• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Guide to running multiple GPU work units

oldDirty

New Member
Joined
Dec 25, 2010
Messages
18 (0.01/day)
Likes
11
Processor 3570K @ 4Ghz Air
Motherboard msi Z77-MPower
Cooling EKL Alpenföhn Matterhorn
Memory 2x 4Gb Gskill RipjawsX 1333 @ 1866
Video Card(s) HD7970 Crossfire HIS & Sapphire 1100/1700
Storage Plextor M5Pro 128Gb & HD103SJ
Display(s) Samsung 245B 24"
Case Lian Li B25F
Audio Device(s) Sony MDR-DS6500
Power Supply Enermax Modu 87+ 600w
Software Win7 x64
So are we going to see 100K per day (10 GPU units at the time)? :toast: You got an better CPU then me and I can do 95K in average.

I managed to duplicate t_ski yesterday by running the most productive host. I think that all of the 3x7970 rigs had an off day but still my little workshop open box rig did come out on top. :cool:

Edit: Bangkok Crunching Team, well it all goes in the same pot.
But my CPU has only 4 threads, or it dosn't matter?
--
I founded Bkk Crunching team to support a small crunch Community and to make my wife proud. ;)
It's ok when other like to join, but it's not that important.
 
Joined
Nov 7, 2009
Messages
2,712 (0.92/day)
Likes
1,781
Location
Denmark
System Name The work PC / Folder 1 & 2 (+3 on/off)
Processor W3670 4.00 GHz/ W3670 3.8 / 4790K 4.4/ i7 920
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-X58A-UD5/UD7/Maximum Hero/ UD5
Cooling Custom WC/Noctua NH-D14/Noctua NH-D15/D14
Memory 6 GB A-Data/6 GB Mushkin /8 GB Corsair Vengance/ Mus
Video Card(s) 1070 X MSI/ 970 ASUS / 2x970 MSI/970 MSI
Storage 480 GB SSD / 480 GB SSD /480 GB SSD, all EVO 840
Display(s) Dell UltraSharp 2408WFP
Case Corsair 800D / Fractel R4 /none
Power Supply Enermax 87+ 600 W/ 500 W / AX 860/700 W Enermax
Software WIN7 64 bit
Benchmark Scores Cherry pie at one point ;)
But my CPU has only 4 threads, or it dosn't matter?
--
I founded Bkk Crunching team to support a small crunch Community and to make my wife proud. ;)
It's ok when other like to join, but it's not that important.
You can run 10 on 4 threads but maybe 8 would be better. Now that you do have a newer version of BOINC you should go to post 617 and download that little program and ask for 8 GPU tasks.
 

oldDirty

New Member
Joined
Dec 25, 2010
Messages
18 (0.01/day)
Likes
11
Processor 3570K @ 4Ghz Air
Motherboard msi Z77-MPower
Cooling EKL Alpenföhn Matterhorn
Memory 2x 4Gb Gskill RipjawsX 1333 @ 1866
Video Card(s) HD7970 Crossfire HIS & Sapphire 1100/1700
Storage Plextor M5Pro 128Gb & HD103SJ
Display(s) Samsung 245B 24"
Case Lian Li B25F
Audio Device(s) Sony MDR-DS6500
Power Supply Enermax Modu 87+ 600w
Software Win7 x64
You can run 10 on 4 threads but maybe 8 would be better. Now that you do have a newer version of BOINC you should go to post 617 and download that little program and ask for 8 GPU tasks.
:eek: impressive...it works omg...:respect:
It it also possible on Cypress GPU > 5850? maybe i buy one for my old Dell Dimension. It only had a 9500Gt that crunches a bit for Einstein.
 

