• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Guide to running multiple GPU work units

ArticFir3

New Member
Joined
Feb 7, 2013
Messages
17 (0.01/day)
Likes
14
System Name Edward-PC
Processor i5-2500K @ 4.4GHz
Motherboard ASUS Maximus V Formula
Cooling Noctua C12-SE14
Memory 8GB Corsair Vengeance LP
Video Card(s) Sapphire 7970 (w/ Arctic Accelero Xtreme 7970)
Storage Corsair Force 60GB SSD, 1TB WD Green
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster XL2370
Case CM Storm Trooper
Audio Device(s) N/A
Power Supply Corsair TX850
Software Win 7 Ultimate
Post a copy of the text from the xml file you used and we'll have a look...
I think I got the so called "ideal" settings.

<app_config>
<app>
<name>hcc1</name>
<max_concurrent>7</max_concurrent>
<gpu_versions>
<gpu_usage>.250</gpu_usage>
<cpu_usage>.250</cpu_usage>
</gpu_versions>
</app>
</app_config>

Right now it is running with 3 WU on core and 4 WU on GPU
 

Norton

Moderator & WCG-TPU Captain
Staff member
Joined
Dec 21, 2011
Messages
12,677 (5.80/day)
Likes
36,235
Location
USA
System Name My Fortress/Trish (WCG)/Julia (WCG)/Ella (WCG)/Junior(WCG)/Cruncher 1 & 2/Kreij (WCG)
Processor Ryzen 1700X/i7-970/2600K/i7-980X/3930k/Opteron 6168x4/Ryzen 1600X/FX-8350
Motherboard X370 Taichi/ ASUS R3E/Asus P8P67 Pro/P9X79 Pro/EVGA X58 SLI 3/SuperMicro 4P
Cooling NH-D14/Phanteks/NH-U14S/H70/DeepCool/CM 212+ (x4)/NH-U14S/CM212
Memory 16GB GSkill TridentZ-3200 (1700X), 16GB GSkill FlareX-2400 (1600X),... various...., 4P- 16x1GB
Video Card(s) RX 580/HD 4670/HD 7770/HD 7770/HD 7770/onboard/HD 7770/onboard
Storage WD 500GB SSD/Seagate 2TB SSHD, everything else is Western Digital (mostly)
Display(s) Dell U2414H & 2409W / Dell 2208WFP (shared)
Case Silverstone FT01B/Source 530/Corsair 230T/Define XL R2/Silverstone FT05/Define R4/custom
Audio Device(s) on board (All)
Power Supply Corsair HX850/TX650/CS650M/X Gold 750/EVGA P2 850/X Gold 1050/HX650
Mouse Logitech G300s
Keyboard Thermaltake Challenger Prime (Great for $30!!!)
Software Win 7 Home 64 (Win 10 Pro 64)/Win Pro 64 or Ubuntu 12.04 LTS/14.04 LTS/17.04
Benchmark Scores Why sit on the Bench when you can get in the game and Crunch!!!
I think I got the so called "ideal" settings.

<app_config>
<app>
<name>hcc1</name>
<max_concurrent>7</max_concurrent>
<gpu_versions>
<gpu_usage>.250</gpu_usage>
<cpu_usage>.250</cpu_usage>
</gpu_versions>
</app>
</app_config>

Right now it is running with 3 WU on core and 4 WU on GPU
With a 7970 you can run 8-12 or more gpu wu's and get 80-100k+ ppd just on the gpu ;)

Look through this thread a bit and see what others are doing/have done and experiment a bit*
* I run 8-10 wu's on 7870's and they run quite well like that :)
 

ArticFir3

New Member
Joined
Feb 7, 2013
Messages
17 (0.01/day)
Likes
14
System Name Edward-PC
Processor i5-2500K @ 4.4GHz
Motherboard ASUS Maximus V Formula
Cooling Noctua C12-SE14
Memory 8GB Corsair Vengeance LP
Video Card(s) Sapphire 7970 (w/ Arctic Accelero Xtreme 7970)
Storage Corsair Force 60GB SSD, 1TB WD Green
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster XL2370
Case CM Storm Trooper
Audio Device(s) N/A
Power Supply Corsair TX850
Software Win 7 Ultimate
With a 7970 you can run 8-12 or more gpu wu's and get 80-100k+ ppd just on the gpu ;)

Look through this thread a bit and see what others are doing/have done and experiment a bit*
* I run 8-10 wu's on 7870's and they run quite well like that :)
Thank you. I went to the WCG forum and finally understand how to get GPU to crunch effectively. As a reference, I will share the xml fil here.

