• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

MSI Twin Frozr 7 - replacing thermal paste/pads?

Joined
May 19, 2015
Messages
55 (0.02/day)
Hello everyone, I've got a problem - my GTX 1660 Ti is running really hot when playing CS:GO ( ! ), just look at the "GPU Hot Spot Temperature" sensor readings:

1656686662757.png


And since its warranty is almost expired, I'm scared of the GPU going to hell too soon and me being forced to hugely overpay for another GPU of the same performance (or worse!) but costing like 200+% of what I spent on this one almost 3 years ago, it would be a huge waste!
Sending it to the local shop that sold it to me would mean having no PC to use for a month and it's pointless anyway - they will most likely just blow the dust off the radiator and apply some garbage thermal paste which will fix pretty much nothing.
I mean, I'm planning to wait for the warrantly expiration and just take off the cooler and clean it and replace thermal paste and if there's any thermal pads there - replace them all too. Don't know if there's any though.

But how to do that right?
Will Arctic MX-4 (2019) do its job well enough or should I buy some other paste (don't want liquid metal)?
What thermal pads to buy and how many of them? There's only these sold in here that got 12W/mK (GP-Extreme) and 15W/mK (GP-Ultimate) thermal conductivity:

GELID Solutions GP-Extreme 80x40x0.5 mm (TP-GP01-A)
GELID Solutions GP-Extreme 80x40x1.0 mm (TP-GP01-B)
GELID Solutions GP-Extreme 80x40x1.5 mm (TP-GP01-C)
GELID Solutions GP-Extreme 80x40x2.0 mm (TP-GP01-D)
GELID Solutions GP-Extreme 80x40x3.0 mm (TP-GP01-E)
GELID Solutions GP-Extreme 120x20x0.5 mm (TP-GP05-A)
GELID Solutions GP-Extreme 120x20x1.0 mm (TP-GP05-B)
GELID Solutions GP-Extreme 120x20x1.5 mm (TP-GP05-C)
GELID Solutions GP-Ultimate 90x50x0.5mm (TP-GP04-A)
GELID Solutions GP-Ultimate 90x50x0.5mm (TP-VP04-A)
GELID Solutions GP-Ultimate 90x50x1.0mm (TP-GP04-B)
GELID Solutions GP-Ultimate 90x50x1.5mm (TP-GP04-C)
GELID Solutions GP-Ultimate 90x50x2.0mm (TP-GP04-D)
GELID Solutions GP-Ultimate 90x50x3.0mm (TP-GP04-E)
GELID Solutions GP-Ultimate 120x20x0.5mm (TP-GP04-R-A)
GELID Solutions GP-Ultimate 120x20x0.5mm (TP-VP04-R-A)
GELID Solutions GP-Ultimate 120x20x1.0mm (TP-GP04-R-B)
GELID Solutions GP-Ultimate 120x20x1.5mm (TP-GP04-R-C)
GELID Solutions GP-Ultimate 120x20x2.0mm (TP-GP04-R-D)
GELID Solutions GP-Ultimate 120x20x3.0mm (TP-GP04-R-E)
 
Joined
Jun 11, 2020
Messages
378 (0.48/day)
Location
Florida
Processor 3800x
Motherboard MSI Tomahawk x570
Cooling EK
Memory Ballistix E die
Video Card(s) rx 5700
Display(s) 144hz 1080p
Case Corsair Air 540
Power Supply Corsair HX750
That's hotspot temp and completely normal. You don't have to open it up and change the thermal pads. Just clean out the dust with some compressed air.
 
