• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

i5-3570k or i7-3770k?

cadaveca

My name is Dave
Joined
Apr 10, 2006
Messages
16,546 (3.88/day)
Likes
10,908
Location
Parkland County, Alberta
System Name Gamer
Processor Intel i7-6700K (ES)
Motherboard MSI Aegis TI
Cooling Custom Dragon Cooler
Memory 16 GB Kingston HyperX 2133 MHz C13
Video Card(s) 2x MSI GAMING GTX 980
Storage 2x Intel 600P
Display(s) Dell 3008WFP
Case MSI Aegis Ti
Mouse MSI Interceptor DS B1
Keyboard MSI DS4200 GAMING Keyboard
Software Windows 10 Home
#26
Down the rabbit hole. The specs for the chips (in this case the 3570k) list 3.4Ghz/3.8Ghz Turbo. So when you change the multiplier for an OC, I assume there's some point when you have to cut out the power saver & turbo boost mode for the OC to be stable. I suspect it's motherboard/bios dependant?
Yes/no. All boards offer power-saving disabling and regular multi-clocking.



It is best, however, to clock using Turbo itself, like the CPU does at stock.


Some boards, when XMP is enabled, run all cores at the max turbo multi. Some do not. Most gamer-oriented and OC boards do though, no matter the brand.


I recommend overclocking using Turbo.

Don't forget, the game has changed considerably, and Intel will warranty overclocking, too. For a small cost($25 or so), Intel will replace your chip once, even if you give it 5000V. No questions asked.

http://click.intel.com/tuningplan/

Intel said:
So what we are saying is this: Go ahead and push it, we've got your back.

I hate to push marketing on you guys, but to me, this is worth it. Clock that chip up, pay the small cost, and don't worry about anything. ;)
 
Joined
May 14, 2009
Messages
2,132 (0.68/day)
Likes
477
Location
Chicago burbs
System Name Halloween Boo!
Processor Intel Core i7 3770K
Motherboard Gigabyte Z77-Up7
Cooling Custom Water/ Thermalchill TA 120.3/ Swiftech Apogeee XT/ MCP655/ Swiftech M icrores/ XSPC RX 240
Memory 16G G.Skill trident 2400MHz
Video Card(s) 3 x Radeon 7970
Storage OCZ Revo Drive 240G
Display(s) 24 inch Viewsonic
Case Phobia WayCoolIt Test Bench
Power Supply Nexus 1100 watt
#27
Down the rabbit hole. The specs for the chips (in this case the 3570k) list 3.4Ghz/3.8Ghz Turbo. So when you change the multiplier for an OC, I assume there's some point when you have to cut out the power saver & turbo boost mode for the OC to be stable. I suspect it's motherboard/bios dependant?
With both SandyBridge and IvyBridge, you need to keep turbo enabled to overclock.
 

erocker

Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 19, 2006
Messages
42,384 (10.17/day)
Likes
18,023
Processor Intel i7 8700k
Motherboard Gigabyte z370 AORUS Gaming 7
Cooling Water
Memory 16gb G.Skill 4000 MHz DDR4
Video Card(s) Evga GTX 1080
Storage 3 x Samsung Evo 850 500GB, 1 x 250GB, 2 x 2TB HDD
Display(s) Nixeus EDG27
Case Thermaltake X5
Power Supply Corsair HX1000i
Mouse Zowie EC1-B
Software Windows 10
#28
I thought they would overclock the same but Kingston told me the IMC is better on 3770K.
I can't fathom how Kingston would know the strength of an IMC on a chip by chip basis.
 
Joined
Sep 22, 2012
Messages
692 (0.36/day)
Likes
85
Location
Belgrade, Serbia
System Name Intel® X99 Wellsburg
Processor Intel® Core™ i7-5820K - 4.2GHz
Motherboard ASUS Rampage V E10 (1701)
Cooling CORSAIR H100
Memory CMD16GX4M4A2666C15
Video Card(s) EVGA 780Ti K|NGP|N Classified
Storage Samsung 850 EVO 1TB/waiting M.2
Display(s) Samsung P2450H
Case CORSAIR Obsidian 650D
Audio Device(s) CREATIVE Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply EVGA 1200 P2 Platinum
Mouse Logitech G700
Keyboard Deck 87 Francium Pro
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#29
My voice go for 3770k. I love i7. 3570k is good for gaming if you change more often configuration but you never know when you need i7 for longer time.
My 3700k OC similar like i7 SB. Only is hotter. 4.8GHz Linx 1.275V, Prime95 1.300V 12h Blend with 90-92% RAM.
I didn't count 5.0GHz like some minus for IB, because that is more for i5 clock.
 
