• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

How to Create a Universal Windows 7 Disc (AIO) with both 32 and 64-bit versions.

Status
Not open for further replies.

Ignotus

New Member
Joined
Nov 13, 2013
Messages
3 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#51
A Cautionary Tale

NVM for my question cause I used this tool and its VERY easy to do. Just link the program to each ISO and a empty folder to work in and go.
I too tried this tool. It seems to be fairly easy to use. I created an AIO iso using the Windows 7 Ultimate SP1 iso images from Digital River. I created the first one "manually" using the software mentioned in the quote. The iso came out at around 4-5GB, which seemed in line with what I was expecting. I copied it to a thumb drive using Rufus, which has never let me down. Everything appeared to work when I ran setup.exe from within Windows. I continued until the point of selecting a partition to install on. I then cancelled and prepared my PC for re-installation of Windows. I got everything ready, rebooted off the thumb drive, and proceeded. After I passed the step of reformatting the Windows partition, the installation failed. It said that something was corrupt or something along the lines of my installation media being f'd up. So great, I have a non-working installer and I've reformatted my partition. :banghead: I won't go into the details, but I was able to get the original iso files copied over to a different PC and used the software quoted above to create another AIO iso. This time I used the "automatic" mode where you do what brandonwh64 said regarding pointing the app to the two iso files (x64 and x86) and then pointing it to an empty folder to work in. It appears to have completed successfully. However... the resulting iso in "automatic" mode comes out to 6.45GB :eek:. That obviously won't fit on a single layer DVD and I don't have any dual layer discs. Besides that, the OP said the resulting iso should be around 4GB. Even better, the app decided that it would automatically delete the original iso files when it finished creating the new AIO iso... Great, thanks for that. :mad: Luckily I have a backup on my non-booting PC that I had to once again copy back to the working PC over the lan. So, the moral of the story is that you may want to be careful with this app. For me, I'm going to see if this 6.45GB iso will get me going. I put it on my 8GB thumb drive. I guess I will still need to go through the OP's manual steps however if I want to get a working iso that will fit on a single layer DVD. So much for simpler.
 
Joined
Jan 29, 2012
Messages
5,067 (2.06/day)
Likes
4,479
Location
Florida
System Name natr0n-PC
Processor 2600K@5GHz / Xeon E3-1290 / Phenom II X6 1100T / Dual Xeon X5675's (12c24t)
Motherboard Asus Sabertooth Z77 / MSI 970 Gaming / GIGABYTE GA-7TESM
Cooling Deep Cool Assassin / TRUE 120 / Stock
Memory Gskill Ripjaws X - 16GB DDR3 / Samsung Reg - 24GB DDR3 Hexa-Channel
Video Card(s) MSI 7970/EVGA GTX 980 / ASUS 980ti Strix
Storage Crucial MX300 525GB + Multiple Mechs
Display(s) SyncMaster 2343BWX 23" 2048x1152 / Dell 1909W 19" 1440x900
Audio Device(s) X-Fi Fatality / X-Fi Titanium
Power Supply Corsair TX650 v1/ EVGA SuperNOVA 750
Software Windows XP/7/8.1/10
Benchmark Scores Xeon E3-1290 cpuz world record
#52
Has anyone gotten an (AIO) to work on usb stick ?

I have tried but it always gives me a pro version no prompt.
 

newtekie1

Semi-Retired Folder
Joined
Nov 22, 2005
Messages
25,460 (5.40/day)
Likes
11,762
Location
Indiana, USA
Processor Intel Core i7 8700K@4.8GHz(Quick and dirty)
Motherboard AsRock Z370 Taichi
Cooling Corsair H110i GTX w/ Noctua NF-A14 Fans
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR4-3000
Video Card(s) ASUS Strix GTX 1080Ti
Storage 500GB Crucial MX500 + 2TB Seagate Solid State Hybrid Drive with 480GB MX200 SSD Cache
Display(s) QNIX QX2710 1440p@120Hz
Case Fractal Design Define S
Audio Device(s) Onboard is good enough for me
Power Supply Corsair HX850
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
Joined
Jan 29, 2012
Messages
5,067 (2.06/day)
Likes
4,479
Location
Florida
System Name natr0n-PC
Processor 2600K@5GHz / Xeon E3-1290 / Phenom II X6 1100T / Dual Xeon X5675's (12c24t)
Motherboard Asus Sabertooth Z77 / MSI 970 Gaming / GIGABYTE GA-7TESM
Cooling Deep Cool Assassin / TRUE 120 / Stock
Memory Gskill Ripjaws X - 16GB DDR3 / Samsung Reg - 24GB DDR3 Hexa-Channel
Video Card(s) MSI 7970/EVGA GTX 980 / ASUS 980ti Strix
Storage Crucial MX300 525GB + Multiple Mechs
Display(s) SyncMaster 2343BWX 23" 2048x1152 / Dell 1909W 19" 1440x900
Audio Device(s) X-Fi Fatality / X-Fi Titanium
Power Supply Corsair TX650 v1/ EVGA SuperNOVA 750
Software Windows XP/7/8.1/10
Benchmark Scores Xeon E3-1290 cpuz world record
#54
Yes, I use this AIO on a usb stick all the time.
ok cool, I use a linux usb installer to make my windows usb sticks so I'm guessing that is the issue.
 

