• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

mw keeps crashing

Joined
Feb 27, 2020
Messages
126 (1.24/day)
hey, guys I'm trying to play cod and I keep crashing I am using a gtx 980 supercloced an i7 920 stock and 12gb ram I'm assuming that its the CPU bcz its a 2.67 I'm here to make sure that will solve the solution before i upgade
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
30,443 (6.44/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
hey, guys I'm trying to play cod and I keep crashing I am using a gtx 980 supercloced an i7 920 stock and 12gb ram I'm assuming that its the CPU bcz its a 2.67 I'm here to make sure that will solve the solution before i upgade
You have major problems, i notice you create a new thread constantly relating to the same problem.

Get a picture of your power supply label, make sure it is clear.


Open Event viewer in windows and see whats crashing...
 

the54thvoid

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Dec 14, 2009
Messages
7,911 (2.07/day)
Location
Glasgow - home of formal profanity
System Name Newer Ho'Ryzen
Processor Ryzen 3700X
Motherboard Asus Crosshair VI Hero
Cooling TR Le Grand Macho
Memory 16Gb G.Skill 3200 RGB
Video Card(s) RTX 2080ti MSI Duke @2Ghz ish
Storage Samsumg 960 Pro m2. 512Gb
Display(s) LG 32" 165Hz 1440p GSYNC
Case Lian Li PC-V33WX
Audio Device(s) On Board
Power Supply Seasonic Prime TItanium 850
Software W10
Benchmark Scores Look, it's a Ryzen on air........ What's the point?
hey, guys I'm trying to play cod and I keep crashing I am using a gtx 980 supercloced an i7 920 stock and 12gb ram I'm assuming that its the CPU bcz its a 2.67 I'm here to make sure that will solve the solution before i upgade
@PandaH05 - Please stop creating new threads about the same problem. It won't help get answers, if anything, it'll make it harder for us to help you. Focus on one thread and I'd advise you close the others, if necessary put a link in the other threads to the one you want to focus on. If you keep opening new threads for the same thing, the mods may well shut them down.
 
Joined
Feb 27, 2020
Messages
126 (1.24/day)
Sorry im new to this whole tech forum i didnt know thats how it works

How do i delete them
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
30,443 (6.44/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
Sorry im new to this whole tech forum i didnt know thats how it works

How do i delete them
They have already been closed, stick to this topic only please.
 
Joined
Feb 27, 2020
Messages
126 (1.24/day)
Ok sorry

So basically my problem is no longer the ram i fixed that issue with uninstallikg some ant virus that was taking uo so much ram

Now when im playing games like mw warzone my game olays like 10 min then crahses

Im assuming its bcz my cpu is so old
 
Joined
Feb 27, 2020
Messages
126 (1.24/day)
I'm using a gtx 980 superclocked a intel i7 920 2.67 ghz 12 gb of dd43 ram a 600wpsu

i get about 60 c on cpu and 65gpu


also my gpu when playing is at around 45 to 65 utilization and cpu utilization 90-99% utilization
 
Joined
Feb 27, 2020
Messages
126 (1.24/day)
Not old at all actually i bought it last month or maybe 2 months old

That's a pic

There
158397149107575520133339002623.jpg


is this what your looking for
 
Joined
May 18, 2009
Messages
1,231 (0.30/day)
Location
MN
System Name Personal / HTPC
Processor i5-4670k @ 4.4 / i5-4460
Motherboard ASUS z97-AR /ASRock Z87 Extreme4
Cooling Corsair H100i / stock HSF
Memory 16GB DDR3 1600 / 8GB DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) Zotac GTX 980Ti AMP! Omega / Zotac GTX 980Ti AMP! Omega
Storage 250 GB Crucial SSD MX200, 1TB & 500GB Western Digital / 2x 4TB WD Red
Display(s) 3x 24" Asus Ve248H LED (5760x1080) / 50" LCD TV
Case CoolerMaster XB Evo / CM HAF XB Evo
Power Supply 850W SeaSonic X Series / 750W SeaSonic X Series
Mouse Logitech G502
Keyboard Microsoft Natural Elite Keyboard
Software Windows 7 Home 64 / Windows 10 Home 64
I haven't seen any other possible posts you've made of the issue, so next set of questions for you.

When you say "crashing"....

Does the game just crash to the desktop?
Does the system hang (game locks up or screen goes black and nothing responds) so you need to power the computer off?
Does the computer power off completely (you have to manually push the power button to turn it back on)?
Does the computer power off for just a second or so and restart on it's own?
 
