• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

NVIDIA Releases GeForce 465.89 Game Ready Drivers: Resizable BAR Finally Here

Joined
Apr 19, 2018
Messages
1,133 (0.50/day)
Processor AMD Ryzen 9 5950X
Motherboard Asus ROG Crosshair VIII Hero WiFi
Cooling Arctic Liquid Freezer II 420
Memory 32Gb G-Skill Trident Z Neo @3806MHz C14
Video Card(s) MSI GeForce RTX2070
Storage Seagate FireCuda 530 1TB
Display(s) Samsung G9 49" Curved Ultrawide
Case Cooler Master Cosmos
Audio Device(s) O2 USB Headphone AMP
Power Supply Corsair HX850i
Mouse Logitech G502
Keyboard Cherry MX
Software Windows 11
no change but why would it? nvidia would need to enable it in the driver for all the mining programs
Maybe you all have the bios block now, and just need a nice critical "game ready" driver to drop next to implement their new "policy" on ETH mining?

Or are you saying nVidia are not capable of doing something like this? They did say the ETH cripple was coming to other RTX cards, and that it needs hooks implemented in the vbios for the driver to cripple it.

But what a great way to ensure all the "gamers" go out and install a vbios update... A nice juicy free performance carrot, potentially followed by the ETH stick!

Hopefully I'm wrong. I just don't trust nVidia.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Nov 13, 2007
Messages
10,326 (1.69/day)
Location
Austin Texas
Processor 13700KF Undervolted @ 5.6/ 5.5, 4.8Ghz Ring 200W PL1
Motherboard MSI 690-I PRO
Cooling Thermalright Peerless Assassin 120 w/ Arctic P12 Fans
Memory 48 GB DDR5 7600 MHZ CL36
Video Card(s) RTX 4090 FE
Storage 2x 2TB WDC SN850, 1TB Samsung 960 prr
Display(s) Alienware 32" 4k 240hz OLED
Case SLIGER S620
Audio Device(s) Yes
Power Supply Corsair SF750
Mouse Xlite V2
Keyboard RoyalAxe
Software Windows 11
Benchmark Scores They're pretty good, nothing crazy.
Framerate cap absolutely murders the performance, which stinks, as Gsync > rebar... will wait for refinements before enabling it again, does seem promising though.
 

W1zzard

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
May 14, 2004
Messages
27,263 (3.70/day)
Processor Ryzen 7 5700X
Memory 48 GB
Video Card(s) RTX 4080
Storage 2x HDD RAID 1, 3x M.2 NVMe
Display(s) 30" 2560x1600 + 19" 1280x1024
Software Windows 10 64-bit
Maybe you all have the bios block now
Yeah, I thought about that, too, would be so awesome, but you can just flash back to the previous BIOS.
 
Joined
Aug 5, 2019
Messages
799 (0.44/day)
System Name Apex Raptor: Silverback
Processor Intel i9 13900KS 6.2GHz/Allcore5.9
Motherboard z790 Apex
Cooling LT720 360mm + Phanteks T30
Memory 32GB @8000MT/s CL36
Video Card(s) RTX 4090
Storage 990 PRO 2TB / Firecuda 530 2TB
Display(s) Neo G8 / C1 65"
Case Antec Performance 1
Audio Device(s) DT 1990 Pro / Motu M2
Power Supply Prime Ultra Titanium 1000w
Mouse Scimitar Pro
Keyboard K95 Platinum
Seems to have improved performance a little bit on HZD but i'm seeing sometimes very noticable long load times which was 100% not the case pre resize bar.
 
