• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

New Comp cause of D3

Joined
May 20, 2012
Messages
132 (0.06/day)
Likes
6
#1
So the other day, I got Diablo 3 and it said my Operating System (Windows Vista Home Premium OEMAcT) was not good enough. So I went to download and install SP1 and SP2 for Vista. Let's say the Service Packs crippled my computer because it failed to install correctly. My Acer computer is old, so there is no recovery discs for it anymore. I reformatted and installed Vista Home Premium, but I don't have the drivers for internet or audio and etc. I usually avoid installing service packs because it can f**k your computer up.

Since it seems like a hassle to try to fix it and find drivers that most likely won't be easy or safe to get. Although, I wouldn't mind fixing it eventually to use as a spare computer.

So I am thinking of building my first computer. I usually use a computer for 5 or more years. Wanted to ask what you guys think of this build and if there are any incompatibility issues or maybe something doesn't fit.

Motherboard: ASRock 880GM-LE FX AM3+ AMD 880G Micro ATX AMD Motherboard
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16813157292
CPU: AMD Phenom II X4 965 Black Edition Deneb 3.4GHz Socket AM3 125W Quad-Core Processor HDZ965FBGMBOXhttp://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16819103727
RAM: G.SKILL Value Series 8GB (2 x 4GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1333 (PC3 10600) Desktop Memory Model F3-10600CL9D-8GBNT
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16820231422
Power Supply: CORSAIR Enthusiast Series TX650 V2 650W ATX12V v2.31/ EPS12V v2.92 80 PLUS BRONZE Certified Active PFC High Performance Power Supply
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16817139020
Hard Drive: Western Digital Caviar Blue WD5000AAKX 500GB 7200 RPM 16MB Cache SATA 6.0Gb/s 3.5" Internal Hard Drive -Bare Drive
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16822136769
Case: Antec Three Hundred Black Steel ATX Mid Tower Computer Case
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16811129042
Operating System: Microsoft Windows 7 Home Premium SP1 64-bit - OEM
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16832116986
Video Card: Using current GeForce 8800GT

Total is around 550 before tax and shipping. Should cost around 620ish after tax/shipping.
 
Joined
May 20, 2012
Messages
132 (0.06/day)
Likes
6
#2
well. i was installing service pack 1. while booting up, it hung up
0xc01a001d !! 36114/168718 (\Registry\Machine\COMPONENTS\DerivedData\...)
 

Bo$$

Lab Extraordinaire
Joined
May 7, 2009
Messages
5,626 (1.79/day)
Likes
971
Location
London, UK
System Name Desktop | Server
Processor Intel i7 2700k @ 4.4GHZ | AMD 5350 @ 2500MHZ
Motherboard Asus P7Z77-V Pro | Asus AM1I-A
Cooling GeLID Tranquilo | Stock Air
Memory Crucial Ballistix 2x8GB CL8 1600MHZ | Corsair Vengence 2x4GB CL9 1600MHZ
Video Card(s) Gainward GTX 780 Phantom GLH | PNY GTX 750Ti
Storage Samsung 840 EVO 250GB + 4TB WD Red | 2x Seagate Barracuda 2TB
Display(s) Samsung S27D390H + Asus VE276Q | Headless
Case Fractal Design R5 | CM Elite 110
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar D1 w/Otone Stilo 5.1 and Creative Fatal1ty headset
Power Supply EVGA Supernova 850 G2| Corsair CX430M
Mouse Razer Imperator 2012
Keyboard Corsair K90
Software Windows 7 SP1 X64 | Ubuntu 16.04LTS
#3

Fourstaff

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Nov 29, 2009
Messages
9,377 (3.19/day)
Likes
2,101
Location
Home
System Name Asus K50-X5DAB \\ Orange!
Processor Athlon QL-65 2.2Ghz \\ 3570K
Motherboard Laptop \\ ASRock z77 Extreme4
Cooling Laptop \\ H100i
Memory 1x1GB + 1X2GB \\ 2x4Gb 1600Mhz CL9 Corsair XMS3
Video Card(s) Mobility Radeon HD4570 512mb \\ Zotac 660Ti OC 2Gb
Storage 250Gb \\ Samsung 840 250Gb + Toshiba DT01ACA300 3Tb
Display(s) 15.6" 1366x768 \\ LG 22EA53VQ
Case Laptop Chassis \\ NZXT Phantom 410 Black/Orange
Power Supply Power Brick \\ Corsair CXM500w

