• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

How to enable additional shaders on Radeon HD 6950

fullinfusion

Vanguard Beta Tester
Joined
Jan 11, 2008
Messages
9,605 (2.65/day)
Likes
3,363
Processor I7-7700K
Motherboard Asus Z270 Maximus IX Code
Cooling Custom water plus another cooler
Memory Corsair Vengeance LED Red 4x8GB 32GB 3200MHz kit
Video Card(s) 2 x MSI RX Vega 56 and a single MSI RX Vega 64 in test rig
Storage 960 EVO/960 Pro M.2 nvme 250/1TB, Samsumg 850 evo 256/ WD 1TB blue
Display(s) Nexius 32" freesync 2 HDR
Case Corsair Obsidion 650D/ cardboard box
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply EVGA Supernova G2 1300W
Mouse Mionix Naos 7000
Keyboard G15
Software Windows 10 Home
Sorry, I have no feedback 4 you, NameonPrime. My cards unlocked, so my experience does not relate to yours, as our cards already behave differently.

Frankly, i unlocked, but no OC here for 24/7...only for benching. I do not play any titles that need any OC.
Gech Dave, where's the fun in that? :toast:
 

fullinfusion

Vanguard Beta Tester
Joined
Jan 11, 2008
Messages
9,605 (2.65/day)
Likes
3,363
Processor I7-7700K
Motherboard Asus Z270 Maximus IX Code
Cooling Custom water plus another cooler
Memory Corsair Vengeance LED Red 4x8GB 32GB 3200MHz kit
Video Card(s) 2 x MSI RX Vega 56 and a single MSI RX Vega 64 in test rig
Storage 960 EVO/960 Pro M.2 nvme 250/1TB, Samsumg 850 evo 256/ WD 1TB blue
Display(s) Nexius 32" freesync 2 HDR
Case Corsair Obsidion 650D/ cardboard box
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply EVGA Supernova G2 1300W
Mouse Mionix Naos 7000
Keyboard G15
Software Windows 10 Home
HIS 6950 unlocked to full 6970 and Cross/Fired to boot heheheh, Im showing 99.9-99.8% scaling with these kids
Max core and mem clocks under stock volts.

 

manofthem

WCG-TPU Team All-Star!
Joined
Jan 9, 2011
Messages
10,727 (4.24/day)
Likes
26,176
Location
Florida
System Name bBox | tOffice | mDonk
Processor i7 4770k @4.3 | i7 2600k @3.5 | i7 4790 @3.8
Motherboard MSI Z87 G45 | MSI Z68 GD55 | MSI H97M G43
Cooling Water | Reeven Justice RC-1204 | can't remember
Memory G Skill TridentX 8GB 2400 | Patriot Viper 3 8GB 1600 | G Skill Ripjaws 8GB 1600
Video Card(s) 2x R9 290's | 980 SC ACX2.0 | n/a
Storage 850 Evo 250GB & 2TB Desktar 5K3000 | 830 256GB & 1.5TB & 3TB Barracudas| 830 256GB
Display(s) QNIX WX2710 (96Hz OC) & Shimian Achieva QH270-Lite | Acer 27HL | n/a
Case 900D | Fractal Define S | n/a
Audio Device(s) Siberia v2 | onboard | n/a
Power Supply Corsair AX1200 | XFX 550Pro | SeaSonic 660XP2
Mouse Razer Mamba 2012 | Corsair M95 | n/a
Keyboard Das Keyboard Pro 4 (blues) | Cougar Attack X3 (blues) | n/a
Software Win 10 Pro x64 | Win 10 Pro x64 | Win 10 Pro x64
Joined
Apr 8, 2011
Messages
30 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
System Name Nameon64
Processor AMD Phenom II X4 970 BE @ 3.51Ghz oc @3.81Ghz
Motherboard Asus Crosshair IV Formula
Cooling Xigmatek Gaia SD1283 CPU Cooler
Memory Corsiair XMS3 DDR3 4GB (2x2GB) @ 1333Mhz
Video Card(s) XFX ATI Radeon HD 5830 1GB, Sapphire AMD Radeon HD 6950 2GB
Power Supply A-Power AK850 (850w)
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit
Well guys,

as i've said before i've ocverclocked my gpu to 910/1375 @ stock 6950 voltage, when playing crysis 1 on the first level, (first few minutes of gameplay), @ max settings @ resolution 1280x1024 (my monitor) it runs bautifuly.