manofthem

WCG-TPU Team All-Star!
Joined
Jan 9, 2011
Messages
10,727 (4.24/day)
Likes
26,176
Location
Florida
System Name bBox | tOffice | mDonk
Processor i7 4770k @4.3 | i7 2600k @3.5 | i7 4790 @3.8
Motherboard MSI Z87 G45 | MSI Z68 GD55 | MSI H97M G43
Cooling Water | Reeven Justice RC-1204 | can't remember
Memory G Skill TridentX 8GB 2400 | Patriot Viper 3 8GB 1600 | G Skill Ripjaws 8GB 1600
Video Card(s) 2x R9 290's | 980 SC ACX2.0 | n/a
Storage 850 Evo 250GB & 2TB Desktar 5K3000 | 830 256GB & 1.5TB & 3TB Barracudas| 830 256GB
Display(s) QNIX WX2710 (96Hz OC) & Shimian Achieva QH270-Lite | Acer 27HL | n/a
Case 900D | Fractal Define S | n/a
Audio Device(s) Siberia v2 | onboard | n/a
Power Supply Corsair AX1200 | XFX 550Pro | SeaSonic 660XP2
Mouse Razer Mamba 2012 | Corsair M95 | n/a
Keyboard Das Keyboard Pro 4 (blues) | Cougar Attack X3 (blues) | n/a
Software Win 10 Pro x64 | Win 10 Pro x64 | Win 10 Pro x64
FWIF: I'm currently running 0.4 CPUs + 0.1 GPUs (20 WUs on 8 threads) so 10 WUs on 4 cores should do ok.

Obviously a little experimentation is needed :)
 
Joined
Dec 18, 2009
Messages
2,406 (0.82/day)
Likes
2,460
Location
London, UK
System Name Slick
Processor Intel i5 2467M
Motherboard Samsung Series 5 Ultrabook
Memory 8GB Corsair Value
Storage Crucial M4 7mm 256GB
Display(s) 13"
Software Windows 8 Pro x64
updated OP with link to new utility/post by m&m's

FWIF: I'm currently running 0.4 CPUs + 0.1 GPUs (20 WUs on 8 threads) so 10 WUs on 4 cores should do ok.

Obviously a little experimentation is needed :)
Yup running the same configuration. Seems that if your clocks are around 4GHz you can at least get the desired 100K out of each.
 

manofthem

WCG-TPU Team All-Star!
Joined
Jan 9, 2011
Messages
10,727 (4.24/day)
Likes
26,176
Location
Florida
System Name bBox | tOffice | mDonk
Processor i7 4770k @4.3 | i7 2600k @3.5 | i7 4790 @3.8
Motherboard MSI Z87 G45 | MSI Z68 GD55 | MSI H97M G43
Cooling Water | Reeven Justice RC-1204 | can't remember
Memory G Skill TridentX 8GB 2400 | Patriot Viper 3 8GB 1600 | G Skill Ripjaws 8GB 1600
Video Card(s) 2x R9 290's | 980 SC ACX2.0 | n/a
Storage 850 Evo 250GB & 2TB Desktar 5K3000 | 830 256GB & 1.5TB & 3TB Barracudas| 830 256GB
Display(s) QNIX WX2710 (96Hz OC) & Shimian Achieva QH270-Lite | Acer 27HL | n/a
Case 900D | Fractal Define S | n/a
Audio Device(s) Siberia v2 | onboard | n/a
Power Supply Corsair AX1200 | XFX 550Pro | SeaSonic 660XP2
Mouse Razer Mamba 2012 | Corsair M95 | n/a
Keyboard Das Keyboard Pro 4 (blues) | Cougar Attack X3 (blues) | n/a
Software Win 10 Pro x64 | Win 10 Pro x64 | Win 10 Pro x64
Hey Kiex, good to hear from you :)
Maybe you could throw in the OP that multi WUs on Win8 works with the 13.2beta drivers (13.2b4 tests for sure); 13.1 didn't work. Just a thought ...
:toast:
 
Joined
Dec 18, 2009
Messages
2,406 (0.82/day)
Likes
2,460
Location
London, UK
System Name Slick
Processor Intel i5 2467M
Motherboard Samsung Series 5 Ultrabook
Memory 8GB Corsair Value
Storage Crucial M4 7mm 256GB
Display(s) 13"
Software Windows 8 Pro x64
Hey Kiex, good to hear from you :)
Maybe you could throw in the OP that multi WUs on Win8 works with the 13.2beta drivers (13.2b4 tests for sure); 13.1 didn't work. Just a thought ...
:toast:
Had a few minutes to use internet today so had to come back to my second home :laugh: Likewise good see things are all well here.

