• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Ion's WCG Essentials Thread

Joined
Aug 11, 2011
Messages
4,335 (1.87/day)
Likes
3,020
Location
Mexico
System Name STEAMBOX | GAMECUBE | EQC (Everyday Quad Core)
Processor i5 4590@3.7Ghz |i7 3770K@4Ghz -|- Athlon 5350@2.52Ghz
Motherboard GA-B85N PHOENIX | Asrock Z77E-ITX | Asus AM1I-A
Cooling Stock | Antec Kuhler 620 | Reeven Vanxie
Memory 2x4GB ADATA XPG 1600Mhz | 2x4GB Kingston 1866Mhz -|- 2x4GB Crucial Ballistix@1920Mhz
Video Card(s) RX 480 Nitro | Sapphire RX 480 w/Accelero Mono Plus | HD 8400 @ 720Mhz (IGP)
Storage LiteON 128GB mSATA+3TB Seagate | Seagate 1TBxSamung 64GB SSD (Intel RST) | Kingston v300 240GB
Display(s) Daewoo 49" 1080p | ASUS PA248Q 1920x1200 IPS
Case Corsair 250D | CoolerMaster Elite 110 | Acteck Fiji
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Seasonic SS-660XP2 | Silverstone SFX-450 | 200w mini FLEX PSU
Software Windows 10 64bit
#76
Is there an estimate of how many points could a 6450 net? I'm going to upgrade the CCTV unit in a couple of months and I think I could put a 6450 in there and leave it crunching all day. Maybe even a 6570 if I get one cheap.

It would have to be an XP machine (darn capture program won't work on W7) so it'll be limited to the 32bit client. Is there any impediment for this?
 

Norton

Moderator & WCG-TPU Captain
Staff member
Joined
Dec 21, 2011
Messages
12,678 (5.80/day)
Likes
36,248
Location
USA
System Name My Fortress/Trish (WCG)/Julia (WCG)/Ella (WCG)/Junior(WCG)/Cruncher 1 & 2/Kreij (WCG)
Processor Ryzen 1700X/i7-970/2600K/i7-980X/3930k/Opteron 6168x4/Ryzen 1600X/FX-8350
Motherboard X370 Taichi/ ASUS R3E/Asus P8P67 Pro/P9X79 Pro/EVGA X58 SLI 3/SuperMicro 4P
Cooling NH-D14/Phanteks/NH-U14S/H70/DeepCool/CM 212+ (x4)/NH-U14S/CM212
Memory 16GB GSkill TridentZ-3200 (1700X), 16GB GSkill FlareX-2400 (1600X),... various...., 4P- 16x1GB
Video Card(s) RX 580/HD 4670/HD 7770/HD 7770/HD 7770/onboard/HD 7770/onboard
Storage WD 500GB SSD/Seagate 2TB SSHD, everything else is Western Digital (mostly)
Display(s) Dell U2414H & 2409W / Dell 2208WFP (shared)
Case Silverstone FT01B/Source 530/Corsair 230T/Define XL R2/Silverstone FT05/Define R4/custom
Audio Device(s) on board (All)
Power Supply Corsair HX850/TX650/CS650M/X Gold 750/EVGA P2 850/X Gold 1050/HX650
Mouse Logitech G300s
Keyboard Thermaltake Challenger Prime (Great for $30!!!)
Software Win 7 Home 64 (Win 10 Pro 64)/Win Pro 64 or Ubuntu 12.04 LTS/14.04 LTS/17.04
Benchmark Scores Why sit on the Bench when you can get in the game and Crunch!!!
#77
Is there an estimate of how many points could a 6450 net? I'm going to upgrade the CCTV unit in a couple of months and I think I could put a 6450 in there and leave it crunching all day. Maybe even a 6570 if I get one cheap.

It would have to be an XP machine (darn capture program won't work on W7) so it'll be limited to the 32bit client. Is there any impediment for this?
64 bit crunching runs about 10% more output than 32 bit.

as far as 6450's/6570's output will be lower but you may be able to get 3-4k BOINC ppd out of them.... best I can say is give them a try and see how they do- the gpu in AMD APU's can crunch gpu wu's so no reason why those cards can't ;)
 

[Ion]

