• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

"Must activate Windows before logging in" - XP Home

Frick

Fishfaced Nincompoop
Joined
Feb 27, 2006
Messages
14,880 (3.45/day)
Likes
5,413
System Name A dancer in your disco of fire
Processor i3 4130 3.4Ghz
Motherboard MSI B85M-E45
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212 Evo
Memory 4 x 4GB Crucial Ballistix Sport 1400Mhz
Video Card(s) Asus GTX 760 DCU2OC 2GB
Storage Crucial BX100 120GB | WD Blue 1TB x 2
Display(s) BenQ GL2450HT
Case AeroCool DS Cube White
Power Supply Cooler Master G550M
Mouse Intellimouse Explorer 3.0
Keyboard Dell SK-3205
Software Windows 10 Pro
#1
Hey.

I put together a modest computer for a friends friends friend. Anyway, I installed XP and everything was fine, I got to the desktop. Then I shut it down for a while as I had other things to do. Later I turned it on, got to the login screen and a messege saying "You must activate your copy of Windows before loggin in". I don't think I've ever seen this before. During setup I chose that "Remind me later" option when it wanted me to activate it. Then I've always gotten that reminder in the taskbar..

Now I think my only option is to do it over teh internet. It is a legal key and everything, but the problem is the computer don't have a firewall (save XP's built in one). And only SP1.

Now, do you think I can connect it and activate it? Is the activation smart enough to shut down everything except the ports and whatnot needed for the process? I'm not very keen on connect to the internet without a proper firewall. :shadedshu

Thanks for looking!

/Frick
 
Joined
Jun 2, 2007
Messages
5,105 (1.33/day)
Likes
1,249
Location
Kansas
Processor Core i5 3570K
Motherboard AsRock z77 Pro4
Cooling Zalman CNPS10X Extreme
Memory 2x4GB GSkill Sniper
Video Card(s) MSI GTX970 Gaming
Storage 240GB OCZ ARC 100, Samsung Spinpoint F3 1TB
Display(s) LG 23" 1920x1080
Case Antec P100
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Antec Edge 750W
Software Windows 8.1 Pro 64
#3
Are you worried that Microsoft's gonna give you a virus? :p
 

Frick

Fishfaced Nincompoop
Joined
Feb 27, 2006
Messages
14,880 (3.45/day)
Likes
5,413
System Name A dancer in your disco of fire
Processor i3 4130 3.4Ghz
Motherboard MSI B85M-E45
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212 Evo
Memory 4 x 4GB Crucial Ballistix Sport 1400Mhz
Video Card(s) Asus GTX 760 DCU2OC 2GB
Storage Crucial BX100 120GB | WD Blue 1TB x 2
Display(s) BenQ GL2450HT
Case AeroCool DS Cube White
Power Supply Cooler Master G550M
Mouse Intellimouse Explorer 3.0
Keyboard Dell SK-3205
Software Windows 10 Pro
#4

Frick

Fishfaced Nincompoop
Joined
Feb 27, 2006
Messages
14,880 (3.45/day)
Likes
5,413
System Name A dancer in your disco of fire
Processor i3 4130 3.4Ghz
Motherboard MSI B85M-E45
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212 Evo
Memory 4 x 4GB Crucial Ballistix Sport 1400Mhz
Video Card(s) Asus GTX 760 DCU2OC 2GB
Storage Crucial BX100 120GB | WD Blue 1TB x 2
Display(s) BenQ GL2450HT
Case AeroCool DS Cube White
Power Supply Cooler Master G550M
Mouse Intellimouse Explorer 3.0
Keyboard Dell SK-3205
Software Windows 10 Pro
#5
Ooo, activation over the phone worked. I tried the number a few times but nothing happened. Great! Thanks y'all!
 