Joined
Dec 6, 2005
Messages
9,809 (2.23/day)
Likes
3,796
Location
Manchester, NH
System Name Working on it ;)
Processor I7-4790K
Motherboard MSI Z97
Cooling Be Quiet Pure Rock Air
Memory 16GB 4x4 G.Skill CAS9 2133 Sniper
Video Card(s) Intel IGP (Dedicated GPU TBD)
Storage WD 320 / 500KS / 500KS / 640KS / 640LS / 640LS / 640LS / 1TBFAEX and a NAS with 2x2Tb WD Black
Display(s) 24" DELL 2405FPW
Case Rosewill Challenger
Audio Device(s) Onboard + HD HDMI
Power Supply Corsair HX750 (love it)
Mouse Logitech G5
Software Win 7 Pro
#30
All power-saving features and turbo are enabled. This is just how the new chips work. If you use a non-standard multi it cuts the turbo to one core only. I've pushed the chip to 4.5Ghz without much issue, but I don't see the benefit in my encoding apps for the heat difference made under load.
What would a non-standard multiplier be?
 
Joined
May 14, 2009
Messages
2,132 (0.68/day)
Likes
477
Location
Chicago burbs
System Name Halloween Boo!
Processor Intel Core i7 3770K
Motherboard Gigabyte Z77-Up7
Cooling Custom Water/ Thermalchill TA 120.3/ Swiftech Apogeee XT/ MCP655/ Swiftech M icrores/ XSPC RX 240
Memory 16G G.Skill trident 2400MHz
Video Card(s) 3 x Radeon 7970
Storage OCZ Revo Drive 240G
Display(s) 24 inch Viewsonic
Case Phobia WayCoolIt Test Bench
Power Supply Nexus 1100 watt
#31
I can't fathom how Kingston would know the strength of an IMC on a chip by chip basis.
pretty simple, they test their memory on all Ivybridge chips:slap:

It is Not a chip per chip basis. IMC is different on both.
 

Binge

Overclocking Surrealism
Joined
Sep 15, 2008
Messages
6,979 (2.06/day)
Likes
1,734
Location
PA, USA
System Name Molly
Processor i5 3570K
Motherboard Z77 ASRock
Cooling CooliT Eco
Memory 2x4GB Mushkin Redline Ridgebacks
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX 680
Case Coolermaster CM690 II Advanced
Power Supply Corsair HX-1000
#32
pretty simple, they test their memory on all Ivybridge chips:slap:

It is Not a chip per chip basis. IMC is different on both.
That is false sir. IMC is the same. 3570k is just a 3770k with HT disabled. My source? Intel.
 
Joined
Dec 6, 2005
Messages
9,809 (2.23/day)
Likes
3,796
Location
Manchester, NH
System Name Working on it ;)
Processor I7-4790K
Motherboard MSI Z97
Cooling Be Quiet Pure Rock Air
Memory 16GB 4x4 G.Skill CAS9 2133 Sniper
Video Card(s) Intel IGP (Dedicated GPU TBD)
Storage WD 320 / 500KS / 500KS / 640KS / 640LS / 640LS / 640LS / 1TBFAEX and a NAS with 2x2Tb WD Black
Display(s) 24" DELL 2405FPW
Case Rosewill Challenger
Audio Device(s) Onboard + HD HDMI
Power Supply Corsair HX750 (love it)
Mouse Logitech G5
Software Win 7 Pro
#33
That is false sir. IMC is the same. 3570k is just a 3770k with HT disabled. My source? Intel.
And 2MB of cache disabled.

....
I bought 2x of this memory: G.SKILL Sniper Series 8GB (2 x 4GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 2133 (PC3 17000) Desktop Memory Model F3-17000CL9D-8GBSR

Capacity 8GB (2 x 4GB)
Speed DDR3 2133 (PC3 17000)
Cas Latency 9
Timing 9-11-10-28
Voltage 1.65V

G.SKILL Sniper Series 8GB (2 x 4GB) 240-Pin DDR3 S...
 

