• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

How To: Enable SLI on pre-i7/i5 hardware

Joined
Aug 26, 2009
Messages
137 (0.05/day)
Likes
64
I think TheWolf is saying that he's getting an error while trying to run equus to dump his current DSDT. The error he is getting is probably the application crashing since .NET isnt installed by default on WinXP.

Go download .NET 3.5 and give it a shot.
 
Joined
Jun 21, 2009
Messages
1,433 (0.46/day)
Likes
834
I think TheWolf is saying that he's getting an error while trying to run equus to dump his current DSDT. The error he is getting is probably the application crashing since .NET isnt installed by default on WinXP.

Go download .NET 3.5 and give it a shot.
Got it. :)
 

TheWolf

New Member
Joined
Aug 11, 2009
Messages
211 (0.07/day)
Likes
23
Location
Pascagoula, Ms
System Name TheWolf
Processor Q9650/Q9550
Motherboard Abit IP35ProXE/IX38QuadGT
Cooling Big Typhoon x4
Memory G-Skill/A-Data/SuperTalent
Video Card(s) 3x MSI 260GTX OC 2x216 1x192 shaders
Storage Hitachi 80gb x2
Display(s) Norcent/Neovo
Case none/benching stations
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply Crosair TX650W
Software XP/W7
I think TheWolf is saying that he's getting an error while trying to run equus to dump his current DSDT. The error he is getting is probably the application crashing since .NET isnt installed by default on WinXP.

Go download .NET 3.5 and give it a shot.
Yes, I'm sure that is my problem, getting it now.

thanks!
 

TheWolf

New Member
Joined
Aug 11, 2009
Messages
211 (0.07/day)
Likes
23
Location
Pascagoula, Ms
System Name TheWolf
Processor Q9650/Q9550
Motherboard Abit IP35ProXE/IX38QuadGT
Cooling Big Typhoon x4
Memory G-Skill/A-Data/SuperTalent
Video Card(s) 3x MSI 260GTX OC 2x216 1x192 shaders
Storage Hitachi 80gb x2
Display(s) Norcent/Neovo
Case none/benching stations
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply Crosair TX650W
Software XP/W7
Joined
Aug 28, 2009
Messages
188 (0.06/day)
Likes
69
Location
Taipei
System Name selfmade caseless :D
Processor Intel ES
Motherboard EVGA X99 :)
Cooling LN2
Memory G.SKILL DDR4 @ 3600MHz
Video Card(s) GTX Kingpin's
Storage 3x1TB WD1002FAEX RAID5, Intel 320 300GB, OCZ 960GB PCIe
Display(s) Dell U3014
Case none
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi
Power Supply EVGA NEX 1500W's
Mouse Logitech M570 trackball
Keyboard Steelseries APEX RAW and Corsair K-something
Software W2k8 R2 64bit SP1, FreeBSD 10
Benchmark Scores http://www.hwbot.org/community/user/tin?oldstyle=true
Joined
Aug 26, 2009
Messages
137 (0.05/day)
Likes
64
My Crysis benchmark results:

Q6600 G0 @ 3.6ghz
Asus Maximus II (P45)
2 x PNY 9800GTX+

1680x1050 High detail AA off
Average FPS on Run 3:

SLI off - 35.13 FPS
SLI ON - 53.61 FPS
 
Last edited:

TheWolf

New Member
Joined
Aug 11, 2009
Messages
211 (0.07/day)
Likes
23
Location
Pascagoula, Ms
System Name TheWolf
Processor Q9650/Q9550
Motherboard Abit IP35ProXE/IX38QuadGT
Cooling Big Typhoon x4
Memory G-Skill/A-Data/SuperTalent
Video Card(s) 3x MSI 260GTX OC 2x216 1x192 shaders
Storage Hitachi 80gb x2
Display(s) Norcent/Neovo
Case none/benching stations
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply Crosair TX650W
Software XP/W7
Nice scores guys! I'm working on trying to get mine going right now.
 
Joined
Aug 28, 2009
Messages
188 (0.06/day)
Likes
69
Location
Taipei
System Name selfmade caseless :D
Processor Intel ES
Motherboard EVGA X99 :)
Cooling LN2
Memory G.SKILL DDR4 @ 3600MHz
Video Card(s) GTX Kingpin's
Storage 3x1TB WD1002FAEX RAID5, Intel 320 300GB, OCZ 960GB PCIe
Display(s) Dell U3014
Case none
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi
Power Supply EVGA NEX 1500W's
Mouse Logitech M570 trackball
Keyboard Steelseries APEX RAW and Corsair K-something
Software W2k8 R2 64bit SP1, FreeBSD 10
Benchmark Scores http://www.hwbot.org/community/user/tin?oldstyle=true
TheWolf

You have ABIT, yeah?

