• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Laptop overclocking adventures

Joined
Oct 5, 2007
Messages
601 (0.16/day)
Likes
34
Location
North Carolina, USA
Processor Q6600 @ 3600mhz with 1600fsb
Motherboard Asus P5E x38
Cooling Zalman CPU, and 4x120mm fans
Memory 2 gig(2x1gig) Crucial ballistix 4gig(4x2gig) Corsair
Video Card(s) ATI 4850
Storage 150gig Raptorx/wd 320gig/2x raptor 37gig
Display(s) Samsung SnycMaster 906bw/acer 19inch
Case Lian Li PC V1000II
Audio Device(s) Creative SB X-FI
Power Supply 600w Silverstone ATX
Software vista 64, fruityloops, COD4, TF2, HL2
Benchmark Scores 15983 3dmark06
probably do, I know its got a 965 chipset in it. im hoping since its asus there might be something in the bios that lets me tweak. but im not getting my hopes up
 
Joined
Dec 27, 2007
Messages
8,506 (2.34/day)
Likes
2,072
Location
Kansas City
System Name The Dove Box Rev 2.0
Processor I7 5930k
Motherboard Asus X99
Cooling Custom water loop
Memory 4 x 4GB 3000 MHz DDR4
Video Card(s) 2x MSI 780 Ti's in SLI
Storage 500GB Samsung 850 PCIe SSD, 2x1TB WD Blacks, 1.2TB NAS
Display(s) 27" Asus 144Hz
Case Enermax Fulmo GT
Audio Device(s) ON BOARD FTW
Power Supply Thermaltake Toughpower 850W
Keyboard Logitech G510
Software Win 10 64x
So how did you follow up with that letter true?
 
Joined
Nov 12, 2006
Messages
2,996 (0.74/day)
Likes
232
Location
London - Close your eyes and you'll see me
System Name COLOSSUS-MK4
Processor E8400 @4.4 GHz - FSB @550 MHZ
Motherboard Asus P5K Premium (Black Pearl)
Cooling Xigmatek HDT-S1283
Memory 2x1GB Geil BlckDrgn 800 @1158 5-5-5-18
Video Card(s) 8800GT 512MB @740/1782/2080
Storage Hitachi T7K250 250GB & 7200.10 Seagate 250GB
Display(s) Gateway FPD1975W 19" Widescreen
Case Antec 1200
Audio Device(s) Xi-FI Xtreme Audio
Power Supply CoolerMaster IGreen 500W
Software XP Home SP3
Benchmark Scores SuperPi: 10.563 Sciencemark: 2563.14
So how did you follow up with that letter true?
With a small reply - ie thanks for the letter :p - I'll make another at some point but I;ve got a lot of work on atm.
 
Joined
Dec 27, 2007
Messages
8,506 (2.34/day)
Likes
2,072
Location
Kansas City
System Name The Dove Box Rev 2.0
Processor I7 5930k
Motherboard Asus X99
Cooling Custom water loop
Memory 4 x 4GB 3000 MHz DDR4
Video Card(s) 2x MSI 780 Ti's in SLI
Storage 500GB Samsung 850 PCIe SSD, 2x1TB WD Blacks, 1.2TB NAS
Display(s) 27" Asus 144Hz
Case Enermax Fulmo GT
Audio Device(s) ON BOARD FTW
Power Supply Thermaltake Toughpower 850W
Keyboard Logitech G510
Software Win 10 64x
The ? raises the issue of paying for something. A topic I'm not familiar with. I really like my free stuff.

Just curious you thoughts on paying for custom Bios'
 
Joined
Nov 12, 2006
Messages
2,996 (0.74/day)
Likes
232
Location
London - Close your eyes and you'll see me
System Name COLOSSUS-MK4
Processor E8400 @4.4 GHz - FSB @550 MHZ
Motherboard Asus P5K Premium (Black Pearl)
Cooling Xigmatek HDT-S1283
Memory 2x1GB Geil BlckDrgn 800 @1158 5-5-5-18
Video Card(s) 8800GT 512MB @740/1782/2080
Storage Hitachi T7K250 250GB & 7200.10 Seagate 250GB
Display(s) Gateway FPD1975W 19" Widescreen
Case Antec 1200
Audio Device(s) Xi-FI Xtreme Audio
Power Supply CoolerMaster IGreen 500W
Software XP Home SP3
Benchmark Scores SuperPi: 10.563 Sciencemark: 2563.14
The ? raises the issue of paying for something. A topic I'm not familiar with. I really like my free stuff.