Joined
Nov 24, 2018
Messages
1,660 (1.22/day)
Location
south wales uk
System Name 1. The Devils Dialysis VR rig 2. intel teliscope rig 3.MSI GP72MVR Leopard Pro .
Processor 1.3900x @stock 2. i7 7700k @5. 3. i7 7700hq
Motherboard 1.aorus x570 ultra 2. z270 Maximus IX Hero
Cooling 1.Hard tube loop, cpu and gpu 2. Hard loop cpu and gpu
Memory 1.hyperx preditor @3600 16gb 2.vengence 32gb @3000 3. 16gb hyperx @2400
Video Card(s) 1.Aorus Xtreme RTX2080 Waterforce 2. MSI 1080 8gb with EKWB 3. 1060 3gb.
Storage 1 M.2 500gb , 2 3tb HDs 2. 256gb ssd, 3tbHD 3. 256 m.2. 1tb ssd
Display(s) 1.LG 50" UHD , oculus rift S.2 MSI Optix MAG342C UWHD. SONY bravia 1080p, . 3.17" 120 hz display
Case 1. Thermaltake P5 2. Thermaltake P3
Audio Device(s) 1 Onboard 2 Onboard 3 Onboard
Power Supply 1.seasonic gx 850w 2. seasonic gx 750w
Mouse 1 ROG Gladius 2 Corsair m65 pro
Keyboard 1. ROG Strix Flare 2. Corsair F75 RBG 3. steelseries RBG
VR HMD rift and rift S and Quest 2.
Software 1. win10 pro 2. win10 pro 3, win10 home
Benchmark Scores 1.7821 cb20 ,cb15 3442 1c 204 cpu-z 1c 539 12c 8847 2. 1106 cb 3.cb 970
agreed, id worry if it was over 110-15, i think the max temp is 120c for the hotspot and you still have some headroom bud.
 
Joined
May 2, 2022
Messages
707 (7.00/day)
Location
G-City, UK
System Name My first new build
Processor Ryzen 5 3600
Motherboard MSI B450M mortar max
Cooling Vetroo V5 Arctic MX4
Memory 32gb Corsair Vengeance LPX 3200@3800mhz
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1660 Super OC Ventus
Storage Samsung 870 QVO 1tb x 2, Lexar 256 GB, Western Digital 500 GB nvme
Display(s) 22'' Some p tv
Case Aerocool Eclipse
Audio Device(s) Razer Kraken 2019 Edifier M201BT
Power Supply MSI MPG AGF 850 watt gold
Mouse Logitech M510
Keyboard Dell KB212-B
Software Windows 10 pro
Benchmark Scores Cinebench R23 multicore 9995 single 1274 7.84 3d mark : Timespy 6180
MX4 works fine mate.
 
Joined
Nov 7, 2009
Messages
4,367 (0.94/day)
Location
Denmark
System Name The work PC /2700x/5950x
Processor 3900X stock/ 2700x stock/ 5950x 4200 MHz fixed @ 1,056-1,08V
Motherboard Gigabyte AORUS Master X570/2xMSI X470 M7 AC
Cooling Custom WC XSPC RX480, Laing DDC, XSPC Laing DDC Top V3 and EK Velocity/NH15/NH-U12S SE
Memory 32 GB Viper 3600/14 /16 GB Trident Z F4-4000C18D-16GTZSW 3600 /32 GB G XSkill Flare CL14 3400
Video Card(s) 2070 Super X MSI/AMD 7770/ GTX 970 MSI
Storage 1 TB SSD / 500 GB SSD/ 500 GB SSD
Display(s) Dell UltraSharp U2518D/2408WFP
Case Corsair 800D / Lian test bench/NZXT 500
Power Supply AX 850 Titanium/AX 860i/AX 760
Software Dual boot/Win 7 & 10 / Linux / Win 10
MX4 works fine mate.
No need to do anything. Temps are fine. No need to replay to all posts. You have aired your lack off knowledge plenty of times. Blocked.
 
Joined
May 2, 2022
Messages
707 (7.00/day)
Location
G-City, UK
System Name My first new build
Processor Ryzen 5 3600
Motherboard MSI B450M mortar max
Cooling Vetroo V5 Arctic MX4
Memory 32gb Corsair Vengeance LPX 3200@3800mhz
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1660 Super OC Ventus
Storage Samsung 870 QVO 1tb x 2, Lexar 256 GB, Western Digital 500 GB nvme
Display(s) 22'' Some p tv
Case Aerocool Eclipse
Audio Device(s) Razer Kraken 2019 Edifier M201BT
Power Supply MSI MPG AGF 850 watt gold
Mouse Logitech M510
Keyboard Dell KB212-B
Software Windows 10 pro
Benchmark Scores Cinebench R23 multicore 9995 single 1274 7.84 3d mark : Timespy 6180
Well, I was simply saying MX4 was fine. Bye lol!
 
