1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

New ATI Hotfix Patches Various 3D Problems with Radeon HD Series

Discussion in 'News' started by malware, Mar 26, 2008.

  1. j3tstream

    j3tstream New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2008
    Messages:
    32 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    Espinho, Aveiro, Portugal
    I am not totally sure but I believe most of them are hd3000 series issues and alot 3850 have problems(crysis), why???
    I wanted to know too... lets ask ati, I already sent some feedback to them without answer, so I hope that at least they can get it fixed on 8.4 drivers.
    I love to be a pioneer but I hate the 2ndary effects of imature drivers.

    That is something I have noticed.... Nvidia fixes some things really fast but not always the best way, but they do; ATI fixes everything but it takes 1to3 driver versions to fully fix it. The overall quality of ati drivers and performance is also better but I must admit that nvidia has learned somethings since the 6***series and stopped stealling quality in exchange for performance hits. Or at least they learned how to cover it. Because right now the only things I can tell that ati is in vantage are all quality enchancements, not performance.
    Of course I dont give a *** about 60 to 100 fps difference when I can have 16-24AA, and tesselation on gpu. I rather have a full featured card then a beast that can run everything at max settings and no extra features.

    After all of this I still feel like ATI could be alot better, dont knw why but I still feel that there is something cooking on ATI behind this whole GPU competition.

    It is kind of wierd that since x850 ati have never came back to the top again.
    Something is on the works..... :respect: at least lets pray for the gpu gods to help ati rise again1!!!11
    (because if u ppl think really well the only missing think is pure performance so at least for me ATI is leading ever since the first gpu)
     
  2. Psychoholic

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2007
    Messages:
    521 (0.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    56
    They havnt? What about the 1900 Series vs the 7900 series?

     
    BumbRush says thanks.
  3. BumbRush New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2008
    Messages:
    225 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    20
    1900/1950>7800/7900/7950, so u missed a gen, it wasnt till the 8800 that ati fell behind.

    as to the nvidia fix some stuff fast.

    well they fix issues with the top games fast, other issues they totaly ignore because it dosnt sell cards, only reviews and benchmarks sell cards in their eyes.

    some examples i have read about and then disscoved for myself.

    windows x64 pro crash on anything that access hardware fetures bug, this is a KNOWN bugg and has been there with server 2003 and x64pro since they came out, nvidia hasnt bothered to fix it dispite it being a know and admited bug in their datebase, why, because they figuar if your using x64pro/server 2003 you can just reinstall as many times as it takes to get it to not crash, it took me 5 trys the 5th i found the fix on another forum, gotta slipstream an nvidia driver into the disk, then update to the current one IF it wasnt the current one after its setup and stable, nice, force me to install windows multi times to fix a problem that shouldnt ever happen!!!!!

    and 2nd, one i hadnt seen but confermed myself, yv12 rendering bugg, most codecs now dissable yv12 mode on nvidia cards because it dosnt work properly, this is stupid since every other videochip maker even SiS and S3(via) have working yv12 support, and nvidia has fixed it randomly with betas or fulls over the last year and a half......but they dont care because it dosnt sell cards, all that matters to them is crysis and the like, games that are used to benchmark the card.........

    again thats why i dont think we are seeing support for other cards in the latist drivers, because nvidia dosnt care to bother to test them with other cards, all they care about is selling their latist and greatist 9 seirse cards, screw anybody whos got an 8seirse, even if its a g92 8seirse just like the brand new "9" seirse......what a crock......
     
  4. imperialreign

    imperialreign New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2007
    Messages:
    7,043 (2.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    901
    Location:
    Sector ZZ₉ Plural Z Alpha
    Too bad the beta doesn't offer support for the 1900 series :(

    I'm hoping that 8.4 fixes the piss-poor Crossfire performance for 1950 series cards . . . I've had to roll back to 8.2 for the time being.
     
  5. j3tstream

    j3tstream New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2008
    Messages:
    32 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    Espinho, Aveiro, Portugal
    u r forgeting the gx2 that one was fastest than an x1950xt, witch means that ati never really got a vantage in performance, but only in tech.
    Still I am very happy for their choice. Quality over performance:toast:
     
  6. Pinchy New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2006
    Messages:
    5,109 (1.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    284
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    Nope no changes for me.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  7. MrMilli

    MrMilli

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2008
    Messages:
    220 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    37
    Location:
    Antwerp, Belgium
    In Control Center these say 'Catalyst 8.4'.
    Must be pre-8.4.
     
