• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

How to enable additional shaders on Radeon HD 6950

bystander

New Member
Joined
Dec 27, 2010
Messages
52 (0.02/day)
Likes
10
Updated:

I didn't see the section on those with errors at first. I followed the directions for those with locked BIOS, and it worked.

XFX +1

Interestingly, it shows my shaders as having 1600 unified, rather than the 1536 listed in the artical.
 
Joined
Aug 17, 2009
Messages
1,577 (0.52/day)
Likes
461
Location
Los Angeles/Orange County CA
System Name Vulcan
Processor i6 6600K
Motherboard GIGABYTE Z170X UD3
Cooling Thermaltake Frio Silent 14
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX 16GB (2 x 8GB)
Video Card(s) ASUS Strix GTX 970
Storage Mushkin Enhanced Reactor 1TB SSD
Display(s) QNIX 27 Inch 1440p
Case Fractal Design Define S
Audio Device(s) On Board
Power Supply Cooler Master V750
Software Win 10 64-bit
Updated:

I didn't see the section on those with errors at first. I followed the directions for those with locked BIOS, and it worked.

XFX +1

Interestingly, it shows my shaders as having 1600 unified, rather than the 1536 listed in the artical.
Same happened to me. You need the new version o GPU-Z. It's on the front page.
 
Joined
Aug 6, 2009
Messages
18 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
he didnt discover it, I did ;)
True dat. credit where credit is due. dave was first to the gate over at Guru3d. Some acknowledgment from W1zzard about that little fact would be nice, dave is too nice a guy to say it in so many words, but I'm not.
 
Last edited:

Bearlake

New Member
Joined
Dec 27, 2010
Messages
9 (0.00/day)
Likes
1
System Name Gaming Rig
Processor E8500 @ 400*9.5 1.35v
Motherboard Asus Maximus Formula (X38... Bearlake)
Cooling CPU-Grand Kama Cross GPU-T-rad2
Memory OCZ platinum 4x2gb kit (1ghz) @ 1200mhz, 2.14v (custom flash by ocz tech support)
Video Card(s) 4890 @ 975mhz/1050mhz
Storage 2x WD 250GB sata2 RE2 @ Raid-0
Display(s) Samsung 24" Syncmaster 245b + Philips 17"170S4
Case Zalman GT-1000
Audio Device(s) Onboard-riser Supreme FX-II + Logitech G35 surround heatset
Power Supply Gigabyte 850watt Odin GT (usb connected)
Software Win7 x64
Benchmark Scores CPU @ 4.4ghz 18543 3DMarks (3870x2 gpu with 4gb team Xtreem memory, both replaced) (the 3870x2 die
he didnt discover it, I did ;)
thank you :)

but yes, if you made the discovery you should get credit.. and the sue's if shit hits the fan ofc :p haha j/k

either way, thanks to wiizard as well for making the discovery of dave a bigass succes

also, i realize this is only my second post on TPU, i HAVE been a very loyal reader of your site for quite a while now, i kinda never really felt the urge to register since in most situations my questions are allready answered in the reviews.. and if not, someone else had allready asked the question...

just felt like i had to say that,
i think tpu rocks, and i guess im glad i finaly registered :p
 
Joined
Dec 27, 2010
Messages
1 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
This is very interesting, as i am now looking at a 6950s to upgrade from my 4890s in crossfire.

I would like to know, like others what memory chips are being used with cards that are reporting successful at 6970 speeds

So please post manufacture of the card, and whether it is using:

H5GQ2H24MFR-R0C(6970 chips)

or

H5GQ2H24MFR-T2C(6950 chips)

Thank you.

Also like others... I am a long time reader, first time poster here.
 
Joined
Mar 13, 2007
Messages
854 (0.22/day)
Likes
46
Location
Eastern Tennessee
System Name Firebird
Processor Ryzen 7 1700X
Motherboard MSI X370 Titanium
Cooling Tt Water2.0 PRO (They use the same bracket as 3.0)
Memory G.Skill TridentZ 2x8GB 3200 15-15-15-35 B-Die (@3333 ATM)
Video Card(s) ASUS STRIX R9 390 8GB
Storage Too many. Samsung 750GB, 120GB 850 EVO, Seagate 1TB, Toshiba 1TB, OCZ 32GB Cache Drive
Display(s) Samsung 46" UN46D6050 1080P HDTV
Case Home-made tech bench.
Audio Device(s) ASUS Xonar Essence STX (I use HDMI though *cry*)
Power Supply CWT PUC1000V-S 1000W, Abee Supremer (import) 1200W currently used as primary.
Mouse Razer Copperhead (circa 2005)
Keyboard Tt Challenger Pro (AVOID! Keys wear super fast)
Software Win 10 Pro x64
Benchmark Scores Meh.
So what do we call these cards? They aren't true 6970s.

