• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Microsoft DirectStorage Walled Off from Windows 10, Now Needs Windows 11 and DirectX 12 Ultimate GPU

W1zzard

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
May 14, 2004
Messages
22,537 (3.58/day)
Processor Core i7-8700K
Memory 32 GB
Video Card(s) RTX 3080
Display(s) 30" 2560x1600 + 19" 1280x1024
Software Windows 10 64-bit
I was under the impression directstorage didn't increase install sizes at all
That's what I thought, too. Maybe in the long term devs will be tempted to ship more data because it can be loaded so quickly and isn't as constrained by VRAM

Maybe the compression is slightly worse than the zlib that typical games use, doubt it.

if anything it meant texture packs could be smaller as the latency to access each texture in a scene is minimal
Could you elaborate how you think latency affects size?
 
Joined
Jun 19, 2010
Messages
296 (0.07/day)
Location
North-Rhine-Westphalia
Processor Ryzen 2700 (0.819 VSoC)
Motherboard B450
Cooling Thermalright ARO
Memory 2x 8GB DDR4-3000 CL16 XMP
Video Card(s) GTX 1650 boost:1859 vram:2500
Storage 1TB PCIe4.0 NVMe Samsung PM9A1
Display(s) 4K UHD 40" HDR TV
Case Sharkoon AM5 Window red
Audio Device(s) Headset
Power Supply beQuiet PurePower10 400W
Software Win10
Regarding DirectStorage there is no exact communicated answer for minimum requirement.
Some official info says Win11 + NVMe PCIe3.0 1TB or more + ShaderModel6 ... but sometimes DX12 Ultimate is communicated as if it was minimum requirement.
also resizeableBAR was never mentioned in any DirectStorage context and is not needed

Microsoft really needs to clarify this whole deal.
 
Last edited:

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
50,583 (8.23/day)
Location
Oystralia
System Name Rainbow Sparkles
Processor Ryzen R7 5800X (EK Quantum Velocity block) (PBO tweaked, 4.4-5.05GHz)
Motherboard Asus x570 Gaming-F
Cooling Custom EK loop, 360mm top exhaust rad 280mm front intake rad
Memory 64GB DDR4 3600 Corsair Vengeance RGB @ 3800 C16
Video Card(s) Galax RTX 3090 SG 24GB - EK Quantum ARGB block w/ active backplate 1750MHz 737mv | 10950MHz VRAM
Storage 1TB Sasmsung 970 Pro NVME + 500GB 850 Evo
Display(s) Gigabyte G32QC + Phillips 328m6fjrmb (2x 32" 1440p 165Hz/144Hz curved )
Case Fractal Design R6
Audio Device(s) Razer Leviathan + Corsair Void pro RGB, Blue Yeti mic
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G Pro wireless + Steelseries Prisma XL
Keyboard Razer Huntsman TE
VR HMD Oculus Rift S
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Lots of RGB, so you know it's fast.
I was under the impression directstorage didn't increase install sizes at all; if anything it meant texture packs could be smaller as the latency to access each texture in a scene is minimal by comparison to a mechanical drive (given directstorage mandates NAND storage) .
Have we ever given devs more powerful hardware and been rewarded with optimisation, or have they got lazy and thrown worse code at us since it now runs fine?
 
Joined
Jun 19, 2010
Messages
296 (0.07/day)
Location
North-Rhine-Westphalia
Processor Ryzen 2700 (0.819 VSoC)
Motherboard B450
Cooling Thermalright ARO
Memory 2x 8GB DDR4-3000 CL16 XMP
Video Card(s) GTX 1650 boost:1859 vram:2500
Storage 1TB PCIe4.0 NVMe Samsung PM9A1
Display(s) 4K UHD 40" HDR TV
Case Sharkoon AM5 Window red
Audio Device(s) Headset
Power Supply beQuiet PurePower10 400W
Software Win10
That's what I thought, too. Maybe in the long term devs will be tempted to ship more data because it can be loaded so quickly and isn't as constrained by VRAM

Maybe the compression is slightly worse than the zlib that typical games use, doubt it.


