• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Help overclocking E5200

jarekexe

New Member
Joined
Jan 11, 2011
Messages
6 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#26
Hm... Im having problems with attaching pictures. I host it and paste it in


Am I doing sth wrong?

Anyways, i got a msg saying that cpu tweaker is not for my system and I should use memset

http://fotoo.pl/hosting-zdjec/2011-01/9b3b9f8a/1.jpg.html

I circumvent the problem, hope it works:

http://fotoo.pl/hosting-zdjec/2011-01/89af1526/2.jpg.html


Edit:

Is this what you were looking for?:

Voltage Values
CPU Core 2.69 V
Aux 3.47 V
+3.3 V 3.30 V
+5 V 5.54 V
+12 V 9.97 V
-12 V -11.57 V
-5 V -3.92 V
Debug Info F A1 FF FF
Debug Info T 38 00 00
Debug Info V A8 D9 CE CE A4 D0 A3 (03)


It's from everest.
Is it possible that cpu voltage is THAT high???
 
Last edited:
Joined
Nov 1, 2008
Messages
3,626 (1.09/day)
Likes
938
Location
Vietnam
System Name Gaming System / Laptop / HTPC
Processor i5 8600K @4.6Ghz / i5 540m / i7 970
Motherboard Z370 Aorus Ultra Gaming / Acer / Shuttle sx58j3
Cooling CM Seidon 120 XL / Laptop Cooling / SE-903
Memory T Group Nighthawk (3000 MHz)/ 4GB DDR3 / 12gb DDR3
Video Card(s) Colorful 1080Ti / G210m / 7870XT
Storage 750G MX300 + 3TB HDDs / 250G Ultra II /250G 850 EVO
Display(s) Dell U2515H + Asus VX239H/ 15.6" Laptop Screen / 720p 42" Plasma TV
Case Cooler master HAF 922 / Laptop Case / Corsair Air 240
Audio Device(s) On Board Realtek
Power Supply Andyson N700 Titanium / Laptop Power / ACBell 700 W
Mouse Logitech G700s
Keyboard CM Quickfire XT (Cherry MX Reds)
Software Windows 10 x64
Benchmark Scores 3DMark Firestrike = xxxxx Timespy = 9097 Heaven = xxxx
#27

Impossibly high. I wouldn't run your system at these clocks until you can get a decent screenshot of something so we can see..

Try CPU-Z
 

JrRacinFan

Served 5k and counting ...
Joined
Mar 17, 2007
Messages
19,666 (5.01/day)
Likes
4,754
Location
Youngstown, OH
System Name Gamer :Server and Android BuildBox
Processor i7 3930k: Xeon e5-2660
Motherboard MSI X79A-GD45 Plus : Generic
Cooling Liqid cooled: CM 212+
Memory Klevv Neo 2x4Gb 1866 @ 1600 CL9 : 2x8Gb Vengeance 1600 cl9
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 950 SC : XFX R5 220
Storage HGST 2TB + 480GB OCZ Trion 150 : Seagate 1TB SSHD + WD 3TB + 2x HGST 2TB
Display(s) ViewSonic VX2457-MHD 23.6" : headless
Case DIYPC D480-W White Window : Bitfenix Comrade
Audio Device(s) nVidia HDMI : Onboard
Power Supply EVGA 500b : Tt 775W Modular
Software Windows 7 Ultimate+Manjaro 16.06: Ubuntu Server 16.10
#28
Ok the memset pics helped some. But as silkstone suggested, grab CPU-z @ www.cpuid.com and a few screenshots from it. You can upload to www.techpowerup.org
 

jarekexe

New Member
Joined
Jan 11, 2011
Messages
6 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#29


I think 1.344 was the highest

But it shows my cpu at 3.7GHz
Why is it different from everest or windows system information?
Also realtemp shows 3.7GHz
 

