• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

How To: Enable SLI on pre-i7/i5 hardware

baker99

New Member
Joined
Sep 3, 2011
Messages
15 (0.01/day)
Likes
1
Another success on an ASUS P5b Deluxe wifi/AP, with Gainward gtx 260 GS & BFG maxcore, not amazingly fast but I'll tweak a bit, I suspect the main problem is the 2nd slot only being x4.

Installed easy enough once I got the stupid motherboard to recognise both cards, this involved moving the cards to different slots a few times, one problem I know have is my normal PCI slots don't work.

Installed graphics drivers then rebooted, then set coolbits to limit the Gainwards memory as it has 1792MB, ran afterburner to sync speed, rebooted, ran slipatch 1.5, rebooted and sli appeared in the nvidia control panel.

I'm now considering getting a Gigabyte x48 motherboard for the two x16 slots.

Thanks for slipatch!

P.S. - Also bought an msi flexible sli bridge which I assume is working fine.
 

snipe

New Member
Joined
Jun 5, 2011
Messages
73 (0.03/day)
Likes
3
I have and Asus P5Q Pro and 2 MSI GTX 460's on SLI Patch 1.5 and Nvidia drivers 275.33, I have not had any issues at all, just my board drops to 8x and 8x instead of 16x, but I do not notice any slowness.
 
Joined
Oct 6, 2007
Messages
5,229 (1.35/day)
Likes
1,279
Location
Nelson B.C. Canada
System Name Blacknet
Processor E5-1650 Xeon @ 4.7Ghz
Motherboard Asus P9X79 Pro
Cooling Noctua NH-D14/7case fans
Memory 32gb Gskill 1866 Cas9
Video Card(s) Asus Strix GTX970 OC
Storage Toshiba 3TB, x300 Toshiba 5TB, 2x EVO 850 250GB
Display(s) 27" Asus VS278Q, 23" VZ239H IPS
Case Antec 1200
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar MKII+ AKG Q701 Studio Monitors
Power Supply XFX XTR 750 Gold
Mouse Corsair Vengeance M95
Keyboard Cheap Azio
Software Kubuntu 17.10.1
Benchmark Scores It's linux baby!
I'm pretty sure his pci slots work. I have a P5Q Deluxe motherboard.. almost the same.. and no pci problems. That is a very strange issue baker99, there may be problems with your motherboard. And snipe, that is normal for a P5Q board, mine also drops to 8x 8x operation.
 
Joined
Dec 15, 2010
Messages
114 (0.04/day)
Likes
33
System Name Bigfoot
Processor Q6600@3.2Ghz
Motherboard P5Q Pro Turbo
Cooling Artic Cooling
Memory 4Gb GSkill DDR2 1066Mhz
Video Card(s) 2xGTX460 1Gb HyperSLI
Storage 3x500Gb
Display(s) 22'' LG/ 32'' LG
Case Nox Coolbay 25
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair TX-850W
Software Win7 64/XP 32
Another success on an ASUS P5b Deluxe wifi/AP, with Gainward gtx 260 GS & BFG maxcore, not amazingly fast but I'll tweak a bit, I suspect the main problem is the 2nd slot only being x4.

Installed easy enough once I got the stupid motherboard to recognise both cards, this involved moving the cards to different slots a few times, one problem I know have is my normal PCI slots don't work.

Installed graphics drivers then rebooted, then set coolbits to limit the Gainwards memory as it has 1792MB, ran afterburner to sync speed, rebooted, ran slipatch 1.5, rebooted and sli appeared in the nvidia control panel.

I'm now considering getting a Gigabyte x48 motherboard for the two x16 slots.

Thanks for slipatch!

P.S. - Also bought an msi flexible sli bridge which I assume is working fine.
The P965 chipset has some limitations, it's pcie 1.0 and if you have the pcie x4 slot occupied the other one stays disabled to maximize the performance of the x4 slot because they share the same bandwidth.