<app_config>
<app>
<name>hcc1</name>
<gpu_versions>
<gpu_usage>.125</gpu_usage>
<cpu_usage>.5</cpu_usage>
</gpu_versions>
</app>
</app_config>

My setup is as per my system specs
 
Joined
Feb 7, 2013
Messages
119 (0.07/day)
Likes
67
System Name Aki
Processor Intel Core i5-3570
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-H77M-D3H
Cooling CM 212 Evo
Memory Corsair Vengeance 8 GB DDR3-1600
Video Card(s) Sapphire HD7850 2GB
Storage INTEL SSD 520 120 GB, WD Green 2TB, WD Black 2TB, WD Blue 4TB
Display(s) AOC 2353 [23" LCD]
Case Corsair 400R
Power Supply Seasonic 520W S12II
Mouse Logitech G502
Keyboard Corsair K70
Software Windows 8.1 64 bit
<app_config>
<app>
<name>hcc1</name>
<max_concurrent>6</max_concurrent>
<gpu_versions>
<gpu_usage>.250</gpu_usage>
<cpu_usage>.667</cpu_usage>
</gpu_versions>
</app>
</app_config>



Is this correct?



Edit 1 : (Event log)
08-Feb-13 | | Re-reading cc_config.xml
08-Feb-13 | | No config file found - using defaults
08-Feb-13 | | log flags: file_xfer, sched_ops, task



Edit 2 :
i have no cc_config file in Program Data\BOINC
i have pasted app_config xml @ Program Data\BOINC\Data\projects\www.worldcommunitygrid.org
 
Last edited:

Norton

Moderator & WCG-TPU Captain
Staff member
Joined
Dec 21, 2011
Messages
12,677 (5.80/day)
Likes
36,235
Location
USA
System Name My Fortress/Trish (WCG)/Julia (WCG)/Ella (WCG)/Junior(WCG)/Cruncher 1 & 2/Kreij (WCG)
Processor Ryzen 1700X/i7-970/2600K/i7-980X/3930k/Opteron 6168x4/Ryzen 1600X/FX-8350
Motherboard X370 Taichi/ ASUS R3E/Asus P8P67 Pro/P9X79 Pro/EVGA X58 SLI 3/SuperMicro 4P
Cooling NH-D14/Phanteks/NH-U14S/H70/DeepCool/CM 212+ (x4)/NH-U14S/CM212
Memory 16GB GSkill TridentZ-3200 (1700X), 16GB GSkill FlareX-2400 (1600X),... various...., 4P- 16x1GB
Video Card(s) RX 580/HD 4670/HD 7770/HD 7770/HD 7770/onboard/HD 7770/onboard
Storage WD 500GB SSD/Seagate 2TB SSHD, everything else is Western Digital (mostly)
Display(s) Dell U2414H & 2409W / Dell 2208WFP (shared)
Case Silverstone FT01B/Source 530/Corsair 230T/Define XL R2/Silverstone FT05/Define R4/custom
Audio Device(s) on board (All)
Power Supply Corsair HX850/TX650/CS650M/X Gold 750/EVGA P2 850/X Gold 1050/HX650
Mouse Logitech G300s
Keyboard Thermaltake Challenger Prime (Great for $30!!!)
Software Win 7 Home 64 (Win 10 Pro 64)/Win Pro 64 or Ubuntu 12.04 LTS/14.04 LTS/17.04
Benchmark Scores Why sit on the Bench when you can get in the game and Crunch!!!
@sabre23

What are are you trying to do with the file?

As written it should give you 4 gpu wu's and 1 cpu wu .... with a little bit of cpu left over.

If you want to run 6 total (4 gpu, 2 cpu) then this revision will do it:
<app_config>
<app>
<name>hcc1</name>
<max_concurrent>6</max_concurrent>
<gpu_versions>
<gpu_usage>0.250</gpu_usage>
<cpu_usage>0.50</cpu_usage>
</gpu_versions>
</app>
</app_config>

If otherwise let us know ;)
 
Joined
Feb 7, 2013
Messages
119 (0.07/day)
Likes
67
System Name Aki
Processor Intel Core i5-3570
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-H77M-D3H
Cooling CM 212 Evo
Memory Corsair Vengeance 8 GB DDR3-1600
Video Card(s) Sapphire HD7850 2GB
Storage INTEL SSD 520 120 GB, WD Green 2TB, WD Black 2TB, WD Blue 4TB
Display(s) AOC 2353 [23" LCD]
Case Corsair 400R
Power Supply Seasonic 520W S12II
Mouse Logitech G502
Keyboard Corsair K70
Software Windows 8.1 64 bit
i had done revision as you said but no at multi gpu setup.

my current condition(screenshot)
 

