• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

NVIDIA Details its Resizable-BAR Feature Rollout, Eligible Products

btarunr

Editor & Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 9, 2007
Messages
40,641 (8.31/day)
Location
Hyderabad, India
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 2700X
Motherboard ASUS ROG Strix B450-E Gaming
Cooling AMD Wraith Prism
Memory 2x 16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX DDR4-3000
Video Card(s) Palit GeForce RTX 2080 SUPER GameRock
Storage Western Digital Black NVMe 512GB
Display(s) BenQ 1440p 60 Hz 27-inch
Case Corsair Carbide 100R
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster Recon3D PCIe
Power Supply Cooler Master MWE Gold 650W
Mouse ASUS ROG Strix Impact
Keyboard Microsoft Sidewinder X4
Software Windows 10 Pro
NVIDIA on Tuesday announced a roll-out of its implementation of the PCI-SIG resizable base-address register (BAR) feature to select GeForce products. The feature enables your CPU to see the entire video memory of your graphics card as one addressable block, rather than through 256 MB apertures. This should improve certain kinds of 3D rendering workloads, and game engines that are optimized to use it should see a tangible performance boost. AMD earlier introduced the exact same feature under its marketing name "Smart Access Memory," with its Radeon RX 6000 series.

NVIDIA announced that resizable-BAR support will be made available to GeForce RTX 30-series "Ampere" desktop graphics cards, notebooks that have RTX 30-series "Ampere" mobile GPUs, and future products. The support requires not just a compatible graphics card, but also a motherboard that supports the feature. Most leading motherboard- and OEM desktop manufacturers began rolling out resizable-BAR support through UEFI firmware updates. Using the feature requires you to run your machine in native UEFI mode (with CSM disabled).



View at TechPowerUp Main Site
 
Joined
Jul 13, 2016
Messages
904 (0.54/day)
Processor Ryzen 3700X
Motherboard ASRock X570 Taichi
Cooling Le Grand Macho
Memory 32GB DDR4 3600 CL16
Video Card(s) EVGA 1080 Ti
Storage Too much
Display(s) Acer 144Hz 1440p IPS 27"
Case Thermaltake Core X9
Audio Device(s) JDS labs The Element II, Dan Clark Audio Aeon II
Power Supply EVGA 850w P2
Mouse G305
Keyboard iGK64 w/ 30n optical switches
Will be interesting to see if this offers the same performance uplift that AMD is seeing.
 
Joined
Dec 10, 2014
Messages
947 (0.42/day)
Location
Nowy Warsaw
System Name SYBARIS
Processor AMD Ryzen™ 5 3600
Motherboard MSI Arsenal Gaming B450 Tomahawk
Cooling Cryorig H7 Quad Lumi
Memory Team T-Force Delta RGB 2x8GB 3200CL16
Video Card(s) Colorful GeForce RTX 2060 6G V2
Storage WD Black WD1003FZEX 1TB + Crucial MX500 500GB
Display(s) LG 22MP68VQ-P 22" 75hz IPS
Case In Win Mana 136
Audio Device(s) HyperX Cloud X | iVOOMi iVO-169SUFBT 2.1
Power Supply Cooler Master G550M
Mouse Cooler Master MM711 | Logitech G102 Prodigy | Logitech G402 Hyperion Fury
Keyboard Fantech MK871 RGB TKL Outemu Blue mechanical keyboard
Software Windows 10 Education v2004 x64
Expected but sad that everyone (AMD, Nvidia) forgot us last gen buyers. Would've loved a small performance increase on my RTX 2060.
 

wolf

Performance Enthusiast
Joined
May 7, 2007
Messages
5,836 (1.16/day)
System Name MightyX
Processor Ryzen 7 3700X 1usmus
Motherboard Gigabyte X570 I Aorus Pro WiFi
Cooling Noctua NH-L12
Memory 32GB DDR4 3600 CL16
Video Card(s) Asus TUF RTX3080 OC/UV + duct
Storage Samsung 970 Evo m.2 NVME
Display(s) 21:9 3440x1440 144hz 1500R VA
Case Coolermaster NR200P
Power Supply Corsair SF600 Gold
Mouse Zowie EC1-A
Keyboard Razer Blackwidow X Chroma
Software case populated with Artic P12's
Looks like my X570 board has a BIOS with Resize BAR now, looking forward to seeing if there are any gains to be had with my 3080 when the time comes.
 