Joined
Apr 19, 2018
Messages
1,133 (0.50/day)
Processor AMD Ryzen 9 5950X
Motherboard Asus ROG Crosshair VIII Hero WiFi
Cooling Arctic Liquid Freezer II 420
Memory 32Gb G-Skill Trident Z Neo @3806MHz C14
Video Card(s) MSI GeForce RTX2070
Storage Seagate FireCuda 530 1TB
Display(s) Samsung G9 49" Curved Ultrawide
Case Cooler Master Cosmos
Audio Device(s) O2 USB Headphone AMP
Power Supply Corsair HX850i
Mouse Logitech G502
Keyboard Cherry MX
Software Windows 11
Yeah, I thought about that, too, would be so awesome, but you can just flash back to the previous BIOS.
Thanks for that W1zzard. Have you actually tried to flash back? (I have no idea how nVidia bios flashing works, as I've not had to do it)

Maybe nVidia can't lock the bios, and can only do it by launching a card that require a different bios from the beginning, so there is no publicly available unlocked bios to flash back to?
 
Last edited:

W1zzard

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
May 14, 2004
Messages
27,263 (3.70/day)
Processor Ryzen 7 5700X
Memory 48 GB
Video Card(s) RTX 4080
Storage 2x HDD RAID 1, 3x M.2 NVMe
Display(s) 30" 2560x1600 + 19" 1280x1024
Software Windows 10 64-bit
Thanks for that W1zzard. Have you actually tried to flash back? (I have no idea how nVidia bios flashing works, as I've not had to do it)
Yes I have, works fine. Working on a BAR vs no BAR article right now :)
 

Hangya

New Member
Joined
Mar 31, 2021
Messages
1 (0.00/day)
Hi!

I have MSI RTX 3080 suprim x videocard and Gigabyte X570 elite with latest bios version both. I convert my system disk MBR to GPT. After I enabled "Above 4G decoding" and "Resizable Bar" and disabled CSM in BIOS. Rebooted and no bootable device found and the computer go back the BIOS screen. Please help what should I do to resizable bar work fine.
 
Joined
Jun 22, 2014
Messages
436 (0.12/day)
System Name Desktop / "Console"
Processor Ryzen 5950X / Ryzen 5800X
Motherboard Asus X570 Hero / Asus X570-i
Cooling EK AIO Elite 280 / Cryorig C1
Memory 32GB Gskill Trident DDR4-3600 CL16 / 16GB Crucial Ballistix DDR4-3600 CL16
Video Card(s) RTX 4090 FE / RTX 2080ti FE
Storage 1TB Samsung 980 Pro, 1TB Sabrent Rocket 4 Plus NVME / 1TB Sabrent Rocket 4 NVME, 1TB Intel 660P
Display(s) Alienware AW3423DW / LG 65CX Oled
Case Lian Li O11 Mini / Sliger CL530 Conswole
Audio Device(s) Sony AVR, SVS speakers & subs / Marantz AVR, SVS speakers & subs
Power Supply ROG Loki 1000 / Silverstone SX800
VR HMD Quest 3
Framerate cap absolutely murders the performance, which stinks, as Gsync > rebar... will wait for refinements before enabling it again, does seem promising though.
Do you mean when you have g-sync enabled and your hitting the the cap? Or do you mean just simply having it enabled, even when your fps is running under the cap? There is no way I would trade off gsync/freesync for rebar.
 
Joined
Nov 13, 2007
Messages
10,326 (1.69/day)
Location
Austin Texas
Processor 13700KF Undervolted @ 5.6/ 5.5, 4.8Ghz Ring 200W PL1
Motherboard MSI 690-I PRO
Cooling Thermalright Peerless Assassin 120 w/ Arctic P12 Fans
Memory 48 GB DDR5 7600 MHZ CL36
Video Card(s) RTX 4090 FE
Storage 2x 2TB WDC SN850, 1TB Samsung 960 prr
Display(s) Alienware 32" 4k 240hz OLED
Case SLIGER S620
Audio Device(s) Yes
Power Supply Corsair SF750
Mouse Xlite V2
Keyboard RoyalAxe
Software Windows 11
Benchmark Scores They're pretty good, nothing crazy.
Do you mean when you have g-sync enabled and your hitting the the cap? Or do you mean just simply having it enabled, even when your fps is running under the cap? There is no way I would trade off gsync/freesync for rebar.