Binge

Overclocking Surrealism
Joined
Sep 15, 2008
Messages
6,979 (2.06/day)
Likes
1,734
Location
PA, USA
System Name Molly
Processor i5 3570K
Motherboard Z77 ASRock
Cooling CooliT Eco
Memory 2x4GB Mushkin Redline Ridgebacks
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX 680
Case Coolermaster CM690 II Advanced
Power Supply Corsair HX-1000
#34
Joined
Dec 6, 2005
Messages
9,809 (2.23/day)
Likes
3,796
Location
Manchester, NH
System Name Working on it ;)
Processor I7-4790K
Motherboard MSI Z97
Cooling Be Quiet Pure Rock Air
Memory 16GB 4x4 G.Skill CAS9 2133 Sniper
Video Card(s) Intel IGP (Dedicated GPU TBD)
Storage WD 320 / 500KS / 500KS / 640KS / 640LS / 640LS / 640LS / 1TBFAEX and a NAS with 2x2Tb WD Black
Display(s) 24" DELL 2405FPW
Case Rosewill Challenger
Audio Device(s) Onboard + HD HDMI
Power Supply Corsair HX750 (love it)
Mouse Logitech G5
Software Win 7 Pro
#35

Binge

Overclocking Surrealism
Joined
Sep 15, 2008
Messages
6,979 (2.06/day)
Likes
1,734
Location
PA, USA
System Name Molly
Processor i5 3570K
Motherboard Z77 ASRock
Cooling CooliT Eco
Memory 2x4GB Mushkin Redline Ridgebacks
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX 680
Case Coolermaster CM690 II Advanced
Power Supply Corsair HX-1000
#36
The principal still applies, and thankfully you'll be able to use this knowledge to an advantage in your own overclocking
 
Joined
Dec 6, 2005
Messages
9,809 (2.23/day)
Likes
3,796
Location
Manchester, NH
System Name Working on it ;)
Processor I7-4790K
Motherboard MSI Z97
Cooling Be Quiet Pure Rock Air
Memory 16GB 4x4 G.Skill CAS9 2133 Sniper
Video Card(s) Intel IGP (Dedicated GPU TBD)
Storage WD 320 / 500KS / 500KS / 640KS / 640LS / 640LS / 640LS / 1TBFAEX and a NAS with 2x2Tb WD Black
Display(s) 24" DELL 2405FPW
Case Rosewill Challenger
Audio Device(s) Onboard + HD HDMI
Power Supply Corsair HX750 (love it)
Mouse Logitech G5
Software Win 7 Pro
#37
With both SandyBridge and IvyBridge, you need to keep turbo enabled to overclock.
Missed that comment before... if you disable it, you can't change the multiplier?
 
Joined
Feb 21, 2008
Messages
6,265 (1.75/day)
Likes
3,366
Location
S.E. Virginia
System Name Barb's Domain/Barb's Cruncher#2/Barb's Laptop
Processor i7 3930k@4.37ghz/i7 860 @ 3.3ghz/AMD E300
Motherboard ASUS Rampage IV Black Edition/Gigabyte P55-UD3R/Proprietary
Cooling Deep Cool Assassin/Corsair A50/stock
Memory 16gig DDR3 1600/4gig DDR3 1600/3gig DDR3 1333
Video Card(s) GTX 1070 OC'ed 2GHz core/mem/MSI HD7770/HD6310
Storage Seagate 2tb Hybrid SSHD/Caviar Blue 160gb/Toshiba 500gb
Display(s) HP ZR30W 30" 2560*1600/SOYO Topaz S 24" 1920*1200
Case SilverStone Fortress FT04/NZXT Source 210 Black
Audio Device(s) Realtek High Definition Audio
Power Supply XFX 750W XXX edition/PC Power Cooling Turbo Cool 860
Software Windows 10 Pro 64 bit /Windows 7 Ult 64 bit/Windows 8.1 Pro
#38
With both SandyBridge and IvyBridge, you need to keep turbo enabled to overclock.
Missed that comment before... if you disable it, you can't change the multiplier?
False, I have no problems with changing my multi with turbo-mode disabled. System specs for details(Barb's Domain)
 