  8. alexp999

    alexp999 Staff

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Messages:
    8,045 (2.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    862
    Location:
    Dorset, UK
    I mentioned that earlier. Put up a screenie too. No-one seemed to notice :(
     
  9. j3tstream

    j3tstream New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2008
    Messages:
    32 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    Espinho, Aveiro, Portugal
    must be alpha or beta drivers or even prealpha,
    no change, still got gigantic breaks in some places in source games.
     
  10. alexp999

    alexp999 Staff

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Messages:
    8,045 (2.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    862
    Location:
    Dorset, UK
    I'm still getting the odd atimkdag has stopped responding when im surfing the net. Never does it in games, even under full load :confused::confused::confused:
     
  11. Psychoholic

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2007
    Messages:
    521 (0.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    56
    Actually i wasnt forgetting about the gx2.. I was talking about single cards and single gpus. Im pretty sure crossfired 1900's would have ate it for lunch.

     
  12. j3tstream

    j3tstream New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2008
    Messages:
    32 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    Espinho, Aveiro, Portugal
    please dont force me to say it....
    you know for sure that 2 gx2 should be better thant 2 1950 :cry:
     
  13. rhythmeister

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2005
    Messages:
    1,028 (0.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    39
    Location:
    Belfast...N. Ireland mate!
    Have you attempted to install HD 2600 drivers for an AGP card? BAD move on ATI's part by not supporting that card :mad: At least the Omega drivers work :toast:
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  14. BumbRush New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2008
    Messages:
    225 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    20
    all i can say about the agp cards is complain dirrrectly to amd/ati, they fix it then break it, ofcorse at least they are offering agp cards that are better then the bottem of the barel chips :)
     
  15. Sapientwolf New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2006
    Messages:
    57 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    I was getting strange glitching in Supreme Commander Forged Alliance with my X1900XT, flickering trees warping fog of war, lingering effects etc...

    I'll post again once I get them installed to see if it is alleviated.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  16. Urbklr

    Urbklr

    Joined:
    May 16, 2007
    Messages:
    2,351 (0.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    250
    Location:
    Nova Scotia, Canada
    Um, the 2 GX2's aren't, they got owned by even 2 7900GTX's.....QuadSLi just didn't work, sooo...
     
    BumbRush says thanks.
  17. j3tstream

    j3tstream New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2008
    Messages:
    32 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    Espinho, Aveiro, Portugal
    then maybe I was wrong and only since 8000series nvidia is leading, but even so... I want ati on top again :cry: I will not stop whining until ATI (completely)kicks nvidia's ass again like we were used to.
     
  18. Urbklr

    Urbklr

    Joined:
    May 16, 2007
    Messages:
    2,351 (0.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    250
    Location:
    Nova Scotia, Canada
    +1....ATi FTW:rockout:
     
  19. Xolair New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2007
    Messages:
    298 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Location:
    Finland.
    Well, the question still lies:

    CAN YOU INSTALL THESE OVER OLDER DRIVERS LIKE THE 7.12's?!

    Oops, my Capslock got stuck. :p
     
  20. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,323 (6.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,778
    That bug doesn't exist in 169.21.
     
  21. j3tstream

    j3tstream New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2008
    Messages:
    32 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    Espinho, Aveiro, Portugal
    from what Ive heard you should uninstall all ati software even for the hotfixes. :eek:
     
  22. twicksisted

    twicksisted

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2007
    Messages:
    2,438 (0.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    350
    I just installed the driver (not the catalyst suite) last night over the older driver... works fine... and notice no difference (HD2900pro playing COD4)
    Diddnt use the software uninstall utility atall and it diddnt seem to make a hint of difference this time round.
     
  23. j3tstream

    j3tstream New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2008
    Messages:
    32 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    Espinho, Aveiro, Portugal
    I noticed that too
     
  24. piebobs71 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2008
    Messages:
    39 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    so i should uninstall all ati drivers and stuff before installing this fix or just install over exisiting 8.3's ? once again ati reign supreme with little or no info
     
  25. j3tstream

    j3tstream New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2008
    Messages:
    32 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    Espinho, Aveiro, Portugal
    Yes you shoul clear all driver vestiges before this...
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)