Kreij

Senior Monkey Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Feb 6, 2007
Messages
13,817 (3.48/day)
Likes
5,524
Location
Cheeseland (Wisconsin, USA)
Processor Intel Core 2 Quad QX9650 Extreme @ 3.0 GHz
Motherboard Asus Rampage Formula
Cooling ZeroTherm Nirvana NV120 Premium
Memory 8GB (4 x 2GB) Corsair Dominator PC2-8500
Video Card(s) 2 x Sapphire Radeon HD6970
Storage 2 x Seagate Barracuda 320GB in RAID 0
Display(s) Dell 3007WFP 30" LCD (2560 x 1600)
Case Thermaltake Armor w/ 250mm Side Fan
Audio Device(s) SupremeFX 8ch Audio
Power Supply Thermaltake Toughpower 750W Modular
Software Win8 Pro x64 / Cat 12.10
#6
Good for you building one instead of just buying a pre-built.
Welcome to TPU :toast:
 

Fourstaff

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Nov 29, 2009
Messages
9,377 (3.19/day)
Likes
2,101
Location
Home
System Name Asus K50-X5DAB \\ Orange!
Processor Athlon QL-65 2.2Ghz \\ 3570K
Motherboard Laptop \\ ASRock z77 Extreme4
Cooling Laptop \\ H100i
Memory 1x1GB + 1X2GB \\ 2x4Gb 1600Mhz CL9 Corsair XMS3
Video Card(s) Mobility Radeon HD4570 512mb \\ Zotac 660Ti OC 2Gb
Storage 250Gb \\ Samsung 840 250Gb + Toshiba DT01ACA300 3Tb
Display(s) 15.6" 1366x768 \\ LG 22EA53VQ
Case Laptop Chassis \\ NZXT Phantom 410 Black/Orange
Power Supply Power Brick \\ Corsair CXM500w
#7
well my max is around $600. prefer to be around $500 .
Adjust the build around a bit then. You can get a 6870 for $150 if you hunt around, so that will bring the total to be about $550.
 
Joined
May 20, 2012
Messages
132 (0.06/day)
Likes
6
#8
Good for you building one instead of just buying a pre-built.
Welcome to TPU :toast:
Before, I usually had a family friend build me one (who is now busy/out of country) or I bought a store one and mod it a little bit.

I've been wanting a new comp, but I put it off partly because of money problems. Still have problems now, but no use stalling lol.

Comp is mostly for gaming, browsing, graphic arts.

I am a bit worried things might not fit XD... Like if my vid card is large enough to hinder other component's placements.
 
Joined
Oct 1, 2010
Messages
2,193 (0.83/day)
Likes
633
Location
Marlow, ENGLAND
System Name Chachamaru-III | Retro Battlestation
Processor Intel Core i7 3770K | Intel Pentium II 450MHz
Motherboard BIOSTAR TZ77XE4 (Intel Z77 Chipset) | MSI MS-6116 (Intel 440BX chipset)
Cooling Thermaltake CLW0217 Water 2.0 Extreme, case fully populated
Memory 16GB G.Skill Ares 1600MHz (2x8GB) [30 10-10-10] | 512MB PC133 SDRAM
Video Card(s) MSI GeForce 1070 Gaming Z, Intel HD 4000 (for secondary monitors) | MSI nVIDIA Vanta 16MB
Storage 250GB SK hynix SSD (OS), Seagate 3TB (Storage), Toshiba 3TB (Steam), Samsung 1TB (Personal Files)
Display(s) Samsung 2443BWT-1 24" @1920x1200, Dell 1708fp 17" @1280x1024 & Eizo FlexScan L887 20" @1600x1200
Case Coolermaster HAF 922 | Beige box
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster Z (Speakers), Sound Blaster Audigy 2 (Headphones) | Yamaha Audician 32 Plus
Power Supply EVGA Supernova 750 G2 | 250W ASETEC
Mouse Microsoft Wireless Laser Mouse 6000 v2.0 | Microsoft Serial Mouse v2.0A
Keyboard UNICOMP Classic | Dell AT102W
Software Microsoft Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit | Microsoft Windows 98SE
#9
Are you one of those idiots who doesn't update their OS? You should have had SP1 and SP2 installed years ago... -_-
 