I have my cap at 117 fps to keep within Gsync, and usually average between 93-117 smooth as butter in BL3 at med-high settings at 4k... with REBAR enabled i get bad intermittent stutters at those settings regardless of whether I am hitting the cap (it will stutter at 100FPS and 117 - seems to be tied to asset loading).

Turning off rebar in bios makes everything smooth again.
 
Joined
Aug 20, 2007
Messages
21,012 (3.40/day)
System Name Pioneer
Processor Ryzen R9 7950X
Motherboard GIGABYTE Aorus Elite X670 AX
Cooling Noctua NH-D15 + A whole lotta Sunon and Corsair Maglev blower fans...
Memory 64GB (4x 16GB) G.Skill Flare X5 @ DDR5-6000 CL30
Video Card(s) XFX RX 7900 XTX Speedster Merc 310
Storage Intel 905p Optane 960GB boot, +2x Crucial P5 Plus 2TB PCIe 4.0 NVMe SSDs
Display(s) 55" LG 55" B9 OLED 4K Display
Case Thermaltake Core X31
Audio Device(s) TOSLINK->Schiit Modi MB->Asgard 2 DAC Amp->AKG Pro K712 Headphones or HDMI->B9 OLED
Power Supply FSP Hydro Ti Pro 850W
Mouse Logitech G305 Lightspeed Wireless
Keyboard WASD Code v3 with Cherry Green keyswitches + PBT DS keycaps
Software Gentoo Linux x64 / Windows 11 Enterprise IoT 2024
Yes I have, works fine. Working on a BAR vs no BAR article right now :)
You sir (more specifically your reviews) are a benchmark in excellence.

Looking forward to it.
 
Joined
Sep 5, 2005
Messages
289 (0.04/day)
Location
vt
System Name Money Guilt / immortal X58
Processor 5600X / X5660
Motherboard MSI B550 GAMING PLUS / MSI-x58-PLAT
Cooling Cooler Master - Hyper 212 / Monsoon 3 Dual 120 fans
Memory OLOy WarHawk 2x8 / 2x4 gig Gskill 1600
Video Card(s) EVGA 3060 Ti FTW3 / R9 290 Powercolor PCS+
Storage Crucial P5 1TB / 128gig Samsung D830 2x1 Terabyte Seagates Raid0
Display(s) VIOTEK 32-In 2560x1440 Curved 144Hz / Acer 22in 1920x1080 120Hertz
Case NZXT - H510 Compact / Thermaltake V9 Black Edition
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster Audigy FX
Power Supply CORSAIR - RM Series 750W / Ocz 700 Modular
Mouse G403 / basic
Keyboard G15 / basic
Software Windows 10
Benchmark Scores http://www.3dmark.com/spy/18067733, http://www.3dmark.com/fs/24836348 http://www.3dmark.com/fs/11606
I only tested Warzone and BlackOpps and both seem about the same maybe slightly higher overall like 5-10 fps in certain situations . I ran TimeSpy just because and saw no change with that. These test were all done with the new driver also...so it could be driver only tweaks that I see. I am not going through the process of uninstalling to old drivers...to find out where the change is. Nope it works...my performance is about where its needed for my hardware. My job is complete and I can go back to being a dumb user...not the smart one fixing it all the time!!!
 

Mussels

Freshwater Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
58,413 (8.08/day)
Location
Oystralia
System Name Rainbow Sparkles (Power efficient, <350W gaming load)
Processor Ryzen R7 5800x3D (Undervolted, 4.45GHz all core)
Motherboard Asus x570-F (BIOS Modded)
Cooling Alphacool Apex UV - Alphacool Eisblock XPX Aurora + EK Quantum ARGB 3090 w/ active backplate
Memory 2x32GB DDR4 3600 Corsair Vengeance RGB @3866 C18-22-22-22-42 TRFC704 (1.4V Hynix MJR - SoC 1.15V)
Video Card(s) Galax RTX 3090 SG 24GB: Underclocked to 1700Mhz 0.750v (375W down to 250W))
Storage 2TB WD SN850 NVME + 1TB Sasmsung 970 Pro NVME + 1TB Intel 6000P NVME USB 3.2
Display(s) Phillips 32 32M1N5800A (4k144), LG 32" (4K60) | Gigabyte G32QC (2k165) | Phillips 328m6fjrmb (2K144)
Case Fractal Design R6
Audio Device(s) Logitech G560 | Corsair Void pro RGB |Blue Yeti mic
Power Supply Fractal Ion+ 2 860W (Platinum) (This thing is God-tier. Silent and TINY)
Mouse Logitech G Pro wireless + Steelseries Prisma XL
Keyboard Razer Huntsman TE ( Sexy white keycaps)
VR HMD Oculus Rift S + Quest 2
Software Windows 11 pro x64 (Yes, it's genuinely a good OS) OpenRGB - ditch the branded bloatware!
Benchmark Scores Nyooom.
Maybe you all have the bios block now, and just need a nice critical "game ready" driver to drop next to implement their new "policy" on ETH mining?