Attachments

Norton

Moderator & WCG-TPU Captain
Staff member
Joined
Dec 21, 2011
Messages
12,677 (5.80/day)
Likes
36,235
Location
USA
System Name My Fortress/Trish (WCG)/Julia (WCG)/Ella (WCG)/Junior(WCG)/Cruncher 1 & 2/Kreij (WCG)
Processor Ryzen 1700X/i7-970/2600K/i7-980X/3930k/Opteron 6168x4/Ryzen 1600X/FX-8350
Motherboard X370 Taichi/ ASUS R3E/Asus P8P67 Pro/P9X79 Pro/EVGA X58 SLI 3/SuperMicro 4P
Cooling NH-D14/Phanteks/NH-U14S/H70/DeepCool/CM 212+ (x4)/NH-U14S/CM212
Memory 16GB GSkill TridentZ-3200 (1700X), 16GB GSkill FlareX-2400 (1600X),... various...., 4P- 16x1GB
Video Card(s) RX 580/HD 4670/HD 7770/HD 7770/HD 7770/onboard/HD 7770/onboard
Storage WD 500GB SSD/Seagate 2TB SSHD, everything else is Western Digital (mostly)
Display(s) Dell U2414H & 2409W / Dell 2208WFP (shared)
Case Silverstone FT01B/Source 530/Corsair 230T/Define XL R2/Silverstone FT05/Define R4/custom
Audio Device(s) on board (All)
Power Supply Corsair HX850/TX650/CS650M/X Gold 750/EVGA P2 850/X Gold 1050/HX650
Mouse Logitech G300s
Keyboard Thermaltake Challenger Prime (Great for $30!!!)
Software Win 7 Home 64 (Win 10 Pro 64)/Win Pro 64 or Ubuntu 12.04 LTS/14.04 LTS/17.04
Benchmark Scores Why sit on the Bench when you can get in the game and Crunch!!!
i had done revision as you said but no at multi gpu setup.

my current condition(screenshot)
You can try the following:

A) let it finish the current cpu work units

or

B) pause or abort one or two of the cpu work units

Sometimes it needs to run through a few cycles to pick up the multiple gpu work. This is normal (did it with one of mine recently)

Did you close and restart your BOINC Manger when you inserted the app_config?
 
Joined
Feb 7, 2013
Messages
119 (0.07/day)
Likes
67
System Name Aki
Processor Intel Core i5-3570
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-H77M-D3H
Cooling CM 212 Evo
Memory Corsair Vengeance 8 GB DDR3-1600
Video Card(s) Sapphire HD7850 2GB
Storage INTEL SSD 520 120 GB, WD Green 2TB, WD Black 2TB, WD Blue 4TB
Display(s) AOC 2353 [23" LCD]
Case Corsair 400R
Power Supply Seasonic 520W S12II
Mouse Logitech G502
Keyboard Corsair K70
Software Windows 8.1 64 bit
You can try the following:

A) let it finish the current cpu work units

or

B) pause or abort one or two of the cpu work units

Sometimes it needs to run through a few cycles to pick up the multiple gpu work. This is normal (did it with one of mine recently)

Did you close and restart your BOINC Manger when you inserted the app_config?


Restrted BIONIC Manager many tyms.
Suspended every CPU only Tasks.
Currently running one (1 CPU + 1 GPU) task .
will wait fr few cycles as u said..
 
Joined
Nov 7, 2009
Messages
2,712 (0.92/day)
Likes
1,781
Location
Denmark
System Name The work PC / Folder 1 & 2 (+3 on/off)
Processor W3670 4.00 GHz/ W3670 3.8 / 4790K 4.4/ i7 920
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-X58A-UD5/UD7/Maximum Hero/ UD5
Cooling Custom WC/Noctua NH-D14/Noctua NH-D15/D14
Memory 6 GB A-Data/6 GB Mushkin /8 GB Corsair Vengance/ Mus
Video Card(s) 1070 X MSI/ 970 ASUS / 2x970 MSI/970 MSI
Storage 480 GB SSD / 480 GB SSD /480 GB SSD, all EVO 840
Display(s) Dell UltraSharp 2408WFP
Case Corsair 800D / Fractel R4 /none
Power Supply Enermax 87+ 600 W/ 500 W / AX 860/700 W Enermax
Software WIN7 64 bit
Benchmark Scores Cherry pie at one point ;)
Restrted BIONIC Manager many tyms.
Suspended every CPU only Tasks.
Currently running one (1 CPU + 1 GPU) task .
will wait fr few cycles as u said..
Just to make sure - are you using BOINC version 7.40 or later?

Have you tried to re-start the PC?
 