Joined
May 21, 2009
Messages
4,966 (1.59/day)
Likes
1,511
System Name i7-PC / HTPC / iMac
Processor i7 3820 / Phenom II 940
Motherboard GIGABYTE G1.ASSASSIN2 / M3A79-T Deluxe
Cooling Corsair Hydro H100i / Scythe II (HS only)
Memory G.SKILL Trident X Series 8GB (2 x 4GB) DDR3 1600mhz / 4GB DDR2 1066 (@800) Corsair Dominator
Video Card(s) GB Radeon HD 7950s 3GB / GB Radeon HD 7950s 3GB
Storage 2x 80GB Intel X-25, 2x600gb SATA, 1x1tb 5400RPM storage /1x600GB, 3x500GB,1x160,1x120 SATA
Display(s) 1x 27" Yamakasi / Vizio 42" HDTV
Case Lian Li Lancool PC-K58 / Antec 900
Audio Device(s) HT Omega Striker 7.1 / Onboard and HDMI from ATi Card
Power Supply PC Power & Cooling 750W / 610W
Software Ubuntu / Windows 8.1 Pro / OS X / PHPStorm / Gaming
#6
i'm glad it works, but truthfully that would not have been dangerous at all. if all you had done was activate and do windows updates, that would have been plenty safe.

your friends friends friend is not a high value target, it's a brand new pc, that had visited 0 websites. your risk was < 1/10000
 

Frick

Fishfaced Nincompoop
Joined
Feb 27, 2006
Messages
14,880 (3.45/day)
Likes
5,413
System Name A dancer in your disco of fire
Processor i3 4130 3.4Ghz
Motherboard MSI B85M-E45
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212 Evo
Memory 4 x 4GB Crucial Ballistix Sport 1400Mhz
Video Card(s) Asus GTX 760 DCU2OC 2GB
Storage Crucial BX100 120GB | WD Blue 1TB x 2
Display(s) BenQ GL2450HT
Case AeroCool DS Cube White
Power Supply Cooler Master G550M
Mouse Intellimouse Explorer 3.0
Keyboard Dell SK-3205
Software Windows 10 Pro
#7
i'm glad it works, but truthfully that would not have been dangerous at all. if all you had done was activate and do windows updates, that would have been plenty safe.

your friends friends friend is not a high value target, it's a brand new pc, that had visited 0 websites. your risk was < 1/10000
Yeah, but still. You never know when those bots and them crackers and whatnot are knocking on you door! I try to make it a rule to not be connected without a proper firewall. At least I sleep easier that way. :)
 
Joined
Sep 9, 2009
Messages
968 (0.32/day)
Likes
172
Location
Slovenia, Europe
System Name Bang4Buck
Processor Intel Core i7 5820K @ 4.5Ghz @ 1.254v
Motherboard ASROCK X99M-EXTREME4
Cooling EKWB Predator 240 1.1
Memory 16gb 2666mhz 14-14-14-34-1T @ 1.28v
Video Card(s) Gainward Phoenix GTX1070 Golden Sample with GLH bios flased
Storage Samsung 840 EVO 250Gb / 6Tb Raid -HGST Enterprise/ Samsung Spinpoint F3 1Tb / Seagate Baraccuda 3Tb
Display(s) Samsung UE49KS8002 4K (US - 9 series)
Case Corsair Carbide Air 540
Audio Device(s) HDMI out to Denon reciever
Power Supply Seasonic X-750W (KM3)
Keyboard Logitech K520
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
Benchmark Scores RealBench 2.43: 164477 http://www.3dmark.com/3dm/14858144? http://www.3dmark.com/3dm/14857974?
#8
If someone really wanted to hack your computer, not even your firewall could stop it.
 

qubit

Overclocked quantum bit
Joined
Dec 6, 2007
Messages
14,551 (3.97/day)
Likes
8,059
Location
Quantum Well UK
System Name Quantumville™
Processor Intel Core i7-2700K at stock (hits 5 gees+ easily)
Motherboard Asus P8Z68-V PRO/GEN3
Cooling Noctua NH-D14
Memory 16GB (4 x 4GB Corsair Vengeance DDR3 PC3-12800 C9 1600MHz)
Video Card(s) Zotac GTX 1080 AMP! Extreme Edition
Storage Samsung 850 Pro 256GB | WD Green 4TB
Display(s) BenQ XL2720Z | Asus VG278HE (both 27", 144Hz, 3D Vision 2, 1080p)
Case Cooler Master HAF 922
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Fatal1ty PCIe
Power Supply Corsair HX 850W v1
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
#9
Yeah, but still. You never know when those bots and them crackers and whatnot are knocking on you door! I try to make it a rule to not be connected without a proper firewall. At least I sleep easier that way. :)
Absolutely agree with you.