Or are you saying nVidia are not capable of doing something like this? They did say the ETH cripple was coming to other RTX cards, and that it needs hooks implemented in the vbios for the driver to cripple it.

But what a great way to ensure all the "gamers" go out and install a vbios update... A nice juicy free performance carrot, potentially followed by the ETH stick!

Hopefully I'm wrong. I just don't trust nVidia.
they cant backdate a performance block, such blocks will only exist in new products as time goes by slowing interest from the miners at launch of new products
 
Joined
Jun 22, 2014
Messages
436 (0.12/day)
System Name Desktop / "Console"
Processor Ryzen 5950X / Ryzen 5800X
Motherboard Asus X570 Hero / Asus X570-i
Cooling EK AIO Elite 280 / Cryorig C1
Memory 32GB Gskill Trident DDR4-3600 CL16 / 16GB Crucial Ballistix DDR4-3600 CL16
Video Card(s) RTX 4090 FE / RTX 2080ti FE
Storage 1TB Samsung 980 Pro, 1TB Sabrent Rocket 4 Plus NVME / 1TB Sabrent Rocket 4 NVME, 1TB Intel 660P
Display(s) Alienware AW3423DW / LG 65CX Oled
Case Lian Li O11 Mini / Sliger CL530 Conswole
Audio Device(s) Sony AVR, SVS speakers & subs / Marantz AVR, SVS speakers & subs
Power Supply ROG Loki 1000 / Silverstone SX800
VR HMD Quest 3
I have my cap at 117 fps to keep within Gsync, and usually average between 93-117 smooth as butter in BL3 at med-high settings at 4k... with REBAR enabled i get bad intermittent stutters at those settings regardless of whether I am hitting the cap (it will stutter at 100FPS and 117 - seems to be tied to asset loading).

Turning off rebar in bios makes everything smooth again.
Ouch... that’s a deal breaker for me. I appreciate you reporting on that, I’ll be holding off on the bios flash until it’s sorted out.
 

Mussels

Freshwater Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
58,413 (8.08/day)
Location
Oystralia
System Name Rainbow Sparkles (Power efficient, <350W gaming load)
Processor Ryzen R7 5800x3D (Undervolted, 4.45GHz all core)
Motherboard Asus x570-F (BIOS Modded)
Cooling Alphacool Apex UV - Alphacool Eisblock XPX Aurora + EK Quantum ARGB 3090 w/ active backplate
Memory 2x32GB DDR4 3600 Corsair Vengeance RGB @3866 C18-22-22-22-42 TRFC704 (1.4V Hynix MJR - SoC 1.15V)
Video Card(s) Galax RTX 3090 SG 24GB: Underclocked to 1700Mhz 0.750v (375W down to 250W))
Storage 2TB WD SN850 NVME + 1TB Sasmsung 970 Pro NVME + 1TB Intel 6000P NVME USB 3.2
Display(s) Phillips 32 32M1N5800A (4k144), LG 32" (4K60) | Gigabyte G32QC (2k165) | Phillips 328m6fjrmb (2K144)
Case Fractal Design R6
Audio Device(s) Logitech G560 | Corsair Void pro RGB |Blue Yeti mic
Power Supply Fractal Ion+ 2 860W (Platinum) (This thing is God-tier. Silent and TINY)
Mouse Logitech G Pro wireless + Steelseries Prisma XL
Keyboard Razer Huntsman TE ( Sexy white keycaps)
VR HMD Oculus Rift S + Quest 2
Software Windows 11 pro x64 (Yes, it's genuinely a good OS) OpenRGB - ditch the branded bloatware!
Benchmark Scores Nyooom.
Ouch... that’s a deal breaker for me. I appreciate you reporting on that, I’ll be holding off on the bios flash until it’s sorted out.
well you can disable REBAR in your bios super easy regardless, after the flash