WCG Team Assistant
Joined
Sep 15, 2009
Messages
13,391 (4.44/day)
Likes
14,251
Location
Raleigh, North Carolina, United States
System Name Niedersachsen / Ribe / Minsk
Processor i3 3240 / i7-3520M / 4x Opteron 6376 @ 2.86GHz
Motherboard BIOSTAR H61M / HP Q77 / Supermicro H8QG7
Cooling Stock / Stock / 4x 1U G34
Memory 1x8GB / 2x4GB / 4x4GB
Video Card(s) GTX260 / Intel HD 4000 / nVidia GT310
Storage 80GB Intel SSD / 256GB Intel SSD / 2x 60GB SSD (RAID1)
Display(s) Dell 3007 + HP 2245w / 12.1" 1366x768 / None
Case Antec NSK3480 / HP / Supermicro 1U
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Enermax 500W / HP 130W / Supermicro Gold 1400W
Keyboard IBM Model M
Software Windows 7 (Niedersachsen/Ribe) / Linux Mint 17.2 (Minsk)
#78
Is there an estimate of how many points could a 6450 net? I'm going to upgrade the CCTV unit in a couple of months and I think I could put a 6450 in there and leave it crunching all day. Maybe even a 6570 if I get one cheap.

It would have to be an XP machine (darn capture program won't work on W7) so it'll be limited to the 32bit client. Is there any impediment for this?
Impediment is slight at worst (maybe 10%). You may be able to get 2k-3k PPD from a HD6450, but it wouldn't make for an impressive card, unfortunately
 
Joined
Aug 11, 2011
Messages
4,335 (1.87/day)
Likes
3,020
Location
Mexico
System Name STEAMBOX | GAMECUBE | EQC (Everyday Quad Core)
Processor i5 4590@3.7Ghz |i7 3770K@4Ghz -|- Athlon 5350@2.52Ghz
Motherboard GA-B85N PHOENIX | Asrock Z77E-ITX | Asus AM1I-A
Cooling Stock | Antec Kuhler 620 | Reeven Vanxie
Memory 2x4GB ADATA XPG 1600Mhz | 2x4GB Kingston 1866Mhz -|- 2x4GB Crucial Ballistix@1920Mhz
Video Card(s) RX 480 Nitro | Sapphire RX 480 w/Accelero Mono Plus | HD 8400 @ 720Mhz (IGP)
Storage LiteON 128GB mSATA+3TB Seagate | Seagate 1TBxSamung 64GB SSD (Intel RST) | Kingston v300 240GB
Display(s) Daewoo 49" 1080p | ASUS PA248Q 1920x1200 IPS
Case Corsair 250D | CoolerMaster Elite 110 | Acteck Fiji
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Seasonic SS-660XP2 | Silverstone SFX-450 | 200w mini FLEX PSU
Software Windows 10 64bit
#79
The capture program just requires DX9 and 32bit color so even the IGP of the new board will be able to run it but I thought I'd trow a GPU in there and do some crunching since that PC is on 24/7 anyway.

So a 6450 could crunch then? The 6450's 18w TDP won't make a huge impact on the power bill and even if it just nets 2K that's more than 0. I just was concerned that it wouldn't crunch.
 

[Ion]

WCG Team Assistant
Joined
Sep 15, 2009
Messages
13,391 (4.44/day)
Likes
14,251
Location
Raleigh, North Carolina, United States
System Name Niedersachsen / Ribe / Minsk
Processor i3 3240 / i7-3520M / 4x Opteron 6376 @ 2.86GHz
Motherboard BIOSTAR H61M / HP Q77 / Supermicro H8QG7
Cooling Stock / Stock / 4x 1U G34
Memory 1x8GB / 2x4GB / 4x4GB
Video Card(s) GTX260 / Intel HD 4000 / nVidia GT310
Storage 80GB Intel SSD / 256GB Intel SSD / 2x 60GB SSD (RAID1)
Display(s) Dell 3007 + HP 2245w / 12.1" 1366x768 / None
Case Antec NSK3480 / HP / Supermicro 1U
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Enermax 500W / HP 130W / Supermicro Gold 1400W
Keyboard IBM Model M
Software Windows 7 (Niedersachsen/Ribe) / Linux Mint 17.2 (Minsk)
#80
The WCG website doesn't say it can't crunch, so I'd assume it can :toast:
And 2 or 3K is still very much worthwhile :toast:
 
Joined
Aug 11, 2011
Messages
4,335 (1.87/day)
Likes
3,020
Location
Mexico
System Name STEAMBOX | GAMECUBE | EQC (Everyday Quad Core)
Processor i5 4590@3.7Ghz |i7 3770K@4Ghz -|- Athlon 5350@2.52Ghz
Motherboard GA-B85N PHOENIX | Asrock Z77E-ITX | Asus AM1I-A
Cooling Stock | Antec Kuhler 620 | Reeven Vanxie
Memory 2x4GB ADATA XPG 1600Mhz | 2x4GB Kingston 1866Mhz -|- 2x4GB Crucial Ballistix@1920Mhz
Video Card(s) RX 480 Nitro | Sapphire RX 480 w/Accelero Mono Plus | HD 8400 @ 720Mhz (IGP)
Storage LiteON 128GB mSATA+3TB Seagate | Seagate 1TBxSamung 64GB SSD (Intel RST) | Kingston v300 240GB
Display(s) Daewoo 49" 1080p | ASUS PA248Q 1920x1200 IPS
Case Corsair 250D | CoolerMaster Elite 110 | Acteck Fiji
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Seasonic SS-660XP2 | Silverstone SFX-450 | 200w mini FLEX PSU
Software Windows 10 64bit
#81
I'm going to setup two crunchers with the USB ubuntu install. If using 8GB sticks, how big should I make the persistent file? I tried setting the slider all the way but the installation failed, I then set 6GB but if I plug the USB stick it says that there are 2GB free?

