• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Intel 13th Gen Support?

Joined
Mar 15, 2013
Messages
4 (0.00/day)
Location
Virginia
Processor Intel i7-13700K
Motherboard Asus Strix Z790-E
Cooling EK AIO Basic 360mm
Memory G.Skill DDR5-7200
Video Card(s) MSI RTX3080 Suprim X
Display(s) Asus XG27AQ 27" IPS
Case Fractal Meshify 2 XL
Mouse Glorious Model D
I see ThrottleStop hasn't been updated since June '22. I found this tool a few years ago when I had a 8th gen Intel CPU and I've really loved using it to set my Clock ratios and Speedstep settings, etc..
I just recently upgraded to an i7-13700K and notice it doesn't seem to support 13th gen chips. It seems to have partial support but some features are just broken and setting ratios doesn't seem to do anything for the Efficiency Cores.

Has there been any update on when 13th Gen support will be added?
 

bug

Joined
May 22, 2015
Messages
13,445 (4.03/day)
Processor Intel i5-12600k
Motherboard Asus H670 TUF
Cooling Arctic Freezer 34
Memory 2x16GB DDR4 3600 G.Skill Ripjaws V
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 1060 SC
Storage 500GB Samsung 970 EVO, 500GB Samsung 850 EVO, 1TB Crucial MX300 and 2TB Crucial MX500
Display(s) Dell U3219Q + HP ZR24w
Case Raijintek Thetis
Audio Device(s) Audioquest Dragonfly Red :D
Power Supply Seasonic 620W M12
Mouse Logitech G502 Proteus Core
Keyboard G.Skill KM780R
Software Arch Linux + Win10
Afaik, ThrottleStop is aimed at laptops, so it will probably get an update when Raptor Lake mobile parts surface.
 

unclewebb

ThrottleStop & RealTemp Author
Joined
Jun 1, 2008
Messages
7,566 (1.29/day)
ThrottleStop is aimed at laptops
You are correct that ThrottleStop was developed mostly for laptops but it should work correctly on desktop or mobile CPUs. If you ever see something that doesn't seem to work, let me know so I can fix the problem.

13th Gen support
Check your messages. I just sent you a download link. If you are interested in doing any ThrottleStop 9.5.1 beta testing, post some screenshots of the new version so I can see if it works correctly on your 13th Gen CPU. I do not yet own any 13th Gen hardware for testing purposes so I need some help from the user community. Thanks.
 

bug

Joined
May 22, 2015
Messages
13,445 (4.03/day)
Processor Intel i5-12600k
Motherboard Asus H670 TUF
Cooling Arctic Freezer 34
Memory 2x16GB DDR4 3600 G.Skill Ripjaws V
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 1060 SC
Storage 500GB Samsung 970 EVO, 500GB Samsung 850 EVO, 1TB Crucial MX300 and 2TB Crucial MX500
Display(s) Dell U3219Q + HP ZR24w
Case Raijintek Thetis
Audio Device(s) Audioquest Dragonfly Red :D
Power Supply Seasonic 620W M12
Mouse Logitech G502 Proteus Core
Keyboard G.Skill KM780R
Software Arch Linux + Win10
You are correct that ThrottleStop was developed mostly for laptops but it should work correctly on desktop or mobile CPUs. If you ever see something that doesn't seem to work, let me know so I can fix the problem.
Yeah, I figured if you handle mobile parts, desktop CPUs should be easy-peasy. I just thought you tied you releases to mobile parts as well, it didn't occur to me you actually need the hardware parts to test...
 

SneakyTea

New Member
Joined
Dec 2, 2022
Messages
1 (0.00/day)
You are correct that ThrottleStop was developed mostly for laptops but it should work correctly on desktop or mobile CPUs. If you ever see something that doesn't seem to work, let me know so I can fix the problem.