Joined
Oct 1, 2010
Messages
2,193 (0.83/day)
Likes
633
Location
Marlow, ENGLAND
System Name Chachamaru-III | Retro Battlestation
Processor Intel Core i7 3770K | Intel Pentium II 450MHz
Motherboard BIOSTAR TZ77XE4 (Intel Z77 Chipset) | MSI MS-6116 (Intel 440BX chipset)
Cooling Thermaltake CLW0217 Water 2.0 Extreme, case fully populated
Memory 16GB G.Skill Ares 1600MHz (2x8GB) [30 10-10-10] | 512MB PC133 SDRAM
Video Card(s) MSI GeForce 1070 Gaming Z, Intel HD 4000 (for secondary monitors) | MSI nVIDIA Vanta 16MB
Storage 250GB SK hynix SSD (OS), Seagate 3TB (Storage), Toshiba 3TB (Steam), Samsung 1TB (Personal Files)
Display(s) Samsung 2443BWT-1 24" @1920x1200, Dell 1708fp 17" @1280x1024 & Eizo FlexScan L887 20" @1600x1200
Case Coolermaster HAF 922 | Beige box
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster Z (Speakers), Sound Blaster Audigy 2 (Headphones) | Yamaha Audician 32 Plus
Power Supply EVGA Supernova 750 G2 | 250W ASETEC
Mouse Microsoft Wireless Laser Mouse 6000 v2.0 | Microsoft Serial Mouse v2.0A
Keyboard UNICOMP Classic | Dell AT102W
Software Microsoft Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit | Microsoft Windows 98SE
#11
Your PC is probably riddled with viruses and spyware.

ALWAYS UPDATE YOUR OS.
 
Joined
Jun 20, 2008
Messages
2,563 (0.74/day)
Likes
396
Location
Kettering,Northants. UK
System Name Crap System
#12
What's with the harsh words guys, he's a new guy looking for help? Honestly :shadedshu
To the OP, it's always sound advice to have everything up to date driver wise and this includes OS updates.

Always stability test a new build PC to make sure every component is working as it should. There are various bits of software out there that will help you to do this.

MSE (Microsoft Security Essentials) is also a good thing to have running as it won't intrude on games and offers good protection for free. It's always updated regularly as well.

Be aware that some gfx drivers can cause weird issues so always look for information on forums or in the driver release notes.

Good luck with the build :) and welcome to TPU.
 
Joined
Apr 20, 2012
Messages
122 (0.06/day)
Likes
84
Location
Canada
Processor Intel i9 7900X @ 4.5 GHz
Motherboard MSI X299 Gaming M7 ACK
Cooling Corsair H110i
Memory G.Skill TridentZ 32GB DDR4 3866 MHz
Video Card(s) NVIDIA TITAN X Pascal
Storage Samsung 500GB EVO / Seagate 2TB 7200 RPM
Case Phanteks Enthoo Evolv ATX
Power Supply Seasonic Prime 850w Titanium
#13
first install the dam service packs service packs don't fuck a computer up idiot users do
THEN rightclick run as administrator
Are you one of those idiots who doesn't update their OS? You should have had SP1 and SP2 installed years ago... -_-
There are nicer ways to go about this. How about trying to help him with his problem?

alucard13mmfmj, if you still want to get a new computer, then you may want to consider a better video card. Judging from this article from Techspot it seems like Diablo 3 is entirely GPU dependent. If you can get your hands on a GTX 460, then you should run it smoothly. You should be able to find it for cheap in most places.
 
Joined
May 20, 2012
Messages
132 (0.06/day)
Likes
6
#14
There are nicer ways to go about this. How about trying to help him with his problem?

alucard13mmfmj, if you still want to get a new computer, then you may want to consider a better video card. Judging from this article from Techspot it seems like Diablo 3 is entirely GPU dependent. If you can get your hands on a GTX 460, then you should run it smoothly. You should be able to find it for cheap in most places.
Yeah. I figured my 8800GT would have aged by now. Although, I'll see how much life I can get out of it and how it does first. I don't particularly play resource intensive games (usually source mods, quake engine mods and some MMO [although lags with a lotta people in town]). If it comes down to it, I would get a new video card in a month or two with my next paycheck.
 
Joined
Apr 20, 2012
Messages
122 (0.06/day)
Likes
84
Location
Canada
Processor Intel i9 7900X @ 4.5 GHz
Motherboard MSI X299 Gaming M7 ACK
Cooling Corsair H110i
Memory G.Skill TridentZ 32GB DDR4 3866 MHz
Video Card(s) NVIDIA TITAN X Pascal
Storage Samsung 500GB EVO / Seagate 2TB 7200 RPM
Case Phanteks Enthoo Evolv ATX
Power Supply Seasonic Prime 850w Titanium
#15
Yeah. I figured my 8800GT would have aged by now. Although, I'll see how much life I can get out of it and how it does first. I don't particularly play resource intensive games (usually source mods, quake engine mods and some MMO [although lags with a lotta people in town]). If it comes down to it, I would get a new video card in a month or two with my next paycheck.
Is it possible for you to get Windows 7 locally? If so you can install it over your current computer and see how that works out. I avoided Vista completely and went straight to Windows 7 from XP, but from what I read, the difference between Vista and 7 is night and day. Windows 7 installs most drivers for me from the get go too (but that may not be the case for you).
 
