• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

massive vdroop?

3xploit

New Member
Joined
Aug 20, 2007
Messages
275 (0.07/day)
Likes
24
Location
Canada
Processor i7 920 @ 3.9ghz 1.33vLoad
Motherboard evga x58
Cooling TRUE
Memory 6x1gb Aeneon 1600
Video Card(s) GTS 512 820/2052/1107 + accelero s1 (2x 120mm fans)
Storage Western Digital 500gb SATA
Display(s) ViewSonic 22" 1680x1050
Case Antec Three Hundred
Audio Device(s) ONBOARD
Power Supply Tuniq 5501
Software Windows 7 x64 7100
#1
In the bios I have core voltage set to 1.325, but cpuz reports 1.280? Am I missing something or does my board have vdroop?
 

pbmaster

New Member
Joined
Aug 6, 2006
Messages
2,588 (0.62/day)
Likes
288
Location
Savannah, GA
Processor AMD Phenom II 955
Motherboard Asus Crosshair III Formula
Cooling Cooler Master V8 CPU cooler, 120 mm and 200 mm exhaust, 3 x 120 mm intake
Memory 4 GB OCZ DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) Sapphire Radeon HD 4890
Storage Western Digital 500 GB Blacks in RAID 0/ Wesdtern Digital SE16 250 GB
Display(s) Acer 19" widescreen
Case Antec Nine Hundred
Audio Device(s) Supreme X-Fi
Power Supply Seasonic M12 SS-700HM
Software Windows Vista Home Premium x64 SP2
Benchmark Scores 3dMark 03-~62k 3dMark 05-~22k 3dMark 06-18268
#2
As far as I know CPUZ isn't the best utility for accurately reading voltages. I have mine set to 1.4 v in BIOS but CPUZ says 1.280 v.
 

3xploit

New Member
Joined
Aug 20, 2007
Messages
275 (0.07/day)
Likes
24
Location
Canada
Processor i7 920 @ 3.9ghz 1.33vLoad
Motherboard evga x58
Cooling TRUE
Memory 6x1gb Aeneon 1600
Video Card(s) GTS 512 820/2052/1107 + accelero s1 (2x 120mm fans)
Storage Western Digital 500gb SATA
Display(s) ViewSonic 22" 1680x1050
Case Antec Three Hundred
Audio Device(s) ONBOARD
Power Supply Tuniq 5501
Software Windows 7 x64 7100
#3
As far as I know CPUZ isn't the best utility for accurately reading voltages. I have mine set to 1.4 v in BIOS but CPUZ says 1.280 v.
what other programs accurately measure voltages?
 

JC316

Knows what makes you tick
Joined
Jan 24, 2006
Messages
9,370 (2.16/day)
Likes
982
System Name Budget Gaming
Processor AMD FX6300
Motherboard Gigabyte 880GMA-USB3
Cooling Coolermaster Hyper 212+
Memory 8GB Ripjaws DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) HD7850 1GB
Storage 1TB Sata2
Display(s) Acer 24" LED
Case Generic black
Audio Device(s) Stock onboard
Power Supply FSP Aurum Gold 650W
Software Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit
#4
CPUid.com hwmonitor. It's about as accurate as they come for temps and volts. You find it at the same place that has CPU-Z
 
Joined
Jul 28, 2007
Messages
8,013 (2.11/day)
Likes
854
Location
Dorset, UK
System Name Gaming Rig | Uni Laptop
Processor Intel Q6600 G0 (2007) @ 3.6Ghz @ 1.45625v (LLC) / 4 GHz Bench @ 1.63v | AMD Turion 64 X2 TL-62 2 GHz
Motherboard ASUS P5Q Deluxe (Intel P45) | HP 6715b
Cooling Xigmatek Dark Knight w/AC MX2 ~ Case Fans: 2 x 180mm + 1 x 120mm Silverstone Fans
Memory 4GB OCZ Platinum PC2-8000 @ 1000Mhz 5-5-5-15 2.1v | 2 x 1GB DDR2 667 MHz
Video Card(s) XFX GTX 285 1GB, Modded FTW BIOS @ 725/1512/1350 w/Accelero Xtreme GTX 280 + Scythe sinks| ATI X1250
Storage 2x WD6400AAKS 1 TB Raid 0, 140GB Raid 1 & 80GB Maxtor Basics External HDD (storage) | 160GB 2.5"
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster SM2433BW @ 1920 x 1200 via DVI-D | 15.4" WSXGA+ (1680 x 1050 resolution)
Case Silverstone Fortress FT01B-W ~ Logitech G15 R1 / Microsoft Laser Mouse 6000
Audio Device(s) Soundmax AD2000BX Onboard Sound, via Logitech X-230 2.1 | ADI SoundMAX HD Audio
Power Supply Corsair TX650W | HP 90W
Software Windows 7 Ultimate Build 7100 x64 | Windows 7 Ultimate Build 7100 x64
Benchmark Scores 3DM06: 19519, Vantage: P16170 ~ Win7: -CPU 7.5 -MEM 7.5 -AERO 7.9 -GFX 6.0 -HDD 6.0
#5
is CPU-z reporting 1.28 under 100% load, or idle?
 

