• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

How to disable Vista from installing video card drivers?

Joined
May 18, 2011
Messages
861 (0.24/day)
Processor Ryzen 3700X
Motherboard ASRock X370 Killer/AC SLI
Cooling Cryorig H7
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX 3000
Video Card(s) EVGA RTX 2070 Ultra SC
Storage Crucial MX500 1TB, Crucial MX500 1TB, Toshiba X300 4TB, Toshiba X300 6TB
Case Fractal Design Definse S
Power Supply EVGA Supernova 650 G3
Mouse Logitech Pro
Keyboard Corsair Strafe Cherry MX Silent w/red LED
Software Win 10 Pro
What is a good registry cleaner? Aside from Crap Cleaner of course.
 
Joined
Jul 20, 2008
Messages
4,016 (0.86/day)
Location
Ohio
System Name Desktop|| Virtual Host 0
Processor Intel Core i5 2500-K @ 4.3ghz || 2x Xeon L5630 (total 8 cores, 16 threads)
Motherboard ASUS P8Z68-V || Dell PowerEdge R710 (Intel 5520 chipset)
Cooling Corsair Hydro H100 || Stock hotplug fans and passive heatsinks
Memory 4x4gb Corsair Vengeance DDR3 1600 || 12x4gb Hynix DDR3 1066 FB-DIMMs
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 760 Gaming Twin Frozr 4GB OC || Don't know, don't care
Storage Hitachi 7K3000 2TB || 6x300gb 15k rpm SAS internal hotswap, 12x3tb Seagate NAS drives in enclosure
Display(s) ViewSonic VA2349S || remote iDRAC KVM console
Case Antec P280 || Dell PowerEdge R710
Audio Device(s) HRT MusicStreamer II+ and Focusrite Scarlett 18i8 || Don't know, don't care
Power Supply SeaSonic X650 Gold || 2x870w hot-swappable
Mouse Logitech G500 || remote iDRAC KVM console
Keyboard Logitech G510 || remote iDRAC KVM console
Software Win7 Ultimate x64 || VMware vSphere 6.0 with vCenter Server 6.0
Benchmark Scores Over 9000 on the scouter
I don't know, I don't use any.
 
Joined
Nov 5, 2005
Messages
491 (0.09/day)
Location
England, UK.
System Name Akame
Processor Intel® Core™ i7-4770K 3.5Ghz /// (Stock)
Motherboard Asus ROG Maximus VI HERO Intel Z87 Socket 1150
Cooling Stock Air Cooler
Memory 16Gb (4x4Gb) /// G Skill PC3-19200 DDR3 2400MHz
Video Card(s) EVGA GeForce GTX 970 SC GAMING ACX 2.0
Storage Samsung 840 EVO 120GB (OS) /// Samsung 840 EVO 250GB /// Western Digital Caviar 1TB Green SATAIII
Display(s) Asus 22-inch VH226H Widescreen LCD Monitor (2ms, 3000:1, 1920x1080) Full HD
Case Cooler Master HAF 932 Advanced
Audio Device(s) Astro A50 Gen1
Power Supply Corsair AX760W Full Modular 80+ Platinum
Mouse Roccat Kone AIMO
Keyboard AFX MK0217 Mechanical Gaming Keyboard
Software Windows 10 Home 64-bit
What is a good registry cleaner? Aside from Crap Cleaner of course.

I've used CCleaner myself, rarely though. I used to use TuneUp Utilitys ages ago, that I was really fond of, I've not used it recently though so I don't know how well it has improved, though it's not free.

That in mind I had a look about, found one called Registry Clean Expert, you can download it from there and I personally tried it on my partners PC. Seems a good little program, you can use it fully for a 15 day evaluation period, after that you would need to purchase it, personally I don't think you'd need it longer than a day or two at most.

After installing and running the program, it recommends backing up your registry, that I did and would highly recommend you do so too. It doesn't take long at all to back up the registry, I backed the file up in Documents under the folder name "Registry Backup", the file I named "REG-BKUP-30-05-2011". After it's done with backing up your registry you're free to roam the program then, but all you need to do is go to Defrag Registry in the left panel, then follow the instructions on the right panel on what to do, you will need to click on the Analyze Registry first, then once it's completed analyzing your registry you can then click on the Compact/Defrag Registry.