Joined
May 20, 2012
Messages
132 (0.06/day)
Likes
6
#16
Is it possible for you to get Windows 7 locally? If so you can install it over your current computer and see how that works out. I avoided Vista completely and went straight to Windows 7 from XP, but from what I read, the difference between Vista and 7 is night and day. Windows 7 installs most drivers for me from the get go too (but that may not be the case for you).
I installed windows 7 ultimate, but it hung up while booting... "verifying DMI" or something. Ended up installing windows vista basic, for now, which worked. I'll back up my recent goodies on an external HD if I am permitted to do so. It is a store bought comp (with some modifications) and Acer doesn't make recovery discs for my model anymore and its quite old that it's hard to look for the drivers online that doesn't look shady.
 
Joined
Apr 20, 2012
Messages
122 (0.06/day)
Likes
84
Location
Canada
Processor Intel i9 7900X @ 4.5 GHz
Motherboard MSI X299 Gaming M7 ACK
Cooling Corsair H110i
Memory G.Skill TridentZ 32GB DDR4 3866 MHz
Video Card(s) NVIDIA TITAN X Pascal
Storage Samsung 500GB EVO / Seagate 2TB 7200 RPM
Case Phanteks Enthoo Evolv ATX
Power Supply Seasonic Prime 850w Titanium
#17
I installed windows 7 ultimate, but it hung up while booting... "verifying DMI" or something. Ended up installing windows vista basic, for now, which worked. I'll back up my recent goodies on an external HD if I am permitted to do so. It is a store bought comp (with some modifications) and Acer doesn't make recovery discs for my model anymore and its quite old that it's hard to look for the drivers online that doesn't look shady.
Did a quick google on your problem. Have you tried this fix? Although it does sound like your computer is having problems. Might be a hardware issue but don't quote me on that. I can understand why it would save you a headache by buying a new computer (had a issue with BSODs after installing SP3 on XP. Still never figured out the problem :p). The components you listed are good too, although I would highly recommend getting a new video card ASAP.
 
Joined
May 20, 2012
Messages
132 (0.06/day)
Likes
6
#18
Did a quick google on your problem. Have you tried this fix? Although it does sound like your computer is having problems. Might be a hardware issue but don't quote me on that. I can understand why it would save you a headache by buying a new computer (had a issue with BSODs after installing SP3 on XP. Still never figured out the problem :p). The components you listed are good too, although I would highly recommend getting a new video card ASAP.
i did get BSOD from a few automatic windows updates, that i had to do system recovery, which kinda put me off from updating windows related stuff.

yeah. the video card will probably be the bottleneck of the unit. unless i do some "argh matey" with the OS to cut some costs, it's too costly for me to get a 150-200dollar card. im trying to stick with legit stuff. ill get a new card in 1-2 months hopefully.
 
Joined
Apr 20, 2012
Messages
122 (0.06/day)
Likes
84
Location
Canada
Processor Intel i9 7900X @ 4.5 GHz
Motherboard MSI X299 Gaming M7 ACK
Cooling Corsair H110i
Memory G.Skill TridentZ 32GB DDR4 3866 MHz
Video Card(s) NVIDIA TITAN X Pascal
Storage Samsung 500GB EVO / Seagate 2TB 7200 RPM
Case Phanteks Enthoo Evolv ATX
Power Supply Seasonic Prime 850w Titanium
#19
i did get BSOD from a few automatic windows updates, that i had to do system recovery, which kinda put me off from updating windows related stuff.

yeah. the video card will probably be the bottleneck of the unit. unless i do some "argh matey" with the OS to cut some costs, it's too costly for me to get a 150-200dollar card. im trying to stick with legit stuff. ill get a new card in 1-2 months hopefully.
I understand. I was in the same situation. Keep it legit if you can :) Although I must warn you, even if you buy a new computer, you might notice a minor difference in FPS at most with the new computer compared to your old one. As I mentioned earlier the video card will provide 90% of the performance in Diablo 3.
 
