• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

gtx 460 ultra low gpu usage, worthless for gaming

Joined
Aug 12, 2010
Messages
1,534 (0.57/day)
Likes
200
Location
Britland
System Name Gaming temp// HTPC
Processor AMD A6 5400k // A4 5300
Motherboard ASRock FM2A75 PRO4// ASRock FM2A55M-DGS
Cooling Xigmatek HDT-D1284 // stock phenom II HSF
Memory 4GB 1600mhz corsair vengeance // 4GB 1600mhz corsair vengeance low profile
Storage 64gb sandisk pulse SSD and 500gb HDD // 500gb HDD
Display(s) acer 22" 1680x1050
Power Supply Seasonic G-450 // Corsair CXM 430W
#26
sorry forgot about that

2.2ghz phenom 9500, 4gb ddr2 1066mhz ram, asus M4A77D running 64 bit windows 7
 

qubit

Overclocked quantum bit
Joined
Dec 6, 2007
Messages
14,554 (3.97/day)
Likes
8,061
Location
Quantum Well UK
System Name Quantumville™
Processor Intel Core i7-2700K at stock (hits 5 gees+ easily)
Motherboard Asus P8Z68-V PRO/GEN3
Cooling Noctua NH-D14
Memory 16GB (4 x 4GB Corsair Vengeance DDR3 PC3-12800 C9 1600MHz)
Video Card(s) Zotac GTX 1080 AMP! Extreme Edition
Storage Samsung 850 Pro 256GB | WD Green 4TB
Display(s) BenQ XL2720Z | Asus VG278HE (both 27", 144Hz, 3D Vision 2, 1080p)
Case Cooler Master HAF 922
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Fatal1ty PCIe
Power Supply Corsair HX 850W v1
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
#27
Sounds like some screwy software glitch, the 460 is way better than his old card.

One could mess around with it for hours and not get anywhere, like he already has. I suggest making a second Windows install and trying it on that, to get a baseline for troubleshooting. It should be fully patched too with the latest drivers, of course.

The best thing is to put it on a separate HD, but if he doesn't have one, he should partition his original one and stick it there. Make sure all data is backed up first!

I'll bet it works fine on that second install...
 
Joined
Jul 2, 2008
Messages
6,285 (1.82/day)
Likes
8,203
Location
Hillsboro, OR
System Name Main/DC
Processor i7-3770K/i7-2600K
Motherboard MSI Z77A-GD55/GA-P67A-UD4-B3
Cooling Phanteks PH-TC14CS/H80
Memory Crucial Ballistix Sport 16GB (2 x 8GB) LP /4GB Kingston DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) Asus GTX 660 Ti/MSI HD7770
Storage Crucial MX100 256GB/120GB Samsung 830 & Seagate 2TB(died)
Display(s) Asus 24' LED/Samsung SyncMaster B1940
Case P100/Antec P280 It's huge!
Audio Device(s) on board
Power Supply SeaSonic SS-660XP2/Seasonic SS-760XP2
Software Win 7 Home Premiun 64 Bit
#28
logged in with administrator privilages?

You could also use Teamviewer so you could have a look yourself.

Does he have the current chipset drivers installed?
 

Thatguy

New Member
Joined
Nov 24, 2010
Messages
666 (0.26/day)
Likes
68
#29
searching around that seams to be a common problem and everyone who posts in other forums about it just keeps being told that the cpu is causing it due to being such a bottle neck unless it's an i7 :confused:

i could accept that as true yet when its only a couple of percent loaded there has to be something wrong but the only way i could agree that the cpu is such a bottleneck is if someone could show that nvidia 4xx cards are massively more cpu dependent than past nvidia cards and every amd/ati card.
this could indicate that the nvidia drivers offload a good bit of work to the cpu and not the gpu.
 