I just want to maximize the amount of space available to BOINC. Or in other words, how much space does Ubuntu uses on the USB stick?

EDIT: answered my own question by installing Ubuntu without a persistent file. 762MB.
 
Last edited:

[Ion]

WCG Team Assistant
Joined
Sep 15, 2009
Messages
13,391 (4.44/day)
Likes
14,251
Location
Raleigh, North Carolina, United States
System Name Niedersachsen / Ribe / Minsk
Processor i3 3240 / i7-3520M / 4x Opteron 6376 @ 2.86GHz
Motherboard BIOSTAR H61M / HP Q77 / Supermicro H8QG7
Cooling Stock / Stock / 4x 1U G34
Memory 1x8GB / 2x4GB / 4x4GB
Video Card(s) GTX260 / Intel HD 4000 / nVidia GT310
Storage 80GB Intel SSD / 256GB Intel SSD / 2x 60GB SSD (RAID1)
Display(s) Dell 3007 + HP 2245w / 12.1" 1366x768 / None
Case Antec NSK3480 / HP / Supermicro 1U
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Enermax 500W / HP 130W / Supermicro Gold 1400W
Keyboard IBM Model M
Software Windows 7 (Niedersachsen/Ribe) / Linux Mint 17.2 (Minsk)
#82
You need a persistence file or will lose BOINC/work if it reboots. I've found that a 3-4GB persistence file works well for a system that only crunches :toast:
 
Joined
Aug 11, 2011
Messages
4,335 (1.87/day)
Likes
3,020
Location
Mexico
System Name STEAMBOX | GAMECUBE | EQC (Everyday Quad Core)
Processor i5 4590@3.7Ghz |i7 3770K@4Ghz -|- Athlon 5350@2.52Ghz
Motherboard GA-B85N PHOENIX | Asrock Z77E-ITX | Asus AM1I-A
Cooling Stock | Antec Kuhler 620 | Reeven Vanxie
Memory 2x4GB ADATA XPG 1600Mhz | 2x4GB Kingston 1866Mhz -|- 2x4GB Crucial Ballistix@1920Mhz
Video Card(s) RX 480 Nitro | Sapphire RX 480 w/Accelero Mono Plus | HD 8400 @ 720Mhz (IGP)
Storage LiteON 128GB mSATA+3TB Seagate | Seagate 1TBxSamung 64GB SSD (Intel RST) | Kingston v300 240GB
Display(s) Daewoo 49" 1080p | ASUS PA248Q 1920x1200 IPS
Case Corsair 250D | CoolerMaster Elite 110 | Acteck Fiji
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Seasonic SS-660XP2 | Silverstone SFX-450 | 200w mini FLEX PSU
Software Windows 10 64bit
#83
I set a 6.5GB persistence file and installed fine. Now I just have to wait for the 1090T.

WTB, can the linux client do work on the GPU too? What about multiple WUs? With the CPUs coming my way I can setup 3 dedicated crunchers, 2 PII X6 and a G620 driving 2 GPUs in a H61 Xfire board. I was thinking about getting a cheap 32GB SSD for running windows on the GPU cruncher but if the linux client can run multiple WUs I might avoid that expense.
 

[Ion]

WCG Team Assistant
Joined
Sep 15, 2009
Messages
13,391 (4.44/day)
Likes
14,251
Location
Raleigh, North Carolina, United States
System Name Niedersachsen / Ribe / Minsk
Processor i3 3240 / i7-3520M / 4x Opteron 6376 @ 2.86GHz
Motherboard BIOSTAR H61M / HP Q77 / Supermicro H8QG7
Cooling Stock / Stock / 4x 1U G34
Memory 1x8GB / 2x4GB / 4x4GB
Video Card(s) GTX260 / Intel HD 4000 / nVidia GT310
Storage 80GB Intel SSD / 256GB Intel SSD / 2x 60GB SSD (RAID1)
Display(s) Dell 3007 + HP 2245w / 12.1" 1366x768 / None
Case Antec NSK3480 / HP / Supermicro 1U
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Enermax 500W / HP 130W / Supermicro Gold 1400W
Keyboard IBM Model M
Software Windows 7 (Niedersachsen/Ribe) / Linux Mint 17.2 (Minsk)
#84
It can run GPU WUs (and multiple at that). I've never done it, but I think that Jstn7477 has. I'd send him a PM ;)
 