Joined
Feb 7, 2013
Messages
119 (0.07/day)
Likes
67
System Name Aki
Processor Intel Core i5-3570
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-H77M-D3H
Cooling CM 212 Evo
Memory Corsair Vengeance 8 GB DDR3-1600
Video Card(s) Sapphire HD7850 2GB
Storage INTEL SSD 520 120 GB, WD Green 2TB, WD Black 2TB, WD Blue 4TB
Display(s) AOC 2353 [23" LCD]
Case Corsair 400R
Power Supply Seasonic 520W S12II
Mouse Logitech G502
Keyboard Corsair K70
Software Windows 8.1 64 bit
Just to make sure - are you using BOINC version 7.40 or later?

Have you tried to re-start the PC?
Using 7.0.44. its now working..:p sorry fr delay reply..was not at home.

1 last question --- how much task should i run with my system -- i5-3570 (not unlocked) and HD 7850 2GB?
 

[Ion]

WCG Team Assistant
Joined
Sep 15, 2009
Messages
13,391 (4.44/day)
Likes
14,251
Location
Raleigh, North Carolina, United States
System Name Niedersachsen / Ribe / Minsk
Processor i3 3240 / i7-3520M / 4x Opteron 6376 @ 2.86GHz
Motherboard BIOSTAR H61M / HP Q77 / Supermicro H8QG7
Cooling Stock / Stock / 4x 1U G34
Memory 1x8GB / 2x4GB / 4x4GB
Video Card(s) GTX260 / Intel HD 4000 / nVidia GT310
Storage 80GB Intel SSD / 256GB Intel SSD / 2x 60GB SSD (RAID1)
Display(s) Dell 3007 + HP 2245w / 12.1" 1366x768 / None
Case Antec NSK3480 / HP / Supermicro 1U
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Enermax 500W / HP 130W / Supermicro Gold 1400W
Keyboard IBM Model M
Software Windows 7 (Niedersachsen/Ribe) / Linux Mint 17.2 (Minsk)
Using 7.0.44. its now working..:p sorry fr delay reply..was not at home.

1 last question --- how much task should i run with my system -- i5-3570 (not unlocked) and HD 7850 2GB?
I run 5 WUs on a HD7850 on an i3 2100--I'd go for six WUs, and give each one 2/3 of a CPU core :toast:
 

t_ski

Former Staff
Joined
Apr 11, 2006
Messages
11,960 (2.80/day)
Likes
6,443
System Name My i7 Beast
Processor Intel Core i7 6800K
Motherboard Asus X99-A II
Cooling Nickel-plated EK Supremacy EVO, D5 with XSPC Bayres & BIX Quad Radiator
Memory 4 x 8GB EVGA SuperSC DDR4-3200
Video Card(s) EVGA 1080 SuperClocked
Storage Samsung 950 Pro 256GB m.2 SSD + 480GB Sandisk storage SSD
Display(s) Three Asus 24" VW246H LCD's
Case Silverstone TJ07
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair AX1200
Keyboard Corsair K95
Software Windows 10 x64 Pro
Using 7.0.44. its now working..:p sorry fr delay reply..was not at home.

1 last question --- how much task should i run with my system -- i5-3570 (not unlocked) and HD 7850 2GB?
I run 5 WUs on a HD7850 on an i3 2100--I'd go for six WUs, and give each one 2/3 of a CPU core :toast:
Start there ^^^ and play around with it, adding WU's until you feel like you've reached the max you'd like to run (stable/safe temps/etc.).
 

oldDirty

New Member
Joined
Dec 25, 2010
Messages
18 (0.01/day)
Likes
11
Processor 3570K @ 4Ghz Air
Motherboard msi Z77-MPower
Cooling EKL Alpenföhn Matterhorn
Memory 2x 4Gb Gskill RipjawsX 1333 @ 1866
Video Card(s) HD7970 Crossfire HIS & Sapphire 1100/1700
Storage Plextor M5Pro 128Gb & HD103SJ
Display(s) Samsung 245B 24"
Case Lian Li B25F
Audio Device(s) Sony MDR-DS6500
Power Supply Enermax Modu 87+ 600w
Software Win7 x64
Does the Multi-Wu setup work on old HD58xx Cards too?
I remember that i run this here on one 5850;
 