How about HD 6957? :D
While I (finally) understand your logic in that naming, wouldn't perhaps 6960 be the perfect in between, seeing as it is in fact in between 50 and 70? :laugh:




As for the discovery, thanks to Dave (and whom ever helped) at Guru3D. And thanks to w1zz for the nice tutorial and batch for everyone (even if I don't have a card to use it!), as that is very helpful in it's own right :p
 
Last edited:

voro12

New Member
Joined
Dec 27, 2010
Messages
11 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
Is my Corsair 550W enough to supply a 6950 unlocked to 6970 with 6970 clock frequences and +20% power limit? I got an amd X4 920 @ 3 GHz and one hdd :)
Thanks
 

Frosty

New Member
Joined
Dec 27, 2010
Messages
13 (0.01/day)
Likes
1
Location
Newfoundland, Canada
System Name Relationship Destroyer
Processor i7 920 @ 4.0 GHz (HT On)
Motherboard Asrock X58 Extreme3
Cooling Corsair H70
Memory G.Skill Ripjaws DDR3 1600 (6 GB)
Video Card(s) SLI GTX 465 GE (flashed to 470s)
Storage Kingston V 64 GB, 2 x Seagate 7200.12
Display(s) Dell 24" + 2 x BenQ 24"
Case Antec 300 (Window Mod)
Audio Device(s) Auzentech X-Raider
Power Supply Cougar 1000CMX
Software Windows 7 Ultimate
Is my Corsair 550W enough to supply a 6950 unlocked to 6970 with 6970 clock frequences and +20% power limit? I got an amd X4 920 @ 3 GHz and one hdd :)
Thanks
Shouldn't be a problem. :)
 
Joined
Aug 17, 2009
Messages
1,577 (0.52/day)
Likes
461
Location
Los Angeles/Orange County CA
System Name Vulcan
Processor i6 6600K
Motherboard GIGABYTE Z170X UD3
Cooling Thermaltake Frio Silent 14
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX 16GB (2 x 8GB)
Video Card(s) ASUS Strix GTX 970
Storage Mushkin Enhanced Reactor 1TB SSD
Display(s) QNIX 27 Inch 1440p
Case Fractal Design Define S
Audio Device(s) On Board
Power Supply Cooler Master V750
Software Win 10 64-bit
While I (finally) understand your logic in that naming, wouldn't perhaps 6960 be the perfect in between, seeing as it is in fact in between 60 and 70? :laugh:




As for the discovery, thanks to Dave (and whom ever helped) at Guru3D. And thanks to w1zz for the nice tutorial and batch for everyone (even if I don't have a card to use it!), as that is very helpful in it's own right :p
You mean between 50 and 70.

I like to be different, and thought 6957 was cool. :cool:

But I guess it's unlikely that they would actually make a 6960 at this point. :laugh:
 
Joined
Dec 26, 2010
Messages
91 (0.04/day)
Likes
13
aye I love that tutorial that got made its really good, nice bit of work there, Ive just benched at a 1000 core stable with voltage seemingly working but even better POWERTUNE still works :), gpuz doesnt say voltage is going higher than 1.175v but gpuz doesnt say a lot of things lol, its stable so thats enough for me, a bios will be on guru at some point when Im sure it works.

Thanks a lot guys, congrats everyone.
 
Joined
Aug 17, 2009
Messages
1,577 (0.52/day)
Likes
461
Location
Los Angeles/Orange County CA
System Name Vulcan
Processor i6 6600K
Motherboard GIGABYTE Z170X UD3
Cooling Thermaltake Frio Silent 14
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX 16GB (2 x 8GB)
Video Card(s) ASUS Strix GTX 970
Storage Mushkin Enhanced Reactor 1TB SSD
Display(s) QNIX 27 Inch 1440p
Case Fractal Design Define S
Audio Device(s) On Board
Power Supply Cooler Master V750
Software Win 10 64-bit
aye I love that tutorial that got made its really good, nice bit of work there, Ive just benched at a 1000 core stable with voltage seemingly working, gpuz doesnt say so but gpuz doesnt say a lot of things lol, its stable so thats enough for me, a bios will be on guru at some point when Im sure it works.