Could you elaborate how you think latency affects size?
In some early Livestream it was communicated, that discsize and memory needed at runtime can be less, because of nomore or more seldom used redundant data to reduce hickups otherwise caused by slow drives or pre-directstorage communication
 

W1zzard

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
May 14, 2004
Messages
22,537 (3.58/day)
Processor Core i7-8700K
Memory 32 GB
Video Card(s) RTX 3080
Display(s) 30" 2560x1600 + 19" 1280x1024
Software Windows 10 64-bit
because of nomore or more seldom used redundant data to reduce hickups
So they are saying that developers included significant amounts of duplicate data in their games, to reduce disk seeks? I find that very hard to believe.

Assuming a HDD that reads at 200 MB/s, with a seek time of 10 ms, a seek "costs" 2 MB. Once the data is in memory access to it is constant-cost

memory needed at runtime can be less
that is very plausible, because you can load stuff from disk very fast, so you can aggressively garbage collect in memory
 
Joined
Jul 28, 2016
Messages
128 (0.07/day)
Location
Sydney, Australia
System Name Main Gaming Rig
Processor Intel Core i7 9700K @ 5.0Ghz
Motherboard ASUS Maximus XI Hero (Wi-Fi)
Cooling NZXT Kraken X52 Rev2 in Pull Config & 3 Fractal Design Dynamic X2 GP-14 fans
Memory 2 x Corsair Vengeance RGB CMW32GX4M2C3200C16 32GB (2x16GB) DDR4
Video Card(s) Asus Strix GTX 1080Ti ROG-STRIX-GTX1080TI-O11G-GAMING
Storage 2 x 1TB Samsung 970 Evo Plus nVme SSD's & Seagate Barracuda 2TB ST2000DM001
Display(s) Asus ROG PG279Q 27" 16:9 2560x1440 144/165Hz & Asus PB278Q 27” 16:9 2560x1440
Case Fractal Design Define R6 Tempered Glass USB-C
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply SeaSonic PRIME Ultra Titanium 1000 W 80+ Titanium
Mouse Razer DeathAdder Chroma
Keyboard Razer Blackwidow Chroma v2
Software Windows 10 Pro 64 Bit
Wait, so I would have to downgrade to Microsoft's Standard NVM Express Controller driver to use this too, on my Samsung SSD's, that without their nVME driver, would perform way worse? wow, just the stupidity of this alongside MS really forcing the MS Account requirement.
 
Joined
Aug 8, 2015
Messages
104 (0.05/day)
Location
Finland
System Name Gaming rig
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 5900X
Motherboard Asus X570-Plus TUF /w "passive" chipset mod
Cooling Noctua NH-D15S
Memory Crucial Ballistix Sport LT 2x16GB 3200C16 @3600C16
Video Card(s) MSI RTX 3060 TI Gaming X Trio
Storage Samsung 970 Pro 1TB, Crucial MX500 2TB, Samsung 860 QVO 4TB
Display(s) Samsung C32HG7x
Case Fractal Design Define R5
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar Essence STX
Power Supply Corsair RM850i 850W
Mouse Logitech G502 Hero
Keyboard Logitech G710+
Software Windows 10 Pro
Wait, so I would have to downgrade to Microsoft's Standard NVM Express Controller driver to use this too, on my Samsung SSD's, that without their nVME driver, would perform way worse? wow, just the stupidity of this alongside MS really forcing the MS Account requirement.

Obviously the NVME driver needs to support DirectStorage, maybe Samsung can just make a new (updated) driver to add support for this. Lets wait and see on this one, I'm sure lot of these will get clarified when we get more info as the actual release gets closer.

Also the 1TB drive and DX12 ultimate requirement seems to have been removed from DirectStorage requirements.