Joined
May 18, 2009
Messages
1,231 (0.30/day)
Location
MN
System Name Personal / HTPC
Processor i5-4670k @ 4.4 / i5-4460
Motherboard ASUS z97-AR /ASRock Z87 Extreme4
Cooling Corsair H100i / stock HSF
Memory 16GB DDR3 1600 / 8GB DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) Zotac GTX 980Ti AMP! Omega / Zotac GTX 980Ti AMP! Omega
Storage 250 GB Crucial SSD MX200, 1TB & 500GB Western Digital / 2x 4TB WD Red
Display(s) 3x 24" Asus Ve248H LED (5760x1080) / 50" LCD TV
Case CoolerMaster XB Evo / CM HAF XB Evo
Power Supply 850W SeaSonic X Series / 750W SeaSonic X Series
Mouse Logitech G502
Keyboard Microsoft Natural Elite Keyboard
Software Windows 7 Home 64 / Windows 10 Home 64
It just throws me out the game as in im back to my windows screen basically it closes the application
You should look into the Event Viewer to see if it's giving any specific errors for the application closing. Check the application logs in the event viewer next time the game crashes to desktop, hopefully you'll see an error that's linked to the game itself or maybe it could be a video driver issue - this way at least you can narrow down the error and search from there to see if there's a fix.
 
Joined
Dec 31, 2009
Messages
17,543 (4.60/day)
Not to sound dulb lol but how do i do that
Type EVENT VIEWER in the search bar in W10.

Google is an amazing tool. :)


EDIT: You are on the latest GPU driver, right? Nvidia released one the day the BR version was released...and i assume when the game was released too...
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
30,443 (6.44/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
Screenshot_2020-03-12-08-04-04.png


Hmm, low current... not good, im suspecting the gpu or psu at this rate, sounds like a Crash to desktop which could be gpu driver.
 
Joined
Dec 31, 2009
Messages
17,543 (4.60/day)
Hmm, low current... not good,
Yikes... 29A total on the 12V for a 600W PSU?? Hopefully that isn't an actual true dual rail or that may be the issue. Your card uses up to 165W which is 13.75A... one rail has 14A the other 15A... if there is anything worthwhile plugged in along with it, I can see the card/PSU flip out....again, assuming it is a true dual rail PSU (meaning there are actual limits on the rails).

If it isn't the issue, I'd get a new PSU pronto. Hell even a Corsair CX650M would be better than this unit. :)
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
30,443 (6.44/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
Yikes... 29A total on the 12V for a 600W PSU?? Hopefully that isn't an actual true dual rail or that may be the issue. Your card uses up to 165W which is 13.75A... one rail has 14A the other 15A... if there is anything worthwhile plugged in along with it, I can see the card/PSU flip out....again, assuming it is a true dual rail PSU (meaning there are actual limits on the rails).

If it isn't the issue, I'd get a new PSU pronto. Hell even a Corsair CX650M would be better than this unit. :)
Being a 980 it might use more than that.

But yeah the corsair should be able to handle it...

Here's a review of that psu


 
Last edited:
Joined
Jul 2, 2008
Messages
7,564 (1.74/day)
Location
Hillsboro, OR
System Name Main/DC
Processor i7-3770K/i7-2600K
Motherboard MSI Z77A-GD55/GA-P67A-UD4-B3
Cooling Phanteks PH-TC14CS/H80
Memory Crucial Ballistix Sport 16GB (2 x 8GB) LP /4GB Kingston DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) Asus GTX 660 Ti/MSI HD7770
Storage Crucial MX100 256GB/120GB Samsung 830 & Seagate 2TB(died)
Display(s) Asus 24' LED/Samsung SyncMaster B1940
Case P100/Antec P280 It's huge!
Audio Device(s) on board
Power Supply SeaSonic SS-660XP2/Seasonic SS-760XP2
Software Win 7 Home Premiun 64 Bit
Power supply is sold as a 600 watt unit, but it only provides 29 amps (348 watts) on 12 volt and limits its self to 140 watts on +5V and +3.3V which gives it a capacity of 488 watts! OP, you may have just bought this PSU, but it is an over rated OLD design. (when I say old design, think early '90's automobile) It proudly displays ATX 12V 2,0, which was approved in 2003. We're up to ATX12V v2.4 which was approved in 2013.

If you look at that CX650M, it provides 54 Amps on its 12V rail, which is 648 watts!

Do I think it's the PSU's fault? Maybe. You have a collection of parts that are getting long on the tooth and it makes it hard to figure out what's causing this problem.

After you install the latest drivers...., if that doesn't fix it, lets look at your GPU. What is the exact model? I just looked at the review of the Gigabyte GTX 980 G1 Gaming 4, which can pull 204 watts or 17 amps during gaming which is more power than your 12V2 can provide.
 
Top