• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Microsoft Windows XP Service Pack 3 (SP3) Released to Web and Windows Update

Joined
May 3, 2008
Messages
121 (0.03/day)
Likes
11
Location
Isle of Wight
Processor E8500 @ 4.75gig....E8200 @ 4.4gig
Motherboard Gigabyte x38T DQ6 and EVGA 790i Ultra
Cooling TRUE and lots of 120mm fans
Memory 2GB OCZ DDR3 1600mhz 7-7-7-18
Video Card(s) Inno3D 512MB 8800GTS G92 @ 835/2087/1075
Storage Western Digital 500gb 32MB cache SATA II
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster 205BW 20" TFT on DVi
Case Antec 900
Audio Device(s) XiFi Xtreme Gamer/Audigy 4
Power Supply Tagan 800W U33 2ForceLL
Software XP Home SP3 and Vista 32bit Home Premium dual boot
Benchmark Scores Don't Bench....too busy gaming!
#51
Guys, just read the release notes link at the top of this page. SP3 is not a visual upgrade or anything like that. Its not supposed to make your PC faster. Its a major "security" upgrade. Things like NAP, and black hole router detection. Read the notes...........
And in contrast, almost everyone is reporting slightly improved benching with SP3, my 2006 score went up 120 points, exaxctly the same settings.
 

Black Panther

Senior Moderator™
Staff member
Joined
May 30, 2007
Messages
8,957 (2.33/day)
Likes
2,166
System Name Great White Bengal
Processor i7 930 @ 4Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-X58A-UD3R
Cooling Scythe Yasya
Memory 12GB (3 x 4GB DDR3 Geil Black Dragon)
Video Card(s) Zotac 670 4GB
Storage eSata Seagate 2TB -- 240GB SSD Sandisk Extreme
Display(s) 27" 2560x1440 Dell U2711
Case NZXT Switch 810 White
Audio Device(s) Onboard sound & Z5500 Speakers
Power Supply Corsair 850W Gold
Mouse Asus ROG Sica
Keyboard Motospeed
Software Windows 10
#52
Guess the automatic update doesn't work if you have SP3 RC huh?
 
Joined
Jan 24, 2008
Messages
737 (0.20/day)
Likes
153
Location
Belgium ⇒ Limburg
System Name HP Z800 Workstation
Processor 2 x Intel Xeon 5680 ( = 12 x 3.33Ghz )
Motherboard HP Z800 Workstation - Motherboard
Cooling HP Z800 Workstation - Liquid cooling solution
Memory 16GB Dual-Channel DDR3 @ 1333MHz (9-9-9-24)
Video Card(s) Sapphire R9 390X Tri-X ( GPU: 1150Mhz, Memory: 6400Mhz )
Storage SSD Samsung 840 Pro 500GB
Display(s) EIZO FS2434-BK
Case HP Z800 Workstation
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply HP Z800 Workstation - 1110 WATT ( 36 amps on 12V )
Mouse Logitech Master
Keyboard Logitech G 15
Software Windows 10 Pro 64bit
Benchmark Scores 3DMark Firemark: 11850
#53
That's one mega superfast Service pack installer. SP2 took ages to install, this one was installed within 8 minutes ( download and reboot included! ).

I've only encountered one bug so far. Microsoft included Windows Live Messenger 9 beta, wich doesn't seem to work very well. Uninstalled it, problem solved.

No compatibility issues so far...
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
19,218 (5.03/day)
Likes
4,809
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
#54
you seem to be like the only person to install the SP without any major snags, usually its you install a SP and suffer problems or you install fresh and not suffer.
 
Joined
Jan 24, 2008
Messages
737 (0.20/day)
Likes
153
Location
Belgium ⇒ Limburg
System Name HP Z800 Workstation
Processor 2 x Intel Xeon 5680 ( = 12 x 3.33Ghz )
Motherboard HP Z800 Workstation - Motherboard
Cooling HP Z800 Workstation - Liquid cooling solution
Memory 16GB Dual-Channel DDR3 @ 1333MHz (9-9-9-24)
Video Card(s) Sapphire R9 390X Tri-X ( GPU: 1150Mhz, Memory: 6400Mhz )
Storage SSD Samsung 840 Pro 500GB
Display(s) EIZO FS2434-BK
Case HP Z800 Workstation
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply HP Z800 Workstation - 1110 WATT ( 36 amps on 12V )
Mouse Logitech Master
Keyboard Logitech G 15
Software Windows 10 Pro 64bit
Benchmark Scores 3DMark Firemark: 11850
#55
you seem to be like the only person to install the SP without any major snags, usually its you install a SP and suffer problems or you install fresh and not suffer.
Well, My XP installation is dated from august 2007, I currently have 189 applications installed. It's still as fast as in august 2007. Just have to run some cleaning/tweaking software once a month to keep it going. I also have O&O Defrag that defrags my PC when idle.
 
