• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

How to enable additional shaders on Radeon HD 6950

Mastroz

New Member
Joined
Dec 27, 2010
Messages
29 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
I'm using the 10.12a drivers.. But ati see it as 10.11 for some reasons on the version.. what setting are you running for everything?? Have powertune +20? fan at least 50%, 880?? 800??
 
Joined
Sep 5, 2004
Messages
1,870 (0.39/day)
Likes
249
Location
The Kingdom of Norway
System Name Wiak's Gaming Rig 2017
Processor Ryzen 1700X
Motherboard ASUS PRIME X370-PRO
Cooling Noctua
Memory Corsair Vengenace LPX 3200 CL16 @ 2933
Video Card(s) MSI Radeon 480 8GB Gaming X
Storage Samsung 960 EVO 500GB / Samsung 850 EVO 1TB
Case Corsair 200R
Power Supply Corsair AX850
Mouse Corsair Sabre Laser
Keyboard Logitech Orion Brown (G610)

New-Bee

New Member
Joined
Dec 28, 2010
Messages
5 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
hi
i have a new problem:
I have a EVGA P55 ftw and it has an additional 12V Molex for the GPU Power-Suppyl.
I tried it but then i have a bit performance loos eg in Furmark.
Any ideas?

New-Bee
 
Joined
Dec 27, 2010
Messages
23 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
Location
Canada
Processor Intel Core 2 Quad Q9550 @ 2.83 GHz (one day I will OC)
Motherboard GIGABYTE EP45-UD3P rev. 1.6
Cooling ZALMAN CNPS7500-ALCU Air Cooler
Memory 2x4GB OCZ PC2-6400 + 2x4GB Corsair PC2-6400 (same timings)
Video Card(s) Sapphire Radeon HD6950 2GB
Storage 1TB WD Caviar Blue 7200 RPM
Display(s) 23" Dell SP2309W LCD + Soundbar
Case Antec Performance P180
Audio Device(s) Build-in HD sound
Power Supply Antec EarthWatts 650W
Software Windows 7 Professional 64-bit
Is DFI still around? I can't imagine so with their grossly over-priced motherboards haha. Lots of unnecessary features that I imagine were more hype than anything else.
 

Wessmess

New Member
Joined
Dec 28, 2010
Messages
2 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
Xfx 6950 -> 6970

Upgrade went ok, no artifact or whatever, everything stable.

Furmark went from 5993 to 7166 which looks ok.
3DMark06 went from 17955 to 19514, which looks a little low, in all reviews > 20000.

System is a clean x64 Windows 7
CPU: E8400 @4 ghz
MEM: 8 GB
PSU: 400 W Zallmann

Driver Packaging Version 8.801-101125a-109809C-ATI
Catalyst™ Version 10.12

Power control setting at +20%.

My PSU looks fine because the system is stable at Furmarks Xtreme burning mode @ 1920.
Tested with afterburner, powertune does not kick in. Gpu clock stays at 880 mhz.

Any ideas
 

Mastroz

New Member
Joined
Dec 27, 2010
Messages
29 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
Upgrade went ok, no artifact or whatever, everything stable.

Furmark went from 5993 to 7166 which looks ok.
3DMark06 went from 17955 to 19514, which looks a little low, in all reviews > 20000.

System is a clean x64 Windows 7
CPU: E8400 @4 ghz
MEM: 8 GB
PSU: 400 W Zallmann

Driver Packaging Version 8.801-101125a-109809C-ATI
Catalyst™ Version 10.12

Power control setting at +20%.

My PSU looks fine because the system is stable at Furmarks Xtreme burning mode @ 1920.
Tested with afterburner, powertune does not kick in. Gpu clock stays at 880 mhz.

Any ideas
nice, get the trial of 3dmark 11 and see what you get? I have the free trial right now and everything. Yours I think is a little low because of the CPU you are using. Still great numbers I think.
 