Joined
Nov 7, 2009
Messages
2,712 (0.92/day)
Likes
1,781
Location
Denmark
System Name The work PC / Folder 1 & 2 (+3 on/off)
Processor W3670 4.00 GHz/ W3670 3.8 / 4790K 4.4/ i7 920
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-X58A-UD5/UD7/Maximum Hero/ UD5
Cooling Custom WC/Noctua NH-D14/Noctua NH-D15/D14
Memory 6 GB A-Data/6 GB Mushkin /8 GB Corsair Vengance/ Mus
Video Card(s) 1070 X MSI/ 970 ASUS / 2x970 MSI/970 MSI
Storage 480 GB SSD / 480 GB SSD /480 GB SSD, all EVO 840
Display(s) Dell UltraSharp 2408WFP
Case Corsair 800D / Fractel R4 /none
Power Supply Enermax 87+ 600 W/ 500 W / AX 860/700 W Enermax
Software WIN7 64 bit
Benchmark Scores Cherry pie at one point ;)
Joined
Jan 20, 2007
Messages
216 (0.05/day)
Likes
119
Location
Mataram-NTB, Indonesia
System Name Folding System
Processor Intel 4770K Haswell
Motherboard Gigabyte G1 Sniper
Cooling EK Clean CSQ WB + EK CoolStream RAD XTX 480 + EK GTX780Ti Full WB + Swiftech D5 Pump
Memory 4 x 4 GB DDR3 GSkill Ripjaws F3 17000 GBZL | 4 x 4GB DDR3 Corsair Dominator Platinum
Video Card(s) 2 x Inno3D GTX 780Ti 3GB SLI
Storage 2x Patriot Pyro 240GB Raid 0 | 2x WD Green 3TB Raid 0 | 4x Seagate 4TB Raid 0
Display(s) Viewsonic LED VA1938wa 19" / 2 x Dell U2312HM 23" IPS Panel
Case Corsair 900D + 1 Aerocool 14cm Fan, 3 CM Fan 12cm, 4 Scythe Slim Fan 12cm, 4 Aerocool Shark 12cm
Audio Device(s) ASUS Xonar Phoebus + Hippo cri head amp + Sennheiser HD 598 + Razer Megalodon
Power Supply Seasonic P1000 Platinum
Mouse Cyborg R.A.T 5
Keyboard Gigabyte Aivia Osmium Mech Keyboard
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64
Hi guys..
I set 1 machine with AMD FX8350 and Zotac Nvidia GTX670 and i use "Auto-setup utility for app_config.xml" method, restart the BOINC manager but my machine still run 1 GPU WU. Are there any specific setting for this kind of combination so i can run multiple WU in that GPU?

Thank you.. :D

edit: i also have another GTX670, i want to trade it to another GPU that will give more PPD, can you guys suggest which one i should get? or do we have link somewhere here with PPD comparison for every GPU.
 
Last edited:

[Ion]

WCG Team Assistant
Joined
Sep 15, 2009
Messages
13,391 (4.44/day)
Likes
14,251
Location
Raleigh, North Carolina, United States
System Name Niedersachsen / Ribe / Minsk
Processor i3 3240 / i7-3520M / 4x Opteron 6376 @ 2.86GHz
Motherboard BIOSTAR H61M / HP Q77 / Supermicro H8QG7
Cooling Stock / Stock / 4x 1U G34
Memory 1x8GB / 2x4GB / 4x4GB
Video Card(s) GTX260 / Intel HD 4000 / nVidia GT310
Storage 80GB Intel SSD / 256GB Intel SSD / 2x 60GB SSD (RAID1)
Display(s) Dell 3007 + HP 2245w / 12.1" 1366x768 / None
Case Antec NSK3480 / HP / Supermicro 1U
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Enermax 500W / HP 130W / Supermicro Gold 1400W
Keyboard IBM Model M
Software Windows 7 (Niedersachsen/Ribe) / Linux Mint 17.2 (Minsk)
Hi guys..
I set 1 machine with AMD FX8350 and Zotac Nvidia GTX670 and i use "Auto-setup utility for app_config.xml" method, restart the BOINC manager but my machine still run 1 GPU WU. Are there any specific setting for this kind of combination so i can run multiple WU in that GPU?

Thank you.. :D

edit: i also have another GTX670, i want to trade it to another GPU that will give more PPD, can you guys suggest which one i should get? or do we have link somewhere here with PPD comparison for every GPU.
What version of BOINC are you using? You need 7.0.4+

No link of PPD for ever GPU, as it depends so much on the CPU that it is paired with and the number of WUs running. But the AMD HD78x0 and HD79x0 are particularly awesome in this regard :toast:
 