Just curious you thoughts on paying for custom Bios'
Lets put it this way - If I spent £2000 on a laptop I'd be prepared to pay a little extra. If I had not paid £2000 then maybe not. It depends on the situation(doesn't everything :rolleyes:)
 

ho0dzy

New Member
Joined
Jan 25, 2008
Messages
97 (0.03/day)
Likes
0
System Name HP Pavillion dv9930us
Processor Intel Core 2 Duo CPU T5750 @ 2.0 GHz
Memory 4.00 GB
Video Card(s) NVidia GeForce 8600M GS
Storage 300 GB
Software Windows Vista Home Premium (64 Bit Edition)
I have started my own post with all of the following information here. If you could please reply to that post rather than reply here, I'd really appreciate all of the help I can get!

Here's what the post states:

Hi Everyone,

I've just recently purchased a new custom-built laptop from CyberPowerPC.com.

The link to the laptop I've purchased is here

My system specs are as follows:

Windows Vista Home Basic (64 bit ed.)
Service Pack 1 (trying to force it to update to Service Pack 2... doesn't seem to want to)
Processor: AMD Turion 64 X2 Mobile TL-64 2.20 GHz
RAM: 4.00 GB
Video Card: ATI Mobility Radeon HD 2600

I've "toned down" vista abit so it's not as "pretty" and has a more simplified look, but I'm still only getting FPS in World of Warcraft of about ~30 or so. I've used the Mobility Modifier to modify the ATI Radeon HD 2600 drivers to a mobility format, and installed them - only kicking up my FPS to about ~35 in WoW.

My setting sin WoW are fairly simple, Terrain Distance is low, Environment Detail, Texture Resolution, and Spell Detail are all maxed but the rest are turned to their lowest setting. I'm also running in Windowed Mode (maximized) and have Vertical Sync off.

Any ideas as to what I can do to kick up my FPS?
 

ho0dzy

New Member
Joined
Jan 25, 2008
Messages
97 (0.03/day)
Likes
0
System Name HP Pavillion dv9930us
Processor Intel Core 2 Duo CPU T5750 @ 2.0 GHz
Memory 4.00 GB
Video Card(s) NVidia GeForce 8600M GS
Storage 300 GB
Software Windows Vista Home Premium (64 Bit Edition)
Having a problem with NHC -> I'm using Windows Vista 64 Bit and it's telling me that it cannot find the driver for NHC when I try to run it after a fresh install :banghead:

I really like this program too, as it monitors heat really well and I've used it on my previous laptop. Does anybody have any suggestions, or perhaps know of any other programs that work like this one for Vista 64 bit?

Also, ATITool 0.24 is not working on my laptop either, it gives me some sort of error regarding the Kernel and when I open the program won't let me mess with the bars.

Edit: It seems like NONE of these programs seem to want to work with Vista 64 bit. Help!
 
Joined
Jan 27, 2007
Messages
3,962 (1.00/day)
Likes
184
Location
Severn, MD, USA.
Processor C2D T7200@2 ghz vcore: .9875
Motherboard generic laptop board
Cooling fan control and antec notebook cooler
Memory 2 GBs@ 533 mhz ddr2
Video Card(s) x1400 mobile, overclocked: 526mhz core/ 882mhz ddr
Storage 120 GB@ 5400 rpm fujitsu
Display(s) 15.4" 1440x900
Audio Device(s) integrated
Software vista 32 bit home premium
Having a problem with NHC -> I'm using Windows Vista 64 Bit and it's telling me that it cannot find the driver for NHC when I try to run it after a fresh install :banghead:

I really like this program too, as it monitors heat really well and I've used it on my previous laptop. Does anybody have any suggestions, or perhaps know of any other programs that work like this one for Vista 64 bit?

Also, ATITool 0.24 is not working on my laptop either, it gives me some sort of error regarding the Kernel and when I open the program won't let me mess with the bars.