Yidaki

New Member
Joined
Dec 27, 2010
Messages
18 (0.01/day)
Likes
1
Is DFI still around? I can't imagine so with their grossly over-priced motherboards haha. Lots of unnecessary features that I imagine were more hype than anything else.
No, DFI doesn't exist any more (consumer market). So tell me, what was your problem with DFI? :wtf:
 

ranom

New Member
Joined
Dec 27, 2010
Messages
14 (0.01/day)
Likes
3
Ive now tried Power control setting +20%, and mine also went OK but I'm getting close results with +0% and +20%, must be my CPU being underpowered :p
Windows7 x64, i3-540@3.7GHz, Mem2GBx2, Catalyst 10.12a Hotfix driver

3DMark 11 Basic v1.01:p4767
Heaven(1920x1080, 8xAA, Fullscreen, Shaders, Textures:high, Filter:trilinear, Aniso16x, Occlusion/ Refraction/Volumetric:enabled, Replication:disabled, Tessellation:extreme ) FPS:26.2 Scores:659 MinFPS:11.0 MaxFPS:73.8

I must note that I went safe and cranked up the fan speed to 59%. Sounded like a hair dryer lol
 

baud

New Member
Joined
Dec 28, 2010
Messages
13 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
Location
Texas
I think I've seen a review of a 6950 with R0C 6000MHz chips, but that could have been an engineering sample that was lent to the media. Since I dont wanna take my cooler off I dont know which chips I have under my XFX HD6950 (HD-695A-CNFC Ver 1.1), but mine seems to take 6000MHz(1375x4) fine, though I wouldnt want to use it regularly at this clock without checking what chips are used first.
we have the same version XFX card, but for some reason mine won't flash properly...

switch is in the "1" position, card is in the first pcie slot, no other cards present, yet every time i flash it my comp doesn't boot... i have to keep using the backup rom :banghead:

am i doing something wrong? what else could it be?
 

Paintface

New Member
Joined
Jul 3, 2008
Messages
389 (0.11/day)
Likes
72
Processor E5200 @ 3.7ghz
Motherboard DFI LanParty DK P35 DARK
Cooling Zalman CPU + case cooling
Memory OCZ Reaper HPC DDR2 4GB 1066
Video Card(s) Saphire 4890 Vapor-X OCed
Storage Raptor 74GB + 640GB sata + 1TB sata ( all WD)
Display(s) BENQ 24inch LCD 1080p
Case my desk
Audio Device(s) Creative Audigy 2 ZS
Power Supply OCZ gameXstream 700w
Software Windows 7 x64 ultimate
Last edited by a moderator:

singsonn

New Member
Joined
Dec 28, 2010
Messages
2 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
I'm having a bsod when I am flashing the BIOS with atiwinflash. The program actually freeze for a few seconds, then theres the bsod saying that there is an issue with my display driver (that I'm trying to modify something, not sure here), and then reboot of the machine.
I have a Sapphire, and the only thing that differs from the GPU-z of the article is the driver version. Mine's Catalyst 10.12 (Win7 64): 8.801.0.0. Anyone else with a similar issue??
 
Joined
Oct 13, 2007
Messages
7,693 (2.07/day)
Likes
1,772
Location
Chicago
System Name DarkStar
Processor i5 3570K 4.4Ghz
Motherboard Asrock Z77 Extreme 3
Cooling Apogee HD White/XSPC Razer blocks
Memory 8GB Samsung Green 1600
Video Card(s) 2 x GTX 670 4GB
Storage 2 x 120GB Samsung 830
Display(s) 27" QNIX
Case Enthoo Pro
Power Supply Seasonic Platinum 760
Mouse Steelseries Sensei
Keyboard Ducky Pro MX Black
Software Windows 8.1 x64
Last edited by a moderator:

singsonn

New Member
Joined
Dec 28, 2010
Messages
2 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
I'm having a bsod when I am flashing the BIOS with atiwinflash. The program actually freeze for a few seconds, then theres the bsod saying that there is an issue with my display driver (that I'm trying to modify something, not sure here), and then reboot of the machine.
I have a Sapphire, and the only thing that differs from the GPU-z of the article is the driver version. Mine's Catalyst 10.12 (Win7 64): 8.801.0.0. Anyone else with a similar issue??
Nevermind, I removed the PCI-E sata controller card from the motherboard and now atiwinflash works fine, have to reboot to make sure though.
 