Joined
Jan 20, 2007
Messages
216 (0.05/day)
Likes
119
Location
Mataram-NTB, Indonesia
System Name Folding System
Processor Intel 4770K Haswell
Motherboard Gigabyte G1 Sniper
Cooling EK Clean CSQ WB + EK CoolStream RAD XTX 480 + EK GTX780Ti Full WB + Swiftech D5 Pump
Memory 4 x 4 GB DDR3 GSkill Ripjaws F3 17000 GBZL | 4 x 4GB DDR3 Corsair Dominator Platinum
Video Card(s) 2 x Inno3D GTX 780Ti 3GB SLI
Storage 2x Patriot Pyro 240GB Raid 0 | 2x WD Green 3TB Raid 0 | 4x Seagate 4TB Raid 0
Display(s) Viewsonic LED VA1938wa 19" / 2 x Dell U2312HM 23" IPS Panel
Case Corsair 900D + 1 Aerocool 14cm Fan, 3 CM Fan 12cm, 4 Scythe Slim Fan 12cm, 4 Aerocool Shark 12cm
Audio Device(s) ASUS Xonar Phoebus + Hippo cri head amp + Sennheiser HD 598 + Razer Megalodon
Power Supply Seasonic P1000 Platinum
Mouse Cyborg R.A.T 5
Keyboard Gigabyte Aivia Osmium Mech Keyboard
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64
What version of BOINC are you using? You need 7.0.4+

No link of PPD for ever GPU, as it depends so much on the CPU that it is paired with and the number of WUs running. But the AMD HD78x0 and HD79x0 are particularly awesome in this regard :toast:
I use 7.0.28 (x64), so that is why it failed. i should read more careful. :eek:
i will try again..thanks for the tip Ion.. :toast:
 

[Ion]

WCG Team Assistant
Joined
Sep 15, 2009
Messages
13,391 (4.44/day)
Likes
14,251
Location
Raleigh, North Carolina, United States
System Name Niedersachsen / Ribe / Minsk
Processor i3 3240 / i7-3520M / 4x Opteron 6376 @ 2.86GHz
Motherboard BIOSTAR H61M / HP Q77 / Supermicro H8QG7
Cooling Stock / Stock / 4x 1U G34
Memory 1x8GB / 2x4GB / 4x4GB
Video Card(s) GTX260 / Intel HD 4000 / nVidia GT310
Storage 80GB Intel SSD / 256GB Intel SSD / 2x 60GB SSD (RAID1)
Display(s) Dell 3007 + HP 2245w / 12.1" 1366x768 / None
Case Antec NSK3480 / HP / Supermicro 1U
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Enermax 500W / HP 130W / Supermicro Gold 1400W
Keyboard IBM Model M
Software Windows 7 (Niedersachsen/Ribe) / Linux Mint 17.2 (Minsk)
I use 7.0.28 (x64), so that is why it failed. i should read more careful. :eek:
i will try again..thanks for the tip Ion.. :toast:
;)
I spent nearly an hour trying to figure out why the multi WUs weren't working on my 2700k system only to realize that was my issue. So you certainly aren't alone :)
 
Joined
Jan 18, 2012
Messages
751 (0.35/day)
Likes
218
System Name My PC
Processor i7 4790k @4.4ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte z97m-d3h
Cooling Corsair H105
Memory 4x4GB Corsair Dominator Platinum 2133-9-11-11-31-1T
Video Card(s) GTX970 Stric oc
Storage Samsung 840Pro 512GB
Display(s) Asus ROG SWIFT
Case Lian Li 359
Audio Device(s) Denon DA-300USB / Denon AH-D5000
Power Supply Corsair AX860
Mouse Roccat Kone Pure Optical
Keyboard Corsair K70
Software Win10 64-bit home
I've really tried everything for my issue so I decided to extensively explain my problem here so that I may get some help...

-For the past month I have been using BOINC with my CPU only because GPU instantly produces "Computation Error" when a task starts.
-Today I uninstalled and deleted all BOINC files on the PC, including files in programdata. Reinstalled BOINC 7.0.44 and properly set the app config file to:
<app_config>
<app>
<name>hcc1</name>
<max_concurrent>8</max_concurrent>
<gpu_versions>
<gpu_usage>0.125</gpu_usage>
<cpu_usage>1</cpu_usage>
</gpu_versions>
</app>
</app_config>

After installing BOINC, I opened it, closed it, configured the app_config, then opened BOINC again and got a message saying the "app hcc1 not found in app_config.xml"
Here is what my event log has to say:
Log reports all my PC hardware
09/02/2013 13:02:02 | | CAL: ATI GPU 0: AMD Radeon HD 7900 series (Tahiti) (CAL version 1.4.1741, 3072MB, 3032MB available, 10240 GFLOPS peak)
09/02/2013 13:02:02 | World Community Grid | Found app_config.xml
09/02/2013 13:02:02 | World Community Grid | app hcc1 not found in app_config.xml
<network stuff between those>
09/02/2013 12:32:02 | World Community Grid | Starting task X0900109240281200905221614_0 using hcc1 version 705 (ati_hcc1) in slot 8
and few more of those till slot 15 (note: shouldnt this be restricted "up to 8?")
and then just 1 second later:
09/02/2013 12:32:03 | World Community Grid | Computation for task X0900109240281200905221614_0 finished
09/02/2013 12:32:03 | World Community Grid | Output file X0900109240281200905221614_0_0 for task X0900109240281200905221614_0 absent
and the same thing for all other hcc_1 related tasks
there is nothing else between those lines, just the tasks starting,finishing and output files.