Made the update to the pre-requisite / driver section. That's good news because I had to swith my rig back to 7. Wish AMD were a little quicker with their drivers.. :ohwell:
 

manofthem

WCG-TPU Team All-Star!
Joined
Jan 9, 2011
Messages
10,727 (4.24/day)
Likes
26,176
Location
Florida
System Name bBox | tOffice | mDonk
Processor i7 4770k @4.3 | i7 2600k @3.5 | i7 4790 @3.8
Motherboard MSI Z87 G45 | MSI Z68 GD55 | MSI H97M G43
Cooling Water | Reeven Justice RC-1204 | can't remember
Memory G Skill TridentX 8GB 2400 | Patriot Viper 3 8GB 1600 | G Skill Ripjaws 8GB 1600
Video Card(s) 2x R9 290's | 980 SC ACX2.0 | n/a
Storage 850 Evo 250GB & 2TB Desktar 5K3000 | 830 256GB & 1.5TB & 3TB Barracudas| 830 256GB
Display(s) QNIX WX2710 (96Hz OC) & Shimian Achieva QH270-Lite | Acer 27HL | n/a
Case 900D | Fractal Define S | n/a
Audio Device(s) Siberia v2 | onboard | n/a
Power Supply Corsair AX1200 | XFX 550Pro | SeaSonic 660XP2
Mouse Razer Mamba 2012 | Corsair M95 | n/a
Keyboard Das Keyboard Pro 4 (blues) | Cougar Attack X3 (blues) | n/a
Software Win 10 Pro x64 | Win 10 Pro x64 | Win 10 Pro x64
Had a few minutes to use internet today so had to come back to my second home :laugh: Likewise good see things are all well here.

Made the update to the pre-requisite / driver section. That's good news because I had to swith my rig back to 7. Wish AMD were a little quicker with their drivers.. :ohwell:
Glad to hear that you're well, though it sounds like you're busy! :roll:

I have to say that I was stoked the other night when I tried it out and found it to work; I posted in the other thread about it here. After that, I came back to 7 to finish up the other downloaded work, and it literally just finished. I'm about to switch back to 8 and enjoy it :)

I know you're busy but try not to be a stranger here ;) :respect: :toast:
 
Joined
Dec 18, 2009
Messages
2,406 (0.82/day)
Likes
2,460
Location
London, UK
System Name Slick
Processor Intel i5 2467M
Motherboard Samsung Series 5 Ultrabook
Memory 8GB Corsair Value
Storage Crucial M4 7mm 256GB
Display(s) 13"
Software Windows 8 Pro x64
Glad to hear that you're well, though it sounds like you're busy! :roll:

I have to say that I was stoked the other night when I tried it out and found it to work; I posted in the other thread about it here. After that, I came back to 7 to finish up the other downloaded work, and it literally just finished. I'm about to switch back to 8 and enjoy it :)

I know you're busy but try not to be a stranger here ;) :respect: :toast:
Definitely busy. Getting fit, trying to get driving license, travelling to remote places and generally making the most of a short break away from the daily hussle of work. Probably need to go back to UK in April to look for a job again.. but till then enjoy life. :laugh:

Hopefully I can get back and sort out the unreliable SR-2, spare GPU and all the RMA's for the dead hardware from the H100 failure.. before the GPU WU's end.
 

oldDirty

New Member
Joined
Dec 25, 2010
Messages
18 (0.01/day)
Likes
11
Processor 3570K @ 4Ghz Air
Motherboard msi Z77-MPower
Cooling EKL Alpenföhn Matterhorn
Memory 2x 4Gb Gskill RipjawsX 1333 @ 1866
Video Card(s) HD7970 Crossfire HIS & Sapphire 1100/1700
Storage Plextor M5Pro 128Gb & HD103SJ
Display(s) Samsung 245B 24"
Case Lian Li B25F
Audio Device(s) Sony MDR-DS6500
Power Supply Enermax Modu 87+ 600w
Software Win7 x64
Hopefully I can get back and sort out the unreliable SR-2, spare GPU and all the RMA's for the dead hardware from the H100 failure.. before the GPU WU's end.
I've bin away from Corsair products since 2 Years and it was a good decision.
The Quality managment is not the same like few years ago, it seems they slaughter their name.
Look for the NZXT Kraken review and get surprized.
 