Joined
Oct 15, 2011
Messages
193 (0.06/day)
Location
Springfield, Vermont
System Name KHR-1
Processor Ryzen 7 3700X
Motherboard MSI B450 Tomahawk
Memory 16 GB
Video Card(s) MSI Gaming X Radeon RX5600XT
Storage Samsung 970 Pro 512 GB NVME SSD
Display(s) Acer KG271U bmiippx
Case Corsair 275R
Power Supply eVGA Supernova G3 750W
Mouse Logitech Pro (Hero)
Software Windows 10 x64 20H2
MSI reports the new beta BIOS for the B450 Tomahawk having resize-BAR.
 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
48,980 (8.18/day)
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Rainbow Sparkles
Processor Ryzen R7 5800X
Motherboard Asus x570 Gaming-F
Cooling EK 240mm RGB AIO
Memory 64GB DDR4 3600 Corsair Vengeance RGB
Video Card(s) Galax RTX 3090 SG 24GB (0.8v 1.8GHz)
Storage 1TB Sasmsung 970 Pro NVME + 500GB 850 Evo
Display(s) Gigabyte G32QC + Phillips 328m6fjrmb (32" 1440p 165Hz/144Hz curved )
Case Fractal Design R6
Audio Device(s) Razer Leviathan + Corsair Void pro RGB, Blue Yeti mic
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G Pro wireless + Steelseries Prisma XL
Keyboard Razer Huntsman TE
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Lots of RGB, so you know it's fast.
Great that we need BIOS updates to fix this, means that all the manufs are going to have to step up their games
 
Joined
May 10, 2020
Messages
409 (1.41/day)
Processor Ryzen 7 5800X
Motherboard Asus ROG Strix B550-F Gaming
Cooling Noctua NH-D15
Memory 32 Gb G.Skill TridentZ RGB 3600CL16
Video Card(s) Zotac RTX 3080 AMP Holo
Storage 1 Tb Samsung 970 EVO NVMe + 1 Tb SSD WD Blue
Display(s) MSi Optix G27 + Samsung C24RG50
Case Corsair Carbide SPEC-06
Power Supply EVGA G3 750W
Mouse Razer Basilisk
Keyboard Razer Ornata Chroma
Benchmark Scores 3dMark TimeSpy - 16483(CPU 12076 - GPU 17618) Cinebench R20 - 621/6081
So much for a feature supposedly requiring a Zen 3 CPU...
I'm going to enjoy it on a 3900X without paying AMD the ridiculous price they are asking for a Zen 3 CPU (and without using a poor RT performance RX 6800 card).
 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
48,980 (8.18/day)
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Rainbow Sparkles
Processor Ryzen R7 5800X
Motherboard Asus x570 Gaming-F
Cooling EK 240mm RGB AIO
Memory 64GB DDR4 3600 Corsair Vengeance RGB
Video Card(s) Galax RTX 3090 SG 24GB (0.8v 1.8GHz)
Storage 1TB Sasmsung 970 Pro NVME + 500GB 850 Evo
Display(s) Gigabyte G32QC + Phillips 328m6fjrmb (32" 1440p 165Hz/144Hz curved )
Case Fractal Design R6
Audio Device(s) Razer Leviathan + Corsair Void pro RGB, Blue Yeti mic
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G Pro wireless + Steelseries Prisma XL
Keyboard Razer Huntsman TE
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Lots of RGB, so you know it's fast.
So much for a feature supposedly requiring a Zen 3 CPU...
I'm going to enjoy it on a 3900X without paying AMD the ridiculous price they are asking for a Zen 3 CPU (and without using a poor RT performance RX 6800 card).

it never required zen 3, it's just that *at launch* zen 3 and big navi were the only supported combinations.

It was never limited to just that hardware, that was just the starting point.
 
Joined
Dec 29, 2010
Messages
1,880 (0.51/day)
Processor AMD 5900x
Motherboard Asus x570 Strix-E
Cooling Hardware Labs
Memory G.Skill 4000c17 2x16gb
Video Card(s) RTX 3090
Storage Sabrent
Display(s) Samsung G9
Case Phanteks 719
Audio Device(s) Fiio K5 Pro
Power Supply EVGA 1300 G2
Mouse Logitech G600
Keyboard Corsair K95
it never required zen 3, it's just that *at launch* zen 3 and big navi were the only supported combinations.