A PC on the internet is port scanned every few seconds to every few minutes. Without patches, it wouldn't take long to compromise it. When it comes to computer security, some paranoia is a good idea! :)

I use the free Linux roll-your-own firewall www.ipcop.org which has some very good high end features and takes over a PC. Currently, the log will register 200-600 hits a day. A few years ago that hit the heady heights of about 15k when there was some nasty malware all over the internet.
 
Joined
May 21, 2009
Messages
4,966 (1.59/day)
Likes
1,511
System Name i7-PC / HTPC / iMac
Processor i7 3820 / Phenom II 940
Motherboard GIGABYTE G1.ASSASSIN2 / M3A79-T Deluxe
Cooling Corsair Hydro H100i / Scythe II (HS only)
Memory G.SKILL Trident X Series 8GB (2 x 4GB) DDR3 1600mhz / 4GB DDR2 1066 (@800) Corsair Dominator
Video Card(s) GB Radeon HD 7950s 3GB / GB Radeon HD 7950s 3GB
Storage 2x 80GB Intel X-25, 2x600gb SATA, 1x1tb 5400RPM storage /1x600GB, 3x500GB,1x160,1x120 SATA
Display(s) 1x 27" Yamakasi / Vizio 42" HDTV
Case Lian Li Lancool PC-K58 / Antec 900
Audio Device(s) HT Omega Striker 7.1 / Onboard and HDMI from ATi Card
Power Supply PC Power & Cooling 750W / 610W
Software Ubuntu / Windows 8.1 Pro / OS X / PHPStorm / Gaming
#10
Yeah, but still. You never know when those bots and them crackers and whatnot are knocking on you door! I try to make it a rule to not be connected without a proper firewall. At least I sleep easier that way. :)
fair enough, understandable :)
 

Polarman

New Member
Joined
Jun 24, 2008
Messages
1,626 (0.47/day)
Likes
290
Location
Rimouski
System Name Polar's Dragon
Processor AMD Phenom II 975BE
Motherboard MSI 890FXA-GD65 (Bios 18.7)
Cooling Zalman CNPS 9700 Led
Memory Gskill 8GB DDR3-1333 (8,8,8,21)
Video Card(s) MSI HD6870 Hawk
Storage WD Raptor 250 - WD RE4 500GB
Display(s) Samsung T240 (1920 X1200)
Case Silverstone Raven 2
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC892
Power Supply PC Power&Cooling Silencer 750 (Red)
Software Windows 7 Home Premium 64Bit + SP1
#11
I don't think you can get infected in the amount of time that the activation process takes to complete.

Takes longer doing all the updates.
 

Frick

Fishfaced Nincompoop
Joined
Feb 27, 2006
Messages
14,880 (3.45/day)
Likes
5,413
System Name A dancer in your disco of fire
Processor i3 4130 3.4Ghz
Motherboard MSI B85M-E45
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212 Evo
Memory 4 x 4GB Crucial Ballistix Sport 1400Mhz
Video Card(s) Asus GTX 760 DCU2OC 2GB
Storage Crucial BX100 120GB | WD Blue 1TB x 2
Display(s) BenQ GL2450HT
Case AeroCool DS Cube White
Power Supply Cooler Master G550M
Mouse Intellimouse Explorer 3.0
Keyboard Dell SK-3205
Software Windows 10 Pro
#12
If someone really wanted to hack your computer, not even your firewall could stop it.
True, but even a pretty simple firewall is better then nothing.