Joined
Aug 11, 2011
Messages
4,335 (1.87/day)
Likes
3,020
Location
Mexico
System Name STEAMBOX | GAMECUBE | EQC (Everyday Quad Core)
Processor i5 4590@3.7Ghz |i7 3770K@4Ghz -|- Athlon 5350@2.52Ghz
Motherboard GA-B85N PHOENIX | Asrock Z77E-ITX | Asus AM1I-A
Cooling Stock | Antec Kuhler 620 | Reeven Vanxie
Memory 2x4GB ADATA XPG 1600Mhz | 2x4GB Kingston 1866Mhz -|- 2x4GB Crucial Ballistix@1920Mhz
Video Card(s) RX 480 Nitro | Sapphire RX 480 w/Accelero Mono Plus | HD 8400 @ 720Mhz (IGP)
Storage LiteON 128GB mSATA+3TB Seagate | Seagate 1TBxSamung 64GB SSD (Intel RST) | Kingston v300 240GB
Display(s) Daewoo 49" 1080p | ASUS PA248Q 1920x1200 IPS
Case Corsair 250D | CoolerMaster Elite 110 | Acteck Fiji
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Seasonic SS-660XP2 | Silverstone SFX-450 | 200w mini FLEX PSU
Software Windows 10 64bit
#85
Ok I got the Phenom and I'm setting the Ubuntu client. Question: is there any way to configure the USB Ubuntu to skip the "Install Ubuntu" screen and start BOINC automatically once loaded?
 

[Ion]

WCG Team Assistant
Joined
Sep 15, 2009
Messages
13,391 (4.44/day)
Likes
14,251
Location
Raleigh, North Carolina, United States
System Name Niedersachsen / Ribe / Minsk
Processor i3 3240 / i7-3520M / 4x Opteron 6376 @ 2.86GHz
Motherboard BIOSTAR H61M / HP Q77 / Supermicro H8QG7
Cooling Stock / Stock / 4x 1U G34
Memory 1x8GB / 2x4GB / 4x4GB
Video Card(s) GTX260 / Intel HD 4000 / nVidia GT310
Storage 80GB Intel SSD / 256GB Intel SSD / 2x 60GB SSD (RAID1)
Display(s) Dell 3007 + HP 2245w / 12.1" 1366x768 / None
Case Antec NSK3480 / HP / Supermicro 1U
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Enermax 500W / HP 130W / Supermicro Gold 1400W
Keyboard IBM Model M
Software Windows 7 (Niedersachsen/Ribe) / Linux Mint 17.2 (Minsk)
#86
Ok I got the Phenom and I'm setting the Ubuntu client. Question: is there any way to configure the USB Ubuntu to skip the "Install Ubuntu" screen and start BOINC automatically once loaded?
I think that it actually starts crunching (at least based on how warm the heatsink is there versus once the system has fully booted and BOINC is up) but I'm not sure if there's a way to skip it :ohwell:
 
Joined
Aug 11, 2011
Messages
4,335 (1.87/day)
Likes
3,020
Location
Mexico
System Name STEAMBOX | GAMECUBE | EQC (Everyday Quad Core)
Processor i5 4590@3.7Ghz |i7 3770K@4Ghz -|- Athlon 5350@2.52Ghz
Motherboard GA-B85N PHOENIX | Asrock Z77E-ITX | Asus AM1I-A
Cooling Stock | Antec Kuhler 620 | Reeven Vanxie
Memory 2x4GB ADATA XPG 1600Mhz | 2x4GB Kingston 1866Mhz -|- 2x4GB Crucial Ballistix@1920Mhz
Video Card(s) RX 480 Nitro | Sapphire RX 480 w/Accelero Mono Plus | HD 8400 @ 720Mhz (IGP)
Storage LiteON 128GB mSATA+3TB Seagate | Seagate 1TBxSamung 64GB SSD (Intel RST) | Kingston v300 240GB
Display(s) Daewoo 49" 1080p | ASUS PA248Q 1920x1200 IPS
Case Corsair 250D | CoolerMaster Elite 110 | Acteck Fiji
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Seasonic SS-660XP2 | Silverstone SFX-450 | 200w mini FLEX PSU
Software Windows 10 64bit
#87
ok, seems to be working. I just can't edit the cc_config file. I can open it but the "Save" option is grayed out. Is this normal for the USB install?
 