Edit: It seems like NONE of these programs seem to want to work with Vista 64 bit. Help!
Well I know NHC doesn't officially support Vista 64 bit right now
 

ho0dzy

New Member
Joined
Jan 25, 2008
Messages
97 (0.03/day)
Likes
0
System Name HP Pavillion dv9930us
Processor Intel Core 2 Duo CPU T5750 @ 2.0 GHz
Memory 4.00 GB
Video Card(s) NVidia GeForce 8600M GS
Storage 300 GB
Software Windows Vista Home Premium (64 Bit Edition)
Yeah, sadly. I'm going through some guides right now on optimizing my Vista performance a bit which will *hopefully* help :ohwell:
 
Joined
Dec 27, 2007
Messages
8,506 (2.34/day)
Likes
2,072
Location
Kansas City
System Name The Dove Box Rev 2.0
Processor I7 5930k
Motherboard Asus X99
Cooling Custom water loop
Memory 4 x 4GB 3000 MHz DDR4
Video Card(s) 2x MSI 780 Ti's in SLI
Storage 500GB Samsung 850 PCIe SSD, 2x1TB WD Blacks, 1.2TB NAS
Display(s) 27" Asus 144Hz
Case Enermax Fulmo GT
Audio Device(s) ON BOARD FTW
Power Supply Thermaltake Toughpower 850W
Keyboard Logitech G510
Software Win 10 64x
Have you tried 0.26 ?

Perhaps submitting a bug in the ati tool thread might give further details.
 
Last edited:

ho0dzy

New Member
Joined
Jan 25, 2008
Messages
97 (0.03/day)
Likes
0
System Name HP Pavillion dv9930us
Processor Intel Core 2 Duo CPU T5750 @ 2.0 GHz
Memory 4.00 GB
Video Card(s) NVidia GeForce 8600M GS
Storage 300 GB
Software Windows Vista Home Premium (64 Bit Edition)
What's "safe" and whats "pushing it" with CPU / GPU Temperatures????
 
Joined
Jan 27, 2007
Messages
3,962 (1.00/day)
Likes
184
Location
Severn, MD, USA.
Processor C2D T7200@2 ghz vcore: .9875
Motherboard generic laptop board
Cooling fan control and antec notebook cooler
Memory 2 GBs@ 533 mhz ddr2
Video Card(s) x1400 mobile, overclocked: 526mhz core/ 882mhz ddr
Storage 120 GB@ 5400 rpm fujitsu
Display(s) 15.4" 1440x900
Audio Device(s) integrated
Software vista 32 bit home premium
What's "safe" and whats "pushing it" with CPU / GPU Temperatures????
Cpu max is usually somewhere in 60-70 for a safe temp, for a turion its on the upper end of that. GPU-I wouldn't want to run it hotter than say 70, but people say they're good for 100. Oh that's all in Celsius btw.
 

ho0dzy

New Member
Joined
Jan 25, 2008
Messages
97 (0.03/day)
Likes
0
System Name HP Pavillion dv9930us
Processor Intel Core 2 Duo CPU T5750 @ 2.0 GHz
Memory 4.00 GB
Video Card(s) NVidia GeForce 8600M GS
Storage 300 GB
Software Windows Vista Home Premium (64 Bit Edition)
I've managed to get Clockgen to work on Vista 64 bit by using F8 on startup. I'm now just trying to find a program that will allow me to edit clock settings on my GPU

Rather, I need to figur eout how to use Rivatuner
 
Last edited:
Joined
Dec 27, 2007
Messages
8,506 (2.34/day)
Likes
2,072
Location
Kansas City
System Name The Dove Box Rev 2.0
Processor I7 5930k
Motherboard Asus X99
Cooling Custom water loop
Memory 4 x 4GB 3000 MHz DDR4
Video Card(s) 2x MSI 780 Ti's in SLI
Storage 500GB Samsung 850 PCIe SSD, 2x1TB WD Blacks, 1.2TB NAS
Display(s) 27" Asus 144Hz
Case Enermax Fulmo GT
Audio Device(s) ON BOARD FTW
Power Supply Thermaltake Toughpower 850W
Keyboard Logitech G510
Software Win 10 64x
What's "safe" and whats "pushing it" with CPU / GPU Temperatures????
My amd hits 80 C after some time of gaming. My set up really needs a cooler though. GPU temps are good under 80 C as well. I find 80+ during benching, but again my lappy is a devil from hell and likes it hot! :cool:

I like using ATi tool due to the 3d box for scanning 4 artifacts. Just seeing a visual helps if your oc'ing too much. You can use fur bench to simulate a one minute benchmark, short sweet and to the point. It's more for GPU benching than 3d06, but very nice for quickie benchs that may show any artifacting!

