• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

How To: Enable SLI on pre-i7/i5 hardware

Joined
Jun 21, 2009
Messages
1,433 (0.38/day)
it means i'm about to do what you told me:laugh:

i did what you said but safe mode also could not boot
very strange. ok go to windows\system32
look for ntkrnlpa.exe and hal.dll.
copy these files to another folder
rename ntkrnlpa.exe to ntoskrnl.exe
rename hal.dll to halsli.dll
copy renamed files to windows\system32

reboot system and try to boot with SLIEnabled
 

whb86615

New Member
Joined
Jan 6, 2010
Messages
21 (0.01/day)
very strange. ok go to windows\system32
look for ntkrnlpa.exe and hal.dll.
copy these files to another folder
rename ntkrnlpa.exe to ntoskrnl.exe
rename hal.dll to halsli.dll
copy renamed files to windows\system32

reboot system and try to boot with SLIEnabled
ok i'll do it!
 

whb86615

New Member
Joined
Jan 6, 2010
Messages
21 (0.01/day)
very strange. ok go to windows\system32
look for ntkrnlpa.exe and hal.dll.
copy these files to another folder
rename ntkrnlpa.exe to ntoskrnl.exe
rename hal.dll to halsli.dll
copy renamed files to windows\system32

reboot system and try to boot with SLIEnabled
can't copy this two files... it says something like "i need the permission"on the folder"system32"...
 

whb86615

New Member
Joined
Jan 6, 2010
Messages
21 (0.01/day)
the previous mod works well on 191.07, so i don't think it's the hardware problem.
 

whb86615

New Member
Joined
Jan 6, 2010
Messages
21 (0.01/day)
there is one more thing: my os is actived by a sofeware named Windows7Loader v3.27
 
Joined
Jun 21, 2009
Messages
1,433 (0.38/day)
and check for presence next files (in windows\system32),
ntoskrnp.exe, halsli.dll, osloadw7.exe

"rename ntkrnlpa.exe to ntoskrnl.exe" sorry to ntoskrnp.exe
 

whb86615

New Member
Joined
Jan 6, 2010
Messages
21 (0.01/day)
and check for presence next files (in windows\system32),
ntoskrnp.exe, halsli.dll, osloadw7.exe

"rename ntkrnlpa.exe to ntoskrnl.exe" sorry to ntoskrnp.exe
ok it worked! i'll reboot and try!:)

and ntoskrnp.exe, halsli.dll, osloadw7.exe are present in system32 folder
 

whb86615

New Member
Joined
Jan 6, 2010
Messages
21 (0.01/day)
when i chose "win7 slienabled" to boot, it could't boot again... i think my problem may be from the"administrator‘s authority" and i need another clean os:)


it's already 4:00 am here, i need some sleep now. thank you very much for your patience and explanation! i won't give up trying! see you later :toast:
 

oiluj

New Member
Joined
Nov 12, 2009
Messages
31 (0.01/day)
Processor Intel Core2 Quad Q6600 (G0)
Motherboard Asus P5K Premium/WiFi-AP (Intel P35)
Cooling Zalman CNPS8700 LED
Memory 4GB: Corsair Dominator DDR2-1066 2x2GB kit
Video Card(s) 2x nVidia 8800GT in SLI (YES, I said "in SLI" with a P35 chipset!!)
Storage WD VelociRaptor 150GB + 2x WD CaviarBlue 500GB in RAID 0
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster 226CW + LG Flatron F900P
Case NZXT Apollo
Audio Device(s) Analog Devices AD1988B HD-Audio (Integrated)
Power Supply Enermax Infiniti 720W
To "override" those Windows permissions issues, you can use the Ubuntu 9.10 LiveCD. From there you can do whatever you want to any file, without Windows annoying you. Once done, you can boot again into Windows, but this time with modified files running.

Remember to make a backup of the original files ('hal.dll', 'ntoskrnl.exe' and 'winload.exe') first!!

And be sure that under 'bcdedit.exe' you have the lines that say "nointegritychecks -> Yes" and "testsigning -> No". You can do this manually by, at cmd, typing "bcdedit /set {current} nointegritychecks 1" and "call bcdedit.exe /set TESTSIGNING OFF". Once done, run bcdedit.exe at cmd to check if these two lines were succesfully included.

I did it this way: First I included manually those two lines into my bcdedit. Then I made a backup of the 3 original files. Then I copied modified files with the same name as the original ones, so now I had 6 files (3 redundant): 'hal.dll', 'halsli.dll', 'ntoskrnl.exe', 'ntosknrp.exe', 'winload.exe' and 'osloadw7.exe', being the same 2 by 2. Then I used Ubuntu 9.10 LiveCD to copy these 6 files into my Windows\system32 folder (overwriting when asked).
And finally rebooted again into Windows and it booted correctly, without any single issue, and of course, with SLI available at last. Worked great on a P5K (P35 chipset) and 2x8800GT, under Windows 7 x64 and Vista x64, no problem at all, and SLI working great with 195.62 drivers (about +50% in performance gain @ 3DMark Vantage).
 
Last edited:
Joined
Dec 9, 2009
Messages
646 (0.18/day)
Location
South East, United Kingdom
System Name Swag
Processor Intel Xeon E3110 4GHz
Motherboard GIGABYTE GA-G31M-ES2L
Cooling Scythe Infinity I Push-Pull w/ AS5
Memory 2x2GB Transcend 800MHz DDR2 @ 890MHz 1.9v
Video Card(s) Palit nVIDIA GTX460 1GB 800/1600/2000
Storage Crucial M4 64GB
Display(s) LG Flatron M1917TM 1280x1024 @ 60Hz
Audio Device(s) Realtek HD Audio
Power Supply OCZ StealthXStream 2 600W
Software Windows 7 Professional 64-bit

whb86615

New Member
Joined
Jan 6, 2010
Messages
21 (0.01/day)
I fixed it! I changed my os from windows7 32bit to windows 64bit, then everthing is OK! SLI now is working on 195.62!:roll:
 
Top