Ignotus

New Member
Joined
Nov 13, 2013
Messages
3 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#55
This tool did work for me on the 2nd try. I used the automatic mode and it created a 6.45GB ISO file. That's bigger than I'd like, so I'll likely do it again without using that tool at all. Anyway, if you have a USB drive large enough to hold appx. 6.5GB, I don't see why you couldn't get it to work. I didn't test it extensively, ie. I only installed the Ultimate x64 version, but I was given a menu with all of the versions on it. That tool will create the ISO for you, and it may even put it on a bootable USB. However, I have always used Rufus to create bootable USB drives with an ISO and that is what I used for this. I would just personally prefer to have this AIO on a single layer DVD vs having it on my thumb drive forever.
 
Joined
Nov 14, 2013
Messages
1 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#56
Multilingual & Service Packs

Hello, i was wondering if there is any way to make this universal image also multilingual.

I know i can create a AIO iso with this method, i have done this before, but since i was gonna create a new one including the SP1 (with offcourse the SP1 iso's) i was wondering if i could also add more languages...

I am very interested in getting Dutch, German, French and English on a iso...

Has somebody done it before? Can somebody point me to a tutorial or method that can merge with this one?
 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
46,606 (9.09/day)
Likes
14,197
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name OCD (Overclocking Compulsive Disorder)
Processor Ryzen R7 2700X (stock/XFR OC)
Motherboard Aorus AX370-Gaming 5
Cooling Corsair H115i Pro (yay for maglev fans!)
Memory 16GB DDR4 3200 Corsair Vengeance RGB Pro (1.4v 14-16-18-34)
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS modded to Gaming Z - faster and solved black screen bugs!)
Storage 1TB Intel SSD Pro 6000p (+60TB USB3 storage)
Display(s) Phillips 328m6fjrmb (32" 1440p 144hz curved) + Samsung 4K 40" HDTV (UA40KU6000WXXY)
Case Fractal Design R5 White Gold edition + corsair RGB lighting
Audio Device(s) Pioneer VSX-519V + Yamaha YHT-270 + Corsair Void pro RGB, Blue Yeti mic
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G703 + PowerPlay mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB
#57
was just trying to do this today, looks like a good tool.

going to combine it with SARDU so i can have win 7 x86 + x64 and windows XP on a single USB together.
 

Ignotus

New Member
Joined
Nov 13, 2013
Messages
3 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#58
Language Packs

Hello, i was wondering if there is any way to make this universal image also multilingual.
I personally do not know the answer. What I can tell you is that if you go with Windows 7 Ultimate, you can switch between I believe 35 different display languages (including English) whenever you want. When I did my first Windows Update post-install, all of the language packs were available under optional updates. I don't know if that's helpful or not, but I figured I would offer the info.
 