Hope this helps!

Now that you've overclocked, bench it!
 

ho0dzy

New Member
Joined
Jan 25, 2008
Messages
97 (0.03/day)
Likes
0
System Name HP Pavillion dv9930us
Processor Intel Core 2 Duo CPU T5750 @ 2.0 GHz
Memory 4.00 GB
Video Card(s) NVidia GeForce 8600M GS
Storage 300 GB
Software Windows Vista Home Premium (64 Bit Edition)
Unfortunately I can't seem to figure out how to use RivaTuner :banghead: atleast all of the area's I'm supposed to be able to select to OC it don't appear to be selectable :mad: and I just reverted my drivers to what ATI provides, no dice.
 
Joined
Oct 14, 2007
Messages
302 (0.08/day)
Likes
35
Location
Shelby Township, MI
I haven't logged on in ages but just got a new fan for my laptop and can overclock my x1400 higher now safely so figured I'd look and see what my old 3DMarks had been to compare with what I can get now. Downloading 3DMark05 still but curious if anyone's gotten a x1400 clocked above 546.75/513.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Oct 14, 2007
Messages
302 (0.08/day)
Likes
35
Location
Shelby Township, MI
Seems to be a pretty average score, tested again and landed a 4809 which is 6 lower but that's pretty much negligible, but looked at the results page and seems the average score for a x1400 is around 3750, so not too shabby really.
 
Joined
Dec 10, 2007
Messages
7,185 (1.97/day)
Likes
769
Location
Adelaide Australia
System Name Becca 2
Processor AMD A10 4600m quad core @ 2.3 ghz
Motherboard dunno
Cooling Logitech alto connect
Memory 16 Gig ddr3 1600mhz
Video Card(s) Ati HD 7660G + & 7470M
Storage 1 TB
Audio Device(s) onboard crap
Software Windows 7 Home Premium 64 bit with sp1
Not too shaby at all man i wouldnt even no what score mine system would get ages since i ran 06 :/
 
Joined
Oct 14, 2007
Messages
302 (0.08/day)
Likes
35
Location
Shelby Township, MI
Hmm, got the core stable one setting higher actually, 4837 now. Tried raising the core and mem each one more setting but that's not going to happen, both times it froze on 3DMark around 20 seconds into the 1st test.
 

Attachments

Joined
Oct 14, 2007
Messages
302 (0.08/day)
Likes
35
Location
Shelby Township, MI
What you're 7600'd score actually interests me a lot, it was the higher up option that came with my laptop but was an extra $250, I'd be ecstatic if my overclocked x1400 could out-score a stock 7600
 
Joined
Dec 10, 2007
Messages
7,185 (1.97/day)
Likes
769
Location
Adelaide Australia
System Name Becca 2
Processor AMD A10 4600m quad core @ 2.3 ghz
Motherboard dunno
Cooling Logitech alto connect
Memory 16 Gig ddr3 1600mhz
Video Card(s) Ati HD 7660G + & 7470M
Storage 1 TB
Audio Device(s) onboard crap
Software Windows 7 Home Premium 64 bit with sp1
Ill fire up 3d mark 06 and let ya no what i score mon my bet is ya will get more as mine lappys all stock.
 
Joined
Oct 14, 2007
Messages
302 (0.08/day)
Likes
35
Location
Shelby Township, MI
Nm, looked the 7600 gets 7,000+ on 03, heh can't touch that. Which pisses me off, because Alienware discontinued my model shortly after I got it and now the lowest video card any Alienware laptop ships with is a 8700M GT and those score 15,000+ on 03, and the high end of their laptops now ship with 8800M GTX's in SLI