Joined
Aug 12, 2010
Messages
1,534 (0.57/day)
Likes
200
Location
Britland
System Name Gaming temp// HTPC
Processor AMD A6 5400k // A4 5300
Motherboard ASRock FM2A75 PRO4// ASRock FM2A55M-DGS
Cooling Xigmatek HDT-D1284 // stock phenom II HSF
Memory 4GB 1600mhz corsair vengeance // 4GB 1600mhz corsair vengeance low profile
Storage 64gb sandisk pulse SSD and 500gb HDD // 500gb HDD
Display(s) acer 22" 1680x1050
Power Supply Seasonic G-450 // Corsair CXM 430W
#31
right now he is installing 3dmark11 to see if it acts the same as games but i think a fresh windows install may be the direction this is going as on the current install of windows he has used 4 gpu's that have been a mix of ati and nvidia

If that works it looks like qubit will be the winner of the thread :laugh:

and yes he has all the newest chipset and every other driver installed.
 

Thatguy

New Member
Joined
Nov 24, 2010
Messages
666 (0.26/day)
Likes
68
#32
sorry forgot about that

2.2ghz phenom 9500, 4gb ddr2 1066mhz ram, asus M4A77D running 64 bit windows 7
right now he is installing 3dmark11 to see if it acts the same as games but i think a fresh windows install may be the direction this is going as on the current install of windows he has used 4 gpu's that have been a mix of ati and nvidia

If that works it looks like qubit will be the winner of the thread :laugh:

and yes he has all the newest chipset and every other driver installed.

tell him to go into the prefetch folder and delete all of its contents. Also have him run a registry cleaner to clear out old registry pathways.
 
Joined
Aug 12, 2010
Messages
1,534 (0.57/day)
Likes
200
Location
Britland
System Name Gaming temp// HTPC
Processor AMD A6 5400k // A4 5300
Motherboard ASRock FM2A75 PRO4// ASRock FM2A55M-DGS
Cooling Xigmatek HDT-D1284 // stock phenom II HSF
Memory 4GB 1600mhz corsair vengeance // 4GB 1600mhz corsair vengeance low profile
Storage 64gb sandisk pulse SSD and 500gb HDD // 500gb HDD
Display(s) acer 22" 1680x1050
Power Supply Seasonic G-450 // Corsair CXM 430W
#33
tell him to go into the prefetch folder and delete all of its contents. Also have him run a registry cleaner to clear out old registry pathways.
Getting him to do so now.

hopefully something will work and once it does i shall go through the thread and thank everyone that helped fix his issues :toast:
 
Joined
Sep 9, 2009
Messages
968 (0.32/day)
Likes
172
Location
Slovenia, Europe
System Name Bang4Buck
Processor Intel Core i7 5820K @ 4.5Ghz @ 1.254v
Motherboard ASROCK X99M-EXTREME4
Cooling EKWB Predator 240 1.1
Memory 16gb 2666mhz 14-14-14-34-1T @ 1.28v
Video Card(s) Gainward Phoenix GTX1070 Golden Sample with GLH bios flased
Storage Samsung 840 EVO 250Gb / 6Tb Raid -HGST Enterprise/ Samsung Spinpoint F3 1Tb / Seagate Baraccuda 3Tb
Display(s) Samsung UE49KS8002 4K (US - 9 series)
Case Corsair Carbide Air 540
Audio Device(s) HDMI out to Denon reciever
Power Supply Seasonic X-750W (KM3)
Keyboard Logitech K520
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
Benchmark Scores RealBench 2.43: 164477 http://www.3dmark.com/3dm/14858144? http://www.3dmark.com/3dm/14857974?
#34
Anything new? I am getting really frustrated with this low gpu usage shit. And i am getting sick of people telling me, my q6600 @ 3.6ghz is a bottleneck. It is not! I guess nvidia hasnt come up with a solution yet for 4months!!! That is a lesson for me going from the red camp.
 

baggpipes

New Member
Joined
Feb 12, 2009
Messages
163 (0.05/day)
Likes
45
System Name R2D2
Processor AMD FX-4100
Motherboard MSI 970 G45
Cooling Stock
Memory Kingston T1 8GB 1600 DDR3 @ 1800mHz
Video Card(s) AMD Sapphire 6850
Storage RAID 0 WD Caviar Blue 1TB total
Display(s) Acer 19" widescreen and Sony 32" Bravia 1080p 60hz
Case NZXT Gamma Series
Power Supply 700w OCZ Mod Stream Pro
Software Windows 7 Professional
Benchmark Scores hit 4.5ghz stock cooler....
#35
does he got the power supply for that card? does he have the extra power connector plugged in?
 