It was never limited to just that hardware, that was just the starting point.
It sure made for good clickbait though.
 
Joined
Sep 13, 2007
Messages
225 (0.05/day)
System Name Suteki Ryzen
Processor AMD Ryzen 3900 @ Stock
Motherboard MSI Tomahawk B450 MAX
Cooling Stock Box Cooler
Memory 32gb ( 2x16gb) 3600mhz DDR4 G.Skill 16-19-19-39-58
Video Card(s) MSI GeForce RTX 2060 6GB Ram
Storage 256gb nvme SSD, 250GB SATA3 SSD, 480GB USB3 SSD, 750GB SSHD, 3TB WD Red HDD
Display(s) Asus VE220 / Epson TW-3000 1080p projector
Case Raijintek Thetis Black
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar D1 PCI on a PCIe-to-PCI Adapter
Power Supply EVGA 550G2
Mouse Razer DeathAdder 2013
Software Windows 10 Pro
Pretty disappointing that the RTX 20-series won't get the feature. I'd assume especially a GPU like my 2060 with only 6GB Ram could really benefit from this.
 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
48,980 (8.18/day)
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Rainbow Sparkles
Processor Ryzen R7 5800X
Motherboard Asus x570 Gaming-F
Cooling EK 240mm RGB AIO
Memory 64GB DDR4 3600 Corsair Vengeance RGB
Video Card(s) Galax RTX 3090 SG 24GB (0.8v 1.8GHz)
Storage 1TB Sasmsung 970 Pro NVME + 500GB 850 Evo
Display(s) Gigabyte G32QC + Phillips 328m6fjrmb (32" 1440p 165Hz/144Hz curved )
Case Fractal Design R6
Audio Device(s) Razer Leviathan + Corsair Void pro RGB, Blue Yeti mic
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G Pro wireless + Steelseries Prisma XL
Keyboard Razer Huntsman TE
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Lots of RGB, so you know it's fast.
Pretty disappointing that the RTX 20-series won't get the feature. I'd assume especially a GPU like my 2060 with only 6GB Ram could really benefit from this.
at this stage we dont know if GPU's with more or less VRAM benefit.

As someone with 64GB system ram and a 24GB GPU, i'm hoping its on the 'more' side
 
Joined
Sep 13, 2007
Messages
225 (0.05/day)
System Name Suteki Ryzen
Processor AMD Ryzen 3900 @ Stock
Motherboard MSI Tomahawk B450 MAX
Cooling Stock Box Cooler
Memory 32gb ( 2x16gb) 3600mhz DDR4 G.Skill 16-19-19-39-58
Video Card(s) MSI GeForce RTX 2060 6GB Ram
Storage 256gb nvme SSD, 250GB SATA3 SSD, 480GB USB3 SSD, 750GB SSHD, 3TB WD Red HDD
Display(s) Asus VE220 / Epson TW-3000 1080p projector
Case Raijintek Thetis Black
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar D1 PCI on a PCIe-to-PCI Adapter
Power Supply EVGA 550G2
Mouse Razer DeathAdder 2013
Software Windows 10 Pro
at this stage we dont know if GPU's with more or less VRAM benefit.

As someone with 64GB system ram and a 24GB GPU, i'm hoping its on the 'more' side
Definitely a topic I would like to see explored. Also, next GPU I'm getting is gonna be one with lots of VRAM. I feel like the RTX 2060 is really held back by its small framebuffer, especially when enabling RTX. Had issues with texture resolution in both, Control and CP2077 (both times having to reduce Texture Res to Medium) even though I only game at 1080p + DLSS.

If we are moving towards streaming Textures straight from SSD to VRAM, having faster access to the VRAM should definitely help. Not sure if the streaming in game engines has to pass through CPU tho, but that would explain why we are seeing massive leaps in performance when tested on AC: Valhalla with Resize-BAR enabled for example.
 