Joined
Apr 19, 2005
Messages
121 (0.03/day)
Likes
0
Location
Edmonton Alberta Canada
System Name Neo2
Processor Intel Core i7 CPU 920
Motherboard ASUS X58 Sabertooth
Cooling Water cooled
Memory HyperX blu 8GB DDR3-1600MHz CL9 Dual Channel Kit (2 x 4GB) x 3
Video Card(s) ASUS Radeon HD 5850 1024m x2
Storage 1x 60g Corsair CSSD-F60GB2, 1 x 1000g WD Black 2x 500g SATA2, 1x 320g SATA2
Display(s) x3 HP 2210ms
Case Thermaltake Armor VA800BWS
Audio Device(s) PCI Express X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Champion Series on Z-5000 Digtal speakers
Power Supply Corsair Enthusiast Series TX850 V2
Software Windows 7 Pro x64
#56
Works fine for me, and on my bros comp and labtop and on my 3 room mates computers.
 

Attachments

Joined
May 3, 2008
Messages
121 (0.03/day)
Likes
11
Location
Isle of Wight
Processor E8500 @ 4.75gig....E8200 @ 4.4gig
Motherboard Gigabyte x38T DQ6 and EVGA 790i Ultra
Cooling TRUE and lots of 120mm fans
Memory 2GB OCZ DDR3 1600mhz 7-7-7-18
Video Card(s) Inno3D 512MB 8800GTS G92 @ 835/2087/1075
Storage Western Digital 500gb 32MB cache SATA II
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster 205BW 20" TFT on DVi
Case Antec 900
Audio Device(s) XiFi Xtreme Gamer/Audigy 4
Power Supply Tagan 800W U33 2ForceLL
Software XP Home SP3 and Vista 32bit Home Premium dual boot
Benchmark Scores Don't Bench....too busy gaming!
#57
Mine was downloaded and installed without a hitch, I must be one of the lucky ones, but I got mine from the "update" area of Microsofts site about a week before it appeared here somehow.......the whole process including the download took about 40 minutes.
 

dwax

New Member
Joined
Feb 25, 2006
Messages
180 (0.04/day)
Likes
4
Processor AMD Athlon 64 3400+
Motherboard MSI-7145
Cooling ZALMAN CNPS9700LED.
Memory 2Gig of PC4000 500Mghz Crucial Ballistix Tracer
Video Card(s) Nvidia XFX 8800GS
Storage 2 250 GB western digital HD External WD 250 HD
Display(s) Acer 22WS
Case Old eMachine modified
Audio Device(s) Sound Blaster X-Fi Extreme Fidelity
Power Supply Thermaltake TR2 W0070RUC ATX 430W
Software WinXP Media Center Edition
#58
I been having network connection problems since I installed this.Seems every time I boot up I lose my connection. Have to re-boot the modem. Anyone have this type problem?
 

FreedomEclipse

~Technological Technocrat~
Joined
Apr 20, 2007
Messages
17,147 (4.41/day)
Likes
5,299
Location
London,UK
System Name Codename: Rapture X Mk.VI {Still....MoonPig Edition}
Processor Intel 3930k@4.5Ghz
Motherboard Asus P9X79 PRO
Cooling Corsair H105 {2x Corsair ML 120 Pro}|VRM: Antec Spotcool 100
Memory 32GB DDR3 Kingston HyperX Beast 2400Mhz {8x4GB}
Video Card(s) MSI 1070 Gaming X (Samsung)
Storage 512GB Samsung 850 Pro (Boot)|1x 512GB Crucial MX100|2x 3TB Toshiba DT01ACA300
Display(s) Asus PB278Q 27"
Case Corsair 760T (White) {1x140mm NB PK-3, 2x Corsair AF140}
Audio Device(s) Creative SB Z {Speakers: Logitech Z-5500 }
Power Supply Corsair AX760
Mouse Logitech G900 Chaos Spectrum
Keyboard Duckyshine Dead LED(s) III
Software Windows 7 7600 x64
Benchmark Scores ( ͡°( ͡° ͜ʖ( ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°)ʖ ͡°) ͡°)
#59
I cant install it at all. it gets part way through then pops up with an 'internal error' it even does that when i run it in safe mode. its messed up my XP abit cuz since the installation failed. each time I boot up it tells me that I need to restart for some changes to take effect blah blah blah so i maybe looking at a complete new XP installation - otherwise its still good,
 

dwax

New Member
Joined
Feb 25, 2006
Messages
180 (0.04/day)
Likes
4
Processor AMD Athlon 64 3400+
Motherboard MSI-7145
Cooling ZALMAN CNPS9700LED.
Memory 2Gig of PC4000 500Mghz Crucial Ballistix Tracer
Video Card(s) Nvidia XFX 8800GS
Storage 2 250 GB western digital HD External WD 250 HD
Display(s) Acer 22WS
Case Old eMachine modified
Audio Device(s) Sound Blaster X-Fi Extreme Fidelity
Power Supply Thermaltake TR2 W0070RUC ATX 430W
Software WinXP Media Center Edition
#60
FreedomEclipse

Did you try Windows update? Or was it a stand alone installer. I went to Win update and it went smooth.
 