qubit

Overclocked quantum bit
Joined
Dec 6, 2007
Messages
14,554 (3.97/day)
Likes
8,061
Location
Quantum Well UK
System Name Quantumville™
Processor Intel Core i7-2700K at stock (hits 5 gees+ easily)
Motherboard Asus P8Z68-V PRO/GEN3
Cooling Noctua NH-D14
Memory 16GB (4 x 4GB Corsair Vengeance DDR3 PC3-12800 C9 1600MHz)
Video Card(s) Zotac GTX 1080 AMP! Extreme Edition
Storage Samsung 850 Pro 256GB | WD Green 4TB
Display(s) BenQ XL2720Z | Asus VG278HE (both 27", 144Hz, 3D Vision 2, 1080p)
Case Cooler Master HAF 922
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Fatal1ty PCIe
Power Supply Corsair HX 850W v1
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
#39
I'm upgrading my main rig to Ivy Bridge this winter. I've already bought bought 16GB of DDR3 ram, and have nothing to put it in :laugh:

Next up, the CPU:

i7-3770k @ $330 (Newegg)
i5-3750k @ $190 Here: http://www.techpowerup.com/forums/showthread.php?t=173973

Difference of about $140 - Help, I can't decide!
After that, need to choose a MB.

I'll be running AutoCAD Civil3D/Map 2013 with some large datasets, some video and photo editing (fairly lightweight), and a moderate amount of gaming.
As you like to overclock, I would get the previous 2700K instead, like I have. As you know, Ivy Bridge runs around 20C hotter when overclocked due to the inferior IHS. The IPC improvements are only around 5%, so the better overclock would more than make up for it with the 2700K. Also, I assume you won't be using the iGPU, making the improved version redundant.

If you still want to go IB, then get the 3770K, no question. Yes, it's more expensive, but you do get a better chip with HT and heck, why does an enthusiast need a reason for getting the better part! :D

My 2700K is running at 4.7GHz, because it's the sweet spot for heat, power, noise and CPU lifetime for me. However, it does go well over 5K even on air, if you're into hardcore overclocking. That will be difficult with IB, due to all that heat, likely forcing you to use water.
 
Joined
May 14, 2009
Messages
2,132 (0.68/day)
Likes
477
Location
Chicago burbs
System Name Halloween Boo!
Processor Intel Core i7 3770K
Motherboard Gigabyte Z77-Up7
Cooling Custom Water/ Thermalchill TA 120.3/ Swiftech Apogeee XT/ MCP655/ Swiftech M icrores/ XSPC RX 240
Memory 16G G.Skill trident 2400MHz
Video Card(s) 3 x Radeon 7970
Storage OCZ Revo Drive 240G
Display(s) 24 inch Viewsonic
Case Phobia WayCoolIt Test Bench
Power Supply Nexus 1100 watt
#40
That is false sir. IMC is the same. 3570k is just a 3770k with HT disabled. My source? Intel.
No comment on 2Mb of disabled cache?
 
Joined
Feb 21, 2008
Messages
6,265 (1.75/day)
Likes
3,366
Location
S.E. Virginia
System Name Barb's Domain/Barb's Cruncher#2/Barb's Laptop
Processor i7 3930k@4.37ghz/i7 860 @ 3.3ghz/AMD E300
Motherboard ASUS Rampage IV Black Edition/Gigabyte P55-UD3R/Proprietary
Cooling Deep Cool Assassin/Corsair A50/stock
Memory 16gig DDR3 1600/4gig DDR3 1600/3gig DDR3 1333
Video Card(s) GTX 1070 OC'ed 2GHz core/mem/MSI HD7770/HD6310
Storage Seagate 2tb Hybrid SSHD/Caviar Blue 160gb/Toshiba 500gb
Display(s) HP ZR30W 30" 2560*1600/SOYO Topaz S 24" 1920*1200
Case SilverStone Fortress FT04/NZXT Source 210 Black
Audio Device(s) Realtek High Definition Audio
Power Supply XFX 750W XXX edition/PC Power Cooling Turbo Cool 860
Software Windows 10 Pro 64 bit /Windows 7 Ult 64 bit/Windows 8.1 Pro
#41
Joined
May 14, 2009
Messages
2,132 (0.68/day)
Likes
477
Location
Chicago burbs
System Name Halloween Boo!
Processor Intel Core i7 3770K
Motherboard Gigabyte Z77-Up7
Cooling Custom Water/ Thermalchill TA 120.3/ Swiftech Apogeee XT/ MCP655/ Swiftech M icrores/ XSPC RX 240
Memory 16G G.Skill trident 2400MHz
Video Card(s) 3 x Radeon 7970
Storage OCZ Revo Drive 240G
Display(s) 24 inch Viewsonic
Case Phobia WayCoolIt Test Bench
Power Supply Nexus 1100 watt
#42
No comment about the turbo-mode/multi statement?
I will rephrase. You do not have to disable turbo. I think your smart enough to get that.
 
