

    ASOT

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2015
    Messages:
    460 (0.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    183
    Location:
    Romania
    Yes i know is better but i want to have a amd build,as this is 2nd pc,1st one i use moore
     
  14. P4-630

    P4-630

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2006
    Messages:
    6,125 (1.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,180
    Location:
    Vinewood
    I just don't see the point of building a power hungry amd build with fx9590 to stream some videos now and then....
    Sorry, but what a waste of money and waste of power consumption.:shadedshu:
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  15. alucasa

    alucasa

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2009
    Messages:
    2,327 (0.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,275
    Location:
    Waterdown, Canada
    In general, for 2nd pc in my case, I go with silent low power (Wattage wise).

    Power bill matters.
     
  16. ASOT

    ASOT

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2015
    Messages:
    460 (0.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    183
    Location:
    Romania
    So what should i do,i m confused :( as i think more on 9590 with curent psu and no oc and default bios setting(cnq,c1e,c6state)
     
  17. peche

    peche Thermaltake fanboy

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2014
    Messages:
    5,139 (6.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,769
    Location:
    San Jose, Costa Rica
    +1

    pointless ...
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  18. alucasa

    alucasa

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2009
    Messages:
    2,327 (0.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,275
    Location:
    Waterdown, Canada
    You got 2 choices.

    Wait for Zen which should come in a month or 2.

    Or go with intel i3. Can't beat power efficiency on i3. I once built an i3 rig that consumed 20watt on idle. 60watt on full.
     
    ASOT says thanks.
  19. ASOT

    ASOT

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2015
    Messages:
    460 (0.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    183
    Location:
    Romania
    @P4-630 I pay only 400 ron for 9590 wich is 100Euro i think is a great deal
     
  20. P4-630

    P4-630

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2006
    Messages:
    6,125 (1.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,180
    Location:
    Vinewood
    E-peen comes to mind....:p
    Which will be short lived....
    AMD Ryzen will take over and will be available soon, wait for the 4 core chips and build a nice amd system with that instead...
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  21. Jetster

    Jetster

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010
    Messages:
    8,900 (3.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,165
    Location:
    Oregon
    Which power supply?
     
  22. ASOT

    ASOT

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2015
    Messages:
    460 (0.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    183
    Location:
    Romania
    That i have one Specs,2nd pc,im kind it can work,tight but use with pw saving setting,cnq,c1e,c6 state what u think will be good ?
     
  23. P4-630

    P4-630

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2006
    Messages:
    6,125 (1.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,180
    Location:
    Vinewood
    10 Year Member at TPU
  24. Jetster

    Jetster

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010
    Messages:
    8,900 (3.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,165
    Location:
    Oregon
    oh
     
  25. P4-630

    P4-630

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2006
    Messages:
    6,125 (1.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,180
    Location:
    Vinewood
    I never heard of it before.. "HPC-500-G12S 500W"..


    Anyways @ASOT I would either wait for a 4 core or 4 thread Ryzen and build a nice system from that or go intel.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)