[Ion]

WCG Team Assistant
Joined
Sep 15, 2009
Messages
13,391 (4.44/day)
Likes
14,251
Location
Raleigh, North Carolina, United States
System Name Niedersachsen / Ribe / Minsk
Processor i3 3240 / i7-3520M / 4x Opteron 6376 @ 2.86GHz
Motherboard BIOSTAR H61M / HP Q77 / Supermicro H8QG7
Cooling Stock / Stock / 4x 1U G34
Memory 1x8GB / 2x4GB / 4x4GB
Video Card(s) GTX260 / Intel HD 4000 / nVidia GT310
Storage 80GB Intel SSD / 256GB Intel SSD / 2x 60GB SSD (RAID1)
Display(s) Dell 3007 + HP 2245w / 12.1" 1366x768 / None
Case Antec NSK3480 / HP / Supermicro 1U
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Enermax 500W / HP 130W / Supermicro Gold 1400W
Keyboard IBM Model M
Software Windows 7 (Niedersachsen/Ribe) / Linux Mint 17.2 (Minsk)
#88
ok, seems to be working. I just can't edit the cc_config file. I can open it but the "Save" option is grayed out. Is this normal for the USB install?
Probably because you aren't root. Use the terminal, browse to it using the 'cd' command and then when you're there, do 'vi cc_config.xml'. VI is a bit tricky, but works well enough.
 
Joined
Aug 11, 2011
Messages
4,335 (1.87/day)
Likes
3,020
Location
Mexico
System Name STEAMBOX | GAMECUBE | EQC (Everyday Quad Core)
Processor i5 4590@3.7Ghz |i7 3770K@4Ghz -|- Athlon 5350@2.52Ghz
Motherboard GA-B85N PHOENIX | Asrock Z77E-ITX | Asus AM1I-A
Cooling Stock | Antec Kuhler 620 | Reeven Vanxie
Memory 2x4GB ADATA XPG 1600Mhz | 2x4GB Kingston 1866Mhz -|- 2x4GB Crucial Ballistix@1920Mhz
Video Card(s) RX 480 Nitro | Sapphire RX 480 w/Accelero Mono Plus | HD 8400 @ 720Mhz (IGP)
Storage LiteON 128GB mSATA+3TB Seagate | Seagate 1TBxSamung 64GB SSD (Intel RST) | Kingston v300 240GB
Display(s) Daewoo 49" 1080p | ASUS PA248Q 1920x1200 IPS
Case Corsair 250D | CoolerMaster Elite 110 | Acteck Fiji
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Seasonic SS-660XP2 | Silverstone SFX-450 | 200w mini FLEX PSU
Software Windows 10 64bit
#89
mmm... I let the PC run all night but it seems stuck??? It says "running" in the task manager but the timer doesn't move. The PC isn't frozen, I can minimize, open other apps and such. I saw the result status and it didn't turn any in :confused:

EDIT:
Is there a way to install Ubuntu to the USB key? Not a Live version but a regular installation. Maybe my board doesn't like the live mode. I just lost the mouse and can't seem to get it back, not even re-starting.

EDIT2: Installed to USB stick. Boots fine but still no mouse :banghead: Remembered why I gave up on linux. Can't seem to find my way around with just the keyboard. You'd expect Tab to move you from clickable to clickable but it doesn't always.

EDIT3: I guess it'll be wayyyyyy easier to install W7 to the USB key. Using Alt I can enter to the options I want to but since Tab doesn't move me to the next button it's no use. The arrow keys seem to work on some screens and in some don't. I want to set the client to not download more tasks in order to clean the queue on the Live USB but can't select the project or activate the option. Maybe it doesn't like my mouse for being a MS one? :banghead: I'll get another mouse just in case. On the bright side Boinc is running fine again.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Dec 18, 2009
Messages
2,406 (0.82/day)
Likes
2,460
Location
London, UK
System Name Slick
Processor Intel i5 2467M
Motherboard Samsung Series 5 Ultrabook
Memory 8GB Corsair Value
Storage Crucial M4 7mm 256GB
Display(s) 13"
Software Windows 8 Pro x64
#90
mmm... I let the PC run all night but it seems stuck??? It says "running" in the task manager but the timer doesn't move. The PC isn't frozen, I can minimize, open other apps and such. I saw the result status and it didn't turn any in :confused:

EDIT:
Is there a way to install Ubuntu to the USB key? Not a Live version but a regular installation. Maybe my board doesn't like the live mode. I just lost the mouse and can't seem to get it back, not even re-starting.

EDIT2: Installed to USB stick. Boots fine but still no mouse :banghead: Remembered why I gave up on linux. Can't seem to find my way around with just the keyboard. You'd expect Tab to move you from clickable to clickable but it doesn't always.