Check your messages. I just sent you a download link. If you are interested in doing any ThrottleStop 9.5.1 beta testing, post some screenshots of the new version so I can see if it works correctly on your 13th Gen CPU. I do not yet own any 13th Gen hardware for testing purposes so I need some help from the user community. Thanks.
I'm interested in beta testing. I have the same issue with everything being locked on my i7-13700K.
1670002895330.png
1670002934614.png
 

sanctus

New Member
Joined
Jan 9, 2023
Messages
4 (0.01/day)
And me, please. If it possible...
It seems rhat current stable version (9.5) doesn't work with my B660M+13700K - the voltage and TDP under load does not change despite the settings made in FIVR section.
And i can't change crazy high CPU vcore (more than 1,4v) due to bios restriction - it allows undervolt only 0.05v max that just isn't enough.
 

HH112714

New Member
Joined
Jan 1, 2023
Messages
4 (0.01/day)

sanctus

New Member
Joined
Jan 9, 2023
Messages
4 (0.01/day)
I will send you a download link to a TS beta version that should work OK.
Thanks a lot! I downloaded and tried this version but it seems it doesn't work too (or I've done something wrong). I set offset of -0,250mV both for CPU Core and CPU P Cache but during Cinebench testing load I've got the same ~1,4v core voltage, TDP near 300W and 96-100C on CPU. Some screenshots are attached.

P.S. My OS is Win 11 Pro 22H2, MB - MSI MAG B660M MORTAR WIFI
 

Attachments

  • Memory integrity is Off.jpg
    Memory integrity is Off.jpg
    247.5 KB · Views: 406
  • FIVR - Cache.jpg
    FIVR - Cache.jpg
    526.6 KB · Views: 434
  • FIVR - CPU.jpg
    FIVR - CPU.jpg
    531.7 KB · Views: 433
  • Under load (Cinebench).jpg
    Under load (Cinebench).jpg
    812.1 KB · Views: 405

HH112714

New Member
Joined
Jan 1, 2023
Messages
4 (0.01/day)
That is correct. TS 9.5 does not work correctly on 13th Gen CPUs. I will send you a download link to a TS beta version that should work OK.
It is hoped that support for 13th generation CPUs can be added. thanks
 

unclewebb

ThrottleStop & RealTemp Author
Joined
Jun 1, 2008
Messages
7,566 (1.29/day)
MSI MAG B660M
Good news, bad news. ThrottleStop 9.5.1 works correctly on 13th Gen but it cannot be used to control the voltage if you have a B660 chipset.

Edit - Early BIOS versions with microcode version 104 allow undervolting on some Asus B660 / B760 motherboards. Look for this feature in the Asus BIOS.

You need a Z series motherboard to overclock or to adjust the CPU voltage.
 
Last edited:
D

Deleted member 185158

Guest
Good news, bad news. ThrottleStop 9.5.1 works correctly on 13th Gen but it cannot be used to control the voltage if you have a B660 chipset.

You need a Z series motherboard to overclock or to adjust the CPU voltage.
13th gen is seems locked down to PPT on B660 boards. Extra manually set v-core generally degrades the OC. Best to use LLC. This is the information I have obtained from experiencing it.
Also CPU multiplier is locked and cannot be increased via bios or windows software. Memory voltage increase beyond XMP spec also causes no post, returns to defaults.
Just now looking there is a bios update for my Asus B660-G motherboard. I will install this soon and update the above issues. Currently using 2012, newest will install is 2212.
It is also suggested to update ME firmware in bios and IME software in Windows 11.
updated system specs, am using 13600KF btw.
 
Joined
Jun 13, 2019
Messages
494 (0.27/day)
System Name Fractal
Processor Intel Core i5 13600K
Motherboard Asus ProArt Z790 Creator WiFi
Cooling Arctic Cooling Liquid Freezer II 360
Memory 16GBx2 G.SKILL Ripjaws S5 DDR5 6000 CL30-40-40-96 (F5-6000J3040F16GX2-RS5K)
Video Card(s) PNY RTX A2000 6GB
Storage SK Hynix Platinum P41 2TB
Display(s) LG 34GK950F-B (34"/IPS/1440p/21:9/144Hz/FreeSync)
Case Fractal Design R6 Gunmetal Blackout w/ USB-C
Audio Device(s) Steelseries Arctis 7 Wireless/Klipsch Pro-Media 2.1BT
Power Supply Seasonic Prime 850w 80+ Titanium
Mouse Logitech G700S
Keyboard Corsair K68
Software Windows 11 Pro
^ I just setup the return of my B660 board and ordered a Z790. Paid twice the money, but I found I couldn't stand not being able to tinker. And XMP was nothing but boot loops and instability.