Once it had finished for me it shaved a little bit off from the registry :)

You can also delve further into the program with Scan & Clean, though it's similar to CCleaner, I've not actually used it yet, if you choose to use it, just go through the findings thoroughly to make sure you're not getting rid of something you might actually need like shared libraries. :)

I would recommend following theJesus' advice too in the driver incremental updating, also, something I've not asked which I should have before now (chances are you've already done it, but just for my sake really!) we all know you're running Windows Vista x64, but are you running any Service Packs? If you aren't I'd get yourself updated to Service Pack 2 as soon as possible, otherwise if you have it then we will just take it from there :)

--Lee
 
Joined
May 18, 2011
Messages
861 (0.24/day)
Processor Ryzen 3700X
Motherboard ASRock X370 Killer/AC SLI
Cooling Cryorig H7
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX 3000
Video Card(s) EVGA RTX 2070 Ultra SC
Storage Crucial MX500 1TB, Crucial MX500 1TB, Toshiba X300 4TB, Toshiba X300 6TB
Case Fractal Design Definse S
Power Supply EVGA Supernova 650 G3
Mouse Logitech Pro
Keyboard Corsair Strafe Cherry MX Silent w/red LED
Software Win 10 Pro
What exactly would that do that Crap Cleaner doesn't? I guess it goes a bit more in depth?

I will try the incremental update approach today. What was a stable 190*** version?
 
Joined
Jul 20, 2008
Messages
4,016 (0.86/day)
Location
Ohio
System Name Desktop|| Virtual Host 0
Processor Intel Core i5 2500-K @ 4.3ghz || 2x Xeon L5630 (total 8 cores, 16 threads)
Motherboard ASUS P8Z68-V || Dell PowerEdge R710 (Intel 5520 chipset)
Cooling Corsair Hydro H100 || Stock hotplug fans and passive heatsinks
Memory 4x4gb Corsair Vengeance DDR3 1600 || 12x4gb Hynix DDR3 1066 FB-DIMMs
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 760 Gaming Twin Frozr 4GB OC || Don't know, don't care
Storage Hitachi 7K3000 2TB || 6x300gb 15k rpm SAS internal hotswap, 12x3tb Seagate NAS drives in enclosure
Display(s) ViewSonic VA2349S || remote iDRAC KVM console
Case Antec P280 || Dell PowerEdge R710
Audio Device(s) HRT MusicStreamer II+ and Focusrite Scarlett 18i8 || Don't know, don't care
Power Supply SeaSonic X650 Gold || 2x870w hot-swappable
Mouse Logitech G500 || remote iDRAC KVM console
Keyboard Logitech G510 || remote iDRAC KVM console
Software Win7 Ultimate x64 || VMware vSphere 6.0 with vCenter Server 6.0
Benchmark Scores Over 9000 on the scouter
Anything that says WHQL would be considered stable.
 
Joined
May 18, 2011
Messages
861 (0.24/day)
Processor Ryzen 3700X
Motherboard ASRock X370 Killer/AC SLI
Cooling Cryorig H7
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX 3000
Video Card(s) EVGA RTX 2070 Ultra SC
Storage Crucial MX500 1TB, Crucial MX500 1TB, Toshiba X300 4TB, Toshiba X300 6TB
Case Fractal Design Definse S
Power Supply EVGA Supernova 650 G3
Mouse Logitech Pro
Keyboard Corsair Strafe Cherry MX Silent w/red LED
Software Win 10 Pro
Tried the:

197.45_desktop_win7_winvista_64bit_english_whql

Installation went fine until the Nvidia control panel tried to install. Then it failed. 182.50 was restored.

I don't care about the control panel. Now that I have Nvidia Inspector I can set the AA Using that. Is there anyway to disable the nvidia control panel from installing?
 