  • DirectStorage requires an NVMe SSD to store and run games that use the "Standard NVM Express Controller" driver and a DirectX12 GPU with Shader Model 6.0 support.
Windows 11 Specifications - Microsoft
 
Joined
Feb 20, 2019
Messages
2,738 (3.05/day)
System Name Flavour of the month. I roll through hardware like it's not even mine (it often isn't).
Processor 5800X / 3600XT / 4700U
Motherboard Aorus X570 Elite / B550 DS3H
Cooling Alphacool full custom loop 360+140mm radiators / AMD Wraith Prism
Memory 32GB Patriot 3600CL17 / 32GB Corsair LPX 3200CL16 / 16GB LPDDR4X
Video Card(s) 2070S / 2060S / Vega7
Storage 1TB WD S100G + 2TB Adata SX8200 Pro / 1TB Adata SX8200 Pro+ 1TB MX500 / 20TB Synology DS220+
Display(s) Dell SG3220 165Hz VA / Samsung 65" Q9FN 120Hz VA
Case NZXT H440NE / Silverstone GD04 (almost nothing original left inside, thanks 3D printer!)
Audio Device(s) CA DacMagic+ with Presonus Eris E5 / Yamaha RX-V683 with Q Acoustics 3000-series / Sony MDR-1A
Power Supply BeQuiet StraightPower E9 680W / Corsair RM550
Mouse G303 / MX Anywhere 2 / Another MX Anywhere 2
Keyboard CM QuickFire Stealth (Cherry MX Brown) / Logitech MX Keys (not Cherry MX at all)
VR HMD Samsung Oddyssey
Software W10
Benchmark Scores I once clocked a Celeron-300A to 564MHz on an Abit BE6 and it scored over 9000.
Ugh, not this bullshit again... :|
 
Joined
Mar 10, 2010
Messages
9,035 (2.17/day)
Location
Manchester uk
System Name RyzenGtEvo/ Asus strix scar II
Processor Amd R7 3800X@4.350/525/ Intel 8750H
Motherboard Crosshair hero7 @bios 2703/?
Cooling 360EK extreme rad+ 360$EK slim all push, cpu Monoblock Gpu full cover all EK
Memory Corsair Vengeance Rgb pro 3600cas14 32Gb in four sticks./16Gb
Video Card(s) Sapphire refference Rx vega 64 EK waterblocked/Rtx 2060
Storage Silicon power qlc nvmex3 in raid 0/8Tb external/1Tb samsung Evo nvme 2Tb sata ssd
Display(s) Samsung UAE28"850R 4k freesync.
Case Lianli p0-11 dynamic
Audio Device(s) Xfi creative 7.1 on board ,Yamaha dts av setup, corsair void pro headset
Power Supply corsair 1200Hxi
Mouse Roccat Kova/ Logitech G wireless
Keyboard Roccat Aimo 120
VR HMD Oculus rift
Software Win 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores 8726 vega 3dmark timespy/ laptop Timespy 6506
It's not the first time that MS restricts from it's current operating system something that can easily support in favor of a new version of it's operating system. It's stupid, they have done it a numerous times, but on the other hand they can't just sell a new UI interface as a new OS. They have to at least pretend that the new version brings something that the old version can not provide.
Exactly, it's to be expected, not that I like it mind.
But they have to nudge us on somehow.
 
Joined
Jun 19, 2010
Messages
296 (0.07/day)
Location
North-Rhine-Westphalia
Processor Ryzen 2700 (0.819 VSoC)
Motherboard B450
Cooling Thermalright ARO
Memory 2x 8GB DDR4-3000 CL16 XMP
Video Card(s) GTX 1650 boost:1859 vram:2500
Storage 1TB PCIe4.0 NVMe Samsung PM9A1
Display(s) 4K UHD 40" HDR TV
Case Sharkoon AM5 Window red
Audio Device(s) Headset
Power Supply beQuiet PurePower10 400W
Software Win10
So they are saying that developers included significant amounts of duplicate data in their games, to reduce disk seeks? I find that very hard to believe.