3xploit

New Member
Joined
Aug 20, 2007
Messages
275 (0.07/day)
Likes
24
Location
Canada
Processor i7 920 @ 3.9ghz 1.33vLoad
Motherboard evga x58
Cooling TRUE
Memory 6x1gb Aeneon 1600
Video Card(s) GTS 512 820/2052/1107 + accelero s1 (2x 120mm fans)
Storage Western Digital 500gb SATA
Display(s) ViewSonic 22" 1680x1050
Case Antec Three Hundred
Audio Device(s) ONBOARD
Power Supply Tuniq 5501
Software Windows 7 x64 7100
#6
Joined
Jul 28, 2007
Messages
8,013 (2.11/day)
Likes
854
Location
Dorset, UK
System Name Gaming Rig | Uni Laptop
Processor Intel Q6600 G0 (2007) @ 3.6Ghz @ 1.45625v (LLC) / 4 GHz Bench @ 1.63v | AMD Turion 64 X2 TL-62 2 GHz
Motherboard ASUS P5Q Deluxe (Intel P45) | HP 6715b
Cooling Xigmatek Dark Knight w/AC MX2 ~ Case Fans: 2 x 180mm + 1 x 120mm Silverstone Fans
Memory 4GB OCZ Platinum PC2-8000 @ 1000Mhz 5-5-5-15 2.1v | 2 x 1GB DDR2 667 MHz
Video Card(s) XFX GTX 285 1GB, Modded FTW BIOS @ 725/1512/1350 w/Accelero Xtreme GTX 280 + Scythe sinks| ATI X1250
Storage 2x WD6400AAKS 1 TB Raid 0, 140GB Raid 1 & 80GB Maxtor Basics External HDD (storage) | 160GB 2.5"
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster SM2433BW @ 1920 x 1200 via DVI-D | 15.4" WSXGA+ (1680 x 1050 resolution)
Case Silverstone Fortress FT01B-W ~ Logitech G15 R1 / Microsoft Laser Mouse 6000
Audio Device(s) Soundmax AD2000BX Onboard Sound, via Logitech X-230 2.1 | ADI SoundMAX HD Audio
Power Supply Corsair TX650W | HP 90W
Software Windows 7 Ultimate Build 7100 x64 | Windows 7 Ultimate Build 7100 x64
Benchmark Scores 3DM06: 19519, Vantage: P16170 ~ Win7: -CPU 7.5 -MEM 7.5 -AERO 7.9 -GFX 6.0 -HDD 6.0
#7
Thats why then. You probably have one of the two power saving features turned on. Either EIST, speedstep (same thing) or C1E, Enhanced Halt State (those two same as well)

Its completely normal. The vdroop is the value you get under 100% load.

At idle, the power saving features trigger and usually drop the CPU multi and Core voltage to save power/heat.

:toast:
 

3xploit

New Member
Joined
Aug 20, 2007
Messages
275 (0.07/day)
Likes
24
Location
Canada
Processor i7 920 @ 3.9ghz 1.33vLoad
Motherboard evga x58
Cooling TRUE
Memory 6x1gb Aeneon 1600
Video Card(s) GTS 512 820/2052/1107 + accelero s1 (2x 120mm fans)
Storage Western Digital 500gb SATA
Display(s) ViewSonic 22" 1680x1050
Case Antec Three Hundred
Audio Device(s) ONBOARD
Power Supply Tuniq 5501
Software Windows 7 x64 7100
#8
Thats why then. You probably have one of the two power saving features turned on. Either EIST, speedstep (same thing) or C1E, Enhanced Halt State (those two same as well)

Its completely normal. The vdroop is the value you get under 100% load.

At idle, the power saving features trigger and usually drop the CPU multi and Core voltage to save power/heat.

:toast:
wait I ran a prime95 test and vcore dropped to 1.264v?! :confused: which is weird because that means my e6300 is 3.0ghz stable at 1.264v? speedstep and c1e are disabled.