when i push it to 920/1375 @ stock 6950 voltages and play crysis 1 on the first level, (first few minutes of gameplay), @ max settings @ resolution 1280x1024 (my monitor) it
hangs up/crashes after a few minutes of gameplay

so i guess i've found the point where the oc is unstable and so i've dialed it down back to 910/1375
@ stock hd 6950 voltages :) :laugh: :rockout:

but i notice in fullinfusion's recent posted pic in ccc it shows the unofficial clocks
where as when i go above unofficial oc the clocks in ccc disappear only leaving powertune
and fan control sliders.

Is it okay for me to say that i have an extremely lucky card to be able to run those clocks @ those voltages?

What do you guys think?

Software used:

Windows 7 Ultimate 64Bit
Catalyst drivers/control center/ 11.3
MSI AfterBurner latest version ?2.1?

My gpu
sapphire hd 6950 2gb non-reference
 

fullinfusion

Vanguard Beta Tester
Joined
Jan 11, 2008
Messages
9,605 (2.65/day)
Likes
3,363
Processor I7-7700K
Motherboard Asus Z270 Maximus IX Code
Cooling Custom water plus another cooler
Memory Corsair Vengeance LED Red 4x8GB 32GB 3200MHz kit
Video Card(s) 2 x MSI RX Vega 56 and a single MSI RX Vega 64 in test rig
Storage 960 EVO/960 Pro M.2 nvme 250/1TB, Samsumg 850 evo 256/ WD 1TB blue
Display(s) Nexius 32" freesync 2 HDR
Case Corsair Obsidion 650D/ cardboard box
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply EVGA Supernova G2 1300W
Mouse Mionix Naos 7000
Keyboard G15
Software Windows 10 Home
Impressive... Most impressive.

Those are some handsome overclocks, both CPU and GPU's! Looking good at stock volts (1.175 from a 6970?).
Thanks man, the gpu is stock volts under full 6970 unlock... MSI AB is useless to me. Having twins hooked up its a no go till they sort out the x-fire issues.
 
Joined
Apr 30, 2011
Messages
1 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
For the people who need to unlockrom and fail at command line:

- Unpack the Winflash download onto your desktop in a folder called "winflash"
- Save the 6970 BIOS in your Winflash folder and name it unlock.bin
- Click Start Button
- Type "cmd"
- Right click the entry and select "Run as Administrator"
- Black command prompt windows opens
- Type "cd %USERPROFILE%\desktop\winflash"
- Type "atiwinflash -unlockrom 0" <-- the 0 means first adapter, if you have multiple cards, physically uninstall all but the one you want to flash
- Type "atiwinflash -f -p 0 unlock.bin"
- It should complete the flashing process with a message saying something with "verified".
Thank you very much!. :)
 
Joined
Apr 8, 2011
Messages
30 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
System Name Nameon64
Processor AMD Phenom II X4 970 BE @ 3.51Ghz oc @3.81Ghz
Motherboard Asus Crosshair IV Formula
Cooling Xigmatek Gaia SD1283 CPU Cooler
Memory Corsiair XMS3 DDR3 4GB (2x2GB) @ 1333Mhz
Video Card(s) XFX ATI Radeon HD 5830 1GB, Sapphire AMD Radeon HD 6950 2GB
Power Supply A-Power AK850 (850w)
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit
yeah

well it seems this whole thread is just choosing to ignore my posts
(i dont know what i did)

so you guys wont hear from me again, i wont bother you guys again

P.S - thanx for the little attention you paid to some of my posts
 

Winterwind

New Member
Joined
Jan 3, 2005
Messages
110 (0.02/day)
Likes
15
Location
Estonia
Processor AMD Phenom II X3 710 @ 3.25GHz / 1.265v
Motherboard Gigabyte MA790GP-DS4H(HT 2500MHz / NB 2500MHz)
Cooling Xigmatek HDT-SD964
Memory 2 x 2GB A-Data Over Clock Extreme 1066+
Video Card(s) MSI Radeon HD4850 512MB @ 740/1075
Storage Western Digital Caviar GP WD10EADS 1TB, Samsung Spinpoint F1 HD753LJ 750GB
Display(s) Benq G2110W
Case Thermaltake V2000A
Power Supply Zalman 460W
Software Windows Vista Ultimate x64
Hi