The Nvidia FPS lock seems to be borky in this driver, hopefully gets a hotfix
 
Joined
Jul 20, 2018
Messages
125 (0.06/day)
System Name Multiple desktop/server builds
Processor Desktops: 13900K, 5800X3D, 12900K | Servers: 2 x 3900X, 2 x 5950X, 3950X, 2950X, 8700K
Motherboard Z690 Apex, X570 Aorus Xtreme, Z690-I Strix
Cooling All watercooled
Memory DDR5-6400C32, DDR4-3600C14, DDR5-6000C36
Video Card(s) 4090 Gaming OC, 4090 TUF OC, 2 x 3090, 2 x 2080Ti, 1080Ti Gaming X EK, 2 x 1070, 2 x 1060
Storage dozens of TBs of SSDs, 112TB NAS, 140TB NAS
Display(s) Odyssey Neo G9, PG35VQ, P75QX-H1
Case Caselabs S8, Enthoo Elite, Meshlicious, Cerberus X, Cerberus, 2 x Velka 7, MM U2-UFO, Define C
Audio Device(s) Schiit Modius + SMSL SP200, Grace DAC + Drop THX AAA, Sony HT-A9, Nakamichi 9.2.4
Power Supply AX1200, Dark Power Pro 12 1500W
Mouse G Pro X Superlight Black + White
Keyboard Wooting 60HE, Moonlander
VR HMD Index, Oculus CV1
Using the Windows 10 insider build with Auto HDR this driver works for a few minutes then bsods and on a reboot almost every game complains about no dx9/10/11/12 support or just crash to desktop. Another pc with the same cpu and gpu there's no problems.
 
Joined
Jun 22, 2014
Messages
436 (0.12/day)
System Name Desktop / "Console"
Processor Ryzen 5950X / Ryzen 5800X
Motherboard Asus X570 Hero / Asus X570-i
Cooling EK AIO Elite 280 / Cryorig C1
Memory 32GB Gskill Trident DDR4-3600 CL16 / 16GB Crucial Ballistix DDR4-3600 CL16
Video Card(s) RTX 4090 FE / RTX 2080ti FE
Storage 1TB Samsung 980 Pro, 1TB Sabrent Rocket 4 Plus NVME / 1TB Sabrent Rocket 4 NVME, 1TB Intel 660P
Display(s) Alienware AW3423DW / LG 65CX Oled
Case Lian Li O11 Mini / Sliger CL530 Conswole
Audio Device(s) Sony AVR, SVS speakers & subs / Marantz AVR, SVS speakers & subs
Power Supply ROG Loki 1000 / Silverstone SX800
VR HMD Quest 3
well you can disable REBAR in your bios super easy regardless, after the flash

The Nvidia FPS lock seems to be borky in this driver, hopefully gets a hotfix
That's true. I had just meant that there wouldn't be a case where I would choose rebar over freesync, so I would be taking the inherent risk of a vbios flash (albeit with only a rare occurrence of irreversible problems), for no reward at the moment. I'm confident that it will all work out at some point though. Quite interested in the upcoming article from our resident W1z to see if he encountered something similar during testing, and perhaps some official word/hotfix from the nVidia driver team as you have mentioned.
 

TIMANA450

New Member
Joined
Apr 1, 2021
Messages
1 (0.00/day)
Good morning, I understood that Zen + would not be compatible, but I activate without problems, someone can confirm?.