Find

OperationRegion(TEMM, SystemMemory, 0xff810, 0xc)
Field(TEMM, WordAcc, NoLock, Preserve)
in you DSDT and insert BEFORE it SLIC block.
I don't have SLIC block for ABIT yet, you need to extract DSDT from any ABIT X58 board BIOS, to get correct string.

All i have is:

443817712091Genuine NVIDIA Certified SLI Ready Motherboard for GIGABYTE P55 UD6 3287-Copyright 2009 NVIDIA Corporation All Rights Reserved-876112936219(R)
987134512781Genuine NVIDIA Certified SLI Ready Motherboard for GIGABYTE GA EX58-UD38432-Copyright 2008 NVIDIA Corporation All Rights Reserved-765289891023(R)
987134512781Genuine NVIDIA Certified SLI Ready Motherboard for ASUS RAMPAGE II EXT 3287-Copyright 2008 NVIDIA Corporation All Rights Reserved-765289891023(R)
987134512781Genuine NVIDIA Certified SLI Ready Motherboard for ASUS P6T Deluxe 0101-Copyright 2008 NVIDIA Corporation All Rights Reserved-765289891023(R)
987134512781Genuine NVIDIA Certified SLI Ready Motherboard for GIGABYTE GA EX58-UD38432-Copyright 2008 NVIDIA Corporation All Rights Reserved-765289891023(R)
987134512781Genuine NVIDIA Certified SLI Ready Motherboard for GIGABYTE GA EX58UD4P3287-Copyright 2008 NVIDIA Corporation All Rights Reserved-765289891023(R)
987134512781Genuine NVIDIA Certified SLI Ready Motherboard for DFI LP UT X58 T3EH8 0101-Copyright 2008 NVIDIA Corporation All Rights Reserved-765289891023(R)
987134512781Genuine NVIDIA Certified SLI Ready Motherboard for MSI X58 PLATINUM 0101-Copyright 2008 NVIDIA Corporation All Rights Reserved-765289891023(R)
987134512781Genuine NVIDIA Certified SLI Ready Motherboard for FOXCONN BLOODRAGE 3287-Copyright 2008 NVIDIA Corporation All Rights Reserved-765289891023(R)
AFAIK, Aquamark doesn't support SLI. I ran it and got almost the same result with SLI on and off.
I've got much more :D It's quite crazy benchmark. I love it :D
 
Joined
Aug 26, 2009
Messages
137 (0.05/day)
Likes
64
Yeah... I wondered how things would go with his Abit board. I'm not sure that Abit is written in the driver as a valid manufacturer (did they make an X58 board). I'll have to do some digging when I get back from work... and after I sleep a bit. Heh. I could hardly sleep. I was excited to finally make some solid progress on this.
 

TheWolf

New Member
Joined
Aug 11, 2009
Messages
211 (0.07/day)
Likes
23
Location
Pascagoula, Ms
System Name TheWolf
Processor Q9650/Q9550
Motherboard Abit IP35ProXE/IX38QuadGT
Cooling Big Typhoon x4
Memory G-Skill/A-Data/SuperTalent
Video Card(s) 3x MSI 260GTX OC 2x216 1x192 shaders
Storage Hitachi 80gb x2
Display(s) Norcent/Neovo
Case none/benching stations
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply Crosair TX650W
Software XP/W7
Is this what you were talking about TiN?

Code:
}
        Device(\_SB_.PCI0.PX40.FWH_)
        {
            Name(_HID, 0x8d425)
            Method(_CRS, 0x0, NotSerialized)
            {
                Name(FWH0, Buffer(0xe)
                {
	0x86, 0x09, 0x00, 0x01, 0x00, 0x00, 0xb8, 0xff, 0x00, 0x00, 0x08, 0x00,
	0x79, 0x00
                })
                Return(FWH0)
            }
        }
        Device(\_SB_.PCI0.EXPL)
        {
            Name(_HID, 0x20cd041)
            Name(_UID, 0x4)
            Method(_CRS, 0x0, NotSerialized)
            {
                Name(BUF0, Buffer(0xe)
                {
	0x86, 0x09, 0x00, 0x01, 0x00, 0x00, 0x00, 0xe0, 0x00, 0x00, 0x00, 0x10,
	0x79, 0x00
                })
                Return(BUF0)
            }
        }
    }
    OperationRegion(TEMM, SystemMemory, 0xff810, 0xc)
    Field(TEMM, WordAcc, NoLock, Preserve)
That is what mine looks like after the mod.