Joined
Oct 6, 2007
Messages
5,127 (1.38/day)
Likes
1,209
Location
Nelson B.C. Canada
System Name Blacknet
Processor E5-1650 Xeon @ 4.5Ghz
Motherboard Asus P9X79 Pro
Cooling Noctua NH-D14/7case fans
Memory 32gb Gskill 1866 Cas9
Video Card(s) Asus Strix GTX970 OC
Storage 2x Toshiba 3TB, Seagate 2TB, 2x EVO 850 250GB
Display(s) 27" Asus VS278Q 1ms
Case Antec 1200
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster Z + AKG Q701 Studio Monitors
Power Supply XFX XTR 750 Gold
Mouse Corsair Vengeance M95
Keyboard Cheap Azio
Software Kubuntu 17.10, Win7 x64 SP1 Ultimate
Benchmark Scores Average....
Been throwing a bit extra into the pot over the last few days with my main box. However, with the new boinc client, I find I can no longer use my 260 with my 480. I'm using the newest version of the config util, tell it 4 wus total, 2 per card, and I can only get 2 wus running on my 480. Any ideas? It did work before with the older boinc client.
 

ArticFir3

New Member
Joined
Feb 7, 2013
Messages
17 (0.01/day)
Likes
14
System Name Edward-PC
Processor i5-2500K @ 4.4GHz
Motherboard ASUS Maximus V Formula
Cooling Noctua C12-SE14
Memory 8GB Corsair Vengeance LP
Video Card(s) Sapphire 7970 (w/ Arctic Accelero Xtreme 7970)
Storage Corsair Force 60GB SSD, 1TB WD Green
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster XL2370
Case CM Storm Trooper
Audio Device(s) N/A
Power Supply Corsair TX850
Software Win 7 Ultimate
I can't seem to get the multi GPU WU to work. It only runs 1 WU with GPU at a time. Anyone can help me with my app_config.xml file configuration? Here is my rig details:-

i5 2500k @ 4.5Ghz
Sapphire 7970 w/ Arctic Accelero Xtreme 7970
ASUS P8Z68-V/GEN3
BOINC ver 7.0.40(x64)

Current app_config.xml.
<app_config>
<app>
<name>hcc1</name>
<max_concurrent>4</max_concurrent>
<gpu_versions>
<gpu_usage>.500</gpu_usage>
<cpu_usage>1.000</cpu_usage>
</gpu_versions>
</app>
</app_config>

Thanks in advance :respect::respect:
 

manofthem

WCG-TPU Team All-Star!
Joined
Jan 9, 2011
Messages
10,727 (4.24/day)
Likes
26,176
Location
Florida
System Name bBox | tOffice | mDonk
Processor i7 4770k @4.3 | i7 2600k @3.5 | i7 4790 @3.8
Motherboard MSI Z87 G45 | MSI Z68 GD55 | MSI H97M G43
Cooling Water | Reeven Justice RC-1204 | can't remember
Memory G Skill TridentX 8GB 2400 | Patriot Viper 3 8GB 1600 | G Skill Ripjaws 8GB 1600
Video Card(s) 2x R9 290's | 980 SC ACX2.0 | n/a
Storage 850 Evo 250GB & 2TB Desktar 5K3000 | 830 256GB & 1.5TB & 3TB Barracudas| 830 256GB
Display(s) QNIX WX2710 (96Hz OC) & Shimian Achieva QH270-Lite | Acer 27HL | n/a
Case 900D | Fractal Define S | n/a
Audio Device(s) Siberia v2 | onboard | n/a
Power Supply Corsair AX1200 | XFX 550Pro | SeaSonic 660XP2
Mouse Razer Mamba 2012 | Corsair M95 | n/a
Keyboard Das Keyboard Pro 4 (blues) | Cougar Attack X3 (blues) | n/a
Software Win 10 Pro x64 | Win 10 Pro x64 | Win 10 Pro x64
I can't seem to get the multi GPU WU to work. It only runs 1 WU with GPU at a time. Anyone can help me with my app_config.xml file configuration? Here is my rig details:-