1617283626390.png
1617283599170.png


1617283668200.png
 

Mussels

Freshwater Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
58,413 (8.08/day)
Location
Oystralia
System Name Rainbow Sparkles (Power efficient, <350W gaming load)
Processor Ryzen R7 5800x3D (Undervolted, 4.45GHz all core)
Motherboard Asus x570-F (BIOS Modded)
Cooling Alphacool Apex UV - Alphacool Eisblock XPX Aurora + EK Quantum ARGB 3090 w/ active backplate
Memory 2x32GB DDR4 3600 Corsair Vengeance RGB @3866 C18-22-22-22-42 TRFC704 (1.4V Hynix MJR - SoC 1.15V)
Video Card(s) Galax RTX 3090 SG 24GB: Underclocked to 1700Mhz 0.750v (375W down to 250W))
Storage 2TB WD SN850 NVME + 1TB Sasmsung 970 Pro NVME + 1TB Intel 6000P NVME USB 3.2
Display(s) Phillips 32 32M1N5800A (4k144), LG 32" (4K60) | Gigabyte G32QC (2k165) | Phillips 328m6fjrmb (2K144)
Case Fractal Design R6
Audio Device(s) Logitech G560 | Corsair Void pro RGB |Blue Yeti mic
Power Supply Fractal Ion+ 2 860W (Platinum) (This thing is God-tier. Silent and TINY)
Mouse Logitech G Pro wireless + Steelseries Prisma XL
Keyboard Razer Huntsman TE ( Sexy white keycaps)
VR HMD Oculus Rift S + Quest 2
Software Windows 11 pro x64 (Yes, it's genuinely a good OS) OpenRGB - ditch the branded bloatware!
Benchmark Scores Nyooom.
Good morning, I understood that Zen + would not be compatible, but I activate without problems, someone can confirm?.

View attachment 194836View attachment 194835

View attachment 194837
AMD said it was coming to just zen3 at launch, but never specified how far back it'd get rolled out

as an example B550 doesnt support zen+, so if AMD had a post about REBAR support and B550 they'd have said zen+ wasnt compatible (When it could be on B450)


So yes, it looks like you've got it working - probably with less gains than the newer chips but we have no way of knowing yet
 

Mussels

Freshwater Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
58,413 (8.08/day)
Location
Oystralia
System Name Rainbow Sparkles (Power efficient, <350W gaming load)
Processor Ryzen R7 5800x3D (Undervolted, 4.45GHz all core)
Motherboard Asus x570-F (BIOS Modded)
Cooling Alphacool Apex UV - Alphacool Eisblock XPX Aurora + EK Quantum ARGB 3090 w/ active backplate
Memory 2x32GB DDR4 3600 Corsair Vengeance RGB @3866 C18-22-22-22-42 TRFC704 (1.4V Hynix MJR - SoC 1.15V)
Video Card(s) Galax RTX 3090 SG 24GB: Underclocked to 1700Mhz 0.750v (375W down to 250W))
Storage 2TB WD SN850 NVME + 1TB Sasmsung 970 Pro NVME + 1TB Intel 6000P NVME USB 3.2
Display(s) Phillips 32 32M1N5800A (4k144), LG 32" (4K60) | Gigabyte G32QC (2k165) | Phillips 328m6fjrmb (2K144)
Case Fractal Design R6
Audio Device(s) Logitech G560 | Corsair Void pro RGB |Blue Yeti mic
Power Supply Fractal Ion+ 2 860W (Platinum) (This thing is God-tier. Silent and TINY)
Mouse Logitech G Pro wireless + Steelseries Prisma XL
Keyboard Razer Huntsman TE ( Sexy white keycaps)
VR HMD Oculus Rift S + Quest 2
Software Windows 11 pro x64 (Yes, it's genuinely a good OS) OpenRGB - ditch the branded bloatware!
Benchmark Scores Nyooom.
So 19 games.... Is there any way to force it on if you want to try it on a game nVidia might never even get to testing?

Nvinspector or whatever it was calledcan probably do it, much like we used to force SLI profiles
 
Top