1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

General Hardware Poll #1. CPUs

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by hat, Jun 14, 2009.

?

Intel or AMD in your main rig?

  1. Intel

    71.6%
  2. AMD

    28.4%
  1. hat

    hat Enthusiast

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    17,876 (4.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,672
    Location:
    Ohio
    Let's put into a nice, easy to read bar graph just how many tpu users use AMD or Intel for thier main rig.

    Simply vote Intel if you have an Intel processor in your main rig, or AMD if you have an AMD processor.
     
  2. From_Nowhere New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2008
    Messages:
    661 (0.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    77
    AMD. The brand I can usually afford.
     
  3. hat

    hat Enthusiast

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    17,876 (4.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,672
    Location:
    Ohio
    Well that was a quick reply... heh. You could get an E5200 and a decent mobo for $150. You should be able to take it up to 4GHz with a good air cooler, at least 3.6 or 3.5. With stock cooling... bah, I wouldn't even use that aluminum table coaster.
     
  4. MRCL

    MRCL

    Joined:
    May 31, 2008
    Messages:
    5,795 (1.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    862
    Location:
    Switzerland, Heart of Europe
    Intel, but not for long anymore. AMDs Windsor chips waiting for me.
     
  5. Studabaker

    Studabaker New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    Messages:
    1,116 (0.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    73
    Location:
    Somewhere in the underground
    I'm with you on this one. There is a PII X4 in my future.
     
  6. theorw

    theorw New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2007
    Messages:
    771 (0.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    50
    Location:
    Athens GREECE
    Intel
     
  7. Error 404

    Error 404

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2008
    Messages:
    1,777 (0.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    169
    Location:
    South Australia
    Intel, only because I couldn't afford a good AMD setup. Waiting for the CPU after PII, as I've been put off Intel...
     
  8. DaveK

    DaveK

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2008
    Messages:
    1,889 (0.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    145
    Intel all the way :D
     
  9. Kreij

    Kreij Senior Monkey Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Messages:
    13,881 (3.94/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,632
    Location:
    Cheeseland (Wisconsin, USA)
    Intel for me also. I'm interested in seeing their octo-core when it gets released. :toast:
     
  10. h3llb3nd4

    h3llb3nd4 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2009
    Messages:
    3,323 (1.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    307
    Location:
    Durban, South Africa
    Intel:D
    can't wait for Sandy Brdge
     
  11. kyle2020 Guest

    Intel, and I doubt ill ever go AMD again - Ill be delving into i7 / i5 very soon too.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  12. FordGT90Concept

    FordGT90Concept "I go fast!1!11!1!"

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Messages:
    18,496 (6.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,807
    Location:
    IA, USA
    Intel. The last two times I purchased new platforms (server and my computer) Intel was on top. Unfortunately, AMD won't be seeing my money until they oust Intel from the top spot.
     
    h3llb3nd4 says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  13. denice25 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2009
    Messages:
    316 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    17
    Intel.....
     
  14. xubidoo

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2007
    Messages:
    889 (0.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    70
    Location:
    Lancs,UK
    Same here
     
  15. CDdude55

    CDdude55 Crazy 4 TPU!!!

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2007
    Messages:
    8,179 (2.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,277
    Location:
    Virginia
    Intel(QX6700), i don't mind going AMD but i am satisfied with Intel as of now.
     
  16. kyle2020 Guest

    My main gripe is the performance gap between AMD and intel - at similar clocks Intel chips tend to need less voltage and perform better - couple that with the fact that im used to overclocking intel know and know my way around them, it all adds up to me sticking with Intel. No, im not a fanboy, I used AMD for years prior to this Q6600.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  17. CDdude55

    CDdude55 Crazy 4 TPU!!!

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2007
    Messages:
    8,179 (2.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,277
    Location:
    Virginia
    When i first really got into gaming on the PC, AMD was on top gaming wise.

    How things have changed.
     
  18. MRCL

    MRCL

    Joined:
    May 31, 2008
    Messages:
    5,795 (1.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    862
    Location:
    Switzerland, Heart of Europe
    True that, until the core architecture came around. I remember none of my friends had an Intel rig at that time.
     
  19. trickson

    trickson OH, I have such a headache

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2004
    Messages:
    6,494 (1.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    956
    Location:
    Planet Earth.
    Yeah I remember having nothing but AMD rig's for 4 years . Now I am Intel All the way ! :rockout: Intel has such a nice Chip :rolleyes:
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  20. A Cheese Danish

    A Cheese Danish

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2006
    Messages:
    2,965 (0.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    415
    Location:
    your local vending machine
    AMD! Been rocking it for about 3 years now:rockout:
    But, if I ever get enough money to do a new build, it will definitely be whoever gives the best performace per dollar.
     
  21. DreamSeller Guest

    amd ftw
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  22. CDdude55

    CDdude55 Crazy 4 TPU!!!

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2007
    Messages:
    8,179 (2.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,277
    Location:
    Virginia
    Same here, when the Core 2's came out thats when the tables really turned.

    Hopefully i5 is as good.
     
  23. cdawall

    cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    23,211 (6.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,579
    Location:
    Houston
    you can't compare voltages between AMD and intel they are not built the same way AMD is a SOI and intel is HKMG two way different processes hence why AMD chips with higher volts have lower TDP's than intel chips
     
    ChaoticAtmosphere says thanks.
    10 Year Member at TPU
  24. Altered

    Altered

    Joined:
    May 7, 2008
    Messages:
    921 (0.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    132
    A used Intel chip. Because it was cheap. But usually go for the best bang for the buck. Im not a "fan" of any brand except those that do what they are suppose to do.
     
  25. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    41,505 (11.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    16,886
    I think the comparison is fail anyway. Most of you are gamers so...

    Phenom II = No CPU bottleneck

    Core i7 = No CPU bottleneck

    In my opinion it just comes down to whatever is cool to be a brand stooge for at the time. Many people will buy the most powerful chip they can and utilize it as much as a budget chip. OMG (Insert brand here) has the most powerful (whatever) right now, I must buy that brand.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)