• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

How to enable additional shaders on Radeon HD 6950

Tuvok

New Member
Joined
Jun 5, 2009
Messages
33 (0.01/day)
Likes
1
hi,

i didnt get an answer over at guru3d.. so maybe someone here knows :)

if u get the 6950 now and unlock it to 6970 and now somewhere down the road its not possible to do this anymore since amd changed the design, will u be able to run it in a crossfire if you then buy a "real" 6970 ?

And does it have to be the same brand, or can u get the 6950 from asuals and then the 6970 from his for example? Tnx
yes you can xfire it, in fact, you could even crossfire 6970 with a plain 6950 if I'm not mistaken
 
Joined
Dec 20, 2010
Messages
275 (0.11/day)
Likes
47
Processor i5 4670K @4.4GHz 1.239V
Motherboard Asus Z87M-PLUS
Cooling High Pressure Fan System
Memory 24GB DDR3 2400MHz
Video Card(s) AMD R9 290 4GB
Storage 256GB Samsung 830, 500gb WD Blue 7200rpm
Display(s) 23inch Dell LCD
Case Silverstone Sugo SG10B
Power Supply Antec TP-750
Software Windows 10
Joined
Dec 26, 2010
Messages
91 (0.04/day)
Likes
13
dom sorry bud but you didnt post results, no where do I see ' by god Jeeves I think Ive cracked it!', no 3dmark, no gpuz, I saw that the other day btw :)

quote: No I wont be trying it, was just wondering. But I am right in saying that one of the two bios can be changed.

we were all thinking it, it was me that actually went through with it, congratz on your card btw :)
 
Joined
Dec 20, 2010
Messages
275 (0.11/day)
Likes
47
Processor i5 4670K @4.4GHz 1.239V
Motherboard Asus Z87M-PLUS
Cooling High Pressure Fan System
Memory 24GB DDR3 2400MHz
Video Card(s) AMD R9 290 4GB
Storage 256GB Samsung 830, 500gb WD Blue 7200rpm
Display(s) 23inch Dell LCD
Case Silverstone Sugo SG10B
Power Supply Antec TP-750
Software Windows 10
dom sorry bud but you didnt post results, no where do I see ' by god Jeeves I think Ive cracked it!', no 3dmark, no gpuz, I saw that the other day btw :)

quote: No I wont be trying it, was just wondering. But I am right in saying that one of the two bios can be changed.

we were all thinking it, it was me that actually went through with it, congratz on your card btw :)
Yeh fair enough lol im too chicken to be the first, on a budget
 

Anosh

New Member
Joined
Dec 28, 2010
Messages
2 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
What about future driver updates!?!
Even if AMD decides not to do some sort of a fix in future drivers there are no guaranties that the correct drivers will be installed, or am I wrong?
 
B

BudyCZ

Guest
Do you can statistics include me. My three Sapphire HD 6950 work on unlocking the HD6970 properly .. So great increase in performance
 

Yidaki

New Member
Joined
Dec 27, 2010
Messages
18 (0.01/day)
Likes
1
What about future driver updates!?!
Even if AMD decides not to do some sort of a fix in future drivers there are no guaranties that the correct drivers will be installed, or am I wrong?
I guess they could do some kind of that for the CPUs as well, but they don't do it. Anyways, if there would be a new driver that disables this function, you could flash your card again. Don't see any Problem here. Or during installation switch to position 1, then back to 2 again. Or the other way round.

Do you can statistics include me. My three Sapphire HD 6950 work on unlocking the HD6970 properly .. So great increase in performance
Nice WINs, dude :rockout:
 
Joined
Oct 7, 2006
Messages
1,335 (0.33/day)
Likes
90
Processor e8200 3.93mhz@1.264v
Motherboard P5E3 Pro
Cooling Scythe Infinity
Memory 4gb of G.Skill Ripjaw 6-7-7-18@1404 and 1.62v
Video Card(s) HIS 5770 v2 940/1275mhz stock volts
Storage 1TB Hitachi
Display(s) Acer 22" Widescreen LCD
Case Blue Cooler Master Centurion
Audio Device(s) Onboard audio :(, and Klipsch 5.1 Pro Media's
Power Supply 650 Watt BFG
Software Vista 64 Ultimate
The price of the 6950 is not much more than a 6870, so now it seems the 6950 is packing killer value vs. any other card out there. Oh, I hope they don't fix it so this can't be done, if I don't get shipped to Colombia I am going to have to have one ;).
 