Wessmess

New Member
Joined
Dec 28, 2010
Messages
2 (0.00/day)
Likes
0

Bearlake

New Member
Joined
Dec 27, 2010
Messages
9 (0.00/day)
Likes
1
System Name Gaming Rig
Processor E8500 @ 400*9.5 1.35v
Motherboard Asus Maximus Formula (X38... Bearlake)
Cooling CPU-Grand Kama Cross GPU-T-rad2
Memory OCZ platinum 4x2gb kit (1ghz) @ 1200mhz, 2.14v (custom flash by ocz tech support)
Video Card(s) 4890 @ 975mhz/1050mhz
Storage 2x WD 250GB sata2 RE2 @ Raid-0
Display(s) Samsung 24" Syncmaster 245b + Philips 17"170S4
Case Zalman GT-1000
Audio Device(s) Onboard-riser Supreme FX-II + Logitech G35 surround heatset
Power Supply Gigabyte 850watt Odin GT (usb connected)
Software Win7 x64
Benchmark Scores CPU @ 4.4ghz 18543 3DMarks (3870x2 gpu with 4gb team Xtreem memory, both replaced) (the 3870x2 die
Why did that link to two other URLs before newegg?
fishy..

the first link is supposed to a url-shortener, but then i dunno what happens after that..

either way, please use direct links you can shorten them with the [url= command
 

Andypro

New Member
Joined
Dec 28, 2010
Messages
4 (0.00/day)
Likes
1
Sorry for the off topic, but I'm new here -

Can someone tell me how to turn off the setting that sends me an e-mail every time this thread is updated?
 
Joined
Aug 17, 2009
Messages
1,577 (0.52/day)
Likes
461
Location
Los Angeles/Orange County CA
System Name Vulcan
Processor i6 6600K
Motherboard GIGABYTE Z170X UD3
Cooling Thermaltake Frio Silent 14
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX 16GB (2 x 8GB)
Video Card(s) ASUS Strix GTX 970
Storage Mushkin Enhanced Reactor 1TB SSD
Display(s) QNIX 27 Inch 1440p
Case Fractal Design Define S
Audio Device(s) On Board
Power Supply Cooler Master V750
Software Win 10 64-bit
Sorry for the off topic, but I'm new here -

Can someone tell me how to turn off the setting that sends me an e-mail every time this thread is updated?
Under User CP, select "Edit Options" and set "Default Thread Subscription Mode" to "No email notification".

Also, you can click on Thread Tools at the top and select "Unsubscribe from this thread".
 
Joined
Dec 28, 2010
Messages
1 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
Hi!

My Gigabyte card running fine after the unlock got nice scores in 3dmark 11
6950 with 0% power controll... No heat problem after 10 min 99% gpu stress test I had 79 Celsius with normal fan controll (35% fan speed).
Managed to lower the temperature to 69Celsius with MSI Afterburner at 40% fan speed.

Edit: Tested on 880/1375MHz...
 
Last edited:

Patjuh

New Member
Joined
Dec 27, 2010
Messages
9 (0.00/day)
Likes
2
Location
Duiven, Netherlands
Processor Intel Core i7 860
Motherboard Asus Maximus III Gene
Cooling 2x 120mm Noctua intake and 2x90mm outtake, Noctua B9SE PushPull CPU Cooling
Memory Corsair Dominator GT 1600-CAS7
Video Card(s) Asus HD5870 Voltage Tweak and XFX HD6950 @ 6970 Bios
Storage 2x 500TB WD and Maxtor
Display(s) Samsung Syncmaster 2253LW and 931BW
Case Lian Li PC351v2
Audio Device(s) Xtreme X-Fi Asus
Power Supply Corsair HX620W & Corsair HX850W
When I try to flash my XFX6950 with XFX6970 bios I get the error:

SubSystemID mismatch.