Edit: BTW would it matter if the name is uabit since the name of the Co. was changed when sold to Universal Scientific Industrial Co., Ltd. they remaned some stuff? Could this be my problem with the mod?
 
Last edited:

JrRacinFan

Served 5k and counting ...
Joined
Mar 17, 2007
Messages
19,666 (5.01/day)
Likes
4,754
Location
Youngstown, OH
System Name Gamer :Server and Android BuildBox
Processor i7 3930k: Xeon e5-2660
Motherboard MSI X79A-GD45 Plus : Generic
Cooling Liqid cooled: CM 212+
Memory Klevv Neo 2x4Gb 1866 @ 1600 CL9 : 2x8Gb Vengeance 1600 cl9
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 950 SC : XFX R5 220
Storage HGST 2TB + 480GB OCZ Trion 150 : Seagate 1TB SSHD + WD 3TB + 2x HGST 2TB
Display(s) ViewSonic VX2457-MHD 23.6" : headless
Case DIYPC D480-W White Window : Bitfenix Comrade
Audio Device(s) nVidia HDMI : Onboard
Power Supply EVGA 500b : Tt 775W Modular
Software Windows 7 Ultimate+Manjaro 16.06: Ubuntu Server 16.10
Yes, with this mod that would be a problem. Abit closed their doors little bit before X58 and Core i7 hit shelves. I beleive they werent planning on an X58 .

You may want to wait and not give up though, He was talking about being able to bypass the SLIC check.
 
Last edited:

TheWolf

New Member
Joined
Aug 11, 2009
Messages
211 (0.07/day)
Likes
23
Location
Pascagoula, Ms
System Name TheWolf
Processor Q9650/Q9550
Motherboard Abit IP35ProXE/IX38QuadGT
Cooling Big Typhoon x4
Memory G-Skill/A-Data/SuperTalent
Video Card(s) 3x MSI 260GTX OC 2x216 1x192 shaders
Storage Hitachi 80gb x2
Display(s) Norcent/Neovo
Case none/benching stations
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply Crosair TX650W
Software XP/W7
Yea I knew there was no abit x58, but I was hoping I could still get lucky.
Never know someone may find something to make it work.
Maybe something about the way the mod was setup is just not quite right.
I sure hope so because I been waiting a long time for this to happen.
 

JrRacinFan

Served 5k and counting ...
Joined
Mar 17, 2007
Messages
19,666 (5.01/day)
Likes
4,754
Location
Youngstown, OH
System Name Gamer :Server and Android BuildBox
Processor i7 3930k: Xeon e5-2660
Motherboard MSI X79A-GD45 Plus : Generic
Cooling Liqid cooled: CM 212+
Memory Klevv Neo 2x4Gb 1866 @ 1600 CL9 : 2x8Gb Vengeance 1600 cl9
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 950 SC : XFX R5 220
Storage HGST 2TB + 480GB OCZ Trion 150 : Seagate 1TB SSHD + WD 3TB + 2x HGST 2TB
Display(s) ViewSonic VX2457-MHD 23.6" : headless
Case DIYPC D480-W White Window : Bitfenix Comrade
Audio Device(s) nVidia HDMI : Onboard
Power Supply EVGA 500b : Tt 775W Modular
Software Windows 7 Ultimate+Manjaro 16.06: Ubuntu Server 16.10
Yea I knew there was no abit x58, but I was hoping I could still get lucky.
Never know someone may find something to make it work.
Maybe something about the way the mod was setup is just not quite right.
I sure hope so because I been waiting a long time for this to happen.
Yeah it is a total bummer.

LOL now that I read my previous post I sounded like an ass. Sorry! :eek:
 
Joined
Sep 14, 2009
Messages
42 (0.01/day)
Likes
11
Hi! i'm pretty new here and just registered because of this thread.

I own a Supermicro X8DAH+ dual Xeon Mainboard (Intel 5520 IOH-36D chipset) and two NVidia Quadro FX 4800 graphic cards. The cards work fine but not as SLI-setup, just as plain single cards.
- There is a SLI-Certified X58 Mainboard from Supermicro.


I read the last few pages of this thread but really don't know how to start as I never did something like reverse engineering/driver hacking (except editing an inf-file).

As far as I understood your postings the first step would be to retrieve the manufacturer string of Supermicro.
=> HOW do I do that exactly?

It would be very kind if someone could give me a step by step how-to. (PN?) I'm neither dumb nor a computer newbie. I just never did this before and therefore don't even know the software.