Joined
May 19, 2009
Messages
1,088 (0.35/day)
Likes
232
Location
Latvia
System Name Personal \\ Work - HP EliteBook 840 G1
Processor i7-4790K \\ i7-4600U
Motherboard MSI Z97 Gaming 7
Cooling Intel stock for now
Memory Corsair Vengeance Pro 32GB 2400 MHz \\ 16GB DDR3-1600
Video Card(s) ASUS 290X DirectCU II OC \\ Intel 4400 HD
Storage Samsung 850 Pro 512GB, WD Black 2 TB \\ Micron 256GB SSD
Display(s) BenQ XL2411Z \\ FullHD + 2x HP ZR2440w external screens via docking station
Case Fractal Design Define Arc Midi R2 with window
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC1150 with Logitech Z323
Power Supply Corsair AX860i
Software Windows 10
#36
does he got the power supply for that card? does he have the extra power connector plugged in?
The PC shouldnt even boot then.
 

Thatguy

New Member
Joined
Nov 24, 2010
Messages
666 (0.26/day)
Likes
68
#37
Anything new? I am getting really frustrated with this low gpu usage shit. And i am getting sick of people telling me, my q6600 @ 3.6ghz is a bottleneck. It is not! I guess nvidia hasnt come up with a solution yet for 4months!!! That is a lesson for me going from the red camp.
how is gaming performance ?
 
Joined
Jun 18, 2010
Messages
364 (0.13/day)
Likes
67
#38
He has mainly tried out fallout new vegas and just cause 2 also a couple things like l4d2 and alien swarm, he is using gpu-z to show usage and in these games he is getting about 10/15fps no matter the settings but I'm assuming its due to the crazy low gpu usage
how is gaming performance ?
I'd say it's not that good.

Edit: Multiple people seem to have had similar problems with the original phenom + 460s. Not necessarily a bottleneck, but there's obviously some kind of conflict as every case seemed to be fixed by getting a newer CPU.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Nov 13, 2007
Messages
6,142 (1.67/day)
Likes
1,636
Location
Austin Texas
System Name silen8
Processor Intel i7 7820X Delidded @ 4.64Ghz / 3.1Ghz Mesh
Motherboard MSI X299 Tomahawk
Cooling 240mm Corsair H105 Intake
Memory 32 GB Quad 3434Mhz DDR4 15-16-16-38-300-1T
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX 1080 Ti Gaming
Storage 1Tb Samsung 960 Pro m2, 1TB Samsung 850 Pro SSD
Display(s) Dell 24" 2560x1440 144hz, G-Sync @ 165Hz
Case NZXT S340 Elite Black
Audio Device(s) Arctis 7
Power Supply FSP HydroG 750W
Mouse zowie ec-2
Keyboard corsair k65 tenkeyless
Software Windows 10 64 Bit
Benchmark Scores Cb: 2103 Multi, 209 Single, 10450 Timespy - 10150 GPU/11900 CPU, superpi 1M - 7.71s
#39
ive seen this with the 470 but it was fixed with drivers. If it is low GPU usage, then there is a bottleneck somewhere other than the gpu [Driver of system based] (obviously).

If new drivers dont fix it, then send the card back and get a 6870 or something. Chances are if the latest drivers are not working for you (the ones that were supposed to fix the GPU usage issue) then there really isnt any point in assuming future drivers are going to make it go away.
 
