1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Horrible pictures of dead caps

Discussion in 'Cases, Modding & Electronics' started by trodas, Sep 8, 2007.

  1. cdawall

    cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    23,884 (6.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,030
    Location:
    Houston
    i have a s370 700mhz P3
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  2. Random Murderer

    Random Murderer The Anti-Midas

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2006
    Messages:
    6,910 (1.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,793
    Location:
    Florida, A.K.A. the Sweatbox
    that's a s370 chip, not a slot 1 cart.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  3. cdawall

    cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    23,884 (6.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,030
    Location:
    Houston
    a slocket cost like $5
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  4. Random Murderer

    Random Murderer The Anti-Midas

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2006
    Messages:
    6,910 (1.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,793
    Location:
    Florida, A.K.A. the Sweatbox
    he's in the czech republic. how much is a slocket there?
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  5. zatblast

    zatblast New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2008
    Messages:
    100 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    Location:
    milky way-sol system-3rd planet-northern hemispher
    100.00 CZK = 6.25114 USD
    Czech Republic Koruny United States Dollars
    1 CZK = 0.0625114 USD 1 USD = 15.9971 CZK

    In the year 1989, the average gross wage of Czech employees was CSK 3,170. In 2005, the average was nearly CZK 19,000. In 2010, when the country is expected to accept the euro, the average salary should be around CZK 25,000.


    refrences:
    http://www.czech.cz/en/economy-busi...ndards-of-living/buying-power/average-salary/
    http://www.xe.com/ucc/convert.cgi


    so total is 4,000ish USD on average in czech republic but anyways probably more for shipping than for the item itself o wait its like that everywhere...
     
  6. trodas

    trodas

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2007
    Messages:
    454 (0.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    117
    candle_86 - old boards did not used cheated caps, that started around year 2000 ;) Hence they are living proof that cap did not need to fail in even 15 years. And yes, SX means no FPU - in SX version of i386 is there not even a MMU present :D (Memory Management Unit - give you the ability to have virtuall address space and protect certain memory allocations to changes from other processes)


    Random Murderer - copy that :D


    zatblast - not to worry, my stepbro has some (two, IIRC) slots to put a S370 cpus into Slot1. The obvious question is how they will be compatible, but I quess we see about that :p It could depend on mobo, too. And besides, there is just a few caps on these, so easy to recap them to make sure they aren't unreliable just because of caps ;)



    ATX Winner PSU, type PB300-A4S, courtesy by HoNY

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    CapXon caps rulez :laugh:

    [​IMG]

    Bulging sligtly and leaking Vent cap, and some nonstandard inferior Fuhjyyu caps - 1650uF 16V? OMG!
    Much to my surprise, the CapXon shit caps are used in Fortron PSUs:
    http://www.svethardware.cz/art_doc-0484A36780DAD846C125716F007174B6.html?lotus=1&Highlight=0 :twitch: :banghead:
     
  7. cdawall

    cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    23,884 (6.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,030
    Location:
    Houston
    what about HEC caps?

    i have a PSU branded under the China Greatwall computer CO. and its making me kind of nervous to use :roll:
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  8. trodas

    trodas

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2007
    Messages:
    454 (0.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    117
    Seen the images of burned case/PSU before (1st page)? That was HEC caps in action. Draw your own conclusions... But usualy it destroy the mainboard first, so user get alerted that something is dead wrong. Another example was my fanless moded PSU, powering just a VIA C3 machine, a 14W Nehemiah CPU: http://ax2.old-cans.com/s.php?p=silentpc&id=26&c=8&d=1&v=v2
    See? Hec!



    OST cap from SETI forum - I quess the extraterrestrials got him :D ;)

    [​IMG]
     
  9. trodas

    trodas

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2007
    Messages:
    454 (0.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    117
    Gigabyte GA-7VKML mobo, GSC caps, user lamcdonald, OCAU forum.

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG] [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Sep 23, 2012
  10. rampage

    Joined:
    May 31, 2007
    Messages:
    1,051 (0.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    69
    Location:
    Port Fairy, Victoria, Australia
    Snap Crackle Pop - Rice Bubbels ¿
     
  11. tkpenalty New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2006
    Messages:
    6,958 (1.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    345
    Location:
    Australia, Sydney
    Well the older model of it was also 350W and it didnt have any large caps :eek:
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  12. trodas

    trodas

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2007
    Messages:
    454 (0.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    117
    Last edited: Jun 3, 2008
  13. trodas

    trodas

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2007
    Messages:
    454 (0.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    117
    Soltek SL-85ERV2 and GSC caps

    [​IMG]

    User norcio from OCW forum.
     
    Last edited: Jun 3, 2008
  14. Random Murderer

    Random Murderer The Anti-Midas

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2006
    Messages:
    6,910 (1.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,793
    Location:
    Florida, A.K.A. the Sweatbox
    you know what would be really helpful? a list of caps on the first page that we have pics of failure.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  15. trodas

    trodas

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2007
    Messages:
    454 (0.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    117
    Last edited: Sep 23, 2012
  16. cdawall

    cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    23,884 (6.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,030
    Location:
    Houston
    i need to pull apart my MGE PSU i have a cap in there that you should see :p
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  17. trodas

    trodas

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2007
    Messages:
    454 (0.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    117
    /me run away scared to death :)
     
  18. trodas

    trodas

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2007
    Messages:
    454 (0.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    117
    Last edited: Sep 24, 2012
  19. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    45,462 (10.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,721
    Location:
    Australalalalalaia.
    10 Year Member at TPU
  20. trodas

    trodas

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2007
    Messages:
    454 (0.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    117
    No, it was just normal PSU there... but the Elite polymers are fake polymers, so, they did not take the stress... Many users already experiences this explosion. Just do not put your head abole Asus P5K when overclocking. You might be seriously injured/and/or even killed. The explosion has considerable force and send the top of the cap up flying like a bullet...
     
  21. infrared

    infrared

    Joined:
    May 28, 2005
    Messages:
    3,397 (0.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    356
    Location:
    Southampton, UK
    Holy s**t...

    How do you tell what brand they are? by the E Prefix?

    Edit:

    Reading through that thread @ XS it was simply that Dawgdoc did the vcore mod wrong, and that was the result.

    And i believe by looking at the internals of that cap that they are polymers. I could be wrong though.
     
    Last edited: Apr 22, 2008
    10 Year Member at TPU Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  22. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    45,462 (10.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,721
    Location:
    Australalalalalaia.
    yeah you need some dodgy mods or 1.7v+ vcore to trigger such a boom. seriously abnormal that.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  23. thebeephaha

    thebeephaha

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2007
    Messages:
    1,183 (0.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    104
    Location:
    Bellevue, WA
    I've heard of the same caps blowing on that board just from heavy OC work, like some phase change cooling and 4.5ghz chips. They can't take it.
     
  24. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    45,462 (10.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,721
    Location:
    Australalalalalaia.
    and those people are running phase change and 1.7v+... i did say that. read the thread a while back. To be honest, if you voltmod the board you have to expect theres a chance things could go wrong.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  25. Duffman

    Duffman New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2007
    Messages:
    1,011 (0.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    67
    Location:
    Mt. Pocono, PA
    scary stuff. makes you wonder
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)