Baker99, you will probably buy a P45/X38/X48 board nowadays rather cheap, it's a good move and it should remove your bootleneck;)
 
Last edited:

baker99

New Member
Joined
Sep 3, 2011
Messages
15 (0.01/day)
Likes
1
Thanks guys, waiting for a Gigabyte or Asus X48 to come up on ebay as you can't seem to buy them new anywhere, except at high prices. The P5B has been somewhat temperamental recently so it may well be a motherboard problem :( Definitely want the extra speed of 2 x16 lanes before Skyrim arrives ;)
 

snipe

New Member
Joined
Jun 5, 2011
Messages
73 (0.03/day)
Likes
3
Hi snipe, do your PCI slots still work?
Not too sure, I do not have anything in them, but I would assume they would work. A friend has the Deluxe version, he is going to get another MSI GTX 460 Cyclone to SLI once the price drops a bit, he has a SB card in a PCI slot so we will see then.
 

baker99

New Member
Joined
Sep 3, 2011
Messages
15 (0.01/day)
Likes
1
Thanks snipe, could just be the motherboard but every new bios they seem to release for the P5B deluxe seems to add problems so it may be Asus's fault.
 
Joined
Oct 6, 2007
Messages
5,229 (1.35/day)
Likes
1,279
Location
Nelson B.C. Canada
System Name Blacknet
Processor E5-1650 Xeon @ 4.7Ghz
Motherboard Asus P9X79 Pro
Cooling Noctua NH-D14/7case fans
Memory 32gb Gskill 1866 Cas9
Video Card(s) Asus Strix GTX970 OC
Storage Toshiba 3TB, x300 Toshiba 5TB, 2x EVO 850 250GB
Display(s) 27" Asus VS278Q, 23" VZ239H IPS
Case Antec 1200
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar MKII+ AKG Q701 Studio Monitors
Power Supply XFX XTR 750 Gold
Mouse Corsair Vengeance M95
Keyboard Cheap Azio
Software Kubuntu 17.10.1
Benchmark Scores It's linux baby!
Don't worry about 2x 16x lanes. It will net you about 5% increase if you have gtx285/gtx460 or above cards. That's it. Worry about 2x 16x when you're packing 580s!
 

RoMeO

New Member
Joined
Mar 24, 2011
Messages
17 (0.01/day)
Likes
1
System Name Smoked Bacon 101
Processor Q9650 @ 4.01ghz
Motherboard x48 P5E3 Asus Premium WiFi@n
Cooling H50, IC Diamond Paste
Memory 4GB DDR3 1420mhz 7-7-7-26
Video Card(s) 2-way SLi GTX480 (1x Asus & 1x KFA2 Anarchy)
Storage 1x Crucial M4, 2x Crucial M225 SSD
Display(s) Acer 3d 120mhz
Case NZXT Phantom Modded
Audio Device(s) X-Fi 5.1 USB External
Power Supply 900w Modular
Software Windows 7 x64 SP1
Benchmark Scores 3dMark 11 Score P9501 http://3dmark.com/3dm11/1674493;jsessionid=1pedxe1jxbccv?show_ads=true&page=
Yeah I agree and the information is on the net. Would be interesting to see what kind of graphics card you would need to max out 8x, 16x etc on pcie v2 lanes. Not sure if even gtx 580's would max 8x out, maybe a gtx 590 or the new asus MARS cards.
 

DeahSeed

New Member
Joined
Sep 9, 2011
Messages
31 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
Processor AMD x4 965 BE
Motherboard ASUS Crosshair IV Formula
Cooling Water cooled
Memory 8 Gigs corsair xms 3
Video Card(s) 2 gtx 470's
Storage 2 TB
Display(s) Acer 21.5 inch LED
Case Cooler Master HAF 912 full tower
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply 950 Watt
Is there anyway to run games in fullscreen with the 280.26 drivers if i try to run in fullscreen it flickers at the top of the screen it only runs normal in window mode any help would be great
 

baker99

New Member
Joined
Sep 3, 2011
Messages
15 (0.01/day)
Likes
1
Getting a bit of screen tearing now, from what I have read it could be my MSI SLI bridge as they are supposedly low quality, would buying an Asus one be better?
 