Whjat's causing this and how to solve? I remark that the file I downloaded says .bin, I removed the .bin and removed all dots in the filetitle so it says: XFXHD69702048101203

Anyone?
 

vvulture

New Member
Joined
Jan 25, 2009
Messages
48 (0.01/day)
Likes
1
Location
Sydney, Australia
I modify the original HD6950 BIOS manually to unlock the extra shaders.

I dont have 6950 or 6970, I did the modification for some 6950 users.

Would you like to try? :)
Huh yeah ! Why not post some instructions here, or better still start a new thread and post link here.
This could solve some artefact issues some members are having.

cheers
 

Frosty

New Member
Joined
Dec 27, 2010
Messages
13 (0.01/day)
Likes
1
Location
Newfoundland, Canada
System Name Relationship Destroyer
Processor i7 920 @ 4.0 GHz (HT On)
Motherboard Asrock X58 Extreme3
Cooling Corsair H70
Memory G.Skill Ripjaws DDR3 1600 (6 GB)
Video Card(s) SLI GTX 465 GE (flashed to 470s)
Storage Kingston V 64 GB, 2 x Seagate 7200.12
Display(s) Dell 24" + 2 x BenQ 24"
Case Antec 300 (Window Mod)
Audio Device(s) Auzentech X-Raider
Power Supply Cougar 1000CMX
Software Windows 7 Ultimate
Huh yeah ! Why not post some instructions here, or better still start a new thread and post link here.
This could solve some artefact issues some members are having.

cheers
^^ This

I've ordered two 6950s and I'd definitely like to try this out. It would make sense that the different timings on the 6970 memory chips would cause the artifacting as most users have decreased their memory clocks to stock 6950 levels after the flashing process and still experience artifacting.
 
Joined
Mar 13, 2007
Messages
854 (0.22/day)
Likes
46
Location
Eastern Tennessee
System Name Firebird
Processor Ryzen 7 1700X
Motherboard MSI X370 Titanium
Cooling Tt Water2.0 PRO (They use the same bracket as 3.0)
Memory G.Skill TridentZ 2x8GB 3200 15-15-15-35 B-Die (@3333 ATM)
Video Card(s) ASUS STRIX R9 390 8GB
Storage Too many. Samsung 750GB, 120GB 850 EVO, Seagate 1TB, Toshiba 1TB, OCZ 32GB Cache Drive
Display(s) Samsung 46" UN46D6050 1080P HDTV
Case Home-made tech bench.
Audio Device(s) ASUS Xonar Essence STX (I use HDMI though *cry*)
Power Supply CWT PUC1000V-S 1000W, Abee Supremer (import) 1200W currently used as primary.
Mouse Razer Copperhead (circa 2005)
Keyboard Tt Challenger Pro (AVOID! Keys wear super fast)
Software Win 10 Pro x64
Benchmark Scores Meh.
When I try to flash my XFX6950 with XFX6970 bios I get the error:

SubSystemID mismatch.

Whjat's causing this and how to solve? I remark that the file I downloaded says .bin, I removed the .bin and removed all dots in the filetitle so it says: XFXHD69702048101203

Anyone?
Use ATiFlash in DOS. You can use the -fp (force flash) option then. I'd run atiflash -i first to make sure your card is Device 0 (most likely is), but then just do atiflash -fp 0 <biosname>.bin

I flashed both of my 5770s yesterday while both were in the computer with no problem :\

People are overcomplicating this >_> That or it's just because I've used computers for long enough to have needed to use DOS/Command Prompt to do certain things... It's easier than one might think though :)
 
Joined
Dec 28, 2010
Messages
3 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
hi, i have two HIS 6950, i flashed the first with the atiwinflash command on CMD method.. now i want to flash the other one, GPU2.. what is the command to flash the 2nd card ?