I have an Asus HD6950 DirectCU II 1GB.
http://www.asus.com/Graphics_Cards/AMD_Series/EAH6950_DCII2DI4S1GD5/
Is it possible to unlock it?
It has the bios switch and i have tried to flash both bios-es
but no luck. It flashes but after restart it still shows 1408 shaders.
I guess it is unlockable or im i doing something wrong?
I have tried to mod my stock bios with that mod batch and with RBE
but still no luck.

Also i have problems with that card.
Sometimes it just doesnt show any picture after reboot.
It was like that before i got flashed it and it still is like that now.
I have to take card out of computer and but it back, then it starts correctly.
Switching bioses wont help either, only card out-card in helps..

Heres link for my original bios:
http://www.upload.ee/files/1310129/original.bin.html
 
Joined
May 12, 2006
Messages
11,069 (2.61/day)
Likes
1,142
System Name Ball Smacker
Processor Intel I7 3770K 4.3ghz 1.15v 24/7 (9) fans and totally silent ahhh!!!
Motherboard Asus Sabertooth P67 1155 TUF Motherboard with Armor Assist Fan
Cooling Pro Meg 79CF 120mm x2 fans, 200mm front intake fan, 200 mm top fan, 120mm rear fan, 140 mm PSU fan
Memory Adata DDR3 1600 case 9 1.5v Overclocked to DDR3 2400+ Case 11 1.65v
Video Card(s) PowerColors Radeon RX 470 Red Devil Core 1390 Memory 7000 (Overclocked Additon) 4gb
Storage Samsung SSD 750 EVO 500GB /2 x 64Gb Western Digital Black Drives 1TB each 10,000 rpm
Display(s) LG Ultra Wide 21.9 2560 x 1080 2k 29 inch Monitor similar to retina display
Case Corsair Obsidian Series 650D Black Brushed Aluminum and steel case
Audio Device(s) Sound Blaster Live 24 bit 7.1
Power Supply Corsair 600 watt
Mouse Logitech M315
Keyboard Microsoft Contour
Software Windows 10 Ultimate 64

Winterwind

New Member
Joined
Jan 3, 2005
Messages
110 (0.02/day)
Likes
15
Location
Estonia
Processor AMD Phenom II X3 710 @ 3.25GHz / 1.265v
Motherboard Gigabyte MA790GP-DS4H(HT 2500MHz / NB 2500MHz)
Cooling Xigmatek HDT-SD964
Memory 2 x 2GB A-Data Over Clock Extreme 1066+
Video Card(s) MSI Radeon HD4850 512MB @ 740/1075
Storage Western Digital Caviar GP WD10EADS 1TB, Samsung Spinpoint F1 HD753LJ 750GB
Display(s) Benq G2110W
Case Thermaltake V2000A
Power Supply Zalman 460W
Software Windows Vista Ultimate x64
Joined
May 12, 2006
Messages
11,069 (2.61/day)
Likes
1,142
System Name Ball Smacker
Processor Intel I7 3770K 4.3ghz 1.15v 24/7 (9) fans and totally silent ahhh!!!
Motherboard Asus Sabertooth P67 1155 TUF Motherboard with Armor Assist Fan
Cooling Pro Meg 79CF 120mm x2 fans, 200mm front intake fan, 200 mm top fan, 120mm rear fan, 140 mm PSU fan
Memory Adata DDR3 1600 case 9 1.5v Overclocked to DDR3 2400+ Case 11 1.65v
Video Card(s) PowerColors Radeon RX 470 Red Devil Core 1390 Memory 7000 (Overclocked Additon) 4gb
Storage Samsung SSD 750 EVO 500GB /2 x 64Gb Western Digital Black Drives 1TB each 10,000 rpm
Display(s) LG Ultra Wide 21.9 2560 x 1080 2k 29 inch Monitor similar to retina display
Case Corsair Obsidian Series 650D Black Brushed Aluminum and steel case
Audio Device(s) Sound Blaster Live 24 bit 7.1
Power Supply Corsair 600 watt
Mouse Logitech M315
Keyboard Microsoft Contour
Software Windows 10 Ultimate 64