-I am using catalyst 13.2 beta 3 without CCC (I have tried 12.11, 13.1 and with/without CCC installed)
-I attempted to give full read/write permission to BOINC for all users in Programdata
-I have removed all possible restrictions from the BOINC options.

Kiex says in this initial post: "If you get an error about app_name not found in file, check the numbers you entered are correct and perhaps reset the project." But I dont think i've done any mistake here... tried really all i could think of.
 
Last edited:

Norton

Moderator & WCG-TPU Captain
Staff member
Joined
Dec 21, 2011
Messages
12,677 (5.80/day)
Likes
36,235
Location
USA
System Name My Fortress/Trish (WCG)/Julia (WCG)/Ella (WCG)/Junior(WCG)/Cruncher 1 & 2/Kreij (WCG)
Processor Ryzen 1700X/i7-970/2600K/i7-980X/3930k/Opteron 6168x4/Ryzen 1600X/FX-8350
Motherboard X370 Taichi/ ASUS R3E/Asus P8P67 Pro/P9X79 Pro/EVGA X58 SLI 3/SuperMicro 4P
Cooling NH-D14/Phanteks/NH-U14S/H70/DeepCool/CM 212+ (x4)/NH-U14S/CM212
Memory 16GB GSkill TridentZ-3200 (1700X), 16GB GSkill FlareX-2400 (1600X),... various...., 4P- 16x1GB
Video Card(s) RX 580/HD 4670/HD 7770/HD 7770/HD 7770/onboard/HD 7770/onboard
Storage WD 500GB SSD/Seagate 2TB SSHD, everything else is Western Digital (mostly)
Display(s) Dell U2414H & 2409W / Dell 2208WFP (shared)
Case Silverstone FT01B/Source 530/Corsair 230T/Define XL R2/Silverstone FT05/Define R4/custom
Audio Device(s) on board (All)
Power Supply Corsair HX850/TX650/CS650M/X Gold 750/EVGA P2 850/X Gold 1050/HX650
Mouse Logitech G300s
Keyboard Thermaltake Challenger Prime (Great for $30!!!)
Software Win 7 Home 64 (Win 10 Pro 64)/Win Pro 64 or Ubuntu 12.04 LTS/14.04 LTS/17.04
Benchmark Scores Why sit on the Bench when you can get in the game and Crunch!!!
@Kaynar- sorry for your troubles... setup can be aggravating :shadedshu

May be asking some questions that are already answered so my apologies in advance if I do:

- Did OpenCL install with the driver and or CCC? You can confirm this with GPUZ
* Quick note- if you're still using Win7 you can always try the 12.6 driver (very stable- works for me)

- Did the rig run other work units without errors before you did the app_config insertion?

We'll figure it out ;)
 
Joined
Jan 18, 2012
Messages
751 (0.35/day)
Likes
218
System Name My PC
Processor i7 4790k @4.4ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte z97m-d3h
Cooling Corsair H105
Memory 4x4GB Corsair Dominator Platinum 2133-9-11-11-31-1T
Video Card(s) GTX970 Stric oc
Storage Samsung 840Pro 512GB
Display(s) Asus ROG SWIFT
Case Lian Li 359
Audio Device(s) Denon DA-300USB / Denon AH-D5000
Power Supply Corsair AX860
Mouse Roccat Kone Pure Optical
Keyboard Corsair K70
Software Win10 64-bit home
OpenCL is unchecked in GPUZ, so I guess there is the failure... lets try to fix that... I always thought that since its an SDK i dont need to install it for programs to to use it.
I could run CPU-based tasks for the past month normally.
 