Joined
Apr 19, 2018
Messages
318 (0.30/day)
Processor AMD Ryzen 9 3900X
Motherboard Asus ROG Crosshair VIII Hero WiFi
Cooling Corsair Hydro H115i
Memory 16Gb CL14 Ripjaws V @3666MHz
Video Card(s) MSI GeForce RTX2070
Storage Samsung 970 EVO Plus SSD
Display(s) Korean Unbadged
Case Cooler Master Cosmos
Audio Device(s) O2 USB Headphone AMP
Power Supply Corsair HX850i
Mouse Logitech G703
Keyboard Crap!
So they won't lift the artificial limit on the RTX20xx series, or the last gen GTX series? I hate nGreedia.
 
Joined
May 10, 2020
Messages
409 (1.41/day)
Processor Ryzen 7 5800X
Motherboard Asus ROG Strix B550-F Gaming
Cooling Noctua NH-D15
Memory 32 Gb G.Skill TridentZ RGB 3600CL16
Video Card(s) Zotac RTX 3080 AMP Holo
Storage 1 Tb Samsung 970 EVO NVMe + 1 Tb SSD WD Blue
Display(s) MSi Optix G27 + Samsung C24RG50
Case Corsair Carbide SPEC-06
Power Supply EVGA G3 750W
Mouse Razer Basilisk
Keyboard Razer Ornata Chroma
Benchmark Scores 3dMark TimeSpy - 16483(CPU 12076 - GPU 17618) Cinebench R20 - 621/6081
it never required zen 3, it's just that *at launch* zen 3 and big navi were the only supported combinations.

It was never limited to just that hardware, that was just the starting point.
you know better than me that AMD wanted customers to believe that... otherwise they would have added Zen 2 support from the beginning.
There were also "rumors" pointed at hardware lack of support for Zen 2, at the beginning... it was just marketing.
 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
48,980 (8.18/day)
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Rainbow Sparkles
Processor Ryzen R7 5800X
Motherboard Asus x570 Gaming-F
Cooling EK 240mm RGB AIO
Memory 64GB DDR4 3600 Corsair Vengeance RGB
Video Card(s) Galax RTX 3090 SG 24GB (0.8v 1.8GHz)
Storage 1TB Sasmsung 970 Pro NVME + 500GB 850 Evo
Display(s) Gigabyte G32QC + Phillips 328m6fjrmb (32" 1440p 165Hz/144Hz curved )
Case Fractal Design R6
Audio Device(s) Razer Leviathan + Corsair Void pro RGB, Blue Yeti mic
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G Pro wireless + Steelseries Prisma XL
Keyboard Razer Huntsman TE
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Lots of RGB, so you know it's fast.
So they won't lift the artificial limit on the RTX20xx series, or the last gen GTX series? I hate nGreedia.
you think they could really release BIOS updates for every single 20 series GPU out there? the work would be massive, for very little gain.
 
Joined
Sep 28, 2012
Messages
552 (0.18/day)
System Name Potato PC
Processor AMD Ryzen 5 3600
Motherboard ASRock B550M Steel Legend
Cooling ID Cooling SE 224XT Basic
Memory 32GB Team Dark Alpha DDR4 3600Mhz
Video Card(s) MSI RX 5700XT Mech OC
Storage Kingston A2000 1TB + 8 TB Toshiba X300
Display(s) Mi Gaming Curved 3440x1440 144Hz
Case Cougar MG120-G
Audio Device(s) Plantronic RIG 400
Power Supply Seasonic X650 Gold
Mouse Logitech G903
Keyboard Logitech G613
Benchmark Scores Who need bench when everything already fast?
Would like to see which side gain the most from this R-BAR. Funny, I read in somewhere (VCN I suppose), that Intel will also enable R-BAR but didn't mention any Radeon card. Grumpy old granpa :D
 