JrRacinFan

Served 5k and counting ...
Joined
Mar 17, 2007
Messages
19,666 (5.01/day)
Likes
4,754
Location
Youngstown, OH
System Name Gamer :Server and Android BuildBox
Processor i7 3930k: Xeon e5-2660
Motherboard MSI X79A-GD45 Plus : Generic
Cooling Liqid cooled: CM 212+
Memory Klevv Neo 2x4Gb 1866 @ 1600 CL9 : 2x8Gb Vengeance 1600 cl9
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 950 SC : XFX R5 220
Storage HGST 2TB + 480GB OCZ Trion 150 : Seagate 1TB SSHD + WD 3TB + 2x HGST 2TB
Display(s) ViewSonic VX2457-MHD 23.6" : headless
Case DIYPC D480-W White Window : Bitfenix Comrade
Audio Device(s) nVidia HDMI : Onboard
Power Supply EVGA 500b : Tt 775W Modular
Software Windows 7 Ultimate+Manjaro 16.06: Ubuntu Server 16.10
#30

FreedomEclipse

~Technological Technocrat~
Joined
Apr 20, 2007
Messages
17,150 (4.40/day)
Likes
5,309
Location
London,UK
System Name Codename: Rapture X Mk.VI {Still....MoonPig Edition}
Processor Intel 3930k@4.5Ghz
Motherboard Asus P9X79 PRO
Cooling Corsair H105 {2x Corsair ML 120 Pro}|VRM: Antec Spotcool 100
Memory 32GB DDR3 Kingston HyperX Beast 2400Mhz {8x4GB}
Video Card(s) MSI 1070 Gaming X (Samsung)
Storage 512GB Samsung 850 Pro (Boot)|1x 512GB Crucial MX100|2x 3TB Toshiba DT01ACA300
Display(s) Asus PB278Q 27"
Case Corsair 760T (White) {1x140mm NB PK-3, 2x Corsair AF140}
Audio Device(s) Creative SB Z {Speakers: Logitech Z-5500 }
Power Supply Corsair AX760
Mouse Logitech G900 Chaos Spectrum
Keyboard Duckyshine Dead LED(s) III
Software Windows 7 7600 x64
Benchmark Scores ( ͡°( ͡° ͜ʖ( ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°)ʖ ͡°) ͡°)
#31
most E5200's reach at least 3.8Ghz -- I have heard of some even hitting 4Ghz but. to do that they had to pump almost 1.5v into the processor. the only way they reached those speeds was with the use of water cooling.
 

jarekexe

New Member
Joined
Jan 11, 2011
Messages
6 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#32
Ok so it seems that im using multiplier 10

When I tried 12,5 at 200, it didn't even start
When I used 12, it was somewhat working at 340, so 4,08 (it crashed when i ran Orthos), but the temps were ok (below 50) - I have ninja II and 4 x 120mm coolers

Is that possible? Or did I misread something again? ;)
 

JrRacinFan

Served 5k and counting ...
Joined
Mar 17, 2007
Messages
19,666 (5.01/day)
Likes
4,754
Location
Youngstown, OH
System Name Gamer :Server and Android BuildBox
Processor i7 3930k: Xeon e5-2660
Motherboard MSI X79A-GD45 Plus : Generic
Cooling Liqid cooled: CM 212+
Memory Klevv Neo 2x4Gb 1866 @ 1600 CL9 : 2x8Gb Vengeance 1600 cl9
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 950 SC : XFX R5 220
Storage HGST 2TB + 480GB OCZ Trion 150 : Seagate 1TB SSHD + WD 3TB + 2x HGST 2TB
Display(s) ViewSonic VX2457-MHD 23.6" : headless
Case DIYPC D480-W White Window : Bitfenix Comrade
Audio Device(s) nVidia HDMI : Onboard
Power Supply EVGA 500b : Tt 775W Modular
Software Windows 7 Ultimate+Manjaro 16.06: Ubuntu Server 16.10
#33
Revert back to 3.7ghz. Iirc, I used to run pretty close to same settings daily when I had my e5200. I really enjoyed that cpu.
 