Assuming a HDD that reads at 200 MB/s, with a seek time of 10 ms, a seek "costs" 2 MB. Once the data is in memory access to it is constant-cost


that is very plausible, because you can load stuff from disk very fast, so you can aggressively garbage collect in memory
The wrapped and compressed data on disk is held as small as possible, but there are dublicates to reduce loadtimes, i don´t remember it exactly but the assets are in chunks and those need dublicates of some data of other related chunks, so they dont need to load the other chunk(s) too ... something like that
im searching right now be kind im no wizzard
 
Joined
Feb 20, 2020
Messages
2,433 (4.57/day)
Location
Texas
System Name Ghetto Rigs x299 & z490 & x99 & Q9550 Old timer
Processor 9940x w/Optimus SigV2 & 10900k w/Optimus Foundation & 5930k w/EK Magnitude & Q9550 w/EK Evo
Motherboard X299 Rampage VI Apex & z490 Maximus XII Apex & x99 Sabertooth & Acer WG43M
Cooling D5 combo/280 GTX/ VRM water block copper/280 GTX/ D5 Top/Optimus sigV2/TitanXp/Mora 360x2
Memory Trident-Z 3600C16 4x8gb & Trident-Z 3600c16 2x8gb & Trident-Z 3200c14 4x8gb & 4x2gb crucial
Video Card(s) Titan Xp & 1080ti ftw3 & evga 980ti gaming & Onboard graphic's need another gpu
Storage 970 evo plus 500gb & 970 evo 500gb many 2.5" ssd's and WD BLK hdd's
Display(s) 1-AOC G2460PG 24"G-Sync 144Hz/ 2nd 1-ASUS VG248QE 24"/ 3rd LG 43" series
Case D450 second floor for 2nd rad x2/ Cherry Entertainment center/ 2 Test benches
Audio Device(s) Built in Realtek x2 with Insignia 2.0 sound bars & 1-LG sound bar
Power Supply EVGA 1200P2 & 1000P2 with APC AX1500 & 850P2 with CyberPower-GX1325U & 1-750P2-extra
Mouse Redragon Perdition x3
Keyboard G910 & G710+x2
Software Win-7 pro x3 and Linux Cinnamon 20.1x2 & win-10 pro x3
In theory Shader Model 6.0 is supported all the way back to GCN 1 and Kepler.

Just take M$ requirements with an ocean of salt. As usual they have trouble distinguishing their rear end from their mouth.
The support CPU list are even more entertaining.
For whatever black magic, Zen1 and Skylake CPUs are not supported, while Zen APUs and Zen+ also Coffelake are.
There are no practical difference in the ISA of Zen and Zen+ or between SkyLake/KabyLake/CoffeeLake.
Hi,
Yeah thought it was funny not to see skylake-x listed at all my poor 9940x was crying lol

As far as direct storage... well I can live without it.
 
Joined
Jun 19, 2010
Messages
296 (0.07/day)
Location
North-Rhine-Westphalia
Processor Ryzen 2700 (0.819 VSoC)
Motherboard B450
Cooling Thermalright ARO
Memory 2x 8GB DDR4-3000 CL16 XMP
Video Card(s) GTX 1650 boost:1859 vram:2500
Storage 1TB PCIe4.0 NVMe Samsung PM9A1
Display(s) 4K UHD 40" HDR TV
Case Sharkoon AM5 Window red
Audio Device(s) Headset
Power Supply beQuiet PurePower10 400W
Software Win10
Screenshot (102).jpg
Screenshot (103).jpg
Screenshot (104).jpg
Screenshot (105).jpg
Screenshot (106).jpg
 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
50,583 (8.23/day)
Location
Oystralia
System Name Rainbow Sparkles
Processor Ryzen R7 5800X (EK Quantum Velocity block) (PBO tweaked, 4.4-5.05GHz)
Motherboard Asus x570 Gaming-F
Cooling Custom EK loop, 360mm top exhaust rad 280mm front intake rad
Memory 64GB DDR4 3600 Corsair Vengeance RGB @ 3800 C16
Video Card(s) Galax RTX 3090 SG 24GB - EK Quantum ARGB block w/ active backplate 1750MHz 737mv | 10950MHz VRAM
Storage 1TB Sasmsung 970 Pro NVME + 500GB 850 Evo
Display(s) Gigabyte G32QC + Phillips 328m6fjrmb (2x 32" 1440p 165Hz/144Hz curved )
Case Fractal Design R6
Audio Device(s) Razer Leviathan + Corsair Void pro RGB, Blue Yeti mic
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G Pro wireless + Steelseries Prisma XL
Keyboard Razer Huntsman TE
VR HMD Oculus Rift S
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Lots of RGB, so you know it's fast.
Wait, what?