Joined
Sep 13, 2007
Messages
225 (0.05/day)
System Name Suteki Ryzen
Processor AMD Ryzen 3900 @ Stock
Motherboard MSI Tomahawk B450 MAX
Cooling Stock Box Cooler
Memory 32gb ( 2x16gb) 3600mhz DDR4 G.Skill 16-19-19-39-58
Video Card(s) MSI GeForce RTX 2060 6GB Ram
Storage 256gb nvme SSD, 250GB SATA3 SSD, 480GB USB3 SSD, 750GB SSHD, 3TB WD Red HDD
Display(s) Asus VE220 / Epson TW-3000 1080p projector
Case Raijintek Thetis Black
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar D1 PCI on a PCIe-to-PCI Adapter
Power Supply EVGA 550G2
Mouse Razer DeathAdder 2013
Software Windows 10 Pro
you think they could really release BIOS updates for every single 20 series GPU out there? the work would be massive, for very little gain.
It depends. Remains to be seen how much of this Resize-BAR stuff is just hype or could be exploited for massive performance gains. With the consoles all sporting SSDs and a unified memory architecture, I certainly could see game engines leveraging the fast access to (V)RAM directly with the CPU. The example I posted before, about asset streaming, seems to be a big part of UE 5 for example.

Although of course, BIOS updates for GPUs are not really a common thing to do. A lot of things could go wrong for what is, at the moment at least, not much gain to be had.

What I don't get is that apparently Linux has had this feature for a while now. Does that mean that on linux resize-BAR works without any BIOS updates or was it just there as in, available in the kernel?
 
Joined
Sep 3, 2017
Messages
222 (0.17/day)
Location
Russia
Processor FX 8320 @4.2 | i7 2600 @3.8 | Xeon W3670 @ 3.6
Motherboard Asus Sabertooth R2.0 | Asus P8Z77-V Deluxe | Gigabyte X58-UD7
Cooling Zalman Performa 10+ | Zalman Performa 11+ | Zalman Performa 10+
Memory Crucial Ballistix Sport XT 32GB @ 1866 | Corsair Vengeance 32GB @1866 | Samsung 24GB @ 1600
Video Card(s) XFX Radeon 390x | Zotac GTX 1070 AMP Extreme | Zotac GTX 980 AMP Extreme
Storage Intel SSD / SAS 15k Fujitsu | Intel SSD / Velociraptors / Hitachi 2TB | Intel SSD / Samsung 1TB
Display(s) Samsung 245T | HP ZR30w | IBM 20" 4x3
Case Chieftec | Corsair Graphite 600T | Thermaltake Xaser IV
Audio Device(s) SB Titanium HD | SB Titanium HD | SB X-fi Elite Pro
Power Supply Thermaltake 875W | Corsair 850W | Thermaltake 1500W
Mouse Logitech | Logitech | Logitech
Keyboard Mitsumi Classic | Microsoft |Microsoft
Software W7 x64 | W7 x64 |W7 x64 / XP x32
So they won't lift the artificial limit on the RTX20xx series, or the last gen GTX series? I hate nGreedia.
How about AMD enable this for RX 5700/5600/580/480/Vega/Radeon VII? Wait, its just for "latest" generation...
 

obsidian24776

New Member
Joined
Jun 29, 2020
Messages
3 (0.01/day)
At least Nvidia has been quick to implement this feature, how many years did it take for them to implement FreeSync ... Sorry GSync Compatability.
 

dampflokfreund

New Member
Joined
Aug 29, 2018
Messages
11 (0.01/day)
Definitely a topic I would like to see explored. Also, next GPU I'm getting is gonna be one with lots of VRAM. I feel like the RTX 2060 is really held back by its small framebuffer, especially when enabling RTX. Had issues with texture resolution in both, Control and CP2077 (both times having to reduce Texture Res to Medium) even though I only game at 1080p + DLSS.

If we are moving towards streaming Textures straight from SSD to VRAM, having faster access to the VRAM should definitely help. Not sure if the streaming in game engines has to pass through CPU tho, but that would explain why we are seeing massive leaps in performance when tested on AC: Valhalla with Resize-BAR enabled for example.
Had zero issues in Control, always max textures and at 1440p+DLSS and RTX on my 2060. There can be a bug where picture textures may get blurry, just turn textures to high and then back to max and that fixes it. It's not a VRAM issue at all but a streaming issue from the engine, cards with more VRAM suffer as well. VRAM allocation is not close to being maxed out.