Norton

Moderator & WCG-TPU Captain
Staff member
Joined
Dec 21, 2011
Messages
12,677 (5.80/day)
Likes
36,235
Location
USA
System Name My Fortress/Trish (WCG)/Julia (WCG)/Ella (WCG)/Junior(WCG)/Cruncher 1 & 2/Kreij (WCG)
Processor Ryzen 1700X/i7-970/2600K/i7-980X/3930k/Opteron 6168x4/Ryzen 1600X/FX-8350
Motherboard X370 Taichi/ ASUS R3E/Asus P8P67 Pro/P9X79 Pro/EVGA X58 SLI 3/SuperMicro 4P
Cooling NH-D14/Phanteks/NH-U14S/H70/DeepCool/CM 212+ (x4)/NH-U14S/CM212
Memory 16GB GSkill TridentZ-3200 (1700X), 16GB GSkill FlareX-2400 (1600X),... various...., 4P- 16x1GB
Video Card(s) RX 580/HD 4670/HD 7770/HD 7770/HD 7770/onboard/HD 7770/onboard
Storage WD 500GB SSD/Seagate 2TB SSHD, everything else is Western Digital (mostly)
Display(s) Dell U2414H & 2409W / Dell 2208WFP (shared)
Case Silverstone FT01B/Source 530/Corsair 230T/Define XL R2/Silverstone FT05/Define R4/custom
Audio Device(s) on board (All)
Power Supply Corsair HX850/TX650/CS650M/X Gold 750/EVGA P2 850/X Gold 1050/HX650
Mouse Logitech G300s
Keyboard Thermaltake Challenger Prime (Great for $30!!!)
Software Win 7 Home 64 (Win 10 Pro 64)/Win Pro 64 or Ubuntu 12.04 LTS/14.04 LTS/17.04
Benchmark Scores Why sit on the Bench when you can get in the game and Crunch!!!
OpenCL is unchecked in GPUZ, so I guess there is the failure... lets try to fix that...
I could run CPU-based tasks for the past month normally.
You may have to select it while installing the driver or CCC (select custom/advanced install to find it). I missed it a few times on previous setups and it will screw with the gpu units if it's not there ;)
 
Joined
Jan 18, 2012
Messages
751 (0.35/day)
Likes
218
System Name My PC
Processor i7 4790k @4.4ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte z97m-d3h
Cooling Corsair H105
Memory 4x4GB Corsair Dominator Platinum 2133-9-11-11-31-1T
Video Card(s) GTX970 Stric oc
Storage Samsung 840Pro 512GB
Display(s) Asus ROG SWIFT
Case Lian Li 359
Audio Device(s) Denon DA-300USB / Denon AH-D5000
Power Supply Corsair AX860
Mouse Roccat Kone Pure Optical
Keyboard Corsair K70
Software Win10 64-bit home
You may have to select it while installing the driver or CCC (select custom/advanced install to find it). I missed it a few times on previous setups and it will screw with the gpu units if it's not there ;)
I always un-select it, so I'm dl'ing catalysts again now.
 
Joined
Jan 18, 2012
Messages
751 (0.35/day)
Likes
218
System Name My PC
Processor i7 4790k @4.4ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte z97m-d3h
Cooling Corsair H105
Memory 4x4GB Corsair Dominator Platinum 2133-9-11-11-31-1T
Video Card(s) GTX970 Stric oc
Storage Samsung 840Pro 512GB
Display(s) Asus ROG SWIFT
Case Lian Li 359
Audio Device(s) Denon DA-300USB / Denon AH-D5000
Power Supply Corsair AX860
Mouse Roccat Kone Pure Optical
Keyboard Corsair K70
Software Win10 64-bit home
It's working, and its amazing lol...
thanks for your help man!

With 4WU's on the GPU each 20% max load, MSI AB reports 95% GPU constant usage.
The most amazing part is that the "Help Conquer Cancer 7.05" takes 4 and a half minutes to finish with 4 of those running at same time.!!!
 
Joined
Nov 7, 2009
Messages
2,712 (0.92/day)
Likes
1,781
Location
Denmark
System Name The work PC / Folder 1 & 2 (+3 on/off)
Processor W3670 4.00 GHz/ W3670 3.8 / 4790K 4.4/ i7 920
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-X58A-UD5/UD7/Maximum Hero/ UD5
Cooling Custom WC/Noctua NH-D14/Noctua NH-D15/D14
Memory 6 GB A-Data/6 GB Mushkin /8 GB Corsair Vengance/ Mus
Video Card(s) 1070 X MSI/ 970 ASUS / 2x970 MSI/970 MSI
Storage 480 GB SSD / 480 GB SSD /480 GB SSD, all EVO 840
Display(s) Dell UltraSharp 2408WFP
Case Corsair 800D / Fractel R4 /none
Power Supply Enermax 87+ 600 W/ 500 W / AX 860/700 W Enermax
Software WIN7 64 bit
Benchmark Scores Cherry pie at one point ;)
@Kaynar - I had a look at my log file and I have a line saying OpenCL: ATI GPU 0: and something more. That line is just beneath CAL: ATI GPU 0: AMD Radeon HD 7900 series

I think that Norton is on to something about OpenCL.

My (Catalyst) version is from late last year, so not the most recent.

Edit: Too late but good that you got it working.