Joined
Sep 9, 2009
Messages
968 (0.32/day)
Likes
172
Location
Slovenia, Europe
System Name Bang4Buck
Processor Intel Core i7 5820K @ 4.5Ghz @ 1.254v
Motherboard ASROCK X99M-EXTREME4
Cooling EKWB Predator 240 1.1
Memory 16gb 2666mhz 14-14-14-34-1T @ 1.28v
Video Card(s) Gainward Phoenix GTX1070 Golden Sample with GLH bios flased
Storage Samsung 840 EVO 250Gb / 6Tb Raid -HGST Enterprise/ Samsung Spinpoint F3 1Tb / Seagate Baraccuda 3Tb
Display(s) Samsung UE49KS8002 4K (US - 9 series)
Case Corsair Carbide Air 540
Audio Device(s) HDMI out to Denon reciever
Power Supply Seasonic X-750W (KM3)
Keyboard Logitech K520
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
Benchmark Scores RealBench 2.43: 164477 http://www.3dmark.com/3dm/14858144? http://www.3dmark.com/3dm/14857974?
#40
I just dont get it how my system can be a bottleneck. It is just not possible. I have a x48 motherboard with 16x 2.0 pci-ex, 4gb ram with 9000mb read/write, also my power supply is a silverstone strider 850W, and the quad core q6600 at 3.6ghz just cant be a bottleneck. I refuse to believe that, becouse it is simply not true. A simple proof is 3dmark, where the gpu usage is 99%.

And nvidia is f...ing useless for not fixing the problem in more than 3 months.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Feb 18, 2005
Messages
1,262 (0.27/day)
Likes
609
Location
South Africa
System Name Firelance
Processor i5-3570K @ 4.6GHz / 1.19V
Motherboard Gigabyte Z77X-UD5H @ F16h mod BIOS
Cooling Corsair H105 + 4x Gentle Typhoon 1850
Memory 2x 8GB Crucial Ballistix Sport DDR3-1600 CL9 @ CL7
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1070 Armor OC @ 2000 core / 2300 mem
Storage 2x 256GB Samsung 840 Pro (RAID-0) + Hitachi Deskstar 7K3000 (3TB)
Display(s) Dell U2713HM (25x14) + Acer P243W (19x12)
Case Fractal Design ARC XL
Audio Device(s) Logitech G930
Power Supply Seasonic M12-II Bronze Evo Edition 750W
Mouse Logitech G400
Keyboard Logitech G19
Software Windows 7 Professional x64 Service Pack 1
#41
I'd go with what qubit says and try a fresh Windows install (heky, you too).
 

JrRacinFan

Served 5k and counting ...
Joined
Mar 17, 2007
Messages
19,666 (5.01/day)
Likes
4,754
Location
Youngstown, OH
System Name Gamer :Server and Android BuildBox
Processor i7 3930k: Xeon e5-2660
Motherboard MSI X79A-GD45 Plus : Generic
Cooling Liqid cooled: CM 212+
Memory Klevv Neo 2x4Gb 1866 @ 1600 CL9 : 2x8Gb Vengeance 1600 cl9
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 950 SC : XFX R5 220
Storage HGST 2TB + 480GB OCZ Trion 150 : Seagate 1TB SSHD + WD 3TB + 2x HGST 2TB
Display(s) ViewSonic VX2457-MHD 23.6" : headless
Case DIYPC D480-W White Window : Bitfenix Comrade
Audio Device(s) nVidia HDMI : Onboard
Power Supply EVGA 500b : Tt 775W Modular
Software Windows 7 Ultimate+Manjaro 16.06: Ubuntu Server 16.10
#42
Try downdating drivers to 260.99's. If that doesn't help then a reinstall of the OS is in order.
 