Joined
Apr 18, 2010
Messages
499 (0.18/day)
Likes
114
Processor AMD 1300X
Motherboard ASRock AB350 Gaming K4
Cooling TR Macho Rev. A
Memory 16GB Corsair 3200 MHz
Video Card(s) Sapphire RX 560
Storage 250 GB 850 EVO, 2x6 TB WD Ae
Case Fractal R4
Audio Device(s) Aune MK2 DAC
Power Supply SeaSonic X650
Mouse Logitech G702
Keyboard Microsoft Sidewinder
Software Win 10
#34
I ran 3.75 GHz @ 1.375v or so on my old e5200 and MSI Neo3-F. Any more and the diminishing return just wasn't worth it, even that seemed to put a lot of stress on the board. You're in the range of what most people got out of those chips.
 
Joined
Nov 1, 2008
Messages
3,626 (1.09/day)
Likes
938
Location
Vietnam
System Name Gaming System / Laptop / HTPC
Processor i5 8600K @4.6Ghz / i5 540m / i7 970
Motherboard Z370 Aorus Ultra Gaming / Acer / Shuttle sx58j3
Cooling CM Seidon 120 XL / Laptop Cooling / SE-903
Memory T Group Nighthawk (3000 MHz)/ 4GB DDR3 / 12gb DDR3
Video Card(s) Colorful 1080Ti / G210m / 7870XT
Storage 750G MX300 + 3TB HDDs / 250G Ultra II /250G 850 EVO
Display(s) Dell U2515H + Asus VX239H/ 15.6" Laptop Screen / 720p 42" Plasma TV
Case Cooler master HAF 922 / Laptop Case / Corsair Air 240
Audio Device(s) On Board Realtek
Power Supply Andyson N700 Titanium / Laptop Power / ACBell 700 W
Mouse Logitech G700s
Keyboard CM Quickfire XT (Cherry MX Reds)
Software Windows 10 x64
Benchmark Scores 3DMark Firestrike = xxxxx Timespy = 9097 Heaven = xxxx
#35
wolfdale's max rated voltage are 1.45v. my cpu runs at this voltage for extended, full load periods, no problem. However, i've since started to pull it back to 1.35v and lowered the mhz a little for 24/7 use as the extra 10% speed for 0.1v is diminishing returns. (max i had it at was 1.6v and 4.8ghz)

You should be fine to run yours at 1.45v if you feel so inclined.

Ok so it seems that im using multiplier 10

When I tried 12,5 at 200, it didn't even start
When I used 12, it was somewhat working at 340, so 4,08 (it crashed when i ran Orthos), but the temps were ok (below 50) - I have ninja II and 4 x 120mm coolers

Is that possible? Or did I misread something again? ;)
ok, i just read that..i'm tired, just woke up, basically means you need more voltage going thru the chip to get stable. When you settle on an overclock, go for the highest stable FSB and whatever multiplier works, it'll give you better performance than low fsb and a high multiplier.

You'll need to make sure you have decent cooling on the thing, and on the motherboard. My core temps never go above 50C on full load @ 1.35v.
 

jarekexe

New Member
Joined
Jan 11, 2011
Messages
6 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#36
What is the real risk of running that cpu at 1.6V @ 4,8gh 24/7
Im planning to change mobo/cpu in a year or so. So I only need it for a year or little more.


Is it actually possible to ge on good air cooling?

Right now I have 55C on stress (3.77gh) but all my fans are running on lowest capacity.
 

JrRacinFan

Served 5k and counting ...
Joined
Mar 17, 2007
Messages
19,666 (5.01/day)
Likes
4,754
Location
Youngstown, OH
System Name Gamer :Server and Android BuildBox
Processor i7 3930k: Xeon e5-2660
Motherboard MSI X79A-GD45 Plus : Generic
Cooling Liqid cooled: CM 212+
Memory Klevv Neo 2x4Gb 1866 @ 1600 CL9 : 2x8Gb Vengeance 1600 cl9
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 950 SC : XFX R5 220
Storage HGST 2TB + 480GB OCZ Trion 150 : Seagate 1TB SSHD + WD 3TB + 2x HGST 2TB
Display(s) ViewSonic VX2457-MHD 23.6" : headless
Case DIYPC D480-W White Window : Bitfenix Comrade
Audio Device(s) nVidia HDMI : Onboard
Power Supply EVGA 500b : Tt 775W Modular
Software Windows 7 Ultimate+Manjaro 16.06: Ubuntu Server 16.10
#37
Max Intel spec I THINK for those chips are 1.45v. I know for 24.7 I wouldn't try it. BUT I would try for 4.2Ghz with 1.5v 24.7.
 