Anosh

New Member
Joined
Dec 28, 2010
Messages
2 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
I guess they could do some kind of that for the CPUs as well, but they don't do it. Anyways, if there would be a new driver that disables this function, you could flash your card again. Don't see any Problem here. Or during installation switch to position 1, then back to 2 again. Or the other way round. :
That doesn't make any sense.
If you change the bios to 6950 then install updated drivers wouldn't it be the drivers for 6950?
And then you switch back to the bios for 6970 and use the installed drivers for 6950?
 
Joined
Mar 8, 2009
Messages
1,077 (0.34/day)
Likes
305
System Name Primary Rig
Processor e8500 Q822A549 4.5ghz AIR
Motherboard Foxconn Mars P35
Cooling TRUE
Memory 2 x2GB Patriot Viper 1066 5-5-5-12 @ 1.8v
Video Card(s) Sapphire 5870 Unlocked
Storage 300gb Velociraptor
Display(s) Dell 24" Ultrasharp
Case Coolermaster CM690
Power Supply PC Power & Cooling 750w Quad Silencer
Software Windows 7 Ultimate x86
Frack the Sapphire 6950's went up to $340+ on Amazon...

No will power, grabbed the $282 HIS 6950...

Will be flashing within a week =)
 

Andypro

New Member
Joined
Dec 28, 2010
Messages
4 (0.00/day)
Likes
1
I hate to be the first one in the grid with artifacts / graphical issues after the flash, but I may be. If you can suggest things to test to see if it's something other than the extra shaders I unlocked that would be good.

I have a Sapphire 6950 and after flashing the 6970 bios as instructed, I'm having artifacts - flickering textures in Super Meat Boy. It seems like it's a shaders thing because that game doesn't stress the GPU at all. Running GPU-Z in the background showed that the GPU load never went about about 11% and the temp never went above 69C. Core was 500MHz although I have it set at 800MHz in the driver. I tried +20% Power Control and 0% - no differences. I ran Heaven at default settings, and that seemed to run without problems that I could see.
 

vvulture

New Member
Joined
Jan 25, 2009
Messages
48 (0.01/day)
Likes
1
Location
Sydney, Australia
Here's something strange...
After running 3DMark11 with my flashed cards, the results are still showing them as 6950's...

Anyone here care to speculate ? or even test it for themselves ? :confused:
 
Joined
Dec 27, 2010
Messages
23 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
Location
Canada
Processor Intel Core 2 Quad Q9550 @ 2.83 GHz (one day I will OC)
Motherboard GIGABYTE EP45-UD3P rev. 1.6
Cooling ZALMAN CNPS7500-ALCU Air Cooler
Memory 2x4GB OCZ PC2-6400 + 2x4GB Corsair PC2-6400 (same timings)
Video Card(s) Sapphire Radeon HD6950 2GB
Storage 1TB WD Caviar Blue 7200 RPM
Display(s) 23" Dell SP2309W LCD + Soundbar
Case Antec Performance P180
Audio Device(s) Build-in HD sound
Power Supply Antec EarthWatts 650W
Software Windows 7 Professional 64-bit
Okay so I have an update about where things stand with my Sapphire HD6950. I tried the BIOS images from all manufacturers and they all cause the same problems. Every time I launch something 3D like a game (even GPU-Z) the driver malfunctions and crashes with artifacts all over despite messing with the PowerTune settings between 0% and 20%. I think I may be one of those with a non-moddable 6950. If anybody has more suggestions that would be great.
 
Joined
Dec 27, 2010
Messages
23 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
Location
Canada
Processor Intel Core 2 Quad Q9550 @ 2.83 GHz (one day I will OC)
Motherboard GIGABYTE EP45-UD3P rev. 1.6
Cooling ZALMAN CNPS7500-ALCU Air Cooler
Memory 2x4GB OCZ PC2-6400 + 2x4GB Corsair PC2-6400 (same timings)
Video Card(s) Sapphire Radeon HD6950 2GB
Storage 1TB WD Caviar Blue 7200 RPM
Display(s) 23" Dell SP2309W LCD + Soundbar
Case Antec Performance P180
Audio Device(s) Build-in HD sound
Power Supply Antec EarthWatts 650W
Software Windows 7 Professional 64-bit
Yeah I tried that too. It didn't work for me.
 