qubit

Overclocked quantum bit
Joined
Dec 6, 2007
Messages
14,554 (3.97/day)
Likes
8,061
Location
Quantum Well UK
System Name Quantumville™
Processor Intel Core i7-2700K at stock (hits 5 gees+ easily)
Motherboard Asus P8Z68-V PRO/GEN3
Cooling Noctua NH-D14
Memory 16GB (4 x 4GB Corsair Vengeance DDR3 PC3-12800 C9 1600MHz)
Video Card(s) Zotac GTX 1080 AMP! Extreme Edition
Storage Samsung 850 Pro 256GB | WD Green 4TB
Display(s) BenQ XL2720Z | Asus VG278HE (both 27", 144Hz, 3D Vision 2, 1080p)
Case Cooler Master HAF 922
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Fatal1ty PCIe
Power Supply Corsair HX 850W v1
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
#43
I just dont get it how my system can be a bottleneck. It is just not possible. I have a x48 motherboard with 16x 2.0 pci-ex, 4gb ram with 9000mb read/write, also my power supply is a silverstone strider 850W, and the quad core q6600 at 3.6ghz just cant be a bottleneck. I refuse to believe that, becouse it is simply not true. A simple proof is 3dmark, where the gpu usage is 99%.

And nvidia is f...ing useless for not fixing the problem in more than 3 months.
Not sure why you would even consider your CPU to be a bottleneck? You're getting crap FPS because the CPU is hardly being used, as Task Manager shows you. This is a software problem. Period. End of story.

Myself and others have now advised you to reinstall Windows from scratch and see how it goes. And by this, I don't mean wipe your current install, but instead make another install on a separate HD or another partition on the same HD.
 
Joined
Aug 12, 2010
Messages
1,534 (0.57/day)
Likes
200
Location
Britland
System Name Gaming temp// HTPC
Processor AMD A6 5400k // A4 5300
Motherboard ASRock FM2A75 PRO4// ASRock FM2A55M-DGS
Cooling Xigmatek HDT-D1284 // stock phenom II HSF
Memory 4GB 1600mhz corsair vengeance // 4GB 1600mhz corsair vengeance low profile
Storage 64gb sandisk pulse SSD and 500gb HDD // 500gb HDD
Display(s) acer 22" 1680x1050
Power Supply Seasonic G-450 // Corsair CXM 430W
#44
Fresh install of windows fixed everything :D

There was another problem as well and that was windows was only using one of his 4 cpu cores although that may have been the cause of the fail frame rates, all is good now and he is looking at getting a phenom II to further boost his frame rates.

Thank you all for your help and suggestions.
 

qubit

Overclocked quantum bit
Joined
Dec 6, 2007
Messages
14,554 (3.97/day)
Likes
8,061
Location
Quantum Well UK
System Name Quantumville™
Processor Intel Core i7-2700K at stock (hits 5 gees+ easily)
Motherboard Asus P8Z68-V PRO/GEN3
Cooling Noctua NH-D14
Memory 16GB (4 x 4GB Corsair Vengeance DDR3 PC3-12800 C9 1600MHz)
Video Card(s) Zotac GTX 1080 AMP! Extreme Edition
Storage Samsung 850 Pro 256GB | WD Green 4TB
Display(s) BenQ XL2720Z | Asus VG278HE (both 27", 144Hz, 3D Vision 2, 1080p)
Case Cooler Master HAF 922
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Fatal1ty PCIe
Power Supply Corsair HX 850W v1
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
#45
Fresh install of windows fixed everything :D

There was another problem as well and that was windows was only using one of his 4 cpu cores although that may have been the cause of the fail frame rates, all is good now and he is looking at getting a phenom II to further boost his frame rates.

Thank you all for your help and suggestions.
Awesome. :rockout: I'm really to have helped. Yeah, sometimes one just has to byte the bullet and reinstall the thing from scratch. It's happened enough times to me with XP and corrupted video drivers that will not fix regardless of what you do. This tended to happen after one too many graphics card swaps.
 