Joined
Nov 1, 2008
Messages
3,626 (1.09/day)
Likes
938
Location
Vietnam
System Name Gaming System / Laptop / HTPC
Processor i5 8600K @4.6Ghz / i5 540m / i7 970
Motherboard Z370 Aorus Ultra Gaming / Acer / Shuttle sx58j3
Cooling CM Seidon 120 XL / Laptop Cooling / SE-903
Memory T Group Nighthawk (3000 MHz)/ 4GB DDR3 / 12gb DDR3
Video Card(s) Colorful 1080Ti / G210m / 7870XT
Storage 750G MX300 + 3TB HDDs / 250G Ultra II /250G 850 EVO
Display(s) Dell U2515H + Asus VX239H/ 15.6" Laptop Screen / 720p 42" Plasma TV
Case Cooler master HAF 922 / Laptop Case / Corsair Air 240
Audio Device(s) On Board Realtek
Power Supply Andyson N700 Titanium / Laptop Power / ACBell 700 W
Mouse Logitech G700s
Keyboard CM Quickfire XT (Cherry MX Reds)
Software Windows 10 x64
Benchmark Scores 3DMark Firestrike = xxxxx Timespy = 9097 Heaven = xxxx
#38
agreed, your risking blowing the VRMs on your mobo if you try to run at 1.6v 24/7.
If you don't want to do anything too risky, i'd go for a MAX voltage of 1.45v 24/7
JR is right, you can prolly do 1.5v 24/7, but then you really have to take care of both the cpu temps and the temps on various parts of the motherboard.

If you can get 4ghz at 1.45, you should be happy with that.

I currently just run my wolfdale at 1.35v and 4ghz 24/7 and only bump it up to 4.4ghz when i game as i can't afford to replace the chip or mobo atm and i am waiting for some VRM cooling.

When i did 1.6v it was only for benchmarking (10mins at a time)

You oughta look into lapping your chip if you are into extreme overclocking.
 
Joined
Jan 12, 2010
Messages
209 (0.07/day)
Likes
4
Processor amd fx8350 4.0ghz stock speeds 8cores
Motherboard Asus m5a99fx pro r2.0
Cooling coolermaster nepton 280L
Memory 16gb RAM
Video Card(s) gigabyte windforce r9 290
Storage OCZ 120gb SSD and 1tb hitachi HDD
Display(s) AOC 2436 24inch FULL HD
Case corsair 750D
Power Supply CORSAIR HX series 850w
Software WINDOWS 7 64bit
#40
i also have an E5200 and thinking about overclocking it. On hot days the temperatures go up to 60 degreese when its stressed. At the moment now im not doing anything to stress the cpu out and the temperature is only at around 40 - 50. Ive got a basic intel pentium motherboard and a basic intel cpu fan. and its pretty much a massive bottleneck for my current graphics card. would overclocking it to 3.5ghz from 2.5ghz be any difference in fps in game performance?, and what are the overclock settings for 3.5ghz
 