Have you guys tried the Intel XTU? I used it at work, one-click overclock/optimize seemed to work pretty good. Looks like you can dabble in the advanced timings/voltages as well.
 

sanctus

New Member
Joined
Jan 9, 2023
Messages
4 (0.01/day)
ThrottleStop 9.5.1 works correctly on 13th Gen but it cannot be used to control the voltage if you have a B660 chipset.
Thanks for clarification although I am completely disappointed. I fully understand thant B chipsets not for OC but I could not even think that it would also be impossible to do UV on it. Probably I have no option but buy another one MB with Z chipset. In BIOS UV limited only 0.05v and trying to 'play' with lite load control or loadline lead to 'fake' throttling by IA CEP (which couldn't be disabled in BIOS)

BTW, I have no issue at all with activating XMP profile on G.Skill 6400 DDR5.

Have you guys tried the Intel XTU? I used it at work, one-click overclock/optimize seemed to work pretty good. Looks like you can dabble in the advanced timings/voltages as well.
I tried - but you can change almost nothing on B chipset.
 
Last edited:

sanctus

New Member
Joined
Jan 9, 2023
Messages
4 (0.01/day)
Intel is forcing enthusiasts to buy the more expensive K series CPUs and Z series motherboards. If you want to tinker, it is going to cost you extra.
Indeed. But i'm a very modest guy with just wish to escape from 300+w consumption on fully stock 13700k CPU.Couldn't imagine that I need Z chipset even for this.
 
D

Deleted member 185158

Guest
I tried - but you can change almost nothing on B chipset.
Mines a Full OC board (B660-G). Has an external clock generator so I can at least push the FSB. On air, I hit a max of 5.7ghz 111mhz (x51 multi). 5.5ghz (108mhz bus) seems to be the sweet spot for this chip. Pushed a 12400F to some 5.5ghz also.

You really don't "NEED" a Z chipset, just the right B660 board. But I feel they did lock the OC features board side, so the update may uplift that. (hopefully)
 

unclewebb

ThrottleStop & RealTemp Author
Joined
Jun 1, 2008
Messages
7,566 (1.29/day)
Most B660/B760 boards by default are set up with Short Duration and Long Duration power limits set to max
I would think that at default settings, most boards would set the turbo power limits to the Intel recommended values.

multi-core enhancement
I have never seen multi-core enhancement work on a non K series CPU. Can you post a link or show me any examples of this?

This works OK for CPUs like the 12400/13400 that can run at maximum turbo on all cores without temperature issues.
On a 12400, the CPU can only use the maximum 44 multiplier when 1 or 2 cores are active. When 5 or 6 cores are active, the multiplier is reduced to 40.

1673382660958.png
 
Joined
Aug 18, 2022
Messages
336 (0.48/day)
I have withdrawn my post for two reasons. One, you're correct about the B660 board turbo limits. My experience is limited to one board belonging to a family member. I help with BIOS updates and some settings. I am aware that for this particular board Asus were operating non-Intel power limits but saying that most boards were like this was just an assumption.

Second, the board in question is running a locked 12600 non-K. I will have a good look at exactly what it is going on with this board. If you give me a day or so I will post some results here, in the form of screen dumps.
 

HH112714

New Member
Joined
Jan 1, 2023
Messages
4 (0.01/day)
^ I just setup the return of my B660 board and ordered a Z790. Paid twice the money, but I found I couldn't stand not being able to tinker. And XMP was nothing but boot loops and instability.