Cyberpunk has a memory leak issue where performance gets gradually worse, but the more VRAM you have or the lower your settings are, the more time it takes for it to take effect. It will happen on any 8 and 6 GB card though, at some time. That is why many people experienced better performance after restarting the game (which lead to that memorypool.ini placebo)
 
Joined
Nov 16, 2006
Messages
2,724 (0.52/day)
Location
Blighty
Processor R7 5800x/i7 6700k
Motherboard MSI x570 Tomahawk/Asus Maximus VIII Ranger
Cooling EK Supremacy MX, CoolGate 240,EK D5pwm Revo Res/ CM212evo
Memory Klevv(lol)16gb 3600/ G.Skill Trident Z 16gb 3200 cl16
Video Card(s) Asus Strix 1070 / Powercolor R9 390 PCS+
Storage Adata sx8200 1tb/Samsung SM961 512gb
Display(s) Samsung 27"H850/ Panasonic 50dx700 tv + Dell u2515
Case TTake Suppressor F51/F31
Power Supply EVGA 1000 P2 / EVGA 650 G2
Mouse G900 / G700s
Keyboard Roccat Suora FX Brown / Microsoft Sidewinder X4
Software Win 10 / Win 10
Has anyone run comparisons of this feature yet when limited to pci-e 3.0?
 
Joined
Dec 29, 2010
Messages
1,880 (0.51/day)
Processor AMD 5900x
Motherboard Asus x570 Strix-E
Cooling Hardware Labs
Memory G.Skill 4000c17 2x16gb
Video Card(s) RTX 3090
Storage Sabrent
Display(s) Samsung G9
Case Phanteks 719
Audio Device(s) Fiio K5 Pro
Power Supply EVGA 1300 G2
Mouse Logitech G600
Keyboard Corsair K95
you know better than me that AMD wanted customers to believe that... otherwise they would have added Zen 2 support from the beginning.
There were also "rumors" pointed at hardware lack of support for Zen 2, at the beginning... it was just marketing.
The rumors were from AMD? Oh wait AMD is the bad. You wouldn't even freaking know about resizeable bar if it weren't for AMD... facepalm.
 
Joined
Sep 13, 2007
Messages
225 (0.05/day)
System Name Suteki Ryzen
Processor AMD Ryzen 3900 @ Stock
Motherboard MSI Tomahawk B450 MAX
Cooling Stock Box Cooler
Memory 32gb ( 2x16gb) 3600mhz DDR4 G.Skill 16-19-19-39-58
Video Card(s) MSI GeForce RTX 2060 6GB Ram
Storage 256gb nvme SSD, 250GB SATA3 SSD, 480GB USB3 SSD, 750GB SSHD, 3TB WD Red HDD
Display(s) Asus VE220 / Epson TW-3000 1080p projector
Case Raijintek Thetis Black
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar D1 PCI on a PCIe-to-PCI Adapter
Power Supply EVGA 550G2
Mouse Razer DeathAdder 2013
Software Windows 10 Pro
Had zero issues in Control, always max textures and at 1440p+DLSS and RTX on my 2060. There can be a bug where picture textures may get blurry, just turn textures to high and then back to max and that fixes it. It's not a VRAM issue at all but a streaming issue from the engine, cards with more VRAM suffer as well. VRAM allocation is not close to being maxed out.

Cyberpunk has a memory leak issue where performance gets gradually worse, but the more VRAM you have or the lower your settings are, the more time it takes for it to take effect. It will happen on any 8 and 6 GB card though, at some time. That is why many people experienced better performance after restarting the game (which lead to that memorypool.ini placebo)
Hmm... I never had any Textures not loading when reducing the Texture Detail to Medium in Control (I think, I just know I didn't max it), whereas it was happening regularly while traversing the world at High/Ultra. (Also, VRAM utilization was always around 5.5gig, no matter what texture setting).

For Cyberpunk: Yeah, I am aware that there is a "memory leak", as it almost halves my framerate after some time. However, it is also much less likely to occur if I lower texture resolution to Medium. Indeed, I think what that "memory leak" really is, is the RED Engine using system memory as "extended" video memory to prevent crashing. Unfortunately this means that the game sometimes needs to fetch data from that slow pool of memory, which slows performance considerably! There is definitely points in the game, where the engine genuinely runs out of memory if I max out settings with Textures on High. It's easiest to reproduce when you go to the market close to where the fixer "Regina" is holed up. It generally starts hitching while running through that market and it becomes really obvious, when you switch to photomode. In that case I have my VRAM utilization pegged at 6144 (or thereabout) and besides the constant hitching you'll have NPCs disappearing and reappearing or actually parts of your own charmodel (clothes/hair etc.) disappearing and reappearing.