Ashcrapper

New Member
Joined
May 1, 2011
Messages
2 (0.00/day)
Likes
1
Just ran the batch file and its unlocked one of my graphics cards (both XFX 2gb 6950s), how do I unlock the other one?

Many thanks,
Ash
 

manofthem

WCG-TPU Team All-Star!
Joined
Jan 9, 2011
Messages
10,727 (4.24/day)
Likes
26,176
Location
Florida
System Name bBox | tOffice | mDonk
Processor i7 4770k @4.3 | i7 2600k @3.5 | i7 4790 @3.8
Motherboard MSI Z87 G45 | MSI Z68 GD55 | MSI H97M G43
Cooling Water | Reeven Justice RC-1204 | can't remember
Memory G Skill TridentX 8GB 2400 | Patriot Viper 3 8GB 1600 | G Skill Ripjaws 8GB 1600
Video Card(s) 2x R9 290's | 980 SC ACX2.0 | n/a
Storage 850 Evo 250GB & 2TB Desktar 5K3000 | 830 256GB & 1.5TB & 3TB Barracudas| 830 256GB
Display(s) QNIX WX2710 (96Hz OC) & Shimian Achieva QH270-Lite | Acer 27HL | n/a
Case 900D | Fractal Define S | n/a
Audio Device(s) Siberia v2 | onboard | n/a
Power Supply Corsair AX1200 | XFX 550Pro | SeaSonic 660XP2
Mouse Razer Mamba 2012 | Corsair M95 | n/a
Keyboard Das Keyboard Pro 4 (blues) | Cougar Attack X3 (blues) | n/a
Software Win 10 Pro x64 | Win 10 Pro x64 | Win 10 Pro x64
Just ran the batch file and its unlocked one of my graphics cards (both XFX 2gb 6950s), how do I unlock the other one?

Many thanks,
Ash
Take out the 1st card and replace with 2nd card. Do the same thing for the 2nd card that you did for the 1st card. Should work out just fine.
 
Joined
Feb 21, 2006
Messages
484 (0.11/day)
Likes
57
Location
Toronto, Ontario
System Name i7 Rig
Processor 970 @ 4.2Ghz @ 1.3vcore
Motherboard Asus P6T Deluxe V2
Cooling Thermalright TRUE Black Rev.C + Scythe S-Flex 120mm 1600RPM x2 Push/Pull
Memory Muskin XP12800 12GB DDR3 1600 7-8-7-20 1T
Video Card(s) MSI TF3 7970 OC BE + Kraken G10 & Corsair H55
Storage Intel 160GB G2 SSDx2 Raid 0 / WD 1TB Black 32mb / ESATA WD 2TB 64mb Green
Display(s) HP ZR24w
Case Cooler Master 690 II Advanced
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi + Logitech Z-5500
Power Supply Corsair Pro Series Gold AX750
Mouse G500
Keyboard G15
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
Benchmark Scores Hyperthreading on. -= CPU Idle 36c Load 75c | GPU Idle 35c Load 58c =-
yeah

well it seems this whole thread is just choosing to ignore my posts
(i dont know what i did)

so you guys wont hear from me again, i wont bother you guys again

P.S - thanx for the little attention you paid to some of my posts
Instead of crying about it you might want to take note this is a 100 page thread.

If its that important to you start your own.

Don't try to act like some victim that needs pity.
 