i5 2500k @ 4.5Ghz
Sapphire 7970 w/ Arctic Accelero Xtreme 7970
ASUS P8Z68-V/GEN3
BOINC ver 7.0.40(x64)

Current app_config.xml.
<app_config>
<app>
<name>hcc1</name>
<max_concurrent>4</max_concurrent>
<gpu_versions>
<gpu_usage>.500</gpu_usage>
<cpu_usage>1.000</cpu_usage>
</gpu_versions>
</app>
</app_config>

Thanks in advance :respect::respect:
I ran into stuff like that before. I ended up uninstalling BOINC, deleting the ProgramData folder, reinstall and download the files again, and then sometimes you just need to give it a few minutes to update.

Is it running 1WU on both gpus?
 

ArticFir3

New Member
Joined
Feb 7, 2013
Messages
17 (0.01/day)
Likes
14
System Name Edward-PC
Processor i5-2500K @ 4.4GHz
Motherboard ASUS Maximus V Formula
Cooling Noctua C12-SE14
Memory 8GB Corsair Vengeance LP
Video Card(s) Sapphire 7970 (w/ Arctic Accelero Xtreme 7970)
Storage Corsair Force 60GB SSD, 1TB WD Green
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster XL2370
Case CM Storm Trooper
Audio Device(s) N/A
Power Supply Corsair TX850
Software Win 7 Ultimate
I ran into stuff like that before. I ended up uninstalling BOINC, deleting the ProgramData folder, reinstall and download the files again, and then sometimes you just need to give it a few minutes to update.

Is it running 1WU on both gpus?
Sorry, I think my post misleads you. It is only 1 GPU. Sapphire 7970 with the custom cooler. However, only 1 WU is using (1 CPUs + 0.25 GPUs). The other 3 WUs are using CPU (I assume)
 
Joined
Jul 25, 2008
Messages
2,871 (0.84/day)
Likes
1,808
Location
South of Planet Earth
System Name SLOW-MO-SHUN II
Processor AMD RYZEN 5 1600X 6-Core 3.6GHz
Motherboard ASRock AB350 Pro4
Cooling AMD stock cooler, 6 case fans
Memory 16GB (2 x 8GB) 288-Pin DDR4 2400MHz Dual Channel
Video Card(s) NVidia GeForce GTX1060 6GB
Storage SEAGATE 1TB 7200 RPM 64MB ------SAMSUNG 250GB Solid State Drive SATA III
Display(s) Asus 24" widescreen 1080p
Case Corsair Carbide Series 200R Black Steel
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply SEASONIC 620 W E/P
Software Windows 10 Home 64-Bit
I am at work so can't do anything until I get home.

So if I understand this right all need to do is update BOINC, then shut it down, then run the easy set up program and fire it back up. Log into my BOINC then tick accept gpu work. Right? Or did I miss something?
see pc specs, the gup's are stock HD 6950's 2 gigs each.
can I run in xfire?
What kind of temps are ppl getting on there gpu's?
I also game on this rig, if I want to play can I just turn off the GPU work and then back on when finished?

I will set them up tonight after work,

Thanks for any help.
 