FreedomEclipse

~Technological Technocrat~
Joined
Apr 20, 2007
Messages
17,147 (4.41/day)
Likes
5,299
Location
London,UK
System Name Codename: Rapture X Mk.VI {Still....MoonPig Edition}
Processor Intel 3930k@4.5Ghz
Motherboard Asus P9X79 PRO
Cooling Corsair H105 {2x Corsair ML 120 Pro}|VRM: Antec Spotcool 100
Memory 32GB DDR3 Kingston HyperX Beast 2400Mhz {8x4GB}
Video Card(s) MSI 1070 Gaming X (Samsung)
Storage 512GB Samsung 850 Pro (Boot)|1x 512GB Crucial MX100|2x 3TB Toshiba DT01ACA300
Display(s) Asus PB278Q 27"
Case Corsair 760T (White) {1x140mm NB PK-3, 2x Corsair AF140}
Audio Device(s) Creative SB Z {Speakers: Logitech Z-5500 }
Power Supply Corsair AX760
Mouse Logitech G900 Chaos Spectrum
Keyboard Duckyshine Dead LED(s) III
Software Windows 7 7600 x64
Benchmark Scores ( ͡°( ͡° ͜ʖ( ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°)ʖ ͡°) ͡°)
#61
well, ive tried windows update, & ive tried the network install & ive also downloaded the ISO file & burned it onto CD.

i think it could be possibly down to the fact that my copy of XP is a 'borrowed' edition. even though i can STILL do all the other updates & get past M$ WGA tool everytime it checks my XP. meh - maybe i need to install it on a clean copy of XP or something.

If i can be arsed i will install XP on a spare HDD & then try to install the SP

see if it works that way
 

HAL7000

New Member
Joined
Jul 28, 2007
Messages
263 (0.07/day)
Likes
23
Location
Nashville TN
Processor AMD Athlon 64 X2 6000+ Windsor 3.0GHz
Motherboard ECS KA3 MVP
Cooling stock
Memory Mushkin eXtreme Performance 2GB (2 x 1GB)
Video Card(s) X1900GT
Storage SAMSUNG SpinPoint P Series SP2004C 200GB
Display(s) Acer AL2051W 20" 8ms DVI Widescreen LCD Monitor
Case IN WIN IW-F430.RL Red
Audio Device(s) Creative Audigy gamers edition
Power Supply PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750 Quad - Copper
Software XP Pro w/SP3
#62
Joined
Jul 19, 2007
Messages
7,043 (1.85/day)
Likes
863
Location
Sector ZZ₉ Plural Z Alpha
System Name УльтраФиолет
Processor Intel Kentsfield Q9650 @ 3.8GHz (4.2GHz highest achieved)
Motherboard ASUS P5E3 Deluxe/WiFi; X38 NSB, ICH9R SSB
Cooling Delta V3 block, XPSC res, 120x3 rad, ST 1/2" pump - 10 fans, SYSTRIN HDD cooler, Antec HDD cooler
Memory Dual channel 8GB OCZ Platinum DDR3 @ 1800MHz @ 7-7-7-20 1T
Video Card(s) Quadfire: (2) Sapphire HD5970
Storage (2) WD VelociRaptor 300GB SATA-300; WD 320GB SATA-300; WD 200GB UATA + WD 160GB UATA
Display(s) Samsung Syncmaster T240 24" (16:10)
Case Cooler Master Stacker 830
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro PCI-E x1
Power Supply Kingwin Mach1 1200W modular
Software Windows XP Home SP3; Vista Ultimate x64 SP2
Benchmark Scores 3m06: 20270 here: http://hwbot.org/user.do?userId=12313
#63
Running fine so far on my rig, no hiccups . . . yet.

Had to get rid of that damn ASP.NET acount again, though, and fix the logon screen from popping up again.
 