Ashcrapper

New Member
Joined
May 1, 2011
Messages
2 (0.00/day)
Likes
1
Take out the 1st card and replace with 2nd card. Do the same thing for the 2nd card that you did for the 1st card. Should work out just fine.
Was looking for a method without having to mess about removing hardware, incidentally I found this which worked a treat:

Copy the batch file, then edit it using Notepad. Look for the calls to ATIWinFlash.exe, there should be two:

ATIWinFlash -unlockrom 0
ATIWinFlash -f -p 0 <filename>

Replace the 0's with 1's

ATIWinFlash -unlockrom 1
ATIWinFlash -f -p 1 <filename>
 

manofthem

WCG-TPU Team All-Star!
Joined
Jan 9, 2011
Messages
10,727 (4.24/day)
Likes
26,176
Location
Florida
System Name bBox | tOffice | mDonk
Processor i7 4770k @4.3 | i7 2600k @3.5 | i7 4790 @3.8
Motherboard MSI Z87 G45 | MSI Z68 GD55 | MSI H97M G43
Cooling Water | Reeven Justice RC-1204 | can't remember
Memory G Skill TridentX 8GB 2400 | Patriot Viper 3 8GB 1600 | G Skill Ripjaws 8GB 1600
Video Card(s) 2x R9 290's | 980 SC ACX2.0 | n/a
Storage 850 Evo 250GB & 2TB Desktar 5K3000 | 830 256GB & 1.5TB & 3TB Barracudas| 830 256GB
Display(s) QNIX WX2710 (96Hz OC) & Shimian Achieva QH270-Lite | Acer 27HL | n/a
Case 900D | Fractal Define S | n/a
Audio Device(s) Siberia v2 | onboard | n/a
Power Supply Corsair AX1200 | XFX 550Pro | SeaSonic 660XP2
Mouse Razer Mamba 2012 | Corsair M95 | n/a
Keyboard Das Keyboard Pro 4 (blues) | Cougar Attack X3 (blues) | n/a
Software Win 10 Pro x64 | Win 10 Pro x64 | Win 10 Pro x64
Was looking for a method without having to mess about removing hardware, incidentally I found this which worked a treat:

Copy the batch file, then edit it using Notepad. Look for the calls to ATIWinFlash.exe, there should be two:

ATIWinFlash -unlockrom 0
ATIWinFlash -f -p 0 <filename>

Replace the 0's with 1's

ATIWinFlash -unlockrom 1
ATIWinFlash -f -p 1 <filename>
I think I heard that way would work too. When I did mine, I did it one at a time. When doing it one at a time, you can test it and make sure it works just fine before going straight to crossfire.
 
Joined
Dec 30, 2010
Messages
1,216 (0.48/day)
Likes
55
Location
Canada
System Name Brutus
Processor i5 4690k @4.7Ghz (Watercooled)
Motherboard z97 MSI Gaming 5
Cooling NZXT Kraken x61 AIO watercooler
Memory Gskill Ripjaws 8gb (2x4gb) 1600mhz 7-8-7-24
Video Card(s) MSI Gaming GTX 980ti x2 (sli)
Storage 1 SSD 64GB (OS) + 2x500GB WesternDigital RAID 0
Display(s) YAMAKASI Catleap q270 SE 27inch Glossy 2560x1440
Case NZXT Phantom
Audio Device(s) ASUS Xonar DX
Power Supply Antec TPQ 1200w
Software Windows 7 (64 bit)
Hi guys. Bought my Sapphire reference 2GB 6950 month ago, and finally decided to flash it. First I flashed to 6970 bios with 880/1375. It ran okay, even benchmarks are no problem. However, I started getting random shutdown/restart after couple days. And as I do more research, I realize I can achieve the same performance with modded shader 6950 bios. So I flashed back to original 6950 bios, then flashed to 6950 modded bios. now I have 1536 shaders with 800/1250. I heard that with stock voltage(1100) I can get up to 900/1350 stable. But when i tried to oc at 880/1350. my comp freezes at benchmarks or games. So do I HAVE to adjust the voltage or is it different cards may have different results in oc. Thanks
Currently using 11.4 catalyse and oc'ed with trixx.
Btw. Am I gonnna damage my card cuz I flashed back and forth the bios?
With the shaders unlock only, how can you get it to past 840mhz in CCC? I've heard you can use MSI AB... but when I installed that program I noticed the speeds and voltages are limited to the 6950 bios settings (max 840/1325)... Can anyone point me towards the information I need to OC my 6950 without flashing to 6970 bios???
 