Joined
Oct 6, 2007
Messages
5,229 (1.35/day)
Likes
1,279
Location
Nelson B.C. Canada
System Name Blacknet
Processor E5-1650 Xeon @ 4.7Ghz
Motherboard Asus P9X79 Pro
Cooling Noctua NH-D14/7case fans
Memory 32gb Gskill 1866 Cas9
Video Card(s) Asus Strix GTX970 OC
Storage Toshiba 3TB, x300 Toshiba 5TB, 2x EVO 850 250GB
Display(s) 27" Asus VS278Q, 23" VZ239H IPS
Case Antec 1200
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar MKII+ AKG Q701 Studio Monitors
Power Supply XFX XTR 750 Gold
Mouse Corsair Vengeance M95
Keyboard Cheap Azio
Software Kubuntu 17.10.1
Benchmark Scores It's linux baby!
A bridge is a bridge, unless yours is damaged, replacing it won't help. Screen tearing is usually solved by enabling vsync.
 

baker99

New Member
Joined
Sep 3, 2011
Messages
15 (0.01/day)
Likes
1
Yeah already tried vsync, pushed the sli bridge connectors a bit and the tearing stopped, obviously not a very good connection.
 
Joined
Aug 2, 2011
Messages
1,029 (0.41/day)
Likes
504
Processor Core i7 6800k @ 4.1GHz @ 1.325v
Motherboard MSI X99A Raider
Cooling Custom loop
Memory 4x8GB Corsair Vengence LED @3000MHz
Video Card(s) Gigabyte Aorus GTX 1080 Ti @ +25core +400mem
Storage 960 EVO 1TB, OCZ Vector 512GB, 2x Samsung 830 128GB, 750GB Samsung, 1.5TB Caviar Green
Display(s) Acer XB270HU, Qnix QX2710
Case Corsair Carbide 500R White
Audio Device(s) ASUS Xonar DX
Power Supply EVGA P2 850W
Mouse RAT8
Keyboard Razer Black Widow Ultimate 2016 Edition
Software Win 10 x64
Yeah already tried vsync, pushed the sli bridge connectors a bit and the tearing stopped, obviously not a very good connection.
Trying a different one might be good. Could just have a bad one...
 

degea

New Member
Joined
Apr 1, 2011
Messages
6 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
System Name Asus degea
Processor Intel i5 2400
Motherboard Asus P8P67 LE
Cooling ZEROtherm CORE92
Memory 2x4GB A-DATA Premier
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 460 768 MB
Storage 1Tb WD - 160GB WD - 80GB Samsung
Display(s) LG
Case Raidmax Aura Pink
Audio Device(s) Creative Live 24bit
Power Supply Corsair 400 W
Software Windows Ultimate 7 X64
He try someone SLI with Asus P8P67 LE motherboard????
 
Joined
Dec 1, 2009
Messages
58 (0.02/day)
Likes
14
System Name Black-Raptor
Processor Intel i7 2600K @4.5Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-Z68X UD4 B3
Cooling CM Hyper 212 plus
Memory Corsair XMS3 8Gb
Video Card(s) SLI GTX 660Ti
Storage 500Gb Samsung, 80Gb Maxtor
Case Tt V3 Black Edition
Audio Device(s) Sound Blaster Recon3D
Power Supply Tt Toughpower XT 750w
cool, who uses x32 anymore anyway?
LOL, ya who does use x32??? I just want to test out the new drivers from nvidia and see how they work.
I do still use x32 (x86). - It's a matter of COMPATIBILITY.
Can you guarantee that Windows x64 can run 100% of the the apps that x86 can handle??

Have a nice day.
 
Last edited:
Top