Why?!

WHO???!!
I'll do ya one better: When


And look, if W11 wont slow to a crawl when i try and copy a few hundred or thousand tiny files around, that'd be awesome
 

qubit

Overclocked quantum bit
Joined
Dec 6, 2007
Messages
16,677 (3.34/day)
Location
Quantum Well UK
System Name Quantumville™
Processor Intel Core i7-2700K @ 4GHz
Motherboard Asus P8Z68-V PRO/GEN3
Cooling Noctua NH-D14
Memory 16GB (2 x 8GB Corsair Vengeance Black DDR3 PC3-12800 C9 1600MHz)
Video Card(s) MSI RTX 2080 SUPER Gaming X Trio
Storage Samsung 850 Pro 256GB | WD Black 4TB | WD Blue 6TB
Display(s) BenQ XL2720Z (144Hz, 3D Vision 2, 1080p) | Asus MG28UQ (4K, 60Hz, FreeSync compatible)
Case Cooler Master HAF 922
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Fatal1ty PCIe
Power Supply Corsair HX 850W v1
Mouse Microsoft Intellimouse Pro - Black Shadow
Keyboard Yes
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
This sounds similar to the feature implemented in the PS5.

My 2700K is really showing its age now and in fact, the W11 check tool said that it couldn't run it, although it didn't explain why. I suspect that it's due to the lack of the TPM chip as that was the only thing that didn't match the requirements. Looks like I have to upgrade my system just to keep up with the latest OS, never mind performance.
 
Joined
Feb 11, 2009
Messages
3,553 (0.78/day)
System Name Cyberline
Processor Intel Core i7 2600k
Motherboard Asus P8P67 LE Rev 3.0
Cooling Tuniq Tower 120
Memory Corsair (4x2) 8gb 1600mhz
Video Card(s) AMD RX480
Storage Samsung 750 Evo 250gb SSD + WD 1tb x 2 + WD 2tb
Display(s) Philips 32inch LPF5605H (television)
Case antec 600
Audio Device(s) Focusrite 2i4 (USB)
Power Supply Seasonic 620watt 80+ Platinum
Mouse Elecom EX-G
Keyboard Rapoo V700
Software Windows 10 Pro 64bit
Joined
Oct 1, 2006
Messages
4,636 (0.86/day)
Location
Hong Kong
Processor Ryzen Threadripper 1950X
Motherboard X399 Fatal1ty Professional Gaming
Cooling Custom loop water, 3x 420 Rad
Memory Team T-FORCE XCALIBUR RGB 4000 @3400 CL14
Video Card(s) Zotac RTX 2080 Ti
Storage Samsung 960 Evo 500GB 3-way Raid 0
Display(s) Samsung C27HG70
Case Thermaltake Level 20 XT
Audio Device(s) EVGA Nu Audio
Power Supply FSP Aurum PT 1200W
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
Hi,
Yeah thought it was funny not to see skylake-x listed at all my poor 9940x was crying lol

As far as direct storage... well I can live without it.
Especially when the 10980XE is listed. Again practically the same CPU as 9980XE or 7980XE.
Also the Skylake-X Xeons are listed.
 
Last edited:
Joined
May 31, 2016
Messages
2,874 (1.52/day)
Location
Currently Norway
System Name Bro2
Processor Ryzen 5800X
Motherboard Gigabyte X570 Aorus Elite
Cooling Corsair h115i pro rgb
Memory 16GB G.Skill Flare X 3200 CL14
Video Card(s) Powercolor 6900 XT Red Devil 1.1v@2400Mhz
Storage M.2 Samsung 970 Evo Plus 500MB/ Samsung 860 Evo 1TB
Display(s) LG 27UD69 UHD / LG 27GN950
Case Fractal Design G
Audio Device(s) Realtec 5.1
Power Supply Corsair AXi 760W / Seasonic 750W GOLD
Mouse Logitech G402
Keyboard Logitech slim
Software Windows 10 64 bit
I believe MS is holding their users ransom by forcing them to adopt Windows 11 just to get the DirectStorage feature. The difference between the 2 boils down to simply just a new lipstick on the pig, so there is not reason why the same features on Win 11 cannot be enabled in Win 10.
You are not forced to use the DirectStorage if you don't want and thus nobody is forcing you to go win 11. I see it in a different way though. Windows 11 has to offer something more than 10 and thus the DirectStorage kicks in here.
 