BTW: How is the progress for Windows Vista? I will certainly not use Windows XP 32bit as my system has 24GB of RAM... ;) Server 2008 64bit or Vista 64bit are the targets of my approach.
Any help would be great.

Thanks in advance!
 
Joined
Aug 28, 2009
Messages
188 (0.06/day)
Likes
69
Location
Taipei
System Name selfmade caseless :D
Processor Intel ES
Motherboard EVGA X99 :)
Cooling LN2
Memory G.SKILL DDR4 @ 3600MHz
Video Card(s) GTX Kingpin's
Storage 3x1TB WD1002FAEX RAID5, Intel 320 300GB, OCZ 960GB PCIe
Display(s) Dell U3014
Case none
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi
Power Supply EVGA NEX 1500W's
Mouse Logitech M570 trackball
Keyboard Steelseries APEX RAW and Corsair K-something
Software W2k8 R2 64bit SP1, FreeBSD 10
Benchmark Scores http://www.hwbot.org/community/user/tin?oldstyle=true
derGhostrider

Currently you should have to wait, coz we have only XP32 drivers right now. But work will continue to simplify modding and making it just easy as installing drivers.
 
Joined
Sep 14, 2009
Messages
42 (0.01/day)
Likes
11
Well, I would do some work for you if you can tell me what to do.

Some posts earlier you mentioned that you only have "a few" SLIC blocks. Maybe I can give you another one... As i said: I have some Supermicro (Serverclass) Mainboards.
 
Joined
Aug 26, 2009
Messages
137 (0.05/day)
Likes
64
Yea I knew there was no abit x58, but I was hoping I could still get lucky.
Never know someone may find something to make it work.
Maybe something about the way the mod was setup is just not quite right.
I sure hope so because I been waiting a long time for this to happen.
Don't worry, it'll work. I know where the subsys ID is pulled and checked (the part of the function that looks at your motherboard's manufacturer). I can hard-code this also. I'll bet Abit just isn't in the driver. That's easy to get around. It'll have to wait until I'm off work though. :laugh:
 

TheWolf

New Member
Joined
Aug 11, 2009
Messages
211 (0.07/day)
Likes
23
Location
Pascagoula, Ms
System Name TheWolf
Processor Q9650/Q9550
Motherboard Abit IP35ProXE/IX38QuadGT
Cooling Big Typhoon x4
Memory G-Skill/A-Data/SuperTalent
Video Card(s) 3x MSI 260GTX OC 2x216 1x192 shaders
Storage Hitachi 80gb x2
Display(s) Norcent/Neovo
Case none/benching stations
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply Crosair TX650W
Software XP/W7
Up all night, just awoke from a 3 hour nap. lol
Once I get better awake & a clear head I'll be ready to roll again.
Thanks for not giving up on me, I haven't and I'll be reading up on it
more to try and help were I can. I'm willing to kill the board trying to
get this to work and my self somewhat as well. lol
I was pretty tiered last night so I may have made a few mistakes along the way.
I'll go back threw everything real close as soon as I've had my shower.
 
Joined
Aug 28, 2009
Messages
188 (0.06/day)
Likes
69
Location
Taipei
System Name selfmade caseless :D
Processor Intel ES
Motherboard EVGA X99 :)
Cooling LN2
Memory G.SKILL DDR4 @ 3600MHz
Video Card(s) GTX Kingpin's
Storage 3x1TB WD1002FAEX RAID5, Intel 320 300GB, OCZ 960GB PCIe
Display(s) Dell U3014
Case none
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi
Power Supply EVGA NEX 1500W's
Mouse Logitech M570 trackball
Keyboard Steelseries APEX RAW and Corsair K-something
Software W2k8 R2 64bit SP1, FreeBSD 10
Benchmark Scores http://www.hwbot.org/community/user/tin?oldstyle=true
derGhostrider

Ok, here you are
You need to have your X58 SLI supported systems running Windows, got this tool:

http://www.xdevs.com/sli/iasl.exe (it's Intel ASL co/decompiler) and run it with -g key.