Joined
Nov 7, 2009
Messages
2,712 (0.92/day)
Likes
1,781
Location
Denmark
System Name The work PC / Folder 1 & 2 (+3 on/off)
Processor W3670 4.00 GHz/ W3670 3.8 / 4790K 4.4/ i7 920
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-X58A-UD5/UD7/Maximum Hero/ UD5
Cooling Custom WC/Noctua NH-D14/Noctua NH-D15/D14
Memory 6 GB A-Data/6 GB Mushkin /8 GB Corsair Vengance/ Mus
Video Card(s) 1070 X MSI/ 970 ASUS / 2x970 MSI/970 MSI
Storage 480 GB SSD / 480 GB SSD /480 GB SSD, all EVO 840
Display(s) Dell UltraSharp 2408WFP
Case Corsair 800D / Fractel R4 /none
Power Supply Enermax 87+ 600 W/ 500 W / AX 860/700 W Enermax
Software WIN7 64 bit
Benchmark Scores Cherry pie at one point ;)
Sorry, I think my post misleads you. It is only 1 GPU. Sapphire 7970 with the custom cooler. However, only 1 WU is using (1 CPUs + 0.25 GPUs). The other 3 WUs are using CPU (I assume)
You are asking for 4 units in total and 2 off them should be GPU units and each of them can use 1 CPU thread. That should net you 2 GPU and 2 CPU units.

Did you use the program in post 617??
 

ArticFir3

New Member
Joined
Feb 7, 2013
Messages
17 (0.01/day)
Likes
14
System Name Edward-PC
Processor i5-2500K @ 4.4GHz
Motherboard ASUS Maximus V Formula
Cooling Noctua C12-SE14
Memory 8GB Corsair Vengeance LP
Video Card(s) Sapphire 7970 (w/ Arctic Accelero Xtreme 7970)
Storage Corsair Force 60GB SSD, 1TB WD Green
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster XL2370
Case CM Storm Trooper
Audio Device(s) N/A
Power Supply Corsair TX850
Software Win 7 Ultimate
You are asking for 4 units in total and 2 off them should be GPU units and each of them can use 1 CPU thread. That should net you 2 GPU and 2 CPU units.

Did you use the program in post 617??
Technically the program doesn't works as I tried to run it because my BOINC isn't on the default folder. So I manually created the xml file and paste to the directory. On my BOINC, I did run "Read config file" :banghead::banghead:
 
Joined
Sep 2, 2011
Messages
618 (0.27/day)
Likes
479
Location
Where the hand of man has never set foot
Processor AMD Phenom II X4 965
Motherboard ASUS M4A79T Deluxe
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212 Plus with 2x SickleFlow 120 2000 RPM
Memory 2x2GB Kingston HyperX 1333MHz CAS7
Video Card(s) PowerColor Radeon HD 6870 (Baked 3 Times and Heat Gunned Once)
Storage Crucial MX100 512GB
Display(s) LG Flatron W2453V
Case Xigmatek Midgard-W
Power Supply Thermaltake TR2 RX 750W
Mouse HP VooDooDNA
Keyboard Corsair K60
I am at work so can't do anything until I get home.

So if I understand this right all need to do is update BOINC, then shut it down, then run the easy set up program and fire it back up. Log into my BOINC then tick accept gpu work. Right? Or did I miss something?
see pc specs, the gup's are stock HD 6950's 2 gigs each.
can I run in xfire?
What kind of temps are ppl getting on there gpu's?
I also game on this rig, if I want to play can I just turn off the GPU work and then back on when finished?

I will set them up tonight after work,

Thanks for any help.
You're right that's all you have to do.
Yes you can crossfire (just verify that it does not send errors).
My HD 7870 is running at 41C with 8 wus wich is just a little bit more than on idle... My HD 5770 is running at about 46C with 2 wus.
Yes you can turn off the GPU work and then back on when finished.

Technically the program doesn't works as I tried to run it because my BOINC isn't on the default folder.
I'll find a solution for that... hopefully tonight!
 