Joined
Mar 24, 2011
Messages
2,286 (0.93/day)
Likes
528
Location
Burlington, VT
Processor Intel i5-2500k
Motherboard MSI P67A-GD65
Cooling Deep Cool Gammax 400
Memory 8GB (4x2GB) G.Skill Ripjaws X DDR3-1600
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX 1060 Windforce OC 6GB
Storage Samsung EVO 850 256GB / WD Caviar Black 1TB
Display(s) Acer GD235HZbid 120hz LCD
Case Rosewill Challenger Mid-Tower
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair 650W 650-TX
Software Windows 10
#20
CPU: Intel i3-2100
Motherboard: BioStar H61MLB
RAM: G.Skill Value Series 4GB DDR3-1333 (I recommend 2, but 1 will work)
GPU: HIS Radeon HD6850
HDD: Rip the one out of your old comp and re-use it
PSU: Rosewill Green Series 530W
Optical Drive: Random Cheap 24x DVD Burner
Case: Rosewill FBM-01 MiniTower
OS: Windows 7 Home Premium x64

Total Cost: $540

Several key points. With the AMD Phenom II's, they are pretty dated, and for 90%+ of games, an i3 will do as well, if not substantially better given it's much greater per core performance. You said you want to use the comp for several years, and spending $400-500 on a PC upgrade and not getting a new GPU is pointless. My HD5850 can handle almost all games fine, and D3 runs maxed out with no hiccups on my setup, so I assume a 6850 can probably handle it just as easily (given the 6870 is a pretty much direct comparison performance wise, the 6850 being not much slower should do fine).

If you could splurge on a better mobo it would be worth it, but the setup I just posted should handle all games adequately with some tweaking.
 
Joined
Aug 16, 2007
Messages
7,181 (1.90/day)
Likes
720
#20
I like the system you have detailed in the original post.
Sure the Phenom II isnt that fast compared to an i5 but budgets a budget. Motherboard is a bit mediocre thats all.
 
Last edited:
Joined
May 20, 2012
Messages
132 (0.06/day)
Likes
6
#21
I like the system you have detailed in the original post.
Sure the Phenom II isnt that fast compared to an i5 but budgets a budget. Motherboard is a bit mediocre thats all.
lol. i read in a lot of places and one of the previous posts that an i3 might be better than Phenom II X4.

yeah. it seems a couple of you guys said the mother board is "meh".
 
Last edited by a moderator:
Joined
May 20, 2012
Messages
132 (0.06/day)
Likes
6
#22
Joined
Mar 24, 2011
Messages
2,286 (0.93/day)
Likes
528
Location
Burlington, VT
Processor Intel i5-2500k
Motherboard MSI P67A-GD65
Cooling Deep Cool Gammax 400
Memory 8GB (4x2GB) G.Skill Ripjaws X DDR3-1600
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX 1060 Windforce OC 6GB
Storage Samsung EVO 850 256GB / WD Caviar Black 1TB
Display(s) Acer GD235HZbid 120hz LCD
Case Rosewill Challenger Mid-Tower
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair 650W 650-TX
Software Windows 10
#24
lol. i read in a lot of places and one of the previous posts that an i3 might be better than Phenom II X4.
http://www.tomshardware.com/reviews/gaming-fx-pentium-apu-benchmark,3120.html

In most gaming situations the i3 is better than a Phenom II X4 at stock speeds. Comparing another Blizzard title--Starcraft II--you can tell they tend to favor High IPC Intel CPU's. Continuing to use that 8800GT is going to be the biggest problem though, and if you're going to go AMD, at least make sure to get SOMETHING new, like an HD6850. The difference it will make is ridiculous...
 

JrRacinFan

Served 5k and counting ...
Joined
Mar 17, 2007
Messages
19,666 (5.01/day)
Likes
4,754
Location
Youngstown, OH
System Name Gamer :Server and Android BuildBox
Processor i7 3930k: Xeon e5-2660
Motherboard MSI X79A-GD45 Plus : Generic
Cooling Liqid cooled: CM 212+
Memory Klevv Neo 2x4Gb 1866 @ 1600 CL9 : 2x8Gb Vengeance 1600 cl9
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 950 SC : XFX R5 220
Storage HGST 2TB + 480GB OCZ Trion 150 : Seagate 1TB SSHD + WD 3TB + 2x HGST 2TB
Display(s) ViewSonic VX2457-MHD 23.6" : headless
Case DIYPC D480-W White Window : Bitfenix Comrade
Audio Device(s) nVidia HDMI : Onboard
Power Supply EVGA 500b : Tt 775W Modular
Software Windows 7 Ultimate+Manjaro 16.06: Ubuntu Server 16.10