If everything ok , you will get next:
c:\ACPI>iasl -g

Intel ACPI Component Architecture
ASL Optimizing Compiler version 20090730 [Jul 30 2009]
Copyright (C) 2000 - 2009 Intel Corporation
Supports ACPI Specification Revision 4.0

Table RSDT obtained from registry, 60 bytes
Table [RSDT] written to "RSDT_GBTUACPI.dat"
There are 6 tables defined in the RSDT
Table FACP obtained from registry, 116 bytes
Table [FACP] written to "FACP_GBTUACPI.dat"
Table DSDT obtained from registry, 19253 bytes
Table [DSDT] written to "DSDT_GBTUACPI.dat"

Disassembly of DSDT
Pass 1 parse of [DSDT]
Pass 2 parse of [DSDT]
Parsing Deferred Opcodes (Methods/Buffers/Packages/Regions)
................................................................................
................................................................................
................................................................................
................................................................................
............................................................................
Parsing completed
Disassembly completed, written to "dsdt_GBTUACPI.dsl"
(example for Gigabyte board).
Then you need to open dsdt_GBTUACPI.dsl with notepad and find SLIC block there, or just send file to me.

It's ONLY for boards which support SLI offically. That way we will get SLI certificate stings for Supermicro.
 
Joined
Aug 28, 2009
Messages
188 (0.06/day)
Likes
69
Location
Taipei
System Name selfmade caseless :D
Processor Intel ES
Motherboard EVGA X99 :)
Cooling LN2
Memory G.SKILL DDR4 @ 3600MHz
Video Card(s) GTX Kingpin's
Storage 3x1TB WD1002FAEX RAID5, Intel 320 300GB, OCZ 960GB PCIe
Display(s) Dell U3014
Case none
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi
Power Supply EVGA NEX 1500W's
Mouse Logitech M570 trackball
Keyboard Steelseries APEX RAW and Corsair K-something
Software W2k8 R2 64bit SP1, FreeBSD 10
Benchmark Scores http://www.hwbot.org/community/user/tin?oldstyle=true
sveetsnelda

When you get back from work, can you test SLI/single setup just in 3dmarks on default settings. and post scored and screenies. Just like mine 6600LE tests. I'm writing a howto, and will include this into it.
 
Joined
Jul 21, 2009
Messages
35 (0.01/day)
Likes
1
Dang, I came back to 4 pages in only a few hours

I notice that the current way to get SLI working is via hacked drivers. Are we ever going to be able to get them working with just a patched BIOS or loader?
 
Joined
Aug 28, 2009
Messages
188 (0.06/day)
Likes
69
Location
Taipei
System Name selfmade caseless :D
Processor Intel ES
Motherboard EVGA X99 :)
Cooling LN2
Memory G.SKILL DDR4 @ 3600MHz
Video Card(s) GTX Kingpin's
Storage 3x1TB WD1002FAEX RAID5, Intel 320 300GB, OCZ 960GB PCIe
Display(s) Dell U3014
Case none
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi
Power Supply EVGA NEX 1500W's
Mouse Logitech M570 trackball
Keyboard Steelseries APEX RAW and Corsair K-something
Software W2k8 R2 64bit SP1, FreeBSD 10
Benchmark Scores http://www.hwbot.org/community/user/tin?oldstyle=true

TheWolf

New Member
Joined
Aug 11, 2009
Messages
211 (0.07/day)
Likes
23
Location
Pascagoula, Ms
System Name TheWolf
Processor Q9650/Q9550
Motherboard Abit IP35ProXE/IX38QuadGT
Cooling Big Typhoon x4
Memory G-Skill/A-Data/SuperTalent
Video Card(s) 3x MSI 260GTX OC 2x216 1x192 shaders
Storage Hitachi 80gb x2
Display(s) Norcent/Neovo
Case none/benching stations
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply Crosair TX650W
Software XP/W7
I just ran 3D-03 in XP & got a score of 56211.
Is this a normal score for single 260GTX?

Edit: removed links, they were dead.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Aug 28, 2009
Messages
188 (0.06/day)
Likes
69
Location
Taipei
System Name selfmade caseless :D
Processor Intel ES
Motherboard EVGA X99 :)
Cooling LN2
Memory G.SKILL DDR4 @ 3600MHz
Video Card(s) GTX Kingpin's
Storage 3x1TB WD1002FAEX RAID5, Intel 320 300GB, OCZ 960GB PCIe
Display(s) Dell U3014
Case none
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi
Power Supply EVGA NEX 1500W's
Mouse Logitech M570 trackball
Keyboard Steelseries APEX RAW and Corsair K-something
Software W2k8 R2 64bit SP1, FreeBSD 10
Benchmark Scores http://www.hwbot.org/community/user/tin?oldstyle=true
DeDaL tested mod under my guide, with his Gigabyte X48 motherboard and two GTX 260's, everything worked so far.

EDIT:

03 mark done, everything is ok :D

E8600 @ 4GHz, Gigabyte X48T-DQ6, two 260GTX 216sp

SLI - Disabled
51627

SLI - Enabled
82421

http://xtremelabs.org/forums/viewtopic.php?p=6168#p6168