Joined
Feb 21, 2008
Messages
6,265 (1.75/day)
Likes
3,366
Location
S.E. Virginia
System Name Barb's Domain/Barb's Cruncher#2/Barb's Laptop
Processor i7 3930k@4.37ghz/i7 860 @ 3.3ghz/AMD E300
Motherboard ASUS Rampage IV Black Edition/Gigabyte P55-UD3R/Proprietary
Cooling Deep Cool Assassin/Corsair A50/stock
Memory 16gig DDR3 1600/4gig DDR3 1600/3gig DDR3 1333
Video Card(s) GTX 1070 OC'ed 2GHz core/mem/MSI HD7770/HD6310
Storage Seagate 2tb Hybrid SSHD/Caviar Blue 160gb/Toshiba 500gb
Display(s) HP ZR30W 30" 2560*1600/SOYO Topaz S 24" 1920*1200
Case SilverStone Fortress FT04/NZXT Source 210 Black
Audio Device(s) Realtek High Definition Audio
Power Supply XFX 750W XXX edition/PC Power Cooling Turbo Cool 860
Software Windows 10 Pro 64 bit /Windows 7 Ult 64 bit/Windows 8.1 Pro
#43
It is true about not having to disable turbo to OC, but that's not what you said.
You need to keep turbo enabled to overclock
is in no way a correct statement.


Let me retrack my last statement. By Qubit's post after this one, it appears that you may have to have turbo enabled on some boards, but not all of them.
 
Last edited:

qubit

Overclocked quantum bit
Joined
Dec 6, 2007
Messages
14,554 (3.97/day)
Likes
8,061
Location
Quantum Well UK
System Name Quantumville™
Processor Intel Core i7-2700K at stock (hits 5 gees+ easily)
Motherboard Asus P8Z68-V PRO/GEN3
Cooling Noctua NH-D14
Memory 16GB (4 x 4GB Corsair Vengeance DDR3 PC3-12800 C9 1600MHz)
Video Card(s) Zotac GTX 1080 AMP! Extreme Edition
Storage Samsung 850 Pro 256GB | WD Green 4TB
Display(s) BenQ XL2720Z | Asus VG278HE (both 27", 144Hz, 3D Vision 2, 1080p)
Case Cooler Master HAF 922
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Fatal1ty PCIe
Power Supply Corsair HX 850W v1
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
#44
I can't overclock the CPU without enabling turbo. Is it different on an Ivy Bridge CPU?
 
Joined
Feb 21, 2008
Messages
6,265 (1.75/day)
Likes
3,366
Location
S.E. Virginia
System Name Barb's Domain/Barb's Cruncher#2/Barb's Laptop
Processor i7 3930k@4.37ghz/i7 860 @ 3.3ghz/AMD E300
Motherboard ASUS Rampage IV Black Edition/Gigabyte P55-UD3R/Proprietary
Cooling Deep Cool Assassin/Corsair A50/stock
Memory 16gig DDR3 1600/4gig DDR3 1600/3gig DDR3 1333
Video Card(s) GTX 1070 OC'ed 2GHz core/mem/MSI HD7770/HD6310
Storage Seagate 2tb Hybrid SSHD/Caviar Blue 160gb/Toshiba 500gb
Display(s) HP ZR30W 30" 2560*1600/SOYO Topaz S 24" 1920*1200
Case SilverStone Fortress FT04/NZXT Source 210 Black
Audio Device(s) Realtek High Definition Audio
Power Supply XFX 750W XXX edition/PC Power Cooling Turbo Cool 860
Software Windows 10 Pro 64 bit /Windows 7 Ult 64 bit/Windows 8.1 Pro
#45
I can't overclock the CPU without enabling turbo. Is it different on an Ivy Bridge CPU?
You can't? I can OC in bios or in the MSI Control Center on my desktop and I have turbo-mode disabled. I actually went and disabled it after I first read DrDeath's statement about turbo needing to be enabled to OC. I disabled it and set my multi to 40 in bios to see if I could, and I could. I then changed my voltage in MSI CC with no problems. Maybe it depends on the MB's vendor.
 