Joined
Aug 18, 2006
Messages
993 (0.24/day)
Likes
31
Location
Los Angeles...U.S.A
Processor i7 920
Motherboard EVGA X58
Cooling eight 120mm fans, Swiftech GTZ cpu block, 3 120mm radiator, MCP655 pump, primochill tubing
Memory 6 gig G-Skill DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) GTX 285's (SLI)
Storage 500GB Western Digital
Display(s) 3 Asus 23 in inchers
Case Lian Li A77B
Audio Device(s) on board 7.1
Power Supply Corsair 1000
Software win 7 64
#64
Day three and still no problems...:)
 
Joined
Jun 1, 2006
Messages
1,745 (0.41/day)
Likes
176
Location
The Nevada Wasteland
System Name 9th Level
Processor AMD Phenom II 940 BE @3.4Ghz
Motherboard GIGABYTE MA790FX-UD5P
Cooling Corsair H100, x2 250mm, x1 140mm, x3 120mm fans.
Memory 8GB Patriot DDR2
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX480 (800/1600/2000/@1.0v)
Storage x1 80GB, x2 1TB.
Display(s) Acer 24" 2ms 1920x1200
Case HAF 932
Audio Device(s) Sound Blaster Fatal1ty Xtreme gamer 64mb Xram
Power Supply Corsair HX850W
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit
#65
I'm running SP3 and have no issues.
 
Joined
Jun 12, 2007
Messages
4,815 (1.25/day)
Likes
639
Location
Wangas, New Zealand
System Name Darth Obsidious
Processor Intel i5 2500K
Motherboard ASUS P8Z68-V/Gen3
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212+ in Push Pull
Memory 2X4GB Corsair Vengeance DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) ASUS R9 270x TOP
Storage 128GB Samsung 830 SSD, 1TB WD Black, 2TB WD Green
Display(s) LG IPS234V-PN
Case Corsair Obsidian 650D
Audio Device(s) Infrasonic Quartet
Power Supply Corsair HX650w
Software Windows 7 64bit and Windows XP Home
Benchmark Scores 2cm mark on bench with a razor blade.
#66
For people who started a fresh install:-

Did you get to update SP2 before updgrade to SP3?

When I went to update SP2 all it came up with was an SP3 update.

My grandmothers dial-up modem makes a stuttery dialtone now after using the latest modem driver with SP3.:wtf:
 

FreedomEclipse

~Technological Technocrat~
Joined
Apr 20, 2007
Messages
17,147 (4.41/day)
Likes
5,299
Location
London,UK
System Name Codename: Rapture X Mk.VI {Still....MoonPig Edition}
Processor Intel 3930k@4.5Ghz
Motherboard Asus P9X79 PRO
Cooling Corsair H105 {2x Corsair ML 120 Pro}|VRM: Antec Spotcool 100
Memory 32GB DDR3 Kingston HyperX Beast 2400Mhz {8x4GB}
Video Card(s) MSI 1070 Gaming X (Samsung)
Storage 512GB Samsung 850 Pro (Boot)|1x 512GB Crucial MX100|2x 3TB Toshiba DT01ACA300
Display(s) Asus PB278Q 27"
Case Corsair 760T (White) {1x140mm NB PK-3, 2x Corsair AF140}
Audio Device(s) Creative SB Z {Speakers: Logitech Z-5500 }
Power Supply Corsair AX760
Mouse Logitech G900 Chaos Spectrum
Keyboard Duckyshine Dead LED(s) III
Software Windows 7 7600 x64
Benchmark Scores ( ͡°( ͡° ͜ʖ( ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°)ʖ ͡°) ͡°)
#67
sadly for me & my main rig - SP3 has come a little too late -

this was taken from a website after I started having Issues in a test install of SP3

Second problem, affecting certain AMD motherboards

The second problem type manifests itself in a different error code during boot, and also seems to affect only AMD-based computers. The error code will say something similar to:
Problem was detected and windows has been shut down to protect your computer from damage.

The BIOS in this system is not fully ACPI compliant

You will then get some information about how to update your BIOS. The BIOS is the basic operating system built into the computer that handles reading and writing from disk and memory, as well as some other devices. That is most likely not your problem. The screen ends with the tell-tale error code: STOP: 0x000000A5. If you have that error code, and you just installed SP3, this is most likely your problem.

At the moment, I do not know for sure why this is happening, and I have not personally seen it. The problem appears to be the ASUS A8N32-SLI Deluxe motherboard, also with an AMD processor. Several different AMD processors have been fitted on that board, however, so it seems more likely to be the board than the processor.

The solution is simplicity itself: insert a USB flash drive, or some other form of secondary storage mechanism, before booting the computer. The people have that have seen this problem report that it goes away when they do. The catch is that the computer will only boot with a secondary drive attached. If you remove the secondary drive it will no longer boot.

It also appears that this could be related to using a USB mouse. If you have a USB mouse, try moving it to the PS/2 port instead (the little round port, you should have received an adapter with your mouse). That seems to resolve the problem without the use of an external USB flash drive.

Asus has long since stopped supporting 939 hardware so theres no new bios or anything which fix's the problem & the only way to get around it is as described above.

aparantly im not the only one to be having these issues - loads of others are having more or less the same problem

the source can be found Here

I doubt Asus could careless - I also doubt anyone else could as most have already moved on & away from the 90nm era.