Joined
Dec 27, 2010
Messages
23 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
Location
Canada
Processor Intel Core 2 Quad Q9550 @ 2.83 GHz (one day I will OC)
Motherboard GIGABYTE EP45-UD3P rev. 1.6
Cooling ZALMAN CNPS7500-ALCU Air Cooler
Memory 2x4GB OCZ PC2-6400 + 2x4GB Corsair PC2-6400 (same timings)
Video Card(s) Sapphire Radeon HD6950 2GB
Storage 1TB WD Caviar Blue 7200 RPM
Display(s) 23" Dell SP2309W LCD + Soundbar
Case Antec Performance P180
Audio Device(s) Build-in HD sound
Power Supply Antec EarthWatts 650W
Software Windows 7 Professional 64-bit
I can't make them any lower than 1375. The slider in the ATI Overdrive doesn't go any lower.
 

remb

New Member
Joined
Dec 28, 2010
Messages
1 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
You can add another Gigabyte 6950 to the tally! Had to do some extra work but the onlock went smoothly otherwise. Thank you guys so much!
 

drteming

New Member
Joined
Dec 9, 2007
Messages
3 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
Location
North Carolina
Processor Q9550 @ 3.4 GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte EP45-UD3
Cooling Tuniq Tower 120
Memory G Skills DDR2-800 2GB x 4
Video Card(s) AMD HD 6950 Flashed to 6970
Storage WD RE3 250 GB x 2 Raid 0, WD Black Edition 640 GB, 1 TB
Display(s) Acer 24"
Case ASYS CK-1022-5
Audio Device(s) On board
Power Supply Corsair TX 750
Software Windows 7 64 bit
Just flashed my XFX 6950. Works great. Thanks W1zzard!
 
Joined
Dec 28, 2010
Messages
15 (0.01/day)
Likes
8
Location
Vancouver, BC
System Name Main
Processor 8350 @ comfy 4.5GHz
Motherboard Asus Crosshair V
Cooling H110 with Noctuas
Memory 16GB Gskill 1600 DDR3
Video Card(s) Asus 290 DirectCU
Storage 840 Pro 256GB, 120GB Corsair Force 3, 500GB Seagate Hybrid for 2nd OS and storage
Display(s) Dell 2713HM
Case Corsair 780T
Audio Device(s) Audioengine D1, A5+, AS8
Power Supply Corsair AX860
Mouse G700s wired
Keyboard Coolermaster Trigger, Brown Switches
Software Win 10 Pro
I can confirm another XFX 6950 unlock working, using XFX 6970 bios and running on 6970 clock speeds. Furmark and Unigine Heaven stable.

Maybe I should pick up another one, before the hardware locked batches come out....
 
Joined
Jun 21, 2006
Messages
895 (0.21/day)
Likes
299
Location
Canada
System Name MurderBox #17
Processor Intel Core i7 5930k - 4.5Ghz 1.275v - Bitspower Summit EF
Motherboard Asus X99-E WS - Bitspower THOR AIX99 Full Full Board Block
Cooling SR-1 480, 8x Corsair ML120 , MCP350, I&H Res 250, PETG hard pipe, Mayhems Pastel White
Memory 32GB G.Skill Ripjaws 4 DDR4 2400
Video Card(s) Nvidia GTX 1080 Ti Founders Edition - EK Fullcover waterblock with Backplate
Storage 3x Samsung SM951 256GB, Samsung 960 EVO 500GB, Samsung PM961 512GB, WD Black 2.0TB
Display(s) Samsung 40" UN40HU7000 3840X2160, 2X ASUS PB278 2560x1440
Case MurderMod TJ07 With Illuminated mid-plate
Audio Device(s) Onboard Crystal Sound 2, Optical out to Pioneer VSX-1017TXV 5.1
Power Supply Corsair AX1200i With custom MDPC Sleeve and Noctua NF-A14 iPPC-3000 PWM
Mouse Corsair M65 RGB
Keyboard Corsair K95 RGB
Software Microsoft Windows 10 Professional 64bit
Just flashed my Sapphire 6950 to the 6970 and it worked flawlessly.

I went out and bought one today after reading this article. I was on the fence between the 70 and the 50, thanks for saving me money W1zzard!!