Thanks a lot guys, congrats everyone.
You also need the new version of GPU-Z that came out today! :)
 

Tuvok

New Member
Joined
Jun 5, 2009
Messages
33 (0.01/day)
Likes
1
Is my Corsair 550W enough to supply a 6950 unlocked to 6970 with 6970 clock frequences and +20% power limit? I got an amd X4 920 @ 3 GHz and one hdd :)
Thanks
I'm running fine with an E8400 @ 4 ghz and an unlocked 6950 + 20% on a corsair 450 ;)
 

Tuvok

New Member
Joined
Jun 5, 2009
Messages
33 (0.01/day)
Likes
1
played an hour of Borderlands flawlessly, +1 for Gigabyte :toast:
thx dave for your discovery and wizz for documenting and spreding the word
 
Joined
Mar 13, 2007
Messages
854 (0.22/day)
Likes
46
Location
Eastern Tennessee
System Name Firebird
Processor Ryzen 7 1700X
Motherboard MSI X370 Titanium
Cooling Tt Water2.0 PRO (They use the same bracket as 3.0)
Memory G.Skill TridentZ 2x8GB 3200 15-15-15-35 B-Die (@3333 ATM)
Video Card(s) ASUS STRIX R9 390 8GB
Storage Too many. Samsung 750GB, 120GB 850 EVO, Seagate 1TB, Toshiba 1TB, OCZ 32GB Cache Drive
Display(s) Samsung 46" UN46D6050 1080P HDTV
Case Home-made tech bench.
Audio Device(s) ASUS Xonar Essence STX (I use HDMI though *cry*)
Power Supply CWT PUC1000V-S 1000W, Abee Supremer (import) 1200W currently used as primary.
Mouse Razer Copperhead (circa 2005)
Keyboard Tt Challenger Pro (AVOID! Keys wear super fast)
Software Win 10 Pro x64
Benchmark Scores Meh.
You mean between 50 and 70.

I like to be different, and thought 6957 was cool. :cool:

But I guess it's unlikely that they would actually make a 6960 at this point. :laugh:
Eerr yea :eek: lol EDIT TIME!
 
Joined
Feb 21, 2006
Messages
484 (0.11/day)
Likes
57
Location
Toronto, Ontario
System Name i7 Rig
Processor 970 @ 4.2Ghz @ 1.3vcore
Motherboard Asus P6T Deluxe V2
Cooling Thermalright TRUE Black Rev.C + Scythe S-Flex 120mm 1600RPM x2 Push/Pull
Memory Muskin XP12800 12GB DDR3 1600 7-8-7-20 1T
Video Card(s) MSI TF3 7970 OC BE + Kraken G10 & Corsair H55
Storage Intel 160GB G2 SSDx2 Raid 0 / WD 1TB Black 32mb / ESATA WD 2TB 64mb Green
Display(s) HP ZR24w
Case Cooler Master 690 II Advanced
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi + Logitech Z-5500
Power Supply Corsair Pro Series Gold AX750
Mouse G500
Keyboard G15
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
Benchmark Scores Hyperthreading on. -= CPU Idle 36c Load 75c | GPU Idle 35c Load 58c =-
Now that i've read this i'm interested in checking this out.

The last time I did a flash like this was x800pro to x800xtPE which worked out great.

I bought a 9700pro so I skipped the 9500-9700 flash back in the day.

Couple questions but first thank you Wiz and the guy from Guru for this find.

1. With the price difference being so small between these cards in canada the 6950 is going for $320 - 6970 for $384 is it worth it?

2. Will the 6pin x 2 of 6950 vs 6pin+8pin of the 6970 really make a difference? (what kind of PSU should you have wattage wise to run this)

3. I'm currently on a 4890 + Arctic Cooling Accelero Twin Turbo Pro I know this cooler is compatible with 6870 can I also fit it on a 69xx series?
 
Joined
Mar 13, 2007
Messages
854 (0.22/day)
Likes
46
Location
Eastern Tennessee
System Name Firebird
Processor Ryzen 7 1700X
Motherboard MSI X370 Titanium
Cooling Tt Water2.0 PRO (They use the same bracket as 3.0)
Memory G.Skill TridentZ 2x8GB 3200 15-15-15-35 B-Die (@3333 ATM)
Video Card(s) ASUS STRIX R9 390 8GB
Storage Too many. Samsung 750GB, 120GB 850 EVO, Seagate 1TB, Toshiba 1TB, OCZ 32GB Cache Drive
Display(s) Samsung 46" UN46D6050 1080P HDTV
Case Home-made tech bench.
Audio Device(s) ASUS Xonar Essence STX (I use HDMI though *cry*)
Power Supply CWT PUC1000V-S 1000W, Abee Supremer (import) 1200W currently used as primary.
Mouse Razer Copperhead (circa 2005)
Keyboard Tt Challenger Pro (AVOID! Keys wear super fast)
Software Win 10 Pro x64
Benchmark Scores Meh.
1. With the price difference being so small between these cards in canada the 6950 is going for $320 - 6970 for $384 is it worth it?

2. Will the 6pin x 2 of 6950 vs 6pin+8pin of the 6970 really make a difference? (what kind of PSU should you have wattage wise to run this)

3. I'm currently on a 4890 + Arctic Cooling Accelero Twin Turbo Pro I know this cooler is compatible with 6870 can I also fit it on a 69xx series?
1) Of course it's worth it :D Especially to save $64! (EDIT: Reworded, before it sounded like getting the 6970 was better.)