Joined
Nov 1, 2008
Messages
3,626 (1.09/day)
Likes
938
Location
Vietnam
System Name Gaming System / Laptop / HTPC
Processor i5 8600K @4.6Ghz / i5 540m / i7 970
Motherboard Z370 Aorus Ultra Gaming / Acer / Shuttle sx58j3
Cooling CM Seidon 120 XL / Laptop Cooling / SE-903
Memory T Group Nighthawk (3000 MHz)/ 4GB DDR3 / 12gb DDR3
Video Card(s) Colorful 1080Ti / G210m / 7870XT
Storage 750G MX300 + 3TB HDDs / 250G Ultra II /250G 850 EVO
Display(s) Dell U2515H + Asus VX239H/ 15.6" Laptop Screen / 720p 42" Plasma TV
Case Cooler master HAF 922 / Laptop Case / Corsair Air 240
Audio Device(s) On Board Realtek
Power Supply Andyson N700 Titanium / Laptop Power / ACBell 700 W
Mouse Logitech G700s
Keyboard CM Quickfire XT (Cherry MX Reds)
Software Windows 10 x64
Benchmark Scores 3DMark Firestrike = xxxxx Timespy = 9097 Heaven = xxxx
#41
i also have an E5200 and thinking about overclocking it. On hot days the temperatures go up to 60 degreese when its stressed. At the moment now im not doing anything to stress the cpu out and the temperature is only at around 40 - 50. Ive got a basic intel pentium motherboard and a basic intel cpu fan. and its pretty much a massive bottleneck for my current graphics card. would overclocking it to 3.5ghz from 2.5ghz be any difference in fps in game performance?, and what are the overclock settings for 3.5ghz
You won;t be able to get 3.5ghz with a stock cooler and those temps. 2.8ghz with default voltage would be a reasonable overclock for that.

just up the FSB and keep everything on auto.
 
Joined
Jan 12, 2010
Messages
209 (0.07/day)
Likes
4
Processor amd fx8350 4.0ghz stock speeds 8cores
Motherboard Asus m5a99fx pro r2.0
Cooling coolermaster nepton 280L
Memory 16gb RAM
Video Card(s) gigabyte windforce r9 290
Storage OCZ 120gb SSD and 1tb hitachi HDD
Display(s) AOC 2436 24inch FULL HD
Case corsair 750D
Power Supply CORSAIR HX series 850w
Software WINDOWS 7 64bit
#42
at the moment in the bios where the overclock settings are it says 3.00ghz but in windows its only at 2.5ghz
 
Joined
Nov 1, 2008
Messages
3,626 (1.09/day)
Likes
938
Location
Vietnam
System Name Gaming System / Laptop / HTPC
Processor i5 8600K @4.6Ghz / i5 540m / i7 970
Motherboard Z370 Aorus Ultra Gaming / Acer / Shuttle sx58j3
Cooling CM Seidon 120 XL / Laptop Cooling / SE-903
Memory T Group Nighthawk (3000 MHz)/ 4GB DDR3 / 12gb DDR3
Video Card(s) Colorful 1080Ti / G210m / 7870XT
Storage 750G MX300 + 3TB HDDs / 250G Ultra II /250G 850 EVO
Display(s) Dell U2515H + Asus VX239H/ 15.6" Laptop Screen / 720p 42" Plasma TV
Case Cooler master HAF 922 / Laptop Case / Corsair Air 240
Audio Device(s) On Board Realtek
Power Supply Andyson N700 Titanium / Laptop Power / ACBell 700 W
Mouse Logitech G700s
Keyboard CM Quickfire XT (Cherry MX Reds)
Software Windows 10 x64
Benchmark Scores 3DMark Firestrike = xxxxx Timespy = 9097 Heaven = xxxx
#43
Turn off the bios splash screen and see what it says on post, or download CPU-Z.

The only setting you need to change initially is the FSB. Then you can mess with the Ram ratio and timings to get a higher overclock.
 

JustinX

New Member
Joined
Aug 19, 2011
Messages
18 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
#44
Well here is what comes in the Equation, the probabilty now if you get a new stepping e5200 of hitting 3.5Ghz with low voltage completely stable is pretty high, but if you get a bum overclocker then it will be stable but need high voltage for 3.5Ghz but the chances of that are pretty low sense old ones arnt really around anymore.