EDIT3: I guess it'll be wayyyyyy easier to install W7 to the USB key. Using Alt I can enter to the options I want to but since Tab doesn't move me to the next button it's no use. The arrow keys seem to work on some screens and in some don't. I want to set the client to not download more tasks in order to clean the queue on the Live USB but can't select the project or activate the option. Maybe it doesn't like my mouse for being a MS one? :banghead: I'll get another mouse just in case. On the bright side Boinc is running fine again.
Might be a long shot.. but I had that problem when running off USB 3.0 port. Try switching ports see if you can get it to not crash. If you want to have a "installed" version you might as well use something like PenDriveLinux installer and create a permanently accesible storage area with the live distro.
 
Joined
Aug 11, 2011
Messages
4,335 (1.87/day)
Likes
3,020
Location
Mexico
System Name STEAMBOX | GAMECUBE | EQC (Everyday Quad Core)
Processor i5 4590@3.7Ghz |i7 3770K@4Ghz -|- Athlon 5350@2.52Ghz
Motherboard GA-B85N PHOENIX | Asrock Z77E-ITX | Asus AM1I-A
Cooling Stock | Antec Kuhler 620 | Reeven Vanxie
Memory 2x4GB ADATA XPG 1600Mhz | 2x4GB Kingston 1866Mhz -|- 2x4GB Crucial Ballistix@1920Mhz
Video Card(s) RX 480 Nitro | Sapphire RX 480 w/Accelero Mono Plus | HD 8400 @ 720Mhz (IGP)
Storage LiteON 128GB mSATA+3TB Seagate | Seagate 1TBxSamung 64GB SSD (Intel RST) | Kingston v300 240GB
Display(s) Daewoo 49" 1080p | ASUS PA248Q 1920x1200 IPS
Case Corsair 250D | CoolerMaster Elite 110 | Acteck Fiji
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Seasonic SS-660XP2 | Silverstone SFX-450 | 200w mini FLEX PSU
Software Windows 10 64bit
#91
The board only has USB 2.0 ports. I used the PenDriveLinux to install the Live CD into a USB stick with a 6GB persistence file. With that stick I installed Ubuntu onto another USB stick (full install, not Live install) but neither one is picking up my mouse now for some reason. It just stopped working while I was settiing up the boinc client.

I could get by with the keyboard and in fact I can go to any tab I want but once in the correct tab I can't do anything. Pressing TAB doesn't take me to the next clickable button and the arrow keys don't do anything either.

I suppose that the client is at fault and not Ubuntu (I can go into Calc and move around with the KB just fine), I guess the client doesn't have provisions for computers without a mouse.
 
Joined
Sep 3, 2010
Messages
3,443 (1.29/day)
Likes
1,685
Location
NL, Europe
Processor Intel Core i5-4460
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-Z97-D3H
Cooling Arctic Freezer i11
Memory Crucial Ballistix Sport, DDR3-1600, 2x4 GB kit
Video Card(s) Sapphire Radeon R9 270X Vapor-X
Storage Kingston SSDNow V300 (120GB) + Seagate Barracuda 7200.14 (1TB)
Display(s) AOC G2260VWQ6 | Acer AL1916 (in reserve)
Case Cooler Maste Centurion 5
Audio Device(s) integrated
Power Supply Seasonic G450
Mouse Logitech G500
Keyboard Qpad MK-50
Software Windows 10
#92
Is your mouse plugged in a USB hub or so? How well are the chipset components cooled? Does the stick work on a different system?
 
Joined
Aug 11, 2011
Messages
4,335 (1.87/day)
Likes
3,020
Location
Mexico
System Name STEAMBOX | GAMECUBE | EQC (Everyday Quad Core)
Processor i5 4590@3.7Ghz |i7 3770K@4Ghz -|- Athlon 5350@2.52Ghz
Motherboard GA-B85N PHOENIX | Asrock Z77E-ITX | Asus AM1I-A
Cooling Stock | Antec Kuhler 620 | Reeven Vanxie
Memory 2x4GB ADATA XPG 1600Mhz | 2x4GB Kingston 1866Mhz -|- 2x4GB Crucial Ballistix@1920Mhz
Video Card(s) RX 480 Nitro | Sapphire RX 480 w/Accelero Mono Plus | HD 8400 @ 720Mhz (IGP)
Storage LiteON 128GB mSATA+3TB Seagate | Seagate 1TBxSamung 64GB SSD (Intel RST) | Kingston v300 240GB
Display(s) Daewoo 49" 1080p | ASUS PA248Q 1920x1200 IPS
Case Corsair 250D | CoolerMaster Elite 110 | Acteck Fiji
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Seasonic SS-660XP2 | Silverstone SFX-450 | 200w mini FLEX PSU
Software Windows 10 64bit
#93
The stick is fine, it boot ups normally. I'm not having problems with Ubuntu per se, what isn't working is my mouse. It's a MS basic optical mouse (http://www.microsoft.com/hardware/en-us/p/basic-optical-mouse/P58-00061). It was working fine but suddenly it didn't work anymore. I re-started the PC but no dice.