Joined
Jul 2, 2010
Messages
4,015 (1.01/day)
Location
UK
System Name PC
Processor AMD Ryzen 3600
Motherboard MSI B450 Mortar Max
Cooling Phanteks PH-TC12DX, 3 x NZXT FN 140mm, 1x NZXT FV V2 120mm
Memory 32gb DDR4 3200mhz
Video Card(s) ASUS R9 290 DCII-OC 4GB
Storage corsair mp600 1TB
Display(s) LG 27MB85Z 27" 1440p
Case NZXT Source 340
Power Supply Thermaltake 675w
Mouse Logitech G500S
Keyboard Logitech G510S
Software Windows 8.1 64 bit
I don't care about the control panel. Now that I have Nvidia Inspector I can set the AA Using that. Is there anyway to disable the nvidia control panel from installing?

no
 
Joined
Jul 20, 2008
Messages
4,016 (0.86/day)
Location
Ohio
System Name Desktop|| Virtual Host 0
Processor Intel Core i5 2500-K @ 4.3ghz || 2x Xeon L5630 (total 8 cores, 16 threads)
Motherboard ASUS P8Z68-V || Dell PowerEdge R710 (Intel 5520 chipset)
Cooling Corsair Hydro H100 || Stock hotplug fans and passive heatsinks
Memory 4x4gb Corsair Vengeance DDR3 1600 || 12x4gb Hynix DDR3 1066 FB-DIMMs
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 760 Gaming Twin Frozr 4GB OC || Don't know, don't care
Storage Hitachi 7K3000 2TB || 6x300gb 15k rpm SAS internal hotswap, 12x3tb Seagate NAS drives in enclosure
Display(s) ViewSonic VA2349S || remote iDRAC KVM console
Case Antec P280 || Dell PowerEdge R710
Audio Device(s) HRT MusicStreamer II+ and Focusrite Scarlett 18i8 || Don't know, don't care
Power Supply SeaSonic X650 Gold || 2x870w hot-swappable
Mouse Logitech G500 || remote iDRAC KVM console
Keyboard Logitech G510 || remote iDRAC KVM console
Software Win7 Ultimate x64 || VMware vSphere 6.0 with vCenter Server 6.0
Benchmark Scores Over 9000 on the scouter
Hmm 197.45 might still be too big of a jump from 182.50
Maybe try 190.38?

Hell, if you're patient enough you could try going through all the releases, 185.85, 186.18, etc. :laugh:
 
Joined
May 18, 2011
Messages
861 (0.24/day)
Processor Ryzen 3700X
Motherboard ASRock X370 Killer/AC SLI
Cooling Cryorig H7
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX 3000
Video Card(s) EVGA RTX 2070 Ultra SC
Storage Crucial MX500 1TB, Crucial MX500 1TB, Toshiba X300 4TB, Toshiba X300 6TB
Case Fractal Design Definse S
Power Supply EVGA Supernova 650 G3
Mouse Logitech Pro
Keyboard Corsair Strafe Cherry MX Silent w/red LED
Software Win 10 Pro
Hmm 197.45 might still be too big of a jump from 182.50
Maybe try 190.38?

Hell, if you're patient enough you could try going through all the releases, 185.85, 186.18, etc. :laugh:



Seems like the easiest thing to try at this point. I'll try the next driver...
 
Joined
Jun 15, 2006
Messages
129 (0.02/day)
I used to have this problem with my notebook, altho nvidia site says it is compatible etc.
Try install one or 2 earlier version, it works.
http://www.laptopvideo2go.com has some oem 270 version that may work, some used a different installer or some kind.
Worth a try. (notebook or not.)
 
Last edited:
Joined
May 18, 2011
Messages
861 (0.24/day)
Processor Ryzen 3700X
Motherboard ASRock X370 Killer/AC SLI
Cooling Cryorig H7
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX 3000
Video Card(s) EVGA RTX 2070 Ultra SC
Storage Crucial MX500 1TB, Crucial MX500 1TB, Toshiba X300 4TB, Toshiba X300 6TB
Case Fractal Design Definse S
Power Supply EVGA Supernova 650 G3
Mouse Logitech Pro
Keyboard Corsair Strafe Cherry MX Silent w/red LED
Software Win 10 Pro
Finally some progress. I installed the:

185.85_desktop_winvista_64bit_english_whql

Which installed fine, aside from the Nvidia control panel. This failed to install. I doubt I will be missing much as I use Nvidia Inspector to set the AA/AF.

Shall I try updating to the next driver set now? I am wondering if the lack of Nvidia control panel will cause any issues.
 