Joined
Nov 29, 2011
Messages
5,975 (2.71/day)
Likes
5,278
Location
Hi! I'm from the Internet
System Name Selene / Yoda
Processor Fx 8350 @ 4.4 / Phenom II x6 1090t @ 3.6
Motherboard Gigabyte 990FXA-UD3 r4.0 / Gigabyte 890XA-UD3
Cooling H100i / Xig Dark Knight
Memory 4x 8gb G.Skill Snipers / 4x 4gb G.Skill Ares
Video Card(s) Gigabyte R9 290x / XfX DD & VisionTek HD6850's C'fired
Storage 256gb ssd, 2x 2tb Wd Blacks & 1x 1tb Wd black / 1x 1tb
Display(s) Dell Ultra Sharp 2408 WFp / Hp w2207
Case Raidmax Vampire / Chieftec Alum. Dragon Blue
Audio Device(s) Onboard Hd Audio / Onboard Hd Audio
Power Supply Corsair TX 850 watt / Corsair TX 750 watt
Mouse Logitech G500s
Keyboard Corsair Strafe
Software Win 10 pro / Win Vista Home prem. 64 bit
Benchmark Scores What are benchmarks anyway?
just as m&m's said, you can try crossfiring just pay very close attention to the rig for a couple weeks for errors. Also if you start getting driver crashes and stuff don't be alarmed. Just disable crossfire in Amd vision control while crunching.
 
Joined
Jul 25, 2008
Messages
2,871 (0.84/day)
Likes
1,808
Location
South of Planet Earth
System Name SLOW-MO-SHUN II
Processor AMD RYZEN 5 1600X 6-Core 3.6GHz
Motherboard ASRock AB350 Pro4
Cooling AMD stock cooler, 6 case fans
Memory 16GB (2 x 8GB) 288-Pin DDR4 2400MHz Dual Channel
Video Card(s) NVidia GeForce GTX1060 6GB
Storage SEAGATE 1TB 7200 RPM 64MB ------SAMSUNG 250GB Solid State Drive SATA III
Display(s) Asus 24" widescreen 1080p
Case Corsair Carbide Series 200R Black Steel
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply SEASONIC 620 W E/P
Software Windows 10 Home 64-Bit
How many Wu's should I run?
 

[Ion]

WCG Team Assistant
Joined
Sep 15, 2009
Messages
13,391 (4.44/day)
Likes
14,251
Location
Raleigh, North Carolina, United States
System Name Niedersachsen / Ribe / Minsk
Processor i3 3240 / i7-3520M / 4x Opteron 6376 @ 2.86GHz
Motherboard BIOSTAR H61M / HP Q77 / Supermicro H8QG7
Cooling Stock / Stock / 4x 1U G34
Memory 1x8GB / 2x4GB / 4x4GB
Video Card(s) GTX260 / Intel HD 4000 / nVidia GT310
Storage 80GB Intel SSD / 256GB Intel SSD / 2x 60GB SSD (RAID1)
Display(s) Dell 3007 + HP 2245w / 12.1" 1366x768 / None
Case Antec NSK3480 / HP / Supermicro 1U
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Enermax 500W / HP 130W / Supermicro Gold 1400W
Keyboard IBM Model M
Software Windows 7 (Niedersachsen/Ribe) / Linux Mint 17.2 (Minsk)
How many Wu's should I run?
I'd say run three WUs/GPU and give each one 2/3 of a CPU core--then leaving two cores free for CPU tasks too. You could also play with 4 WUs/GPU, but I'm not sure that it would work better.
 
Joined
Nov 29, 2011
Messages
5,975 (2.71/day)
Likes
5,278
Location
Hi! I'm from the Internet
System Name Selene / Yoda
Processor Fx 8350 @ 4.4 / Phenom II x6 1090t @ 3.6
Motherboard Gigabyte 990FXA-UD3 r4.0 / Gigabyte 890XA-UD3
Cooling H100i / Xig Dark Knight
Memory 4x 8gb G.Skill Snipers / 4x 4gb G.Skill Ares
Video Card(s) Gigabyte R9 290x / XfX DD & VisionTek HD6850's C'fired
Storage 256gb ssd, 2x 2tb Wd Blacks & 1x 1tb Wd black / 1x 1tb
Display(s) Dell Ultra Sharp 2408 WFp / Hp w2207
Case Raidmax Vampire / Chieftec Alum. Dragon Blue
Audio Device(s) Onboard Hd Audio / Onboard Hd Audio
Power Supply Corsair TX 850 watt / Corsair TX 750 watt
Mouse Logitech G500s
Keyboard Corsair Strafe
Software Win 10 pro / Win Vista Home prem. 64 bit
Benchmark Scores What are benchmarks anyway?
How many Wu's should I run?
On my crossfired 6850's I do 1 wu each and 4 cpu units. I can probably crank it up to 2 or 3 wu's per card. Now on my 7850 single gpu rig I am running 4 wu's and no cpu units.
 