FordGT90Concept

"I go fast!1!11!1!"
Joined
Oct 13, 2008
Messages
23,029 (6.29/day)
Likes
12,048
Location
IA, USA
System Name BY-2015
Processor Intel Core i7-6700K (4 x 4.00 GHz) w/ HT and Turbo on
Motherboard MSI Z170A GAMING M7
Cooling Scythe Kotetsu
Memory 2 x Kingston HyperX DDR4-2133 8 GiB
Video Card(s) PowerColor PCS+ 390 8 GiB DVI + HDMI
Storage Crucial MX300 275 GB, Seagate 6 TB 7200 RPM
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster T240 24" LCD (1920x1200 HDMI) + Samsung SyncMaster 906BW 19" LCD (1440x900 DVI)
Case Coolermaster HAF 932 w/ USB 3.0 5.25" bay
Audio Device(s) Realtek Onboard, Micca OriGen+
Power Supply Enermax Platimax 850w
Mouse SteelSeries Sensei RAW
Keyboard Tesoro Excalibur
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
Benchmark Scores Faster than the tortoise; slower than the hare.
#59
Beware that the ImgBurn installer has malware in it (toolbar + Conduit, Inc. ad injector). Look at the EULA's carefully and make sure you say no to that bastard. If no doesn't let you proceed, need to find an alternative program.

I wasn't paying any attention when two EULA's popped up and now I'm tempted to format. Grr...
 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
46,606 (9.09/day)
Likes
14,197
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name OCD (Overclocking Compulsive Disorder)
Processor Ryzen R7 2700X (stock/XFR OC)
Motherboard Aorus AX370-Gaming 5
Cooling Corsair H115i Pro (yay for maglev fans!)
Memory 16GB DDR4 3200 Corsair Vengeance RGB Pro (1.4v 14-16-18-34)
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS modded to Gaming Z - faster and solved black screen bugs!)
Storage 1TB Intel SSD Pro 6000p (+60TB USB3 storage)
Display(s) Phillips 328m6fjrmb (32" 1440p 144hz curved) + Samsung 4K 40" HDTV (UA40KU6000WXXY)
Case Fractal Design R5 White Gold edition + corsair RGB lighting
Audio Device(s) Pioneer VSX-519V + Yamaha YHT-270 + Corsair Void pro RGB, Blue Yeti mic
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G703 + PowerPlay mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB
#60
just pitching in to say win AIO maker and sardu combined have let me make one very nice USB stick with all versions of XP, vista and 7 all together. very nice combo.
 

newtekie1

Semi-Retired Folder
Joined
Nov 22, 2005
Messages
25,460 (5.40/day)
Likes
11,762
Location
Indiana, USA
Processor Intel Core i7 8700K@4.8GHz(Quick and dirty)
Motherboard AsRock Z370 Taichi
Cooling Corsair H110i GTX w/ Noctua NF-A14 Fans
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR4-3000
Video Card(s) ASUS Strix GTX 1080Ti
Storage 500GB Crucial MX500 + 2TB Seagate Solid State Hybrid Drive with 480GB MX200 SSD Cache
Display(s) QNIX QX2710 1440p@120Hz
Case Fractal Design Define S
Audio Device(s) Onboard is good enough for me
Power Supply Corsair HX850
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#61
Beware that the ImgBurn installer has malware in it (toolbar + Conduit, Inc. ad injector). Look at the EULA's carefully and make sure you say no to that bastard. If no doesn't let you proceed, need to find an alternative program.

I wasn't paying any attention when two EULA's popped up and now I'm tempted to format. Grr...
Yeah, I was annoyed when they started doing that, but I always do custom installs on all software for this very reason.

Alternatively you can use the ninite version, ninite automatically says no to all that BS for you.
 

FordGT90Concept

"I go fast!1!11!1!"
Joined
Oct 13, 2008
Messages
23,029 (6.29/day)
Likes
12,048
Location
IA, USA
System Name BY-2015
Processor Intel Core i7-6700K (4 x 4.00 GHz) w/ HT and Turbo on
Motherboard MSI Z170A GAMING M7
Cooling Scythe Kotetsu
Memory 2 x Kingston HyperX DDR4-2133 8 GiB
Video Card(s) PowerColor PCS+ 390 8 GiB DVI + HDMI
Storage Crucial MX300 275 GB, Seagate 6 TB 7200 RPM
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster T240 24" LCD (1920x1200 HDMI) + Samsung SyncMaster 906BW 19" LCD (1440x900 DVI)
Case Coolermaster HAF 932 w/ USB 3.0 5.25" bay
Audio Device(s) Realtek Onboard, Micca OriGen+
Power Supply Enermax Platimax 850w
Mouse SteelSeries Sensei RAW
Keyboard Tesoro Excalibur
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
Benchmark Scores Faster than the tortoise; slower than the hare.
#62
Might want to put a warning in bold text in the guide. :p


FYI, I used Daemon Tools Lite to mount the ISOs and copied the files over. I was too lazy to break out ISO Buster.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top