Joined
Jul 20, 2008
Messages
4,016 (0.86/day)
Location
Ohio
System Name Desktop|| Virtual Host 0
Processor Intel Core i5 2500-K @ 4.3ghz || 2x Xeon L5630 (total 8 cores, 16 threads)
Motherboard ASUS P8Z68-V || Dell PowerEdge R710 (Intel 5520 chipset)
Cooling Corsair Hydro H100 || Stock hotplug fans and passive heatsinks
Memory 4x4gb Corsair Vengeance DDR3 1600 || 12x4gb Hynix DDR3 1066 FB-DIMMs
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 760 Gaming Twin Frozr 4GB OC || Don't know, don't care
Storage Hitachi 7K3000 2TB || 6x300gb 15k rpm SAS internal hotswap, 12x3tb Seagate NAS drives in enclosure
Display(s) ViewSonic VA2349S || remote iDRAC KVM console
Case Antec P280 || Dell PowerEdge R710
Audio Device(s) HRT MusicStreamer II+ and Focusrite Scarlett 18i8 || Don't know, don't care
Power Supply SeaSonic X650 Gold || 2x870w hot-swappable
Mouse Logitech G500 || remote iDRAC KVM console
Keyboard Logitech G510 || remote iDRAC KVM console
Software Win7 Ultimate x64 || VMware vSphere 6.0 with vCenter Server 6.0
Benchmark Scores Over 9000 on the scouter
Yeah, I would just keep going through them all, even though it should take a while. I wouldn't worry about the control panel for now.
 
Joined
May 18, 2011
Messages
861 (0.24/day)
Processor Ryzen 3700X
Motherboard ASRock X370 Killer/AC SLI
Cooling Cryorig H7
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX 3000
Video Card(s) EVGA RTX 2070 Ultra SC
Storage Crucial MX500 1TB, Crucial MX500 1TB, Toshiba X300 4TB, Toshiba X300 6TB
Case Fractal Design Definse S
Power Supply EVGA Supernova 650 G3
Mouse Logitech Pro
Keyboard Corsair Strafe Cherry MX Silent w/red LED
Software Win 10 Pro
Up to 190.38 now. Still no Nvidia control panel, but at least the drivers are updating.
 
Joined
Jul 20, 2008
Messages
4,016 (0.86/day)
Location
Ohio
System Name Desktop|| Virtual Host 0
Processor Intel Core i5 2500-K @ 4.3ghz || 2x Xeon L5630 (total 8 cores, 16 threads)
Motherboard ASUS P8Z68-V || Dell PowerEdge R710 (Intel 5520 chipset)
Cooling Corsair Hydro H100 || Stock hotplug fans and passive heatsinks
Memory 4x4gb Corsair Vengeance DDR3 1600 || 12x4gb Hynix DDR3 1066 FB-DIMMs
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 760 Gaming Twin Frozr 4GB OC || Don't know, don't care
Storage Hitachi 7K3000 2TB || 6x300gb 15k rpm SAS internal hotswap, 12x3tb Seagate NAS drives in enclosure
Display(s) ViewSonic VA2349S || remote iDRAC KVM console
Case Antec P280 || Dell PowerEdge R710
Audio Device(s) HRT MusicStreamer II+ and Focusrite Scarlett 18i8 || Don't know, don't care
Power Supply SeaSonic X650 Gold || 2x870w hot-swappable
Mouse Logitech G500 || remote iDRAC KVM console
Keyboard Logitech G510 || remote iDRAC KVM console
Software Win7 Ultimate x64 || VMware vSphere 6.0 with vCenter Server 6.0
Benchmark Scores Over 9000 on the scouter
Well, that's good that at the drivers are doing OK. I'm betting that by the time you get to the current drivers, the control panel will be working.
 
Joined
May 18, 2011
Messages
861 (0.24/day)
Processor Ryzen 3700X
Motherboard ASRock X370 Killer/AC SLI
Cooling Cryorig H7
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX 3000
Video Card(s) EVGA RTX 2070 Ultra SC
Storage Crucial MX500 1TB, Crucial MX500 1TB, Toshiba X300 4TB, Toshiba X300 6TB
Case Fractal Design Definse S
Power Supply EVGA Supernova 650 G3
Mouse Logitech Pro
Keyboard Corsair Strafe Cherry MX Silent w/red LED
Software Win 10 Pro
These seem to be as far as the drivers can go:

191.07_desktop_win7_winvista_64bit_english_whql

No control panel, but it works. 195.62 was the next on the list, however this time because the control panel could not install it failed completely and reverted to 191.07. Just like the later drivers.