Joined
May 3, 2011
Messages
1 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
Hi, tried this with the package you'd made for people inexperienced in this kind of thing (I am definitely one of those =D) and it worked fine, thanks! My card was a Sapphire one incidentally.
 

manofthem

WCG-TPU Team All-Star!
Joined
Jan 9, 2011
Messages
10,727 (4.24/day)
Likes
26,176
Location
Florida
System Name bBox | tOffice | mDonk
Processor i7 4770k @4.3 | i7 2600k @3.5 | i7 4790 @3.8
Motherboard MSI Z87 G45 | MSI Z68 GD55 | MSI H97M G43
Cooling Water | Reeven Justice RC-1204 | can't remember
Memory G Skill TridentX 8GB 2400 | Patriot Viper 3 8GB 1600 | G Skill Ripjaws 8GB 1600
Video Card(s) 2x R9 290's | 980 SC ACX2.0 | n/a
Storage 850 Evo 250GB & 2TB Desktar 5K3000 | 830 256GB & 1.5TB & 3TB Barracudas| 830 256GB
Display(s) QNIX WX2710 (96Hz OC) & Shimian Achieva QH270-Lite | Acer 27HL | n/a
Case 900D | Fractal Define S | n/a
Audio Device(s) Siberia v2 | onboard | n/a
Power Supply Corsair AX1200 | XFX 550Pro | SeaSonic 660XP2
Mouse Razer Mamba 2012 | Corsair M95 | n/a
Keyboard Das Keyboard Pro 4 (blues) | Cougar Attack X3 (blues) | n/a
Software Win 10 Pro x64 | Win 10 Pro x64 | Win 10 Pro x64
With the shaders unlock only, how can you get it to past 840mhz in CCC? I've heard you can use MSI AB... but when I installed that program I noticed the speeds and voltages are limited to the 6950 bios settings (max 840/1325)... Can anyone point me towards the information I need to OC my 6950 without flashing to 6970 bios???
Look at my post #2394 on page 96. That should guide you to enable unofficial overclocking and voltage control in MSI AB. It works great; you'll be able to overclock nicely, even with dual card setup. I'm running both my 6950's at 900/1375@1.175v using AB.
 

yacoub

New Member
Joined
Feb 28, 2006
Messages
10 (0.00/day)
Likes
1
System Name Win7x64
Processor Core i5 750
Motherboard EVGA E652 P55 Micro SLI
Memory 8GB Corsair XMS3
Video Card(s) Sapphire HD 6950 2GB non-reference
Storage Intel SSD Gen2 120GB, WD 2TB Green
Display(s) 1920x1080 x2
Power Supply Corsair HX650W modular
There were people with non ref 2GB cards and 1GB cards that were able to unlock the shaders, like this guy:
http://www.techpowerup.com/forums/showthread.php?t=144537

But now it seems that many cannot unlock their shaders with a flash, so the bioses/bios's(?) must be protected. Unfortunately I don't have access to one to try anything.
Would it be helpful if I Saved out the BIOS from mine when it arrives?

Would you (or someone here) be able to compare it against the BIOS from a reference model to see if the shader mask is stored in the same bytes or not?

Is it possible things have shifted if the BIOS is slightly different and that's what folks with these newer Sapphire cards are having no luck unlocking the shaders?
 
Joined
May 4, 2011
Messages
24 (0.01/day)
Likes
6
Location
Korpi
System Name 15" rMBP, mid 2012 base model
Processor Intel Core i7-3615QM
Video Card(s) NVIDIA GeForce GT 650M
I have an Asus 6950 Directcu II an I've tryed to unlock it through RBE and Wizzard's script, in bot cases GPUZ recognised the 1536 shaders but I could not appreciate any performance increase between original and unlocked. running al 883core and 5300 memory I get around P4950 3Dmark 2011 in an I5-760.
Is that the GPU score, or the total score?

Modded and running the core at 840 my GPU score in 3Dmark 11 went to 4812 from 4576, while the total score only went to 3820 from 3726. (latter scores being with stock clocks and un-modified)

So the total score doesn't actually show the increase in performance as clearly.