Low quality post by mstenholm
Joined
Nov 7, 2009
Messages
4,367 (0.94/day)
Location
Denmark
System Name The work PC /2700x/5950x
Processor 3900X stock/ 2700x stock/ 5950x 4200 MHz fixed @ 1,056-1,08V
Motherboard Gigabyte AORUS Master X570/2xMSI X470 M7 AC
Cooling Custom WC XSPC RX480, Laing DDC, XSPC Laing DDC Top V3 and EK Velocity/NH15/NH-U12S SE
Memory 32 GB Viper 3600/14 /16 GB Trident Z F4-4000C18D-16GTZSW 3600 /32 GB G XSkill Flare CL14 3400
Video Card(s) 2070 Super X MSI/AMD 7770/ GTX 970 MSI
Storage 1 TB SSD / 500 GB SSD/ 500 GB SSD
Display(s) Dell UltraSharp U2518D/2408WFP
Case Corsair 800D / Lian test bench/NZXT 500
Power Supply AX 850 Titanium/AX 860i/AX 760
Software Dual boot/Win 7 & 10 / Linux / Win 10
Well, I was simply saying MX4 was fine. Bye lol!
And that some memory didn’t work with AMD. Your are clever, you proved that already.
 

95Viper

Super Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 12, 2008
Messages
11,107 (2.20/day)
Stay on topic.
Take your petty bickering to PMs and stop trashing threads.
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
37,330 (6.76/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
MX4 works fine mate.

Well, I was simply saying MX4 was fine. Bye lol!

With the way mx4 is made, its meant for IHS application (not direct touch dies) mX 5 was supposed to be for direct touch dies.

I know AS5/Ceramique, and I believe Kryonaut work on dies, in close tolerance (.0001-.0020") outside of that Id suggest a Thermalpad from ThermalRight, Akasa.
 
Joined
May 2, 2022
Messages
707 (7.00/day)
Location
G-City, UK
System Name My first new build
Processor Ryzen 5 3600
Motherboard MSI B450M mortar max
Cooling Vetroo V5 Arctic MX4
Memory 32gb Corsair Vengeance LPX 3200@3800mhz
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1660 Super OC Ventus
Storage Samsung 870 QVO 1tb x 2, Lexar 256 GB, Western Digital 500 GB nvme
Display(s) 22'' Some p tv
Case Aerocool Eclipse
Audio Device(s) Razer Kraken 2019 Edifier M201BT
Power Supply MSI MPG AGF 850 watt gold
Mouse Logitech M510
Keyboard Dell KB212-B
Software Windows 10 pro
Benchmark Scores Cinebench R23 multicore 9995 single 1274 7.84 3d mark : Timespy 6180
Wasn't aware of that. Think I'll stop answering questions.
 
Joined
Apr 22, 2021
Messages
1,071 (2.25/day)
Location
Romania
System Name Office1 / Office 2
Processor Intel i7 7700k / Ryzen 7 5700G
Motherboard Gygabyte H110M / MSI MAG X570S - TOMAHAWK MAX WIFI
Cooling Zalman / AMD
Memory 2x16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX / 2x16GB Corsair Vengeance RGB Pro SL - 3600Mhz
Video Card(s) XFX RX 5700XT THICC III Ultra 8GB / XFX RX 6600XT 8GB
Storage 1st : 1x SSD Samsung 870 Evo 1Tb + 4x SAS HDD in RAID / 2nd : 1 Tb SSD Nvme Samsung 970 EVO PLUS
Display(s) 2x Dell 3008 WFP
Case CoolerMaster HAF 932 / GENESIS IRID 300
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster / Onboard
Power Supply Thermaltake Smart RGB 700W / Thermaltake Smart RGB 700W
Mouse Logitech G502 HERO / Logitech G5
Keyboard Dell SmartCard Reader SK 3205 / Dell SmartCard Reader SK 3205
Software 1st - Win 10 Pro X64 / Win 7 X86 / Ubuntu / 2nd - Windows 11 Pro
Hello
In order to change those thermal pads you need to open the card.
Since you will do it anyway, it is the best moment to measure the thickness of those pads.
Use a tool to do that.
1656776029683.png