Joined
Aug 12, 2010
Messages
1,534 (0.57/day)
Likes
200
Location
Britland
System Name Gaming temp// HTPC
Processor AMD A6 5400k // A4 5300
Motherboard ASRock FM2A75 PRO4// ASRock FM2A55M-DGS
Cooling Xigmatek HDT-D1284 // stock phenom II HSF
Memory 4GB 1600mhz corsair vengeance // 4GB 1600mhz corsair vengeance low profile
Storage 64gb sandisk pulse SSD and 500gb HDD // 500gb HDD
Display(s) acer 22" 1680x1050
Power Supply Seasonic G-450 // Corsair CXM 430W
#46
With that install he had been through about 4 or 5 video cards and 2 motherboards so i think over time it just got really messed up :laugh:
 
Joined
Dec 2, 2009
Messages
3,257 (1.11/day)
Likes
315
System Name Mercury KM-81
Processor Phenom II x4 B50
Motherboard ASUS M4A89GTD PRO
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper TX3
Memory 6GB Ram (4GBx1 Corsair 2GBx1 Nanya)
Video Card(s) PowerColor AX6770 V2.0
Storage 2TB WD Black, 1TB Hitachi, 500 GB WD Blue
Display(s) Philips 247E-LPH 24" 1920x1080
Case Mercury
Audio Device(s) Integrated Realtek
Power Supply Corsair 750TX
Software Windows 7 64-bit
Benchmark Scores Maybe it is time to benchmark :D
#47
Change the title of this thread pls!!! :D
 
Joined
Aug 12, 2010
Messages
1,534 (0.57/day)
Likes
200
Location
Britland
System Name Gaming temp// HTPC
Processor AMD A6 5400k // A4 5300
Motherboard ASRock FM2A75 PRO4// ASRock FM2A55M-DGS
Cooling Xigmatek HDT-D1284 // stock phenom II HSF
Memory 4GB 1600mhz corsair vengeance // 4GB 1600mhz corsair vengeance low profile
Storage 64gb sandisk pulse SSD and 500gb HDD // 500gb HDD
Display(s) acer 22" 1680x1050
Power Supply Seasonic G-450 // Corsair CXM 430W
#48
this may be a stupid question but umm how? :laugh:
 

qubit

Overclocked quantum bit
Joined
Dec 6, 2007
Messages
14,554 (3.97/day)
Likes
8,061
Location
Quantum Well UK
System Name Quantumville™
Processor Intel Core i7-2700K at stock (hits 5 gees+ easily)
Motherboard Asus P8Z68-V PRO/GEN3
Cooling Noctua NH-D14
Memory 16GB (4 x 4GB Corsair Vengeance DDR3 PC3-12800 C9 1600MHz)
Video Card(s) Zotac GTX 1080 AMP! Extreme Edition
Storage Samsung 850 Pro 256GB | WD Green 4TB
Display(s) BenQ XL2720Z | Asus VG278HE (both 27", 144Hz, 3D Vision 2, 1080p)
Case Cooler Master HAF 922
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Fatal1ty PCIe
Power Supply Corsair HX 850W v1
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
#49
With that install he had been through about 4 or 5 video cards and 2 motherboards so i think over time it just got really messed up :laugh:
Two motherboard swaps?! No wonder...

I've tried this one before and often Windows just isn't the same after this. It loads in different HALs depending on the chipset, which gets right to the core of Windows. Screw this up and Windows is mullered.

this may be a stupid question but umm how? :laugh:
I was wondering this one, too. Come on Alek, change it how? :)
 
Joined
Dec 2, 2009
Messages
3,257 (1.11/day)
Likes
315
System Name Mercury KM-81
Processor Phenom II x4 B50
Motherboard ASUS M4A89GTD PRO
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper TX3
Memory 6GB Ram (4GBx1 Corsair 2GBx1 Nanya)
Video Card(s) PowerColor AX6770 V2.0
Storage 2TB WD Black, 1TB Hitachi, 500 GB WD Blue
Display(s) Philips 247E-LPH 24" 1920x1080
Case Mercury
Audio Device(s) Integrated Realtek
Power Supply Corsair 750TX
Software Windows 7 64-bit
Benchmark Scores Maybe it is time to benchmark :D
#50
@bear jesus
1. Click edit on the first reply/post of yours
2. Select Go advanced
3. Change the title (I am sorry GTX 460... I love you... ahahahha)