Out of curiosity I also tried the 6970 BIOS, the GPU score went up to 5104 with 6970 stock clocks. But as I have no real need for the added performance, and wanted to make sure that the card runs stable, I chickened and flashed back the original unmodded BIOS :eek:

At the same time using geeks3d GPU caps viewer I can see only 1406 shaders while gpuz shows 1536...
I think I ran into this on another forum, but could not find the posts anywhere, sorry.. But anyway, there were at least a couple reports of GPU Caps Viewer showing a wrong shader count, so that should probably be ok.

Did anybody have performance increase unlocking a Directcu II? if so, please send me your bios because I've played so many times with mines (1 and 2) that I'm not 100% sure I keep the original one... (I know, this is too bad, shamo on me...)
If the original BIOS is lost, there are some saved in the VGA BIOS Collection:
http://www.techpowerup.com/vgabios/95388/Asus.HD6950.2048.101222.html
http://www.techpowerup.com/vgabios/95927/Asus.HD6950.2048.101222_1.html

Those should both be original and unmodified :)


-Lauri
 

Vicc

New Member
Joined
May 6, 2011
Messages
5 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
packaged the hd 6950 bios modding script.

www.techpowerup.com/wizzard/Mod_BIOS_HD_6950.zip

give it a try and let me know how well it works
How exactly would you run this?
I just purchased a 6950 twin frozr iii with dual bios and I'm trying to unlock it. :]
Thanks in advance for any help.


Also, for some reason apparently my IP got banned. Originally I was going to PM my question to W1zzard in the morning, but I had to rush to work and I didn't have an account, and just now when I signed up for these forums and went to his profile I got this message.
Sorry. The administrator has banned your IP address. To contact the administrator click here
I wouldn't be asking this here if the link I'm supposed to click wasn't dead. :/
 

yacoub

New Member
Joined
Feb 28, 2006
Messages
10 (0.00/day)
Likes
1
System Name Win7x64
Processor Core i5 750
Motherboard EVGA E652 P55 Micro SLI
Memory 8GB Corsair XMS3
Video Card(s) Sapphire HD 6950 2GB non-reference
Storage Intel SSD Gen2 120GB, WD 2TB Green
Display(s) 1920x1080 x2
Power Supply Corsair HX650W modular
Greetings. I received the card today and installed it.

Here is the stock BIOS from the Sapphire Radeon HD6950 2GB non-reference model 100312-2SR (see attached). In case anyone needs it, and more appreciatively if anyone can examine it and compare it against a reference model BIOS to see if there are any changes that would explain why we can't seem to unlock the extra shaders on this model card.

Thank you in advance. :toast:
 

Attachments

fullinfusion

Vanguard Beta Tester
Joined
Jan 11, 2008
Messages
9,605 (2.65/day)
Likes
3,363
Processor I7-7700K
Motherboard Asus Z270 Maximus IX Code
Cooling Custom water plus another cooler
Memory Corsair Vengeance LED Red 4x8GB 32GB 3200MHz kit
Video Card(s) 2 x MSI RX Vega 56 and a single MSI RX Vega 64 in test rig
Storage 960 EVO/960 Pro M.2 nvme 250/1TB, Samsumg 850 evo 256/ WD 1TB blue
Display(s) Nexius 32" freesync 2 HDR
Case Corsair Obsidion 650D/ cardboard box
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply EVGA Supernova G2 1300W
Mouse Mionix Naos 7000
Keyboard G15
Software Windows 10 Home
How exactly would you run this?
I just purchased a 6950 twin frozr iii with dual bios and I'm trying to unlock it. :]
Thanks in advance for any help.


Also, for some reason apparently my IP got banned. Originally I was going to PM my question to W1zzard in the morning, but I had to rush to work and I didn't have an account, and just now when I signed up for these forums and went to his profile I got this message.
I wouldn't be asking this here if the link I'm supposed to click wasn't dead. :/
Did you read the beginning of the thread? there is all the info you need to flash your card.

Download THIS It has everything you need to flash back n forth.