So the issue is with the Nvidia control panel. It seems as though the newer Nvidia drivers require the Nvidia control panel to be installed to work. My next issue is figuring out how to make it work.
 
Joined
Jul 20, 2008
Messages
4,016 (0.86/day)
Location
Ohio
System Name Desktop|| Virtual Host 0
Processor Intel Core i5 2500-K @ 4.3ghz || 2x Xeon L5630 (total 8 cores, 16 threads)
Motherboard ASUS P8Z68-V || Dell PowerEdge R710 (Intel 5520 chipset)
Cooling Corsair Hydro H100 || Stock hotplug fans and passive heatsinks
Memory 4x4gb Corsair Vengeance DDR3 1600 || 12x4gb Hynix DDR3 1066 FB-DIMMs
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 760 Gaming Twin Frozr 4GB OC || Don't know, don't care
Storage Hitachi 7K3000 2TB || 6x300gb 15k rpm SAS internal hotswap, 12x3tb Seagate NAS drives in enclosure
Display(s) ViewSonic VA2349S || remote iDRAC KVM console
Case Antec P280 || Dell PowerEdge R710
Audio Device(s) HRT MusicStreamer II+ and Focusrite Scarlett 18i8 || Don't know, don't care
Power Supply SeaSonic X650 Gold || 2x870w hot-swappable
Mouse Logitech G500 || remote iDRAC KVM console
Keyboard Logitech G510 || remote iDRAC KVM console
Software Win7 Ultimate x64 || VMware vSphere 6.0 with vCenter Server 6.0
Benchmark Scores Over 9000 on the scouter
That's a suspicion I had in the back of my mind, but was hoping it wouldn't happen. It explains why 197.45 failed as well.

At the moment, I'm not sure exactly what could be preventing the control panel from installing. What steps have you been taking to install each set of drivers?
 
Joined
May 18, 2011
Messages
861 (0.24/day)
Processor Ryzen 3700X
Motherboard ASRock X370 Killer/AC SLI
Cooling Cryorig H7
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX 3000
Video Card(s) EVGA RTX 2070 Ultra SC
Storage Crucial MX500 1TB, Crucial MX500 1TB, Toshiba X300 4TB, Toshiba X300 6TB
Case Fractal Design Definse S
Power Supply EVGA Supernova 650 G3
Mouse Logitech Pro
Keyboard Corsair Strafe Cherry MX Silent w/red LED
Software Win 10 Pro
Just running the .exe and installing over the other ones.

Played BFBC2 for over an hour with no issues except for when minimizing. When I do that the desktop gets set to 800x600 resolution. Very annoying to reset my icons.
 
Joined
Jul 20, 2008
Messages
4,016 (0.86/day)
Location
Ohio
System Name Desktop|| Virtual Host 0
Processor Intel Core i5 2500-K @ 4.3ghz || 2x Xeon L5630 (total 8 cores, 16 threads)
Motherboard ASUS P8Z68-V || Dell PowerEdge R710 (Intel 5520 chipset)
Cooling Corsair Hydro H100 || Stock hotplug fans and passive heatsinks
Memory 4x4gb Corsair Vengeance DDR3 1600 || 12x4gb Hynix DDR3 1066 FB-DIMMs
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 760 Gaming Twin Frozr 4GB OC || Don't know, don't care
Storage Hitachi 7K3000 2TB || 6x300gb 15k rpm SAS internal hotswap, 12x3tb Seagate NAS drives in enclosure
Display(s) ViewSonic VA2349S || remote iDRAC KVM console
Case Antec P280 || Dell PowerEdge R710
Audio Device(s) HRT MusicStreamer II+ and Focusrite Scarlett 18i8 || Don't know, don't care
Power Supply SeaSonic X650 Gold || 2x870w hot-swappable
Mouse Logitech G500 || remote iDRAC KVM console
Keyboard Logitech G510 || remote iDRAC KVM console
Software Win7 Ultimate x64 || VMware vSphere 6.0 with vCenter Server 6.0
Benchmark Scores Over 9000 on the scouter
Hmmm, you could try uninstalling from the windows control panel, then reboot into safemode and run driver-sweeper, then reboot normally and try installing 195.62.