qubit

Overclocked quantum bit
Joined
Dec 6, 2007
Messages
14,554 (3.97/day)
Likes
8,061
Location
Quantum Well UK
System Name Quantumville™
Processor Intel Core i7-2700K at stock (hits 5 gees+ easily)
Motherboard Asus P8Z68-V PRO/GEN3
Cooling Noctua NH-D14
Memory 16GB (4 x 4GB Corsair Vengeance DDR3 PC3-12800 C9 1600MHz)
Video Card(s) Zotac GTX 1080 AMP! Extreme Edition
Storage Samsung 850 Pro 256GB | WD Green 4TB
Display(s) BenQ XL2720Z | Asus VG278HE (both 27", 144Hz, 3D Vision 2, 1080p)
Case Cooler Master HAF 922
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Fatal1ty PCIe
Power Supply Corsair HX 850W v1
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
#46
You can't? I can OC in bios or in the MSI Control Center on my desktop and I have turbo-mode disabled. I actually went and disabled it after I first read DrDeath's statement about turbo needing to be enabled to OC. I disabled it and set my multi to 40 in bios to see if I could, and I could. I then changed my voltage in MSI CC with no problems. Maybe it depends on the MB's vendor.
That's really strange. I remember reading in reviews that turbo needs to be enabled for this, so the behaviour I see is consistent with that and is a design feature of the CPU. You can underclock it with turbo off though. I've only ever overclocked it through the bios, too.

I have no idea why yours should be different.
 

FreedomEclipse

~Technological Technocrat~
Joined
Apr 20, 2007
Messages
17,151 (4.40/day)
Likes
5,309
Location
London,UK
System Name Codename: Rapture X Mk.VI {Still....MoonPig Edition}
Processor Intel 3930k@4.5Ghz
Motherboard Asus P9X79 PRO
Cooling Corsair H105 {2x Corsair ML 120 Pro}|VRM: Antec Spotcool 100
Memory 32GB DDR3 Kingston HyperX Beast 2400Mhz {8x4GB}
Video Card(s) MSI 1070 Gaming X (Samsung)
Storage 512GB Samsung 850 Pro (Boot)|1x 512GB Crucial MX100|2x 3TB Toshiba DT01ACA300
Display(s) Asus PB278Q 27"
Case Corsair 760T (White) {1x140mm NB PK-3, 2x Corsair AF140}
Audio Device(s) Creative SB Z {Speakers: Logitech Z-5500 }
Power Supply Corsair AX760
Mouse Logitech G900 Chaos Spectrum
Keyboard Duckyshine Dead LED(s) III
Software Windows 7 7600 x64
Benchmark Scores ( ͡°( ͡° ͜ʖ( ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°)ʖ ͡°) ͡°)
#47
Its more about fine tuning the turbo and making it turbo harder. you could disable it of course, but better it turbo when it really needs to rather then be running at full turbo even in mundane tasks such as browsing the internet or just listening to music.
 