So yeah, VRAM limitations are a real thing, especially if you use RTX which needs a good chunk of extra memory.
 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
48,980 (8.18/day)
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Rainbow Sparkles
Processor Ryzen R7 5800X
Motherboard Asus x570 Gaming-F
Cooling EK 240mm RGB AIO
Memory 64GB DDR4 3600 Corsair Vengeance RGB
Video Card(s) Galax RTX 3090 SG 24GB (0.8v 1.8GHz)
Storage 1TB Sasmsung 970 Pro NVME + 500GB 850 Evo
Display(s) Gigabyte G32QC + Phillips 328m6fjrmb (32" 1440p 165Hz/144Hz curved )
Case Fractal Design R6
Audio Device(s) Razer Leviathan + Corsair Void pro RGB, Blue Yeti mic
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G Pro wireless + Steelseries Prisma XL
Keyboard Razer Huntsman TE
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Lots of RGB, so you know it's fast.
Hmm... I never had any Textures not loading when reducing the Texture Detail to Medium in Control (I think, I just know I didn't max it), whereas it was happening regularly while traversing the world at High/Ultra. (Also, VRAM utilization was always around 5.5gig, no matter what texture setting).

For Cyberpunk: Yeah, I am aware that there is a "memory leak", as it almost halves my framerate after some time. However, it is also much less likely to occur if I lower texture resolution to Medium. Indeed, I think what that "memory leak" really is, is the RED Engine using system memory as "extended" video memory to prevent crashing. Unfortunately this means that the game sometimes needs to fetch data from that slow pool of memory, which slows performance considerably! There is definitely points in the game, where the engine genuinely runs out of memory if I max out settings with Textures on High. It's easiest to reproduce when you go to the market close to where the fixer "Regina" is holed up. It generally starts hitching while running through that market and it becomes really obvious, when you switch to photomode. In that case I have my VRAM utilization pegged at 6144 (or thereabout) and besides the constant hitching you'll have NPCs disappearing and reappearing or actually parts of your own charmodel (clothes/hair etc.) disappearing and reappearing.

So yeah, VRAM limitations are a real thing, especially if you use RTX which needs a good chunk of extra memory.

I looked at your system specs and i'm concerned as to how 2x8 = 26
Also, the GTX 970 has 3.5GB VRAM and may be your problem, even at 768p
 
Joined
Jul 14, 2006
Messages
2,283 (0.43/day)
System Name It's just a computer
Processor i9-9900K Direct Die
Motherboard eVGA Z390 Dark
Cooling Dual D5T Vario, XSPC BayRes, Nemesis GTR560, NF-A14-iPPC3000PWM, NF-A14-iPPC2000, HK IV Pro Nickel
Memory G.Skill F4-4500C19D-16GTZKKE or G.Skill F4-3600C16D-16GTZ or G.Skill F4-4000C19D-32GTZSW
Video Card(s) eVGA RTX2080 FTW3 Ultra
Storage Samsung 960 EVO M.2
Display(s) LG 32GK650F
Case Thermaltake Xaser VI
Audio Device(s) Auzentech X-Meridian 7.1 2G/Z-5500
Power Supply Corsair AX1200
Mouse Logitech
Keyboard Logitech
Software Win7 Ultimate x64 SP1
you think they could really release BIOS updates for every single 20 series GPU out there? the work would be massive, for very little gain.

It was on January 22, 2008 when the capacity was proposed Resizable BAR, which would be admitted on April 24, 2008. This technology is integrated within the PCI Express 3.0 standard.

Would it not be the GPU manufacturer to do the BIOS update?

Some would do it, maybe others would not.

Same goes for motherboards. Intel platforms since Haswell can do it.

nVIDIA is, once again, trying to sell product by making older products less attractive. And, who can actually find a 3080 or 3090?

<SNIP>

Although of course, BIOS updates for GPUs are not really a common thing to do. A lot of things could go wrong for what is, at the moment at least, not much gain to be had.

<SNIP>

Installing eVGA Precision X1 with a eVGA RTX GPU will automatically check and offer to update the firmware. Have not read that anyone has had a bricked GPU because of it.
 
Top