If that doesn't work, it seems like you should be able to easily go back to 191.07 at least.

My suspicion right now is that there is some part of an old driver or a registry key or something that's gotten left behind somehow and that's what has been causing the problem from the start. Problem is figuring out what it is and getting rid of it . . .Maybe try running ccleaner or w/e too before you install.
 
Joined
Nov 5, 2005
Messages
491 (0.09/day)
Location
England, UK.
System Name Akame
Processor Intel® Core™ i7-4770K 3.5Ghz /// (Stock)
Motherboard Asus ROG Maximus VI HERO Intel Z87 Socket 1150
Cooling Stock Air Cooler
Memory 16Gb (4x4Gb) /// G Skill PC3-19200 DDR3 2400MHz
Video Card(s) EVGA GeForce GTX 970 SC GAMING ACX 2.0
Storage Samsung 840 EVO 120GB (OS) /// Samsung 840 EVO 250GB /// Western Digital Caviar 1TB Green SATAIII
Display(s) Asus 22-inch VH226H Widescreen LCD Monitor (2ms, 3000:1, 1920x1080) Full HD
Case Cooler Master HAF 932 Advanced
Audio Device(s) Astro A50 Gen1
Power Supply Corsair AX760W Full Modular 80+ Platinum
Mouse Roccat Kone AIMO
Keyboard AFX MK0217 Mechanical Gaming Keyboard
Software Windows 10 Home 64-bit
I'm glad there's been some progression for you mate, although I bet you're still at your wits end in frustration... As we can see you've managed to get it to 191.70, doesn't look much but it's a damn sight better than the previous ones!

I'm just wondering, I've done some more reading and what I found was that another person solved their problem by uninstalling their drivers and doing an actual Windows Update for the graphics drivers, have you actually tried this or not yet?

If not, would you mind trying it out to let us know how it goes? Here's a link to the thread I read.

--Lee
 
Joined
May 18, 2011
Messages
861 (0.24/day)
Processor Ryzen 3700X
Motherboard ASRock X370 Killer/AC SLI
Cooling Cryorig H7
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX 3000
Video Card(s) EVGA RTX 2070 Ultra SC
Storage Crucial MX500 1TB, Crucial MX500 1TB, Toshiba X300 4TB, Toshiba X300 6TB
Case Fractal Design Definse S
Power Supply EVGA Supernova 650 G3
Mouse Logitech Pro
Keyboard Corsair Strafe Cherry MX Silent w/red LED
Software Win 10 Pro
I can try doing that, but I don't really know how to make Vista update to the version I want.

I guess it defaults to the newest driver available from Nvidia under Windows update?
 
Joined
Jul 20, 2008
Messages
4,016 (0.86/day)
Location
Ohio
System Name Desktop|| Virtual Host 0
Processor Intel Core i5 2500-K @ 4.3ghz || 2x Xeon L5630 (total 8 cores, 16 threads)
Motherboard ASUS P8Z68-V || Dell PowerEdge R710 (Intel 5520 chipset)
Cooling Corsair Hydro H100 || Stock hotplug fans and passive heatsinks
Memory 4x4gb Corsair Vengeance DDR3 1600 || 12x4gb Hynix DDR3 1066 FB-DIMMs
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 760 Gaming Twin Frozr 4GB OC || Don't know, don't care
Storage Hitachi 7K3000 2TB || 6x300gb 15k rpm SAS internal hotswap, 12x3tb Seagate NAS drives in enclosure
Display(s) ViewSonic VA2349S || remote iDRAC KVM console
Case Antec P280 || Dell PowerEdge R710
Audio Device(s) HRT MusicStreamer II+ and Focusrite Scarlett 18i8 || Don't know, don't care
Power Supply SeaSonic X650 Gold || 2x870w hot-swappable
Mouse Logitech G500 || remote iDRAC KVM console
Keyboard Logitech G510 || remote iDRAC KVM console
Software Win7 Ultimate x64 || VMware vSphere 6.0 with vCenter Server 6.0
Benchmark Scores Over 9000 on the scouter
Yeah, I don't think you get a choice, it just does it.
 