After that you will choose the exact match for your card.(For your info it could be more than one thickness on a video card)
Gelid is a good choice, so yeah go for it.
 
Joined
May 2, 2022
Messages
707 (7.00/day)
Location
G-City, UK
System Name My first new build
Processor Ryzen 5 3600
Motherboard MSI B450M mortar max
Cooling Vetroo V5 Arctic MX4
Memory 32gb Corsair Vengeance LPX 3200@3800mhz
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1660 Super OC Ventus
Storage Samsung 870 QVO 1tb x 2, Lexar 256 GB, Western Digital 500 GB nvme
Display(s) 22'' Some p tv
Case Aerocool Eclipse
Audio Device(s) Razer Kraken 2019 Edifier M201BT
Power Supply MSI MPG AGF 850 watt gold
Mouse Logitech M510
Keyboard Dell KB212-B
Software Windows 10 pro
Benchmark Scores Cinebench R23 multicore 9995 single 1274 7.84 3d mark : Timespy 6180
With the way mx4 is made, its meant for IHS application (not direct touch dies) mX 5 was supposed to be for direct touch dies.

I know AS5/Ceramique, and I believe Kryonaut work on dies, in close tolerance (.0001-.0020") outside of that Id suggest a Thermalpad from ThermalRight, Akasa.
I used MX4 on my GPU when repasting and it's doing alright. Not doubting you or anything but it is safe isn't it? Or I'll get some Kryonaut and re-do it.
 
Joined
Oct 18, 2018
Messages
13 (0.01/day)
I had same garbage, I repasted and temps dropped from 100C to 70C. Just repaste and don't listen to peasants who say it's "normal"
Also don't touch Thermal Pads, Just use the same ones
 
Joined
Jun 11, 2020
Messages
378 (0.48/day)
Location
Florida
Processor 3800x
Motherboard MSI Tomahawk x570
Cooling EK
Memory Ballistix E die
Video Card(s) rx 5700
Display(s) 144hz 1080p
Case Corsair Air 540
Power Supply Corsair HX750
I had same garbage, I repasted and temps dropped from 100C to 70C. Just repaste and don't listen to peasants who say it's "normal"
Also don't touch Thermal Pads, Just use the same ones

lol ok, he's talking about switching thermal pads for hotspot temp that's why we're saying its normal. repasting is totally different. 95 hotspot is normal though, especially with low fan speed which gaming x is known for.
 
Joined
Apr 22, 2021
Messages
1,071 (2.25/day)
Location
Romania
System Name Office1 / Office 2
Processor Intel i7 7700k / Ryzen 7 5700G
Motherboard Gygabyte H110M / MSI MAG X570S - TOMAHAWK MAX WIFI
Cooling Zalman / AMD
Memory 2x16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX / 2x16GB Corsair Vengeance RGB Pro SL - 3600Mhz
Video Card(s) XFX RX 5700XT THICC III Ultra 8GB / XFX RX 6600XT 8GB
Storage 1st : 1x SSD Samsung 870 Evo 1Tb + 4x SAS HDD in RAID / 2nd : 1 Tb SSD Nvme Samsung 970 EVO PLUS
Display(s) 2x Dell 3008 WFP
Case CoolerMaster HAF 932 / GENESIS IRID 300
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster / Onboard
Power Supply Thermaltake Smart RGB 700W / Thermaltake Smart RGB 700W
Mouse Logitech G502 HERO / Logitech G5
Keyboard Dell SmartCard Reader SK 3205 / Dell SmartCard Reader SK 3205
Software 1st - Win 10 Pro X64 / Win 7 X86 / Ubuntu / 2nd - Windows 11 Pro
I used on my cards MX4. Trust me it worth the money.
 