Joined
Apr 2, 2007
Messages
904 (0.23/day)
Likes
117
Location
United Kingdom
Processor Intel Core i7 4790K, S1150, Haswell, 4 Core 4.4GHz Turbo
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-Z97X-Gaming GT Socket 1150 VGA DVI HDMI DisplayPort 8
Cooling Coolermaster Hyper T4 Intel and Amd Socket Heatpipe Cooling Fan
Memory 32GB (4x8GB) 1600 Corsair DDR3 Vengeance
Video Card(s) Zotac NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1080 8GB AMP Extreme Edition
Storage Crucial MX100 512GB SATA 6Gbps SSD, Crucial 480GB M500 SATA 6Gbps 2.5inch SSD
Display(s) Asus PB278QR 27" Professional LED Multimedia Monitor - Black, 2560x1440 Resolution
Case NZXT Phantom 410 Black Orange Special Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster Z PCI Express 5.1Ch Sound Card
Power Supply Corsair RM1000
Mouse Logitech MX518
Keyboard Roccat isku/ fx
Software Windows 10 Home 64-bit
#48
Hi just upgraded to this and i am very happy, I have not tried overclocking yet as i am waiting for Intel Performance Tuning Protection Plan to arrive.

Intel Core i5 3570K,1155, Ivy Bridge, Quad Core, 3.4GHz,
Gigabyte GA-Z77X-UP5 TH Socket 1155 VGA DVI HDMI Dual Thunderbolt 7.1 Channel Audio ATX Motherboard
16GB (2x8GB) Corsair DDR3 Vengeance (1600mhz)
256GB Crucial RealSSD M4, 2.5" SATA
 
Joined
Feb 21, 2008
Messages
6,265 (1.75/day)
Likes
3,366
Location
S.E. Virginia
System Name Barb's Domain/Barb's Cruncher#2/Barb's Laptop
Processor i7 3930k@4.37ghz/i7 860 @ 3.3ghz/AMD E300
Motherboard ASUS Rampage IV Black Edition/Gigabyte P55-UD3R/Proprietary
Cooling Deep Cool Assassin/Corsair A50/stock
Memory 16gig DDR3 1600/4gig DDR3 1600/3gig DDR3 1333
Video Card(s) GTX 1070 OC'ed 2GHz core/mem/MSI HD7770/HD6310
Storage Seagate 2tb Hybrid SSHD/Caviar Blue 160gb/Toshiba 500gb
Display(s) HP ZR30W 30" 2560*1600/SOYO Topaz S 24" 1920*1200
Case SilverStone Fortress FT04/NZXT Source 210 Black
Audio Device(s) Realtek High Definition Audio
Power Supply XFX 750W XXX edition/PC Power Cooling Turbo Cool 860
Software Windows 10 Pro 64 bit /Windows 7 Ult 64 bit/Windows 8.1 Pro
#49
Its more about fine tuning the turbo and making it turbo harder. you could disable it of course, but better it turbo when it really needs to rather then be running at full turbo even in mundane tasks such as browsing the internet or just listening to music.
Don't matter with my rig considering it's always running at full load crunching. Gaming is actually a break/rest for my 2600k rig.
 

FreedomEclipse

~Technological Technocrat~
Joined
Apr 20, 2007
Messages
17,151 (4.40/day)
Likes
5,309
Location
London,UK
System Name Codename: Rapture X Mk.VI {Still....MoonPig Edition}
Processor Intel 3930k@4.5Ghz
Motherboard Asus P9X79 PRO
Cooling Corsair H105 {2x Corsair ML 120 Pro}|VRM: Antec Spotcool 100
Memory 32GB DDR3 Kingston HyperX Beast 2400Mhz {8x4GB}
Video Card(s) MSI 1070 Gaming X (Samsung)
Storage 512GB Samsung 850 Pro (Boot)|1x 512GB Crucial MX100|2x 3TB Toshiba DT01ACA300
Display(s) Asus PB278Q 27"
Case Corsair 760T (White) {1x140mm NB PK-3, 2x Corsair AF140}
Audio Device(s) Creative SB Z {Speakers: Logitech Z-5500 }
Power Supply Corsair AX760
Mouse Logitech G900 Chaos Spectrum
Keyboard Duckyshine Dead LED(s) III
Software Windows 7 7600 x64
Benchmark Scores ( ͡°( ͡° ͜ʖ( ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°)ʖ ͡°) ͡°)
#50
I have not tried overclocking yet as i am waiting for Intel Performance Tuning Protection Plan to arrive.
Im surprised that you thought you needed to pay for something like that.

Id really only consider it if I was going for an EXTREME OC.

going from 3.8Ghz to 4.6Ghz is well within the safety zone of the 3570k. Most people here even run their SB CPUs at that same speed.

I Like my 4.9Ghz though.