Joined
Dec 10, 2015
Messages
517 (0.25/day)
Location
Here
System Name Skypas
Processor Intel Core i7-6700
Motherboard Asus H170 Pro Gaming
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212X Turbo
Memory Corsair Vengeance LPX 16GB
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1060 Gaming X 6GB
Storage Corsair Neutron GTX 120GB + WD Blue 1TB
Display(s) LG 22EA63V
Case Corsair Carbide 400Q
Power Supply Seasonic SS-460FL2 w/ Deepcool XFan 120
Mouse Logitech B100
Keyboard Corsair Vengeance K70
Software Windows 10 Pro (to be replaced by 2025)
Soo you just have to upgrade your GPU in order to use this feature in addition of buying a nice 1TB NVMe SSD, not to mention upgrading your whole system to support TPM to use Windows 11? A very expensive requirement but I don't see anything wrong with that, all you have to do is install Linux and call it a day.
 
Joined
Jul 10, 2017
Messages
731 (0.49/day)
Thank God it's not also dependant on the Moon phases...

You are not forced to use the DirectStorage if you don't want and thus nobody is forcing you to go win 11. I see it in a different way though. Windows 11 has to offer something more than 10 and thus the DirectStorage kicks in here.
If so, then why don't they lower the requirements in order to incentivize the adoption?
 
Joined
Jan 31, 2011
Messages
1,952 (0.51/day)
System Name UltimaN
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 5800X
Motherboard MSI Mag B550M Mortar
Cooling Corsair Hydro H60 Noctua NF-F12 Push Pull
Memory G.SKill Ripjaws V 2x16GB DDR4 3600
Video Card(s) Palit GeForce GTX 1070 Super JetStream 2Ghz
Storage Samsung 970 Evo Plus 500GB nvme, 1TB Crucial MX500 SSD sata, 1TB Seagate Barracuda 7200rpm HDD sata
Display(s) LG 23MP68VQ-P IPS 75HZ 23" 1080p MONITOR
Case Aerocool Dead Silence Black Edition Cube
Audio Device(s) Onboard Realtek ALC1200 Audio/Nvidia HD Audio
Power Supply Corsair RM650
Mouse Logitech G400S | Wacom Intuos CTH-480
Keyboard A4Tech G800V Gaming Keyboard
Software Windows 10 Pro
rip my NVME 500GB then :D
 
Joined
Sep 1, 2020
Messages
539 (1.60/day)
Location
Bulgaria
Don't be angry just make jump from W10 to W12. W11 is garbage, complete from new and second hand parts like W10. Yes in W11 new parts is little more than new parts in W10 but...When come WXX without any presence of win16, win32, win44 or something and all winXX is 64(or more) that will be new windows.

Yes this is non professional comment, hate me!
 

jardows

New Member
Joined
Jul 23, 2020
Messages
22 (0.06/day)
Thank God it's not also dependant on the Moon phases...


If so, then why don't they lower the requirements in order to incentivize the adoption?
Kinda like how so many computer were made with the bare minimum for running Windows Vista, then ran horribly? You want new software technology on old hardware? Sure, go right ahead.
 
Joined
Mar 18, 2015
Messages
62 (0.03/day)
This sounds similar to the feature implemented in the PS5.

My 2700K is really showing its age now and in fact, the W11 check tool said that it couldn't run it, although it didn't explain why. I suspect that it's due to the lack of the TPM chip as that was the only thing that didn't match the requirements. Looks like I have to upgrade my system just to keep up with the latest OS, never mind performance.
See if your motherboard has a TPM header that would allow you to add a hardware module. Cheaper than buying a full new system if it does. There's still not much that an overclocked 2700K can't do, artificial roadblocks aside. The e-waste that's going to be created through forcing people into upgrades that they have zero need for is going to be insane.
 
Top