Have you guys tried the Intel XTU? I used it at work, one-click overclock/optimize seemed to work pretty good. Looks like you can dabble in the advanced timings/voltages as well.
There is no need to buy a z790. You can choose MSI's z690-a
 
Joined
Jun 13, 2019
Messages
494 (0.27/day)
System Name Fractal
Processor Intel Core i5 13600K
Motherboard Asus ProArt Z790 Creator WiFi
Cooling Arctic Cooling Liquid Freezer II 360
Memory 16GBx2 G.SKILL Ripjaws S5 DDR5 6000 CL30-40-40-96 (F5-6000J3040F16GX2-RS5K)
Video Card(s) PNY RTX A2000 6GB
Storage SK Hynix Platinum P41 2TB
Display(s) LG 34GK950F-B (34"/IPS/1440p/21:9/144Hz/FreeSync)
Case Fractal Design R6 Gunmetal Blackout w/ USB-C
Audio Device(s) Steelseries Arctis 7 Wireless/Klipsch Pro-Media 2.1BT
Power Supply Seasonic Prime 850w 80+ Titanium
Mouse Logitech G700S
Keyboard Corsair K68
Software Windows 11 Pro
There is no need to buy a z790. You can choose MSI's z690-a
Could. I chose that one 3 times for PC's at work. But this is my home rig. I went cheap and fiddled around for almost two weeks w/ a B660 board until learning my lesson. "Asus Crash free bios flashback" is NOT the same as a "Bios Flashback" button on the mainboard. I will happily pay the extra $30 to go from Z690 --> Z790 and have 13th gen support out of the box. I made the mistake of not installing the Intel Management Engine drivers before the BIOS flash and swapping up to the i7 13600K (after traveling all the way to my shop on vacation and pulling a 12600K for the flash), and in doing so the B660 board completely forgot my PCIe4.0 SSD drive existed. I had to pull a SATA SSD from an entirely different PC to boot into Windows 10 to run the IME update utility with the 13600K still installed, and then, and only then, would it see my PCIe4.0 SSD. It could see my PCIe3.0 drive the whole time. Go figure.
 
Joined
Aug 18, 2022
Messages
336 (0.48/day)
I have never seen multi-core enhancement work on a non K series CPU. Can you post a link or show me any examples of this?

The motherboard is an Asus B660-A Gaming Wifi D4. This is a BIOS screenshot showing the CPU spec and that the latest BIOS (2212) is installed.

asusbios1.png


Under Ai Tweaker there is an Asus Performance Enhancement 3.0 setting, this screenshot shows the options

asusbios2.png


The Performance Core Ratio options are shown below

asusbios3.png


Using HWInfo64 and a gaming benchmark this is a screen dump of the highest CPU speeds we saw

hwinfoscreenshot.png


We then turned on the logging in HWInfo64. This is an extract from the logfile of another gaming benchmark run (average and individual core frequencies)

hwinfologfile1.png


And this is the section of the logfile showing the individual core voltages for the Core Clocks (avg)

hwinfologfile2.png
 

HH112714

New Member
Joined
Jan 1, 2023
Messages
4 (0.01/day)
The motherboard is an Asus B660-A Gaming Wifi D4. This is a BIOS screenshot showing the CPU spec and that the latest BIOS (2212) is installed.

View attachment 278575

Under Ai Tweaker there is an Asus Performance Enhancement 3.0 setting, this screenshot shows the options

View attachment 278576

The Performance Core Ratio options are shown below

View attachment 278577

Using HWInfo64 and a gaming benchmark this is a screen dump of the highest CPU speeds we saw

View attachment 278578

We then turned on the logging in HWInfo64. This is an extract from the logfile of another gaming benchmark run (average and individual core frequencies)

View attachment 278579

And this is the section of the logfile showing the individual core voltages for the Core Clocks (avg)

View attachment 278580
I know this, it's in the latest bios update from ASUS. Don't know when MSI will update.
 

veidas

New Member
Joined
Feb 10, 2023
Messages
26 (0.05/day)
9.5 works for me with Gigabyte B660M Gaming X and 13600k. I had to downgrade bios to the first version that supports 13th gen, dated 2022 August, and it started working. If I flash newer bios, it doesnt work. Seems like Intel introduced some undervolting lock later on.
 
Top