Joined
May 19, 2015
Messages
55 (0.02/day)
he's talking about switching thermal pads for hotspot temp that's why we're saying its normal. repasting is totally different.
No, I also said about repasting it:
I'm planning to wait for the warrantly expiration and just take off the cooler and clean it and replace thermal paste and if there's any thermal pads there - replace them all too
And who said the hot spot sensor is somewhere within the part covered with thermal paste? I mean, it's just one of the sensors that reports the highest temperature, it can be anywhere, so reapplying thermal paste may not help, may be it's a part covered by a thermal pad that gets hottest?
 
Joined
Nov 24, 2018
Messages
1,660 (1.22/day)
Location
south wales uk
System Name 1. The Devils Dialysis VR rig 2. intel teliscope rig 3.MSI GP72MVR Leopard Pro .
Processor 1.3900x @stock 2. i7 7700k @5. 3. i7 7700hq
Motherboard 1.aorus x570 ultra 2. z270 Maximus IX Hero
Cooling 1.Hard tube loop, cpu and gpu 2. Hard loop cpu and gpu
Memory 1.hyperx preditor @3600 16gb 2.vengence 32gb @3000 3. 16gb hyperx @2400
Video Card(s) 1.Aorus Xtreme RTX2080 Waterforce 2. MSI 1080 8gb with EKWB 3. 1060 3gb.
Storage 1 M.2 500gb , 2 3tb HDs 2. 256gb ssd, 3tbHD 3. 256 m.2. 1tb ssd
Display(s) 1.LG 50" UHD , oculus rift S.2 MSI Optix MAG342C UWHD. SONY bravia 1080p, . 3.17" 120 hz display
Case 1. Thermaltake P5 2. Thermaltake P3
Audio Device(s) 1 Onboard 2 Onboard 3 Onboard
Power Supply 1.seasonic gx 850w 2. seasonic gx 750w
Mouse 1 ROG Gladius 2 Corsair m65 pro
Keyboard 1. ROG Strix Flare 2. Corsair F75 RBG 3. steelseries RBG
VR HMD rift and rift S and Quest 2.
Software 1. win10 pro 2. win10 pro 3, win10 home
Benchmark Scores 1.7821 cb20 ,cb15 3442 1c 204 cpu-z 1c 539 12c 8847 2. 1106 cb 3.cb 970
hotspot is measured from a network of thermal sensors across the GPU die, its about 10c to 15c higher than the die sensor so if the gpu is saying the card is at 80c the hotspot will read between 90c to 95c which is well within the range of normal, I'm not saying don't repaste i do mine once a year when i change the water in my loops if its need it or not I'm just saying its normal.
 
Last edited by a moderator:
Joined
Jun 11, 2020
Messages
378 (0.48/day)
Location
Florida
Processor 3800x
Motherboard MSI Tomahawk x570
Cooling EK
Memory Ballistix E die
Video Card(s) rx 5700
Display(s) 144hz 1080p
Case Corsair Air 540
Power Supply Corsair HX750
No, I also said about repasting it:

And who said the hot spot sensor is somewhere within the part covered with thermal paste? I mean, it's just one of the sensors that reports the highest temperature, it can be anywhere, so reapplying thermal paste may not help, may be it's a part covered by a thermal pad that gets hottest?
95 for hotspot is not terrible and pads are for memory or vrm not part of the chip. I stand by what i said theres no need to change pads for hotspot temp but if you want to repaste it could help the hotspot temp i dont deny that. But have you tried anything like fan tuning or undervolting or cleaning with air? Things that are alot cheaper than replacing all the thermal pads for some expensive pads that may or may not shave afew deg off. And we are talking a 1660 ti so not some power hungry 3090 or something. I wouldnt change pads on that but its up to you.
 
Last edited:
Top