2) The 2 extra pins on the 8pin are only ground. I don't see whatever PSU you're running for the 4890 being much of a problem for the 6900 :)

3) They updated their site with 6900 coolers, I'd go check but I believe it said 6800 and 6900 compatible.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jan 21, 2005
Messages
724 (0.15/day)
Likes
591
System Name Main Rig
Processor AMD FX-6100
Motherboard Asus SABERTOOTH 990FX
Cooling Fans:1x120mm, 2x140mm
Memory 16GB Hyper-X DDR III 1866 9-11-9-27-1T
Video Card(s) Sapphire 6950 2GB x 2
Storage Kingston V200+ 128GB SSD + OCZ Petrol 64GB SSD + WDB 500GB + WDB 640GB + WDB 750GB
Display(s) Asus PA238QR IPS @ 1920x1080
Case Lancool
Audio Device(s) Onboard Realtek HD Audio
Power Supply Corsair HX850
Software Windows 8 Pro X64
very nice scaling I scored 4921 with a single card after the flash
 
Joined
Feb 21, 2006
Messages
484 (0.11/day)
Likes
57
Location
Toronto, Ontario
System Name i7 Rig
Processor 970 @ 4.2Ghz @ 1.3vcore
Motherboard Asus P6T Deluxe V2
Cooling Thermalright TRUE Black Rev.C + Scythe S-Flex 120mm 1600RPM x2 Push/Pull
Memory Muskin XP12800 12GB DDR3 1600 7-8-7-20 1T
Video Card(s) MSI TF3 7970 OC BE + Kraken G10 & Corsair H55
Storage Intel 160GB G2 SSDx2 Raid 0 / WD 1TB Black 32mb / ESATA WD 2TB 64mb Green
Display(s) HP ZR24w
Case Cooler Master 690 II Advanced
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi + Logitech Z-5500
Power Supply Corsair Pro Series Gold AX750
Mouse G500
Keyboard G15
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
Benchmark Scores Hyperthreading on. -= CPU Idle 36c Load 75c | GPU Idle 35c Load 58c =-
1) Of course it's worth it :D Especially to save $64! (EDIT: Reworded, before it sounded like getting the 6970 was better.)

2) The 2 extra pins on the 8pin are only ground. I don't see whatever PSU you're running for the 4890 being much of a problem for the 6900 :)

3) They updated their site with 6900 coolers, I'd go check but I believe it said 6800 and 6900 compatible.
I'm using an Enermax Infinity 720 watts so I think i'll be fine there.

The site was updated however it only shows 6870 as the highest end card.



I need someone that owns one of these cards to check this for me.



http://www.arctic.ac/en/support/sup...rbo-pro-fit-my-card.htm?tx_diadamsolution_pi2
 

voro12

New Member
Joined
Dec 27, 2010
Messages
11 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
Ok thanks Frosty and Tuvok :D
Can´t wait until i receve my ASUS 6950 :)
I will problably use an EK universal GPU block witch covers only the GPU. Will The VRM temps increase after this mod? My 4870 get´s high VRM temps, is that a problem on the 6900 series? If it is, i´ll probably buy an fullcover block :D
 
Joined
Aug 6, 2009
Messages
18 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
nothing is impossible, but the maximum i would expect from amd is that future cards are properly fused on-die and not using the bios
This. My guess is the next batch will be properly laser cut. But for now, woohooo. Have at 'er
boys:toast:. As of now, AMD/ATI has the undisputed price/performance crown (until the next batch anyways).
 

MrHydes

New Member
Joined
Jun 5, 2008
Messages
106 (0.03/day)
Likes
4
Processor INTEL CORE2 DUO E8500 @4.1GHz
Motherboard ASUS RAMPAGE FORMULA X38
Cooling Tuniq Tower 120
Memory TRANSCEND PC9600 DDR 1200
Video Card(s) EVGA 9800 GTX
Storage WD RAPTOR X
Display(s) SAMSUNG Syncmaster 2032bw
Case SILVERSTONE TJ07
Audio Device(s) SB X-FI XTREMEGAMER FATAL1TY
Power Supply LC-POWER ARKANGEL 850W
Software MS XP PRO SP2
how about does who have the 6970 allready?
 

tl.dr

New Member
Joined
Dec 27, 2010
Messages
3 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
hi,

i didnt get an answer over at guru3d.. so maybe someone here knows :)

if u get the 6950 now and unlock it to 6970 and now somewhere down the road its not possible to do this anymore since amd changed the design, will u be able to run it in a crossfire if you then buy a "real" 6970 ?

And does it have to be the same brand, or can u get the 6950 from asuals and then the 6970 from his for example? Tnx