Ubuntu Live boots and works fine; the install I did on the other USB stick also works fine but neither seem to be able to pick up my mouse anymore. I plugged the mouse in another PC and it works fine. It's like the mouse interface is being disabled or something. Or maybe it is working but is freezed since I can see the mouse pointer on the screen.


In short Ubuntu works fine, Boinc is working fine, I just can't get my mouse to work. This wouldn't be that much of a problem if the Boinc client was manageable with the keyboard. I can use Alt to go to the desired tab but then I can't select anything with the keyboard, TAB and the arrow keys don't do a thing.

The mouse is plugged directly into the USB port.
 
Joined
Sep 3, 2010
Messages
3,443 (1.29/day)
Likes
1,685
Location
NL, Europe
Processor Intel Core i5-4460
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-Z97-D3H
Cooling Arctic Freezer i11
Memory Crucial Ballistix Sport, DDR3-1600, 2x4 GB kit
Video Card(s) Sapphire Radeon R9 270X Vapor-X
Storage Kingston SSDNow V300 (120GB) + Seagate Barracuda 7200.14 (1TB)
Display(s) AOC G2260VWQ6 | Acer AL1916 (in reserve)
Case Cooler Maste Centurion 5
Audio Device(s) integrated
Power Supply Seasonic G450
Mouse Logitech G500
Keyboard Qpad MK-50
Software Windows 10
#94
Does the mouse work with the same mouse and the same stick in another PC? Also: USB/mouse drivers are generic (inside the kernel) so brand should not matter.
 
Joined
Aug 11, 2011
Messages
4,335 (1.87/day)
Likes
3,020
Location
Mexico
System Name STEAMBOX | GAMECUBE | EQC (Everyday Quad Core)
Processor i5 4590@3.7Ghz |i7 3770K@4Ghz -|- Athlon 5350@2.52Ghz
Motherboard GA-B85N PHOENIX | Asrock Z77E-ITX | Asus AM1I-A
Cooling Stock | Antec Kuhler 620 | Reeven Vanxie
Memory 2x4GB ADATA XPG 1600Mhz | 2x4GB Kingston 1866Mhz -|- 2x4GB Crucial Ballistix@1920Mhz
Video Card(s) RX 480 Nitro | Sapphire RX 480 w/Accelero Mono Plus | HD 8400 @ 720Mhz (IGP)
Storage LiteON 128GB mSATA+3TB Seagate | Seagate 1TBxSamung 64GB SSD (Intel RST) | Kingston v300 240GB
Display(s) Daewoo 49" 1080p | ASUS PA248Q 1920x1200 IPS
Case Corsair 250D | CoolerMaster Elite 110 | Acteck Fiji
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Seasonic SS-660XP2 | Silverstone SFX-450 | 200w mini FLEX PSU
Software Windows 10 64bit
#95
Got me another mouse, a Genius this time and I'm pahhy to report that it's working fine. I don't know why it won't pickup my MS mouse.
 

CAPSLOCKSTUCK

Spaced Out Lunar Tick
Joined
Feb 26, 2013
Messages
8,263 (4.71/day)
Likes
17,431
Location
llaregguB...WALES
System Name Wendys Nightmare / Winebox/ Matchbox
Processor Xeon X5670 @4.4ghz / G540 stock/ Q 8300
Motherboard Rampage ii Extreme / Giga GA H61m/ Intel P35
Cooling modded H100 pump and 12omm rad / stock/ stock
Memory 16gb Hyper FurryX triple / 4gb ddr3 / 4gb ddr2
Video Card(s) Gigabyte Windforce Gtx 970 1485/1800
Storage Kingston V300 120gb /YES/YES/YES
Display(s) 24 HannsG / tv/ 19 "/ 24"
Case Custom treadplate /yes/ wooden winebox/ matchsticks
Audio Device(s) ASUS Supreme xfi 7.1 / ob 7.1 / o/b/ob
Power Supply Corsair 550w / XFX 550// shuttle/ shuttle
Mouse Dead.....all dead.
Keyboard IBM kb7993
Software Win 10
Benchmark Scores http://hwbot.org/user/capslockstuck/
#96
Hello to everyone,
I,m Ger i live in coastal West Wales
im thinking about folding, cant really think of a reason not to.