Joined
Sep 2, 2011
Messages
618 (0.27/day)
Likes
479
Location
Where the hand of man has never set foot
Processor AMD Phenom II X4 965
Motherboard ASUS M4A79T Deluxe
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212 Plus with 2x SickleFlow 120 2000 RPM
Memory 2x2GB Kingston HyperX 1333MHz CAS7
Video Card(s) PowerColor Radeon HD 6870 (Baked 3 Times and Heat Gunned Once)
Storage Crucial MX100 512GB
Display(s) LG Flatron W2453V
Case Xigmatek Midgard-W
Power Supply Thermaltake TR2 RX 750W
Mouse HP VooDooDNA
Keyboard Corsair K60
I'll find a solution for that... hopefully tonight!
3 hours later... Version 1.2.0 is UP!! You'll find it on post #617.:fear:
 

ArticFir3

New Member
Joined
Feb 7, 2013
Messages
17 (0.01/day)
Likes
14
System Name Edward-PC
Processor i5-2500K @ 4.4GHz
Motherboard ASUS Maximus V Formula
Cooling Noctua C12-SE14
Memory 8GB Corsair Vengeance LP
Video Card(s) Sapphire 7970 (w/ Arctic Accelero Xtreme 7970)
Storage Corsair Force 60GB SSD, 1TB WD Green
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster XL2370
Case CM Storm Trooper
Audio Device(s) N/A
Power Supply Corsair TX850
Software Win 7 Ultimate
I downloaded the program and paste the xml file to the folder. Problem is I always get 4 WUs running, 3 core and 1 GPU. Any idea how to improve the crunching?
 

Norton

Moderator & WCG-TPU Captain
Staff member
Joined
Dec 21, 2011
Messages
12,677 (5.80/day)
Likes
36,235
Location
USA
System Name My Fortress/Trish (WCG)/Julia (WCG)/Ella (WCG)/Junior(WCG)/Cruncher 1 & 2/Kreij (WCG)
Processor Ryzen 1700X/i7-970/2600K/i7-980X/3930k/Opteron 6168x4/Ryzen 1600X/FX-8350
Motherboard X370 Taichi/ ASUS R3E/Asus P8P67 Pro/P9X79 Pro/EVGA X58 SLI 3/SuperMicro 4P
Cooling NH-D14/Phanteks/NH-U14S/H70/DeepCool/CM 212+ (x4)/NH-U14S/CM212
Memory 16GB GSkill TridentZ-3200 (1700X), 16GB GSkill FlareX-2400 (1600X),... various...., 4P- 16x1GB
Video Card(s) RX 580/HD 4670/HD 7770/HD 7770/HD 7770/onboard/HD 7770/onboard
Storage WD 500GB SSD/Seagate 2TB SSHD, everything else is Western Digital (mostly)
Display(s) Dell U2414H & 2409W / Dell 2208WFP (shared)
Case Silverstone FT01B/Source 530/Corsair 230T/Define XL R2/Silverstone FT05/Define R4/custom
Audio Device(s) on board (All)
Power Supply Corsair HX850/TX650/CS650M/X Gold 750/EVGA P2 850/X Gold 1050/HX650
Mouse Logitech G300s
Keyboard Thermaltake Challenger Prime (Great for $30!!!)
Software Win 7 Home 64 (Win 10 Pro 64)/Win Pro 64 or Ubuntu 12.04 LTS/14.04 LTS/17.04
Benchmark Scores Why sit on the Bench when you can get in the game and Crunch!!!
I downloaded the program and paste the xml file to the folder. Problem is I always get 4 WUs running, 3 core and 1 GPU. Any idea how to improve the crunching?
Post a copy of the text from the xml file you used and we'll have a look...