Ya i say if you wanted 3.5Ghz then you should go for the e5200, i would suspect around 3.5Ghz at 1.29volts 1.31 volts or even lower. Now its a 45nm processor but e5200's seem to be hotter then e8000-e7000 serios but new e5200 should be a little cooler and probably overclock higher. My oldest e5200 did a max overclock of 4.4Ghz- then my freind gave me his e5200 he baught like 1-2 months after i baught mine and i hit 4.6Ghz with it. So? The newer the e5200 is the colder and higher its going to clock.
can u teach me to overclock using the same motherboard asus p5kpl-am se or at least overclocking guide using these things

cpuentium e5200 dual core processor(2.5ghz)

ram:2 gb kingston pc2-5300(333mhz)

gpu:nvidia geforce 220 gt 1 gb

i want my cpu speed will reach to 3.3 to 3.4 ghz

sorry i have stupid rig

tnx in advance
 

JustinX

New Member
Joined
Aug 19, 2011
Messages
18 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
#45
http://img.techpowerup.org/110111/3063.jpg

I think 1.344 was the highest

But it shows my cpu at 3.7GHz
Why is it different from everest or windows system information?
Also realtemp shows 3.7GHz
can u teach me to overclock using the same motherboard asus p5kpl-am se or at least overclocking guide using these things

cpuentium e5200 dual core processor(2.5ghz)

ram:2 gb kingston pc2-5300(333mhz)

gpu:nvidia geforce 220 gt 1 gb

i want my cpu speed will reach to 3.3 to 3.4 ghz

sorry i have stupid rig

tnx in advance
 

JrRacinFan

Served 5k and counting ...
Joined
Mar 17, 2007
Messages
19,666 (5.01/day)
Likes
4,754
Location
Youngstown, OH
System Name Gamer :Server and Android BuildBox
Processor i7 3930k: Xeon e5-2660
Motherboard MSI X79A-GD45 Plus : Generic
Cooling Liqid cooled: CM 212+
Memory Klevv Neo 2x4Gb 1866 @ 1600 CL9 : 2x8Gb Vengeance 1600 cl9
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 950 SC : XFX R5 220
Storage HGST 2TB + 480GB OCZ Trion 150 : Seagate 1TB SSHD + WD 3TB + 2x HGST 2TB
Display(s) ViewSonic VX2457-MHD 23.6" : headless
Case DIYPC D480-W White Window : Bitfenix Comrade
Audio Device(s) nVidia HDMI : Onboard
Power Supply EVGA 500b : Tt 775W Modular
Software Windows 7 Ultimate+Manjaro 16.06: Ubuntu Server 16.10
#46
can u teach me to overclock using the same motherboard asus p5kpl-am se or at least overclocking guide using these things

cpuentium e5200 dual core processor(2.5ghz)

ram:2 gb kingston pc2-5300(333mhz)

gpu:nvidia geforce 220 gt 1 gb

i want my cpu speed will reach to 3.3 to 3.4 ghz

sorry i have stupid rig

tnx in advance
That's easy to do, just jump the FSB to 266 with a multi of 12.5 from the stock 200, then lower the ram divider to match your ram's rated speed. All voltages won't need to be touched.
 

JustinX

New Member
Joined
Aug 19, 2011
Messages
18 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
#47
That's easy to do, just jump the FSB to 266 with a multi of 12.5 from the stock 200, then lower the ram divider to match your ram's rated speed. All voltages won't need to be touched.
how to lower the ram divider using asus p5kpl-am se mothernboard because i dont see ram divider..help me pls i feel so hopeless in finding those things
 

JrRacinFan

Served 5k and counting ...
Joined
Mar 17, 2007
Messages
19,666 (5.01/day)
Likes
4,754
Location
Youngstown, OH
System Name Gamer :Server and Android BuildBox
Processor i7 3930k: Xeon e5-2660
Motherboard MSI X79A-GD45 Plus : Generic
Cooling Liqid cooled: CM 212+
Memory Klevv Neo 2x4Gb 1866 @ 1600 CL9 : 2x8Gb Vengeance 1600 cl9
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 950 SC : XFX R5 220
Storage HGST 2TB + 480GB OCZ Trion 150 : Seagate 1TB SSHD + WD 3TB + 2x HGST 2TB
Display(s) ViewSonic VX2457-MHD 23.6" : headless
Case DIYPC D480-W White Window : Bitfenix Comrade
Audio Device(s) nVidia HDMI : Onboard
Power Supply EVGA 500b : Tt 775W Modular
Software Windows 7 Ultimate+Manjaro 16.06: Ubuntu Server 16.10
#48