But it seems none of my pcs are ideal or are they?
Can anyone send me a link to the CPU chart so i can work out which components to build into it
combinations of the following are possible


CPU
Athlon ii x 4 630 (@ 3.0ghz and unlocked l3 cache)
Athlon ii x 4 640 (@ 3.3 ghz)
Core 2 duo e 3200 (i think)

GPU

HD 5770 (o/c)
HD 5750 (o/c)
Nvidia 9500 gt

MOBO

Gigabyte ga 880
Gigabyte ga 970
Gigabyte G41m combo
Gigabyte H 61mds2

RAM

about 30 gb in a variety of combinations
 
Joined
Sep 3, 2010
Messages
3,443 (1.29/day)
Likes
1,685
Location
NL, Europe
Processor Intel Core i5-4460
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-Z97-D3H
Cooling Arctic Freezer i11
Memory Crucial Ballistix Sport, DDR3-1600, 2x4 GB kit
Video Card(s) Sapphire Radeon R9 270X Vapor-X
Storage Kingston SSDNow V300 (120GB) + Seagate Barracuda 7200.14 (1TB)
Display(s) AOC G2260VWQ6 | Acer AL1916 (in reserve)
Case Cooler Maste Centurion 5
Audio Device(s) integrated
Power Supply Seasonic G450
Mouse Logitech G500
Keyboard Qpad MK-50
Software Windows 10
#97
WCG should work on those machines, folding not so much.
 
Joined
Aug 11, 2011
Messages
4,335 (1.87/day)
Likes
3,020
Location
Mexico
System Name STEAMBOX | GAMECUBE | EQC (Everyday Quad Core)
Processor i5 4590@3.7Ghz |i7 3770K@4Ghz -|- Athlon 5350@2.52Ghz
Motherboard GA-B85N PHOENIX | Asrock Z77E-ITX | Asus AM1I-A
Cooling Stock | Antec Kuhler 620 | Reeven Vanxie
Memory 2x4GB ADATA XPG 1600Mhz | 2x4GB Kingston 1866Mhz -|- 2x4GB Crucial Ballistix@1920Mhz
Video Card(s) RX 480 Nitro | Sapphire RX 480 w/Accelero Mono Plus | HD 8400 @ 720Mhz (IGP)
Storage LiteON 128GB mSATA+3TB Seagate | Seagate 1TBxSamung 64GB SSD (Intel RST) | Kingston v300 240GB
Display(s) Daewoo 49" 1080p | ASUS PA248Q 1920x1200 IPS
Case Corsair 250D | CoolerMaster Elite 110 | Acteck Fiji
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Seasonic SS-660XP2 | Silverstone SFX-450 | 200w mini FLEX PSU
Software Windows 10 64bit
#98
Hello to everyone,
I,m Ger i live in coastal West Wales
im thinking about folding, cant really think of a reason not to.

But it seems none of my pcs are ideal or are they?
Can anyone send me a link to the CPU chart so i can work out which components to build into it
combinations of the following are possible


CPU
Athlon ii x 4 630 (@ 3.0ghz and unlocked l3 cache)
Athlon ii x 4 640 (@ 3.3 ghz)
Core 2 duo e 3200 (i think)

GPU

HD 5770 (o/c)
HD 5750 (o/c)
Nvidia 9500 gt

MOBO

Gigabyte ga 880
Gigabyte ga 970
Gigabyte G41m combo
Gigabyte H 61mds2

RAM

about 30 gb in a variety of combinations
You can crunch on any CPU. For folding you'll need a GPU with OpenCL support (>DX11). The preferred GPUs for folding are >HD7770, >GT650Ti mainly for their updated microarchitectures. A 7770 will do about the same work as a 6950 and consume way less power.
 
Joined
Apr 3, 2012
Messages
3,489 (1.68/day)
Likes
7,384
Location
St. Paul, MN
System Name LappyTop/ Bay2- Lowerbay/Opticon As of 6/21/17
Processor i5 1.7GHz/ i3 2120's/i5 2400
Motherboard ASUStek/ HP mini/Dell
Cooling Air/air/air
Memory 8GB Kingston HyperX 1600/ 2GB/ 4GB samsung
Video Card(s) intel HD4000/ HD2000's/ HD2000
Storage 256GB Crucial Mx100 SSD/ couple of spinners/500GB WD
Display(s) 1366x768/ one acer x223w between the rest
Case ALU, beauty!/ HP SFF/ Dell Mini
Audio Device(s) Sonic Master/ onboard's/ onboard
Power Supply ASUS brick, 17W i5/ 19.5 volt bricks/ Dell 265W
Mouse cheap GigaWire930, CMStorm Havoc and a Logitech M510 wireless
Keyboard eMachines serial and a Dynex usb
Software WIN8.1-64bit/ Mint 18 Sarah/Mint 18
Benchmark Scores 6.9 processes per second!/ cruncher's!!