Joined
Nov 5, 2005
Messages
491 (0.09/day)
Location
England, UK.
System Name Akame
Processor Intel® Core™ i7-4770K 3.5Ghz /// (Stock)
Motherboard Asus ROG Maximus VI HERO Intel Z87 Socket 1150
Cooling Stock Air Cooler
Memory 16Gb (4x4Gb) /// G Skill PC3-19200 DDR3 2400MHz
Video Card(s) EVGA GeForce GTX 970 SC GAMING ACX 2.0
Storage Samsung 840 EVO 120GB (OS) /// Samsung 840 EVO 250GB /// Western Digital Caviar 1TB Green SATAIII
Display(s) Asus 22-inch VH226H Widescreen LCD Monitor (2ms, 3000:1, 1920x1080) Full HD
Case Cooler Master HAF 932 Advanced
Audio Device(s) Astro A50 Gen1
Power Supply Corsair AX760W Full Modular 80+ Platinum
Mouse Roccat Kone AIMO
Keyboard AFX MK0217 Mechanical Gaming Keyboard
Software Windows 10 Home 64-bit
I can try doing that, but I don't really know how to make Vista update to the version I want.

I guess it defaults to the newest driver available from Nvidia under Windows update?

All you do is go to Windows Update and choose the "Check for Updates" link to the left, then click on the "x optional update available" (where x is the number of updates available for you :)) -- I say click on the optional one because that is generally where the graphics driver tends to be, from what I've found anyway.

Make sure the graphics driver is selected and proceed with Windows Update, it's not necessarily the latest driver released, but generally the latest WHQL driver released :)

Yeah, I don't think you get a choice, it just does it.

You don't get the choice on driver version but you get the choice on whether or not to update it, personally I'd put a graphics driver update as an important one, not optional... Personally that's just me though :)

--Lee
 
Joined
May 18, 2011
Messages
861 (0.24/day)
Processor Ryzen 3700X
Motherboard ASRock X370 Killer/AC SLI
Cooling Cryorig H7
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX 3000
Video Card(s) EVGA RTX 2070 Ultra SC
Storage Crucial MX500 1TB, Crucial MX500 1TB, Toshiba X300 4TB, Toshiba X300 6TB
Case Fractal Design Definse S
Power Supply EVGA Supernova 650 G3
Mouse Logitech Pro
Keyboard Corsair Strafe Cherry MX Silent w/red LED
Software Win 10 Pro
Been a few days. I figured I was just going to stick with these drivers, however, Nvidia Inspector no longer works. It requires a driver of 256 to run. :mad:

So now I can no longer set AA in many games as they do not have such an option in the menu. Does anyone know of an Nvidia Inspector like program that will work on the 192 drivers?
 
Joined
May 18, 2009
Messages
1,545 (0.35/day)
Location
MN
System Name Personal / HTPC
Processor Ryzen 5900x / i5-4460
Motherboard Asrock x570 Phantom Gaming 4 /ASRock Z87 Extreme4
Cooling Hyper 212 Black / stock HSF
Memory 16GB DDR4 3200 / 8GB DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) Zotac GTX 980Ti AMP! Omega / Zotac GTX 980Ti AMP! Omega
Storage 500GB Samsung Pro 970, 250 GB Crucial SSD MX200, 1TB & 500GB Western Digital / 2x 4TB WD Red
Display(s) Dell - S3220DGF 32" LED Curved QHD FreeSync Monitor / 50" LCD TV
Case CoolerMaster XB Evo / CM HAF XB Evo
Power Supply 850W SeaSonic X Series / 750W SeaSonic X Series
Mouse Zephyr Gaming Mouse
Keyboard Microsoft Natural Elite Keyboard
Software Windows 10 Pro 64 / Windows 10 Home 64
Been a few days. I figured I was just going to stick with these drivers, however, Nvidia Inspector no longer works. It requires a driver of 256 to run. :mad:

So now I can no longer set AA in many games as they do not have such an option in the menu. Does anyone know of an Nvidia Inspector like program that will work on the 192 drivers?

Check out nHancer. Really slick program. It doesn't support any drivers over 197.xx.

Hopefully the creator is still working on writing a new version because I really did make good use of the program when I was running 182.50 drivers.
 
Top